Nikon Coolpix P510 Review

4.5
March 28, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

206 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 andy clad

A lot of camera for the 320 price tag. The pic of the guy and girl at 900mm is really good. Exposure compensation down a stop would really help. Yes we can zoom in 100 or 200% and moan at the jpeg artifacts. But it has creative controls and a huge lens to play around with and,what can the “Bridge” format offer now except from a lens on Viagra.
Great for wildlife snaps on a tight budget. But travel compacts with a 20x zoom that does most or all of the above AND fits in your pocket is probably a better option. Spend your money on the TZ25.
A note on the review, please add some pics with the complete ISO range in an everyday situation. The shot of the flower shop would of been ideal for this to really show the loss of saturation you mentioned.
Cleaning the camera before taking product images with a pound-shop microfiber cloth makes all the difference.

10:55 am - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#2 bashar

nice camera , thanks for the review

11:11 am - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#3 simon

Nice review!

1 mistake though. The P510 uses the same Lens Vibration reduction system as can be found in the latest Nikkor DSLR lenses. So not sensor shift VR as the article indicates.

11:26 am - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#4 Bill

It’s interesting to me that Nikon, in spite of their arguably excellent SLR’s, DSLR’s and lenses for such just don’t seem to have ever been able to pull off manufacturing the best compact or bridge cameras as a couple of their competitors in the compact and point&shoot; markets! It seems they usually manage to get everything right except the image quality, which is, to most enthusiasts, probably the most important issue. I phoned Nikon to ask about this several years ago…their answer to me was one of surprise, and a little vague. I’d love to see their image quality on the smaller cams and super zooms improve!

12:51 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#5 Eyal Gurevitch

” so-so image quality, lack of RAW mode, slightly sluggish auto-focusing and some handling issues “

How do these issues justify a 4.5/5 rating?
I understand the excitement over the large zoom and the overall bank-for-the-buck in general, but this is still an slightly-better-than-ordinary ultra-zoom 1/2.3” sensor point-and-shoot camera.

Andy - it costs $429 and not $320.

-eyalg

2:48 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#6 Donnie Biggs

The IQ on the samples presented is mediocre: the grass seems unnatural, the people’s skin looks plasticky and the photos with many tiny details are just terrible e.g.
http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/nikon_coolpix_p510/sample_images/nikon_coolpix_p510_33.jpg

3:20 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#7 Donnie Biggs

btw why almost all photo samples are @ISO 100? Maybe cause they aren’t good at all @ ISO 200+?

3:22 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#8 Frank Stanton

@Simon: The first paragraph says the camera is “mechanically stabilized”. Doesn’t that indicate the camera uses lens stabilization, as oppsed to sensor shift?

4:23 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#9 DancingPotato

There is no provision for an external shutter release and on a 42X zoom that seems to be absurd to me ... so essentially you can’t use a tripod for anything but shooting static subjects. One guy in another forum said he can hand hold it at 1000mm at 1/30 sec using burst mode ... and he picks out a good one out of the 5 that it takes ... well god love him ... that must be some amazing stabilizer on his camera ... or he is in rigor mortis.

5:53 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#10 JOE PRETE

Andy Clad,
Where did you get the idea that the price tag is $320.00? You would be lucky to get the P310 for $320.00 This camera came in at about $500.00 then as they normally do, it dropped a few bucks, now it’s about $430.00 this is incentive time but even that probably involves a rebate or two that were not mentioned. You’re at least $100.00+ off on the price. Regarding the iso range and cleaning the camera, These guys are lucky to have the camera long enough to complete the review as it is. If they shot every camera at each iso, they wouldn’t be seeing too many more reviews. They just don’t have the time! Also, these cameras are not known for their high iso performance, don’t you people know that? And cleaning? They probably wipe it down with a dry cloth while packing it back up.  The review you want done comes after the purchase, is done by you, and even then you need to decide if you want to return it for the 80% you may get back. You’ve heard,“you can’t please everyone” well, you’re the one! Mark Goldstein, I commend you for the fabulous job you did on this and just about every other review that you do here. Photography Blog,  we thank you for the service that you provide, free of charge and always a great job! We Thank You all at the site, Bravo!. ... Joe Prete   PS:Some people.  .... ... .....  This just proves it, you need a member fee!

6:55 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#11 Stephanie

I’ve had this camera for two years, and I love it! It’s easy to use, and affordable too!

http://amzn.to/Hnr9ko

7:59 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#12 JOE PRETE

I think he’s right, who would expect to handhold a camera with a setting equal to 1000mm The only option I think would be the tripod and using the self timer. I didn’t see the photos the previous commenter mentioned but even from the best of five, it’s hard to believe. A release cord seems to be one of those things they think we can do without. And for the others here, who really thinks this camera can produce acceptable images at a range of iso’s (clean or not andy). But to spend $450.00 (not 320 andy) I think you get what you pay for. There are no shortcuts. Maybe they’re done extending the compact super zooms for now!

8:43 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#13 andy clad

Hi, for everyone abroad. I was wrong about the price. Amazon have it for £329 pounds sterling. Dont know about the dollar conversion. But thats what we see in good ol Blighty.

8:57 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#14 Mad Hungarian

Nikon became mediocre when it went Made in China.

9:23 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#15 JOE PRETE

Andy,
If you’re planning on a purchase like this, please consider what you’re asking from such a small sensor. There were quite a few people that were evaluating the Nikon 1 system. And although they did prove certain points regarding iso noise and quality, but at what price, and would you be comfortable with a set up like that. They made their point, I was wrong about that. Good quality images were attainable, and recently I noticed price cuts and rebates. (this was done with other brands first) If you’re looking in the Bridge super zoom range, consider the DMC FZ150, HS30 EXR also P500 and similar. I think the effective range had been reached. Also, look where you land price wise! You’re touching SLR range. I really thought Fuji had a winner in the SLR Look-a-like and it was great, but it was like $750.00 US without interchangeable lenses. At $500.00, I admit, I would have liked to play with one. This is an odd situation here, it’s a buyers market, with sellers prices. (this would destroy real estate). Please, remember, haste makes waste! it’s old, but still true. You can have fun w/ bridge cameras, just try to find one in the “happy medium” range and remember, they’ll always be a new model tomorrow, but at some point you have to buy.

9:45 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#16 JOE PRETE

Mad Hungarian,
That’s putting it mildly. I knew it right away with the D800. I’m glad to hear someone else can tell the difference!

2:06 am - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#17 JOE PRETE

#10 Stephanie, your link goes to a coolpix at Amazon. I thought you linked to pix.

2:18 am - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#18 sanraz

good camera

11:05 am - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#19 Jim

Mine arrived today, bought due to my eyes being very impressed by the images in your preview sample shots.
Early days yet but I’ve had no dramas getting good results hand held at maximum zoom, fairly consistently too. It actually has plenty of user settings available and it’ll take me a while to sort out what I like and will use, but I bought it for the great zoom results and it seems to deliver.
Bear in mind I don’t care about high ISO performance, though it isn’t awful there. Nor do I care about about RAW or battery life, RAW is for those who are far better than me and love to do extra work to get the same result, battery life became a non-issue years ago, all cameras do well these days and cheap spare batteries are readily available.

12:34 pm - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#20 xxxx

The P510 is a good camera with very good quality images.
Some of you people are the same ones who were criticising the image quality of the FZ150 when it was reviewed here.  Clearly you have nothing
better to do than pretend to sound knowledgable.

And here we go again.  Yes, 42x is hand-holdable.
Just like 24x, 30x and 35x is.  All those were declared impossible (by the pretend experts) to be hand-held as well.

If you cant hold it steady, then carry a tripod around or stick to less than 10x zoom.
Many of us dont have that problem.  Just because you cant doesnt mean noone else can.

1:22 pm - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#21 Bahlit

its all about perspective.. to me an ecologist, the biggest selling point of the P510 is the GPS and the long zoom features. Image quality is good enough for me.

3:56 pm - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#22 zebarnabe

Quite good image quality for the zoom range and sensor size, I wonder how snappy it is (focus, drive modes, interface, etc).

The ‘bad’ points, IMHO, are the lack of RAW and remote shutter control and the ‘mushiness’ at base ISO, luckily high ISO noise/mushiness is tolerable at ISO 800 (but not that good) thus making it quite nice to use in most of conditions.

The huge zoom requires a tripod if light is not that nice, at most you can get a shutter of 1/250s without getting it all blurry. Not that bad, but take that in mind if you want to catch birds with the sun setting…

6:27 pm - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#23 Paul Edwards

In the end all that matters is: Are the images ok??
A few months ago I saw a photography mag in a Newsagents that had the most amazing macro photos I have ever seen, the mag obviously thought so too because it had this guys images plastered all over its front page and several pages inside too.Very high quality images.

The camera was a very ancient battered first generation Fuji with only 6MP!

See, its the photographer who take the pictures - not the camera…PE

3:21 am - Friday, March 30, 2012

#24 JOE PRETE

Nikon P510 Shooters,
Maybe you should consider a monopod. Carry it like a small nightstick, press the release and you’ve got a 5 foot extension. It’s almost as good as a tripod.

4:17 am - Friday, March 30, 2012

#25 andy clad

For all you guys.

You can now buy this in the UK for £299 pounds.

Thats pounds, NOT dollars (Joe).

9:46 pm - Friday, March 30, 2012

#26 andy clad

Hi Joe,
I’m not interested in a bridge/super zoom camera at the moment. I owned a panasonic FZ18 for many years and the model after that. Many brother still uses it today.
I’ve been using DSLR cameras for many years and love my Pentax K5 and Tamron F2.8.
I think the bridge style of camera is designed to give the keen user an idea and examples of what can be achieved in photography and it certainly got my interest going again after my years with Film and caution at jumping to digital.
With good light and a keen eye, the beginner can produce some really pleasing work. And now with the HD video thrown in being the norm its great.
But when put to the test (difficult lighting etc), that’s when the limitations start to show.
The comment about the skin and colours looking plastic and unnatural can be fixed in many a free photo editor around today (FS viewer is really good). The reviewer usually advises to sharpen images straight of the camera.
If a modern bridge camera gets people interested in photography then great. My old panasonic still meters better than my canon 220HS compact. Not bad for an 8 year old model.

9:51 pm - Friday, March 30, 2012

#27 mihirlakhia

hello,

very good camera, having great zoom and good colour and asy to operate and at very good price. having full HD and can take good images..  ..cool

mihir

5:20 am - Sunday, April 1, 2012

#28 Simon

I think half the problem many have with the images displayed from the Nikon here is due to the fact of its 16mp images- and the resulting 100% crop size.
We’re scrutinising this camera’s images at sizes 99% of us will never print- and I suspect that if this review only enabled image viewing at screen size,we would all be raving about this camera’s IQ.
It won’t have DSLR high iso performance- or it’s AF speed- but given it’s price point,I think it’s a pretty decent all rounder- and I’m sure it will satisfy the needs of most who buy it.

10:13 am - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#29 JimB

Is the longest shutter speed really only 4s? For all of the other features, this seems very poor.

11:03 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#30 Matthew

This is an excellent camera.  I bought it and have been using it for a number of days now.  Yes, at full zoom it helps to have a rest, something to lean against or a tripod, but it isn’t required. My biggest problem with the camera is the battery life.  I easily shoot through the battery in 2~2.5 hrs, which is very annoying.  When I take it on a trip I’ll probably have to have at least 5-6 additional batteries.  At around $7.50 a piece this actually significantly raises the cost of the camera.

Additionally I would have liked to see some way take pictures without actually touching the camera for tripod work. 

Other than that though, this camera is an excellent choice for anyone who wants the ability to take a large range of picture (up close, literally in your face, to very far away, yeah even pics of the craters on the moon…), and is a bit shy about spending 1-2k dollars on their new camera.

6:05 am - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#31 Claire

I’ve had this camera just over a week & I love it.  I’m not looking to be a professional photographer & didn’t want to have to carry all the extra lenses with a DSLR.  The P510 is ideal for those of us that enjoy photography for our own pleasure but want more scope than your average pocket point & shoot. The zoom is fab & I love the effects settings. The only thing I’m struggling with is the macro but thats down to my inexperience not the camera. I’d recommend it!!

10:28 am - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#32 Claire

I’ve had this camera just over a week & I love it.  I don’t want to be a professional photographer & don’t want to carry round the extra lenses with a DSLR. The zoom is fab & I love the effects settings. For those of us interested in photography for our own pleasure that want more control than with a pocket point & shoot it’s ideal. The only thing I’m struggling with is the macro but that’s down to my inexperience & through no fault of the camera. I’d recommend it

10:38 am - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#33 robert

With MPEG4, will the buffer time-out, thus limiting the recording
time?  (I am accustomed to Panasonic Lumix—avchd lite—I can
record a concert in one long continuous clip.)  Thanks.

1:12 am - Friday, April 6, 2012

#34 Matthew

Yes, there’s a maximum of 29 min per movie clip if I remember correctly.  Anyway… it’s approximately that.

2:33 am - Friday, April 6, 2012

#35 Paul

Yes, all cameras fitted with video sold in European market are limited to 29:59 due to crazy regulations. In USA much time as you like!P

3:52 am - Friday, April 6, 2012

#36 Alan

Have just bought one and pleased so far. But why can’t camera manufacturers fit an old-fashioned cable release socket onto any serious camera? For photographing birds it’s essential: few of us can afford a 1000mm lens for an SLR, or indeed have the muscles to lug it around. One can buy a gadget to attach one from srb-griturn.com but it shouldn’t be necessary.

6:05 pm - Friday, April 6, 2012

#37 rainero

customer satisfaction is in the eyes of the camera holder…buy it because you need it and not because you want it…for 400 bucks, what else do you need..you cant have everything at that price…

2:46 am - Sunday, April 8, 2012

#38 steve lynch

this camera is great;;;easy to use even with zoom exteneded;;;great pict;;

10:35 pm - Tuesday, April 10, 2012

#39 ogatodebosta

to: #30 Matthew :

I am considering to buy this Nikon P510, and , like you, I would need 5-6 in a bush trip. The problem is that here in New Zealand the spare batteries (not original Nikon) cost about NZD 60.00 (about US $48.00) each so really expensive! So can you tell me where did you see that batteries by $ 7.50 and what currency is it, please ? Thanks.

10:52 am - Wednesday, April 11, 2012

#40 Jim

To #39 ogatodebosta, I ordered a couple from http://www.tinydeal.com  @ US$5.27 each.
DX also have them.

1:21 pm - Wednesday, April 11, 2012

#41 Paul Edwards

One of the advantages of AAA batteries of course!

This seems like a good camera with the exception of problem with video focus. Does anybody know if there is manual focus in the video mode? This would help at max zoom. PE

2:05 pm - Wednesday, April 11, 2012

#42 Hamid

Have you guys seen the new sony dsc-hx200v, which you you purchase?

i’m torn between the two, originally i was set on this nikon p510 but the video focus issues has me worried.

which would you go for?

i dont mind not having the extra 12x zoom that nikon offers, the extra £100 of the sony is also a factor. but then again it does have a much longer shutter exposure time(30seconds to 8seconds)

4:24 pm - Wednesday, April 11, 2012

#43 Susan Kaut

Thank you, Photography Blog, for the reviews you do. I am an amateur who strives to take professional quality photos. Being in the market for a “bridge” camera to travel with, I did a lot of research before making my purchase. You saved me a lot of headache and anxiety (and a ton of moolah) with you reliable reviews. I LOVE my new Nikon Coolpix P510!  It surpassed my expectations.  The image quality is superior to most superzooms on the market.  I gave it 4.5 stars all the way across the board.  Thank you for being here to provide a service to someone like me who wants to take great and fun photos without spending my life savings.  After all, photography isn’t my only passion.  This camera is fun and will serve me well for a long time.

10:41 pm - Wednesday, April 11, 2012

#44 Matthew

@#39 ogatodebosta: I am buying 4 Nikon-brand batteries off of Ebay for $39.96 US with free shipping and handling.  You can get cheaper ones on ebay, but they are all unbranded or off brand aftermarket batteries.

@#42 Hamid:  I’m loving my P510.  The extra zoom is amazing, but it’s up to you having a 30 second exposure time would also be nice, it depends on what you expect to do with the camera.  My guess is you’ll be happy with either one.

@#43 Susan Kaut: Well said! :)

3:27 am - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#45 ogatodebosta

@ #40 Jim
@ #44 Matthew

Thank you guys by the tips about spare batteries costs. I see that everybody enjoy a lot this talk and it is so nice to have so many good people sharing positive info. Cheers!

10:53 am - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#46 Hamid

does anyone know if amazon have a satisfaction guarantee deal? where i could return it if i didnt like it for what ever reason?

amazon uk that is.

thanks

1:31 pm - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#47 Alan

I just bought my P510 from Amazon and there is a sticker on the box saying that there is currently an extra 12 months guarantee provided you register within 30 days. It is Nikon who have to honour the guarantee surely, not Amazon.
Will keep you all posted about the camera but movies of a great spotted wood-pecker on a feeder look briliant on the 3” screen. (It’s what turns you on!). As to focussing, you need to choose centre-focussing from the menu for such subjects, ot it may focus on the wrong thing.

2:02 pm - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#48 Alan

Forget my last blog. Nikon will no doubt honour the guarantee (for malfunctions etc) and Amazon may take it back if you just don’t like it. But you need to read their return conditions very carefully before ordering

2:06 pm - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#49 Susan Kaut

Dear Hamid:  Your Amazon purchases are guaranteed.  If your purchase is not fulfilled by Amazon directly, be sure to check with the Seller as to what their policy is.  I.E.  Return item to seller for replacement or refund.  Or, send to manufacturer for repair or replacement.  In the case of any Nikon product, a return to seller for replacement or refund is best.  If you need a repair or replacement withing the warranty time, it is best to send it to Nikon for service.  Either way, you a guaranteed satisfaction for your purchase.  I personally feel confident in purchasing through Amazon and have never had any anxiety or grief over transactions.  If you consider Ebay, please be caveat emptor as the square trade deal typically supports the seller over the buyer.  Happy snapping!

4:39 pm - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#50 Jim

Susan Kaut is rather off the mark there. As a seller on both Amazon and eBay, both are set up in favour of the buyer. As a seller we have more hoops to jump through. Check the feedback - but you will never find any negatives against anything “fulfilled by Amazon” as they remove it.

9:55 am - Friday, April 13, 2012

#51 Jim

Jim #50 is right, I don’t sell on ebay but the amount of jumping through hoops involved mean I leave 5 star feedback merely by an item arriving, I’d love to be more honest but it’s somewhat often unfair on the seller.

Anyway to me the P510 is almost an enigma, I bought mine because of the samples I’d seen, when it arrived I was I was happily taken aback by the consistently good full zoom shots, then later rapt with its macro stuff, this is a camera that earns some stripes. Bear in mind I don’t play much or at all with video, and RAW to me is just an extra layer of work for minimum result, it just keeps taking great shots.

3:05 pm - Friday, April 13, 2012

#52 Susan Kaut

Jim: I appreciate your point of view.  I have not sold on Amazon, so was unaware of what sellers go through in order to market their product.  As a buyer, I must say that I do appreciate the sellers on Amazon.  I have never had a problem with any. When I needed to return a defective product, I was given courteous and prompt service.  For these experiences, I was confident in purchasing expensive products, such as the Nikon P510, through Amazon.  Thanks again for bringing this to my attention.

7:19 pm - Friday, April 13, 2012

#53 SUGATO ROY

I HAVE SEEN ALL REVIEWS REGARDING NIKON P510 VS CANON SX40HS VERY CAREFULLY. THOUGH I INTENDED TO PURCHASE NIKON P510 BUT FINALLY I PURCHASED CANON SX40HS. PICTURE QUALITY OF SX40HS IS VERY SHARP AND PRETTY CLEAR. I HOPE AMOUNG THE LATEST BRIDGE CAMERAS, CANON POWER SHOT SX40HS IS THE BEST AND WINNER AS PER MY VIEW.  I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THIS CAMERA. I AM THANKFUL TO CANON FOR THEIR PRETTY PRODUCT SX40HS.  SUGATO ROY / CALCUTTA /INDIA /+919051875688

11:43 am - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#54 Paul Edwards

I had the Canon sx40hs for a short period of time intending to sell my Fujifilm hs10. Unfortunately,after testing the sx40 against the hs10 I found the fuji picture quality far better, color and detail superior. Black taken with the sx40 looked Grey.

The fuji hs10 macro was superior too. 1cm.

I would like to try the P510 though. In the end picture quality is all that matters not the technologies. PE

12:00 pm - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#55 SUGATO ROY

I have seen various reviews regarding Nikon p510 vs Canon sx40hs. Seeing all reviews though I intended to purchase Nikon p510 but finnaly I purchased Canon sx40hs for it’s massive picture sharpness. I am really happy with this product. As per my view sx40hs is the best bridge camera compairing with the latest bridge cameras. I am thankful to Canon for their pretty good product sx40hs. I am also very much thankful to the friends who have given their valuable advises.  SUGATO ROY/CALCUTTA/INDIA/+919051875688

12:12 pm - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#56 JimB

#55 Sugato Roy: But the Canon does not include GPS, so sadly it is not comparable (for me, anyway).  The only other camera that comes close is the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX200V, which is £100 dearer but has a vastly wider ISO range and 30s exposure and manual focus, but “only” 35x.

I’m hoping to hear more from people who have actually bought the Nikon about using it IRL. I haven’t seen any reviews that cover night time exposures, and how you get around the shortness of the longest exposure at 4s.  I’ve looked on Flickr and on the face of it, no one has yet uploaded a picture taken with either camera!

5:37 pm - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#57 Augustin Man

By extending the optical zoom to 42X (actually 180/4.3=41.86) Nikon put to shame the theorists which stated that “all zoom bigger than 24X is useless since you have to get a tripod”. Thus the outstanding feature of this camera is an incredible hand held IQ at its telephoto end and that’s mainly because the IS, optical and not by sensor shift, is outstanding.

More than that, the digital zoom (2X) is better than usual. There is no RAW, but there is a noise control (high, normal, low) and a picture control (standard, vivid,neutral and two custom savings of sharpening, contrast and saturation). There is also a D-lighting (high, normal, low) for contrast correction, which can be activated both on shooting or on playback.

Unfortunately there are also some minor, but rather disturbing drawbacks: for me the main one is an unjustified correlation between the ISO and the minimum shutter speed in the M mode: if you raise the ISO, the maximum time get down and that is more annoying as their Night Landscape setting is very modest, to say the least. Other drawbacks: if you want to use a tripod, you have to select time and again for each shot the self timer to let the vibrations die; in the playback mode there is no way to go from one zoomed in image to the other.

The video mode looses focus on the telephoto end, but there there is also a workaround: start filming at the telephoto end and then go up or down with the zoom without any problem.

I didn’t test the GPS, but read a very good posting with images that showed it was rather slow and inefficient.

It lacks also a filter thread or a horse shoe.

Like every camera of this size, it needs a spare battery and a charger in order to shoot without long imposed pauses.

All in all it is a remarkable superzoom camera, that with minor improvements could be almost perfect.

7:06 pm - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#58 SUGATO ROY

#56 DEAR JIM,  I ADMIT YOUR VIEW REGARDING GPS WHICH CANON HAS NOT INCLUDED. BEFORE TO PURCHASE MY CAMERA I VISITED ATLEAST 9 SHOPS IN MY CITY. I HAVE SEEN DEMO OF NIKON, SONY,FUJI,PANASONIC ETC VERY CAREFULLY. I HAVE ALSO ASKED THE SHOP GUYES REGARDING THE BEST BRIDGE CAMERA TILL THE DATE I PURCHASED IT. MAXIMUM OF THEM RECOMANDED CANON SX40HS RATHAR THAN NIKON P510. DEAR JIM HAVE I DONE WRONG ?                  Sugato Roy / Calcutta / India / +919051875688

7:39 pm - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#59 Susan Kaut

Dear Jim:  I will be going to Victoria, BC in May and plan to take a lot of photos.  Yay!  Foodie and Photo vacation. . .Who could ask for more?  Anyway, back to the subject of night photos with the Nikon P510.  I will have plenty of opps there.  Will make sure I post them for you.  P.S.  Where do I post photos so you can see them?  Yes I am a newbie at this posting thing!  Go figure.  Ah well, just part of the photo adventure.  Looking forward to your reply on this matter

9:37 pm - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#60 MarioV

Hi Susan (comment #59)
Not sure how to post here, but Augustin and I have some P510 images on dpreview in Nikon Talk forum if you’d like to post there too.

1:50 pm - Monday, April 16, 2012

#61 JimB

#58 SUGATO ROY For many, GPS is not important.  I just like to geotag my pictures and do so manually using a little program called geotagger. Apart from my personal preference for GPS, your chose a good camera.
#59 Susan Kaut : Thanks, I look forward to them.  I find Flickr is the one I use most(it now allows full size image uploads, and I get a Pro account included with my broadband from BT here in the UK).  It also lets you search for pictures taken with different cameras, which I have found useful.
500px is growing in popularity, and seems to be aimed at fairly serious photographers.
#60 MarioV : I had not seen that this site photographyblog has a photo gallery into which one can post, though it is very restrictive on what you can put in a free account - a file size of 200Kb is pretty small and no use for comparisons.

10:03 pm - Monday, April 16, 2012

#62 SUGATO ROY

61# DEAR JIM, THANK YOU FOR YOUR COMMENTS.  DEAR JIM, TODAY AT 10.30AM I HAVE TESTED THE EFFECT OF ZOOM OF MY NEW CANON SX40HS CAMERA. I HAVE TAKEN SOME PHOTOS WITH FULLY EXTENDRD ZOOM IN HANDHELD POSITION. I HAVE GOT TERRIFIC RESULT REGARDING MY PICTURES TAKEN. TAKEN PICTURES WITHOUT TRIPOD I HAVE NOT SUFFERED FROM ANY BLUR. PLEASE BELIEVE ME. I GOT SUPARB RESULT. AT THE TIME OF TAKEN PICTURES I USED ONLY EVF, NOT THE LCD. I ALWAYS FOLLOW YOUR ADVISES VERY CAREFULLY. TAKE CARE.                    SUGATO ROY/ CALCUTTA / INDIA /+919051875688

7:23 am - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#63 Ron Gabriel

really nice camera. thanks for the review but i don’t remember seeing a night shot taken by P510. still wondering about the noise at low light situation.

1:35 am - Monday, April 23, 2012

#64 Augustin Man

@Ron Gabriel (#63): Here you find a very good night test:

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1007&message=41306279

and here a test in some “extreme” conditions:

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1007&message=41204627

I hope that will help you.

All the best,

Augustin

3:21 pm - Tuesday, April 24, 2012

#65 Greg

Because the zoom lens does not work when using manual focus, how does one get the camera to focus with the zoom at maximum in low light (ie, the night sky?)

4:13 pm - Wednesday, April 25, 2012

#66 Alan

Well I have used the manual focus at full zoom, though it’s a bit jerky. However you have an infinity setting which should come in handy for celestial bodies. It’s found on the rotary multi-selector along with macro

5:41 pm - Wednesday, April 25, 2012

#67 Greg

Alan:  When you say “full zoom” do you mean full “optical” zoom?  Or “digital” zoom?  I assume you are referring to the optical zoom.  I have tried a number of camera functions for low-light with mixed success.  What I am preparing for is the “full super moon” on May 5.  I am pretty sure that there will be eoungh light from the moon that night to use the full digital zoom and to get it focused.  Thanks,

  - greg

1:33 pm - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#68 Alan

Greg,
I assume you’ll have the camera on a tripod. That means you should turn off the anti-shake. When I used the manual focus I’m pretty sure it was just on optical zoom but to be honest I’ve only just acquired the camera so I’m not 100% sure. But if you almost fill the frame with the moon you’ll find that it’s rapidly on the move and you really need a video tripod head to follow it around. I haven’t tried the infinity setting either, but it seems ideal for the moon. Good luck

3:10 pm - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#69 Sudip Saha

Hi all….I’m still confused about two——Nikon P510 & Cannon SXHS40..:(

I like the picture quality taken by cannon..
Just want to know is the pictures quality of Nikon P510 is that bad?

Which one to buy?

Thanks
Sudip Saha
Bangalore
India

9:18 am - Monday, April 30, 2012

#70 SUGATO ROY

#69 DEAR SUDIP SAHA,  PURCHASE CANON SX40HS.  SUGATO ROY / KOLKATA / INDIA / +919051875688.

1:29 pm - Sunday, May 6, 2012

#71 John Neu

I own theP510 but have not had the opportunity to put it through its’ paces. In my comparison with my Sony Alpha 700
I do prefer the picture quality at comperable mm ranges. That being said, I look forward to using the 510 this summer on my trip to Europe not only for the 1000mm range but certainly for the reduction in weight. Lugging a Alpha 700 around can be a pain.
Thanks for all your posts. and picture samples.
PS. The 1000mm shot of the head of the grey-haired man showing considerable detail of his hair was impressive.

5:54 pm - Monday, May 7, 2012

#72 Ali Tahir

For a relatively novice user this camera rocks! Love taking pictures with it. And I don’t require a tripod while zoomed to the fullest. Fully recommend it to a person who wants lots of features for an affordable price

7:28 am - Wednesday, May 16, 2012

#73 DKB

I bought this camera about a month ago and for my purposes, it’s great. I have a DSLR which I will continue to use for some things, however, for taking pictures of my grandchilrens activities and taking pictures at a distance, it provides very nice images and I don’t need to carry the extra lenses for my DSLR. It is a very nice camera but it isn’t a DSLR and shouldn’t be expected to perform like one. Overall it gives great images, gives the user lots of choices. I like the HDR option and have taken some very nice pictures using it.

2:57 pm - Sunday, May 20, 2012

#74 fred

After a week of shooting the camera broke down

8:43 am - Wednesday, May 23, 2012

#75 Fab

Hi folks,
Can anyone tell me if the “mechanical/optical” stabilizer works in video mode as well? Oddly as it might seem, I will use the camera mostly for video (no camcorder can also produce decent pictures AFAIK, but I’m open to suggestions). My footage is about birds, so I really need a long long lens. Shacky video performance would be a deal breaker.
Here is my current production, using a Panasonic Camcorder.
http://www.youtube.com/user/michiamofab?feature=results_main
tnx.

10:10 am - Wednesday, May 23, 2012

#76 Alan

Dear Fab,
Good to hear from a fellow bird photographer. I started in 1950 with a plate camera! And I agree that birds look best when they are singing and doing things. I have a tiny Panasonic SD70 videocam (78x optical zoom) which produced some good wader shots with good sound from a hide at Minsmere, but only when I put it on a tripod. Now I have bought the Nikon Coolpix P510 whose movie shots are HD, but the camera records the sounds of focussing and zooming unless you set it in Single AF, when it fixes the focus for the whole clip. I greatly doubt that you could get steady hand-held movies at full zooming range. With a good tripod and video head you really have control. Liked your videos - too busy to view them all just now.

9:49 am - Thursday, May 24, 2012

#77 Bill McDonald

I own this camera. Having benign tremor, the anti-
shake feature is a Godsend.

To see it in action, video and stills(of bighorn
sheep)taken hand-held and at max zoom, please check out my blog page:
http://morongobillsbackporch.blogspot.com/2012/05/bighorn-whisperer-redux.html

Bill in Southern California

6:59 am - Sunday, May 27, 2012

#78 riki1

max zoom without a tripod

http://hayabusa.slovakforum.net/t173-topic#1141

8:30 pm - Thursday, May 31, 2012

#79 Augustin Man

@Riki1: Quite impressive! Thank you for sharing!

5:43 am - Friday, June 1, 2012

#80 denise

I have a HUGE issue with this camera… i was so excited to purchase this since my last Nikon L110 which is 15x opt zoom… when i try this one which SHOULD be 42x opt zoom my pics are basically the same is distance… its not what i see on the reviews… IS THIS ONE I GET FAULTY…. cause everyone else boasts on the great zoom .. mine is not so great at all ..... i even took pics with both cameras to see and its almost identical ... what is wrong .... ???

9:14 pm - Saturday, June 2, 2012

#81 riki1

I think 42x zoom is not an absolute zoom factor as on the telescope zoom, but it is from 24mm to 1000mm zoom faktor 1000/24=41.66 zoom. And you must compare the size of details on full-size photos .

10:01 pm - Saturday, June 2, 2012

#82 zebarnabe

420mm vs 1000mm means just 2.34x bigger image, or tighter framing.

11:21 pm - Saturday, June 2, 2012

#83 Mike

Great zoom function. however i would like to get a better manual focus modes on the full hd video part. and a dedicated video and photo mode.

7:05 pm - Sunday, June 3, 2012

#84 riki1

P510 story continues and will continue in the future on the line : (new pictures Sun with spots)

http://hayabusa.slovakforum.net/t173-topic#1144

12:23 pm - Monday, June 4, 2012

#85 ElementElectronics

With so many features it’s hard to sort through them all but you guys make it easy! Thank you!

http://stores.ebay.com/ElementElectronics

This is a great resource for camera accessories & they ship worldwide.

10:24 pm - Monday, June 4, 2012

#86 Pradeep

Its good camera but charging battery with camera is not good. Camera pouch supplied with is not proper.

4:18 am - Tuesday, June 5, 2012

#87 riki1

SOLAR eclipse of VENUS 06.06.2012 with NIKON P510

http://hayabusa.slovakforum.net/t175-topic#1153

7:20 am - Wednesday, June 6, 2012

#88 riki1

... and little video ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ICpQ37vXZ8M

11:14 am - Wednesday, June 6, 2012

#89 Jes

Really Happy with this little camera, Took it for a test on the video part HD 1080p.
Enjoy.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ieeR0AbgSfc

10:36 pm - Thursday, June 7, 2012

#90 Augustin Man

@Jes: Outstanding video sample! Thank you for sharing! Could I forward the link to other people in order to admire a good P510 video?

5:49 am - Friday, June 8, 2012

#91 riki1

JES> ... nice video, I think, you had to cut so much, that it was so nice ...

7:10 am - Friday, June 8, 2012

#92 Jesmond

Hi Augustin Man, Yes you can forward, the 510 should be shared. And Riki1, Yes had to cut quite a lot otherwise youtube takes ages and of corse we loose interest in boring long shots.

8:28 am - Friday, June 8, 2012

#93 Jesmond

The only small thing that annoys me with 510 is that when you zoom in and out as the barell starts to moove there is a slight moovement and causes the camera to loose focus for a sec, even in manual focus mode, When in video mode this will be noticable, Any of you came acros this? I immagine this is due to the maximum lens feature.

8:35 am - Friday, June 8, 2012

#94 Augustin Man

@Jesmond: In still photos I couldn’t remark any focus glitch; of course it isn’t as fast as in professional cameras, but it isn’t very slow either. As for video, when the zoom loses the focus I press AF (selection disk - left, icon on the bottom of the display) and it’s true that there is some delay in refocusing…

I hope your camera doesn’t need to be serviced.

Thank you and happy shooting!

10:12 am - Friday, June 8, 2012

#95 Joe

I have three Nikon DSLRs with 300, 400 and 500mm zoom lenses for bird photography. I like to have a camera with me every time I go out and lugging around a 500mm zoom and heavy DSLR is not ideal so I bought a P510. I was pleasantly surprised. No, it is not as good as a £2500 camera/lens combination but I always believe that the best camera is the one that you have with you! I’m very happy with the P510. It’s not so good for shooting birds in flight due to its slow focusing but I’ve got some really excellent shots of static birds quite a long way off.

2:23 pm - Friday, June 8, 2012

#96 Terry Waxham

I have owned a CoolPix 880 for 12 years and was very happy with short distance photos. I got my Coolpix 510 a week ago. I am not a professional photographer but at 73 years of age I take hundreds of photos. My P510 far exceeds what I was expecting for zoom photos of animals or birds, (my main reason for buying. I get fast shots and am getting used to steadying the camera when zooming full. At $399 I feel I got a great camera at a great price and would encourage nature photographers to try one.It may be slow to focus but my results are fantastic.

5:49 am - Sunday, June 10, 2012

#97 Augustin Man

@Terry Waxham: We are expecting to share your captures! Happy P510 shooting!

7:51 am - Sunday, June 10, 2012

#98 riki1

NIKON COOLPIX P510 , 24 mm WIDE, backlight

http://hayabusa.slovakforum.net/t176-topic#1189

10:21 am - Sunday, June 10, 2012

#99 Jes

The P510 in action again at the my local field

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHSvtvFNcmE

1:21 pm - Sunday, June 10, 2012

#100 riki1

Jes> You know some good free video editing software ?

3:21 pm - Sunday, June 10, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, nikon, super-zoom, coolpix, EVF, 7fps, 42x zoom, p510, Nikon Coolpix P510 Review, coolpix p510, nikon p510

Tracker Pixel for Entry