Nikon Coolpix L810 Review

3.5
August 7, 2012 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

231 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 jahanzaib

thanx Joe…. it was helpful

7:21 pm - Wednesday, November 21, 2012

#102 JoePrete

TO CRYSTAL, Post #91
Crystal, I’m very sorry nobody answered your post. Please email me direct at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) and I will work on it right away for you. I’m sorry this went on page 2 but I didn’t realize that I was working alone. Please write me. This is a good sight, it just fell through the cracks.
...Joe Prete

9:44 pm - Wednesday, November 21, 2012

#103 Max Green

Found the InterspotProductions video review very helpful! Got the camera today from best buy. Pretty good other than waiting between photo taking.

8:26 pm - Sunday, November 25, 2012

#104 Joe Prete

Max,
Use good SDHC Memory cards at least 8GB with a rating of (10) That’s the number in the circle. Also, your picture review time can hold up the process, so if you use the review, try to keep it short.

The flash might hold up the buffer time also, as can the fine image setting. The finer the image, the more detail, but if you’re in a hurry try setting it at medium rather than fine.

Fine tune it to suite your needs, but if you get lost in your settings, there is a RESET to factory settings
Good Luck with you’re new camera,
Joe Prete

9:37 pm - Sunday, November 25, 2012

#105 Janet

Hi Joe,
I was going to buy a Nikon L810 for my 12 yr old son who wants a quality camera for nature shots (bird watching-feathered kind). Now after reading reviews will look at others. I looked at the fuji 166-793 and the fuji finepix HS25 exr. Price range is aprox $300 aus. Do you have any suggestions. Cheers, Janet

2:04 am - Monday, November 26, 2012

#106 Marina

I bought one on black Friday. My family thought I paid too much. Yes, it costs a pretty penny. But, it was worth it. I’ve had for only a few days. Yet, I’m in love with it. The quality of the pictures is great. I haven’t had any problems.

7:24 pm - Monday, November 26, 2012

#107 Joe Prete

Marina,
Depending on where you bought the camera, it is possible to ask for their price matching policy to adjust the price, if this retailer has this policy in effect. I have found lower prices many times, and about half of them did adjust the price. Now, Many credit cards are adding this to their list of benefits. (I try to always use credit cards that extend the manufacturers warranty by up to one year) American Express also adds 90 days theft, loss or breakage to their benefit. I try to shop at big name stores that usually have this policy in effect. It usually has to be within 30 days from the date of purchase. It’s worth a shot to look into it. I wish you Good Luck with your new Camera,
Joe Prete

PS:It’s human nature to check the prices after a purchase.

7:39 pm - Monday, November 26, 2012

#108 Caitlyn

I am needing a camera for an upcoming mission trip. I want one that is not too expensive but also takes good pictures. Is this a good camera for me or will i regret buying it
?

8:30 pm - Monday, November 26, 2012

#109 Joe Prete

Caitlyn,
Actually, there were two complaints for this camera from the start that I tried to help with, both did sound like grey market. Since then there were 3 here and 1 on another site that were very happy with this model and it’s price. There’s a Sony DMC H100 that seems to be the same camera under the covers. This is below $200.00 US You may want to Fine tune your search to make sure it “fits” you’re needs. Also, if you’ve used a camera before the information might help. If you need more help my email is in one of the posts above.
... Joe Prete

4:27 am - Tuesday, November 27, 2012

#110 Robin van Sluys

Hi, I would love to start with photography but I really don’t know what camera to start with. I don’t have any experience with photography so far. Is this a good camera to start with? Or is there anything better in the same price range?

Thanks in advance!

2:22 pm - Tuesday, November 27, 2012

#111 Joe Prete

Robin,
I’ve never seen prices so low, for such high quality equipment. I think it’s a great time to start. I would first consider the way that you will carry the camera. You may want a slim camera that can slide into a pocket that doesn’t take up much room, or a larger one that you will have to carry in a case or a bag.

A slim camera can often capture great photographs way before anyone else has time to get their lens cap off. A bulkier camera like a Super Zoom can bring in the distant shots, subjects that you couldn’t get to, can appear close up in your Pictures. Just think about how you see yourself using the camera and there will be way more than enough cameras for you to choose from. 
... Joe Prete

9:05 pm - Tuesday, November 27, 2012

#112 Michael T Loose

Heck JoPrete - one cool ‘Dude’ - David Bailey eat your heart out.  10year old kid, made under instruction a ‘pin-hole’ camera and progressed from there to a Box Brownie.  Continued through S.L.R. Zeniths with ‘Helios Lens’ ‘Shoot’ and everyone knew and continued onwards and upwards.  L.810 is a lovely bit of pocket sized equipment which with care, produces great stuff.  Jo boasts over £50,000 worth of equipment - clearly aint up to much - take much of what he say’s with a pinch of snuff!

5:24 pm - Saturday, December 1, 2012

#113 sap

Guys, i bought this one from ebay after this review. its been a week now and its awesome. for a beginner like me you cant expect more.even the night time pictures are also damn good.first time i could zoom onto moon.thanks joe for your suggestions.

7:18 am - Sunday, December 2, 2012

#114 jahanzaib

@ joe… bro one last question ,what camera should i go for? l810 or p510 for semi pro photography for a life time buy,,

3:53 pm - Sunday, December 2, 2012

#115 Roberthouse

What happend to the product image shot of the bottom of the camera?  Photographyblog is always so good about showing all views, including the straight-on shot of the bottom of the camera. that silly angled battery shot with the door open tells us nothing.

9:41 pm - Sunday, December 2, 2012

#116 JOE PRETE

Jahanzaib,
The P510 is a much better camera than the L810, but it also costs twice as much. There will always be one better!
... Joe Prete

6:35 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#117 JOE PRETE

Roberthouse,
You’re right. The picture of the batteries was not needed, it shows the batteries in the memory card photo. If you wanted to see where it was manufactured, Nikon states that they are a global company, and any of their cameras may be made in any number of locations.
... Joe Prete

6:50 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#118 gale

joe please help me, my grandparents are buying me a digicam for my birtyday tomorrow and they are buying either the samsung wb100 or nikon l810.. after reading all the reviews which one of these is better in terms of performance and image quality? thanks hoping for a speedy reply

1:33 pm - Monday, December 3, 2012

#119 jahanzaib

@joe
kindly email me ur fb or twitter addres or ur email ,,i will b thankful to u

11:33 am - Tuesday, December 4, 2012

#120 Rohith

Dear Joe,
What would be the best [low-end] bridge camera…priced somewhere in between $240-$300? i am a novice and an extensive research has left me with a short-list of 5 to choose from, viz.,

1)Fujifilm FinePix SL300
2) Nikon CoolPix L810
3) Canon PowerShot SX160
4) Fujifilm FinePix S4500
5) Olympus SP 810UZ

What would you recommend? Please help me.

9:02 pm - Thursday, December 6, 2012

#121 JOE PRETE

Rohith,
My first pick would be the Fujifilm S4500,
...the Second would be the Fujifilm SL300.   
..My third pick is the Nikon Coolpix L810,
..Fourth pick is the Canon Powershot 160
and there you have it okay,
... Joe Prete

1:32 am - Friday, December 7, 2012

#122 JOE PRETE

@Michael T Loose Post#112
Michael,
Can you tell me the one obvious and significant
result, of a picture taken with a pinhole camera?
Take a guess,
... Joe Prete

3:55 am - Friday, December 7, 2012

#123 Jean

Joe,
I’m not sure of the pubah status; however, I will tell you that I am still using the old L100 Nikon and still love the quality of photos, the AA and shutter speed. In wanting to go purchase another camera similar, but newer (my USB port on the camera needs repair) I’ve checked out the P510, but would not purchase it for several of the reasons that you give as reasons to purchase the camera. 

I prefer - no wait - dealbreaker is not having AA batteries. The P510 seems like a let’s pack as much on a camera as possible and sell it as a digital point and shoot.  I - and this is after all, all about me - don’t want the viewfinder - I’m not a geocacher, certainly don’t need GPS, and another moving part such as the moveable LCD is just something to break.  Unfortunately, the 810 has everything that I do want, but the shutter speed seems to be (on paper at least) slower than the L100. I could be wrong, but I will know today when I take my L100 to the store and actually test the two cameras side by side.  So, bottom line, there are a few folks left that are into the scaled down models -  not all the fluff and to be perfectly honest - I have 3 point and shoot cameras and 2 video cameras and when I want to take a good picture - and I have some that I have taken that look like professional photos, I go to my trusty old L100.  Unless the 810 is so much slower that I cannot get a photo of my two favorite models (a dog and a cat) the 810 would be exactly what I want for all of the reasons that you are suggesting the P510!  Just thought I would add my 2 cents!

7:32 pm - Thursday, December 13, 2012

#124 Joe Prete

Jean,
There have been next to no complaints about the NIKON P510, a friend, in the repair business knows the camera inside and out and he tells me that it’s one of the best in it’s range. I can have him speak to you, but not if you rush out,he is in a different time zone than me. THE L810 is a CCD BASED CAMERA, I don’t have time to check the specs right now, but few people were happy with it, it only shoots JPEGS so their standards are very low. The camera can only shoot at very low ISO and the CCD is only still being used in the lowest price cameras. The CMOS replaced it YEARS AGO. the L810 has a SONY Name in India, but it is the same camera. I’m helping someone else right now, but if you give me some time, I can give you some guidance. If you think you know what you’re doing, why did you take the time to post your plan, just do what you want…. Many people ask for help because haste makes waste! and I don’t need to know what everyone is buying, unless they ask for help. Make up your mind. I’ll check back later on today, If I don’t see a request for help, I’ll assume you don’t need any. I don’t understand why you wrote in in the first place! BTW, Optical viewfinders are fading away, but you can’t use an LCD on a sunny day, and an LCD leaves you no way to steady the camera!. Later…. 
... Joe Prete

3:49 pm - Friday, December 14, 2012

#125 nateesha

Hi Joe Prete,
I am wnating to buy a digital camera as i have an intrest in photography, I’ve never owned a digital camera before, I’ve been trying to figure out which camera to buy and what would be suitable for a beginner. i have a few selection,(the Nikon Coolpix L810 or the Panasonic Lumix ZS20). what would you suggest.
thanks

8:11 pm - Monday, December 17, 2012

#126 Joe Prete

Nateesha,
The most obvious difference in the two cameras you mentioned, is the physical size and shape. The L810 is not a camera to put into a pocket or small space. It will need it’s own case to carry it. That would have to have a shoulder strap, or carry handles. This is a low budget Superzoom camera w/lowcost ccd. cost $195.00

The Panasonic is a much higher quality,more pocketable camera. It can be bought in the U.S. for about $250.00 it has a flatter more logical shape, and can be carried in a much smaller place. It also has a better sensor, the mos type. It has a LEICA lens and it has a decent zoom range, a wide 24-480mm Slightly shorter than the superzoom, this Bridge camera is not the most popular, but it beats the L810 in every way. Better to learn with and not as bulky and obvious. I’m surprised the price is so close to the L810. I did give the price for silver, all the other colors are more but I’m not sure why. Both prices are from New York City.

2:44 am - Tuesday, December 18, 2012

#127 Joe Prete

Nateesha,
Wondering how you’re doing, Have you gotten a price on the ZS20? If for some reason it’s not the one, or if you have any other questions, it’s okay to let me know. I want it to be right for you both as a camera, and in your budget. Sometimes the NEW YORK prices are much lower. Please let me know how you’re doing.
... Joe Prete

11:11 pm - Tuesday, December 18, 2012

#128 Nateesha

Joe,
Thanks for all your help, I think I’m going to get the Panasonic Lumix DMc-lz20, it’s more in my price range and I have found it at a cheap price on the jessops website at £99.95 or at £113.00 including the SanDisk Extreme SDHC memory card 4GB

12:00 am - Wednesday, December 19, 2012

#129 Joe Prete

Nateesha,
That’s actually very similar to the L810, both in size, shape, weight and internal components, namely the sensor. A far cry from the Panasonic ZS20. Just remember, you pretty much get what you pay for, and it will show up in your pictures, every one of them.
Well, Good Luck with it anyhow.
Best Regards,
... Joe Prete

5:42 am - Wednesday, December 19, 2012

#130 Arpan Adhikary

Hey boys I want to bye a camera(bridge) in the range of 13,500Rs. But Iwhen I read about L810 I lost my mind about this model. So pls Help me to bye a bridge camera in the range of 13,500Rs.

11:36 am - Friday, December 21, 2012

#131 Arpan Adhikary

TO,
Joe

  Hey boys I want to bye a camera(bridge) in the range of 13,500Rs. But Iwhen I read about L810 I lost my mind about this model. So pls Help me to bye a bridge camera in the range of 13,500Rs.

Arpan.

11:43 am - Friday, December 21, 2012

#132 Arpan Adhikary

To,
Every One

Which I need to bye : 1.Sony DSC-H100
              2.Canon PowerShot SX160
              3.Nikon Coolpix L810
              4.Panasonic Lumix DMC-LZ20
              5.Samsung WB100

FOR BRIDGE AND PRICE RANGE WILL BE 10,000 to 13,500Rs.

PLs Help Me.

ARPAN

11:51 am - Friday, December 21, 2012

#133 sap

Hi Guys,

After lots of reviews, research and finally got convinced with this review and joe’s suggestions, i bought Nikon l810,my first Camera.
Now i feel to give my experience and opinions on it as i ve used it for a while now.

first let me confess, i was lured by the appearance of the camera as it looks like DSLR and i cannot afford it now :D i thought lemmi buy this one.
now after buyin it, i am kinda disappointed and the only reason being its lil big to carry.

comin to features of it ,with out touchin the technical specs, let me tell you they are as more or less same as of any other point and shoot camera.

clarity is awesome,night mode is very good.

i took some very good pics, it is value for money but who should buy this?

here is my opinion.
-if you are a beginner and just looking for a good quality camera to capture some fine moments with family and friends on daily basis.and not serious to become a pro in photography then this is not for you.

Reason: it is lil big to carry than compared to other point and shoot cameras providin same features and u can tuk them in u pockets easily.
this camera, u always need to carry a bag, need to worry about the lens,battery and due to its size u cannot take pics on the fly.

now who should buy this:
people who travel a lot where u see some scenic beauty may be lil far from u and u would like to zoom then its for you. 26x optical zoom, belive me its awesome. i was able to take a close up snap of moon with good quality. due to the quality the pictures are great in low light also.

I recently used my friends camera which is also a nikon one with 12 mega pix and i found exactly the same features in it except the zoom then i understood the exact meaning of the name of this camera. long zoom :D.

so if u need a camera for day to day or frequent and rough use then dont go for it.

people who like close ups and extra zoom, its for you.

i feel Nikon could ve added some basic DSLR featurs into it but sad it din.
hope this helps.

Joe,please correct me if there are any mistakes.

Thanks.

6:54 pm - Friday, December 21, 2012

#134 sap

guys to add lil more to my post above. if u want to start ur photography dont go with l810s looks, it looks lil like slr but there is nothing in it as slr has not even basic features. i would suggest P510 for beginners though it costs lil more or find a second hand on ebay.

thanks again.

7:06 pm - Friday, December 21, 2012

#135 Joe Prete

I agree with Sap’s Post above, I think it looks like the P510 a bit, and I don’t agree with that move by Nikon at all. Apparently that was the intention. It is always advertised in the same color as the most popular P510 color, and that is misleading many people.

This Camera is at best a poor imitation, of a clear winner. Even their number designation is misleading. One would naturally think that an 810 is a newer and/or better version of a 510. I shoot with Nikon myself, but I’m one of the first ones to complain about them, most often about their advertising. There has been way too many complaints, even for a low cost camera, the reports about blurry pictures are still coming in. And their Podcasts are a real joke, well, a joke would be funny, but what they put on their Podcasts isn’t funny, it is Bullshirt !!!

It also has an apparent twin under another label that is sold in india, and instead of giving them a decent low cost camera that they needed, giving them another brand of the same camera was a very low blow. They haven’t come out with the refurbished L810 yet, but beware, That will probably be their next move.

Anyone considering this camera should be aware, there are much better cameras in this price range and with similar Zoom capabilities. Anyone who needs one, just needs to ask, and we can provide a list of several alternatives.
  Joe Prete

1:29 am - Saturday, December 22, 2012

#136 Rachel Sly

I have just purchased the L180 and have been testing it by shooting my husband. And its killing me I don’t more nor change the setting and every photo comes out different..  I have 15month old triplets and am wanting to capture every moment but they move fast..  I haven’t tried shooting them BC they are asleep, but I’m terrified to BC of all the blur in a still not moving subject…

Should I return it.?
What do you recommend for fast shooting none blur photos?
-Sly

8:52 am - Monday, December 24, 2012

#137 Joe Prete

Rachel Sly,
Yes, RETURN IT OR EXCHANGE FOR A DIFFERENT MODEL!
The Nikon L610 is a good choice. I have heard of a few reports of blurry pictures with the L810 Apparently this is old stock. If you tell me what is available to you, I can try to help you to get the most for your money. If you read through page one of these comments, you can see some of the alternatives, and contact information for me if you can’t get through on line. Under any other circumstance the first lines of your post would be funny, but no this isn’t a good situation. Contact me and we will find you something and make sure that the price is right too!
... Joe Prete

12:56 pm - Monday, December 24, 2012

#138 Joe Prete

Rachel Sly,
See post #102 on this page (2)
... Joe Prete

1:11 pm - Monday, December 24, 2012

#139 Maha

I got L810 last month and I really do not know why the camera is taking so much of delay to capture pictures. Sometimes it goes on well and sometimes it doesn’t work properly. Is there any setting to be checked in order to make this work fine. This is my new camera and I do not have that much of knowledge in Photography. Please help me.

Thank you,

8:42 pm - Monday, December 24, 2012

#140 Joe Prete

Maha,
The first thing you need to know is how to operate the camera. If you’re in a focus priority mode, the camera will not fire until focus is achieved. If your SDHC Card is not fast enough, the images will be buffering and delaying the camera and it’s ability to fire again. It could be any number of things, but I can’t tell you without seeing it. If you read any part of the owners guide, you would know that calling Nikon for tech support is your right as a customer, but you will have to have read at least the basic guide. They will not read it to you, so I suggest reading that, and if the problem still exists, call them, and let them try to help you. If you have it two weeks you are probably past the return date, so I hope that you follow through with this before the camera winds up on a closet shelf! Don’t think that it’s the camera because at this point it sounds like the owner. There was a batch that had blurry images, the people that wrote in before you apparently bought old stock. I don’t know how basic a guide they gave you, but you can read the full guide at Nikon’s web site. I’m sorry but at this point only you can help yourself.
... Joe Prete

10:40 pm - Monday, December 24, 2012

#141 Jeanette

I am having trouble trying to get my L810 to start. Now I am hearing this is not unusual in this camera. I was told to change the batteries, change the media card, clean, blah blah blah. I had to reboot it when I first bought it in August, 2012 but this time is different. The on/off light goes on but nothing else happens.  I really really liked the pictures this camera took and I am upset that it has gone on the fritz in the 4 months I have had it. I bought it because it was a step up for me and I wanted replaceable batteries, not rechargeable ones since I travel so much. I am upset and miss the Canon I had. Can you suggest a Canon comparable to this one with replaceable batteries?

5:07 am - Tuesday, December 25, 2012

#142 Stephanie Smith

So….My camera mysteriously deleted or is missing over 100 pictures. I didn’t delete them…..Looked and they were there…..looked again and they were gone. It’s a Nikon Coolpix L810. There was no delete button pressed! Hooked it up to the computer & still NOTHING….Except the very last picture taken. Any suggestions? All my Christmas pictures, GONE… :-(

ALSO - Keep having issues where I take either just one picture, or a few & then it says battery exhausted. Have to turn off and turn back on. & It does it again. Brand new batteries & camera. Also, took a couple pics & afterwards it says File contains do data, for that picture. What’s going on??? Did I just get a defective camera? I lost every single Christmas pictures (over 100), if I can’t recover these pictures….

2:44 pm - Wednesday, December 26, 2012

#143 Mohammed

Joe,

While I don’t have a question about this product, I have to say that I’m very impressed with the details and timeliness of your answers. You’ve helped the people asking questions better than any sales associate I’ve ever been served by, and you’re commission free :)

Just bookmarked your site, and I’ll be back when I have a question.

Mohammed

5:25 pm - Wednesday, December 26, 2012

#144 sap

I agree with Mohammed 100%.
I have never seen anybody responding so patiently to the user queries which are mostly repeated questions.

Answering such questions over and over again is testing patience. if it were any other person they would have closed the post for no comments.

I sincerely appreciate Joe for his patience and answering all the user queries timely and most cordially with great amount of technicality in it.
I too have bookmarked it the first day i visited and i would recommend this site first for all those who want to buy a camera.

Joe,

You are a Tremendous man and a whole heatedly dedicated to your work.

Keep it up and thanks a lot for your efforts.

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year in Advance my friend.

6:36 pm - Wednesday, December 26, 2012

#145 tanay

Hi Joe,

By reading your expert knowledge in the photography and the comments you mentioned to help out some of the confused folks around here :D .I would also like you to suggest me a camera which i dont need to upgrade till next 5 years.
As i am an early adopter of the big cameras i would like to ask you whether to go with a bridge camera or a lowend dslr .I dont want to spend too much on the lenses everytime.

Currently i am looking into the following cameras to make my choice:

1)Panasonic lumix dmc 150

2)Nikon P 510

3)Cannon 1100D

Could you please help me in buying a good camera.

2:35 pm - Thursday, December 27, 2012

#146 yashasvi

hey joe,
how are you man? Nice effort by the way, your blog is great.
This camera(SONY DSC-H100) which many people are talking about has been launched only in india, you can see all all its details on (sony india)
  i am confused between nikon L810 and sony DSC-100. Please help me

8:09 pm - Sunday, December 30, 2012

#147 Joe Prete

Mohammed and Sap,
Thank You for your kind comments. I’m glad that I can help you guys!

Stephanie Smith,
I would suggest calling the SD Card Manufacturers tech support.
It is possible many times, to recover lost images on the memory card. Even if the card has been Formatted again, but not if a card has been used to store images after the reformat. They may be able to guide you through it, or have you send it in so they can do it for you.

Many times this is the difference between buying No-Name discount cards, and buying higher quality brand name cards. Those few dollars that you save, will not be worth it if you have no Tech Support line to call. Some brands even supply the software with the card, so take the time to look when you buy your memory cards because your memories are what you are trying to save in the first place. But always remember to not re-use a card with lost images. I always suggest to get two 8GB cards instead of one 16GB. In other words, Don’t put all your eggs in one basket!
... Joe Prete

1:06 am - Monday, December 31, 2012

#148 Joe Prete

Tany.
You do know that the current model for Panasonic is the DMC FZ200, but it is about $500.00 US. There’s nothing wrong with the earlier models, the FZ100 or the FZ150 but their price should be about half that of the FZ200. In many tests against each other, they all produce just about the same results. They are all good cameras. So assume it’s about $250.00 US.

The Nikon P510 is also a very good quality camera. In the US the price is about $349.00 It has a slightly longer lens than the Panasonic’s listed above. There are very few complaints about any of these cameras. They all will provide you with years of good quality photographs and few if any problems.

The Canon 1100D is different from the Super Zoom, Bridge cameras listed above, in that it is a DSLR. The 1100D aka the T3 is an entry level interchangeable lens camera. While it’s price may be similar, you will have to buy lenses for it. A “Kit” lens usually 18-55mm is what it usually comes with, may only add $50.00 US to the price, when bought together but to get further range, like to shoot birds or wildlife, most people add a second lens like a 55-200mm which could cost you another $200.00

Don’t get me wrong, the T3 (1100D) is a very good camera to start with. Years ago, when I started, film cameras were what we used, so the Superzooms and the Bridge Cameras were not even available, there were only Compact Film cameras. The results were seen days or weeks after taking the image, and spending $15.00-$20.00 a day for film & processing was very normal.

I do have a Pentax IQ Zoom 160 & a Canon Capture Z115, but I haven’t used them in years, but we all started with an SLR very much like the 1100D. You have a big advantage, in that you don’t need a film camera, hence the D in 1100D & DSLR not SLR.

If you are serious, and can afford even the 18-55MM Lens, I say Go for it. (Note the word SERIOUS) Even if it means having less of a range, for now, you may soon have enough money for that Zoom lens, in the meantime you will improvise (move in closer).
If this is the case, I suggest that you email me, so we can discus what to expect, also what is available to you. I can guide you through. It’s no harder than the other cameras, it’s just different.
Just let me know Tanay,
... Joe Prete

2:15 am - Monday, December 31, 2012

#149 Joe Prete

Tany.
The Panasonic FZ200 is the most recent, but there’s nothing wrong with the earlier models, the FZ100 or the FZ150 but their price should be about half that of the FZ200. They are all good cameras. So assume it’s about $250.00 US.

The Nikon P510 is also a very good quality camera. In the US the price is about $349.00 There are very few complaints about any of these cameras. They all will provide you with years of good quality photographs and few if any problems.

The Canon 1100D is different from the Super Zoom, cameras listed above, in that it is a DSLR. The 1100D aka the T3 is an entry level interchangeable lens camera. While it’s price may be similar, you will have to buy lenses for it, usually 18-55mm is what it comes with, it may add $50.00 US

Don’t get me wrong, the T3 (1100D) is a very good camera to start with. If you are serious, and can afford even the 18-55MM Lens, I say Go for it. I suggest that you email me, so we can discus what to expect, also what is available to you. It’s no harder than the other cameras, it’s just different. Just let me know,
... Joe Prete

2:34 am - Monday, December 31, 2012

#150 Joe Prete

Yashasvi,
You need not be confused, the Sony DSC-H100, is the same camera as the Nikon L810.  See Post number 113 of the SONY RX100 review on this site, as this was one of the first times this issue came up here. Cracking their shells open was my plan, but it seems that we’ll never find a Sony H100 in the US while they are still in production. Afterwards, it won’t really matter. Just about every camera contains parts made by other manufacturers. Most computerized devices have this in common. If you can, buy it new or refurbished by the manufacturer so you get a warranty.
... Joe Prete

3:15 am - Monday, December 31, 2012

#151 Joe Prete

To Tanay,
Sorry for the typo on your name, I actually had to cut a lot of the post just to get it through the Spam filter. Go figure!!!

Anyhow, if you go the DSLR route be sure to write me so that you can learn about what you’re getting in to. I think it’s great if you’re that serious about Photography, but it’s not as convenient as a Bridge Camera or a Super Zoom. See post 102 above for the email.
... Joe Prete

4:34 am - Monday, December 31, 2012

#152 Joe Prete

To the readers: Happy New Year!!! From Photographyblog.com
Yes from Mark Goldstein too!
... Joe Prete

7:24 pm - Monday, December 31, 2012

#153 Eka

Hi Joe, found that your site is much helped people who need some advises for finding right camera including me. Wanted to buy Nikon L810 today but after read your reviews I better change my mind. But now I am confused to buy between these options: Nikon coolpix P500, Nikon P510, Canon Powershot SX500 IS, Canon Powershot SX40 HS or Fuji Film S4500.

I think I better wait to get your review first before I go to the store. Thx Joe

5:23 am - Friday, January 18, 2013

#154 JOE PRETE

Hi Eka,
Thank you very much for the kind words. I’d like to set the record straight though, Mark Goldstein runs this site and aside from doing excellent reviews, he’s also a very nice guy. The Nikon P510 is the current model (P500 is discontinued) and it has really proven itself. Problem free, quite a statement, but it’s true. I can’t find any complaints in my log. That would be my first choice. The zoom is from 24-1000mm with very good image stabilization. For Sure, My first choice. It will be about $300.00 But buy from a reputable dealer so that you don’t get grey market! If you have a credit card with benefits, you should be able to extend the warranty up to one year, just by using that card. It’s become a very common feature.

The second choice would be the Canon SX500, It sells for about $250.00 It’s a scaled down version of the Flagship SX50HS($380)
The SX40 is too close in price to the SX50 so it will always be second rate! Finally the economy line of Fujifilm S4500 is very well worth the $149.00 that it sells for, but being the economy line it really doesn’t compete. So, to sum it up, it’s in this order
1)Nikon P510 at $300.00
2)Canon SX500 at $250.00
3)Fujifilm S4500 at $149.00  
If you have any questions, I’ll be around. Good Luck!
... Joe Prete

8:56 am - Friday, January 18, 2013

#155 JOE PRETE

Hi Eka,
Thank you very much for the kind words. I’d like to set the record straight though, Mark Goldstein runs this site and aside from doing excellent reviews, he’s also a very nice guy. The Nikon P510 is the current model (P500 is discontinued) That would be my first choice. The zoom is from 24-1000mm with very good image stabilization.

The second choice would be the Canon SX500, It sells for about $250.00 It’s a scaled down version of the Flagship SX50HS($380)
The SX40 is too close in price to the SX50 so it will always be second rate! Finally the economy line of Fujifilm S4500 is very well worth the $149.00 that it sells for, but being the economy line it really doesn’t compete. So, to sum it up, it’s in this order
1)Nikon P510 at $300.00
2)Canon SX500 at $250.00
3)Fujifilm S4500 at $149.00  
If you have any questions, I’ll be around. Good Luck!
... Joe Prete

9:00 am - Friday, January 18, 2013

#156 Eka

Hi Joe,
Thanks for your quick response,my regards to Mark then :)for his effort to provide this site where people like you giving knowledges and info for people like me (the amateur). I decided to buy Nikon P510. Asked some stores here in Bali, all of them saying they’re out of stock, lucky me I went to one store and found 1 left there. But I’ll just get it tomorrow as i refused to pay with the additional charge if I used debit card and so does with credit card, better in cash. Not quite sure if I used CC there is a benefit to extend the warranty but it has 1 year warranty (but am not keen to use my cc, if it isnt urgent thing) :p . Here it cost me around US$340. I am so looking forward to get it tomorrow. Had kodak digital camera but its broken, so I must have a new camera. Am not pro i just kind of person who is liking to take some shoots and hoping to get a great images as am living in paradirse island (people called so)where many things needs to be captured. including me, myself…haha! I might come back with other questions once i got my new camera, so be ready Joe :D THanks a lot for your kind help.

2:33 pm - Friday, January 18, 2013

#157 Joe Prete

Eka,
I’ll answer any questions you may have. I’m glad I could help. And btw, the pictures are excellent with the P510 I’m sure you will find it well worth the money.
... Joe Prete

8:53 pm - Friday, January 18, 2013

#158 Ron

L-810 Nikon
Does the 1/2 shutter focus function on both (easy auto) & (auto) modes,or is the focus automatically set by the camera in the (Easy Auto) Mode?
THX, your remarks are appreciated.

3:24 am - Saturday, January 19, 2013

#159 Joe Prete

Ron, Do you own this camera yet? If so, have you read the basic guide? Has it focused correctly at all yet? We need the information before we can answer any questions. Fill us in!
... Joe Prete

4:20 am - Saturday, January 19, 2013

#160 Parth

Sir, i want to know whether the fuzifilm s4500 indoor zooming is compatible with this nikon l810 because l810 lags behind in indoor zooming, it takes much time so i am confused between them…so kindly guide me to decide..and my another 2 options are sony dsc h100 and lumix lz20…i am concern about the zooming time…
Thank you…

1:26 pm - Tuesday, January 22, 2013

#161 Ron

Joe, Sent all info
THX for your response…......

3:10 pm - Tuesday, January 22, 2013

#162 JR.

Ron,
Joe asked what you sent, and to who?
He’s on a shoot that’s ends the 23rd
JR.

2:23 am - Wednesday, January 23, 2013

#163 joe

On my Nikon L810 i have yet to find a setting that will give me a fast shutter speed.  I seen on the review that is had a .08 second but i have yet to find that, can you help?

3:13 am - Wednesday, January 23, 2013

#164 JR.

Ron,
He said of course he’ll help you! Just send him an email explaining the situation and he’ll look at it when he gets back tomorrow. There is an email address above this, at post #102 and he will see what he can do for you.
...... Jr.

btw, if anyone sees the Canon SX50 HS at Below $400.00 US please let us know, at the email or in the comments section of the SX50,
It’s for one of our readers. ... Thank you, all

5:51 am - Wednesday, January 23, 2013

#165 aradhana

Dear Joe,
Just searching for reviews on nikon l810 ,i hooked up this site . Infact I wanted to place an order for it ..but well seeing the review of nikon l810 i just dropped the idea. Can you just suggest in this range canon model ...how about Canon PowerShot SX160 IS ...but even dpreview has rated this 2.5 .......so bit ocnufesd what to buy as i my budget is around $250. ...i am lukin for options like RAW,MACRO… hope u will guide me

12:01 pm - Wednesday, January 23, 2013

#166 Ron

JR, seems like the posters are getting confused as to who is sending which posts so I’m backing out. Thanks for all the good info. I’m keeping my L-810 Nikon. To me it still has more pluses than negatives. None of the competition is perfect either. THX, Ron

12:51 pm - Wednesday, January 23, 2013

#167 gary gallerie

This camera is giving me nothing but a bad experience.  1. Focus while zooming: images don’t stay in focus.  2. Sound jumps out of sync when viewing video. Don’t buy it.

4:13 am - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#168 JOE PRETE

Gary,
Is it a recent purchase? If so can you exchange it? If not, you have your warranty, right? We’ve been warning everyone about this one,
I know that doesn’t help you, but what are your options regarding Return/Warranty. I think Nikon is sending out refurbs. which can be free of these problems.
... Joe Prete

5:19 am - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#169 JOE PRETE

Aradhana,
Sorry, I was on a shoot, I thought someone would’ve answered you. My email address is at post #102, top of this page. Write to me, I’ll help you asap. I got RAW, MACRO & $250.00 What are you shooting (aside from macro) and where are you located, in the U.S.?
... Joe Prete

5:31 am - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#170 gary gallerie

I bought the camera online recently, so should have a warranty.  I have to check on this, cause I would like to get rid of the camera.  Thanks Joe

5:36 am - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#171 aradhana

Hi Joe,
Thanks for your response…...finally i dropped the idea of buiyng nikon l810 after reading al ot of reviews and checking thru dpreview.com,cameralabs.com…..since i was looking for a bridge camera in the range 0f around $200-215 ,i am now getting hooked on to the Canon powershot sx240 Hs whcih seems to be a better buy…it has got digic 5 processor also….i havenot bought it yet…...waiting for ur reply and a thumbs up for this….u can also suggest any other model of canon…..

6:12 am - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#172 JOE PRETE

Gary,
Locate all your paperwork, and you will have to register it with Nikon, if you haven’t done so already. They will give you a form to fill out (via email) and a Return Authorization number (RA). When you send it in, if they don’t have a location that you can easily get to, you will give them a clear copy of your receipt, and photocopy everything, write your serial number and your RA number. Write the RA number clearly on the box, and send it insured for full value. I always Photograph the equipment, the papers and the box. Yes this is a bit of overkill, but you want to get it right. My email address is at # 102, just above. If you have any questions, write me anytime. (Get everyones name, when you
speak to them on the phone. -always a good practice!) If you keep the original box, get a similar one, and DOUBLE BOX!!!
Best Regards,
... Joe Prete

7:00 am - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#173 JOE PRETE

Aradhana,
Please tell me what kind of pictures you like to shoot and I’ll select a few from which to choose in your price range, also how you want to carry it. The L810 would have needed a Camera Bag of it’s own. Also, please don’t think that this happens often with Nikon, this was a very rare issue. They are one of the major camera manufacturers.
Best Regards,
... Joe Prete

8:11 am - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#174 gary gallerie

Joe, I want to buy another camera, now that I hate the Nikon Coolpix L810.  Please recommend one for shooting motion (usually skateboarders) and zooming from a good distance.  I guess I can afford $450.  Thanks Gary

8:40 am - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#175 aradhana

Thanks Joe,

Pls dismiss the nikon l810…well since I live in India ,i want to stick to nikon or canon since service also matters in the area where i live…i want to do some street photography…may be a bit of flora….nature…......so can u suggest that fits my budget ...i donna bulky one…

9:51 am - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#176 JOE PRETE

Gary,
In that price range, you can get a real nice Zoom, The Panasonic FZ200 (600MM Zoom) or the Canon SX50 HS (1200mm Zoom) Both Have excellent Image Stabilization and can shoot jpeg + raw The Canon is a lot easier to start shooting right away, and has features like Zoom follow focus brackets (keeps your moving subject in the frame & in focus) and Facial Recognition. Power Zoom, If you don’t need the extra zoom, don’t worry, it just comes with the package!

The Panasonic FZ200 Has it’s basic modes, but it can be very difficult to learn, it’s very advanced. These days 600mm doesn’t seem like enough, but it’s got some real nice features. You do need to be more of a Technical/Photographer They could have printed an easier manual. I sent mine back and got the SX50 HS and was shooting before I left the store
... Joe Prete

4:00 pm - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#177 JOE PRETE

Gary,
In that price range, you can get a real nice Zoom, The Panasonic FZ200 (600MM Zoom) or the Canon SX50 HS (1200mm Zoom) Both Have excellent Image Stabilization and can shoot jpeg + raw The Canon is a lot easier to start shooting right away, and has features like Zoom follow focus brackets (keeps your moving subject in the frame & in focus) and Facial Recognition. Power Zoom, If you don’t need the extra zoom, don’t worry, it just comes with the package!The Panasonic FZ200 can be very difficult to learn, it’s very advanced. These days 600mm doesn’t seem like enough, but it’s got some real nice features. You do need to be more of a Technical/Photographer They could have printed an easier manual. I sent mine back and got the SX50 HS and was shooting before I left the store
... Joe Prete

4:05 pm - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#178 JOE PRETE

Gary,
Just so you know, I had to cut 2/3 of my reply because the spam filter would not let it through. (I’m in N.Y.) There was more info about the Panasonic FZ200, the whole paragraphs covering Fuifilm & Nikon. Both the HS30 EXR and the P510 can be found at B&H FOR $310.00 Also, the brand new HS35 EXR and Nikon P520 That’s the reason that I take these conversations Private. I hope that the cut down section gets through.
... Joe Prete

4:22 pm - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#179 JOE PRETE

Aradhana,
The Canon SX240 HS is a great choice! Everything you need in a much more compact body.  Macro Mode, 25-500mm 20X Zoom, Digic 5 CMOS Processor. It wasn’t on the U.S. site, but I found it on yours and like you said, it has everything you asked for.
Also it will be much easier to carry with it’s compact body.
The price I read was INR 17,995.00 if that sounds right I say go for it. I’m sure you’ll be okay learning it but if you have any questions we’ll be here. Good Luck!
Best Regards,
... Joe Prete

6:06 pm - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#180 aradhana

Thanks Joe…
finally i freezed my choice…...with Canon SX240 Hs after u said ok with it….thanks….will look for some valuable suggestions again…....take care…bye

4:35 am - Friday, February 1, 2013

#181 Maggie

Hello Pete, you have a great blog :) I was going to buy a L810 but after reading all these posts I changed my mind. My question is, what´s the difference between the nikon p500 and the nikon p510. Thanks a lot in advance!

2:44 am - Wednesday, February 6, 2013

#182 JOE PRETE

Hi Maggie,
Yes, please steer away from the L810. It’s finally reached the end of it’s production run!! The Nikon P510 is the newer version with a Longer Zoom lens (24-1000mm), a newer sensor, and a few other improvements. I would take the newer P510 over the P500 for sure, but is it the right camera for you? If you tell us what kind of pictures you like to take, and how you plan to carry your camera, we can help you to make an informed decision. Just so you know, Mark Goldstein is the Owner/Editor of the site. I am a Photographer/Writer, but I’ll gladly help you to choose the right camera. (btw, the new P520 and L820 were just announced on 1/28/13 and they will soon reach the stores)
... Joe Prete

4:52 am - Wednesday, February 6, 2013

#183 Jim Stacy

Nikon COOLPLX L810 26x optical zoom…
If you getting this camera for summer daylight use it’s a great camera.
If your getting it for winter (cold weather) 4 wheel trips, hiking, etc. where its going to be out in the cold for a long time, or you do a lot of night time work… this is not the camera for you.. No manual focus, or other manual setting at all. This is the first time I’ve ever been sorry I bought a Nikon..
Sorry Nikon… This camera just doesn’t stand up to the Nikon standards..
and YES I will continue to use NIKON camera’s.. Just not this model..
Respectfully… Jim Stacy… Ohio

6:08 pm - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#184 JOE PRETE

Hi Jim,
We tried to steer everyone away from this one, but the low price and it’s similarity to the P500/510 lead to many impulse sales, but it’s the only recent Nikon that we know of with such a long list of problems. I’d like to say that you should have returned it or sent it back for repair under the warranty, but I’m sure there was a reason. No doubt Nikon should have given credit or a replacement for this one. We cracked one open, and it seems to be the same camera inside as the Sony H100 that is sold in India. Those daring enough might try the L820, but I would recommend waiting for a review from one of the major Photo Gear Review sites. I should say that Nikon has covered every issue that I have had with their gear, NPS and Consumer. Buyers beware though, there are many L810’s still available. 
... Joe Prete

11:06 pm - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#185 Jim Stacy

Thanks Joe… Your right I should have taken it back… But you know how that goes.. .seems like I couldn’t find the time and when I did it was to late… Thats my falt… what can I say… But anyway thanks for getting back to me…

11:43 pm - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#186 JOE PRETE

Readers,
I was at the NIKON U.S. East Coast HQ. and I have the current Firmware Update list.
For the Coolpix L810 Latest Firmware version 1.1 Dated 11/20/12
is the latest update. Check yours to see if it’s current.
... Joe Prete

12:51 am - Saturday, February 16, 2013

#187 Shreenidhi

Hello Joe,

I want a low end bridge camera. I find the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LZ20 impressive but sadly there are no reviews of it on the internet. Have you used it? Is it buyable? If you haven’t used it, can you tell me by looking at the specs? I will mostly use the camera for outdoor photography and for weekend cycling trips.

3:16 pm - Friday, February 22, 2013

#188 JOE PRETE

Shreenidhi,
The LZ20 came out about June 2012 It’s an extremely plain 21X Zoom with a CCD sensor. I believe the zoom range was 25-525mm
You may find NOS in some stores but it might be a problem if you ever need repairs. I wouldn’t chase after this one, it wasn’t very popular. The more recently introduced LZ30 I believe has a longer 35X, 25-875 Zoom lens. I’m not sure where you’re located, so I would need more information to find out if it’s available to you. It might be worth looking into the Fujifilm Cameras too.
... Joe Prete

9:19 pm - Friday, February 22, 2013

#189 JOE PRETE

Shreenidhi,
NOS-New Old Stock. ... Sorry
... Joe Prete

9:24 pm - Friday, February 22, 2013

#190 Pratik

Hey Joe plz gice ur opinion

8:22 pm - Monday, February 25, 2013

#191 Pratik

Thanks for this review Joe….i like to take snap of any beautiful things comes across me,also i have intrest in wild life and nature photography. im a beginner, first i like this camera because of its big zoom and NIKON name on it, but now my mind is changed, so plz suggest me big zoom camera with better image quality in range of 250 USD, also what is ur opinion about sony cybershot dsc-h200 camera.
Thanks :)

9:07 pm - Monday, February 25, 2013

#192 JOE PRETE

Pratik,
The H200 was just announced last month, I believe the release date is 2/26/13 (tomorrow) So there hasn’t been much said about it yet. It seems to be a bare bones model, that’s not a bad thing if that’s all you need. In fact, it may be better! Once the reviews come out, you should compare it with the Zoom cameras that are in the same price bracket like the Nikon L820 and the Fujifilm S6800 It seems that you can get quite a nice SuperZoom in the $250.00 price range now. If you have trouble choosing, write back with the cameras available in your area and we’ll help you sort it out. Don’t buy the first camera you see, at $250.00 you should make an informed decision. Good Luck Pratik.
... Joe Prete

1:36 am - Tuesday, February 26, 2013

#193 Pratik

Thanks for reply Joe…I will surely wait for review

5:40 am - Tuesday, February 26, 2013

#194 Pratik

Hiii Joe
need ur suggestion..im getting used canon EOS 1000D and Nikon D3000 in around 292 usd…shall i go for them (which one)? or wait for latest point and shoot camera?
Thanks…

9:28 pm - Sunday, March 3, 2013

#195 Linsey C.

I must make a suggestion, to any of you complaining about the use of AA batteries, rechargeable batteries are a good (and, for digital cameras, necessary) investment. This is my first camera, I bought a brand called Eneloop, and have never had these babies die on me!

As for the L810, I am very pleased with it. The 26x zoom is wonderful, comes out clear, it’s a good starter camera for an affordable price. I’ve never tried any of the other brands, so I have nothing to compare it to. If you’re an advanced photographer, this model -obviously- isn’t for you. I think given its audience, it serves its purpose as an easy, user-friendly camera.
My only complaints are that it does take a few seconds to record before you can take another photo—that and the higher the ISO settings come out grainy. Aside from that, I’m happy with it for now!

12:07 am - Tuesday, March 12, 2013

#196 JOE PRETE

Pratik,
I have the spec sheet for H200 and a few others. What’s this now with the Canon & Nikon request. Have you changed directions?
I sent you an email, now I’m wondering if I have the right address for you. This post will soon be put into archive, so you don’t lose me, I’m at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address). I was going to ask Mark why he hadn’t pulled this one yet. Readers please be aware that new Nikon models have been coming in. The L810 was replaced with the L820, BUT PLEASE WAIT FOR A REVIEW, THIS ONE WAS NOT GOOD AT ALL. There is current firmware version listed above, for those that still have this model.
... Joe Prete
... Joe Prete

12:39 am - Tuesday, March 12, 2013

#197 JOE PRETE

To Linsey C. @ Post#195
I looked at the home page that your name is linked to. Those Photographs do not seem to be from a beginner using an L810 I would like to speak to you. Can I contact you from that page? If you are more comfortable contacting me first, you can write me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) This review will soon be going into archive so I hope to reach you before that.
... Joe Prete

6:12 am - Tuesday, March 12, 2013

#198 Charity

Hi,

My company wants to buy a camera good for taking newsletter pictures and even newspaper pictures and also take the best videous.I was thinging of the Nikon L810 will it be good for this project if not which would you recommend and why?

8:29 am - Wednesday, March 13, 2013

#199 JOE PRETE

Charity,
I’m on my way to an appointment (a bit late) but I promise when I get Back I will speak to you first.
Charity always comes first. I’ll be back soon,
Best Regards,
... Joe Prete *:800AM EST N.Y.)

1:08 pm - Wednesday, March 13, 2013

#200 Pratik

No Joe my direction is same, as their are 2 factors for me…my first camera as a beginner and big zoom, so i got a deal of used slr in good condition dats why i ask…anyway they are gone, meanwhile i went through the review of Nikon coolpix p510, except dat focusing problem in video mode its a good camera.now im thinking of increasing my budget, here in India it will come at as low as 18000 inr…also waiting for reviews of new cams :)

2:00 am - Friday, March 15, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 16 megapixel, nikon, super-zoom, coolpix, 26x zoom, AA battery, nikon l810, l810, Nikon Coolpix L810 Review, coolpix l810

Tracker Pixel for Entry