Nikon Coolpix S30 Review

3.5
December 28, 2012 | Matt Grayson |

Your Comments

28 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

Great for kids.

1:47 pm - Friday, December 28, 2012

#2 Mad Hungarian

this is what Nikon became

4:36 pm - Friday, December 28, 2012

#3 Adam

I wonder what is your definition of average. I have never seen a review of a “below average” camera.

11:05 pm - Saturday, December 29, 2012

#4 Mark O

Great camera, worth recommending

6:12 pm - Sunday, December 30, 2012

#5 Joe Prete

I just stopped in to say to our readers HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! From the staff and writers here at photographyblog.com we wish you and your families a safe, Healthy and Happy 2013 and beyond!
... Joe Prete

5:07 am - Tuesday, January 1, 2013

#6 Veato

I bought this for my kid as she was becoming a bit obsessed with my Fujifilm X10. I tried her with a cheap Hello Kitty camera and one of those VTECH ones but she kept coming back to mine, I think mainly due to the terrible photos and lack of sizeable screen to view them on.

In my mind these are the kind of cameras this should be compared to rather than other mainstream snappers. Also being shock- and waterproof I can let her loose with it just as I would with a VTECH model.

Yes the photos aren’t the best but she’s a child not a pixel peeper like the rest of us!

4:57 pm - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

#7 JOE PRETE

To The Editor:Matt Grayson
On the specs. for this camera, you have a 1/3-in. type CCD.
Maybe a typo? Can you say what the actual size of the sensor is? I like your review. I appreciate the different sample images, it’s good to see a change of pace once in a while (one for the kids too!). I don’t know why this camera has been out for so long before it gets a review, but it’s good for a youngster. Very easy to use!
Happy New Year,
... Joe Prete

8:46 pm - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

#8 ElementsElectronics@eBay

Has a nice looking body & price - let’s just hope this one is actually waterproof!

2:22 am - Thursday, January 3, 2013

#9 JOE PRETE

Nikon verified, it is waterproof, and can take pictures under water. They aren’t certain about the sensor size. It is the only Nikon with a 1/3-inch CCD listed. They say it could be 1/2.3 I wouldn’t plan on making any enlargements with it, but it should be okay for internet photos or 4X6 prints. Even getting a waterproof camera for this money is a good deal. You can’t lose much if it breaks, the next waterproof camera is the $300.00 AW100 I’ll take my chances with this. I’m getting 6 for a project. They’re only cheaper by the dozen.
... Joe Prete

9:48 pm - Friday, January 4, 2013

#10 Comparitor

@Joe Prete - 7:46 pm - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

I like your review. I appreciate the different sample images, it’s good to see a change of pace once in a while (one for the kids too!).

I don’t think the sample images on this site are very good at all. They never take sample images of the same thing, thus you cannot compare sample images between the cameras. They just take photos of random things and so there is nothing to compare the cameras against. Imaging-Resource and Steves Digicams do far better sample images because they take photos of the same thing for every camera model so you can compare the image quality across cameras. This site doesn’t do that so it’s sample images are useless.

8:24 am - Sunday, January 6, 2013

#11 where did my comment Go

@Joe Prete - 7:46 pm - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

I like your review. I appreciate the different sample images, it’s good to see a change of pace once in a while (one for the kids too!).

I don’t think the sample images on this site are very good at all. They never take sample images of the same thing, thus you cannot compare sample images between the cameras. They just take photos of random things and so there is nothing to compare the cameras against. Imaging-Resourse and Steves Digicams do far better sample images because they take photos of the same thing for every camera model so you can compare the image quality across cameras. This site doesn’t do that so it’s sample images are useless.

8:26 am - Sunday, January 6, 2013

#12 Abbey

It’s amazing if given lots of light, I perfer the Marco (up-close) setting as I think it gives the best focused photos. The underwater is a big advantage for me, but the photo quality? Ask anyone, its horrible. I can’t take the quality so many pixels! It will all be worth it when I hit the pool though, right? :)

3:48 am - Monday, January 7, 2013

#13 JOE PRETE

Abbey,
Thanks for the comment, but I’m not expecting too much from such an inexpensive camera, I know there’s a thick piece of glass in front of the lens. Just as long as it can take a few knocks (drops?) I think it will serve the purpose. They only had two in stock anyway. They might be in a toy store though, I’ve bought INSTAX cameras and film there, much cheaper than any camera shop.
... Joe Prete

10:54 pm - Monday, January 7, 2013

#14 Emil Castagnier

I own this camera. Very happy and satisfied, although I have one major issue:
The flash just doesn’t seem to want to work sometimes! This was especially frustrating during New Years Eve when I was trying to take photos of my friends and I, but with no flash it was all a dark mess.
And yes, I have ensured flash is set to auto (the only other option is ‘off’). I have tried covering the little flash sensor, and playing around with brightness settings, and of course trial-and-error.

Sometimes it flashes, sometimes it doesn’t. Usually it flashes four or fives times, then just won’t flash again for the rest of the night. It’s inconvenient having to play around with it when everyone is lined up ready for a photo and now instead of “oh whoops it’s in camera mode” (because now taking photos and recording a movie are two separate buttons thank God) I now have “oh whoops, the flash just won’t go off! Better screw around with the brightness and scene types again.” to add back on to the list.

3:37 am - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#15 Joe Prete

Emil,
Maybe it’s defective? If you just got it, you could try removing the Battery and let it sit for a while, then power up again. Sometimes electronic devices reset themselves by doing this simple procedure. Also, try firing the shutter in a completely dark room (be sure no one is looking at the camera) If that doesn’t work call tech support. We have two that were bought after this review and they work fine so far. If it goes in for a repair, maybe they’ll send you a new one
... Joe Prete

5:44 am - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#16 Joe Prete

To Comparator, #10 & 11
Sorry, I didn’t get the notification for your comment.
Maybe you should check the recent reviews to see. The one Mark uses with the Compact Flash card,  to show scale size. I wish he would use an SD card or AA batteries. Any change of pace. But you’re asking for a Standard for all Reviewers to use, I agree with you. Maybe there should be a standard for everyone on the site. I will ask him again, but it would be good if readers also asked the same thing. Okay, I agree, and I will ask him, Readers that agree please ask him also. It does make good sense,
... Joe Prete

6:23 am - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#17 Mark

Thanks for your review. This is really helpful
Do you have any information regarding the time lapse feature - i’m interested in shooting some artwork being created in time lapse
Does it save the time lapse as pictures or a video file?

I think it might be my next purchase the camera seems sturdy enough and relatively cheap to have on-site and in the studio. There aren’t many cheap cameras about that do time lapse that i have seen

1:05 am - Thursday, February 14, 2013

#18 howard

Does anyone know how to download pics to computer.
When you plug USB into camera with battery door open the camera will not turn on. Very frustrating.

3:30 am - Thursday, April 25, 2013

#19 JOE PRETE

Howard,
Did you read the user guide for the camera? You load the software on the computer and connect the camera when the instructions on the computer say to, You will get the newest software available, then you continue on to register the camera. After you restart, when you want to load pictures you can do it right from the camera with the USB cable CONNECT USB CABLE AND CLOSE THE INNER COVER ONLY, TO MAKE THE BATTERY CONNECTION, LEAVE THE OUTER DOOR OPEN WHILE YOU TRANSFER THE FILES or you can use a “Card Reader” that also gets plugged into the computer USB port. (Do not disconnect the card or the cable until the pictures are loaded)  Another way to print pictures is “Pictbridge”- you plug the camera or Reader right to the Printer. You can also bring the Memory card to a “Kiosk” and print them for about 25 cents each. Many newer Computers and Printers Have memory slots for SDHC, XD, CF etc. Cards. If all else fails, Call Nikon at 1-800-NIKON US and follow the prompts to “Tech Support” But like I said, Reading the Users Guide usually works better and faster. Good Luck Howard!
... Joe Prete

5:23 am - Thursday, April 25, 2013

#20 JOE PRETE

Howard,
Page 10 in the users guide says at the top of the page “This camera has a Dual-Cover system”.  Underneath the Battery Chamber- Memory card slot cover, is an internal Cover. ....
... Joe Prete

5:37 am - Thursday, April 25, 2013

#21 Frans

Great for kids.
This is a underwater camera, so where are the underwater sample images or video?
Also waiting for your reply to #17Mark’s comment.
Thanx !

8:47 am - Thursday, April 25, 2013

#22 JOE PRETE

Frans,
How about we put into the Fish Tank in the office. Matt did this review in December. But really, I think you should consider it more as Splashproof, in the Kiddie Pool rather than something to go Deep Sea Diving. ... ... Have you seen Howard?
... Joe Prete

11:10 am - Thursday, April 25, 2013

#23 Frans

From your rating & Conclusion page:
The specification of the Nikon Coolpix S30…..but that could be attributed to the fact that it’s an UNDERWATER camera.”

And:
“The Nikon Coolpix S30 joins the swelling ranks of waterproof cameras on the market today”

And:
“This is a good idea ......because underwater, you’ll use it two handed.”

And:
WATERPROOF JIS/IEC protection class 8 (IPX8) equivalent (under our testing conditions) Capacity to shoot pictures underwater up to a depth of 3 m (9.8 ft) and for 60 minutes

I never mentioned “Deep sea”, you did Howar..oh I mean Joe.
What do you think the first thing any kid in the splash-pool will try??..., to the pictures under water!!! That and the ruggedness is what sets this camera apart from other coolpix cameras in the 10mp range.

I guess the specs for this camera has changed since December, altering it from waterproof to splash-proof, or maybe you didn’t read review.

And still Mark has to wait for a reply on the time-lapse photos….you just could have come clean and said that you did not test that feature, just as it was to much effort to test this underwater camera….under water!!!

Stop trying to be a smart-Alec, just look in your mirror. That’s where you’ll find Howard!

4:40 pm - Thursday, April 25, 2013

#24 JOE PRETE

Frans,
Again, Matt Greyson did the review above. He did a very good review on a very inexpensive camera and he got very good results, considering. My comments were based on my own findings. I am a Freelance Photographer, writer and reviewer. Keep in mind that although the cameras we tested were the same model, they may have been manufactured in two different, of many plants that Nikon uses. Many times on inexpensive cameras the Quality is not very consistent from model to model. Also as you must know different reviewers often report different findings, even if using the exact (same serial number) camera. Everyone is different and their ideas also differ. You can look at other reviews on the web, and have as many different results as there are reviewers. Howard is the commenter #18 that I was explaining the Dual door system to. With a gap of over two months and now there are new comments and questions I thought that you might be together. That happens often here. He never replied after I explained the procedure and the page to find it on. I have no idea who he is, do you think I know the hundreds of other people that I help on this site? They ask questions and I give them answers. Normally it does not require excessive dialogue. Good luck with your camera, and I hope Mark answers your other question.
Cheers,
... Joe Prete

12:22 am - Friday, April 26, 2013

#25 JOE PRETE

Frans,
FYI, Nikon has it’s own rating system too, it’s on their website. The Coolpix S30 is rated at 2.5 stars out of a possible 5 stars rating.
In other words Nikon’s own grade on it, is just 50% . On the bright side though, it didn’t cost very much.
... Joe Prete

9:19 am - Friday, April 26, 2013

#26 Steve Parker

Great underwater camera for under $80 bucks worked flawlessly at depths to 20’

2:16 pm - Friday, May 3, 2013

#27 Gringo

still no reply on the time lapse mode?  I’m interested in using it as a cheap KAP camera down here in the Turks and Caicos Islands.  I need something that can handle sea water splash, with an interval mode.

Nikon site no help.  I see time lapse question here has already been asked.  But no help?

Any idea WHERE we can find out if it has an interval timer, and what the specs are?

2:45 pm - Sunday, June 30, 2013

#28 Emil

I just took this camera with me on holidays to the Greek islands.

While doing some underwater diving around Kato Koufonissi, I took the camera down and took some photos. It seemed to work.

Later on the boat I tried to turn the camera back on, but it wouldn’t switch on. I also replaced the batteries and had no luck.

Looks like this camera isn’t as waterproof as the disclaimer says it is…

11:37 am - Thursday, September 5, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, compact, 720p, hdmi, nikon, beginner, 2.7 inch LCD, coolpix, 10 megapixel, waterproof, dustproof, shockproof, 3x zoom, shock proof, water proof, dust proof, 29mm, s30, Nikon Coolpix S30 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry