Nikon Coolpix S80 Review

4.0
October 22, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

33 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Gina

This looks great. Thanks for posting.

11:45 am - Friday, October 22, 2010

#2 navaneeth

good one….
waiting for Nikon Coolpix S8100 review….

12:04 pm - Friday, October 22, 2010

#3 flash gallery

This camera is easy to handle and small in size with attractive features. The clarity of picture is quite good compared to its rivals. It has got high resolution and sharp contrast.

1:40 pm - Friday, October 22, 2010

#4 Photographer

Nice camera but seems just a bit overpriced.

6:09 am - Saturday, October 23, 2010

#5 Nikon S80

The new Coolpix S80 is a roughly 16.5-mm slim body with a widescreen 3.5-inch OLED monitor, the fun and stylish model that takes vivid photos with easy touch operations, and all that for just 290$ (the best I found on http://amzn.to/aiQ8oC). what a great deal for such an advanced and wonderful camera.

11:03 am - Saturday, October 23, 2010

#6 alex

very poor images.

4:45 pm - Sunday, October 24, 2010

#7 charleston photographer

Thank you for sharing.  A little overpriced at this point, but i’m sure that will go down soon enough.  Love all Nikon products.

7:49 pm - Monday, October 25, 2010

#8 Cheryl

This camera seems cool- with the touchscreen… I bought this camera and had to return it-it is THAT bad. First it is not easy to review pictures, touchscreen not very receptive.  But most importantly—Awful, awful picture quality. Flash was too bright -on all settings. Do not believe anyone who says this camera takes “good pictures”.
Do not waste your money. I had a canon that broke so tried this camera, returned it and bought another canon.

7:49 pm - Wednesday, November 3, 2010

#9 meme

the nikon s5100 its much better and cheaper.

3:38 pm - Saturday, November 6, 2010

#10 Fabio

Have to Agree with Cheryl. Bought this camera for Christmas and what a major disappointment…all the pictures were horrible!!! Returning it first thing Monday morning..people don’t waste your money.

6:00 am - Sunday, December 26, 2010

#11 Audrey

I had the same problem as Fabio and Cheryl. It was a gift for Christmas and while I loved the shape, style and huge touch screen the picture quality was just flat. There was nothing striking about the photos and it was blurry taking pictures on the fly. I had a Canon before as well and I will probably go back tomorrow when I return the camera to the store.

2:46 am - Monday, December 27, 2010

#12 nery

this camera is a total rip off , very poor pictures , lots of bubbles in every single picture, firt time in morning we are taking it back to the store, don’t wast your money on this camera

4:25 am - Monday, December 27, 2010

#13 Tracy

Extremely weird, white Orbs in all indoor pics…occasionally I get a good pic, but most pics are bad.  Also, periodically the camera just stops working and locks up.  The only way to get it to do anything is to take the battery out and put it back in, then power it back on.  It has done this on me about 10 times and I have only had it for five days.  I am sending it back, hopefully finding a camera that consistently takes good looking pictures.

2:13 am - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#14 Jennifer

I ordered this camera based on the tv commercials and it’s the worse camera I ever had.  Tried using it on New Years Eve and the pictures were horrible.  Packing it up as I speak.

2:46 am - Monday, January 3, 2011

#15 Patty

Agree with the last several postings - blurry pictures, powers off at will etc.  Mine is on it’s way back.

12:40 am - Tuesday, January 11, 2011

#16 CJ

I’ve always bought Nikon and always had very good pictures.  This camera I got for Christmas and have been very disappointed.  Flash is too bright, blurry pictures, weird white orbs appear in the pictures and forget trying to take a quick picture.  Very, very disappointed in this camera.

2:52 pm - Monday, January 17, 2011

#17 WAC

I think its what I wanted.  Its a shirt pocket thin, point and Shoot that I can have ready at a moments notice.  It resets fast, and its easy to use.  though the pics aren’t the best quality, they are fine for what I use this cam for.  I have a Nikon DSLR for the times I really want to take a frameable pic.

3:54 pm - Saturday, January 22, 2011

#18 djhc

I was having problems until I read what settings are best. Then I started getting great photos! This camera does more than just “point and shoot”!

6:27 am - Saturday, January 29, 2011

#19 vaibhav

I got this camera on X-mas eve.I am happy with the touch screen and easyness of the product.But if u go deeper in videos,camera hangs and only way to make it work is take the battery out.But pic quality is good.Need to focus while taking photos.

9:49 am - Tuesday, February 8, 2011

#20 Pebblz

Very unhappy with the camera. I was extremely excited when I got it but when I started to use it the second day, weird white or colorful lines appeared in the pictures and WILL NOT GO AWAY! I’m very disappointed, I would never recommend this camera to anyone.

11:29 am - Thursday, March 24, 2011

#21 Orolando McNair

I just purchased my Nikon S80 last night at Costco for $179.00 after $50 in-store rebate. Since this is my 1st new camera in 5-6 years, it will take some getting use to.Technology changes. Someone mentioned reading the manual for best results. I think I’ll do that. So far, the images have been very good for a senior citizen. I like the touch screen action.

6:34 pm - Wednesday, June 15, 2011

#22 mb

I bought this camera before July 4th. First could not take good pictures. I learned how to change the settings. Now it’s taking very high quality pictures. Great night shots, firework shots, Love panorama assist. Its Slim and light weight and nice looking toy. It is a more than point and shoot.

5:40 pm - Friday, July 15, 2011

#23 Ras

Same problem as other users… Orbs, blurry action shots, flash too bright, bad indoor shots. What I find most annoying is having to slide open to review pics and that the battery life level isn’t shown.

6:02 am - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#24 mb

After using it for two months I returned it.
Pros: Great Picture functions. Take very good quality shots. It captures great HD movies. It’s great for occasional use.
Cons: Slider experience gets painful. 20% of good shots got my left finger in the picture. Its lens gets too close to the finger. Agree with Ras Battery gets very hot and takes fewer pictures than other models per charge. It could be because I was on the high altitude. But camera kept stop working because of battery getting too hot. I was the only one in the group needed to remove battery every 30mins :-(P Touch screen is cool but sometimes feels like it should have buttons. To start HD movie you have to navigate through too many options. Will be nice if there was a button right on camera to take HD. Returned it and got Coolpix 6100. Let’s see how that goes.

4:31 pm - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#25 mb

After using it for two months I returned it.
Pros: Great Picture functions. Take very good quality shots. It captures great HD movies. It’s great for occasional use.
Cons: Slider experience gets painful. 20% of good shots got my left finger in the picture. Its lens gets too close to the finger. Battery gets very hot and takes fewer pictures than other models per charge. It could be because I was on the high altitude. But camera kept stop working because of battery getting too hot. I was the only one in the group needed to remove battery every 30mins :-(P Touch screen is cool but sometimes feels like it should have buttons. To start HD movie you have to navigate through too many options. Will be nice if there was a button right on camera to take HD. Returned it and got Coolpix 6100. Let’s see how that goes.

4:33 pm - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#26 mb

After using it for two months I returned it.Pros: Great Picture functions. Take very good quality shots. It captures great HD movies. It’s great for occasional use.Cons: Slider experience gets painful. 20% of good shots got my left finger in the picture. Its lens gets too close to the finger. Battery gets very hot and takes fewer pictures than other models per charge. It could be because I was on the high altitude. But camera kept stop working because of battery getting too hot. I was the only one in the group needed to remove battery every 30mins :-(P Touch screen is cool but sometimes feels like it should have buttons. To start HD movie you have to navigate through too many options. Will be nice if there was a button right on camera to take HD.

4:36 pm - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#27 Brad M

Pros. nice small lightweight design that fits easily in your pocket.

Cons. Do not put this camera in your pocket. The screen is very fragile and although the glass will hold up, the screen beneath the glass is very easily damaged. The only way to replace the screen is to pay over 25% of the cost of the camera to Nikon to get a new screen fitted. As for the quality… Buy a Canon and if you must have a touch screen get an iPhone

10:18 am - Monday, October 17, 2011

#28 Jayant

Very useful review for buyers. It’s high style meets high tech with the ultra-slim, Touch Control Nikon COOLPIX S80, in a variety of colors. The 14.1-megapixel S80 features a 5x Wide Zoom-NIKKOR ED glass lens, and HD (720p) stereo sound movie recording.

Fantastic features for money.

6:01 am - Saturday, January 28, 2012

#29 mcdrewby

I ordereds this camera through wal-mart for 99.00 without reading the reviews. I saw that some people said that they changed the settings and it improved quite a bit.. what settings did you change and how? I would LOVE to know as I do not want to wait another two weeks to order a different camera…. (samsung PL120) :)

7:43 am - Saturday, March 10, 2012

#30 mcdrewby

I purchased this camera without reading the reviews.. I am still waiting for it to arrive. I picked it up at wal-mart for 99.00, and i saw that some people changed the settings to improve quality. What settings did you change, and how did you do it? I just dont want to wait another two weeks to order another camera and have it shipped….(samsung PL120).. :)

7:55 am - Saturday, March 10, 2012

#31 jojo

I was so excited to have this and now it just stops working randomly.Waste of money.

5:29 am - Monday, April 30, 2012

#32 Kathy

I agree with mcdrewby…..please let me know what to change the settings to to avoid blurry pictures and how to do it.  It is very frustrating.

9:37 pm - Sunday, August 19, 2012

#33 Ganeshan Nadarajan

The blog is interesting!

10:49 am - Monday, December 31, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, review, 720p, nikon, beginner, 5x zoom, 14 megapixel, touch-screen, coolpix, 3.5 inch LCD, OLED, s80, Nikon Coolpix S80 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry