Nikon Coolpix S8000 Review

4.0
March 3, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

76 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Shaka

Nikon is so stupid sometimes. When everybody else is going for 25mm and 28mm, Nikon goes to 30mm. How dumb. Nikon loses again.

11:14 am - Wednesday, March 3, 2010

#2 somebody

my nokia n82 takes better pictures…

3:37 pm - Wednesday, March 3, 2010

#3 Waiting for exfh100 review

“It’s zoom. It’s touch. It’s color. It’s style.”
David Lee, President, Nikon Inc.
Imaging-resource interview, PMA 2010.

Oh, the humanity :)

6:17 pm - Wednesday, March 3, 2010

#4 Mick Schofield

Although no histogram is available in most modes, I see from the manual (page 35) that it is available from the Creative Slider Screen in Auto Mode.

6:44 pm - Wednesday, March 3, 2010

#5 alansky

“Measuring just 27.3mm thick, the Nikon S8000 is also currently the World’s slimmest camera with a 10x optical zoom.”

Actually, it’s not the slimmest. The Panasonic ZR1, which has been out for the better part of a year, is thinner. So much for truth in advertising!

7:44 pm - Wednesday, March 3, 2010

#6 jumpy

The Panasonic has 8x optical zoom, not 10.

7:54 pm - Wednesday, March 3, 2010

#7 Cal

I can’t believe Nikon hasn’t fixed the 3-5 second wait after start-up. I sold my otherwise rather excellent S640 for this exact reason.

10:40 pm - Wednesday, March 3, 2010

#8 Peter

I sometimes get really upset reading reviews and wonder if the reviewers are on a different agenda to the public who buy these cameras.

I needed a new camera and I read the reviews on 10x digital zooms before going shopping. Well prepared I went to a quality camera shop. I picked out two cameras that the reviewers like and asked the camera shop staff to pick out their choice.
They let me take a photo using each of the cameras of fruit stall and then produced a colour photo from each camera.

The Nikon S8000 was the only one that produced a colour photograph that had the same colours as you see with your eye.

I won’t disgrace the two I didn’t purchase but let it be said they both got great reviews on this blog both are more expensive to purchase, but the colours the cameras produced were terrible. The one made all the fruit look incipid. The other made red look purple. I mean how dare they sell a camera that can not replicate the colour you see. Just pathetic. Basically they were very poor.

I purchased the Nikon, because it works and having used it a bit, I can now say it works well. I am a very satisfied customer.

I am very very pleased with my purchase. Well done Nikon, this is a great point and shoot 10x zoom that you can stick in your pocket and rely on to take a great shot every time.

11:02 pm - Wednesday, March 3, 2010

#9 Statistician

Agree with the first poster, Peter.  I detected negativity throughout the review.  Also, what’s with the obsession about the 3 seconds lag?  Are you hunting bo.ob flashing pictures?

Ordered the camera today.  Will post my review soon.

11:23 pm - Wednesday, March 3, 2010

#10 Shaka

Well Jumpy, which Panny would you be talking about? The equivalent to the S8000 would be more like the ZR3 or ZS5.

12:27 am - Thursday, March 4, 2010

#11 Zippety

That’s a crock, Statistician and Peter!  How did you get to the print? Through a computer first, or direct-print to a printer?  You’re worried about the colors, only? What about the pixels? Noise? Contrast? Sharpness? Focus? May be the way the shop printed didn’t have the right color-correction compatibility for the cameras you were testing, but they had the one for Nikon.  As simple as that. Your color test is not a true test. Don’t be duped.

12:33 am - Thursday, March 4, 2010

#12 Yianni

Nikon has always lagged behind the competition when it comes to compacts and I see nothing has changed.

Image quality is just shocking when compared to Canon and Panasonic.

It’s strange how Nikon can produce such amazing DSLR’s yet they can’t make a decent compact.

Canon and Panasonic compacts are miles ahead of the rubbish Nikon is making at the moment.

3:19 am - Thursday, March 4, 2010

#13 acer coupon

Nikon point & shoot cameras are pretty disappointing, and it seems these won’t be redeeming the company’s good name. Instead of adding unnecessary pixels, why don’t they focus on improving low light performance?

8:45 am - Thursday, March 4, 2010

#14 michael

i tried it once, but didn’t like it!

9:17 am - Thursday, March 4, 2010

#15 mike

I have been looking at this product to buy but no one I mean NO one could give me a straight answer when this camera will be able to buy?  We can sit here and talk all we want about how awesome this camera is going to be or not, I think Nikon and other camera companies are mean the tease us about these cameras but don’t give a release date?

6:30 pm - Thursday, March 4, 2010

#16 Peter

Zippety, it’s not a crock. The pictures were printed directly off the camera and on a small fuji printer. No tricks. Incidentally, how many camera shops do you know who would do this at the customers request for a £250 camera.

The Nikon gave the printer the information to allow the printer to produce a photograph that had the same colours as the image I could see with my eye. The other cameras didn’t.

As for the technical questions you asked about, I suggest you read the review. I just use my eyes and don’t rely on technical specifications.

Incidentally, If i wanted the perfect photo, I would use a quality SLR.

8:01 pm - Thursday, March 4, 2010

#17 Zippety

Yeah the review says the pictures SUCK.  Nikon is being beaten by even Samsung, for crying out loud.

9:41 am - Friday, March 5, 2010

#18 Trikster2

Casio H10 is 10X optical and .9” thick. Much thinner.

Surprising that PB has forgotten it as they rated it higher than this nikon giving it a “recommended”

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/casio_ex_h10_review/

1:33 pm - Friday, March 5, 2010

#19 Robin

Good review as always, Mark.

I was sad to see how fuzzy and unsharp the video recording was - nowhere near as good as that of the Sony DSC-WX1, also reviewed by you - which sort of turns me off when it comes to this camera. On the other hand, the S8000 appears a notably better choice for still image photography than the DSC-WX1. I’m torn between these two…

I recently made the mistake of buying the Ixus 120, which I’ve spent quite some time with shooting in various situations, as well as with determining its image quality compared to other, current 720p recording cameras. Two words to sum up the quality in both still image and video recording of the Ixus 120 up: crap purchase. Don’t go there. Take my word for it. As if the poor image quality wasn’t enough, it’s an annoying little nightmare to handle even if you have the hands of a small child, as there are no guiding notches on any of the buttons on the thumb panel; you have no idea what button you’re about to push.

1:43 pm - Friday, March 5, 2010

#20 Peter

Zipperty,

The review says and I quote, “The Nikon Coolpix S8000 produced images of above average quality during the review period.”

The reviewer does not use the word “Suck”.

3:47 pm - Friday, March 5, 2010

#21 Vladan

I am a Nikin fan and usind D90 DSLR.

I tried few cheap Nikon pocket cameras like S210, S220 and S330. I didn’t like them. Too noisy and not sharp. S210 was the best amoung them. I ended with Ixus95 which works nice. Much better than these Nikons.

S8000 is going the same wrong way as other pocket Nikon cameras. 1/2.33 inches sensor definitelly should be part of history.
Please Nikon put larger sensor in it if you wanna be compettitive. Aperture of wide open sensor is 3.5 (too dark). 30mm at wide open is not very representative.

Nikon DSLRs are the best on the market. Please, wake up and start producing good pocket cameras as well.

1:32 pm - Saturday, March 6, 2010

#22 Vladan

Aperture of wide open lens is 3.5 (too dark).

correction

1:35 pm - Saturday, March 6, 2010

#23 Peter

The reviewer talks about an inexplicable three second delay on start up. I don’t get this with my camera.

If I press the on button and immediately take a photograph, I get a photograph.This all happens immediatley. There is no detectable delay. I can’t move my finger from one button to the other any quicker

I can only assume that the reviewer received a faulty camera for review.  This in itself would ofcourse be an issue, but the three second delay is not something I have experienced.

Incidentally, I don’t recognise the negative aspects of this review
on the camera I received. I strongly suggest the reviewer trys another camera to confirm his opinions.

3:38 pm - Sunday, March 7, 2010

#24 Dinko

Got one of these a week ago and it’s been hit & miss.
A good 2/3 of the first 200 pictures were muddy/blurry. After that, there was a significant improvement. In good light, the pictures are far superior to the two Canon P&S I’ve had.

The build quality of this thing is way above average.

The biggest issue I’m having with it is the slow processing: sometimes you have to wait 3-5 seconds for the picture to be recorded before you can take the next one (tried different SDHC cards; same result). I’ve also had it freeze a few times to the extent that after a minute I had to pull the battery out.

That said, when pictures are good, they’re great. I agree with this reviewer that pics coming out of the S8000 are above average.

11:10 pm - Sunday, March 7, 2010

#25 panayotis ioannidis

Regarding this, and possible alternatives, would any of you active and Nikon(and other)-experienced commenters be so kind as to consider (I guess sending me an email to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) , rather than hogging comment space, would be fairer) the following query?

From 2003 to 2009, I was extremely happy with my Coolpix 4300: its sensitivity to light (no flash night photograph) and, above all, the faithfulness of its colours, under all lighting conditions. (When it broke down last summer, I was given a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62, which is simply driving me up the wall!...)

Does anybody have suggestions for a current, worthy Coolpix successor of the 4300 that would be:

- compact (pocket-carriable [sic]),
- good for no-flash night photography (i.e. as little noise as possible)?

I am <i>not<i> interested in pixels for pixels’ sake, nor extravagant zooms.

Many thanks in advance for your suggestions!

12:45 am - Tuesday, March 9, 2010

#26 WHvG

Hi, amazing so many people have their verdict ready even for a camera they never saw or tested!
And if you think there are better camera’s, just buy those and don’t comment when not applicable.

4:36 pm - Wednesday, March 10, 2010

#27 Dan

I am evaluating the S8000 (30 days) and like it a lot except two things: (1) placement of the flip-up flash is exactly where I place my finger to hold it (2) video audio recording produces an almost inaudible playback level despite my maxing out the volume control. These two items will probably deter my purchase of the S8000. Can anyone suggest anything.  I called Nikon and was told simply to avoid placing finger over the two microphones between the flip-up flash on the on/off button. Any other tip or suggestion??

3:30 pm - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#28 Dan

oops!  “...AND the on/off button”

3:38 pm - Thursday, March 11, 2010

#29 Mark

I have used the S8000 intensively for two weeks in the Far East and have this to contribute.

Background: I am a pro-photog and needed a camera that could take 720p video and be pocketable.

Overall I am pleased with the S8000 but would like to see some major changes. First, it should zoom optically during video, but only because you could then reset the shot without turning it on and off. Zooming while videoing habitually is not professional. Second, I would like to set up the shot, prep for video and then press video start. The quick start button while convenient sometmes is actually a pain.

The 3sec start up time is not accurately described. I can turn on and take a shot within 0.5secs, BUT, I can’t zomm for three seconds. So you can get the pantie flash shot if you are so inclined. 3 secs though is awful. It could be solved with a manual zoom option a la Canon.

Get a screen protector IMMEDIATELY and don’t use without. I already have damage to the screen putting into and taking out of a crumpler camera case. Likewise the paint quality around the lens is poor and is already wearing.

The tripod screew is off-set to one side and even with a gorillapod is a pain to set up.

The ultra-mini USB connection is daft. Who makes these exceptions? It needs a standard USB connection that is universal to ALL cameras.

The wideangle has turned out to be OK but only 80% of the time. Given the resolution Nikon could have sacrificed the upper end of the zoom in favour of a wider angle.

1:19 pm - Friday, March 12, 2010

#30 framer

Most of these comments are a bit harsh.  This is a $299.00 camera not a $5000.00 camera.  You want speed pay for it. 

I got one of these for my wife and she loves it.  P&S are for snapshots and this camera is IMHO perfect for that use. 

framer

7:35 pm - Tuesday, March 16, 2010

#31 skyfox

I am regretting the purchase.  I have a nikon D300 that I love, but sometimes a small camera is handier.  I thought that this camera would do the trick - it doesn’t.  To say that the quality of the picture is less than stelar is an understatement.  My 6 year old 5mp camera takes better photos. The initial picture looks OK, but it is almost impossible to crop anything and still get a decent print.  I guess I am spoiled with an SLR, but there has to be a pocket camera out there better than this one !!!  Speed is not important Quality is - anyone have a suggestion ?

5:17 pm - Saturday, March 20, 2010

#32 Max from Leicester

The image samples are mostly blurred on the right hand side.

10:15 pm - Saturday, March 20, 2010

#33 Texanwino

I just bought the s8000 and am quite happy with it.  I have the Olympus EP-2, but was getting frustrated with it when trying to photograph my children, who move faster than I can adjust the camera for those ‘perfect’ shots!  Even the autofocus didn’t move fast enough, so I decided I had to get a point-and-shoot to be able to capture those special moments that were being deleted because they were blurry and dark (EP-2 flash is too ‘professional’ - only 6 flashes at a time, 10 seconds apart, before it overheats).
So for my purposes, it has been a godsend.  I am getting the fast-moving shots, clearly.
The only downsides are the 3-second delay on the zoom on start-up, and the flash position (but this can be remedied by holding the camera on the bottom, where you should really hold it, to reduce shake).
All in all, a good choice;  you can’t get everything from every camera, and for a point-and-shoot, this is making me very happy.  The 30-300mm range is brilliant, the colours are great, the focus works a treat, and I am getting great shots of what I need.  For the other, more ‘professional’ (I am not a professional, just like to take photos) photos I use the EP-2, where I can make all the adjustments I need for the shot I am taking.

6:04 am - Tuesday, April 6, 2010

#34 Jeff beddow

I am evaluating the Nikon d90 and s8000 simultaneously.  My interests range from serious landscape, night, and grab-shot street photography to cliche family/kitten keepsakes, so it is hard for me to find one camera that will do it all.

I was drawn to the Canon T2i when it was announced in February, and went to the shop to pick up the first available unit.  The salesman found out that I was an old Nikon hand, having purchased an s2 as my first camera back in the day.  He said the Canon was a great camera, but people who are used to the essential photographers’ quality of Nikon needed to try the D90.  I put it on plastic and started shooting, and was disturbed by the number of unsuccessful shots I got out of the box.  After reading everything I could get my hands on, however, I realized there are subtleties of setting and set-up in the D90 that make a huge difference between a blurry dull shot and a crisp keeper.  It takes time to learn them because it has a lot to do with your personal style.  Do you spend minutes setting up every shot, and learn every menu choice?  Or do you go about clicking at everything and picking up pointers as you go?  Or something in between?

I am an in-betweener, but once I learn a lesson I keep it.  My progress with the D90 was dramatic over the first two weeks.  There is no substitute for taking the camera out in the world and learning how it fits your profile, and vice versa.  If I had judged based on the first day only, I would have dropped the D90 like a hot burrito.

I started out with a Canon sd780, however, for the P&S complement to the DSLR.  I was still convinced that the over-all image quality of a Canon P&S beat the Nikons in every dimension except color.

Again I was advised to try the S8000, and give it some time before making the decision.  Again I found out that the innate photographic intelligence of the Nikon beat out the Canon, despite some superior engineering choices in the lens zoom range and interface design.

I have been using the S8000 for two weeks now, after a week with the Canon SD780 and the SD980.  I was prepared to turn it back in after a week, and now I am hooked.

Everyone else has commented adequately on the pixel density, start up speed, lack of zoom in video, blah blah. I want to make the point that using a complex instrument such as the new generation of P&S has become requires time, patience, and a fair degree of dedication if you want to get the most out of your camera.

I am getting fantastic photos out of the D90 and S8000 now, and they complement each other beautifully across the entire range of my photographic interests.  I was willing to abandon my loyalty to Nikon when I started this upgrade of my kit, but I found that adapting my shooting style and conceptualization of the shot set up slightly has resulted in maximum quality from the Nikons.

Was I prejudiced in the beginning?  Perhaps, perhaps negatively prejudiced for having such cruddy results in low light from the Coolpix 5600 I bought a few years ago.

The point is, there was a learning curve, I knew what I wanted but it took some time to really find out if the Nikons could deliver.

And boy do they deliver for me now.

Sorry for the lengthy un-web speed post, but I think the point needs to be made.  These are complex instruments, and no amount of engineering will compensate for a photographer’s impatience or sense of entitlement at the outset of learning.

3:40 pm - Wednesday, April 7, 2010

#35 Max from Leicester

I think the salesman meant that if you are used to the layout of the Nikon DSLR camera controls, who will find the Canon DSLR camera more difficult to use. Even the on/off switch is in difficult place if you are used to Nikon’s switch conveniently placed next to the shutter release.  Surely the s8000 with it’s modern sleek design is still not up to the quality of the other two. Isn’t the image sensor a lot smaller to start with ?

5:11 pm - Wednesday, April 7, 2010

#36 memory stick

I bought this right when it was released at best buy. This camera takes some getting used to. Eg. must press the shutter button down for a little so the camera can autofocus process and only then take the picture. Otherwise your photos will come out blurry and soft. Also disable some of the effects and playing around with that will help with making the pictures look better. Once you find the settings and how to use this camera, in my opinion is the best point and shoot.

2:21 pm - Wednesday, April 14, 2010

#37 Jason

I have three Nikon DSLR’s and they are all making money for me. I used to shoot all day with any one of them, before starting my business, now I see that as a liablilty. So I wanted something simple, something I could stick in my pocket and go. I gave the S8000 a try knowing the IQ wasn’t going to be on par with my other cameras, it wasn’t going to give the same low light ability as my other cameras and it wasn’t going to be as fast as my other cameras. With that said, this camera does the job. I still use manual WB outside, the shots seem cool to me on auto. I wish it had a dedicated flash pop up button, since the flash pops up. The video does have feedback, but I don’t use video, so it doesn’t bother me. The flash fills nicely outdoors. I use auto ISO with the range peaking at 800, and get nice shots indoors without flash. I originally thought the zoom was overkill, but I use it all the way, with digital zoom off, pretty often. I don’t find myself wanting to go wider that much, since I use primes often with my DSLR’s, I’m used to taking a step back. The colors can be flat for landscapes, but right on for portraits. PP fixes that anyway. This is my second p/s and by far the best I’ve owned. It made leaving my DSLR’s at home a much easier decision.

3:36 pm - Thursday, May 6, 2010

#38 Bob

Trying to decide between the S8000 and Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7. Hear good about both, like the flash placement on the panasonic better, but poor low light pictures, aslo one reviewer droped theirs less then 2 feet onto a bus floor and the zoom broke. My old Nikon Coolpic 4100 is getting dated and the pictures leave a lot to be deisred to others in our group so I decided to upgrade to a better camers… Who would have thought it would be so hard to make a decision on a Point and Shoot. Any comments on what to choose?

8:05 pm - Thursday, May 6, 2010

#39 Jeff Beddow

Well, I have had the Nikon s8000 for almost two months now, and never leave home without it. 

I was tempted by the Lumix high end P&S because of the built-in GPS and supposedly faster focussing in low light, but I think the Nikon stands up to any P&S if you have it on single shot, no start-up screen, fixed ISO mode.  I have almost recaptured the agility of my first Nikon S2 rangefinder, which had 0 lag for anything.  And nothing electrical, either.

The D90 is unquestionably a grander camera and better for many things.  But I seem to always have the S8000 with me, in a pocket or belt case.  I only take the D90 out on special shoots and weekends, and there you are.

9:54 pm - Thursday, May 6, 2010

#40 jl

Good review of Nikon Coolpix S8000. I wish you have included more popular point-and-shoot cameras, like Power Shot S90, from CANON, besides PANASONIC’s, in ypur comparison with main rivals. I guess you’re just not into CANON.

7:30 pm - Monday, May 10, 2010

#41 kym

nice camera for us average people taking pics of the kids at events. flash was placed in a questionable location. takes great movie clips.
i managed to drop the camera out of my hands and on to the kitchen floor. the corner dented but the camera still works fine. with something so small i was expecting it not even to open.

9:40 pm - Tuesday, May 11, 2010

#42 Linden

I am trying to purchase a compact superzoom. I have narrowed it down to the following:

-Nikon S8000
-Canon SX210 IS
-Sony DCS-HX5


I value image quality first and foremost and I don’t anticipate using the video feature. Could someone please let me know what they think the best choice would be?

Thanks!

8:17 am - Thursday, May 13, 2010

#43 peekaboo

Hmmmm, this isn’t looking good so far! I was thinking about buying the S8000, but now, I’m
having second thoughts.

Has anyone had any luck with the Nikon L110?

I’m thinking about going with the Sony W330..
the “camera guy” at Best Buy gave it a big
thumbs up on “picture quality”....

7:29 pm - Thursday, May 13, 2010

#44 trevor

Like Bob, I too, am deciding between the Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7 and the S8000. I’ve read alot of reviews and seen that both of these have gotten really good feedback. I’m not much of a photographer and don’t have much experience with cameras either. That said, I want to get a good camera and get the most out of it. I read that one person who worked with his S8000 really loved it. Again, any comments for Bob or I?

9:30 pm - Thursday, May 13, 2010

#45 pat

I’m thorned between a S8000 and a P100. 
I have a D90, but i travel a lot, and is not feasible to carry the D90 everywhere, so i am looking for a camera that has speed shutting, good zoom and that is light to carry with me everywhere all the time…

Can someone shed some light on these?

5:35 pm - Friday, May 14, 2010

#46 SUSIQ

CAN ANYONE RECCOMEND A POCKET CAMERA UNDER $300 THAT I CAN TAKE ON MY NEXT TRIP TO THE BALTIC
I AM SO CONFUSED AFTER READING COMMENTS ON SEVERAL DIFFERENT CAMERAS THAT I NEED SOME HELP
MY EMAIL ADDRESS IS .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

4:02 pm - Sunday, May 16, 2010

#47 Bob

I bit the bullet and ordered the Nikon S8000.  I went on the fact that my last P&S was a Nikon and I have had zero problems and for the most part the photos were good.  The real factor was it seems like it maybe a little more rugged then the Panasonic from a few reports I’ve read and for a travel camera that, along with good pictures, is important.

5:24 pm - Sunday, May 16, 2010

#48 GC

I actually got my hands on the S8000, Canon S90, and the Panasonic TZ7, and was comparing the three. (actually I never looked at nikon’s compact, but the salesperson recommended that I take a look).  I like the S90’s control and the classic styling, not to mention to picture quality, yet the zoom is significantly weaker than the TZ7, and also no HD movie recording.  I didn’t like TZ7’s styling but I like all the features that come with it.  Yet, after testing out the S8000, I am amazed in how it outperforms TZ7 (in terms of picture quality, esp. in high ISO) and the S90 (in terms of the the zoom/ HD movie).  I have to admit the S8000 doesn’t look good (that’s why I’m still thinking if I should get it, plus it’s not made in Japan like the other 2 cameras I was comparing).  BUT I would say the picture quality is among the best, if not the best.  Go to a store to test it out before you say Nikon sucks, I dunno where the 3 second thing came from, but when i tried it out I could take picture within a second after a press the on/off button.  I’m not a Nikon fan, but when you look at the picture quality closely, you’ll know what I’m talking about.  (my other cameras are Canon 7D and Ricoh GX100)

1:10 pm - Tuesday, May 18, 2010

#49 Camera Shopping

Firstly thank you for the awesome collection of information! I’m generally a Nikon fan (totally dedicated until my D80 became faulty and found that it was very common, just search “error d80” or “error d90” on google, it’s ridiculous).

Now with your image examples I am appalled at the S8000. The amount of compression in Nikon’s technology is surprisingly bad, what a shame! The only thing going for it is the colour. I’m sold on the Panasonic TZ10, it’s definitely worth the extra dollars.

1:20 pm - Monday, May 24, 2010

#50 camera shopper

here is my story: purchased S8000, returned it in a few days. Loved design, loved controls but.. when it came to picture quality, that was really disappointing. I wish I could attach my sample picture of the same scene I made w/ S8000 and my old 5M camera (made by HP, btw). in few words they are too noisy and too soft in details, you could literally see a ‘white dust’ around edges of white flowers on dark background. If picture quality matters to you, do not buy this camera.

8:53 am - Tuesday, May 25, 2010

#51 You dont need to know my name

im going on a People to People Student Ambasodor trip. It is where kids from amreica go all around the world with other kids to represent america while learning of other cultures. I will be going to England,Ireland,Scotland, and Whales. i think that the Nikon coolpix s8000 will be perfect in capturing my trip abroad.

7:48 pm - Monday, May 31, 2010

#52 Shopy

I love the idea of a compact nikon with 10x zoom.  For all the people who say it was not the first compact camera to have 10x zoom and that nikon is always behind everything else it was the best but when other companies saw thi and decided to do the same.  For all the people who think the30mm lens is a bad choise it dosnt rely have any effect on the picture and the color on the pictures are amazing.  Why buy a camera with horrible color just because it has a 24mm lens and mabey starts up faster.  Seriously people what do you think matters the most.  Also don’t complain about this camera because it’s min shutter speed can only go to 5 secs because not everyone in the world cares about that and the camera is built to be a simple point and shoot.  If you want something to complain about than complain about the low battery life.  I just need to ask one thing.  Which woud you get the cybershot H55 or the coolpix s8000. Don’t give me stupid details but anything that might be important to a kid just trying to take some decent pictures on vacation.  Just because I’m a kid dosnt mean I don’t know a quality camera when I see one so don’t think that I don’t know about things like shutter speed and ios or effective pixles.  Thank you

3:09 pm - Tuesday, June 8, 2010

#53 Rich

I can’t get my s8000 to focus.The more I hold the shot button 1/2 way down the worse it gets. What am I doing wrong?

10:40 pm - Tuesday, June 15, 2010

#54 sharath kumar bhat

Purchased NIKON S 8000. CAMERA HAS GONE BAD IN LESS THAN 30 DAYS. PROBLEM WITH ZOOM FUNCTION AND FAULTY MECHANISM OF LENS RETRACTION. FLASH HAS BEEN PLACED AT THE WRONG PLACE AND INTERFERES WHILE USING THE CAMERA. NIKON IS NOT RESPONSIVE OF RESOLVING THE PROBLEM. DELIBERATE BEFORE PURCHASING THIS MODEL. BAD SHOW FROM NIKON.

3:34 am - Friday, June 18, 2010

#55 Chucky

I purchased this camera having read several reviews.  I knew the flash was in a bad position and thought I could contend with that.  It was more of a pain than I anticipated.  I figured that the HD video noise people were describing would have been a malfunction in the camera that they received.  I did not experience the noise that several people described but I did notice a clicking sound on playback.  The sound was created when the zoom was used during recording.  I exchanged the camera for another one thinking it may have been a malfunction in that camera… the replacement did the same thing.  The clicking is loud enough that it really distracts and in some cases covers up sound from the subject your recording.  When you don’t use the zoom, the video is great.  I contacted Nikon and they provided me with a quote from the owner’s manual…

““This is not a malfunction.

As stated in your User’s Manual, “The sounds of zoom control operation, autofocus lens drive movement and vibration reductions were recorded.”“

They know about this and put it the manual but not in the specs or on the packaging.  You don’t know about it until after you’ve made the purchase or read it online.  I am so over Nikon for a while.  I will be returning the second one and looking into other options.  It is a shame because the camera takes great pictures and is small enough to carry in my pocket.

5:26 pm - Thursday, June 24, 2010

#56 Kailey

Okay, I am still a kid and all, but why would you zoom in while recording!? Its just plain stupid. Zoom in before starting it.

I really want this camera, and I am saving up for it. I want to be a professional photographer when I grow up and Nikon has really good cameras.

Next spring, I am going to Washington D.C. and New York City with my school and I want to have great pictures. I live in California so I am really excited to go on this trip.

The S8000 is amazing. I have tried it out at Best Buy and it is just plain amazing. So, thats all I am gonna say.

9:49 pm - Sunday, July 18, 2010

#57 Jeff Beddow

I have had the S8000 since February, and love it.  Period.  Every single thing that bugged me turned out to be something that could be adjusted somewhere.  The biggest headache for me was the slow shutter time, but once you learn how to preset the focus,focal length and exposure in a setting, you can fire off grab shots almost as easily as with a rangefinder or DSLR.  I think Nikon has hit a home run with this baby.  Ironically, if you like that term, digital is simply not the greatest mode for my style of photography!  That isn’t what I expected to learn from all this experimenting, testing, etc.  Now I carry the S8000 and use it as a light meter when I am not sure what settings to use on my Nikon S2 or F. A $300 light meter, but it absolutely rocks.

Everything changes.

12:04 am - Monday, July 19, 2010

#58 Dennis Rich

Coolpix S8000

Purchasing the S8000 couple weeks ago and I’m still wery happy with its performance. The only dissapiontment was, when I connected the camera, using the Audio/Video cable supplied with the camera,  to TV set, to see the pictures. I tried two different LCD television units, which both work wery well with my two other digital cameras, but the picture was rather dissaponting. So I purchased the HDMI cable and used it to connect the S8000 to TV set and found the picture extremly good, sharp and the colours just perfect.
The only think I’m not happy with, is the position of the flash. It should be located in different position.

Dennis Rich

1:49 am - Monday, July 19, 2010

#59 cjjk

S8000 arrived a few days ago.  REALLY frustrated with the inaudible volume.  The flash is in an awkward position.  I may have to return this & purchase the Panasonic TZ7 as I want an extended zoom.  Picture lag does not seem any quicker than my old Panasonic TZ3.  If anyone has a solution for the volume, please let me know.

3:58 am - Monday, July 19, 2010

#60 Chuckles

Broke my last camera during holiday in UK.  Purchased the S8000 after recommendations and used it for the remaining 3 weeks of our European Holiday.  We have been extremely pleased with the ease of use and outstanding quality of pictures.

7:51 am - Wednesday, July 21, 2010

#61 vinicius giusti

I bought this camera, but realised that when making movies the audio has a constant pitched noise in high frequences. And I ask myself: why is there the choice to have stereo, if there is a noise stereo? Why the seller tried to convince me that this sound is normal for this kind of cameras. I had a Pentax Optio E35, lower quality and lower price than the Nikon S8000 and this noise doesn’t exist. The Nikon S8000 is a camera for photo, but not for videos. I really feel fooled. Thank you Nikon.

5:06 pm - Monday, August 9, 2010

#62 Boc

I’ve had this camera for a month and I love it. As a professional, having used D1x’s, S5Pro’s etc, I can honestly say that this is the first digital camera that I don’t hate.

This 3 second lag that is refered to just isn’t there on my camera… I can startup and take photo’s straight away.

I didn’t buy it to use video and haven’t even tried, so I can’t comment on that.

As a compact camera (for taking photo’s), it’s excellent.  My only gripe is that the software dosen’t work terribly well.

Btw… Mine cost £170 from Jessops, not £189 as the page shows.

2:22 pm - Tuesday, August 10, 2010

#63 david

after i take a picture, i check it on playback mode
and its super blurry unless i zoom in
know a solution?

2:00 am - Friday, August 13, 2010

#64 Trev

How many times was the point about the 3 second lag before being able to take a picture brought up in this article…lots…and I just find it laughable. Imagine having to wait a whole 3 seconds! 3 SECONDS. What a nonsense article in places.

12:29 am - Wednesday, September 15, 2010

#65 Confused..

Hey guys,

A newbee in cameras.. Need a pocket camera for travelling, scenery, and am an aeromodeller so would need smthing good to zoom in the sky and click snaps..

Was thinking of the Nikon S8000 or Sony H55 ?

really confused..going to a shop today..I guess will have to trust what I see..

would really appreciate some advice..

cheers.

10:31 am - Saturday, November 13, 2010

#66 Bob

Confused, Understnad where your at… as it took me forever to pick a camera. I chose the s8000 and love it.  About the only complaint I have is the flash placement, but once you get used to it it’s OK.

6:16 pm - Saturday, November 13, 2010

#67 wendell Laposata

Love the camera, but i took comparison shots with my old Sony H2 (big, bulky, 12X zoom and only 5MP).  Couldn’t believe it, the Sony took better shots when zoomed into a certain area of pic.  However, colors were about same quality.  Zoom and standard shots outdoors were compared.  S8000 was set at 14MP, although not the fine setting thereof.  So, although I’m happy with small size of Nikon, i may prefer the 5MP Sony when taking a serious outdoor shot for a photo contest, etc.  (Flash mode on Sony is NOT good however…battery runs out!)

4:06 pm - Saturday, November 27, 2010

#68 M.S. Qureshi

Camera has its pop-up flash at the most awkward of all possible locations. Almost invariably your left hand grip blocks it from popping. That ruins the most precious of moments to be photographed.

3:59 pm - Friday, December 10, 2010

#69 vignesh

FOR ALL THOSE WHO WERE COMMENTING ABOUT THE 3 SECONDS LAG .. THIS IS THE INFORMATION FOR YOU ...

THERE IS NO 3 SECONDS LAG IN THIS S8000 MODEL ..
I CAN SWITCH IT ON AND TAKE PHOTO IMMEDIATELY ...

JUST GOT THIS CAMERA YESTERDAY , AND I’M ALL SATISFIED BUT FOR THE POSITION OF THE FLASH, WHICH POPS OUT PUSHING OUT LEFT FINGERS OUT IF YOU USE BOTH YOUR HAND ... BUT NORMALLY COMPACT CAMERA’S ARE USED SINGLE HANDED, SO I REGRET THAT COMPLAIN TOO ....

OTHER THAN THAT , ITS PERFECT AND I GIVE FULL MARK TO IT ...

3:14 am - Monday, February 7, 2011

#70 Tania

I’m very disappointed with this camera.  I don’t understand it, when I review the pics looks great but once I upload to my computer or print it is horrible.  Actually I really like the videos, but I really wanted to take good pictures.  I also have an old nikon D40 which I like very much.  In the past (7 years or so) I had 2 fuji point and shoot and I was able to take very nice pictures.  I can just think that I’m doing something wrong.  The pictures I have taken with this camera, so far were really bad!  HELP!!!

2:10 am - Friday, February 11, 2011

#71 pete

I would not buy this camera, i purchased it on 19 March and went on holiday 9 May.  The Camera stopped working after 2 days no Flash and then the screen went like a black and white TV when your take the arial out!!! mine is on its way back! Now i will replace it with a Sony!

2:39 pm - Monday, May 23, 2011

#72 Ken

Liked the pics but not very happy with product when the first one didn’t work out of the box and then the replacement only lasted 6 months. Now they won’t refund money, need to spend more money on this junk to mail it in for repairs. Problem this time is the power button only works sometimes and when it does turn on then it will shutoff by itself when you go to take a pic. Purchased for xmas 2010- opened January (broken) replaced, now it broke again in August 2011. Good luck to any buyers

4:57 pm - Saturday, September 24, 2011

#73 oscar mendez

If anyone is seriously thinking about buying a S8000 my advice is DON’T DO IT. I bought mine a year ago and after six months I started experiencing problems, the main one being the camera shuts off as soon as I turn it on, I purchased 2 year warranty so I was able to send it in for repair, no once, no twice but 5 TIMES and they don’t seem to find what the problem is.I hope you can use my advice. Canon is the best by far.

3:31 pm - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#74 Naren

Nikon Cool pix s8000- There are no pics stored in the camera but still I am getting Out of Memory status.What would have gone wrong.Kindly help

2:15 pm - Thursday, April 12, 2012

#75 Sharon

I received this camera as a Christmas gift in 2010 and it only worked properly for about 6 mos.  I too have had issues with the camera shutting off for no reason, have had the blank screen and the battery that came with the camera stopped working after only 8 mos of use.  I have had various brands of cameras before and have never had to replace a battery.  Now the lens wont open and I get an error message that says Lens Error!.  When I had the first problem, after only 6 mnos, I called to see about getting it replaced only to find out they would not do anything, except have me mail it in for Nikkon to look at.  As much as that would cost and for the inconvenience of being without a camera, I chose to just keep limpng this thing along.  The paint has also worn from the lens as another reader stated.  I am now shopping for a Cannon…enough of Nikkon and their poor quality and poor service.  I think a new camera should last longer than 6 mos without having issues.

7:26 pm - Saturday, April 28, 2012

#76 sam.fez

Had this product 2yrs can anyone help. lens refusing to work, or pops out then back in.
please feel free to email.
would be grateful for any advice.

4:08 pm - Sunday, December 30, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, review, 720p, wide-angle, nikon, 14 megapixel, coolpix, 10x zoom, s8000, Nikon Coolpix S8000 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry