Nikon Coolpix P500 Review

4.0
April 4, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

111 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Bee Jay

I’ve been waiting with interest to see whether the P500 would be a step up from its predecessor, the P100, unfortunately, judging by the pictures shown, it still struggles to maintain decent image quality even at medium ISO settings. Given the big selling point of a bridge camera is obviously the availabilty of a large focal range for a cheaper price than if you bought an SLR with lenses, this is a real problem. How are you supposed to use the 800mm zoom when you’re risticted to higher shutter speeds & lower ISOs? Unless there are really bright conditions, or you use a tripod, it seems impossible to take quality pictures. It’s not just the P100/500, it’s the same with nearly all other bridge makes. For me, Fuji’s HS10 is still the best combination of big zoom & a usable 800ISO.

10:16 am - Monday, April 4, 2011

#2 Amit

Hi, I am confused whether to go for Nikon P500 or Canon SX30IS??? Please help

5:11 pm - Monday, April 4, 2011

#3 fivefiftydee

This camera looks seriously U G L Y! Think it may be the lens.

8:13 pm - Monday, April 4, 2011

#4 Mahmut

I have this camera and believe me it is very good, I just doubt this preview, taking pictures as he mentioned the problem is and he’s not right

9:38 pm - Monday, April 4, 2011

#5 Luca

On page 2 you wrote:
Focal Range
The Nikon Coolpix P500’s 4.2x zoom lens provides a focal length of 28-200mm in 35mm terms, as demonstrated below.
—-
Is it wrong?

11:48 pm - Monday, April 4, 2011

#6 zebarnabe

Any camera is able to take pictures, and for some a cellphone camera is perfectly acceptable.

At the price stated this camera just doesn’t cut it (It will go down eventually)... Canon SX30IS is a better proposition, or Fuji HS10 (I want to see how HS20EXR goes) if you like manual controls, RAW and high speed video, or Olympus SP800 (I had a bad experience with the SP800, but reports from other users point it as a nice little camera) for a cheap camera…

1:41 am - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#7 Stella

I played with a friends and I was pretty surprised by the options this camera had. Pretty cool little thing!

2:33 am - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#8 Bee Jay

Fivefiftydee

Couldn’t agree more, this was one of the main reasons I looked elsewhere.

Amit

I don’t own either, but I did spend many an hour studying the images & specifications of both these. They both have their selling points:

Canon

Better quality pictures
Longer battery life, 370 compared to Nikon’s 220
Larger aperture on wide-angle
Better looking (only an opinion)

Nikon

Lighter
Slightly smaller
Full 1080HD video

With the P500 you are buying at the top of its price, but this will probably go down quite rapidly if it’s anything like the P100.

10:22 am - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#9 Claus

The P500 is not an bad camera,I own the SP800 panasonic FZ100 and the P500
First the FZ100 is the best bridge you can get.
the SP800 and Nikon P500 have short battery live.
you are lucky to get 150 pictures with one battery.
In order of worse camera to best
the SP800 is the worse camera,but have decent ccd pictures.if you view at 100%
the P500 is good if you sample the pictures down,so small prints.
the FZ100 is your best bid,when you set the camera to NR-2 give excellent pictures.but give more noise
the P500 take great pictures but like all small sensors you loose detail.
on the other hand P500 have decent movies full HD
36 X zoom is simple to mush to get decent pictures
26 X would be better and 8 MP where also better.
but hi who cares.
Nikon never listened to there customers.
not in the past,and not now.
I also see not mush of an different between back uliminated or CMOS vs CCD
the P500 give less noise then SP800 but only an little.
you can view pictures when you click on the link below Olympus SP800,Nikon P500,and panasonic FZ100

http://www.flickr.com/photos/73737307@N00/sets/

good luck everyone,nice review,and I must say,the reviewer is right.I have the same feeling.
Excellent review thank you.

5:59 pm - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#10 Check your video

Can you please justify your “excellent video mode” comment in your conclusion because I don’t think it’s warranted.

You stated that “zooming in or out sometimes caused the image to go temporarily out of focus, but the AF system usually adjusted itself very quickly in these cases” - that “very quickly” is upwards of four seconds, sorry but for a camera that touts a constant AF during video, that’s just horrible.

Vibration reduction? I’m starting to wonder if you guys really used this camera in video mode because the VR is horrible unless you set the thing up on a tripod. Handheld video with this camera looks like something out of the Bourne Ultimatum.

You also neglected to mention that the microphone will pick up noise from the lens zooming in and out.

Sorry, but you need to rethink your rating if it’s because of “its excellent video mode”.

3:18 pm - Wednesday, April 6, 2011

#11 Corporate Photography Ltd

We only use Nikons for our pro shoots and will be investing in a Coolpix P500 for reccee shoots and test shot for colour balance. Grant

4:07 pm - Friday, April 8, 2011

#12 Ino Budiman

For the price this blog offers, Nikon Coolpix P500 quite cheaper. Performance of this Nikon and Canon Powershot SX30IS, very thigh neck to neck.But Canon has better built-in lens’ filter so captured result slightly more vibrance.  And also hot shoe for extra flashlight accessory. Live view LCD of Canon advance   with vary swivels, which is useful for thigh space and to make more creative photo. After all, I don’t vote for both, sorry! I love Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ100 more.Better performance on every line in comparison with the two up there.  Thanks.

5:40 pm - Thursday, April 14, 2011

#13 studman

I think this is a really nice camera for what it is.  I am extremely pleased with its imagery and abundant features to make my shots better.  No it doesn’t have a hotshoe, or external ISO and white balance control, but it’s not like carrying around a small house either.  In the bridge camera arena, there are trade offs on every feature, the physical laws of nature cannot be changed.  You want a faster lens at longer focal lengths, then you need a bigger lens, no way around it without losing sharpness.  Ugly?  Whatever.  Video is marginal, really?  I’m amazed at how cool the video features are on this camera.  I mean, this is primarily a still photo camera.
If you want something portable to take on a Sunday outing to the park or zoo, or a party, or to shoot a pretty sunset or sunrise, then this camera is the bomb!
If you think you can cheap your way to studio grade photography, then this may not be for you.

3:06 pm - Friday, April 22, 2011

#14 CaptBob

Just bought this camera for an extended holiday to replace my SLR & Related lenses. The battery is POOR. In a few test runs the max is 44 photos and it’s dead. No flash, just ordinary outdoor pics. It was plugged in for 48 hours, and indicated a full charge. Nikon says you should get 220 photos. Other than that it performs as advertised.

10:43 pm - Sunday, May 1, 2011

#15 Nadia

I am not a smart photographer and dunt have much knowledge of its technical details,could you help me in setting so i coudl get clear picture with no shakes because i am having this shaky picture problem.

11:46 pm - Tuesday, May 3, 2011

#16 zebarnabe

Nadia,

Check is stabilization is on (check the camera manual).

Put the camera in S or P mode and set the shutter speed (or exposure time) to be less… Check the camera manual into how to set shutter speed (or exposure time, it’s the same thing) in these modes.

Additionally try to hold your breath, and slowly squeeze the shutter button instead of pressing it abruptly…

If you’re shooting indoors or with low light try to use the flash or a tripod…

The more zoom you use the more likely it is for handshake to be visible.

Also, focusing in close subjects (like bugs or flowers) magnifies the shake effect.

Hope it helps :]

2:37 am - Wednesday, May 4, 2011

#17 Cassandra

Hi, can anyone tell me how fast this camera is?  not in technical terms but just regularly, how fast are the pictures?  I have 2 little kids and want a camera that will take pictures extremely fast but I don’t want an SLR camera because they are too big and bulky, and I know I would never change lenses.  How is the speed of this compared to the SLR Nikons like D5000 and D3100?
thanks

6:30 am - Sunday, May 8, 2011

#18 alan

Hi Folks, esp Claus who seems to know what he is talking about. I am in no way a camera buff. At the moment I use a Nikon P90. My main aim is to get a better zoom range which this seems to have but my P90 has a major fault. When I want to take time elapsed pics it does a wonderful job but converts them to a movie, which lasts, depending on shots taken about 10 seconds. I need a camera that will always take my time elapsed shots and store and show them as separate frames. Will this camera do that and if not what would you suggest?  thanks Alan

4:58 pm - Monday, May 9, 2011

#19 PINGALI SIVA SESHU BABU

This camera is fascinating and I, am going to buy it. Has the, Nikon, company propsal to release P1000?
If so I, will go for that.
Thank you.

———SESHU

8:59 am - Wednesday, May 11, 2011

#20 Leah

The more I read, the more I get confused. I want a good camera that can take zoomed photo’s if I want, good with a flash, and video’s if I want. This camera seems to be the one.  The only problem is the battery time, my Ricoh camera takes rechargable battery as well as the alkaline battery.  I ony wish this camera did the same. I’m nearly 90% sure I’ll buy this camera.

2:32 pm - Saturday, May 21, 2011

#21 Fabio

I have the P500 for a week now and I like it. I work with cameras so I have the chance to test a lot of them. The Canon SX30 is a good camera, but the small low resolution LCD and the tiny EVF doesn’t make it a pleasure to work with. The Fuji HS20 is an outstanding camera, with probably the best IQ in a small sensor camera , it’s a pleasure to use but the manual zoom doesn’t help movies, it’s big and heavy with all the controls you can imagine. I’m not considering the excelent FZ100 since the zoom is “only” 600 mm and the others reach around 800.
  The Nikon P500 is extremely light, but my big hands can hold it very well , the rubber grip is excellent, the LCD is as good as some top DSLR, panoramas are very easy and you can choose between sweep and stitch, Canon’s only stitch, Fuji’s only sweep.
  I did some very good pictures but you have to play with the controls, sometimes AUTO is the best choice, sometimes P, sometimes Scene. Movies are good,  Canon’s are better. HDR mode is very good, the best. And you even have the lighter version D lighting wich is about the same as the others. Night mode is very good too.
  Overall, it seems that the Nikon P500 is a more complete package, it’s wider (22,5 mm !) has 36x zoom, has many slow motion movie modes and even a fast motion mode, the best LCD, very good macro, it’s very light, VR is on par with Canon’s, much better than Fuji’s.  If I had to choose only one camera to take on a trip it would probably be this one. I will get the new Sony HX100V in a few days , let’s see how it performs.

5:39 am - Tuesday, May 31, 2011

#22 clif

I just bought this camera and look forward to putting it through it’s paces. I have owned a Canon sx20 and the Fuji HS10. The canon’s pictures were not as sharp as the Fuji, very soft and the Fuji was heavy and had a pretty shakey video mode, no stabilizer. So far the Nikon seems to have put together a complete package here, I’m impressed with it’s light weight and small size. It seems well built with a nice finish and I like the LCD screen. I never owned a Nikon before and look forward to using this. Only complaint so far is no manual and a kind of Mickey Mouse method for charging the battery. In camera charging, never saw such a thing, how inconvient is that?

7:44 am - Friday, June 10, 2011

#23 mercer

I am a teen look at the this camera and the canon powershot sx30I. i am thinking of be come a photograph when older. which camera or camera what would be a good in the $400 range $450 would be max price

3:23 am - Saturday, June 11, 2011

#24 Fabio

I received the Sony HX100v a few fays ago. It seems that Sony has a winner. I`m absolutely impressed by this camera, excelent IQ in any conditions even in low light and outstanding video wich is something you can expect in a Sony. The IS is probably the best and it even does 3D pictures. The wide is 27mm but yesterday I had to take a picture of a huge inflatable in a very tight space and I used the high resolution panorama and the image is very goog even indoors.The LCD has the same resolution as the P500`s but Nikon`s is better because what you see is what you get in Sony`s the contrast is a little too much . I miss the high speed movies , but as I always carry the oustanding Nikon S8100 with me all the time it fills this gap. Since I owned the Canon SX30 and the Fuji HS20 and now I own the Nikon P500 and the Sony HX100v, I feel very comfortable to not recomend the Canon based on the poor LCD , EVF and IQ. Not recomend the Fuji based on the almost useless IS and poor movies (but it can produce high quality images). The P500 is a complete package,  very light and a pleasure to use , someone mentioned it`s ugly and it`s true in the pictures but not true in your hands, the battery charging problem is easily solved with a wall charger and an extra battery. In camera charging is an awfull idea that is spreading through the industry, Sony`s charger is as big as a notebook`s charger and needs to be connected to the camera, so I had to buy a cheap wall charger for the Sony too. Even though I like the P500 very much , the Sony performs better in every test I made, it`s big, expensive but it delivers high IQ very easily both in stills and movies, the handling is very good with the choice of manual zoom with the lens ring or the shutter button control. If shooting slow movies is important them P500 is a better choice, it`s a complete image machine.

12:52 pm - Saturday, June 11, 2011

#25 Leif

I love my P500 so far. Powerful, light weight little camera. The review seems a little off in some respects. For instance, it states the camera has 32x zoom, yet its 36x. It says its not full HD, yet it is. Not a big dea, but if the technical points are incorrect, it makes me wonder how much you can trust the review.

The P500 is well worth the extra expense over the Nikon L120 IMO. Battery life could be better, but I’ll just pick up extra battries. The vibration reduction feature is great. I love the looks of the P500, though IMO that shouldn’t be a strong consideration in choosing a camera. The ‘in camera’ charging is a bit less convenient and I’ll probably keep my eyes opened for an external charger system as well.

Fantastic camera for people that want a powerful all around camera that does a lot for the price.

For those wannabe photographers above - buy an SLR with full manual aperature and shutter settings, and learn to create images the old fashioned way. Letting the camera do all the real work for you isn’t the best way to really learn photography. Learning to make a nice shot without relying on a light meter even, is the best way to develop an appreciation for natural interactions that take place in photography.

6:53 pm - Saturday, June 11, 2011

#26 Leif

Just a followup comment re: extra batteries and external chargers. It seems these can be had pretty cheap. Right now on eBay you can pick up an external charger that includes a 12V car adapter and two generic replacement batteries for $15 + free shipping. For $30 you could have two chargers and 4 x extra batteries.

So other than the few seconds it takes to swap a battery, the ‘in camera’ charging of the original Nikon package, and the shorter battery life, are not critical issues, IMO.

8:49 pm - Saturday, June 11, 2011

#27 clif

Update from my first use of the camera. Has anyone been able to solve the problem of camera shake when taking movies, I have everything turned on but the movies really jump around and do not run smooth at all. Other than that camera is great. You will need one or two extra battery’s as they don’t last very long.

1:27 am - Sunday, June 12, 2011

#28 clif

I discovered that you must use quicktime movie with this camera. I tried to just run it with photoshop and it was very shakey. Under quicktime it ran very well.

3:38 am - Tuesday, June 14, 2011

#29 Chetan

This is very compact package of all the features that a professional photographer needs. Zoom Zoom…!

3:38 pm - Monday, June 20, 2011

#30 June

I have just returned my Nikon p500, when it worked i was very happy with it but battery life short and restrictive cos can only be charged in camera and dishcharges quickly when not in camera. But main gripe is it has a glitch with extreme sd cards and will at the most inopportune time decide it cant read the card, apparrently works better with a basic card so reduced speeds.. just take note but no one else above seems to be having problems soo perhaps i was just unlucky.

11:00 pm - Sunday, June 26, 2011

#31 clif

After using this camera for a few days I’m convinced that it’s rather weak in the power design. I think the battery is too small, that’s why it doesn’t last long. The camera also has a bad habit of running the battery down just sitting on the shelf turned off. Also it’s refused to turn on several times and you have to remove the battery and put it back in again to make it respond. Anyone else out there had this happen? I called Nikon and the rep told me just to take it back to the dealer and get another so they must know there’s a problem with some of the cameras. Overall other than that it’s really a beautiful camera with lots of features and is fun to use. Video like I mentioned before needs an upgrade, it’s a little dated.

6:43 am - Monday, June 27, 2011

#32 Ian Armstrong

I have recently had to look at a new camera after I accidentally dropped my Minolta image Z1 camera which had a 10x zoom and which I have had a lot of fun with for 10 years.  As a replacement I am looking at the Panasonic Z40, Nikon P500 or a Canon X30IS. 
I use the camera mainly when I travle and like to take shots of sport - cricket shots up close, night landscapes and tourist building highlights so for these reasons what would be the best.  I also do not have the most steady hand so camera shake avoidance is important to me as well so for this reason alone I am inclined to the Panasonic Z40 which seems to have the bext antishake feature although not being an expert I am open to comments on users recommednations as to which of the 3 cameras I have detailed they would recommend.    If it is as good as the Minolta has been over such a time span then I would be very happy.

2:55 am - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#33 Fabio

To Ian. I had the Canon SX30 and I wasn`t happy with it. I also had the Fuji HS20 and it`s a very good camera but stabilization sucks. I have the Nikon P500 and I like it very much , it`s really complete and extremely light and confortable to handle. I also have the new Sony HX100v and it is very good, maybe the best , the stabilization is outstanding, movies are fantastic, the P500 has better lcd and slow motion movies. I would choose between the Sony and Nikon. The FZ40 is a good camera but the new ones have more features and better zoom.

3:53 am - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#34 Ian Armstrong

Hi Fabio,
Thank you for your advice.  Will rule out Canon as it seems to get a few poor reviews.  One of the key things I like to take are night landscape shots and when we were in Hong Kong recently tried to take some reasonable night shots of the light show that they have there without great results.  How successful would the Nikon P500 be for this as I note that it also have the ability to take 5 images and select or combine the best one.    This would be particlularly useful and how would the Panasonic fZ40 fare up against it.
Your comments would be helpful so that I can make a decision as to which camera would be the better but for what I am looking for.

5:14 am - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#35 Fabio

To Ian
  Both Nikon P500 and Sony HX100 have the ability to merge a number of high ISO shots into a single one in order to remove the noise, that makes possible to shoot at much higher speeds and get really good pictures, as far as I have tested this feature I couldn`t find a situation where a tripod was necessary even in very dark places. It seems that with the FZ40 you have to rely on high ISO in order to get a blur free shot in low light wich will lead to a lot of noise. Both Nikon and Sony are very capable at night due to the multi shot feature, and that also allow you to take pictures of subjects with the sun behind (HDR) with fantastic results . Both have also many auto and stitch panoramas and the Sony can even create 3D photos. For me the shorter zoom and the poor LCD (4X less resolution than the others) of the FZ40 are disapointing. The P500 LCD is the same as top professionals DSLR , Sony`s has the same resolution but it`s a little bit inferior. The P500 has an impressive 22,5 wide, Sony`s 27 mm.  Sony has 2 ways to zoom, one twisting the lens like a pro camera and the traditional . Both charge in the camera ,  that`s awfull, so buy a wall charger and spare batteries. I have both cameras but to be honest it`s the Sony that spend more time in my camera bag. Please feel free to ask.

6:06 am - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#36 Kylie

Hello!

I am having a really hard time decided between the Nikon P500 and the Canon S95. I know they are very different cameras but im trying to see what one suits my needs best! The S95 is compact and easy to toss in my purse and always have it, but I was originally looking for something a little higher grade. I know the reviews on the S95 are good, but it makes me nervous because it looks just like all the other P+S ones I have had and moved on from for poor quality photos. Any advice?

5:55 pm - Thursday, June 30, 2011

#37 zebarnabe

Kylie,

If you want image quality, Canon S95 it’s quite on another level when compared with P500…

You also have the G12, it’s a bit heavy and big, the lens starts at f/2.8 instead of f/2.0, but packs more zoom power than S95 while retaining the same bigger sensor, is not much though (5x instead of 3.8x), so S95 might be a best bet for something pocketable with superb quality.

P500 has not only more telephoto capabilities but wide angle ones… at 22.5mm equivalent I think it is the widest lens on the modern bridges. However there are lots of other cameras on this segment than might do better in other aspects.

However when comes down to low light and overall sharpness S95 beats it fair and square, you can crop a bit to get some extra ‘reach’ and still print it without notice a quality hit. S95 (and G12) is (are) not your average P&S camera, they have features designed for people with some knowledge in photography (don’t just shoot in auto), making it a good learning tool for photography.

You also have LX5 from Panasonic, that might be a good proposition if you like to shoot landscapes (you have a 24mm lens instead of a 28mm - in wide angle that’s an huge difference), however I think S95 beats it when comes to sharpness and overall quality of the photos.

Check the samples, check the features, check travel zoom cameras (cameras that usually have around 15x zoom power) as those are usually better than bridges and more versatile than premium compacts with big sensors.

Here are some Travel Zooms that might worth some looking:
Canon PowerShot SX230 HS
Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ20/ZS10 (or TZ12/ZS8)
Canon IXUS 1000 HS / PowerShot SD4500 IS (it has both names - this fella is really good in low light)
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX9V

Just check the samples that exist in PB and other places, see what is enough for you bare in mind that S95 might deliver better results than any other compact…

Remember than some less good looking 16MP photo might be as good as a good looking 10MP photo, so compare photos with the same size (rescale the 16MP to 10MP for example).

4:08 pm - Friday, July 1, 2011

#38 Jazmine

Hey, from an owner of D40 and D3000, this camera is amazing for a point and shoot. I LOVE my SLR’s but when I’m on the go and can’t carry around my lense sets and etc, I use this and I would say it works well. Overall you can have a cheap piece of crap and still take a good picture, it all depends on the talent behind the camera not usually the camera it’s self. I recommend this if you’re on a budget want something simple. The only thing wrong is it’s battery life, and if you’re worried about the detail and sharpness of the photo and so on, well just invest in photoshop.

11:35 pm - Friday, July 1, 2011

#39 venugopal

I have to buy a new camera…the two options i have kept right now are sony cybershot dsc hx100v and nikon p500. which is better?
pricewise sony is cheaper but not by much.(in india).
please reply and give reason as to why you choose either of the cameras.
thank you.

7:56 pm - Tuesday, July 5, 2011

#40 Rohan

Hey Fabio,
            I am planing to buy the Nikon P500 soon. I am just a beginner, but very passionate about learning the art of photography. I have a budget for Nikon P500, as this is the first time am investing so much on a camera, I don’t wana get disappointed after I buy this camera. Please advice me wether to buy this camera or no. I have read many reviews about this camera, some are really very good, but some are very bad, thats were am getting confused. I want a good picture quality when using full zoom(36x) with a tripod, good video with and without good lightning conditions. I personally find the camera good looking, also other things I expect are better video quality when fully zoomed. So will I get what I expect from thius camera??
Kindly help :)

5:50 am - Sunday, July 10, 2011

#41 John D

I have the same problem with the on-off button.It works for a while but then it won’t turn on without removing the battery. It’s only two weeks old. Hope I can return it to the retailer!

7:38 am - Sunday, July 10, 2011

#42 Fabio

Hi Rohan
  The slow motion feature of the P500 is the only thing that would make me prefer it over the Sony HX100, in every other aspect that you mention Sony`s model is superior, fully zoomed videos are better because of superior image quality and much superior stabilization. I was so impressed with the HX100 that I ordered the compact version of it the HX9 and I`m not disappointed, they are really the same camera in different sizes wich means great video and still in any light condition. Sony even create an auto multi burst feature that will produce better merged photos even in daylight .  I still have the Nikon P500 but it`s for sale now.

8:27 am - Sunday, July 10, 2011

#43 Tony L

Like the camera, and surprised at the extent of the zoom. Don’t like the battery charging through the camera. I have discovered, however, that the battery supplied with my old Coolpix 4200 is identical with the battery on the P500, so I can charge batteries externally using the charger supplied with this old camera. I can now always carry a spare battery.

2:37 pm - Monday, July 11, 2011

#44 Kobie

I don’t know whether to buy the SX30 IS, Or this camera. Please help!!

10:27 pm - Tuesday, July 12, 2011

#45 Ian

Hi Fabio,
Have on order a Sony HX100V based on your advice and the excellent reviews this camera has been
receiving.  When I purchase it I also want to get separte SD cards for still and video and in this respect what cards should I get.  I am also looking at dropping the megapixels down from 16 to say 10 which will give me more pictures on the SD card.  Based on info obtained this should have no affect on picture quality - am I correct on this or should I just go with the 16 megapixels offered by this camera.

12:53 am - Wednesday, July 13, 2011

#46 Fabio

Hi Ian
I`m sure you won`t regret your decision, it`s a very good camera. I use a common class 6 card and it works just fine. Since I like to take pictures of airplanes and macro I always end up croping the pictures so I always use the max resolution. If you won`t crop your pictures 10 MP will be fine, but memory cards are so cheap today that I wouldn`t risk not taking the highest quality picture just to save a few cents.

6:13 am - Wednesday, July 13, 2011

#47 Jessica

i totally love this camera when i first saw it. but as i look at some comments about it’s battery and things, it gets me confused to buy it or not.

im a teen, i cant make money by myself *still using and depending on parents money* so i dont wanna use their money too much too. when i get older and i wanna be a professional photographer, i’ll but DSLR by my own moneyyy :D

please recommend me more and make me sure to buy it or not :D thanks a lot before :))

11:24 am - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#48 Sarah

Hey Jessica! I so recommend this! This was my starter camera for when I began my venture out in photography, and it’s amazing. I now have a D60. and i recommend a d60 also, but it’s a bit pricey. The p500 works pretty great but you have to keep it charged a bit, This is great for if you don’t know much about camera’s and want to get an experience for them!

10:58 pm - Monday, July 18, 2011

#49 christina

hi Fabio, I just received the P500 as a gift.  I am having trouble with indoor shots as well as indoor outdoor motion shots.  What setting should I be using?

9:17 pm - Tuesday, July 19, 2011

#50 Fabio

Hi Christina
  Your problem is typical in small sensor cameras but you can try the Night landscape that will allow you to shoot at much higher speeds avoiding blur, it works quite well even indoors if the object stands still. If you need to use the flash maybe the M mode is better because you can play with speed and avoid blur
Moving objects are the other problem with these cameras and if you don’t have enough light it will be very difficult to freeze the action, the only solution is to increase ISO and pray, even at ISO 1600 you will get an usable picture if you don’t crop it. If you’re shooting action outdoors you may use the action mode inside the scene menu, and if you have enough light you will get very good pictures as long as you can focus quick enough, so changing focus modes may be necessary. SLR cameras with special lenses are the only solution for high quality low light action shooting, but the new small sensor cameras are advancing in that direction.

4:29 pm - Wednesday, July 20, 2011

#51 jennifer

I was disappointed. The P500 has a known problem with “freezing” - supposed to be rare, but I exchanged my first for another - same problem - camera freezes, won’t turn on unless you reset it by removing battery. Confirmed on Nikon’s website - they have a firmware patch. The 36x zoom is useless unless you want to carry around a tripod, defeating the purpose of the point-shoot. Not impressed by colours at high noon. Don’t expect near the quality of a true digital SLR, even at the low-end price range. If you want a compact, go for the Sony 16x DSC-HX9V - my niece bought one and I thought the colours in the images were better, with ample zoom stability for a hand-held photo at 16X.

7:25 pm - Thursday, July 21, 2011

#52 LUCA

Does anyone know how to take photos of night-skies? Stars? that is, leave the shutter in full open?  It seems that in manual mode it only supports 8 seconds—is there some trick to leave the shutter open (like the Bulb mode in other Nikon models)
Otherwise this camera is loaded with features

Thanks for help….

7:40 am - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#53 christina

Thank you Jennifer I took the Nikon P500 back and got the sony HX9V.  OMG its like a night and day experience.  I went back and took the pics at the same place with the kids in action with the same lighting and they came out….PERFECT!!!!  It has a lil bit of a processing delay but other than that .  I luv my new choice, and it was 50 bucks cheaper at Best buy than the Nikon=)

6:33 pm - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#54 Delia Mills

Lovely small camera.  As yet, I haven’t located the optical zoom, but will fatham some time

WHAT A PITY ABOUT THE BATTERY.  Only good for an hour, and no external way of charging except on the camera.

Far better than the Canon G11, as no time lapse on operating the shutter.  Just wish it was a bit heavier.

Would I reccomend it.  Yes/no Good as a car camera, so always handy.  For good photography I will stick with my Canon 60D.

8:54 pm - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#55 Sabrinawabo

Honestly, I don’t know what half of you are talking about. I just bought this camera and I love it. Most of you are trying to sound all professional saying ‘the battery life is terrible’ and ‘the lens isn’t as good as others’ but in the long run, it’s worth the amount i payed for it and also, IT’S A CAMERA. It has many options and settings that I love to use. It’s light weight so I can carry it around with me where ever I wana take pictures and it’s not a hassle to turn on or anything. I adore this easy camera. It makes taking professional pictures easy and simply. What’s better than that? I don’t care if it ‘doesn’t meet the standards’ to snobby rich professional people like all of you, I love it.

4:13 am - Saturday, July 30, 2011

#56 Jessica

hey Sarah. thanks a lot for recommend that camera :) i’m gonna but that soon !!! CANT WAIT !! *excited*
XXX :)

4:32 am - Saturday, July 30, 2011

#57 LUCA

has anyone figured out how to keep the shutter OPEN to take pics of the night sky?
thanks!

4:37 am - Saturday, July 30, 2011

#58 kalpesh

i am not find any problem in p500 ,so go for it.

6:29 pm - Saturday, July 30, 2011

#59 Aaron

I picked out this camera at random (my parents where buying as part of a birthday present) because I wanted something close to a SLR camera. My previous camera’s where all cheap Kodak entry level digitals.

So having only had a 3 or 5 megapixel camera in the past, I have to say I am very pleased with the P500. The super 36x zoom is awesome. My video’s in HD look great on Facebook.

The main drawback, and this is my fault, is that I aways forget to take the lens cover off before turning the camera on. Then the camera gives me a warning and the motor makes a funny sound. I hope I don’t break the motor doing this :/

So having not having to pay for this camera and it being a major upgrade for me I would definitely give it a 4.5/5.

Oh BTW I purchased a 4 Gig Panasonic SDHC card (the high end one) to go with this.

6:00 pm - Monday, August 1, 2011

#60 Molly

Hi,

I identify with Kylie because I too am torn between a powershot s95. I too have had a powershot for years and wanted an upgrade so I actually went to the camera store and got a coolpix p500 (I was more swept up in its look than anything else). I have 10 days to return it and I’m already regretting my decision. I haven’t had much time to play with it yet but I’m at work reading reviews and not feeling so great about this investment. The guy at Ritz was excited about a portable, small Fuji but I went with this. The thing is, I don’t even really care about the amazing zoom, the most important thing to me is image quality (I love that looking at slr pictures you can say, wow, this was taken with a great camera). I just want image quality indoor pictures that are not too grainy.

I was hoping for a step up but I’m already regretting this. Basically, I need help. Any help would be great. Now, I’m considering the Nixon 8100. I’m lost.

8:26 pm - Wednesday, August 3, 2011

#61 Fabio

Hi Molly

  I have the Canon S95, the Nikon S8100, Sony HX100, Sony HX9V and the Nikon D5000 (SLR). I sold my P500 one week ago and I don’t miss it.
  Zoom is very important and it’s the only reason to buy a bridge camera, for instance the HX100 and the HX9 are the same camera, one fits in your pocket , the other has an amazing zoom but it’s the size of a SLR, but both are much better than the P500 except for the LCD and slow motion movies.
  I keep my S95 for those low light moving objects situations, as long as you don’t zoom in.
  I bought the P500 because I thought it would be a S8100 with long zoom, but I was wrong , it’s a S9100 with long zoom and the S9100 is a much inferior camera than the S8100. I know it because I had one too.
  The S8100 is an outstanding camera and it’s low light is amazing as long as your object stands still, I had sharp 0,5 seconds handheld shots due to the superb stabilization, but movies are just ok.
  If zoom is not important and size doesn’t matter why not go for the excelent Canon T3 or the Nikon D3100 ?

2:18 am - Thursday, August 4, 2011

#62 malika maria at wOrk

I LOVE MY NIKON P500 !!!

I had the p90 and the p500 goes much better :-)
A good buy and no waste of money =)

9:56 am - Friday, August 5, 2011

#63 sebastian

hey guys I´m new at photography and I was wondernig if you could make “Bokeh” effects with these camara or Panning lol it´s a fun camera =D

7:13 am - Saturday, August 13, 2011

#64 Rupesh Ghate

I took 240 pictures in just one time charged even I took 1 minute HD recording and after coming to home I saw all the pictures on the screen itself and surprisingly still the battery indicator was full, I do not know why other users are facing problems in battery. Pictures were very nice but unable to compare these pictures with Sony HX100v camera pictures, So do not know which one is better. I am using my camera since May 2011, upto now I didnt find any problem in my camera.

3:17 pm - Saturday, August 13, 2011

#65 Bob Kurtz

I’m a semi-novice, point and shoot kind of guy, but I have taken my share of very good photos over the past thirty years or so.
I love this camera. It exceeds my ability in every way, and it is is an affordable camera that I can grow into. I think that the optics are comparable to my fairly high end Pentax binoculars. Too cool by half.

4:41 pm - Saturday, August 13, 2011

#66 dan

As long time Canon owner (canon d50, is10), I reluctantly tried the P500 and liked it !  Very good indoor night shots without flash or tripod. Wow! Video 1080p clear and instantly great color in various lighting conditions but have not figured out night video which is dark. For stills, I like that you can set auto iso range to 160-400 instead of the full range thus controlling noise. So far 3 wishes - AA batteries for more photo time, easier white balance (but it is very easy to manually set and very accurate, way better than canon) and faster auto-focus. The auto focus is slower than DLSR but it is very good and consistently sharp even in lower lighting compared to canon is30 (poor in telephoto low light) and fuji s4000 (quite good low light telephoto focus).

5:28 pm - Saturday, August 20, 2011

#67 Andres Tapias

I switched to this camera (the red one) from a Canon is30Sx.. but I´m still not sure if I made a good decision… But for starters, the battery life! You should bou at least 5 batteries to have a good day of picture taking.

High Speed recording is a nice thing… the FullHD video is not as amazing as expected… Anyway I´ll give it some more days to convince me.

But trust me on the batteries!

9:17 pm - Monday, August 22, 2011

#68 Todd Beall

Hi Fabio,

I too owned (for a small period of time!) both the p500 and the Sony DSC-HX100V. I wanted to like the Nikon, but I had great difficulty in focusing at the high tele settings—I had no similar problem with the Sony. Did you have a similar problem with the p500? It would search to lock in a focus, especially in low light. In that way the Sony was far superior.

But the sony does not have a way to turn off the annoying musical beeps for every button pressed, without also turning off the helpful “beep” to tell you when the image is in focus! Very sad, but I guess a minor annoyance.

Anyway, just wondered if you (or others out there) noticed a focusing problem with the p500 at high tele settings (and especially in low light).

Thanks!

7:13 am - Saturday, August 27, 2011

#69 Fabio

Hi Todd
  As I wrote above, my expectations was that the P500 camera was a S8100 with greater zoom, I also expected the S9100 to be a S8100 with greater zoom, but very sadly the S9100 and the P500 are very similar cameras with the same problem, focusing. Trying to take pictures of the moon with the P500 is very difficult, with the HX100 it`s so easy and close to perfection sometimes . Stabilization is another problem, everything keeps moving in a slow circular way, makes me feel I`m drunk . Sony`s stabilization is superb and movies are much, much better. But Nikon`s LCD is superior because colors and contrast are better and slow motion movies are very nice, also the panorama mode allows you to stitch just 2 photos and I like that better than 180 . Regarding the sound problem I prefer a totally silent camera and the visual confirmation is very good, I recently received the excellent Canon T3 and sometimes it`s hard to tell if focus has been achieved because visual confirmation is not good ,only the sound tells you and I don`t trust it. The T3 is superb for fast action and portraits but believe it or not low light picture of still objects is better with the HX100 or HX9 because of the handheld twilight mode. I can`t reach the same speed with the Canon lens kit that allows me not to blur the picture even with the almost perfect IS, for that I need to spend a lot of money in a fixed lens. That single feature is worth the price of the Sony.

1:13 pm - Saturday, August 27, 2011

#70 Todd Beall

Thanks so much for your reply, confirming the focusing problem on the Nikon p500. I guess what surprises me the most is that I have not seen a single review of the Nikon that has mentioned this problem (focusing at, say, greater than 500mm). I know it is challenging for the camera, with shaking, etc.; but the Sony under the same circumstances had far less problems. If only we could have a camera with the focusing of the Sony and the color fidelity of the Nikon! But overall the Sony wins, because if you can’t focus on a scene, the color fidelity doesn’t really matter! (and for those considering the Sony, the color fidelity is not really that bad).

Thanks again!

7:08 pm - Saturday, August 27, 2011

#71 Brenda

I got the P500 for my birthday a few weeks ago.  I used it a few times one day, and immediately started having problems with it not turning on.  Like others, I thought it was the battery, so I charged it again.  It then came on, told me there was “no memory” (with an 8G Sandisk in it…) and still refused to work.  I’ve taken the battery and the memory card out & put them back in several times, still nothing.  Camera won’t come on at all.  Really infuriates me.  It’s going back to the store.

12:53 am - Sunday, August 28, 2011

#72 Janne

Andres Tapias, what do you like the camera compared to the sx30is? Have just bought one (canon) and think its a little bit tricky to get good pictures, espessially in low light, is the p500 better in that aspect?

3:27 pm - Sunday, September 11, 2011

#73 Jose

Image Quality (IQ) is not perfect and will never be near SLR quality. If IQ is the deciding factor to you, then you should be looking at full SLR cameras and not super zoom bridge cameras.  You buy a super zoom because you do not want to be carrying a camera bag with 3 or 4 lens when travelling.  A compact super zoom camera is perfect for light travelling or leaving in your car for that unplanned picture taking opportunity.  I was planning on buying a fujifilm or canon superzoom but came across the P500 in Target on special for $250 so it was a no brainer.
I am happy with it.  So when I am travelling or just driving around, I have a camera with macro, wide, super telephoto and an excellent 1080 fullHD video camera and a binocular all into one compact unit.  Those complaining about battery life can buy 2 batteries from amazon for around $5 dollars.

2:32 am - Wednesday, September 14, 2011

#74 Janne

You payed 250 dollars? Thats cheap…
I dont need super IQ, but I want descent quality when taking pictures of other things than birds etc

11:21 pm - Wednesday, September 14, 2011

#75 Todd Beall

Janne, I would seriously consider the Sony HX100V. For me, it worked better in low light situations than the Nikon p500.

I agree with most of you that the p500 was wonderful for many shots, but it did not focus well in low light, and I could not get the tele (500+) shots I wanted in even medium light—the only time it focused well for me at the long tele settings was in bright light. I liked the size of the p500 a little better than the Sony, but overall I felt the Sony was superior in focusing and in other areas (as did Fabio).

I also think the complaint about battery life for the p500 is overdone, since the first thing I did was to buy 2 extra batteries and a charger for the p500—in fact, if anyone wants to buy them from me (never used!), let me know! (.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)). Since I took that camera back, I have no need for the extra batteries or the charger.

Remember, too, that some of the earlier complaints about the p500 were fixed with the RAM update—so for those who have an earlier model, make sure to update the firmware.

3:32 am - Thursday, September 15, 2011

#76 Janne

Yes its probably the best, but most expensive too, I am thinking of Fuji HS20, maybee..

11:06 pm - Thursday, September 15, 2011

#77 RONIL

nice camera it has lots of features & functions but i can’t use all functions because i don’t have any knowledge about that i read manual book but i don’t understand,
can you give me a demo or any visualisation for teach, each function whats use and for what perpose so i get better result so i compaire with any other cameras results so i can suggest to anyone

12:08 pm - Saturday, September 17, 2011

#78 jas

I just bought the nikon p500.  I am an avid hunter but find myself reaching for my camera more than my gun. For me it came down to the nikon and the sonyhx100v. The reach out and touch em zoom is why i bought the nikon.  I still have second thoughts about whether or not the Sony would have been better but so far in low light and with animals running or birds flying i have alot of people commenting on my nice photo shots. And at a relatively good (i think its 8fps) burst mode my action shots are quite acceptable.  I think i made a good choice.  Anyone agree or disagree i would like to here your opinion since i am fairly new at this level of camera. Thanks

3:46 pm - Sunday, September 18, 2011

#79 Andres Tapias

Janne… I´m not sure what to tell you so far… the Canon has some good features and I got some really nice pix with it, but I don´t miss it at all compared top the Nikon… which I don´t totally love yet.

I just went off for a short vacation and had to carry 4 batteries and 2 chargers so I wouldn´t miss anything. The Canon is a really good camera and I just switched to the Nikopn hoping it would blow mi mind but so far, I feel like I just updated the camera with no significant improvement just yet.

But now I´m thinking on the next step, leaping top a DSLR… any thoughts anyone??

10:40 pm - Monday, September 19, 2011

#80 Andres Tapias

Janne, for low light situations, the P500 has a good feature called “night landscape” and you get decent pics using it. Nothing spectacular buch much better than those I got with the Canon.

10:48 pm - Monday, September 19, 2011

#81 Fabio

To all those who are trying to decide between the Canon SX30, Nikon P500 and Fuji HS20 please do yourself a favor and at least take a look at the Sony HX100V or even the HX9V ( the pocket version of the HX100).
  I used to think that quality pictures were only possible with DSLR and I always carried one with me plus 3 lenses, but I got tired and decided to substitute my extra lenses by a bridge model, my first one was the Canon S3, an ok camera, then I bought the Fuji HS10, Sony HX1, Canon SX30, Fuji HS20, Nikon P500 and now the Sony HX100 and guess what ? I seldom carry a DSLR anymore, the only situations when the Sony isn’t better is low light moving objects , fast shooting and portraits, the flash isn’t as powerfull too but yesterday I mananged to get some quite good shots of hummingbirds in low light , that I’m sure would be very challenging even for my Canon T3.
  The Canon SX30 is the worst of all modern bridge cameras and even Canon agrees because the SX40 is about to be released and specs seems to be about the same with a very low resolution and bad LCD, maybe IQ is improved. When I got the Nikon P500 I was very happy with the features but focusing and VR are not good, hard to get really good pictures and VR in movies sucks ( but the HS20 is even worst) . The Sony exceeds in almost all aspects, it’s hard to miss a good shot, even in low light and movies are absolutely amazing. Images are excellent and as long as you don’t crop them too much , you won’t miss a DSLR.
  One very important thing is the auto EVF and auto macro in the Sony, no need to push buttons to use those features, wich means operational speed. I liked it so much that I also bought the little brother HX9V a superb camera and now my favorite.
  I’ve spent a lot of money and time actually buing and using those cameras , any doubt I will be happy to be of help.

12:25 am - Tuesday, September 20, 2011

#82 zebarnabe

I agree with Fabio, HX100V price is now lower and might appeal to some people, quality wise it beats the other bridge cameras pointed out.

The new Panasonic FZ150 looks like a nice proposition as well, but a bit over priced, FZ47 / FZ48 might be a more acceptable proposition price wise, but you lose the progressive video, RAW, faster shooting, a flash hotshoe and an articulated screen, and that is a lot.

Paired with HX9V is Canon SX220 HS or SX230 HS, those are quite balanced and will easily fit a large pocket as their lens retract into the body. Currently SX220 and SX230 have CHDK available for them (maybe not in all firmware versions though) meaning RAW, time lapse, motion detection and other nice features are not officially available for them.

Good luck…

1:10 am - Tuesday, September 20, 2011

#83 jas

Thanks all for the opinions i have received i do agree the Sony hx100v is a great maybe even better camera, but the nikon p500 is so far doing a good job and i like the zoom varianse i get with the nikon. Overall i like this camera. For me fuji and canon did not have what the nikon did but that’s my opinion

2:53 am - Tuesday, September 20, 2011

#84 Chetan

To all i would like to suggest using Aperture controlled mode with ISO 160(Lowest) in Nikon p500. I bet You will be surprised at the quality picture it takes at low light conditions. Confirm ur camera is stable at this moment(use tripod or just keep on flat place. I was surprised the night snaps were looking like the day one’s, it may take long time to process but worth waiting…

12:05 pm - Tuesday, September 20, 2011

#85 Joshy

Good zoom range, but picture quality is very soft. Makes lot of noise and AF assist light is not aligned properly. Conversation with Nikon Support below.

Me: 09/21/2011 05:16 PM

Thanks for the information. I have returned the camera to the store where I purchased it. Thanks for your help.

Support: 09/21/2011 09:21 AM

Hello Joshy, Thank you for your patience, Please understand that if the subject that you are trying to take the picture of is too far ( As you mentioned that you even had to zoom in to reach this subject) the light of the AF assist will not go that far. Regards,

Me: 09/15/2011 04:04 PM

What is the use of AF light if it is not falling on the area where I am focusing? Simple question, is this the intended behavior or a design fault? I am not able to take photos in low light, especially when I use zoom. Then what is the use? If you are still not clear on my questions, please see the screenshot I attached.

Support: 09/15/2011 09:58 AM

Hello Joshy, The AF assist illuminator is not a flash. This light is just to clear out the view when you are taking pictures in low light conditions. This light cannot be moved around at all, in fact the only options available for this feature are ON or OFF. Regards,

Me: 09/14/2011 08:13 PM

Where should the AF assist light fall? I thought it should fall in the area of focus. But, in my camera the light falls to the right of the object that I am trying to focus. What do you mean by “There’s no way for this light to be set to point somewhere else.”??? It should fall in the focus area, right? Did you get my issue? Attached an image that may help.

Support: 09/14/2011 06:40 PM

Hello Joshy, Thank you for contacting Nikon, There’s no way for this light to be set to point somewhere else. Regards,

Me: 09/14/2011 10:27 AM

I have another issues. The AF assist light is not falling on the center of the frame when I try to take focus on an object. Is there any adjustment that I can make so that the light falls on exactly at the center of the frame?

Support: 09/10/2011 02:03 PM

Hello Joshy, Thank you for contacting Nikon, This sounds are normal, due to the lens mechanism moving in and out, taking also under consideration that the equipment is new and it temps to take time for the mechanism to move smoothly. Regards,

Me: 09/08/2011 04:36 PM

I bought a P500 recently. I am experiencing a lot of sound when I try to zoom. Is this by design or it is a problem with lens alignment? How can I check?

10:31 pm - Wednesday, September 21, 2011

#86 Bashar YT

Hello ,
why most of the shots are taken with high ISO and high F-number ??
There is not even one picture taken at f/3.5

I don’t know but i think you should take these pictures with better settings .
Atleast we can see what this camera can do at its best settings .

Best Regards

6:59 pm - Sunday, October 2, 2011

#87 Ron

On the p500, can I use Windows media player to view videos or just quicktime? Also, I can’t get the video file size small enough to send email. Settings for HD and HS are both VGA and smallest file produced is 4mg for a 20sec vid. I need some advice please.

1:28 am - Sunday, October 30, 2011

#88 Bob

I purchased a Nikon Coolpix P500 last week. I am returning it this week. The specifications and users manual state:  “At the zoom position that is three increments from the maximum wide-angle position to the telephoto position, the camera can focus on subjects as close as 1 cm (0.4 in.) from the lens.” This is not true. The camera cannot focus on anything in that range. Nikon phone tech support confirmed this. For macro photography the P500 is useless.

2:29 am - Monday, October 31, 2011

#89 Roger Gomez

HI.
I found this page to be very helpful. I love to take photos but i really dont know much about the settings. What manual settings do you recommend me adjusting to take really good-great to awesome pics?
Thank you

3:12 am - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#90 Jessica

Hello I was wondering which one of these cameras would be the best for taking pictures of hockey games, children and animals. My options are Nikon Coolipx P500 Fuijifilm Finepix S3400 or the Nikon Coolpix L120

6:41 am - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#91 D.Clay

My first P500 was returned to the shop without ever being used and they gave me a new one. The fully-charged battery had discharged itself overnight. I used the new camera on several occasions and had good results.  In August I went to a wedding and the new camera battery was fully charged.  But, when I tried to switch on, the battery had again discharged itself and I got no photos.  In September I wnt to mountains in Germany and once again the battery was fully charged when I left home.  When I tried to switch on, the battery was once again totally flat.  Has anyone else suffered similar?
I have always been a Nikon fan and I find it extremely difficult to accept that one person could be so unlucky and get two duff cameras like this.
Please believe that I was very careful to ensure the camera was switched off after checking the state of the battery.

6:32 pm - Wednesday, December 7, 2011

#92 Sandy

I received my P500 a few weeks ago and every picture I take is blurry.  Can anyone tell me what the problem may be.  I just to be able to take pictures of the kids.  Nothing fancy

1:48 am - Tuesday, December 13, 2011

#93 Pieter

@ D.Clay

This issue has been fixed in firmware version 1.1

To update the firmware of your camera, please see the following link:

https://nikoneurope-en.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/49736/~/coolpix-p500-firmware-update-1.1

11:22 am - Monday, January 2, 2012

#94 Alison D

I just got this camera a little over a week ago, and I fell totally in love with it. This is my first higher grade camera (over my smaller but tougher Olympus stylus Sw720). Two days after buying it, I took a vacation to the mountains of Tennessee. The photos that I took were excellent, higher quality than any my mom and i have ever taken. The main thing I wanted in a camera was the ability to control the shutter and aperture settings so as to photograph the night sky. I had to tone down my wants from a DSLR Nikon D3100, but I feel as though I have nearly the same thing without ever having to change lenses. The in camera charging does not bother me, as sometimes I have to pick up my camera and run, and having to spot to put the battery back in just slows me down. Night shots are excellent, sook several great photos of Orion’s Belt and the moon and they turned out great. Video setting work well for me, as I usually do not take a lot of videos. I do occasionally have a blurry photo, but in reality, don’t we all? Takes photos fast, and very seldom slows me down. I look forward to using it for my Yearbook class next year, and hope to enjoy this camera for years to come.

1:34 am - Saturday, January 7, 2012

#95 Mel Price

You get what you pay for in life. This camera follows on from a variety of cameras I have owned and used over the years. Now at 68 years of age I cannot lug heavy lenses and various filters in bags about. This camera suits my needs. It is not the best but it is far and away from the worst. It is worth the money for the quality you get. I like it and it has produced some excellent photos.

2:55 pm - Sunday, February 5, 2012

#96 Mark

Hi. I’m looking to purchase a new camera. Something better than a point and shoot, but more affordable than a DSLR. I’m just a guy who enjoys taking photos while I’m out in the city, some hang out pictures, car shows and other events and expos. I’m struggling between the P500 which I’ve grown a fondness to and also seems to get a lot of love, the Canon SX40 HS just because I’ve had experiences with Canons and all of them were pretty good experiences and I did enjoy some of the fetures of that model, and the Sony HX100 V just because someone else suggested it thouhg I have yet to mess around with one.

In further detail, I’m also looking to take really detailed close-ups of my figures and model kits, so a great macro feature would be nice. Speed would be great, but not very necessary unless I really wanted to take a picture of a moving vehicle. As well as take advantage of a 720p(1080 is fine but is impossible to play on youtube, anyway) HD camera feature for my video reviews and commentaries of my figures and model kits.

Any pointers would be nice, and thanks =]

4:24 am - Monday, February 27, 2012

#97 zebarnabe

Mark, check FZ150 from Panasonic as well, take in mind that this is a personal opinion: on the bridge I think FZ150 is the better balance between features/quality/price. HX100V is quite good as well (a bit pricy though). Nikon and Canon seem to have lost the fight in some way (there is no such thing like bad cameras, but price and intent wise some are better than others).

If you don’t need so much zoom, smaller travel zoom’s provide more quality while being more practical and cheap, you lose the massive zoom versatility though 12-16x is more than enough for most people. On that segment Canon Powershot SX220 (or SX230) and Sony Cybershot HX9V are prolly the best (but canon has updated their line recently, though the price of the older models is really attractive right now).

Most of the compact cameras can focus really close, but I would check if it is close enough on the specs.

Check the samples provided online, online camera foruns and if possible try the camera on store, some cameras are just not made to be hold by one.

1:42 pm - Monday, February 27, 2012

#98 Reuben

MY dad has a P500, my mom has a olympus pen p-15, i have a sony HX100V

In terms of picture quality, it is
Best- Sony
Olympus
Worst - P500

The stabilisation really isn’t that good on the P500, sony really hit it there, in movie and still mode. When fully zoomed in in movie mode, it is unbearable to see what is being shot, some people may say ‘everyone would use a tripod for this type of shooting’ However, with the sony zoomed full, you can clearly see what is going on. I can’t rate the olympus in this respect, because my mom has a small lense on it.
The olympus by far has the most features, but
the P500 does have that nice high speed capture
unlike the other two. However, the P500 has freezed up quite frequently, so yo have to take the battery out for it to work again. If you are moving up from a small, compact camera, the P500 would seem pretty amazing, but you can get much more for your money.

1:10 pm - Thursday, March 8, 2012

#99 Niz

i got p500 its amazing cam image and video Quality such amazing dont believe tht someone says is not good pic or vid… just buy it u gonna know p500 worth tht to buy it is much better than sony even hx100v and canon sx40

9:01 pm - Thursday, March 8, 2012

#100 Fabio

The P500 is not a bad camera but it’s no match for the HX100 or Canon SX40 , I had them all, others tested it against other bridge cameras and came to the same conclusion and the reviewer has the same opinion. Let’s wait for the new model, Nikon incresed zoom to 1000 mm , let’s hope that VR has been improved too because it is not good in the P500.

9:36 pm - Thursday, March 8, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 12 megapixel, nikon, super-zoom, coolpix, EVF, 8fps, 36x zoom, coolpix p500, nikon p500, p500, Nikon Coolpix P500 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry