Nikon Coolpix L820 Review

4.0
May 22, 2013 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

245 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Steven Baker

Once again - this is an outstanding review and certainly highlights how good a camera this is for the money

1:07 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#2 Giedrius

ye i agree.

4:27 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#3 nino komericki

Please correct 26x zoom to 30x zoom in product specs. what is with other data?

4:59 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#4 moeskoetie

very noisy pictures.
crap camera

5:14 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#5 Mad Hungarian

What an ugly purple color! What’s next? Carpeted finish?

9:18 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#6 Jim

Nikon Crap 2.0!

6:09 am - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#7 Jim

What they should do, is take the L810 back and give credit toward their second try. After they screwed everyone with that L810 they should really have to earn their customers trust. Could you imagine anyone that got stuck on the first one actually buying model two?

6:23 am - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#8 monisha

very execelent cameras…..  and super blogr….

7:56 am - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#9 Nandhini

fantastic blog….

7:59 am - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#10 N. Machiavelli

Suerly, this specific unit is defected. The right side in all the pics is blurry in the extreme, even by Nikon Coolpix’s notorious standard. The left side is also blurry, but this degree of blurriness is expected from a budget Coolpix camera

8:45 am - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#11 Anand

It is a good camera. Manual raising of flash-hood appeared somewhat outlandish. Same the case with removing the lens cover while switching on the camera(many a time I wonder it might damage the lens-motor). Picture & video quality very good. For telephoto tripod is a must, otherwise you cannot appreciate 30x zoom

1:09 pm - Saturday, June 1, 2013

#12 Bikashjyoti

Just purchased L810 and at the price this is the best you can get—- 1080 px videos, 30X zoom, CMOS.

8:46 pm - Sunday, June 2, 2013

#13 Partha Bhunia

I am confuse with these three cameras
1.Nikon Coolpix L820 Advance Point and shoot
2.Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H200 Point & Shoot
3.Fujifilm S4500 Point & Shoot    
Can u tell me his is best?

4:17 am - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#14 Pauline Lockyer

I am interested in the Nikon Coolpix L820 but concerned at the life of the AA batteries as opposed the Lithium battery I now have in my current camera.  Can anybody tell me if they last or is this is a problem? Thank you x

9:12 pm - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#15 Amod

Thank you for the great review.I had been waiting for long for the review. Mostly people had like the camera and now I had also decided to buy.

9:28 am - Friday, June 7, 2013

#16 Amod

@Partha
L820 is best. Compare the specs. L820 has better shutter speed. Also the dpi count is far greater than rest two which gives far greater image quality.
Also it has backlit CMOS sensor which is better than CCD.

9:31 am - Friday, June 7, 2013

#17 Rob Mac

Good value at the right price and the BSI CMOS sensor is a forward step, but why no Electronic Viewfinder for a 30x zoom, especially in bright sunlight and at long telephoto settings??? Even many of the cheaper Fuji super zooms have an evf.

9:25 am - Wednesday, June 19, 2013

#18 Rob Mac

Also in your review, the movie using zoom completely loses focus on the building. Was the continuous focus enabled?

9:27 am - Wednesday, June 19, 2013

#19 SV

I purchased L80 recently to take it for a trip. I wanted a camera that uses AA battery, that can be purchased anywhere.
I am still practicing with this camera. In general I am satisfied with the picture quality.
But, I run into problem when I try to use the Panorama Mode. I follow the instructions and it syarts OK. But in a few seconds I get the message"Can’ create Panorama”

Has anyone encountered this problem?
Any suggestion from the experts will be appreciated.
This is my first Nikon. Previously, I have used Olympus and it worked very well with all modes, including panorama.

Sara

2:14 pm - Sunday, June 23, 2013

#20 SV

In my previous comment I made a mistake. The camera I refer to,with problem on Panorama mode, should be Nikon Coolpix L820.
Sorry for the confusion.
SV

2:18 pm - Sunday, June 23, 2013

#21 SV

Please change the camera type in my previous mail to L820.Sorry for thw mistake. If you have any suggestion about how to make my L820 work in panorama mode please let me know. Thank you.

2:22 pm - Sunday, June 23, 2013

#22 maina

I bought the nikon L820 recently and i too found the problem as stated by SV(Sara)[comment #19] may we get some help on this problem??

7:43 pm - Tuesday, June 25, 2013

#23 rqgr

.....get a live….....

10:25 am - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#24 Keith

Very comprehensive, clear and concise review.

I handled one of these and liked what I saw before reading this and other reviews. What I’ve read here has convinced me that you get a lot for your money. I will be purchasing one asap!

Thanks!

8:16 am - Saturday, June 29, 2013

#25 Joe Prete

Maina and Sara,
SV, and Nikon owners experiencing problems with your camera:
Why don’t you call the Toll Free Nikon Tech Support Line?
That IS what they’re there for. The Phone number is written in many places with your owners guide, Software instructions and usually on the inside of the box flap. Can you believe how easy they make it, In the U.S. Dial 1-800-NIKON-US other areas can reach them at 1-800-NIKON-UX and if you still have a problem, type this URL into your browser “NIKON.COM” and pick your area from the map or within the Nikon Global site.

Another good place to learn about your Nikon is on their website under “SUPPORT” Nikon has some very educational material in what they call the “DIGITUTOR” these videos are there for every camera that Nikon sells. I always wonder why people take the time to write in to a “REVIEW BLOG” when they can get help from the people that actually make the product. What if we told you to hold the camera under cold water, would you actually do that?

Nikon would rather have you call them, or use the many Support choices that they provide you with. The reason is, they really don’t want you to screw anything up. They would be happy for you to know how to use the camera successfully, it’s good for you and it’s good for them too! If you have trouble with your TV would you look for a blog for that too? I didn’t think so. Try to use this information, learn from it, because it applies to many different products, not just cameras. Now take your camera out of the sink, and while you’re on their website, REGISTER it. The reason? in the event of any FIRMWARE UPDATE or recall, they will have a better idea of how to reach you, the product owner. Yes.
This is Very important, due to the mess that the L810 created!
... Joe Prete  

8:57 am - Sunday, June 30, 2013

#26 Joe Prete

#17 Rob Mac,
In case you haven’t noticed, Electronic Viewfinders (EVF) and Optical Viewfinders (OVF) have been disappearing with each new model. Their excuse is the “Point & Shoot” crowd never used it. Also, it saves them a ton of money! You are right, Fujifilm is the only holdout, the only place to find an EVF/OVF camera for under $300.00 And many “Quality” cameras have it as a very expensive option. Just look at the Sony RX1 a $2,800.00 camera with optional EVF for $450.00 and an OVF for $600.00 Just give them 10k and you can get the set! By the way, you can also thank Fujifilm for the Back Side illumination (BSi) in the L820. But how people shoot quality images without an OVF is a puzzle to me!
... Joe Prete

9:35 am - Sunday, June 30, 2013

#27 Rajat

Hi Joe,
Need :
1. Landscape pics.
2. Faraway pics.
3. Low light (street light) outdoor pics.

Options :
1. Nikon Coolpix l820.
2. Canon powershot sx 500.

Please advice on:
1. Image quality.
2. True colours in photographs without blue or yellow tints , with or without flash.

Thanks, Rajat.

8:37 pm - Sunday, June 30, 2013

#28 Joe Prete

Rajat,
I’m willing to help you. I’ve given you an email address on the other review. I have another suggestion for your camera choice, but I need to know the availability in your area. Neither of these cameras has a viewfinder. Considering your ambitions, I think it’s something you will need. Better we exchange a few messages, than have you regret your decision. I’ve read your comments, please follow my instructions.
... Joe Prete

11:46 pm - Sunday, June 30, 2013

#29 Jim

Hi! I was just wondering how you can change the shutter speed and aperture levels of this camera? I very new to photography and i would like to know how the reviewer did the sample pictures. Thanks.

3:30 am - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#30 Joe Prete

Jim,
Did you look at the owners guide? If it’s not in the starter guide, they gave you a CD ROM with the full guide in there. Try the table of contents, or the index. I wouldn’t think you can get to creative with this camera, it’s really a “Point & Shoot” not a Photographers camera. Have you read any comments above?
...  Joe Prete

4:40 am - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#31 Jim

Hi Joe!
Yes, I have read the manual and from what I understand the only thing you can change manually is the iso while the shutter speed and aperture levels are determined by the camera automatically. I was just wondering how the author took the same picture with different shutter speeds on the sample pictures. Also, can you tell me how to focus on an object and make the background look blurry? Thanks mate!

4:54 am - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#32 Jim

Hi Joe!
I have read the manual and from what I understand the only thing that you can change manually is the iso setting, the shutter speed and the aperture are automatically determined by the camera. That is why i would like to know how the author of the review took the same photo with different shutter speeds on the sample pictures. Also, can you tell me how to focus on an object or person make the background blurred? Thanks.

5:24 am - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#33 Joe Prete

Jim,
Go to the search box on the right side way above this text, second line from the top, type Nikon L810 Review into the search box, look for the Nikon Ll810 “Review Comments”, Go to number 102, there, you’ll find an email address. Write to me and I will help you through email. It will be confidential between us.
... Joe Prete

10:24 am - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#34 Joe Prete

Should be L810, The model prior to this one, sorry for the typo,
... Joe Prete

10:27 am - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#35 Joe Prete

Mike, should have been “Nikon L810”  ” Review Comments” section. Sorry for the Typo Mike.
... Joe Prete

10:49 am - Sunday, July 7, 2013

#36 Keith

Hi I read on Amazon that there is a design fault with the lens cap on the L820. If you switch the camera on with the lens cap still in place the zoom lens will push against the lens cap and makes horrible sounds. Apperently if this happens too often the zoom mechanism gets totalled.

Anyone any idea of a workaround to this?

8:08 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#37 Joe Prete

... Jim,
Please follow the link above, I can’t explain everything on the blog. Write me through email and I can help you within 1 or 2 emails. Almost half of these entries land out of order, sorry. 

...Kieth, This is the first I’m hearing that this is a defect? Why do you ned to turn the camera on while the lens cap is covering the lens??? Fujifilm, Sony, and others put the “on switch” in the lens, maybe you should choose one of those models. When I was 10 years old, taking pictures with an SLR, it never occurred to me to use a camera with the lens cap on. Maybe you should use an SLR with it’s optical viewfinder, you won’t see anything while the lens cap on,  Understand?
... Joe Prete

9:34 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#38 Keith

Hi Joe, I am not saying I would want to do that, but maybe it happens by accident or one of the kids switches it on.

I understand that one shouldn’t use a camera with the lens cap on but mistakes happen don’t they?

The Amazon reviewer says it can happen quite often, see here:

http://www.amazon.com/review/R2LXNU9Z4Q87B9/ref=cm_cr_pr_viewpnt#R2LXNU9Z4Q87B9

 

11:46 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#39 Joe Prete

Yeah Kieth,
That is one person’s opinion, who even knows who he is, actually anybody can say anything on Amazon. I more trust the designers at Nikon and Sony, which is where this camera came from. But, return it! if it’s defective maybe they’ll credit you toward another brand. -unless you bought it at Amazon! They will have it checked under your warranty and send it back to you. The other cameras I described are actually idiot proof, for those that need it, but this is a delicate piece of optical equipment, for about $200.00 I think it’s something that even a child can take good pictures with.
Btw, I teach Photography.  Knowing how the L810/H100 turned out, I wouldn’t even go near this one, but that’s me.
People buy for price, and $40.00 more would have put you into the same range as the Canon SX500 IS or Several other Nikon Cameras, The Nikon L610 would have been a better choice for less money. And doesn’t anybody consider Fujifilm, Pentax, or Olympus anymore? Panasonic & Sony have dozens of cameras in this range. Did you read about the Nikon L810 on this Blog? I shoot with Nikon DSLR’s every day, but my Compact Zooms are Canon SX50 HS $375.00, Fujifilm HS30EXR $255.00 and Panasonic FZ150 $250.00 And Fujifilm Has many Long Zoom Cameras With EVF/LCD & Power Zoom FINEPIX S8200, S8300, S8400, S8500 Those Zooms are increasing upward from 24-960mm, 1008mm, 1056mm, 1104mm, Then the SL240, 260, 280, 300 Top out at under $300.00 or the Electronic SL1000 24-1200MM very much like the Canon SX50 HS (at $150.00 less than the Canon) Anyone who buys the L820 shouldn’t be nitpicking. You bought a camera without a Viewfinder, what are you expecting. Kieth, keep the lens cap off, even if you scratch the lens, you will never see any difference. Sorry man!
... Joe Prete

1:02 pm - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#40 Kate

I’m debating between the Canon SX500 and this Nikon l820. I’m about to take a vacation and want a camera with good image quality and a battery situation that is not demanding. These two cameras seems very evenly matched. Which would you recommend?

4:11 am - Wednesday, July 10, 2013

#41 Joe Prete

Kate,
Although these two cameras are in the same bracket, the history is on Canon’s side. I’ve been answering questions here for some time now and I can tell you one thing for sure, there were few, if any complaints about the SX500 IS. I can’t remember any, but we’ll check it’s review. The Canon SX500 IS is well past it’s mid cycle, as the Nikon L820 is a few moths in. I’ve answered complaints just yesterday (although, it was kind of silly, check the date) the camera that this is replacing, the L810 was quite a Lemon. Now that doesn’t mean that this one is too, but at least go to their respective websites and use Nikon’s comparison tool.

Check the L820 against the L810 to see what has changed.
So far to me, it does appear to be the same (Sony) camera, with little enough difference to wonder. Canon has compare tools also, but I.m not sure what you’d compare the SX500 IS with. (the IS means Image Stabilization. Every camera today has some form of image stabilization). You do know that these are completely “Point & Shoot” cameras with little left for the user to do, so if you’re the creative type, you won’t have anything to change on either camera. I would go through the comments of all three cameras I just mentioned and count the Positive & Negative for each. Also, I would see what the other brands offer in this price rang, or just above it. (The Canon spent most of it’s time in the next price bracket up, so they may be 70% into it’s run already. But do look at a few of the competing brands, you may very well get more for your money. I hope that helps you.
... Joe Prete

5:49 am - Wednesday, July 10, 2013

#42 Joe Prete

Kate,
One other thing, several other sites do use a grading system, like Gold & Silver or 75%, and they leave a comment there too. This site simply averages five areas and several cameras do fall in between, this is a very common complaint here, take a look.
... Joe Prete

6:06 am - Wednesday, July 10, 2013

#43 Yoni

Hi

I want to buy my first camera for nature photography.
I compared few brands: Nikon P520,L820 Canon SX500 IS and Panasonic FZ48,FZ62.

Which model will give the best price performance.

Yoni

10:32 am - Sunday, July 14, 2013

#44 Monika

Hi Joe,
I leave for a 3-week backpacking trip to Central Asia and would like to get a AA battery-supplied camera as I might have no electric power for most of the time and don’t want to carry the weight that a DSLR would imply. Im currently looking at the Nikon Coolpix L820 and at the Canon PowerShot SX160 IS. The Canon is much lighter, but from some of the reviews I found on the net, the Nikon seems to have better image quality, from other reviews I am not so sure about this difference. Do you have personal experience with both of them? Or could you think of another model that I should look at?
Thanks a lot in advance!!!

11:14 am - Wednesday, July 17, 2013

#45 Sarah

I need to purchase a camera bag for our L820. I need it to be durable, hard wearing, travel well and often and deal with 3 kids.  Can you recommend one for me that is relatively inexpensive please?

1:43 am - Thursday, July 18, 2013

#46 Joe Prete

Hello Sarah,
I have found the Brand LOWEPRO has quite a lineup of excellent Protective cases for these “Compact” and “Compact Zoom” cameras. They are very inexpensive, starting at about $20.00 and they can be found at many Retail Stores Like Sears, Walmart, Costco, Staples, Officemax not to mention Camera Shops and Amazon too. To give you an example, I have a Canon SX50 in a Lowepro Rezo TLZ 10 and the camera fits like a glove by itself. I have the Canon G1 X and a Canon Flash 270EX in a Lowepro Edit 110 and it has a divider separating the Camera & Flash, both are well protected. This case has a Pocket inside, one on the front and one on each side. This one was $27.95 at Staples. They all have: A Carry Handle, Shoulder Strap and a Velcro strap on the back to slide onto a belt, or a larger case or (luggage).

I was able to judge the size without having the camera with me,
but you can also visit their Site to check the styles, inner and outer dimensions. You should check the models on line to get a good idea. their URL is http://www.lowepro.com and they have a tool called “Bagfinder” that will make it easy for you. This is one of those brands that you will really feel that you’ve got your moneys worth, your camera will be well protected even if it falls or gets banged around. Most are also weatherproof, and they are all good looking cases. I hope that helps you Sarah.
... Joe Prete

2:24 am - Thursday, July 18, 2013

#47 Joe Prete

Hi Monika,
The Canon SX160 is an excellent compact camera, a smaller body than the Nikon L820, but it has many nice features. You can go a long way with AA’s in the SX160 and it’s range is about 28-450mm Visit their site at http://www.canon.com & pick your area.
The IS in SX160 IS stands for “Image Stabilization” and it does a very good job too. Later on, you can get NiMH Rechargables, so you won’t always need to replace them. By the way, AA’s can cost about one dollar each in a small pack, but buying a 10 or 12 pack should bring the price down quite a bit, and the Expire date should be about 6 years ahead from when you buy them.
... Joe Prete

2:57 am - Thursday, July 18, 2013

#48 Leigh

Hi Joe,

I am looking for a camera that is good for sports scenes since my boys play football, baseball and wrestle. I’d like one with a 30X zoom. I just bought a Nikon Coolpix L820 and so far I’m not impressed with its sports mode. What do you recommend? Also, are there any cameras that let me use the flash in sport mode/burst mode? Thanks.

1:24 am - Monday, July 22, 2013

#49 Joe Prete

Hi Leigh,
I really think that you get what you pay for, so get the other half of the money and I’ll make a list for you. I can tell you that it will have at least one from each of, Panasonic, Nikon, Canon, Sony and Fujifilm. I think you’ll want to get at least a few years out of the camera, even more if you want.  Just write me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) and tell me how much you can spend, and any other uses this camera will have and also, if you’re in a good delivery area, or near any major retailers, just a general idea will do, so that I’ll know that you can get what you need. It will only take a day or so after I hear from you.
... Joe Prete

3:29 am - Monday, July 22, 2013

#50 Eric Martin

Some have mentioned some issues when using the the L820. I finally learned how to take advantage of the Smart Portrait System and automatically set the modes without need to always go through the menu.

I’ve outlined a lot of features that will help. If a newbie like me can use it then anyone can. For tips if any one is interested you can go to the link below.

http://martie01.hubpages.com/hub/Nikon-L820

11:40 am - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#51 Joe Prete

Eric,
Good job! You should know that B&H has several informational articles and Videos too, on their site and at Youtube. Regarding the L820, I do have at least a dozen people that believe it was defective, most returning the camera within the first few weeks.
One Reader wrote to me regarding the cameras malfunction, but was willing to keep trying. He brought the camera to ComicCon and he said all the pictures came out fine. I knew there would be some carry over thoughts from the Nikon L810/Sony H100 but those buying this camera should realize that it’s a simple Point & Shoot design, and if buying it at a Camera shop like B&H it might be best to have them try it with you at the store. This far outweighs any savings you may see by using mail order. The Camera Shop should still be your first choice, the customer service can not be matched by mail order!
... Joe Prete

9:21 pm - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#52 Ceci

Hi Joe,
I’m looking for a camara to travel and I have similar needs as #27 Rajat (landscape pics, faraway pics, low light -street light- outdoor pics). You told him that you have another suggestion for his camera choice. Could you tell me what model I should look at? I’m not a photographer, so I’m not looking for a reflex camera. I’d like a not too big/weight camara and one that let me go a long way with the batteries. Another option is Canon PowerShot SX160 IS but as #44 Monika said, Nikon Coolpix L820 seems to have better image quality. I can spend 350$ (more or less), and I live in Madrid.
Thanks!!!!!

5:00 pm - Friday, July 26, 2013

#53 Joe Prete

Ceci,
This is a simple “Point & Shoot” camera that I hear many complaints about. It seems to work for few people, I assume under specific conditions. I would have to know what those conditions are, and how you plan to use it. Write to my email address found on other comments above yours and I will speak to you about it.
... Joe Prete

6:37 pm - Friday, July 26, 2013

#54 windy bondWindy Bond

I am trying to buy my first camera. I like all the specs of the nikon l820 and it is in my price range.  I train horses for a living and need a good camera for that. I also like to shoot wildlife and other animals. I do not know a lot about photography but i love to take pictures and do a lot with my cell phone i had liked this camera since i saw it but now after reading the reviews am confused as to if this would be a good investment for me. What do you think? Is there another option for me that is better and still the same price? Thank you!

9:00 pm - Sunday, July 28, 2013

#55 Aaron Thayer

Hi,

I am on a budget of around $300 looking for as high quality of a point and shoot camera as I can get for $300 that has a long zoom, great burst mode - I have two kids, good video, and most importantly, a very fast FPS speed. I want a camera that takes pictures, stores them on the memory card, and then is ready for me to take another picture very fast, almost as fast as my D-SLR camera simply because I have two fast moving children. Don’t know if this is possible, but I am hoping so. I have a pocket sized point and shoot, so I am not looking for one of those and am upgrading from my Canon D-SLR which has finally started to poop out on me, after 6 years. Any suggestions would be great!

Thanks.

10:04 pm - Sunday, July 28, 2013

#56 Joe Prete

Aaron,
Not to seem coy, but writing “High Quality” in the same sentence with “$300.00” does not usually describe a good situation.

What you seem to imply, is that you would like to have everything, but you’re not willing to pay for it! I should also say that the Phrase “High Quality” does not fit in well with ANY description of this camera.

I think you should read the previous comments, to see if this has been discussed before. (that goes without saying) After that, look at the comments for the previous model, the L810 and the next camera that you’ll be looking at, The Canon SX500 IS.

After that, you may understand enough about what is going on in this segment of Photography, the Low end, or inexpensive area, to see if you want to maybe, rephrase your comment.

Readers, Please DO look at the previous comments to see if your inquiry has been discussed. Many times, I see the same questions posted only inches away from the same exact inquiry. These will not be answered in the future.
... Joe Prete

Windy Post#54,
No, this would not be considered a “Good investment”. Actually, if you had read the prior posts, you would know that this camera is following the same trail as the L810 just before it. Tell me how much you can spend, and if you have retail Shops near you, or if you’re within Delivery area of Internet Shops. When you added the part about Wildlife, you are describing two different cameras, or one that does both areas poorly. If you pick one or the other, you should be able to find something decent, considering you are using a Cell phone, that’s close to you, but Wildlife are usually found out in the ... Wild. In the forest or trees, but not very close to you at all. Can you understand that?

If you reach me by email, do so from your own email account so that you won’t get any warnings. It seems that too many people used the link on these pages that a Phising site warning is now showing up. I posted that email address for a few people that I helped, but the volume of clicks on the link triggered the warning. It is not a commercial site, or store, but it is just one of my email addresses. It wasn’t designed for high volume use. 
... Joe Prete

4:40 am - Monday, July 29, 2013

#57 Aaron Thayer

Wow Joe, it seems you are the one who cannot read very well. I would call you Mr. Prete out of respect, but I no longer have it for you as your reply was very condescending and also showed that you do not read very well. I did not say a “High Quality” camera for $300. I said “As high quality of a point and shoot camera as I can get for $300.” Meaning if I can only spend $300, what is the best for the money. I am not an idiot as I know that I will not get D-SLR quality in a point and shoot, especially for $300. But there are cameras for that price that can give me the quality I need. These are pictures simply for family memories and memories of two young boys who don’t understand what sit still means. These aren’t pictures that will be entered into the National Geographic International Photography Contest. You could have been more polite in your reply, or even replied back to the email I sent you. And the way you replied to Leigh, #48 and #49. Really??? You get what you pay for so get the other half of the money and I’ll make a list for you!! If you know anything about having children, as Leigh said she had boys, it is that you cannot simply come up with more money in the blink of an eye. Unless you are wealthy. So let me spell this out in crayon for you so you understand. Ready… You are a rude, condescending, jerk! By the way, I sent an email to Mark Goldstein with my post and your reply to it and also notified him of your nasty comments to another user on the comments page of the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX200V. See comments 37-39 and certain segments of comments 42-59.

Have a nice day sir!

3:23 pm - Monday, July 29, 2013

#58 Aaron Thayer

Amendment to my previous comment - #57:

I must say that I have to apologize to Joe. He did in fact end up emailing me and I wrote that comment this morning before I received the email and obviously I took it the wrong way and got upset. He was simply trying to give it to me straight as to his opinion on spending $300 versus spending a little more and getting better quality and I took it the wrong way. He in fact ended up helping me quite a bit and sent me some communications on how he helped someone find a camera like the one I am looking for. He also was able to provide me with some excellent pictures taken from the camera which I am now going to purchase. I am going to spend a little more and get a bridge camera, probably the Canon Powershot SX50. So again, I apologize for my last comment and thank you Joe for your help.

Aaron Thayer

12:36 am - Tuesday, July 30, 2013

#59 Aaron Thayer

Okay
I never said I was the sharpest tool in the shed and once in a while I put my foot in my mouth. I’m sorry
I didn’t realize that you answered my email too.
Thank you for the advice, I hope there won’t be any
hard feelings, I guess I know a little better now.

12:39 am - Tuesday, July 30, 2013

#60 Aaron Thayer

This is the real Aaron Thayer. Nice on whoever posted #59. It is amazing to see that even after someone can admit their mistakes and apologize, like I did, that there are still some pathetic people in the world who would pull a coward move and post something with my name on it, because they can’t log on as themselves and just say what they really feel.

2:24 am - Tuesday, July 30, 2013

#61 WDW Mom2

I recently bought the L820 and I need help.  What is the best setting for a concert?  No flash allowed.  I have been doing some test shots and if I don’t use the flash, my images are blurred. Please help!  I need to capture these memories for my daughter.  Thanks so much!

2:15 am - Wednesday, July 31, 2013

#62 John Wright

I just found this review site and the blogs and comments are awesome. I will be coming here a lot, I’m just getting into photography, starting with a good point and shoot and in time to more advanced camera. I enjoyed all the reviews and comments. I bought the Nikon L820 and love it, I live on a lake and have been very happy with the pictures, I bought a tripod and mono-pod for a bit more steady shot of duck and geese, and we have some bald eagles here, and got some awesome pics of them fishing.

7:48 pm - Friday, August 2, 2013

#63 WDW Mom2

Re: my previous question #61…I used my new
Camera L820 for the concert and it worked amazing.  I kept it under easy auto mode and I realized when you press half way to focus, the best setting for what you are shooting automatically is chosen. The video quality was also amazing. I have a DSLR camera as well as a Nikon cool pix p500 which I love!! The venues we go to won’t allow me to take anything over 30x optical zoom leaving both the DSLR and P500 as prohibited. So, the L820 at 30x zoom was a perfect choice! You get much better quality and amazing zoom compared to other compact point & shoot cameras.  I would highly recommend this camera for a reasonable priced, good quality point and shoot.

8:33 pm - Friday, August 2, 2013

#64 thomas

Hello i bought the nikon l820 and it is ok.
Seems to be what they said it is, a simple camera.
Just point and shoot. Maybe my next camera will be higher in quality. Any suggestions, i would like a quick camera that gets good pictures, and is fast, because my daughter is so fast, i cant get a clear picture. Maybe one out of a 100.
Thanks

9:41 pm - Saturday, August 3, 2013

#65 mel

How do you take multiple phots at once?

6:57 pm - Sunday, August 4, 2013

#66 Jeff Reynolds

For under $200 the L820 does what it does - pretty well.  I grew up with “old school” SLRs (anyone remember the F2s and Olympus OM-1s)?  Others here split hairs but this Nikon is pretty bullet-proof (and in my case - idiot proof).  Good advice from Mr. Prete on “you get what you pay for”.  Technology is good when you’re over 60.

10:51 pm - Friday, August 9, 2013

#67 yam

hey joe,
i have a low budget, and my choices are:
1. Nikon L820
2. Nikon P510
3. Fujifilm S6800

which one would you recommend? or any other options for similar price range?

2:47 pm - Saturday, August 10, 2013

#68 Joe Prete

Yam,
The Nikon P510.

... Joe Prete

4:09 pm - Saturday, August 10, 2013

#69 yam

it’s the last piece in stock, plus it’s the display piece. so they’re giving it cheaper. would it be wise to buy it?

5:15 pm - Saturday, August 10, 2013

#70 Joe Prete

Yam,
If you think it’s worth doing, wouldn’t you want to do it right? Aren’t your pictures wort that? If they save you 10, 20 even 30% off, suppose it isn’t working right, you sound new to this, you might not know what’s wrong, was it you or the camera. Those discount deals are for people that know how things work, maybe even someone who does repairs. Get the camera NEW, with the full WARRANTY, and all of the ACCESSORIES that belong with it. And The BOX, goes without saying. I don’t know you, or where you come from, but why the hell would you screw this up, just to save a few dollars. Those demo’s get treated like garbage, by every man, woman, and child that pass by the display. Some people just have to touch things. Get yourself started on the right track, and leave these deals for someone else. Buy it brand new in the box, the P510 can still be new, but it is a Nikon Leftover from last year. It should be about $75.00 less than the P520, so I hope you’ve checked their prices.
... Joe Prete

7:02 pm - Saturday, August 10, 2013

#71 Mohsin Ahmed

Hey there Joe.
I recently bought a Nikon L820 and I like this camera really very much. All positive reviews from my side.
The one thing which I want to ask you is that how do I get this thing to produce background blurred photos like a DSLR. I’ve seen your sample images. They have some pictures which have their backgrounds blurred like a DSLR but I can’t get to doing this with mine. :(
Have you edited the images in any way? Or is that your photography technique that is way better than me?
Please guide me on how to do this. I desperately need some photos with their backgrounds blurred.
Thanks in advance.

9:24 pm - Monday, August 12, 2013

#72 aneela

I bought this camera two weeks ago and the past week I got to use it on my vacation, a cruise to the Carribean, unfortunately after the second day the battery kept exhausting and I changed the batteries to a new set but it still keeps exhausting.  does anyone else have this problem or maybe its just a faulty camera I purchased?  Other than this battery problem I love the picture and video quality!

9:52 pm - Monday, August 12, 2013

#73 sri

Hi joe,
i have some confusion regarding nikon l820 and sony cybershot h200. most of the people are suggesting sony cybershot h200 as the images will be brighter with respect to colour concentration and it is having lot many features like sweep panorama, skin softning n so..
but wat i feel from comparison is nikon l820 is having cmos censor, stereo audio and 30x zoom. so i kindly request you to clarify regarding “image” quality, faster focussing and colour concentration,  between both.
which you would suggest me to buy.

5:16 pm - Sunday, August 18, 2013

#74 Sam

Hey Joe
I am going to buy a new camera
Im quite confused
I have options like
Sony dsc h200
Canon sx500
And Nikon l820
Well what would you suggest? ?
I want a over all decent quality ...
which amongst these have better quality?

7:31 pm - Saturday, August 24, 2013

#75 CP

Nikon L820 & canon SX500 which is much better by their features and battery life ? plz help me ....

5:20 am - Thursday, August 29, 2013

#76 Alex

Hi @joe   i’m confused in 2 cameras “dsc hx200v and l820” they have similaritis in maximum features but the hx200v has a dvf ,much better light sensevity,flip out screen,33.3x zoom etc. Because it is much expensive also it’s price is over $350 and the price of l820 is under $230 in this price the camera has much more features than other cameras (dsc h200,sx500is etc.)which comes in that price range it has 3d, 30x zoom,better light sensevity,better macro mode 1cm etc           i’m confused between them so plz help me to get the right camera 4 me when the price is also a matter 4 me….

3:47 am - Thursday, September 5, 2013

#77 Joe Prete

Alex,
It sounds like you need to answer a few more questions to see what your plans & needs are, and if you’‘ll be wanting to learn Photography or are you just wanting a “Point & Shoot” After that we can see what is available in your area, and in your price range. One option, an EVF (Electronic Viewfinder for viewing with your eye) or with a 3” LCD panel, or maybe both. It would be a difficult conversation to continue on here, if you want to email me, we can get through it faster easier and more accurately. You can reach me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) ... Joe Prete

6:58 am - Thursday, September 5, 2013

#78 Iván

Joe,

First of all, many thanks for the info you are giving us!

Now my question, I am traveling to Europe in a few months, and I’d love to have a decent camera to get nice and easy “Point & Shoot” pics. I am not in any way an enthusiast in terms of photography.

I am doubting between this camera and the Canon SX500 IS.

A few things that are important to me and I would like you to give me your opinion about what to do:

1) I am not a fun of using AA batteries (it’s not a deal breaker though).
2) I am a “point & shoot” person, but my brother is not, he will be using this cam as well and surely he wants to be able to “manipulate” the settings (manual mode, basically) to get into photography.
3) And most important: I want best image quality I can get, so this is the most important point of all three. Which one gets the win here in your opinion?


Thank you very much in advance!

5:02 am - Thursday, September 12, 2013

#79 John RS

Seems to me that Joe P has some agenda and may be self promoting some business.(ie contact me via my email etc… ?) He is giving reasonable advise however his overall attitude is more than a little condescending, and he seems like a “Photog-elitist” who has some axe to grind with Nikon.
I have used a variety of Nikon equipment in years past when I did a lot of Film B&W work and always found it to be at least decent and serviceable. (often better) The same holds true for my more recent Camera, the L820. It’s certainly not a high end ($1K) camera but for the money it seems a GOOD VALUE!
Joe - get over yourself, some times all you need is a simple, descent and versatile camera that is at least a step ( or two) up from the basic pocket model and my L820 serves that function well.
Remember high dollar equipment does not a photographer make, more important is the shot you compose even if the print is not technically “perfect”. (I guess saying “print” is showing my age… )
Thus far, several months of moderately heavy use, and I don’t always treat it well and my L820 is still working fine.

12:07 am - Tuesday, September 17, 2013

#80 Joe Prete

I shoot with Nikon DSLR’s every day, but that doesn’t mean that I should approve of everything that they build/sell. The P7800 looks like a winner to me, but it cost their customers the P7000 & P7700 to finally get it right. Okay, they raised the price to $549.00 I’ll pay that for a compact with a Viewfinder (EVF) but the truth is, it should NOT have been removed! They should look at Fujifilm, most of their compacts have an Optical or Electronic Viewfinders. Having people write to me directly helps them to find out what they need, and I don’t get all the feedback from everyone who thinks they know better. I don’t get anything out of helping them except for the satisfaction of helping fellow shooters get what they really need- and that may not be a cousin to a Sony underneath the plastic outer covering. I’ve been shooting Nikon SLR/DSLR cameras for over 25 years, and I have confidence in them, but remember that $200.00 Made in ?? camera may fail on you when you need it the most, then you’ll see the difference. You just need to look at their Refurbished list to see what cameras are being returned at an excessive rate. Here’s to hoping these posts get through, but remember that an IP address is good enough to see where the emails come from!
... Joe Prete
PS:Ivan, that is being replaced by the SX510 HS, far advanced and already available at the same List Price. Sorry for the confusion.

12:42 am - Tuesday, September 17, 2013

#81 Joe Prete

Ivan,
If you’re going to buy Nikon, you’ll be better off with the P520 where you’ll have the simplicity of a Point & Shoot but also the ability to be more creative with the settings. It’s about $100.00 more than the L820 but you’ll find that it’s well worth the money when you see the quality of the pictures. It’s much better in just about every way. Trying to save that $100.00 when you’re asking for the best quality will NOT be money well spent. it’s $376.95 at B&H (and others) until 9/28/13. It’s a very good camera for that price. One of the problems with an LCD only camera is shooting outside in bright light, it gets extremely difficult to see that LCD screen. You’ll be fighting with the light from the sun.

Regarding the issues with AA’s, most people don’t realize that you can buy Rechargeables in, NI-CD or NIMH and Energizer & Duracell have them Pre-charged in the pack, ready to use. They recharge up to 1000 times and they pay for themselves within a few uses. A 4 Pack with charger can be bought for $15.00 I use Watson Brand but they cost about the same. I get them from B&H
also. They do have them in Nikon’s label, 4 for $20.00 or about 50 cents more each. (I don’t think Nikon makes them either, but they are labeled Nikon Coolpix) I use Rechargeable batteries in just about everything that requires batteries. You will adapt fast.
... Joe Prete

2:05 am - Tuesday, September 17, 2013

#82 Joe Prete

To John RS,
I thought it would be a good idea for you to look at the whole picture (no pun intended) But as they say “Don’t judge a man until you’ve walked a mile in his shoes” No, I don’t want you to walk, But I think you should look at the model that preceded this one, the Nikon L810/Sony H100. Just type it into the search box above, and click on 228 comments! Look at how many people wrote in with their complaints and how many times I had the patience to reply to each one, all with one of the same group of problems that should’ve led to a recall. But Nikon didn’t do that!

Tell me, didn’t Nikon take advantage of these people, the most basic entry level users who blamed themselves and had to put the camera down, seek advice or read the guide again & again thinking it was their inexperience. Meanwhile the time drifted by, and they lost their opportunity to return it or send it out for repairs. Just about everyone had a reason, some said “well what can I expect from a $200.00 camera”. How many chalked it up to inexperience! These people didn’t have the knowledge of an advanced Shooter, who knows right away if something is wrong.

They didn’t have that opportunity. They were taken advantage of with a camera that needed be recalled. Over seas they got the same camera as a Sony H100, but the same problems, the same inexperienced users and the same money lost by the buyers. Oh, some did send them back, only to get a refurbished camera with one of it’s other problems. I think you’ll find that I replied and tried to help them, more than anyone else. How can we forget a Lemon like the L810? Well Nikon tried with a slightly better L820 but I’m glad that those people who could afford it, chose another camera, maybe another brand. Who could blame them?  Just look at the first few comments, asking when is Nikon coming out with an update. (Some thought a Firmware update was a good fix, they may have been right) By #13 Nikon cut the price by $80.00
just looking back, I remember these people well, after the next few I was already recommending the P510. ... Sound familiar? 

So take a look John RS, (no I didn’t expose your name) tell me did I do enough for something that isn’t my job, I’m a self employed Photographer in case you didn’t know that. This is on a voluntary basis to help people that need it, because nobody else does it. You can find me on other sites too, I’ve been around long enough to know most of the Editors well. Good luck John.
... Joe Prete

7:09 pm - Tuesday, September 17, 2013

#83 PRAGATI

I am planning to buy a camera and i m confused between
Panasonic LZ30 , TZ30, TZ25
and nikon L820
i went to purchase nikon L820 but when i saw panasonic video , it was better in comparison to nikon now i m confused , do not much about technicalities . plz guide me

3:34 am - Saturday, October 5, 2013

#84 Celena P

This is an awesome camera! Can’t believe it’s this cheap! Used it at Jay Z and Justin Timberlake concert a couple months ago at outdoor arena in Baltimore and cannot believe the detail quality I got from where we were! If you take bad photos with this camera then you don’t know how yo use it. It’s not a point and shoot, learn how to change settings to fit what you’re shooting. I have owned several cameras and have a canon rebel and this camera is nearly as awesome in a compact size I can take into events! You’ll be glad you got this camera! After a 2 hour concert doing videos and pics my batteries still had a lot of life left. Very very happy I went with this after much shopping and comparing.

11:42 pm - Tuesday, October 8, 2013

#86 PRAGATI SHUKLA

Thanks CELENA . Do u have any video .if u have plz send me the link. thank u again .

2:15 am - Wednesday, October 9, 2013

#87 Celena P

<iframe width=“420” height=“315” src=”//www.youtube.com/embed/RcecQtGnNow” frameborder=“0” allowfullscreen></iframe>

This is a great example because it shows how far away I was.

4:12 am - Wednesday, October 9, 2013

#88 Celena P

Here it is again.

4:14 am - Wednesday, October 9, 2013

#89 Celena P

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RcecQtGnNow

Hope you can click on this one. Feel free to check out my others from the concert on my YouTube

4:17 am - Wednesday, October 9, 2013

#90 PRAGATI SHUKLA

Thanks Celena. Finally i got what i wanted .

10:17 am - Wednesday, October 9, 2013

#91 Celena P

You’re welcome. I wanted to be sure to post pics and videos here because it would have helped me in my long search for this type of camera. This blog helped me decide, so hopefully it will help others.

1:08 pm - Wednesday, October 9, 2013

#92 JB

Hi,

Could somebody please tell me how good this is for lower light, moving shots? We like to grab a camera quickly to take photos of our daughter in the house, we have a Canon SX500 and are disappointed with it in this respect, giving blurry shots even in manual mode.

Thank you

9:30 am - Thursday, October 10, 2013

#93 Celena P

JB, I would suggest if she is small child and very active put any camera in sports mode and snap away! Your sure to get better shots.

1:01 pm - Thursday, October 10, 2013

#94 JB

Hi,

The sx500 does not have a sports mode and indoor shots are terrible.

Thank you.

6:11 pm - Saturday, October 12, 2013

#95 Bob Gaudreau

Nice review all around - professional quality footage and simple, clean editing. Many thanks and happy shooting!  BeeGee

1:47 am - Monday, October 14, 2013

#96 Mandar

Hi Joe,
I am willing to purchase camera but conufesd about the L820 & L810 though there is price diffrence but it seems no changes in features, can u please help me.

7:41 am - Saturday, October 19, 2013

#97 Eric

I’m looking for a travel camera and one that can take good indoor lowlight pictures (e.g. kids band and/or chorus inside a school gym). Our current $100 cameras don’t do the job.  I’m looking at:
A) Nikon Coolpic L820
or
B) Olympus Stylus SZ-16 iHS

Any input would be appreciated.

5:10 pm - Saturday, October 19, 2013

#98 franklin

S6800 or L820???

11:09 pm - Monday, October 21, 2013

#99 PRAGATI SHUKLA

i m sending you link you can see pic from nikon l820.https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10200959057363303&set=pcb.10200959067163548&type=1&theater;

3:08 pm - Tuesday, October 22, 2013

#100 vinay

i want a camera with good resolution pics with natural colour….nikon l820 or sony dsc h200 ???? and some good photographic experiences… plz

6:59 pm - Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, nikon, super-zoom, coolpix, bridge, 26x zoom, AA battery, coolpix l820, l820, Nikon Coolpix L820 Review, nikon l820

Tracker Pixel for Entry