Nikon AF-S Nikkor 35mm f/1.4G Review

4.5
February 14, 2011 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

18 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 dslr cameras

I was waiting for some review of this one, now i know that i have to have this one : ))

12:40 pm - Monday, February 14, 2011

#2 Rui

A very different opinion. Very different indeed…

http://www.lenstip.com/index.php?test=obiektywu&test_ob=286

1:37 pm - Monday, February 14, 2011

#3 maratus

Lenstip review is contradictory with sample images from real owners of real lens and with almost any user opinions I’ve seen. It’s quite easy to find numerous samples from D700 and D7000 (for those who concerned with low density of D700) on flickr. After exploring those galleries I won’t even bother with lenstip reviews.

3:20 pm - Monday, February 14, 2011

#4 Matthias Wassermann

I got this lens 2months ago and used it in different occasions. I love this lens and love the 1.4.
I just love the 35mm as I used this focal length in various forms. I always make sure to have this focal length as a prime lens with me when I travel.
Here a small set of images I took with this great lens:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/mawas/sets/72157625922384729/

3:45 pm - Monday, February 14, 2011

#5 Golf Event Photography

This one has been added to my extensive ‘when I win the lottery’ list…!

3:47 pm - Monday, February 14, 2011

#6 Jim McDermott

Edge sharp wide open? To my eyes the edge looks pretty soft at f1.4 and f2

3:50 pm - Monday, February 14, 2011

#7 van Haarlerven

This review matches pretty much my experiences with this lens (I bought it in December 2010) except for the front focus

Very sharp @ 1.4 on the borders doesn’t mean tack sharp. It means very usable.

Simply no other 35mm/1.4 in the market is that sharp @1.4 at the borders on a FX camera.

6:47 pm - Monday, February 14, 2011

#8 broxibear

I’d love to see a side by side image comparison between this 1.4G, the 1.4 AFD and the f2 AFD.
I’m sure others would like to see the actual differences in image quality between a £1400 lens and a £250 one ?

7:27 pm - Monday, February 14, 2011

#9 Luc

I’m surprised the manual focus Zeiss ZF 35mm f2 is not mentioned as a rival lens.

9:54 pm - Monday, February 14, 2011

#10 MC

I’m sorry to say this but in comparison with 24/1.4 G this lens seems to not play in the same league, despite it’s price tag. I tested it on my D700 in a camera shop and did not convinced me. It was not sharp wide open and the AF was quite slow. At f2 my copy of Zeiss 35/2 Distagon is superior in every aspect, of course excepting the lack of AF. Nikkor 24/1.4 G is truly a gem but 35/1.4 is somewhere behind.

12:02 pm - Tuesday, February 15, 2011

#11 Manny

To all those haters who insist that the 24mm G is superior.  I own both and I use the 35mm 4-to-1 over the 24mm.  The 35mm’s center is sharper from F/1.6 on forward and has sharper corners in all F-Stops.  The difference is not huge because the 24mm is an excellent lens.  Doing a 5-minute test at a camera store does not do this lens justice.  Maybe the lens/camera combo needs AF adjustment, or the store does not have anything decent to shoot, I do not know.  If you like the 35mm perspective, then buy this lens and pay no mind to those who say the 24 is sharper. Buy it, thoroughly test it, if sharpness is not up to par after AF adjustments (if needed) then you got a bad sample from factory, return it and try another.  I know it is capable of excellence!  I cannot wait until the wedding season to push this lens.

2:25 am - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#12 fotograf nunta Iasi

It is a definitely a great leans! ;)

2:41 pm - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#13 Ryan Lue-Clarke

Loved the review, I have the Canon version to this lens and its a pretty good lens. Soft wide open at f/1.4 but it gets better by the time you reach f/2. One of my favorite lens next to the 85mm f/1.2.

9:44 am - Thursday, February 17, 2011

#14 Sprout1968

Is this a good lens to capture racing photos?

2:25 am - Monday, April 4, 2011

#15 Morgan

The Nikon AF-S 35mm f/1.4G is too expensive for what you get. At F/4 it’s comparable to the cheap Af 35mm f/2D (except for the corners). The Af 35mm f/2D is smaller, focusses faster and has no accuracy problems. The price of this new lens should come down fast.

11:29 am - Monday, July 4, 2011

#16 Ron

The new 28mm f/1.8G might be a nice alternative for this very expensive 24mm f/1.4.

1:05 pm - Sunday, May 27, 2012

#17 NikonMan

Eh, this is a review of the 35mm Ron. And yes, it’s too expensive for what you get. The price should be around 800 dollars. Sharpness is acceptable from f/4 and the autofocus is too slow.

7:51 am - Friday, June 22, 2012

#18 Gareth O'Neill Photography

If you think this lens is rubbish go to my website and see damn near all of the photos on there were taken with it. Then show me your photos with a “better” lens. This lens is excellent.

11:06 am - Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Entry Tags

review, lens, full frame, 35mm, fx, f1.4, nikon 35mm, nikkor 35mm, Nikon AF-S Nikkor 35mm f1.4G Review, f1., 4

Tracker Pixel for Entry