Nikon Coolpix S70 Review

3.0
November 27, 2009 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 El Ojo

Nikon makes such great DSLR’s; when will they learn how to make a basic digicam?  Who cares about all the fluffy features if the thing takes lousy photos?  Either get on the ball Nikon, or give it up and stick to DSLR’s.

6:42 pm - Friday, November 27, 2009

#2 Frothy Fish

@El Ojo

Please can we have less of this “digicam” nonsense? It is merely a contraction of the words digital camera, it tells you nothing about the camera. If you mean compact camera FFS say compact camera.

11:49 pm - Friday, November 27, 2009

#3 Pstark

The term “digicam” is commonly used in today’s camera community and has been for many years.  The term “Compact Camera” is meaningless and I’ve never heard of anyone use it. An S70 or S640 or SD1200IS, etc. is a digicam.  A compact camera could be a Panasonic GH1 or Nikon D40 or whatever.

1:02 am - Saturday, November 28, 2009

#4 Jollyboy

The first sentence of the article: “The Nikon Coolpix S70 is a new 12 megapixel compact camera with a very interesting OLED screen.”

If you’ve never heard the term “compact camera”  before that can only mean that you didn’t actually bother to read the review at all. So why post a comment when you didn’t even read the review?

I wouldn’t go on a French website and post in English, it would be arrogant in the extreme. This is an English language website, please try to use the English language when you’re here.

11:40 am - Saturday, November 28, 2009

#5 boat accessories

I dig the style of that S70. It’s cool in a retro way. Its a really nice camera to buy.

2:47 pm - Saturday, November 28, 2009

#6 College Student

I am a college student and I LOVE this camera! It is the absolute best thing I have EVER bought! It works so well and the pictures are CLEAR! Whoever says they are blurry seriously can’t work a camera! Geeze just fix the settings!! How hard is that! I give this camera an A+++ =)

4:19 pm - Monday, December 28, 2009

#7 r4 ds

It is a ‘cool’ camera with features like the touch screen, making it ‘iPod’ or ‘iPhone’ like in the ability to flip pics and truly point, touch and shoot. Large megapixel count and optical zoom SHOULD capture great pics.

8:05 am - Wednesday, January 13, 2010

#8 Horst

Nice and handy camera. But the camera pre-settings are lousy for a NIKON product. Many pictures of people, especially indoor and with flash are blurry. The setting of 1/ 15 sec is too slow to capture sharp pictures. My old Canon with 6 megapixels produces much clearer pictures. It was my first and last NIKON and I soon will dump the camera.

1:14 am - Wednesday, March 17, 2010

#9 dissappointed

This is the worst Nikon I have ever had.  It takes consistently blurry pictures. It is slow.  It it not intuitive.  My right thumb keeps touching the zoom slider.  My left fingers keep blocking the lens.  Essentially you have to hold it by the side only.  Why can’t they move the lens toward the middle?  Auto settings are completely useless.  Do NOT waste your money.

1:07 am - Sunday, July 11, 2010

#10 The Best Digital SLR

Thank you for the great review of the Coolpix S70.
I will buy this when I get a new pocket camera.
Right now my Canon EOS Rebel T2i serves me well.

8:05 am - Friday, December 10, 2010

#11 Jordan

Fully crap.Dont waste ur money.The blur came slightly in left corner.After went all arround exclude the center.I’ve sent it to Nikon for repair.After 100 quid repair charge,still have that blur in left corner.That’s it,i’m quit with it.

8:15 pm - Tuesday, May 24, 2011

#12 Patrick Ellis

I find this camera to be about average, even almost 2 years after it’s release. Image quality is below par, but my standards are admittedly high, therefore I can forgive a little point & shoot of this fallback. As a professional photographer who normally shoots with a D300s complete with vertical grip, heavy lenses, and sometimes a speedlight, I was looking for something small, affordable, and with basic features for the simple purpose of scouting locations or a Friday night out with my friends, without needing to lug around the big guns. I picked up this S70 from a pawn shop for $75, and like the saying goes - you get what you pay for. Before buying this camera, I previously used my Google Nexus S for the reasons I bought this. But let’s face it, all smartphone cameras are even worse! Terrible lenses, very tiny sensors, no optical zoom - just worthless. It wasn’t much of a problem for me to spend less than a $100 for something 100x better, but I will admit that I’m still a bit disappointed in this camera. Of course, with my high standards, I wasn’t expecting a whole lot from any camera in this range. But with this specific camera, I’ve had a few touchscreen problems, coupled with the location of the lens and less than desirable sharpness are enough for me to look for another replacement. On the plus side, I liked the size, weight, and simple design - and of course, it’s a Nikon, which is the only brand I’ll touch.

My rating, 3/5

7:11 pm - Saturday, July 2, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, review, 720p, 12 megapixel, nikon, beginner, 5x zoom, touch-screen, coolpix, 3.5 inch LCD, OLED, s70, Nikon Coolpix S70 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry