Nikon Coolpix P100 Review

4.0
April 22, 2010 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

102 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 usb flash drive

I really love Nikon P100. In my first test terminal period after it arrived, I was blown away by the difference. Close shots of a ladybug on the orange tree v. zooming in on lamp posts across the street everything was clear. I took a picture of my old automobile and it looked same a dealership photo. As an aside, I have no idea how the camera made the dirty automobile clean.

12:43 pm - Thursday, April 22, 2010

#2 alexander p.

I own Nikon p100 for about a month. Not happy mainly because of severe overexposure and colour aberation. Colours washed-out, red tiles apear almost violets in some cases. And, of course, what a silly, you must take the lens-cup off, even if you only want to watch your pictures or only use the menu…! Is it my Nikon malfunctioning or is it a problem of the model?
a.p

1:07 pm - Thursday, April 22, 2010

#3 Ron

This camera is Nikon ??? Disaster !!!

2:01 pm - Friday, April 23, 2010

#4 Mino

alexander p: Try to press play button for a long time when the camera is off. It will show you your photos without need of removing the lens cap. If you want to shut down P100 from this mode, you have to press the Power button.

4:13 pm - Friday, April 23, 2010

#5 KarKon

Read your commentary and think to buy or no!

?????? ?? ????????, ????? ?? ?????????? ?????, ? ?? ???? ??????.

3:08 pm - Saturday, April 24, 2010

#6 otto

Very poor image qualtity! Bad job!

4:52 pm - Saturday, April 24, 2010

#7 dilbarzani

@otto
I know a man named Otto. He has a camera store in Bergen, Norway. I wonder if u r that person.

9:52 pm - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#8 alexander p.

Great Tip Mino! Thank you!
Something about… color aberration?
a.

10:07 am - Monday, April 26, 2010

#9 otto

@dilbarzani ,

yes I am. happy to listen to you sir.

2:04 pm - Thursday, April 29, 2010

#10 dilbarzani

@otto .
Very poor image qualtity! Bad job!

I’ve been in your shop and saw that camera. I don’t understand how you could comment like that when you are selling it.

9:47 pm - Thursday, April 29, 2010

#11 otto

hey, a true sales man can sell you sh*te as gold. ;)

next time say ‘HI’ when you come in. I’ll give you a nice present. cheers.

8:21 pm - Friday, April 30, 2010

#12 Dean Graziosis Scam review

Good shot, great screen, the viewer looks pretty decent family. Too bad it does not take very good photos. Ah, yes, the big screen arch very well.

12:41 pm - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#13 PaxRon

I bought this camera even though people were saying it had poor image quality. I was then surprised at the image quality when I got it. Very happy with the camera.

Here are some sample photos, http://picasaweb.google.com/PaxRon/NikonCoolpixP100#

12:16 pm - Saturday, May 15, 2010

#14 Mike Olson

When you consider the 80/20 rule:  80% of your pictures can be taken with one camera, this model fits the needs of most people.  The other 20% can be filled by using a simple point and shoot and your DSLR.  At least, that’s my philosophy.

11:04 pm - Monday, May 17, 2010

#15 Bert

their,s just something about pictures taken with nikon cameras.

8:55 pm - Sunday, May 23, 2010

#16 Steve

Just purchased.
Just love the zoom.
Just love the color and quality
Just love it.

Yay!

8:57 am - Monday, May 24, 2010

#17 Kamugin

I purchased this one less than a week ago, previously I owned two superzooms: a Sony H50 and a Canon SX10 IS, this Nikon seems to have the worst image quality of the trio in spite of the newest sensor technology but I didn’t tried it a lot yet. It is rich in useful features but Nikon prioritized the video quality above the picture quality. The battery charger they provided with the camera is a bad joke and a lens hood is absent. The lcd screen is sturdy and have high quality image, the viewfinder is ok, the built in flash is also good. Everything pondered this is a good all-in-one camera, all superzooms leave a bit to be desired.

5:33 am - Tuesday, May 25, 2010

#18 PaxRon

Well I have the camera for a while now, never seen so many positive vs negative reviews for a camera before. The camera can give you some very good shots if you take the time and learn the sweet spots. The camera is very configurable and once you learn what it likes you can easily get some very good A4 prints from it. I still love the camera and as I get to know it it still surprises me.

Here are some sample photos, http://picasaweb.google.com/PaxRon/NikonCoolpixP100#

7:42 pm - Tuesday, May 25, 2010

#19 Sergio García

I love this camera but there are two things, that it´s important to know:

- Video doesn´t give you an option to play pause, it´s annoying

- We need a grip under the lent to take this camera firmly, like the samsung wb5000

Very nice photos, good lcd screen, so many configurations if you don´t know how to take the perfect shoot please read the manual

11:35 pm - Tuesday, May 25, 2010

#20 Kamugin

Here is the Flickr gallery for pictures taken with a P100 around the world http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=Coolpix P100&w=all
Some of the first ones were taken with a P90 but all the subsequent pictures are from a P100. At full size, many of them seems to be less sharp than average, perhaps due to the digital processing inside the camera (many of the full size pictures are open only to people with a Flickr account, but it is free to register). Here is my Flickr photostream http://www.flickr.com/photos/kamugin/ with some of the pictures I’ve taken with the Canon SX10 IS and the Sony DSC H50 (sorry but my pictures full size isn’t available because I don’t have a pro account).

2:00 am - Wednesday, May 26, 2010

#21 BACDAFUCUP

I’ve tried a couple of times to give Nikon a chance on the P&S cameras, from P80, P90, now P100.  I do smell disaster.  Nikon’s P&S needs some quality help, stop wasting so much money on the commercials, put some thoughts into the image quality…

5:54 pm - Tuesday, June 8, 2010

#22 Metin Gulenc

Best camera if you compare price.
I’m happy.

8:34 am - Friday, June 11, 2010

#23 ajk

PaxRon, you took some great photos! i’m sold on this camera!

3:07 am - Thursday, June 17, 2010

#24 LA H

Very Happy with my new Nikon, very good quality phots, and best camera when you compare price.  I have heard a couple of bad reviews on the camera but no problems on my side!

9:47 am - Wednesday, July 7, 2010

#25 Ruposh

Hey…can anyone please tell me the price of P100 at Oslo?? Thanks in advance.

7:40 pm - Friday, July 16, 2010

#26 murataytar

i’d a p100 and i want to ask a question. can i mount a parasoley for macro shots? is anybody know

1:39 am - Sunday, July 18, 2010

#27 Jim Hanus

Not happy at all with the picture quality. I’ve been a 35mm photographer for 40 years and digital for 10 years and these photos all look like slight soft focus (even tripod mounted). Not camera movement, not out of focus, just soft. I’ve had it 3 months and have tried all variations of settings but still don’t like it. I’m trying to sell it.

10:35 pm - Tuesday, July 20, 2010

#28 ArOd

To PaxRon:

Amazing photos man!! You convinced me to buy this camera! :)

6:41 pm - Wednesday, July 28, 2010

#29 dogh

guy’s,this is wayy harsh on the cameras.. i mean,i seriously could not tell the diff between the picks taken by the p100 and any other cam.. yes,the colours look diff(some warmer,some cooler),but seein the photos normally,they look superb.. look at the photos gallery posted above..
diff between the pick’s are only visible @100% crops.. and sorry for askin,why will i zoom 100% into any pic that i would take?? and even if i do,i will not have a similar pic taken by a diff camera to compare,so why bother.. so for ppl who just need a camera,all this would be irrelavant.. and those who pointed out all these flaws,u found them cause u were searchin for’em.. generally the photos are very good and sharp enough to look at in full hd display and even when u zoom into anything,the clarity remains..
but one thing i noticed with this cam (i noticed the same with a sony h55 and also a sony 9.1mpix 20x zoom model) is that during video rec,when u zoom directly from 25mm to the end,it takes some time to refocus but u do it in like 2 steps,then no probs…
so,wat i’m tellin is,this is a great cam with excellent features and versility.. i mean 26x zoom with a back illumunated sensor with full hd vid along with slow motion capture with a tilt screen along with a viewfinder.. a good VFM product..

4:49 pm - Saturday, August 7, 2010

#30 class

i have been trying for 2 months to take good pictures 10% of them are good the rest is bad..
even wen i try to take pictures of my child football with fast shutter speed the image are very poor..

8:04 pm - Saturday, August 7, 2010

#31 linda

I like the concept of this, but not keen to hear that its pics don’t “blow up” well, per this review. Also, have noticed that quality is erratic…either fantastic pro looking shots or worse than my pointnshoot at times.  wtheck?  maybe its me, but its me using it so its Going back to Best buy.  I want to own a Nikon, and will one day but no doubt in the future something is coming down the pipes that will meet my needs.

12:33 am - Tuesday, August 10, 2010

#32 Jennifer Johnson

Since 1917 Nikon is producing a big range of quality products not only cameras but binoculars, microscopes, measurement instruments as well the world’s second largest manufacturer. i am great fan of their camera qualities.

9:17 am - Monday, August 16, 2010

#33 Vishal

Hi PaxRon..!

I saw your snaps on picasa, they are amazing..!

Have u done any kinda editing to those snaps..? are you a professional photographer..it seems from your photographs..!

I am gonna buy PS camera and Nikon P100 is one of my option but still lots of negative reviews about it stopping me from buying it. Also many positive reviews are making me confuse and my decision critical. Your reply will surely help my decision.

One question to all..Do u find some kind of horizontal layers in photos taken by Nikon cameras..? or its just me..? I found them in sometimes in landscape photos taken in day light.

Thanks in advance

regards
vishal

8:10 am - Monday, August 23, 2010

#34 Jim Hanus

In response to my previous comment, I sent several of my best photos taken with the P100 to Nikon for analysis. Their response was that were as sharp as they could possibly be. Yes I know it has a lot of great features, 26x zoom, hi-def video, great macro, but in MY OPINION, it lacks the sharpness I need (and expect from Nikon). I haven’t used it in a month and have been using my Canon Powershot A620 instead.

11:23 am - Monday, August 23, 2010

#35 PaxRon

I’m laughing here, I see there is still just as much negatives as positive responses and everyones confused as I was before I bought it.

The 100% truth is at full wide angle at scenery with trees etc it is not as sharp as it should be and people are understandably disappointed. The one thing it is very good at is the detail the lens picks up of close objects or zoomed in objects, the finest scratch or piece of dirt on an object. I have the camera on 16:9 ratio which is around 8 mega pixels and leaves more space on the CMOS, set the camera for shaper shots and very few of my shots displayed was using Auto mode but rather using shutter priority. I take some very amazing shots and get a lot of compliments on my Picasa album, even though I am not a professional, otherwise I would have bought a SLR camera, but for a bridge camera I still love it and am very happy.

7:41 pm - Monday, August 23, 2010

#36 John

Hi
I have a p100 and am disappointed at the auto focus.
when left on auto I took a picture of my wife on full zoom outdoors in bright sunlight. She took more than 50% of the frame on center, yet the camera focused not on her but on the wall behind her.
Any siggestions?

3:48 pm - Friday, August 27, 2010

#37 Suhe

@PaxRon,

Sow the Picasa Album, Awsome Job! I wonder what you will do if you had some real DSLR sir!

I was damn confused because of all negative reviews, agree that wide shots tree color is bit soft but I can live with that.

Indoor and potraits are too good, the fruits were as if in front of me.. he he

Thanks again man, Keep the great job up!

Cheers!
Suhel

11:35 pm - Saturday, September 4, 2010

#38 Rick

When viewing your stills can this be done thru the viewfinder as in bright sunlight it is very difficult to see images on the screen

1:11 pm - Sunday, September 5, 2010

#39 Covosu

Urgent: Trying to make up my mind between Nikon P100 and Olympus SP 800UZ. Which is better value for money as a bridge camera? Thanks.

9:33 pm - Sunday, September 5, 2010

#40 PaxRon

@Rick…whatever you see on screen can be seen through the viewfinder including menu settings etc…

Added some more pics to my Picasa album today…just loving this camera now since I know what it likes, it’s good at detail so zoom zoom zoom

My recommended settings: 16:9 ratio, use viewfinder instead of screen, shutter priority mode, Active D lighting = off, metering = matrix, optermise image = vivid, flash exposure = -3, AF Area = Auto

9:08 pm - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#41 PaxRon

Just a note that the original images are twice as detailed than the resized/compressed images uploaded to the Picasa album

http://picasaweb.google.com/PaxRon/NikonCoolpixP100#

9:15 pm - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#42 Vishal

@Paxron : I have seen your newly added pics. Once again you have done good job..have you tried HDR mode and continuous shooting mode..?

7:27 am - Wednesday, September 8, 2010

#43 PaxRon

@Vishal…thanks man, I have not played around with HDR yet, for continuous mode one needs to be in 10mp if I remember and I shoot at 16:9 so have not really used it much. Will make an effort to experiment with both though.

9:10 pm - Wednesday, September 8, 2010

#44 ERV

Although the P100 does lack the best quality in its photos,when all its capabilities are considered it is still an awesome device. I think a lot of users expect the top end performance you get when you are willing to invest in a top end DSLR - that’s not fair. Perhaps too, many users get sucked in by the extreme end of the zoom range, caarelessly snapping pix without using a monopod or tripod, still expecting ultimate sharpness. As for color saturation, perhaps complainers might check the User’s Manual (pages 79ff) for Image Optimizing settings for getting more vivid saturation.
Help someone! Many of the websites reviewing the P100 show galleries of sample photos with captions showing aperture, shutter speed, ISO setting, AND the effective focal length. HOW DO YOU GET THE FOCAL LENGTH TO READOUT ON THE SCREEN - THE MANUAL DOES NOT COVER THIS.
I AM VERY SATISFIED WITH THE P100 AS AN OVERALL PACKAGE.

11:57 pm - Thursday, September 9, 2010

#45 John

2 questions:
1- how do you get to the 16:9 ratio?
2- how do you disable the VERY ANNOYING BEEP when you change settings?

Thanks everyone

12:23 pm - Friday, September 10, 2010

#46 John

Everyone
I found my answers. Didn’t expect the 16:9 to be next to VGA setting.

2:17 pm - Friday, September 10, 2010

#47 ivan rodrigo

I’m thinking of buying nikon-p100.reading all the negative reviews is making me think twice.i don’t know if i should go for fugi finefix-hs10.any advice please.
ivan.

9:43 am - Sunday, September 12, 2010

#48 Luke

to Ivan Rodrigo, I would hold off on the P100, if you want the quality, you should pay a little more for Panasonic FZ100; it is the best mega zoom P&S camera out there.

6:24 pm - Sunday, September 12, 2010

#49 ajinkya

paxron


GR8 pics !!

i like it very much

i purchased p100 yesterday,,
awsome zoom

5:49 pm - Monday, September 27, 2010

#50 ivan rodrigo

Hi guys,bought the p100 last week.what a camera for the money i paid.i like the zoom on this camera.overall i’m happy with the camera.you are always going to get good & bad reviews with anything.
ivan

10:16 am - Wednesday, September 29, 2010

#51 Tapendra

@Paxron
You really rock man. I have got a P100 just 2 weeks back. And have got some great pics of my daughter.

Your tips have been og great help. Just 0ne query please guide where to set the ratio 16:9

As my daughter is just 9 months old she just keeps on shaking up hence I am using target tracking mode and I get vivid and sharp images.

What settings should I use in Shutter Priority mode for better results. I use it mostly indoors.

Thanks in advance

8:36 pm - Wednesday, September 29, 2010

#52 Anky

hi all,

i m confused with some cameras like p100, sx 20 is, sony HX1, fiji’s HS10.
any one please suggest which one is good.
i usually like to take micro shots of flower and insects, and some nature snaps.
Paxron u did a fabulous job with this p100.

thanks

6:29 am - Friday, October 8, 2010

#53 prem

bought 15 days back. I am facing some issue with the flash. When flash is used in evening or night(with some light around), the becomes dark as if the flash light is too sharp. In dim lights pictures without flash looks better than those clicked with flash on. any clue how to handle this.

8:31 am - Thursday, October 21, 2010

#54 Vishal

@Anky: Your list of interest doesn’t ask for mega zoom so instead of the option you mentioned u can go for Canon S95,Canon G12. They have less zoom but gr8 picture quality…!

2:01 pm - Friday, October 22, 2010

#55 Anky

@Vishal

ya you are true….but now i have shortlisted two cams sx20 and sx30…but p100 is some where in my mind too, the only drawback with this cam is in cam battery charging and it doesn’t have good macro mode as these sx cams have. can you or any buddy give some suggestion.
sx30’s cost is a bit heavy for my pocket :)

2:39 pm - Friday, October 22, 2010

#56 Vishal

@Anky

For charging problem you can buy extra charger
http://amzn.com/B00013M6NU

I found some really nice micro snaps from P100 on flicker, Picasa and amazon.

If you really want to go for canon then I will suggest SX20IS. I found its IQ better than SX30

I am eagerly waiting for my P100. Lets see, I have taken a risk as I found many -ve comments for it.
But I have opted it for its features. I read one nice line on some forum “No camera is perfect” and thats true.

Will like to know your decison..best of luck..!

3:10 pm - Friday, October 22, 2010

#57 Anky

@vishal
thanks for suggestion, can you please send some links of that macro shots collection.

3:21 pm - Friday, October 22, 2010

#58 Vishal

@Anky

Dear friend just do 1 thing go on picasa and flicker
and search for “Coolpix P100” in search box.

On amazon you can find the P100 in camera section and lots of images uploaded by customers who own it under it.

BTW where are you from..?

5:47 pm - Friday, October 22, 2010

#59 Anky

ok

i am fron Delhi (india)

6:50 am - Monday, October 25, 2010

#60 C Bennett

HELP I need a quick user guide to get started and the manufacturer refuses to send me one (it was missing from the “battered” box I received the camera in).  I’m new at all this camera lark and would love to learn more BUT ....

2:11 pm - Wednesday, November 3, 2010

#61 Gary Conway

Hi was wondering if someone could answer a question for me about this particular model (or if it applies to all DSLRS)....

On the video function, when recording, are you able to manually adjust the focus and f-number? so if filming someone in front of you can you have the background blurred, or vice versa?

thanks alot
Gary

11:58 am - Sunday, November 7, 2010

#62 ADi

@Vishal
Bhai for how much rupees did you brought it ??
Now by reading your comments about p100 as well as by seeing pauls pics i m madly interested in buying one.
Whats its battery life (w/o flash) and with flash?
are the images soft at corners?
and hows the stabalizer workin at long zooms?
Thanx in advance

6:27 am - Monday, November 8, 2010

#63 vishal moharikar

@Adi..
I bought p-100 yesterday only in Mumbai. I spent 17800/- for it. It comes with 4gb card.

7:11 am - Monday, November 15, 2010

#64 Vishal Moharikar

Hi all,
When I use 26x zoom the object doesn’t look perfact on the screen but when I click the picture taken looks good. Is there any setting to avoid this stuation or is it manual fault only?

Thanks.

7:16 am - Monday, November 15, 2010

#65 PaxRon

I have never noticed anything like this, it could maybe be a fault on the camera, can you more specific on what you experience

4:31 pm - Monday, November 15, 2010

#66 MJV

Looking for an easy camera to take photo’s of my kids on stage as well as video & close ups.  Beginner, don’t know much but will make an honest attempt to learn.  Thank you all for you comments on this camera as I have looked at all cameras at this price range and read many reviews and still am confused if this is the best camera for my needs. Is this the best bet for me under $400.00?  Please advise and thanks in advance!

2:33 pm - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#67 PaxRon

Well it’s the same as a relationship, you will never know if it’s the right one until you have spent the money on it :)

6:18 pm - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#68 Chelsea

hello, I have researched for the past month on all sorts of bridge type super zooms and I am pretty much 100 percent happy with the p100, I have checked it out at Best Buy after watching numerous videos on it on youtube, made by reviewers, and by users, I loooooved the picasa album someone posted earlier, that sold me on the photos, if anyone is curious about sound and video quality, might I suggest going to http://www.youtube.com/nikonp100 the user has uploaded over 40 videos in all sorts of situations showcasing low light situations as well as indoor and many others. Also, anyone who is going to purchase this camera, I would suggest purchasing a wall charger as it doesn’t come with one. I found one on amazon that comes with 2 spare batteries, a wall charger, a car charger, all for like 7 bucks, all the reviews had 5 stars and the battery quality was said to be better then the provided nikon battery. Anyways, going to order this camera on Saturday :)

Also, I do think people are reviewing this camera harshly, its what, 330, do you expect it to be compatible to a 2,000 dollar DSLR? If thats what you want, then you shouldn’t be looking at point and shoot bridge cameras. I really think this camera is a good starting camera for anyone looking to get into photography, or anyone looking for a really nice all around camera, this camera has also been suggested for the DSLR owner who wants a lighter camera to just carry around on a daily basis. All in all, this is a very nice camera for the price being paid, it overly exceeds my expectations.

8:15 am - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#69 mjov

Thank you for your responses so far.  From what I have read and heard it seems that at my price range and for what my needs are this is the way to go.

7:42 pm - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#70 jay

Nikon is my dream camera !! i wanted to buy P series since last year when i saw P80… now finally i m ready to buy one DSLR. P100 is my first choice. but all the comments have confused me with
>P100
>cannon SX 20, 30
>sony HX 1

pls pls pls help me to select one !!!

7:31 am - Tuesday, November 23, 2010

#71 Ron

Recently purchased the P-100 but having a problem. When I attempt to photograph a subject such as a snow covered mountain (Mt Rainier) all looks fine in the viewfinder/viewing screen but when I depress the shutter release the image brightens and once the image is captured the mountain is totally washed out. Hopefully I just changed a setting I wasn’t aware of. Any suggestions, please??? Thanks much…

1:11 am - Sunday, December 19, 2010

#72 PaxRon

The first thing is to make sure that Active D-Lighting is turned off as it could be brightening the image. Second you could shoot on the Shutter Priority setting and select fast shutter speeds to let less light in. Also see that the ISO seeting is not set to a high ISO or set to High ISO sensitivity. You could also reset all settings back to default just to make sure.

7:22 pm - Sunday, December 19, 2010

#73 Då??

I see alot of bad reviews above!
I have had the camera for a few months. It is my serious attempt at getting some half decent images. I used to use an iPhone until I bought this bridging camera. For some shot examples take a look in my Panoramio pages;
http://www.panoramio.com/user/5041229
I have used it long enough to want a bigger camera. But it has given me a new lease of life.
Please take a look and do comment, state that you came from this site.

7:10 pm - Wednesday, January 5, 2011

#74 prem

in cold and in snow the video is recorded in slow motion, any idea why it happens, and while watching the video voice comes before video

7:48 am - Sunday, January 9, 2011

#75 hiroj bagde

p 100 is too good camera
better than many slrs
its a good buy
like it

6:29 am - Saturday, January 15, 2011

#76 Flashling

I LOOOOVE this camera…I stopped reading all the conflicting reviews and found reviewers who bought the camera for the same purpose as me :) I take amazing shots (in extremely low-light which is amazing) of my busy toddler or sleeping baby. The video is better than my 3 yr old video camera and the functions are so easy I didn’t even read the manual. The quality of the images is perfect for portraits or blowing up…I am 100% happy :)

9:41 am - Sunday, January 16, 2011

#77 Rishi

Play with manual mode, then u would know the true potential.

1:17 pm - Tuesday, February 1, 2011

#78 chery

Very poor image quality. I am very disappointed with the quality. I have thoroughly verified the features but not upto my satisfaction. The battery exhausts very soon. You should carry an extra battery. Zoom is worst during night time. There is a serious blur in pictures taken night time. The quality of the product is not worth for the price. A set back to Nikon.

6:19 am - Thursday, February 10, 2011

#79 Vasant

Have a look @ this album

https://picasaweb.google.com/Vasant.Bhagwat/RajasthanJodhpur_Jaisalmer

Still need to learn a lot

1:30 pm - Thursday, February 10, 2011

#80 Vasant

But need to mention I’m unhappy about the battery life. May be it was cold around that affect the battery life. I’ll buy one more battery & charger for the same.

1:36 pm - Thursday, February 10, 2011

#81 PaxRon

Nikon quote 250 shots and I get exactly that on mine. Lots of use with the flash would shorten that but you would still get around 180 to 200 shots. Enough for any outing, I keep a spare battery as backup giving me range of 400 to 500 shots usually.

9:36 pm - Thursday, February 10, 2011

#82 Då??

It is a little camera with a little battery. My word, what do you expect it to do? Power the lights of New York for a month?
Buy a camera and buy a spare battery… It is not rocket science. It is basic practice!

10:04 pm - Thursday, February 10, 2011

#83 Flashling

You are kidding me…on a recent outing to the local botanical gardens, I took over 600 shots!!! And a HD video!!! I used the sport feature on about 6 shots which of course takes about ten at a time? I love the fact that I could look at all of the shots on computer and select the ones that I liked best. What card are you using? I would invest in a faster card? My battery is not a problem at all?
Re the quality: The pics are not as good as a fancy DSLR but this is not trying to compete with that? The macro is 100% better than my DSLR and it is easy to use, and the shots are fab!Incredible video for what u r paying for…my DSLR friends are now wanting one of these.

7:51 pm - Saturday, February 12, 2011

#84 Fred Berg

I bought the P100 last month and have taken about 2000 photos since then.

When using the auto setting the shots can be a bit hit-and miss, with both over-exposure and colour quality being problematic especially in sunny conditions.

However, I find the results in A and S settings are very pleasing and the full manual is also worth exploring.

The macro program is really excellent - for me the crowning glory of this very nice camera.

My first Nikon and not a disappointing experience so far.

12:49 pm - Sunday, February 13, 2011

#85 Flashling

Fred, I completely agree on the auto…I actually rarely use it! I am dying to explore the manual setting! I have noticed that if the setting on the screen is ‘bright’, the shots look over-exposed when reviewing on the camera but in print and computer they are actually okay? I also think, for my first superzoom and first nikon, I am very happy! I have taken way over 10 000 shots since I bought it and on average get about 1000 before having to recharge battery. So many of my photographer friends are turning to this baby instead of lugging around their DSLRs…

8:25 pm - Monday, February 14, 2011

#86 Crispy Ben

Overall very impressed so far! Check out my review - http://cbfphotographic.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/nikon-coolpix-p100-review/

1:39 pm - Friday, February 18, 2011

#87 Crispy Ben

Overall very impressed so far! Check out my review!

1:41 pm - Friday, February 18, 2011

#88 Diliip Rawat

can some one tell me if there is image sharping option in this camera

6:21 pm - Friday, February 25, 2011

#89 Kannan Karthik

I brought this camera some days back.It has a pretty decent picture quality. Just love it

11:22 am - Monday, February 28, 2011

#90 sambit

Hi all you buddies here 4 your help & suggestions. Please help to buy a camera considering the following factors…
1. i am no PRO.and dont want a costly cam
2. i fear that shaking will destroy my photos.
3. i want a cam with good zoom(at least 16x)
4. image quality must b good
5. please select from Nikon, Sony, and Canon

7:47 am - Sunday, April 3, 2011

#91 Flashling

Hi Sambit. I have had this camera for a few months…in the interim played with a friend’s Nikon D5000 DSLR and my brother’s Canon MarkII (a professional camera)...and it made me fall in love with this even more. It is not hard on the wallet and it is soooo easy to use. I advise using flash if you are using low-light because there will be obvious blur. The close-up (macro) shots are UNBELIEVABLE! You won’t have any shake and you will capture images of perfect quality, intense colour from 2 cm away!! The zoom is unreal…I can follow my preschooler for ages taking great shots (there is a little shake when you get up to 26x so for long distance you will understandably need a mini-tripod). Image quality is perfect…fiddle with the settings, learn which works for which environment and you will not be disappointed. This is a very versatile camera which responds well to what you want it to do…play with it to learn. Read comments above about how to maximise picture quality: like turn it to ‘Fine’ mode ;) Enjoy!

6:35 pm - Sunday, April 3, 2011

#92 LS

This is a very powerful compact camera, I am 100% happy with it. I tried the camera on my recent trip to Siem Reap-Angkor. Take a look:

http://bettyandlingshing.blogspot.com/2011/04/travel-photos-of-siem-reap.html

I really amazed by the quality of this compact camera, although cannot be compared to the full frame DSLR (please, we have to be fair to the size of the sensor here). The price to the technology (especially the zoom), worth it.

8:50 am - Monday, April 11, 2011

#93 sambit

hi Flashling,
    thanx for your suggestion. yes, i ve also heard about this cam. but what do you think about L120? or Fuji 200exr??

11:08 am - Friday, May 20, 2011

#94 Antoine Leonard

I also bought a Nikon P100 and I love come into my blog and check
photos.

http://www.fotodesfoque.blogspot.com

2:40 am - Wednesday, June 1, 2011

#95 Happysnapper2011

I bought the P100 new for my eldest daughter at Christmas. I have played around with it and sometimes borrow it.  It takes great photos for web and normal sized prints. If you use it in M or A mode you can get really good shots. I am borrowing it again this weekend it gives me something to shoot with when my D7000 and D300S are stuck on tripods awaiting the wild life to arrive where expected. Anything else that shows up get shot with the P100, especially if its a bug and macro is the order of the moment.

The zoom is great and almost as long at my longest SLR lens, and its a dam site easier to transport :)

9:09 pm - Friday, June 24, 2011

#96 Alan Hall

Buy the camera…my daughter borrowed mine and i never got it back….so purchased another one…its light and you dont need to be a arm wrestler when using the zoom.just get an extra battary thats all, and you good for a day.

5:23 pm - Tuesday, July 5, 2011

#97 sowmya.ar

Hi.
I buy Nikon coolpix P100 few days back, i love to take nature photos, since this camera has excellent zoom, I can click very far and Minute things, generally i update my photos in face book, many of my old friends are calling and asking ” what sowmya when did you change you are profession from fashion apparel to fashion photography  
I am really happy that i took this camera.

8:07 am - Wednesday, October 12, 2011

#98 Tanjim Rahman

Yahhooo,after a long time of using a low end (but yes, awesome!!) Canon PowerShot,at last I’m gonna buy this camera!!! :D

Really, It’s a great pleasure for me to have such kind a great camera at this price range! Thanks all. :D

10:26 am - Friday, April 6, 2012

#99 Tanjim Rahman

Yahhooo,after a long time of using a low end (but awesome!! ) Canon PowerShot,at last I’m gonna buy this camera!!! :D Really, It’s a great pleasure for me to have such kind a great camera at this price range! Thanks all. :D

10:27 am - Friday, April 6, 2012

#100 charloes

45 years an enthusiastic amateur user of nikons,you either like their idiosyncracies or you don,t,but they are hard to beat for value,robustness,a must for someone like me,and good to use with practise.

i,ve had slr,s,dslr,s[broke 3 ribs falling on one-camera fine],this is a great wee camera,so much lighter and easier to transport.havent tried the rib test on it though.good on boats ,hills, islands and cold.lots to learn and experiment with

only big fault,no facility for filters to protect a rather exposed lens.have devised self removing lens cover

2:04 pm - Sunday, June 24, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, nikon, super-zoom, coolpix, 10fps, 10 megapixel, EVF, 26x zoom, coolpix p100, nikon p100, p100, Nikon Coolpix P100 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry