Nikon Coolpix P520 Review

4.0
April 29, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

219 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Ben

Still no ISO button! WHY NIKON WHY!!!

8:28 pm - Monday, April 29, 2013

#2 Fabio

    The P520 has a ISO button, it’s the multifunction Fn button, you can set it to any setting you want, it has a primary function, like ISO for instance ,and it can be changed immediately to other settings without need to enter the menu of the camera, very handy.

11:51 pm - Monday, April 29, 2013

#3 Jim

Why oh why have they not upgraded the viewfinder? You say “you probably won’t use it very much anyway”, and as it stops me buying the camera, you are correct. I find it is far easier to hold the camera steady, and thus get the shot composed as I want , using a viewfinder. It gives an additional point of stability when shooting, holding it up to your face. It is more likely to give the viewpoint that you see while walking around. With a camera of this weight, it is less tiring to hold.  I tried out the previous P510, and was very impressed by the camera, but that viewfinder, which gives a very poor dot laden image, made it unacceptable.

8:56 am - Wednesday, May 1, 2013

#4 Fabio

  I’m not here to defend Nikon, but I can’t help myself from correcting things that I don’t agree with, like the absence of ISO button, which is not true.
  The EVF is as good as the one in the Sony HX200, just tested them together right now, of course it could be better, but I have absolutely no problems using it, size is ok, refreshing rate is good. The one in Canon SX50 is much worse, for me at least, impossible to work with, and the LCD is small too , only 2.8.
  I’m a professional photographer and I have 9 cameras right now, only one Nikon, the P520 upgraded from the P510. I use large optical viewfinders , large electronic viewfinders and I can compose my pictures perfectly with the P520’s viewfinder , it’s essential while using the extreme zoom of the extraordinary lens, the reason why I have it, because it’s simply much sharper than my 70 300 VR, the digital zoom is something to be seen to believe, pictures taken at 2000 mm are very clear, it doesnt ‘t look digital at all and stabilization is almost perfect, no need to use tripods for sharp images even at low speeds like 1/50 at extreme zoom.
    The LCD is simply the best, and that makes possible another wonderfull use of this camera, macro. Add a Raynox 250 and the wonderfull LCd and light weight makes possible to place the camera inside a bush with just one hand and get an image like this

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/8671134622/in/photostream/lightbox/

  Try to do that with a 5d with 100 macro, impossible, because of weight and the need to use the Viewfinder. Another great thing is that the lens show no CA, and that helps a lot While using the Raynox and in daylight using extreme zoom.
  No hotshoe for flash ? Buy a cheap YN460 and use it as slave, set the camera flash to -2 and place the flash where you want, if you want it by the camera, use a 5 bucks flash bracket and be happy, bounce the flash at will.
  It’s a damm good camera for nature, birds, macro, architeture, portraits , airplanes, creating bokeh is also very easy because the minimum focus distance at max zoom is very short. Low light is not bad too, noise is there but sharpness is there too.
  What this camera is not suited for is action shots, focus is not fast enough to capture a children running around, but those are hard for almost any camera.
  It isn’t really a big improvement on the P510 , but focus is better, the LCD is wonderfull and image quality may be a little better, the Fn button is also very handy and makes ISO adjustments, as well as every other one much easier while using the EVF. 
  One strange thing was the lack of the EVF/LCD button, but after getting used to it, it’s far less annoying closing the LCD or opening it than trying to find those small buttons, it’s more intuitive and much easier for the general public, but the button could be there too.
    I can test almost any camera I want due to my connections with camera shops, if I like it I keep it and the P520 is in my camera bag all the time.

 

12:41 pm - Wednesday, May 1, 2013

#5 Jim

@Fabio: hang on just a second. I see you took those photos 11 days before the camera was announced by Nikon. Please explain.

7:16 am - Thursday, May 2, 2013

#6 Fabio

  Well Jim, that’s simple, I have a Delorean and travel back in time .
  That would be great but the real answer is that I did not set the date and location in the configuration when I bought the camera, the default date is probably 1/12013, took some real nice shots with it yesterday and the exif shows they were taken in 1/28/2013.

10:20 am - Thursday, May 2, 2013

#7 Jim

@Fabio : thanks for the clarification - I’d just been watching Dr Who on TV so thought you might have been a time lord!

8:43 pm - Thursday, May 2, 2013

#8 kelly

Hi Jim - how would you compare Nikon P520 to Canon SX50? Which one do you prefer?

6:29 am - Friday, May 3, 2013

#9 aperture

it this good for a newbie in photography? -Julie

2:10 am - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#10 Fabio

  To Julie
    Bridge cameras can deliver great results but they are not easy to use, it’s much easier to get good results with an entry level DSLR or a micro 4/3 .
    A Bridge like the Nikon P520 demands a good understanding in order to know how to get the image you want , because of the limitations of the small sensor and slow operation. How to avoid noise in low light pictures? How to get a good focus with moving subjects? These are complex things to deal with a bridge camera. White balance adjustments, EV, flash, everything works better and easier in a DSLR or micro 4/3 . The big adavantage is the zoom, and that’s why I have them, and that makes macro excellent too if you add a Raynox.
    If you want a camera for movies too a micro 4/3 is the best option, focus is perfect and if you choose Panasonic you will get a touching screen and you can set the focus point simply touching the image.
    I strongly suggest a micro 4/3 camera with EVF, there are models that cost about the same as a bridge and you can add a zoom lens that reachs 400 mm for about 250 dollars or even a bridge to get that extra zoom, size of a micro 4/3 is even smaller than a bridge camera and that’s a big plus.
      Don’t be afraid to move to a more “professional” equipment, they will make learning photography much easier and more enjoyable, later you can buy a bridge and make good use of it too.

3:16 am - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#11 srbppo

I want to know, what is slowest shutter speed possible on this camera? I can’t find it anywhere.

4:54 pm - Friday, May 17, 2013

#12 terri

I used my zoom on auto and programmed auto broad daylight with and with out a tripod, I also used these settings for close up, when I put them on computer screen and enlarge thay are always grainy, not sharp lines…is it m or the computer or the camera?

8:31 pm - Tuesday, May 21, 2013

#13 Fabio

The slowest possible shutter speed is 8 seconds at ISO 80 , it decreases with the increase of ISO, at ISO 800 it is 2 seconds.
  To Terri
    Very difficult to understand the problem , but my first guess is resolution, check what’s the resolution of the images in the camera menu, use image quality FINE and Image size 18 M. it also may depend of how much you’re enlarging the images.
  Please check my Flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/

  You will find many images of a great variety of subjects, the original size is available, please look at them the same way you are looking at your own images , and tell me if the problem is in my pictures too.
  My other suggestion is to shoot in P mode and set ISO to 80, set noise reduction filter to high and see the differnce in the images.
 

12:43 am - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#14 sasan

ah man I think it’s my dirty chance :(
I try to download sample video but error 404 doesn’t let! pls help me

5:39 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#15 asdf

I’m something like an amateur photographer. Will this camera be good for me? My knowledge about photography is good. I shoot a lot of macro, and I sometimes need zoom. I don’t like DSLR, they are too heavy, and all those parts and stuff I need to carry around (lenses). I personally like this camera, but people, please tell me, should I buy this THING?

6:02 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#16 littlebelle

I just bought this camera. I was nervous after I starting to read the reviews. I have only taken a few pictures. I am extremely happy with the picture quality and low light pictures I take inside my house. For the first time I am getting great pictures of my animals without having to use a flash. First camera ever. I love the pet selection as an option for taking pics. It takes a picture when the animal is looking at the camera. Though I did find it was a little slow and many time the animal had moved it head. They do that when I want to take their picture. The pictures turn out really nice. I have not learned to use all the buttons but the auto focus works great.

5:25 am - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#17 sasan

Is there anybody to answer me ?!
I have problem to download sample videos on this website.If anybody knows my proble please help me
thanks:)

6:39 am - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#18 gautam lakra

Hi Fabio,

What do you suggest for me Nikon P 520 or Canon SX 50 HS. I am a paraplegic and I would like to take up this as a hobby , and would like to take pictures from a moving car too , not too many at night.

2:21 pm - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#19 Fabio

  To asdf, sasan and Gautam

    Asdf, if you like macro an outstanding camera is the Sony HX20/30 , very easy to get wonderfull macros, if you want to get real close the P520 with a Raynox 250 is very good, check my Flickr and see if that’s the quality you want, the lonk is in comment #13
    Sasan
  I can’t help you with that, but check youtube,  you will find some video tests
  Gautam
  What a wonderfull hobby is photography. You can practice it everywhere. I’m not sure if this is the best camera for you, as you can see I like it very much but I also carry with me other 2 cameras all the time for those situations when I need something faster, when I need to raise ISO, for videos, also a compact when I need discretion.
    Both cameras , Canon and Nikon are not very fast in focusing, i hate the small and low resolution in Canon but I love the high resolution and enormous LCD of the Nikon, it’s a pleasure to look at it, nikon lens is outstanding for sharpness, stabilization and absence of chromatic aberrations, Canon is longer in zoom but no t much and suffers with purple fringing.
    Canon is faster overall and Nikon can be very annoying how slow it gets sometimes, I sad that before, Nikon is a sniper rifle, not a machine gun, slow but very accurate, if you take your time and try to compose your image the best you can, results are great. Low light is very good in both for small sensor cameras.
    Digital zoom is excelent in Nikon, very sharp at 2000 mm, check my Flickr, so, the difference in zoom range is not important.
    They are very good cameras , for me, I trade some speed for a much better LCD, but I suggest you to go to a store and feel both in your hands, look at the LCD and EVF and feel wich one gives you more pleasure to use.
  Good luck !

3:28 pm - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#20 mario

hi out there !  i just purchased the nikon p520 and am trying to get familiar with it , there are least 2 things that bug me about it .
#1.  is the battery rechargeing system , this is the dummest way to recharge a battery , by rechargeing you end up not being able to use the camera if you have another replacement battery that you want to charge up .
#2.  when shooting videos and you use the focus in or out feature it records a motor noise on the video , which is super annoying , almost as bad as the battery rechargeing system .
does anybody out there have any suggestions ?

3:35 am - Friday, May 24, 2013

#21 mario

as i just purchased the nikon p520 ,i have recorded some video with this camera useing the full 1080 hd mode , the picture is not bad but not as good as i thought it should be , it lacks sharpness and it sems a bit fuzzy .  i recorded in fine daylight conditions with the sun at my back .
am i doing something wrong ?

3:52 am - Friday, May 24, 2013

#22 sasan

thanks Mr Fabio You are a nice guy only you answer me

It’s a good idea to using youtube but problem is youtube many years ago till now is Not available in my country & I had to use same sites like this to download sample videos
It’s really difficult to living in a (headsman country) Our access to internet is very Limited
and soon will go to be closed:((
but you Be appreciative Because you living in a free country and not Prisoner Citizen like us
It’s GOD blessing for you
Bye world

11:10 am - Friday, May 24, 2013

#23 asdf

Me again. Can you use camera while it’s charging?

11:44 am - Friday, May 24, 2013

#24 mario

hello again !  regarding the nikon p520 i just purchased , i have taken some pictures with it and i hooked it up to my computer to download or transfer the pictures , nothing happens !  i followed the manual instructions but i cannot seem to be able to transfer the images .
can anyone help ?

2:26 am - Saturday, May 25, 2013

#25 Diane

Hi I have a Nikon P100 I am wanting to upgrade, I want a camera that when I take a moving shot it does not come out blurred. Is the P520 the right camera for this?

3:44 am - Sunday, May 26, 2013

#26 Shubham Singhal

Please give your preference between Nikon Coolpix P520 and Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300. I am looking for better picture quality as top factor for consideration. What would a professional photographer would like to buy out of these two?

8:48 am - Tuesday, June 4, 2013

#27 Fabio

    To Shubham
 
  Nikon P520 got the TIPA award for best bridge camera of 2013 , since the voters are photo magazines , sites and blogs, that’s a Professional opinion.
    I’m also a professional photographer that keeps a Nikon P520 in my camera bag because of image quality at long zooms, it’s hard to beat the sharpness of the lens, but the camera has a lot of issues, mainly the focus, movies are great if you don’t use the zoom, because it looses focus briefly, and sometimes it takes some time to lock focus on distant subjects,, but when it gets it it’s perfect.
  Sony is a much faster camera , movies are excellent, focus fast and perfect, special effects are better like the many HDR modes, it’s a camera that I would recommend for the general public and I also keep one Sony camera (HX30V) for movies , macro, and HDR in my camera bag, but image quality is really outstanding in the Nikon, as long as you know how to get the most of it.

1:09 pm - Tuesday, June 4, 2013

#28 Gaurav Pareek

I am from India, soon i will be buying a bridge camera, it would be my first ever camera, i am confused among the following three cameras,specially Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR has many mixed reviews, please guide me. Here are my three choices-
1. Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR
2. Nikon Coolpix P520
3. Sony HX300
I am open to other choices as well.

3:03 am - Wednesday, June 5, 2013

#29 Shubham Singhal

Thanks Fabio for your opinion :)

3:43 am - Wednesday, June 5, 2013

#30 Jen

I have a trip to Grand Canyon in planning and I want to get a better camera then a point & shoot. I was already to get a Nikon 3200 and the weight of it stopped me. Lot to carry around. I have carpal tunnel issues from work. I thought when looking at cameras that the Coolpix P520 might be a better choice. I am concerned it wont be fast enough for pictures from a vehicle after reading reviews. I want a panorama mode, clear pics and video possible and something that is easy to use.
Any suggestions for me Fabio?

2:38 pm - Wednesday, June 5, 2013

#31 Sharon W

I am thinking of buying this camera but want to know what it’s like with action shots.  Does the action shot mode (sports mode / kids and pets whatever they call it) deal with fast moving objects well?  I bought a Fuji SL300 6 months ago and it’s rubbish for action shots. Every one is blurry. I have a Canon G12 which takes very sharp action shots but I want something with a better zoom.

8:27 pm - Wednesday, June 5, 2013

#32 Fabio

To Jen
  The P520 is very light and very confortable to use, I don’ t think that you will have any problem with it because you will have plenty of light , it’s a camera that I would take to a trip to Grand Canyon, but I would also take a micro 4/3 , they are also very light and have the same qualty of an entry level DSLR.
  If you can take only one camera, a micro 4/3 with the kit lens and the cheap 45-200 mm lens may be a better choice, you wanted a Nikon D3200 and the quality will be the same but with much less weight and size, you won’t get the same sharpness and quality of the P520 at long zooms, but the micro 4/3 is much faster , movies are better and high ISO performance is much superior.

4:07 am - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#33 Macy

I will be going to Africa in September and wanting to upgrade my Cannon Digital Camera. I am by no means a professional at photographing. I take ok photos, but with some training, I could improve! Is this the camera for me?

8:28 pm - Saturday, June 8, 2013

#34 John C Van Nuys

I have been very happy for several years now with my P90, but want to upgrade to the P520, which I have not yet purchased.

Regarding battery charging, it seems to me that the same battery is used in both models.  If that is so, then I can use the P90 battery charger I have to keep 3-4 spare batteries charged and then simply pop them into the P520 when a current battery therein is exhausted, thus eliminating the need to tie up the camera to recharge the batteries.  Am I correct in this assumption? 

I am a frequent international traveler and need to change batteries oftentimes in the space of one day out in the boonies.

THANKS for the guidance.

3:36 am - Friday, June 14, 2013

#35 vibin

which is best to buy nikon p520 or sony hx200v?these are the two cameras that i have narrowed down to buy…....

10:01 am - Sunday, June 16, 2013

#36 vibin

which is the best buy Nikon p520 or Sony hx200v?

10:03 am - Sunday, June 16, 2013

#37 vibin

which is better buy nikon p520 or sony hx200v?

11:52 am - Sunday, June 16, 2013

#38 Obie

I’m trying to buy a camera for a beginner/enthusiast for her photography trip with national geography to Italy. Between p520 and D3100, I’m leaning toward the dslr D3100 what do you think?

9:28 pm - Sunday, June 16, 2013

#39 brad

ive owned the p520 for 4 weeks now and im very impressed with quality and the zoom.. i read this reveiw and it stated the battery life was only 200 shots so i brought a spare battery when i purchased the camera… well im snaping 400-500 shots a session and not even putting a dent in the batterys life acording to the battery life display…

2:15 pm - Friday, June 21, 2013

#40 Mark

But Nikon is sneezes! Only DSLR

8:12 am - Saturday, June 22, 2013

#41 Pat

Is it possible to install filters to this camera
I see what looks to be threads on the soom

1:52 am - Sunday, June 23, 2013

#42 Fabio

  To Pat
  What you see are not threads , they hold the lens cap only, if you want to use a filter or a Raynox , a filter adapter is necessary, I couldn’t find one so I made one myself, it holds a 58 mm filter and works quite well

6:36 am - Sunday, June 23, 2013

#43 Lee

Fabio,
I currently own a Nikon D80 w/300mm optional lens. I am disappointed in the limited ability to photograph wildlife,etc. and the bulkiness of carrying the camera and extra lenses conveniently. I am really interested in the zoom capability of the 520 for wildlife shots in particular (a friend has a 510 and a recent outing made me more depressed as I couldn’t get anywhere near the bird shots he was getting). The compact size of the 520 also appeals to me along with the HD video and HDR photo options. I am wondering if you feel the lack of RAW capability is a significant factor in choosing the 520.  I am an amateur photographer and want to do some good size (wall-art sized) enlargements at some point as well. Will the 520 do the job adequately, and to what size enlargements do you think it would be capable of handling? Thanks !

6:32 pm - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#44 Fabio

  Hi Lee
  I always had the same problem, the cheaper DSLR teles are soft and 300 mm or 450 mm equivalent is not enough, besides that the size and weight of a 70 300 VR is not something that I like.
  I decided to try bridge cameras as a alternative to a tele and also for movies, they are much smaller than a 70-300 . I had cameras from Fuji , Canon, Panasonic and Nikon, the first one to really impress me was the Nikon P510, it’s not just an alternative, it’s much better, it’s very, very sharp.
  Of course it must be used with plenty of light, but even with a DSLR and a tele you need good light, so that’s not a problem. The P520 is about the same camera with better focus and better LCD.
  Why don’t you download a image from Flickr in full resolution and make a print the size you want? You may use one of my images , just let me know the results.

1:10 am - Thursday, June 27, 2013

#45 Lula

I have the P520 and want to know if there is a wifi card available or just the wifi adapter?  It seems like it would be easier to handle the camera if it were a memory card, inside the camera, instead of sticking out the side of the camera…

1:07 am - Friday, July 5, 2013

#46 Paulo Mauricio

Ola Fabio, belas fotos! Voce ja testou a Sony DSC-HX300? Vi algumas fotos no flickr e fiquei impressionado com a qualidade delas! Para um usuario comum, que gosta de tirar fotos noturnas e esportivas (futebol e F1), qual a melhor: P520 ou HX300? Valeu pela ajuda!

Hi Fabio, nice pics! Have u tested the Sony DSC-HX300? Saw some pics (flickr) and they was very impressive! For a non-professional user (who likes to take some photos of sports and night scenes), which camera is the best one: P520 or HX300?

Tx, see u!

3:55 am - Monday, July 8, 2013

#47 Fabio

  I just posted a rather long comment about them , but something happened , I will make it short them. Better image quality Nikon , faster operation Sony.
  Night shots and sports? Get a micro 4/3 like a Panasonic G3 or G5 and a 45-200 mm , it’s equivalent to a 90-400 mm and the Panasonic has a teleconverter (not digital zoom) inside the camera that doubles the zoom , it’s much faster, EVF is much better, high ISO is much better, but I must say that the Nikon P520 lens is very sharp, much sharper than any non professional lens for DSLRs.
    Bridge cameras need a lot of light to perform well , action and low light shots are not what they are made for.
    Boa sorte!

12:55 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#48 Sundar

Hi Fabio

Thanks for taking time to respond to all the questions. Your Flickr Pics are awesome!

I have a question. In your response to Pat, you’d mentioned that Raynox can’t go on P520 directly? Can you please recommend an adapter (since you made one for yourself, poor souls like us need some help on this). I have a Nikon 5100 with 18-55 and 55-300 VR lenses - but I’m getting tired of having to switch the lens frequently while traveling - the limitations of wide angel on a 55-300 or a zoom on a 18-55 kill me every time I travel (but I love the pic quality of 55-300 VR). I’m considering buying P520; and am keen in Raynox as well. I’m assuming Raynox can go on the 55-300 without issues. I’m looking for your inputs on how to put it on P520. Thanks.

7:49 pm - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#49 Fabio

  Hi Sundar
  You already have an excellent camera, the Nikon P520 will be a very good complement to it. I have a 70 300 VR and the P520 is sharper, in good light and if you can deal with the slower opertional speed , there will be no reason to use the DSLR, of course in low light the 5100 will perform much better.
  The Raynox 250 is one of the best investments in photography equipment, cheap , small and very, very good.
  You can use the Raynox with any lens, but it will perform better with long zooms, the problem is that you will have a very shallow DOF at 300 mm with the 5100 , that’s where a small sensor is better, you can use more zoom with the P520 with a wider aperture to keep the background clear and get greater DOF.
    The Raynox adapter will fit in front of the P520 lens but it may pop out, it most certainly will , the spring loaded adapter fits the threads of a lens or filter.  A filter adapter isn’t easy to be made, there’s one on ebay but it prevents the lens to fully retract, that may damage the mechanism. 
    My adapter is made of a soft plastic to prevent scratching the lens body , the diameter must be the closest possible to the lens diameter , so a 58 mm filter is the smallest possible, that’s important to prevent the flash light to be blocked by the filter. Another difficult in making the adapter is that in order to prevent vignetting there’s no room for a thread, even if there was room for it the material is too soft for a thread, so , the filter simply snaps on the adapter, but it stays firm and it’s easy to remove.  A machinist made it for me, if you need one in the future I can ask him to make one for you.

1:47 am - Wednesday, July 10, 2013

#50 Ozy

Hi.  I have just bought a P520 on a weeks approval and have to say it does take some fabulous pin sharp pictures. However, I am having a problem with focus when I use the zoom to close in on things which are not really very far away from me. For instance - a flower head in my garden - I’m standing about 4 ft away.  I try to zoom in to get it to fit the screen but the camera will not focus on either auto focus or macro setting.  I’m using either P or Full auto mode. I can get the shot by reducing the zoom and getting close or by backing off and increasing the zoom but there seems to be a margin of some where between 3-6ft where the shot does not work.  Annoyingly sometimes I watch the camera attempt to focus and see it get it right and then it snaps to a blur at the last moment.  The same thing is happening as I try it now indoors in low light with focus assist. Is anyone else having this problem? What am I doing wrong?

10:38 pm - Wednesday, July 10, 2013

#51 Dana M

Hi Fabio, I’ve played with the Nikon p520 in-store and I liked it very much. I’m considering returning my Canon Powershot SX500 IS for this Nikon. I’m going abroad and exploring Ireland/England so I wanted something with decent zoom, decent pictures without flash, something which doesn’t take too long, and decent battery life. The Canon takes a while to process a picture and without flash, the picture isn’t that great.

I’ve studied film so I’m familar with white balance, manual focus, exposure, and so on. Would you reccomend the p520? What about the Canon SX50 HS?

Thanks so much!

5:45 am - Friday, July 12, 2013

#52 Sundar

Fabio

Thank you for taking time to respond to my question. Appreciate it.

regards

4:21 pm - Friday, July 12, 2013

#53 Yoni

Hi

I want to buy my first camera for nature photography.
I compared few brands: Nikon P520,L820 Canon SX500 IS and Panasonic FZ48,FZ62.

Which model will give the best price performance.

Yoni

10:33 am - Sunday, July 14, 2013

#54 Cindy

I have been looking at the Nikon Coolpix P510 and P520.  I love photography and am quite good at it, although I don’t want to “putz” to get good photos.  I like a good, sharp picture and a great zoom.  The zoom is what attracts me most about this camera.  Are there others with a great zoom that I should be looking at.  This will be my first non-100% amateur camera.

10:10 pm - Tuesday, July 16, 2013

#55 Ozy

Hi. I took the Nikon P520 back. 

Although I loved the superzoom and the picture quality, I decided I couldn’t do without the mid-range zoom and the irritation of watching the focus snap away from a perfect shot in the last split second.

The chap at the camera shop said that this is a feature of superzooms though. I think it goes something like this - when you try to focus on something close using the zoom the programming gets confused over the actual distance and tries to use macro mode.  As a result it focuses in front of the object and you end up with a blur.

Does that sound right?  I may not have put that well, or even fully understood what I was being told, but it kind of makes sense and he did lose a sale because of it so maybe it wasn’t just flannel.  It’s certainly something to consider when looking for an all-round camera.

So it’s back to my Panasonic FZ48 for a while at least. It lacks the extreme zoom of the Nikon P520 and the pictures may not be quite so pin sharp but at least it does focus in mid-range zooms and I get a shot the P520 would miss. 

I’m now considering the Panasonic FZ200 which has the same spec as the FZ48 but a different sensor and lens and so may be sharper - but I’m going to wait a while to see what else comes out over the summer first.

7:54 pm - Wednesday, July 17, 2013

#56 sydney kiwi

I have recently bought the 520, I must say im disappointed with the overall picture quality. they look a little over exposed and a little washed out. ive played with the iso settings etc.. left it on auto settings etc the results differ slightly but when I compare it to my Sony NEX 5N and 5R there is a massive difference in depth and colour… whilst im sure they are chalk and cheese, but for the price point which is similar I was expecting a better result.. I do give it a 9/10 for design/style/ease of use and zoom and for a point and shoot its ok.. and acceptable, but not worth the money in my opinion I think there are others that will produce better pics for $100.00 cheaper. Just as well the wife wanted this, and I will stick to my Sony NEX..

5:23 am - Friday, July 19, 2013

#57 Andrés

I bought this camera and I’m having an issue. When I turn on the GPS and then turn off the camera, it takes a while for it to turn on again. I sometimes have to remove the battery and press the power button repeatedly until it’s on, is it normal?

5:50 am - Sunday, July 21, 2013

#58 Cindy

I am very grateful for your answers everyone.  My niece has the Nikon P510 and I had a chance to play with it significantly.  I realize this is not the P520, but it also make me realize it is not what I want.  So….I have a new question.  I am looking for a bridge camera that has a significant zoom, wide angle lens and takes great photos.  I also want good low-light photos.  Any suggestions?  Thanks.

3:53 pm - Sunday, July 21, 2013

#59 sydney kiwi

Hi Cindy, I have now had this camera (520)for a week and gave it another go on the weekend after being skeptical on it image quality, I compared it to my SONY NEX 5r side by side and my final opinion is the 520 is rubbish in comparison. Too slow to focus, images washed out lacking depth and colour, wireless feature a waste of time (for all cameras) so its no better than a $200.00rrp point and shoot, buy a Sony NEX series or Sony HX300 which is my next purchase.

8:58 am - Monday, July 22, 2013

#60 sydney kiwi

hi Andreas i havent played with this feature sorry, and im selling mine this week. I believe the SONY HX300 is a much better proposition.

9:03 am - Monday, July 22, 2013

#61 Fabio

  Well, I have both cameras , the P520 and the Sony HX300, I like Sony a lot but this year they really pushed the limits of the sensor, the HX200 is better than the HX300, I have the HX200 too.
  HX300 is faster, has better videos but image quality is much inferior if compared to the P520, the problem with the P520 is that it’s slower in overall performance but the image quality is so good that I always go for it even though I have other cameras with bigger sensors, the combination of lens sharpness , sensor and stabilization is excellent.
  To compare it with a NEX doesn’t make sense, they complement each other, I always carry a big sensor camera and the P520, because both have strong points, take a look of these pictures that I took yesterday during a bike ride, none would be possible with a NEX

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/9340416616/in/photostream/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/9337732353/in/photostream/

    I believe that this one could have been better with a NEX, but it’s not bad at all , the P520 is quite good in low light even handheld

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/9337921131/in/photostream/

    Digital zoom of the P520 is better than the optical of the HX300 , so the small difference in zoom isn’t important, I took hundreds of pictures with the HX300 and I uploaded just one in my Flickr, they werent up to my standards, I have also the Sony HX30 that has the HX200 sensor and it’s very good, I was thinking about buying the new HX50 (same sensor HX300) but after buying the HX300 I will keep the HX30.

1:16 am - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#62 sydney kiwi

Hi Fabio, wow those pics are pretty amazing I must say, so clearly im doing something wrong for the results im getting, can you advise me on some of your settings you remember using for some of those shots. so I can at least have a go at getting the most out of the nikon. thanks

4:26 am - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#63 Fabio

  Hi Sydney Kiwi
    The nikon P520 is highly customizable, in picture control you can set image sharpening , contrast and saturation for each of the 4 modes, I always set sharpening to the max . The monochrome has 4 filters, Y O R G, amazing !
  . Always use P mode and try to keep ISO under 200 but for low light 400 and even 800 are ok, stabilization is so good that I try to use the lowest possible ISO even at night , if shutter speed is above 1/5 I know I can get a sharp shot even handheld.
    I had once a Nikon P510 and a Panasonic LX7, believe it ir not the Nikon takes better low light shots, of course at a slower speed, sold the LX7, kept the Nikon.
    I also use a Raynox 250 for macro shots, excellent with the Nikon, not so good with Sony, the macro adapters tends to increase chromatic aberrations, but since that’s something almost nonexistent with the Nikon’s lens that’s not a problem too .
    Flash is another area where the Nikon is much superior, as well as the LCD, very important for manual focusing in macros.
    Movies are very good in Nikon , if you avoid zooming, that’s weird but Nikon has another feature that I like a lot, you can pause the movie , zoom in or out and continue the movie in the same file, that makes movies less amateur , manual focus is also very nice, but I also carry a Sony HX30 for movies too.
    The Nikon has a lot of annoying problems, there’s a noticeable delay, focus is sometimes slow, processing times in the excellent night landscape takes many seconds, but with all those problems it rewards my patience with jewels like this

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/8712382526/
 
    I think that it’s so easy for Nikon to turn this camera into a superb photo equipment, just do what all other maker do with their cameras, a decent operational speed, a better viewfinder is also welcome. Meanwhile other camera makers would love to have the combination of Nikon’s lens and sensor, it’s no wonder for me why the Nikon P520 got the TIPA award for best 2013 bridge.
   
   

11:27 am - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#64 asdf

Hey guys, I once asked but no one answered, so I’ll ask again. Are you able to use camera while it’s charging?

2:53 pm - Wednesday, July 24, 2013

#65 Sarasotan

The camera will not turn on while it’s charging.

2:56 am - Friday, July 26, 2013

#66 Sarasotan

Do any P520 owners have an issue with the camera not turning on?  It happens rarely, but it shouldn’t happen at all.  I thought that it might be only my camera, but last week I met a guy who has a P520 and he experiences the same problem.  If I pop the battery out and then put it back, the camera does turn on.  Thanks for any replies.

3:00 am - Friday, July 26, 2013

#67 THE ANCIENT MATELOT

I have just bought this camera.  I wanted a camera for when I was walking/hill walking or when at events with the Samba band I play in and a DSLR would be too bulky.  I would have preferred one with RAW, but in the end the fact this had a GPS swung it for me (and Fabio’s comments above).  I am not disappointed.

Re Sarasotan’s comment.  This happened to me today, but I think that it was only when I tried to re-turn the camera on again after just turning it off.  However, I will keep my eye on it as it shouldn’t happen and will return the camera if it happens too often.

8:45 pm - Sunday, July 28, 2013

#68 lisa

Does anyone know how to turn off the image preview when using the continuous shooting mode?  It’s hard to take action shots when the view finder defaults to the images and you can’t track the subject.  I have set the Image Review to OFF (Tools->Monitor settings)but that only seems to be working on the single shot mode.
I got the camera as a gift and so far have been really happy with the results.  I retired my Nikon Fe-2 10 years ago and this has been a great camera to ease back into the photography.
thanks!

2:30 am - Monday, July 29, 2013

#69 Rachel

Hi there - I am about to purchase the Nikon coolpix 520 for $479 NZ or the Canon EOS M for $799 NZ.  Which would you recommend?  I am not a photographer but wishing to use for general use and starting off my photography hobby

4:37 am - Saturday, August 3, 2013

#70 Fabio

  Hi Rachel
  Very difficult to choose between them, they complement each other and that ‘s why I have both cameras !
  The Canon EOS M is a jewel , very well made, easy to use and get professional level photos,  mine has the tiny 22 mm 2.0 pancake lens , very compact and the new firmware solved all the focus issues, one thing that Nikon could do too. It’s my camera of choice for low light and family photos. I also have the little 90 flash because the camera has no built in flash and price now makes it a bargain , another plus is that it can take all Canon lenses with an adapter.
  The Nikon P520 is an extraordinary camera but like any small sensor camera it can’t take good low light , high ISO (above 800 )  , moving subject photos. It can take very sharp and detailed photos of people , that shows all the details of skin but you need to use the excellent flash and people hate flashes, the delay and slow focus also make it not suited for children that won’t stay still.
  It ‘s also much easier to get good phots with a bigger sensor camera, in order to get the same with a P520 a good knowledge of photography is recommended, the Auto modes of a DSLR, micro 4/3 or the Canon EOS M takes good photos all the time but you are limited by the lenses, size and weight.
    Movies are also better with the Canon, where you can get professional level settings and focus is better.
    Having both cameras make a very complete , compact and light photo equipment, add a Raynox 250 and you will cover almost anyhthing from super macro to nature, people, low light , parties ...
    The EOS M price is now about the same as P520, check on line .
   

10:50 am - Saturday, August 3, 2013

#71 sydney kiwi

Hi Rachel,thanks for your query, The canon would be my choice out of those 2. however you should seriously look at the Sony NEX 5R which would be my first choice. I sold my 520 as it was too slow and i found that frustrating, I believe the next gen model might be a serious contender but for now not so much.(I own the NEX5) its a great size and weight (smaller than these 2)and if you dont mind changing lenses occasionally it will suit you well. its very fast (focusing and imaging) the user interface is class leading (my wife loves it too) I would also invest in the SIGMA EX DN 30 Lens, as a great all rounder for the Sony. the images are stunning that it produces. With all due respect to the other people reviewing, not everyone can afford or manage to carry 4 different cameras for every scenario imaginable to man, this is why I believe the Sony is great as an all rounder also the night shots are also exceptional. the Sony should be in a similar price point on Ebay if you order it from the HongKong sellers,But you wont be disappointed on the Canon if you have your heart set on that.

11:55 am - Saturday, August 3, 2013

#72 Fabio

    I gave up using DSLR cameras because I had to carry at least 3 lenses all the time and I always missed shots because I had the wrong lens, that’s when I started to use bridge cameras as an alternative to a big. , expensive , heavy zoom lens.
    Then I realized that it was a better idea to have different cameras instead of carrying different lenses for every situation,.
    Sydney suggested a Sony Nex 5R and a Sigma 30 2.8 , well they both will cost US$ 800,00 at a famous New York store that ships worldwide, the same U$800,00 will buy a Nikon P520 and a Canon EOS M with a wider and brigher 22 2.8 pancake and flash.This set will cover almost all your needs at the same price and those are 2 cameras, that 2 people can use at the same time with double shooting capacity , 2 batteries, ready to use at any time, no need to change anything .
  I also have a Panasonic G3 , another wonderfull camera,  I was going to buy a bright pancake lens for it when I realized that th price of the lens was about the same as the Canon EOS M with an equivalent lens, so I chose a brand new camera.
  I don’t have much money to spend on photography so I have to think a lot before buiyng,people think I ’ m crazy to have several cameras but they cost me much less than having a bunch of lenses ,  carrying 2 or 3 cameras can be cheaper, lighter and more compact than carrying one camera and several lenses.
  It’s a different aproach and since no camera is perfect I try to cover all possibilities spending as little money as possible, if I find something better I sell the previous camera .
  One thing I know for shure , the Nikon P520 is the best bridge I’ve ever had, it’s slow and annoying sometimes but every other camera I had also had problems and for most of my photo needs it’s very good.

1:22 pm - Saturday, August 3, 2013

#73 sydney kiwi

Hi Fabio, yes i think you are mad carrying 3 different cameras to save carrying lenses. that means 3 different batteries, 3 different chargers, a large bag to carry all the crap and then deciding which camera to shoot with. It seems to me you have over complicated your life rather than simplifying it. and then to pull out the 520 and wait for it to focus and sort it self out.. dont see any benefit there.. it seems to me you also havent used the NEX series cameras.. so I suggest you grab one and run around with it for a day and you wont be lugging all that crap around and wondering what camera to use. also if you had a good lens like the sigma, it would cut down your need to change lenses by 80% as well. try it, you will be a convert like I was. also the shots from the Sony were much better out of the box than what i could get with the Nikon waiting for the bloody thing to decide what it was focusing on. sorry im not sold.
Given the technology and options available to us these days i think Nikon dropped the ball on this model. If you want speed, quality images and ease of use the Sony trumps all of these.

1:44 pm - Saturday, August 3, 2013

#74 Fabio

    Ok Sydney

  I also had a Sony NEX, a great camera, equivalent to the Canon EOS M, what I didn’t like about it was the size, the kit lens is big, as is the 18-55 kit lens of the Canon, the Canon EOSM is now one of the best bargains ever, Canon released a new firmware that solved the autofocus problem and now it’s perfect and after all , Rachel’s question was about it.
  The lens that came with my EOS M is a 22 mm 2.0 , not much different from your Sigma,  only wider and brighter, it would only cover 80% of my needs if I quit macro, birds, architeture, street and airplanes photos. That’s where the Nikon P520 excells, even with the slower focus, it always rewards my patience.
    I traded my camera bag for a new messenger style from Lowepro, it’s smaller than my previous one, and I can carry 3 cameras and an Ipad, the Canon EOS M with a pancake is half the size of a external flash , I’m saving space and weight, and it’s much easier to get a camera than changing lenses.
    I would carry a Sony NEX with a pancake, but it would cost me more money, but I like the touch screen in Canon’s.
    I used to carry a Nikon 70 300 VR , it’s big, heavy and not even close in terms of sharpness to the P520 .
      A good big sensor camera , be it a NEX or the EOS M is wonderfull, what I’m trying to say here is that a bridge camera complements it very well, be it a P520 or any other, By the way , I just sold a Sony HX300, a fast camera , but image is nothing near to what the P520 can produce.

3:07 pm - Saturday, August 3, 2013

#75 Janis

Hi Fabio, can you advise me, which one is better for travelling Nikon L820 or P520, I had compare both of them are great, but I read the one of the review in nikon page, there is a problem to view the picture while camera have wifi connections. I am not sure about it.  But advice me, L820 or P520.  Thans

9:50 am - Wednesday, August 7, 2013

#76 nijiajia1988

Really good camera Summer is time to go to the beach with the whole family can travel how little it had a camera to record a person beautiful moments. Affordable ordinary family considerations. This camera feel right for your familyKnown for its reliabilityHave time to look at our online shop

6:04 am - Friday, August 9, 2013

#77 Don

On the Nikon P520…I’m having trouble with it going out of focus when zooming in, at least in movie mode. Just got it 2 days ago here in Daytona..and the battery quit this morning and the zoom was left sticking out till I could charge the battery. I don’t think the charge adaptor is working right. I love the camera other than those issues. Just wish I could have gotten those lightning strikes behind the shrimp boat with the great zoom…the bland colors of the ocean and stormy sky may have fooled the sensor. Hope it’s okay….just ordered that Raynox macro lens from Amazon as well as another filter kit….hope they attach okay…Cheers!

11:41 pm - Friday, August 16, 2013

#78 Sridhar

Hai Fabio, I am very much impressed by you replies and pictures. Felt you could give me the perfect answer. Which one is the best camera of these three.
1. Canon SX 50
2. Nikon P520
3. Sony DSC HX 300
Was trying to find out the answer for the last 2 weeks but couldn’t get a perfect answer. Please help me.

6:02 am - Saturday, August 17, 2013

#79 Nikki

Just need advice on best camera suited to taking action shots of children on their horses.  Cross country riding and jumping.  Things like that.  Something with continuous shots , not big and bulky and not have to change lenses as you don’t have time to change them. With video option too.  Does such a camera exist..  Any suggestions.
Thanks

11:34 am - Saturday, August 17, 2013

#80 Fabio

  To #78 Sridhar and #79 Nikki

  The Nikon P520 can be used for horse riding shooting but you need to prefocus in a certain place and wait for the action, not difficult because you know where the action will happen, this is the best procedure even with a entry level DSLR, but when I shoot my grandchildren horse riding I take a Panasonic G3 with a 45-200 lens, small , fast , with much better viewfinder, but not as sharp as the Nikon P520.
  The perfect answer for best camera doesn’t exist. Each one has strong points and weak points. The best thing in Sony’s HX300 is the overall speed and effects, like the excellent HDR, but the sensor is worse than last year HX200, I have the HX200 and bought the HX300 , took hundreds of pictures but posted only one in my Flickr, image quality is really inferior. You will find some very good images from one guy in Flickr, but I don’t think that they are possible without a lot of computer work with some very good software. But movies are Sony standard and focus is fast and generally reliable.
  The Canon SX50 is a good overall camera, but somethings are really annoying to me, the small LCD, dark lens that demands high ISOs and chromatic aberrations like purple fringing are frequent, but sensor is good and processor is good.
    Didn’t like the FZ200 too, the sensor is not good and even though the lens allows you to use a faster speed at low light , Images from my P510 were always better at same ISO.
    The Nikon P520 is an outstanding camera with a fantastic LCD, a super sharp lens, very good sensor ( for size ) , but focus can be not very fast at long zoom and while zooming in movies, in good light it works well for photos, the camera has also a noticeable lag. For movies, pausing the video , zooming and continue to shoot in the same file is an excellent solution and makes movies look more professional, zooming all the time in movies is very “amateur” .
  Flash is excellent, portraits using flash show every single detail of skin, it is a very good camera for medical use, much sharper than an entry level DsLr or micro 4/3 kit lens. High ISO performance is very good , it shows the noise but sharpness and colors remain very good.
    The Nikon P520 is my camera of choice, but I always carry at least one more camera with me, a micro 4/3 or a Canon EOS M with a bright lens and of course a Raynox 250 that works very well with all of them.
    Speed seems to be the most important factor for most people, not for me, I rather take one excellent picture than 40 so so, the P520 makes me think, compose, if necessary pre focus or use manual focus (very good). But for those who need to capture evry single moment of action I recommend a top compact from Casio, very, very fast and excellent image quality, it’s so sad that I can’t find them in USA anymore.
    I’m sorry to make things even more complex ...


   

3:20 pm - Saturday, August 17, 2013

#81 Don

My last day on the beach before I head back to Atlanta…I’m learning more about this Nikon P520…You have to be gentle with it..duh….the zoom is great…it’s hard to catch the pelicans in flight but I got a few good shots with the zoom from my balcony…patience is key….Happy with this camera so far…as far as the bikinis on the beach shots, like I said….the zoom is wonderful…

10:13 pm - Saturday, August 17, 2013

#82 Sridhar

Thank you very much Fabio. Decided to go for Nikon P520.

2:28 am - Sunday, August 18, 2013

#83 parminder

i just want to know that how can we focus one the thing while others remaining blurr….

5:42 am - Friday, August 23, 2013

#84 parminder

i m just new to it sometimes it clicked focused pics n smtimes m not able to can u plzzz suggest me any setting for this???

5:53 am - Friday, August 23, 2013

#85 parminder

hey fabio….. can u plzzzz suggest me any setting or adjustment for focusing the thing while other remaining blur..?? as i m new to this camera it sometimes clicked focused with blur effects pics sometimes not…. can u help me in this plzzzz…..

5:57 am - Friday, August 23, 2013

#86 Fabio

    Background blur

  Small sensor cameras like the P520 have much more depth of field than a large sensor camera, that’s one point, another point is lens aperture, the smaller the aperture number you get less DOF.  DOF means how much of the phot is in focus, I had once a DSLR with a 30 mm 1.4 lens that if I focused on the nose of a person , the eye got blurred, that’s not good too.
  You can separate subject from background with small sensor cameras under some conditions.
    Aperture is less important here than in a big sensor camera, but let’s try to get the background as blurred as possible.
  Set focus area mode to manual and place the focusing frame where you want, but the center is ok.
  set the mode dial to A and use the smaller number for aperture.
  Use as much zoom as possible, the Nikon P520 allows to use 1000 mm at about 6 feet from the subject and that is very good. Get as close to the subject as possible .
  You will get a blurred background but how much will depend how far is the background in relation to the subject, see this perfect example

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/8685114028/in/photostream/

  Another situation is macro using a lens like the Raynox, DOF is very, very small

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/8732796119/in/photostream/
 
  If the background is very far from the subject you don’t need to get too close to the subject, like in this one, I was 30 feet away, the separation of the subject is good
  http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/8546820670/lightbox/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/9340416616/lightbox/

  What we can’t get with the P520 is a blurred background like this one taken with a APS-C sensor camera and a 2.0 lens

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/9492703916/lightbox/

  But I can tell you that the P520/510 is the best small sensor camera to get a blurred background of all I had or tested.

12:45 pm - Friday, August 23, 2013

#87 parminder

thankuuu so much fabio…... it ws really very helpful the aperture one…. bt still hav to explore more….:-)

7:06 am - Monday, August 26, 2013

#88 Hemant

Hi Fabio,
By chance I hit this blog while surfing the web for a good all in one digital camera. First, some historical background. I started using my 1st 35mm SLR way back in 1971. I purchased Nikon FTN photomic meter with 50mm 1.8 normal lense. I have some very good shots with it. I purchased Nikon 80-200 mm zoom lense and was very happy with it then. I switched to Bridge Camera in 2004 when Kodak came out with super zoom of that time, 4MP DX6490 with 38-380 mm excellent Schneider Kreuznach Variogon 10X optical zoom, 6.3-63.2mm (35mm equivalent: 38-380mm) 3.0X Advanced Digital Zoom lense. I was very happy at that point in time.

NOW, I need to upgrade to All in one super zoom camera without all those costly Interchangeable lenses. I am not professional. I just want reasonably good shots of nature, landscape, family photos. I considered all those available as of now like those from Canon, Panasonic and Fuji. But of all my heart and my understanding suggests Nikon 520 since it has PASM mode and manual focus just in case. I don’t want print size more than say 5x7. I know quite a lot about basics and advanced knowledge of photography.

My question to you is whether P520 would be OK for casual, travel and indoor shooting? How would you compare with my DX6490 in terms of performance and image quality? I know it’s a stupid question to ask. But still.

9:30 am - Monday, August 26, 2013

#89 Fabio

  I do not recommend bridge cameras as a learning tool, they ate too complex and the small sensor demands experience and knowledge to get the best from it.
  I also had a Nikon Photomic Ftn as my first SLR , a total manual with electronic photometer, you will find the same configuration in the M mode of the P520 , it’s a huge upgrade from your previous camera and you will be more than pleased with it.

12:26 pm - Monday, August 26, 2013

#90 Usman

Fabio, Please can you tell me that Can i get good bokeh or background blur with Nikon P520 for portraits?

IF YES THEN HOW? or Nikon P330 or Sony Point and Shoot Camera would be best which provide built in background defocus mode? waiting for your expert opinion. Thanks,

7:38 pm - Thursday, August 29, 2013

#91 Fabio

To Usman
  I never tested the background defocus mode on the P330 , but I have 2 Sonys with that feature and I don’t like it, too unnatural, even the excellent Fuji X10 can’t create a good bokeh in that special mode that takes 2 photos and blend them together. The best way is the natural way, did you read my previous post abou Bokeh ?
  Using maximum zoom , minimum f number and standing as close as possible to the subject (about 6 feet) the blurr will depend on how far is the background, here’s another example of bokeh with the subject about 20 feet from the background

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/8700141055/in/photostream/lightbox/

  Small sensor cameras have that limitation, but the P520 is very good because lens is very sharp and minimum focus distance at max zoom is short.

12:32 am - Friday, August 30, 2013

#92 Usman

I am agree with you for technique you told for bokeh. But i dnt like image quality of Nikon P520 and the way its focus in pictures, it is very sharp and most of time subject is out focus. I think Canon G15 is better option, though it don’t have much zoom but for portraits it is best or I would like Sony Nex-3n. I am concerned about good bokeh, image quality and functions which i can get from a good camera with 400$ to 500$ price range !

8:26 pm - Friday, August 30, 2013

#93 Val Roman

I just got a P520 and my video sound was great and now it is making a motor noise…did I push a wrong button or something?  You can still hear the voices in the background.

3:51 am - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#94 Geoff K

Just brought the P520 camera two days ago.
While trying to video and with camera on-
Seems to be a 2 second delay in turning on the video filming, this is extremly frustrating when trying to take video of action sports ?
Is this normal or am I doing something wrong with a setting?
Very dissapointed if this is the normal processing delay- please help as currently I think camera is totally unsuitable for video.

11:30 pm - Saturday, September 7, 2013

#95 Val Roman

Geoff K, My P250 has a delay for everything…there is alot of anticipation that is needed for this camera.  Does your camera make a vibration noise while videoing?

4:56 pm - Sunday, September 8, 2013

#96 Geoff K

Tried to send email to ASIA NIKON website regarding issues, spent 20 min logging in etc then unsble to “continue” to send a few questions.
I have emailed directly the New Zealand importter directly and are waiting for comment.
Since posting below comment.
I add-
1. Drops in and out of focus, while using video, extremley frustrating. If a camera does not “Auto focus” at 40 x while zooming or while static at other zoom points
2. When moving camera quickly, a knock is heard in camera. The long term damage is unkown

At the moment I consider this camera not fit for what it is designed for. Hopefully this concerns are going to be addressed by Nikon New Zealand ASAP as Im feeling a little conned at the moment!
Have not been back to retailer as they were not a specialised store for cameras.

Re the noise question- sorry have not noticed, more concerned on the above.

8:58 pm - Sunday, September 8, 2013

#97 Val Roman

Interested to know Geoff…I just tested a video zoom and by the time I had zoomed to the destination (the object is a palm tree)you could not tell what it was, a complete blur. Thanks

7:18 pm - Monday, September 9, 2013

#98 sydney kiwi

Hi Geoff, this is exactly why I sold my 520 after 7 days, and bought a Sony hx300, once they fix these issues it will be a great camera, unfortunately its not there yet. the hx300 is very fast, awesome zoom,fast startup, the 1080 recording is excellent too, the quality of pics 7.5/10 good enough for holiday pics and general family and scenic pics, I also have a Sony NEX 5R for the really high end pics and several lenses for different situations.. beautiful camera and as close as to a DSLR as you will get without the ridiculous bulk. My wife loves the HX300 as its pretty light for its size has a nice feel, not quite as pretty as the 520, but the HX300 is a great allrounder that wont frustrate you at crucial times. hope this helps.

7:47 pm - Monday, September 9, 2013

#99 sydney kiwi

sony NEX 5R is excellent for BOKEH, been getting great shots with it.

8:00 pm - Monday, September 9, 2013

#100 Geoff Kindred

Amazing that Nikon .nz has yet to reply.
Same issues as everybody else here on this site….focus speed etc.
Bought camera tater reading Nikon ad hype, has not lived to claims for use

8:55 pm - Monday, September 9, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, photos, samples, images, test, hdmi, jpeg, nikon, video, movie, super-zoom, manual, coolpix, 24mm, 1080i, 18 megapixel, EVF, 7fps, 3.2 inch LCD, 42x zoom, p520, coolpix p520, nikon p520, Nikon Coolpix P520 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry