Nikon Coolpix P310 Review

4.0
April 5, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 lazyone

“GOOD BUT NOT EXCELLENT”.....NOT GOOD FOR ME… I’LL KEEP MY CANON S95!!!

12:21 pm - Thursday, April 5, 2012

#2 continuous light kit

Qualitywise and price of Nikon Coolpix P310 is better then other versions.

12:44 pm - Thursday, April 5, 2012

#3 dutch666

The ISO range of the Coolpix P310 is not 160-6400 as the review states, but 100-6400.

9:15 pm - Thursday, April 5, 2012

#4 Bart

16 MP for a small sensor like ths is overkill, enthusiasts will be flogging to S100 which not only has a larger sensor but also larger pixels! In order to compete with S100, this needs to be lowered to 8 MPs, then it becomes a real budget S100. 8 MP is more than enough for daily life, no one’s gonna shoot a wedding with this, so why the 16MPs?!

7:34 am - Friday, April 13, 2012

#5 Adam

@Bart
“why the 16MPs?!”
To sell it.

8:13 pm - Saturday, April 21, 2012

#6 Zifran

As a canon user who got the dreaded lens error within 6 months, I’ll take the “Good” Nikon p310 over the “Excellent” s100 any day.
You can decide if you want to pay a company like Canon that refuses to acknowledge the issue (search for Canon lens error, or check out the many 1 star reviews on Amazon).

9:33 pm - Tuesday, April 24, 2012

#7 Petr

Missing RAW was the biggest problem of P300 and the only change in P310 is some stupid Fn button I never used even on my SLRs? Really disappointed on Nikon right now…

11:58 am - Tuesday, May 8, 2012

#8 Ulf

Sadly this camera has serious white balance issues. It’s so close to a perfect pocket cam, but colours are too cold. Can’t find a firmware update for this cam so it will be returned to the shop.

11:49 am - Friday, May 18, 2012

#9 martin moore

great review.  I’m a professional photographer and after going back and forth between the Canon S100 and the Nikon P310 I chose the P310 and I haven’t looked back.  It’s low light capabilities are are a dream come true for someone who is use to the capabilities of a DSLR.  the photo’s it produces are extremely sharp, detailed with very little chromatic aberrations and I’ve never had any white balance issues.  It truly is the biggest bang for your buck.

7:43 pm - Saturday, July 14, 2012

#10 sasanavira

Personally I have used 3 brands pocket digicam Nikon,Olympus and Canon. my bro in law runs a digital printing using Fuji lab machines, this means I print my shots at special discount price, I did have gigs of my files printed from the 3 cameras and my eyes told me in terms of natural vivid colour saturation omly Nikon and Olympus count while Canon didn’t deliver what I want.

12:31 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#11 Caputra pantalla

Puede capturar una imagen de lo que aparece en la pantalla y después pegarla en un documento, mensaje de correo electrónico u otro archivo.

9:44 am - Friday, November 2, 2012

#12 Aleksandra

Can anyone send me a landscape pics from this cam to my e-mail (.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)). I shoot few pics at shop with this cam and they were good. Camera is VERY fast (i also tried sony hs20v and it was much slower). But when i came online i didnt like the pics i found (from that sony too). I cant agree with the statement that p310 has white balance issues coz wb worked really well at artificial light. Much better than in sony. P310 has also an option to saturate the colours what is the option for me coz all cameras produced these days have very poor colours (i am only satisfied with colours, also pumped up in cam’s options, in canon sx40hs). Pls i need some landscape pics from p310 (can also be from sony hs20v).

2:09 pm - Thursday, November 15, 2012

#13 chad

what i dont understand and why nikon does not do this if the P series is top line of the coolpix camera why dont they put the same technology in all the camera’s same processor,same sensor same m.p. i think they would sell so much more of the P-series if they did. As for the P310 it is a great camera if u stay in the strengths of this camera.it is so easy to use and the photos are great from it. i dont care if dont shot raw jpeg is fine with me i wonted a camera to do street photography this camera to me is bult for that u can cut off all sounds to make it quite and discreet.i can not wight and see what nikon will do to inprove this camera i hope they listen to all of us and increase the sensor and leave the controls and everthing eles the same its perfect the way it is just needs a bigger sensor in it

5:18 pm - Sunday, November 25, 2012

#14 Res

How can it be compared to S100 if it’s $100 cheaper (which is 40% of the price)

9:30 pm - Saturday, January 12, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, wide-angle, 16 megapixel, hdmi, nikon, coolpix, 24mm, wideangle, 5fps, HDR, 4.2x zoom, p310, nikon p310 review, Nikon Coolpix P310 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry