Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II Review

4.5
February 8, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Phill

Do you know how old this lens is and ya doing a review now Shame ...... old news

12:42 pm - Friday, February 8, 2013

#2 Pete Johnson

Note that there is a a dedicated tripod collar ring, the RT-1, but it’s an optional accessory rather than included with the lens

The tripod collar and foot are standard in the U.S.

12:44 pm - Friday, February 8, 2013

#3 Tom Fama

In your into and conclusion there is a typo.  In several places you call this the f/4 lens when it should be f/2.8.

1:52 pm - Friday, February 8, 2013

#4 JS

Yes, I noticed too…

4:34 pm - Friday, February 8, 2013

#5 Mr. Word Police

You make it seem like you’ve copied text from a review of the 70-200mm f/4, you mix up f/4 and f/2.8 in every other sentence…

5:04 pm - Friday, February 8, 2013

#6 David

I was actually looking forward to this review once I saw the preview images.  I was hoping it would actually be useful as I have the f2.8 and am considering adding it to or replace it with the f4. 

But since the crops or distance from the books is different (or is it due to focal breathing) it is difficult to really compare.  The only ones that come close are the 70mm f4 and 135mm f2.8 center crop.

Oh well.

3:54 pm - Saturday, February 9, 2013

#7 Gareth

Any comments about this lens’ focal breathing / bellows effect as it reaches min focus distance? It focal length isn’t much more than 135mm at 1.4m and this point really should be covered in your review. Not all 200mm lenses are 200mm at min focus distance, some are far worse than others.

12:15 pm - Monday, February 11, 2013

#8 Robert

How do you review a lens like this and NOT mention the focus breathing? It’s as if you didn’t test the lens at all. This lens is nothing even CLOSE to 200mm and very common shooting distances for wedding, event and even some sports like boxing. Very sloppy review considering you could have easily sources the info.
The 70-200 VRII is a great lens, but buyers should know that it will not directly replace the focal length of the original 70-200 at anything but infinity.

9:01 pm - Friday, March 1, 2013

#9 Aperture

good lens because of its range and it has a good aperture of 2.8…. one of my favorite piece of glass - Kaycee McNally

7:00 am - Friday, May 3, 2013

Entry Tags

lens, nikon, zoom, f2.8, nikkor, aperture, 200mm, 70mm, 70-200mm, weather, constant, nikon 70-200mm, Nikkor 70-200mm, telephoto review, weather proof, Nikkor 70-200mm f2.8G ED VR II

Tracker Pixel for Entry