Nikon Coolpix S2700 Review

March 1, 2013 | Gavin Stoker | |

Your Comments

20 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Ashraf

Nikon Coolpix S2700 Camera is really looking nice.

Thanks

6:42 pm - Saturday, March 2, 2013

#2 JJ

Finally a camera to replace my ageing S200. BUT, and to my mind it’s a big ‘but’ that would have put me off the purchase, that’s not a standard micro-USB socket on the underside but once again a proprietary Nikon connector.  Nikon are at best economical with the truth in describing it as USB in the camera specification and putting a standard USB icon on the socket cover.  So that’s yet another cable to have to carry.  Worse still, unless you look very closely you can’t tell it apart from a standard micro-USB cable, so if you have as many USB devices and cables as I do you run a high risk of inadvertently going out with the wrong one.

6:28 pm - Sunday, March 3, 2013

#3 Mad Hungarian

Bake a fancy graphic on a subpar Chinese plastic junk and you have a winner. Who in their right mind would even consider this “camera”, maybe for my 5 years old daughter…

2:35 pm - Monday, March 4, 2013

#4 Jim

Mad Hungarian….What you wrote is simplistic nonsense.

2:39 am - Tuesday, March 5, 2013

#5 aperture

pink? is there any color of this?

2:25 am - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#6 ajisht2

There is a total of 9 colours/designs available. Good value for money, highly recommendable one

7:50 pm - Tuesday, May 21, 2013

#7 A A

I dont have a memory card yet, and when i click a photo, it is not saving in internal memory but for videos yes…

5:37 pm - Saturday, June 1, 2013

#8 aamir ahmed

hi… i have recently bought this camera and i have found this an amazing experience to capture the photos but i have been facing a minor problem that is regarding the video recording. mean when i record the video being on 720 HD quality, and i transfer the video from camera to my personal computer to watch that video and to keep it, when that video is played the pixels of that video get extended and it does not give a good look to watch. kindly, tell me the solution…
will be waiting for your respond.

9:14 am - Tuesday, July 30, 2013

#9 Greewin

Before buying this cam. Could anyone tell me that If I use this camera continuously for only photos, How long does the battery will last? how many hours i can take photo continuously?

10:26 pm - Wednesday, August 7, 2013

#10 A A

@Greewin, the battery lasts longer. You can take around 250 photos with the battery. But I usually take more when my resolution is 1600x1200. So, can be around 300+

7:22 am - Thursday, August 8, 2013

#11 iMAN

I recently bought this cam, n its really cool, handy and fun to use. but 6 days of use and suddenly the lens couldn’t open up and it shows lens error. so, my cam became useless. i went to the store i bought it from, n they say i dropped it!! i did NOT! what nonsense is this? well, i’ll go to one of the service centres now but i m expecting a similar reply.. but i’ll give it a try coz its a really nice cam and i already love it! any tips as to how do i get it right?

5:52 pm - Tuesday, October 15, 2013

#12 kalyan

avoid nikon. bad customer care and their lcd screen is bad.and they dont cover fungas or scrtch.
i have purchased one s2700 in october,2013 ,the camera was imported on march 2013 and it has some permanent old spot or fungas and local customer care denied for any assistance

1:46 am - Wednesday, November 6, 2013

#13 Tribhuwan

Hi,

Simply it’s a very cool and slim,pics quality is super and video also like this have purchased it on Deepawali.

11:44 am - Wednesday, November 6, 2013

#14 Amy

Would this camera be suitable for a 14 year old, i want a basic camera, but i want to be able to take good quality photos, and want to be able to take photos in motion.

9:11 pm - Friday, November 22, 2013

#15 RDA

For good video recordings always set the autofocus mode to “full time AF” and 720 HD .  my s2700 records better videos in lexar class(4) 4GB than in sandisk class(10) 8GB.  The sandisk Sd card(extreme)makes the camera very fast but videos are little blurry :(

4:20 pm - Saturday, February 8, 2014

#16 Sakib

What about the focusing? I’d like to, is it able to make the background blur???

2:52 pm - Wednesday, March 5, 2014

#17 Yvonne

My camera is 3 months old and show a blank screen with a black “leaf”. It does not react to any buttons apart from the on/off. Please advise how to rectify. Many thanks

2:44 pm - Wednesday, July 16, 2014

#18 Angela

Fine line down front of screen nikon s2700 coolpik help will it show on pictures thank you

2:56 pm - Wednesday, September 3, 2014

#19 Gothpaladinus

I have bought my S2700 last August, and I have to say I’m quite happy with it. To see a shorter review: the battery life is long enough, the images/videos taken are almost fully noiseless even on high ISO levels and worse lights (even comparing to my much more serious and higher priced Panasonic-LUMIX DMC-FZ38 camera’s RAW mode), and at the same time much nicer than I would expect from such a cheap camera: the focused parts are sharp enough even on full optical zoom and the light dynamic range is also very good. The autofocus is a small downpoint: sometimes even in good light conditions it can fail the focus lengths giving out unuseless results, less good lights make the focusing even worse, but it is good that you can set the focus area on the screen manually when you don’t want to focus on the central part of the photo. For nighttime photography the top shutter speed of 1 second makes a very high limitation of using ability, but luckily the low noise levels on higher ISO rates still gives you a fair result when choosing ISO increase to make the image lights higher to compensate the low shutter issue.
As a conclusion I have to say that I’ve bought this camera for 14.999 HUF (~29.5 EUR), for this price you could hardly find any better cameras currently, so the price/value rate is excellent. I can only say I like this camera and I recommend for anyone who need a budget camera and still have the need for a correct image quality - you surely won’t be disappointed!

11:02 pm - Thursday, March 12, 2015

#20 Shoaib

Nice look, I think it was perfect for ladies pocket camera for personal use. Specially color and size is really awesome.

9:38 am - Saturday, August 29, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, compact, wide-angle, 16 megapixel, 720p, hdmi, nikon, beginner, 2.7 inch LCD, coolpix, 26mm, 6x zoom, s2700, Nikon Coolpix S2700 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry