Nikon Coolpix P7000 Review

4.5
October 4, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

109 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 Durairaj.V.

I bought Nikon Coolpix P7000 a fortnight back and found it an excellent camera to use and to take sharp pictures contrary to some advere comments found in this column. In your review, you have stated there is no live histogram.There is live histogram in shooting mode. Actually it is hidden.Everybody complains about the viewfinder found in Nikon P7000. You cannot expect a Compact to give you a very clear ninty seven percent of view of an SLR camera. Actually, the viewfinder is clear (adjust the diopter to suit your vision) and useable. I prefer a viewfinder like any other pro, at times when you need to hold the camera steadily to take a shot at very slow shutter speed. No doubt the camera has lots of buttons and dials like that of an SLR camera to offer you multitudeof pro functions. Nikon has created a compact that can be used by a novice and a pro as well.If you learn how to hold the camera properly with the strap around your neck, there would be no problem in reaching required buttons and dials without hitting a wrong button and the Lens. The only drawback found in this camera is the slow RAW processing, a real slow processing. I hope Nikon would have rectified this defect in their forthcoming P7100.
  I am not a professional and used a lot of pro SLRs like Nikon FM1, FE2 801AF, Pentax MX, Pentax LX,SFX-N and Canon EOS 500D and I’m still using my favourite Minolta Maxxum 700Si.

11:11 am - Sunday, September 4, 2011

#102 durairaj

I bought P7000 a fortnight back and found it an excellent camera to use and to take sharp pictures contrary to some of the adverse comments made here. In the review It is stated that the camera doesn’t have a live histogram. There is live histogram in shooting mode and it is hidden. Some have complained that the viewfinder in P7000 is murky and useless. You cannot expect a compact camera to give you a very sharp view like that of an SLR camera.I find the viewfinder is clear enough to compose and shoot without any difficulty. No doubt this camera has lots of buttons and dials to offer you multitude of pro functions. P7000 is a compact camera that can be used by a novice and a pro as well. The only drawback is the real slow RAW processing. When other competitors can achieve quick processing of RAW files I wonder why this was overlooked by Nikon. I hope Nikon would rectify this in their forthcoming updated model P7100

11:57 am - Sunday, September 4, 2011

#103 Barb

I have the cooppix 7000 and have trouble gettting
the lens cover to open fully. I have to touch it
to make it open, very irritating.

8:41 pm - Wednesday, October 5, 2011

#104 Durairaj

Barb, there might be three reasons for the lens cover not opening fully. 1.Your finger inadvertenly blocks the lens when the shutter button is being pressed. 2. Accidently the lens might have hit against any hard surface.3. Manufacturing defect,that very rarely occur with a camera manufactured by one of the world’s leading camera manufacturer.

5:17 pm - Thursday, October 6, 2011

#105 Keith

Ignore the naysayers, this is a beautiful little camera in every way. I can live with waiting an extra couple of seconds for a RAW file to be written. I think this concern has been covered with a firmware upgrade. Mine doesn’t take 5 secs as stated above. A number which does matter is the 7.1x zoom. The G12 only extends to 5x as we all know. The Nikon is beautifully made and always takes crisp accurate pics. It has all the bells and whistles that you could ever need and use. The lens is wonderful…it is a Nikon and a true chip off the old block. I have used the G12 and like it very much. It doesn’t feel as well built, though it is bigger and heavier. The pics are more or less the same. I have tried them side by side and they are the same. The price difference is big. The G12 is very expensive which really isn’t warrented. Owing to the nonesense reviews like some of those above, I paid £160 for a boxed, unused Nikon with a spare battery and a 8gb card on ebay. Madness! This camera fits in nicely between my Lumix G2 and Ixus 220HS. I will use it for travel work. Amusingly, on other sites, people are slagging off the G2. Both are lovely cameras and are the best in their category.

8:41 am - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#106 PhotoHop

I just bought a used one with 3 batteries for $230.00 shipped. Now I have a spare for my D3100. Seller claims used sparingly. Will update the firmware upon receipt and go from there.
I already own a couple Nikon DSLR’s and a Canon Powershot S90…Looking for more reach.
Also looking forward to results one can achieve with the SB-400 flash.
Finger crossed…

4:06 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#107 Durairaj

Well said Keith. I am using this camera for the past six months without any problem and its videos are excellent.

4:33 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#108 sylvia

I have a symbol (red, looks like a clock) that keeps flashing near the bottom right hand corner of my screen. It’s not the timer symbol and I can’t find anything like it in the manual. Can someone tell me what it is? The battery is fine - but this looks like some kind of warning signal.

1:30 am - Sunday, June 24, 2012

#109 Vital Spark

Fantastic quality photos.Well built and looks and feels like a camera should.Its menu driven like most gadgets today and it dos’nt take long to grasp the basics.A great camera from one of the greatest names in photography.

4:31 pm - Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, hdmi, nikon, RAW, coolpix, 10 megapixel, prosumer, 28mm, 7x zoom, stereo sound, 28mm lens, optical viewfinder, NRW, p7000, Nikon P7000 Review, Nikon Coolpix P7000 Review, P7000 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry