Nikon Coolpix L310 Review

4.0
January 21, 2013 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

44 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

Low ISO actually pretty good…

3:09 pm - Monday, January 21, 2013

#2 Jeff

Why/How does a camera with an image quality rating of only 3.5 get a 4-star recommendation? To my way of thinking image quality is the most important criterion.

4:19 pm - Monday, January 21, 2013

#3 Matt Grayson

Hi Jeff,
thanks for your question. I agree with your assumption. However, the overall rating comes from an average of the previous ratings. Also, bear in mind that while you and I regard image quality as the most important part of a camera, not everyone has the same exacting standards. Obviously everyone wants lovely photos, but a beginner will be less bothered about digital noise or chroma than an expert. A budget camera such as this can get away with it more and I have to reflect that in the final score.

I hope that helps.

6:03 pm - Monday, January 21, 2013

#4 rokborn

Sorry Mat, although i agree image quality isn’t everything, I also feel the star rateings on this site never seem to reflect the review.
Saying that i haven’t used the camera, and it is cheap so cant be too angry.

10:25 pm - Monday, January 21, 2013

#5 Don

Dose it have USB to charge rechargeable batteries?

8:10 am - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#6 manesh

good picture quality..

4:33 am - Saturday, March 23, 2013

#7 Alan

Purchased coolpix ll310 last year have had to send camera back to factory as when you click to take pics camera closes down . Was sent back to me repaired yet again after taking a few more pics camera shut down again . Replaced batteries but still shutting down . Very disappointed and let down as problem was not resolved first time.

10:21 am - Monday, April 1, 2013

#8 Rania

Thank you for the detailed review. This is the camera that I need!

6:00 pm - Wednesday, April 10, 2013

#9 Thomas Argent

bought this camera for ease of use also read up on it in a photo magazine and they rated it as capable of delivering far better quality than its price tag reflects and I have to say having owned more expensive cameras this is a great allrounder

10:44 pm - Thursday, April 25, 2013

#10 rajesh

l310 its very simple camera its image is very good for better image off auto mode and go iso setting change is 400 then shutdown camera and just on click a pic u watch it have better image quality

10:14 am - Friday, May 3, 2013

#11 SKM

L310 is far better than other rivals it captures the real life moments very finely and image quality is really good on ISO 6400. Go for it guys, it is a masterpiece at this price…

3:38 am - Sunday, May 5, 2013

#12 Arslan Mehboob

hello
can you tell me that this camera have backgound blur option ?

8:30 am - Thursday, May 9, 2013

#13 Roxann

Camera Sucks!!!!! I just wanted a nice camera nothing crazy expensive to take pics of my children. ALL pics come out blurry no matter what setting I have it on and camera erases pics even when turned off properly. Biggest waste of money ever!

11:26 pm - Thursday, May 9, 2013

#14 miles brunskill

liked the Bridge camera, then it went mad, took it back to Boots,got a v good compact for £40 more, better camera,better pics,better downloading, better all round. one crap camera,one good one, also got a S6200 also v. good. avoid Samsung grow old waiting for the B’s to download,life is to short!

6:42 am - Monday, May 20, 2013

#15 marky

i agree to roxann, its always blurry, cheap price = low quality picture. T_T

5:49 am - Monday, June 3, 2013

#16 Sergio Pinto

I don´t like it, take good pictures at night or in movement is almost imposible. I very disapointment

5:05 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#17 Somupadma

I got this camera recent for 9500/- Indian rupees with good freebees.Macro to zoom, Pic to video it satisfied all my needs.However some lack of image sharpness and noise even in fair lighting is some disappointment.With fully charged Nimh cells it gave me nearly 500 shots including all the images i played and saw on it.A best budget all in one camera.

12:37 pm - Tuesday, July 16, 2013

#18 Melissa

Wow, I’m not sure if I should get this camera or not. Getting mixed reviews. Some people say it is pretty good, while others say that it is horrible. However, I’m willing to take a chance with this camera.

11:09 pm - Friday, July 26, 2013

#19 Somupadma

Yes it is true.So much conflicting reviews and so much confusion to choose this camera i too faced before buying.But now i am well satisfied.One simple best thing is to visit “Flickr” site and see all the pictures under the search of “Nikon L310”.It helps a lot to decide whether it suit our requirement or not.

1:23 am - Saturday, July 27, 2013

#20 David Sixtos

HOW THE HECK DO YOU ENTER A MEMORY FOR THIS…
i’VE TRIED 6 DIFFRENT ONCE. AND CON’T FORMAT ANY OF THEM!!!!

Because of this I’ve only used the internal memory… only 16 pictures and that’s it.
move them over to my comp. N again 16 pics…

how the heck do you enter a memory card. I put it in. then it asks me if i want to format. i click yes. then it warns me that every pic is going to be deleted. I click yes. n then powers off…

MAD!

5:22 am - Monday, August 5, 2013

#21 Uoos

Its a pretty decent 1!
Grr ! bad news it turns off if I am about to clk pictures
will somebody tell me why???

5:47 am - Friday, September 13, 2013

#22 Somupadma

Is it by saying turn off the lens is retracting back.if not it is just auto stand by for power saving.By using any control it comes back.For memory card issue compatibility likely a problem.It need class 4 or better card, further any card needs to be formatted in the camera itself but not by a computer.

6:33 am - Friday, September 13, 2013

#23 Brooke

I love this camera. I have owned mine for almost a year now and I have had no problems with it at all. As someone who loves photography but doesn’t really have the budget to buy an expensive camera at the moment, I am really happy with this.

4:03 pm - Tuesday, October 1, 2013

#24 EB

excellent picture quality during the day but worse at night or in the dark

11:14 am - Monday, October 14, 2013

#25 susan

This camera won’t turn on, I’ve changed the batteries 3x now & I’ve checked all batteries to ensure they’re loaded. What’s up with this?

2:54 am - Wednesday, October 30, 2013

#26 john kelenfoldi

fantastic wee camera. ihave a nikon d3000and my coolpix l 310 is far better as i dont have to buy 3/4 lenses to match focal length of coolpix. give it a chance take time to experiment with it you wont be dissapointed

9:52 am - Sunday, November 3, 2013

#27 john kelenfoldi

hi susan try using energizer rechargables 2000 or higher getting nearly 1200 shots on a 12hr charge ..there expensive at 10 pounds but well worth it… hope this is of help to you

10:08 am - Sunday, November 3, 2013

#28 Jiun Kim

My parents bought this camera for me last year and I’ve used it maybe only about 2-3 times so far. Just recently I started using it again and everytime I try and capture a picture, the camera itself shuts off. I’ve talked to a photographer friend of mine and told me that I could update the firmware but when I tried there was no update listed for this model (L310). My one year warranty is about to expire and I just want a camera to use. I want a new one if I can get a new one.

11:09 pm - Friday, November 8, 2013

#29 Qtrhorses2

Having the same problem as a lot of you.  Camera turns off every time we try to take a picture.  Thought at first it was the Alkaline batteries, but just purchased re-chargable NiMh batteries.  Fully charged, and camera still won’t take pictures.  It will turn on, but when you click to take the picture, it turns off.  Thoughts????

2:09 am - Friday, December 27, 2013

#30 VIVEKANAND

pretty good for me..as am taking at least 30 images with that cam…if you are keep shooting with this one you can see there are various settings itself we can make…but during ngt ...not so good ..because of iso 80-100 ..is good to use but mostly result will be blurred image

10:05 pm - Wednesday, January 22, 2014

#31 werkis2

Downgraded NikonCoolpix L120 model :D

12:31 pm - Sunday, February 9, 2014

#32 ashley

When taking pictures with the L301, a lot of them come out blurry.  I am trying to take pictures of my 10 month old who never sits still.  Is there a specific setting that is best to use when taking his pictures?  I was reading and it seems that I am able to change the shutter speed in the settings, but cant figure out how to do this.
Thanks so much in advance!
Ashley

5:42 pm - Wednesday, April 16, 2014

#33 Mary

I neglected to put a memory card in and took some very important photos.  I haven’t been able to transfer those to my computer(s).  When I plug in the USB connection, nothing happens.  Any suggestions?  Thanks so much for your help.

6:42 pm - Wednesday, May 21, 2014

#34 Tom

this camera keeps putting a smile on my face so glad i bought it efforless and great results manual mode or full auto praise be to Nikon :)

7:37 pm - Wednesday, May 21, 2014

#35 Somupadma

Ref #33.Nothing to worry.First put the data card in camera and transfer pictures in the camera to card.Camera stored pictures too can be seen & transferred to PC.Better once to read its manual through.

1:08 am - Thursday, May 22, 2014

#36 Emilee

I had taken my batteries out of my L310 and left it for about a month (never had to use it) and today because I needed to use it I tried to put new and it won’t turn on. Any help????

2:09 pm - Saturday, July 5, 2014

#37 Somupadma

Try cleaning battery contact points

1:00 am - Monday, July 7, 2014

#38 Somupadma

You can also try using power from external provision

1:03 am - Monday, July 7, 2014

#39 ASR

MESSAGE SHOWING CARD IS NOT FORMATTED . FORMAT CARD ?
This message is showing . I have done format in laptop and inserted . But message is same . Afterwords i tried to format in the camera itself . but no solution . same message appearing . Pl guide us .

Thanks u

10:42 am - Thursday, August 28, 2014

#40 Somupadma

Camera accepts only within camera formatting.Seems like your card may be virus infected.Try to clean the same and then format in the camera.Camera also do not accept if any images edited within the card in a system.Better once read the camera user guide.

12:58 am - Friday, August 29, 2014

#41 Briana R.

I bought this camera a couple of years ago for $100 @ Target on Black Friday. I have used it MAYBE 5 times. Today I pulled it out to take some pictures and it keeps turning off once I snap a picture.
What is going on? How do I get around this? Should I just sell it?

Not happy at all.

9:48 pm - Sunday, September 7, 2014

#42 martin

love this camera but not sure if mine has a slight fault,when i try and take a photo in full zoom the image is jumping all around the screen making it hard to get a good clear photo,this is not me moving the camera or camera shake of any kind its the camera itself..

3:39 pm - Saturday, September 27, 2014

#43 Emma

hi have had this camera for 2years and not had a problem with it I do agree that sometimes night photos can be blurred and also certain batteries can drain quicker which is why I think most of you are saying about camera takes picture and switches off I always found Duracell power batteries work very well. And love it.
Just wondering if anyone can help me I use mine constantly but now I can turn it on the screen comes on then dosappears stays on but can’t take photos I am gutted any suggestions

10:26 am - Friday, October 3, 2014

#44 Somupadma

Check for the possibility of Batteries reaching their end of life and unable to give required power.You may try the camera with AC adapter if you have one.Try to clean battery terminals and camera contacts clean.Best of luck.

1:22 am - Saturday, October 4, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, nikon, super-zoom, 14 megapixel, coolpix, super zoom, 21x zoom, 21x, Nikon Coolpix L310 Review, l310, Nikon L310 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry