Nikon Coolpix L120 Review

4.0
February 25, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

186 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Mark Lloyd Binar

Thanks for the full review. Hope that I can get this one by the end of next month. I like Nikon DSLR camera more than others. Thanks again and have a great day!

8:00 pm - Friday, February 25, 2011

#2 Nikola Nikolovic

Amazing Nikon review. I think maybe i will buy this digital photo because have a good price for that performance.

9:31 pm - Friday, February 25, 2011

#3 pratiksha

awesome nikon review. I think this review will help all to buy the camera. This review help me alot

7:18 am - Saturday, February 26, 2011

#4 Leah

recently purchased this camera and love it !

9:12 am - Saturday, February 26, 2011

#5 Nicho

The review of the camera is really comprehensive. Buyers will definitely have a good understanding of what their going to buy, and of course, window shoppers will have another new product on their lists.

I can say that the price of the camera is reasonable for it is compensated by the features. This camera is worth buying:).

5:19 pm - Saturday, February 26, 2011

#6 Jhoana

Wow this is a really good review. Thank you so much. I’m thinking of buying this camera.

4:42 am - Sunday, February 27, 2011

#7 Blake Mathews

The price on this camera is surprisingly good in my opinion. Thanks for all the information!

5:24 am - Sunday, February 27, 2011

#8 Souvik

I love this camera, everything looks great. I would love to get this. The only drawback is the shutter speed of 2Sec, which affects the night shots.
Cant anything be done about this?

5:54 am - Sunday, February 27, 2011

#9 Mickey Rossi

I presently have the Nikon L110 in Red (for the wife) in Black for myself. This is a great point & shoot with many features that we like.  Now Nikon comes along with an up_grade, possibly may look good for our inventory of Nikon camera’s. We had other brands but we always bounce back to Nikon.

6:47 pm - Tuesday, March 1, 2011

#10 Peggy

Thank you for this great review.  I’m buying this camera.

1:27 am - Wednesday, March 2, 2011

#11 Sarah Joyce

Many thanks for an excellent review of the Nikon L120. That is a positive step forward for Nikon who really needs to bolster and shore-up their point and shoot line of cameras.

Sarah Joyce

5:14 pm - Wednesday, March 2, 2011

#12 Samantha

Well done!! It is an excellent review…since i’m new in camera, this really helps me a lot!!

4:27 pm - Friday, March 4, 2011

#13 Vivian

Is there a panorama function there for L120? I am considering whether to buy L110 or L120? Any suggestions? Thanks a lot.

3:50 am - Tuesday, March 8, 2011

#14 Jared

I just bought this camera after I read the review. Such an amazing camera for the price! And the video is great for a camera.

12:06 pm - Wednesday, March 9, 2011

#15 nandy

I’m confused whether to buy this one or the Canon Powershot SX130IS.Image quality-wise both are equally good and picture sharpness too is at par..
So please suggest which one to go for..

11:06 am - Thursday, March 10, 2011

#16 nandy

I’m confused!to buy this one or the Canon Powershot SX130IS.Image quality wise both are equally good and picture sharpness too is at par..
so please suggest

11:10 am - Thursday, March 10, 2011

#17 p.a.anish

Best Camera, waiting for P500

6:13 pm - Thursday, March 10, 2011

#18 Gerard Boekel

Did you really test the camera. The L120 has as apparently only 2AA batteries, not 4 as in the L110!

3:26 am - Sunday, March 13, 2011

#19 Kranti Kumar

HI


Coolpix L120 it is amazing camera recently i purchase this (14200/- Rs) camera quality is very good but the main problem is that in this camera use AA battery .It should be use Li-ion battery but over all u can say this is perfect camera for family use

10:45 am - Sunday, March 13, 2011

#20 jvc

###### up !!!!!

7:21 pm - Sunday, March 13, 2011

#21 Scott Ferguson

Re post 20, Is this a good or a bad thing??? Seems a good buy for a family camera,We are looking for something practical at a reasonable price, pretty thorough review,Cheery.

6:33 pm - Monday, March 14, 2011

#22 Gaurav Dusane

hey fantastic review..
m buying this camera..
but still confused with L120 or P500
P500 is a bit more costly but is it worth???

plz help me out..

2:30 pm - Tuesday, March 15, 2011

#23 IAmACamera

I just don’t get this sort of bridge camera. There’s no point to the pretend pentaprism housing if there isn’t a pentaprism there.

The daftest thing, however, about this particular camera is that zoom control. Why put it there when all the other controls have been carefully placed so that the photographer can use the camera one handed? It makes much more sense to place it near the shutter control or under the photographer’s thumb. The two places that almost every other camera has them.

Dear Mr Nikon. There’s a reason why nobody else put’s their zoom control there. Because it’s a stupid place to put it. Trying to differentiate your product from the competition by putting stupid features on it is a stupid strategy. Much better to make it stand out from from the crowd by making it better than the competition.

I thought Nikon were starting to pull their compacts out of the mire of late, but it looks like they are slipping back again with ill conceived features like this.

5:01 pm - Friday, March 18, 2011

#24 Ashley

IAmAcamera… There are two zoom controls. One on the side and another in the standard area under the shutter control.  Great camera, and great review.

6:06 am - Wednesday, March 23, 2011

#25 MrsNicoli

I have recently bought this camera after much abated deliberation and for now, I am very happy with it. I have always had an interest in photography and think this camera makes the perfect’stepping stone’ camera for those wishing to make the transition from point and shoot cameras to ‘cameras of another level’...Good value for money and good for amateurs/learners such as myself :)

6:06 pm - Friday, March 25, 2011

#26 Ravichandran

After series of review, I purchased NIKON L120 recently and its really worth for the spent. Its look and features are simply great.

11:18 am - Monday, March 28, 2011

#27 Daniel

I love my Nikon L120!  Very self explanatory, didn’t even have to open the manual.  I wish it had more editing and creative features, but for $275 it’s great!  It takes awesome close ups of flowers, fabrics, anything!  Amazing and recommended! Five stars from Michigan!

4:12 am - Thursday, March 31, 2011

#28 Tom MacFarlane

I bought this camera on the strength of this review, and got rid after a few days.

On the plus side it’s light and comfortable to hold.

On the neutral side I found nothing wrong with the still images. But nothing very special, either.

On the minus side, I felt the video was well-below par for today’s high standards.

But, as the guy who subsequently sold me an FZ45 said: you get a better lens with Panasonic.

He was right!

1:22 pm - Thursday, March 31, 2011

#29 Gina Leano-Francisco,MD

i just bought this cam today! So far so good. Its handy and the pics are great

8:34 am - Saturday, April 2, 2011

#30 Vivek Soni

Thats it…
After so many days of searching appropreate camera and so many reviews of many many camera, I put my choice on this… I’m going to buy this from my first salary… wowwieeee… I’m damn excited for this…!!!
Thank you for such a great review…!!!  ^_^

11:19 pm - Sunday, April 3, 2011

#31 Tiiger88

Bought this camera couple hours ago and the first look was great. Didn’t have much time to learn it, but when i have time i’m sure that i’m satisfied about it. I’m new in photo world and i hope this camera is going to help me out. And the review was great.

4:51 pm - Monday, April 4, 2011

#32 Shan

Hi,
  iam very new to this camera world. But i have damn love with photography. at last i suggested this. is it good to go with this ?? kindly suggest me . today iam gonna buy this… but it looks very good and nice . it would the Great deal for the starters in photography….

5:00 am - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#33 arjun

hi.
i have purchased this camera and its delivering a great images but i recently encountered a problem with black n white imaging option as the face detection get disturbed and the image will be shaky. the clarity wont stabilize as like other modes like landscape, beach etc. has any body else encountered the same problem.

10:23 am - Wednesday, April 6, 2011

#34 BHUPENDRA SINGH

i want to purchase this cam on EMI.
pls tell me any store in chennai india .....
what is the cost of it .
Im waiting ur answer
THANK UUUUUU…..

7:47 am - Friday, April 8, 2011

#35 Jasbir Singh

@Bhupendra Singh
This is available at ebay.in on EMI at a very reasonable price of Rs.13749-00

1:00 pm - Friday, April 8, 2011

#36 Dadiq

Hi,

I just bought this camera, yet I can’t find how to set up manually for Lens f/-number and Shutter Speed from manual handbook.

It only said:

* Lens f/-number
f/3.1-5.8

* Shutter Speed
1/1000-1 sec. (when ISO sensitivity set to Auto)
1/4000-1/60 sec. (sport continous mode)
4 sec. (when scene mode is set to Fireworks show)

Does anyone know to set manually up? please help me out

Thank you

6:25 am - Monday, April 11, 2011

#37 vala

Recently bought this camera, It was really an incredible piece. Zoom is good even at higher ISO level…picture’s good, scene modes are good…... Exceptionaly good…love it

1:01 pm - Monday, April 11, 2011

#38 parveen

Hi,

I want to purcharse L120, but i am worrying about the picture takes in night. Can anyone please tell me about the picture quality takes in night.
this is the only worry which i have. please tell me @ .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Thanks

7:35 am - Tuesday, April 12, 2011

#39 vivek

Please let us know the image quality taken at night.
Thanks in advance…..

7:44 am - Saturday, April 16, 2011

#40 vivek

Please let us know the image quality at night.
Thanks

7:46 am - Saturday, April 16, 2011

#41 ROBERT`

HAVE BEEN TAKING PHOTOS FOR 20 YEARS OR MORE FROM
FILM TO DIGITAL AND ALL KINDS OF CAMERAS.THE NIKON
120 IS ONE OF THE BEST AND THE MOST EASY TO USE.
THE PHOTOS ARE GREAT AND THE VIDIO IS ALSO GREAT.
I TOOK IT OUT OF THE BOX AND STARTED TAKING PHOTOS
WITH NO PROBLEMS. MOST OF THE TIME WHEN SOMEONE
THINKS SOMETHING IS NOT WORKING RIGHT IT’S YOU
NOT THE CAMERA,TAKE YOUR TIME AND LEAQRN HOW TO
USE IT, YOU WILL BE HAPPY WITH IT.

11:48 pm - Saturday, April 16, 2011

#42 manoj ghosh

Recently, I have purchased at a price approx. 15k, and exploring a lot… this review has help a lot in exploring. well I am satisfied by the product.

5:50 am - Monday, April 18, 2011

#43 vivek

@Robert: Thanks

5:35 pm - Wednesday, April 20, 2011

#44 robert

Great camera in all category’except one and that
is it has no view finder only the live view on the
back. In bright sunlight it is hard to see your
image,all digital cameras should have an eye view.
This can be overlooked because everthing else is
great, the night shots are very good,the zoom is
outstanding both optial even in to digital zoom
but you do need a trypod or brace it on something.
I have had it about 2 weeks and tried everthing
on it and each one is very good,color, sharpness
ease of use. For the money you can’t go wrong.
I have awards for my photography and am an advanced photographer, just be sure you read the
direction both the book and the softwere that you
put on your pc.I think you will be very happy with
this camera. So go get that fine art photograph
and win an award you can do it.Robert.

5:42 pm - Thursday, April 21, 2011

#45 .Den

Can anyone please post any NIGHT photos? I really like this camera, but I’m afraid of the night photographs. I just want to shoot the city center and night streets, skyscrapers, glowing city from heights etc., “the usual stuff”.

Also, does this camera support shooting 3 consecutive photographs with different exposures to create HDR images in the PC? Or at least the HDR function processed by the camera itself.

Thank you!

6:14 pm - Friday, April 22, 2011

#46 Pixiestyl

Hey everyone. I’m gonna buy the Nikon coolpix L120.  I’m a begginer of the world of photography. I want a camera who makes sharp pictures, and a blur effect in the background. The nikon coolpix L120 can do that??
Thank you. :)

12:38 pm - Saturday, April 23, 2011

#47 cliveyb

Hi all, I was all ready to buy this camera until I read this review, I mean when a top reviewer says, and I quote, “The image quality of the Nikon Coolpix L120 is best described as good rather than outstanding” I’m afraid this has put me off slightly, for me it’s all about picture quality. Will have to start looking all over again.

3:30 pm - Saturday, April 23, 2011

#48 Keith

Bought this camera and loved the ease of operation and picture quality. I also have the Panasonic DMC-FZ35, which is VERY complicated. I needed something simpler. I learned to use this Nikon after only 1 hour of reading the manual (compared to months still trying to figure out the Panasonic). Was easy getting great pictures. Smile detection and Pet mode worked terrific. Unfortunately, my primary reason for this type of hybrid camera, is for the convenience of camera and HD video in one unit. Video quality on this unit is well below average. I compared it to my Panasonic - no comparison. The Panasonic’s video was smooth and clear, the Nikon - grainy and jerky. I really wanted to keep this camera for it’s ease of use and picture quality, but the poor video quality ultimately caused me to return it. Until I find an easy to use camera with good picture and video, I’ll continue with the months of trying to figure out the Panasonic.

3:26 pm - Tuesday, April 26, 2011

#49 scott

Awesome camera! Great bang for your buck!  Only had it for two weeks…very impressed. Would highly recommend.

4:40 am - Saturday, April 30, 2011

#50 Pixiestyl

I have the SAMSUNG DIGIMAX ES55 (10,2 megapixel) pink and i’ll have the Nikon Coolpix L120 (14,1 megapixel) so the nikon is better or much better?
THANK YOU =)

12:07 pm - Saturday, April 30, 2011

#51 essan

Aww!! Such a fantastic review. I’m thinking to buy this camera but I don’t know much about camera world and you help me a lot. Big Thanks!!

8:22 am - Saturday, May 7, 2011

#52 kamil kemal guller

Its excelent camera you can film and take good pictures for young starters to photography.also the bateries you can buy from any where.
l use re*chargable and have the spares.
very good camera for the frequent travellers,
use for many years and value will not decline so the quality will be the same over the years.
small compact cameras nearly same price.happy uses for many years

3:08 pm - Saturday, May 7, 2011

#53 Saibal

I have just bought the camera (without looking at the review!). After reading the review, I feel my gamble has paid-off!

5:54 pm - Sunday, May 8, 2011

#54 Weeweeman

Been a slight price drop on Amazon for this http://amzn.to/mAu1NW

12:26 pm - Sunday, May 15, 2011

#55 D Smith

Been a slight price drop on Amazon for this amzn.to/mAu1NW

12:29 pm - Sunday, May 15, 2011

#56 pradeep

Gr8 review, covered almost all parts, gr8 job, planning to have one..

keep going

3:55 pm - Sunday, May 15, 2011

#57 Om

After going through so many reviews in different different websites, finally decided to get Coolpix L120.

I purchased it last week and found it wonderful. Its easy to use and the 21x zoom does great job.

So far I like it.

7:50 am - Monday, May 16, 2011

#58 Ahmed

Nikon Coolpix l120 is the best camera i have ever used…...amazing picture as well as video qualty…..worth buying….

1:46 pm - Monday, May 16, 2011

#59 gtone

plz help me , how to change date and time in my Nikon Coolpix L120 . That is still in ( 2.1.2011) 2nd January , 2011 .

how can i change the updating time

thx a lot for your helps…

12:19 pm - Wednesday, May 18, 2011

#60 ruben rubert

It is an Excellent Camera With Nice Zoom and very user friendly

5:41 pm - Tuesday, May 24, 2011

#61 manoj

let us know the apprx price in india (Nagpur) of Nikkon L120 camera

5:46 am - Wednesday, May 25, 2011

#62 ritchytogo

Bought the L120 a few days ago, after taking a few pictures and videos. My review is that is a pretty good camera, it takes sharp images but the video is not very good. The zoom is not very good, especially zooming to the maximum. It doesn’t focus, blurry, you cant get a good close-up. I am very disappointed. I suggested it to my spouse after reading many reviews. No one has pointed out the video blur.

2:55 am - Sunday, May 29, 2011

#63 t madhava menon

bought this AFTER reading this review. choice was between fuji s 1800 and this. was influenced by the greater magnification of this (21 x vs 15 x). i like it because it is very easy to use. took some long shots - buildings about a km away; it manages it, but pic quality is grainy; chromatic aberration within acceptable limits. found it best for mid distance work (2 m to 15 m); pics sharb and bright. default setting for colour is somewhat dull; with the higher option, not bad at all. the cam tends to shake and vibrate in the telephoto mode. One has to take a great deal of care to avoid shake and vibration.
on the whole, good value for the money and i have no regrets. Oh, about night pics; color rendition is good; but that tendency to vibrate and shake is annoying. the makers recommend use a tripod stand but that is not practical.

8:34 am - Sunday, May 29, 2011

#64 sambit

hi guys, from all the comments posted here rather making more confusion than clarify. is nikon L120 a good cam with good IQ??? should i buy it??? can i manually control it??? and lot more questions…....
some found it good ...some not….
SO WE WANT A PROFESSIONAL PHOTOGRAPHER’S SUGGESTION… ANY PRO READING THIS MSG PLZ PLZ SUGGEST.
what is your opinion about Fuji s3300 or other superzoom s with MANUAL CONTROL AND MANUAL ZOOM RING

4:19 pm - Monday, May 30, 2011

#65 sajith

wow,seems the one i was waiting for.can’t wait to buy this one.

1:31 pm - Wednesday, June 1, 2011

#66 baddogsboy

This is an awesome camera! I had the Fuji S1800 and I really thought the colors were awful on my last trip. There was nothing vivid except for the night shots on tripods. I bought this Nikon L120 and the colors it produce are awesome. The reds are vivids, the blues are blues… In fact, I think it gives true colors. And I am amazed at the focus it gives in flower mode.

All in all a great price for the money. I used to be a Fuji fan, but after the issue with the S1800, I am not going back. This Nikon is a winner! It does not have any manual setting, but for the price (less than 200 canadian) who cares? I never used them anyways on my Fuji. If I wanted manual settings, I would buy a DSLR… and that is not what I want; I wanted a great point and shoot, and this one wins hands down.

11:47 pm - Monday, June 6, 2011

#67 Vignesh

this review has helped me decide on which camera to buy…..
thanks a lot!!!

3:16 pm - Wednesday, June 8, 2011

#68 Piyush Sharma

I have purchased Nikon L120 before three days,i want to know that at the time of click any photo any hand is shivering than photo is come blud..so wat icon on this camers i shud use.

9:52 am - Thursday, June 9, 2011

#69 Earl

I have been using the Nikon L120 for 3 months now and it is an amazing lightweight camera. It does use 4 AA batteries but the energizer rechargables last a long time if u don’t use the flash much like myself. Definitely the camera to buy.the macro turns the tiniest bugs into monsters !!!

8:21 pm - Thursday, June 9, 2011

#70 sajith

purchased this one two days back.due to heavy rains unable to take it out;but tried it indoors and long shots.nice.value for money.go for it.

11:43 am - Sunday, June 12, 2011

#71 inga

#8 as I’ve heard there can be 4s shutter speed in firework mode :)

9:14 am - Monday, June 13, 2011

#72 Avinash Lewis

Hi all, I got the Nikon L120 camera a week back the telezoom is amazing i managed to take a shot 4Kms away w/o shake or tripod and face of guy visible, I tried this camera in Khandala, India, i am a nikon fan have nikon L21/L18/L11, if you know photography this a awesome toy to have a the price is very cheap, and all Rupam studio guys deal with it ..even on ebay in mumbai, I use sanyo enloope 2500 miliamps batries, there are quite a good youtube videos by nikon guys on how to tie that shoulder strap, i used on to tie mine results are stunning

8:21 am - Saturday, June 18, 2011

#73 charlieb

Thank you for a great and informative guide -  I have a problem - tomorow is Father’s Day in SA - how can I drop a hint in time? The L 120 costs nearly double in SA - I’m going to have to get someone to get me one is USA and bring it back. Thanks again - your insight and advice was an amazing help - I went into a local store here yesterday and the “assistant” was clueless!

11:47 am - Saturday, June 18, 2011

#74 Grateful11

” Gerard Boekel says Did you really test the camera. The L120 has as apparently only 2AA batteries, not 4 as in the L110!

Gerard not sure where you’re getting your info but Nikon’s site says it takes 4 AA’s.

Quote: Power sources
Four LR6/L40 (AA-size) alkaline batteries (supplied), four FR6/L91 (AA-size) lithium batteries (optional), four EN-MH2 rechargeable Ni-MH batteries (optional), AC Adapter EH-67 (optional), Battery Charger MH-73(optional)

7:35 pm - Saturday, June 18, 2011

#75 Jonthan

Hi I need some help I don’t know if I should buy this Nikon L 120 or the Canon Elph 300HS. I’m a beginner photographer and it will be my first camera.

Note: If the Nikon L120 its better please advise me which battery’s I should buy. Sorry for my Bad English

Thank you

Jonathan Torres

10:56 pm - Saturday, June 18, 2011

#76 Tabz

I just Purchased this Camera today, and personally I amnot happy with it. I realise this is not a professional camera, but the problems i have experienced with it are just stupid. I am by no means a shaky person, but non of my pictures turn out unless I have the damn thing strapped to a tripod. I breath the wrong way and the photo turns out blurred. Also, the macro Fuction to honest is a bit crap. My Mums old Fuji Film does better macro shots then this does, with out half the blurr. While I have managed to make the L120 zoom in on the diamonds in my ring, the old Fuji film will enlarge the tiniest grass flower to full screen in perfect quality. I think I will be taking it back and demanding a refund.

12:05 pm - Sunday, June 19, 2011

#77 Grateful11

I owned the Nikon L100, the first in this series, took on a short road trip and very disappointed in the picture quality, colors were off was the main problem. I actually had 2 cameras with us and in side by side comparison everyone said the the Nikon was off. The thing is I really liked the size and feel of the L100 I really wanted to like it but got rid of it because it like I say 1. is subject matter 2. is the person behind camera 3. Is the camera itself. What I want to know is the L120 a much improved camera over the L100. I currently am doing most of my shooting with a Canon SX10, I’m mostly into landscapes, flowers, wildlife and sunsets. I’ve love to have a good DSLR but just can’t swing that right now and I’d love find a super Zoom that’s up to what I call good enough, a super zoom with a nice big size sensor. I’m not extremely happy with the SX10, main complaint is the control layout on the back. The only batteries I can much life out with the SX10 are the NiZn rechargables,

8:22 pm - Wednesday, June 22, 2011

#78 Harshal

I loved this cam.. can review on batter life?
how many clicks its last for?

5:18 pm - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#79 scott hollis

I JUST BOUGHT THIS CAMERA .HOPE IT’S WORTH THE MONEY. I AM JUST A NOVICE TO PHOTOGRAPHY AND WANT TO TAKE SOME REALLY NICE PHOTOS .I HOPEFULLY WILL BEGIN MY CLASSES IN PHOTOGRAPHY SOON AND HOPE THIS IS A GREAT STARTER CAMERA . I ALSO THINK ITS A GREAT PRICE FOR THE CAMERA ! I CAN’T WAIT TO GET STARTED !

2:12 am - Friday, July 1, 2011

#80 sambit

hi buddies….... can any one explain why different persons are commenting differently (best/good/bad)for the same camera Nikon L120 while this model has no manual control???? the modes being same for all the L120 cameras in the world…..... why focus, img qlty, macro are different to different persons????????/

9:45 am - Sunday, July 3, 2011

#81 Jealous Dad

I bought this for my 14 year old daughter and the pictures she is coming up with are fantastic.  This seems to be a very versatile camera with good to great image quality - she has captured clear shots of bugs on flowers to birds sitting way up in the trees.  The sport mode does lower the quality but can produce some interesting/nice pictures for your personal slide shows….  I’ve not seen the shake some people are mentioning at longer ranges.  I admit at first it turned me off to not have manual settings - but the choices offered seem to cover most anything.  The fireworks shots she took this past weekend were very very cool.  As an all around camera for personal use I would not hesitate.  I’ve pretty much decided on getting one to replace my older dSLR so I don’t have to carry around a larger camera and extra lenses…

3:01 am - Wednesday, July 6, 2011

#82 AleFabbri

After reading this excellent review i bought this camera and absolutely love it. It fits perfectly in my hands, it is build with first class materials and it is much lighter of what it seems. Zooming is a breeze thanks to the double control lever, image stabilization works flawlessly, pictures are outstanding for a low budget camera. I always prefer the vivid mode for shooting because a well saturated image is more eye catching and usually it renders better on print. The LCD screen is amazing, sharp, fingerprint resistant. Honestly, for a camera of this price range is not possible to demand for something more. If you’re a pro, go buying something else, but be prepared to spend much more.

8:09 am - Wednesday, July 6, 2011

#83 Stephanie

I have the L110 and have been eying the L120 since its release. The 21x zoom lens and the side control lever are really making me want to upgrade. Thanks for the great review.

8:21 am - Wednesday, July 6, 2011

#84 Regis

which one is better nikon coolpix L120 or olypmus SP-800UZ or fujifilm fine pix s3200?I just want to click some family pics at parties(Day/night,indoor/outdoor),picinics and special moments.Can any Master give a choice?

12:53 am - Sunday, July 17, 2011

#85 Hugo

recently purchased this camera for $229.46 + tax at walmart, NJ.

12:42 am - Monday, July 18, 2011

#86 Datvu

I’m so confuse between the Nikon L120 or P500… So which one should i buy ????

3:20 pm - Wednesday, July 20, 2011

#87 vee-i dubai

I just purchased this Cam last friday and I’m loving it! No regrets!

12:19 pm - Monday, July 25, 2011

#88 swapnil

I bought camera 15 days before. I am pretty much happy with the stuff so far. Recently I faced one problem , not sure if others do. I bought SDHC memory card and have taken around 200+ pics so far. But now camera gives error, can not read from Card. Or sometimes it asks to format the card. Does it happen for any card? Or we need to be specific to use card from Sandisk or Lexar?

I am using 4GB card and I think it is not branded one. Some cheapo stuff but it worked so far.

Any suggestions?

7:19 pm - Monday, July 25, 2011

#89 Shai8la

woah!!!...i ws lyk 85% sure abt dis camera 2 buy..bt aftr tkin a glanc on d review..m 100% sure nw..lolzz..thnks guyzz..m so xcitd 2 tk d snaps..i ws planin 4 sony(DSC-HX7V)..bt i ddnt lyk d out look at al..thnk u all agn. :)

5:56 pm - Tuesday, July 26, 2011

#90 sambit

@swapnil…. check the write protection switch. make sure it is unlocked. if the card demands, then format it.

1:07 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#91 swapnil

@sambit ... I checked that when it was asking for format. Card is not locked. Switch was in ok position.

I just wanted to check if this happens frequently. Or is it just memory card that im using is problem?

2:12 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#92 sambit

dear swapnil, then u have to format the card. save the snaps in ur computer n format the card frm the cam. plz read the manual and restore factory setg. it may help

1:48 pm - Sunday, July 31, 2011

#93 Kathy Kiefer

Do eneloop Ni-MH 2000 rechargeable batteries work in the L120?

6:35 pm - Monday, August 1, 2011

#94 Grateful11

A better question is why would Eneloops not work?

and sambit do everyone a favor and lose the Text Talk so people can actually read what you’re saying.

12:28 am - Tuesday, August 2, 2011

#95 Kathy Kiefer

Coolpix L120 manual states to only use EN-MH2 batteries & not EN-MH1 batteries. Are Eneloops equal to EN-MH2 Batteries?  That is my question.

5:15 pm - Tuesday, August 2, 2011

#96 Harsh

Thanks for the great review of Nikon L120
My confusion is cleared i Will be buying one rightaway.

3:41 pm - Sunday, August 7, 2011

#97 Guillaume

I bought it last week, i ve already made some pictures and I should say that pictures are better than the samples pictures on this web site. It is a really good camera for that price, just amazing! The big zoom is just perfect, there is also some funny gadgets like smiling mode, make up mode… The design and material quality is excellent…

you can get it for more or less 210€ in Europe.

have look on Nikon website for seeing samples pictures… With right settings, there are pictures you can get ;)

Guillaume from france

12:04 pm - Saturday, August 13, 2011

#98 Praveen Nair

Its really worth reading these comments and the review. I feel only problem with this camera is it use 4 AA batteries, it could be with Li-ion.

9:53 pm - Monday, August 15, 2011

#99 Grateful11

Here we go with the “AA"s again. If it used a propriety battery instead of “AA"s and you’re some where away from your charger what are you going to do? You can buy a pack of “AA"s at virtually any store in the world.  I don’t even have this camera, I had the L100 not a good camera, it’s good to see they made improvements with the L120, I have a Canon SX10 and it uses “AA” and I wouldn’t have any other way unless there was no choice. Try some NiZn “AA"s like I use in my SX10.

2:09 am - Tuesday, August 16, 2011

#100 vishnu ben latif

totally confused b/w the L120 nd the S9100…. the bulk n the AA batterys of L120 stand in the way of my reasoning… gimme a clue to this, someone…. :(

8:10 pm - Saturday, August 20, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, nikon, 14 megapixel, super-zoom, coolpix, super zoom, 21x zoom, 21x, Nikon Coolpix L120 Review, l120, Nikon L120 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry