Nikon Coolpix S9100 Review

4.5
April 18, 2011 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

107 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Kym Crowley

The battery needs to be in the camera whilst charging. That is just dumb. I’ll stick to the Sonys thanks…

11:36 am - Monday, April 18, 2011

#2 marnix claus

At wide ,only the centre look good.
No thanks,At 300€ you can get for an little more the Canon S95 Even at an lower prise the Olympus SP800
and this camera give better pictures to.
If the wide pictures are not good,why bug for an 18X zoom.
I have to amid I hoped for better results at the wide end.

Thank you for the wonderful review :)

3:18 pm - Monday, April 18, 2011

#3 jkar

I am looking for a point and shoot for backup and I thing this is a good one.

3:25 pm - Monday, April 18, 2011

#4 Frank Stanton

Glad to see Nikon is finally making point and shoots which are competitive and worth buying.

3:53 pm - Monday, April 18, 2011

#5 r4 ds

I’ve actually been looking at this camera as my next purchase.  How does it compare to some of the canon cameras in this same price range?

4:33 pm - Monday, April 18, 2011

#6 Robert

Your reviewers should learn grammar and spelling. They all sound like idiots!
As to the review itself, it was very informative and helpful. I would like to see a summery critique of the image quality,...pros and cons etc. Additionally, comparing the new S9100 to the old S8100 would be very informative. I am trying to determine if I should upgrade from my S8100 while I can still return it.

6:32 pm - Monday, April 18, 2011

#7 zebarnabe

Looks like a nice camera… but a bit expensive… surely after a while price will go down.

7:13 pm - Monday, April 18, 2011

#8 Frank Stanton

I’m confused. How come the Pocket Lint web review of this camera has the identical picture of a manor house with a tree prominently showing in the foreground?

11:28 pm - Monday, April 18, 2011

#9 zebarnabe

Frank Stanton,
Nice catch… I suppose you talk about photo 12, however they are not the same photo (framing is not identical) :]

3:35 am - Tuesday, April 19, 2011

#10 Theo

Remember, #6 Robert, when you point the finger at others, three fingers are always pointing back at you.
You wrote: “Your reviewers should learn grammar and spelling. They all sound like idiots!”
Have you ever considered that English might not be their first language?
Also, you wrote that you would like to see a “summery” critique. I suppose you meant to write “summary” (unless, of course, you desire a critique written during the summer).

5:38 pm - Tuesday, April 19, 2011

#11 marnix claus

As for Robert.I hope his dutch and Frans is as good of my English.
Otherwise bug some one els.

7:18 am - Wednesday, April 20, 2011

#12 Roger

What a shame that the ‘main rivals’ list is well out of date!
The current Fuji travel zoom is the F550exr, for instance

3:38 pm - Wednesday, April 20, 2011

#13 Piotr

I wish Nikon had improved the night shoot mode. S9100 takes better pictures at night than its predecessor, but it is still worse than some of its competitors (see Sony CyberShot DSC-HX5).

4:18 pm - Wednesday, April 20, 2011

#14 sydneystone

Image Quality is good but I think color could be more enriched But one thing is for sure Nikon is really ahead in Higher ISO Management
Thanks For the In depth Study

5:11 am - Thursday, April 21, 2011

#15 Bee Jay

Is there anyone else out there who would rather more cameras gave us better basic functions, aperture, shutter priority, manual modes, rather than a glorious array of seldomly used scene modes? How often do we use soft focus, food, punk, fish-eye? This goes for many top end compacts, especially Olympus. I fear that, along with high megapixels, this is more about a short term fad, designed to catch a consumer’s eyes, rather than be of day to day use.

10:15 am - Thursday, April 21, 2011

#16 Alice

I agree with Roger! I’m dying to read something about the Fujifilm F550EXR! The specification is pretty cool, but I’d like to know something about the actual image quality as this is the No.1. priority… 

Pls guys, give us a nice review! :)

2:58 pm - Thursday, April 21, 2011

#17 zebarnabe

Bee Jay,

Most of the companies limit their firmware to some extend mostly to point users into more expensive cameras (that feature almost the same hardware).

Then there is the marketing hypes ...

For most users 6MP’s would be enough, and with current technology you could probably get clean ISO 800 if the cameras had such resolution.

To put more and more zoom without increasing the size another trend has appeared, cameras now have tiny sensors, add the extra mega pixels and you end up with really small photo-sites.

RAW capability is something that could be enabled in almost every camera (in some doesn’t make much sense). Manual modes follow this like of though as well.

However not everything is bad, while they have very high pixel densities, many show us good results, and some of those creative scene modes offer stuff that would otherwise be impossible due to a lack of manual controls, fish-eye, in some cameras - I should add, in very few, shows a wider angle view that is basically the raw data without distortion corrections being used, night/firework modes allow you to access longer exposure times.

But yes, most of the time is hard to understand why to put useless modes when it would be a lot better if the user knew how to use the camera. You just need to understand what Focal Length, Aperture, Shutter Speed and ISO do to an image… it’s not like one needs a PhD. to learn that.

3:01 pm - Thursday, April 21, 2011

#18 Alice

I agree with Roger. Pls, pls, give us a nice review on the Fujifilm F550 EXR! The specification is pretty cool, but what about the actual image quality?

3:02 pm - Thursday, April 21, 2011

#19 Portrait Photographer

The Coolpix S9100 is a great camera at a great price. I remember buying the D1 and this has better file sizes! Grant

1:00 pm - Friday, April 22, 2011

#20 Richard

As your review notes, this camera has a 4x3 rear screen - and, as far as I can see, with no option within the menu to set the frame to a 3x2 view. Is this some kind of joke? Totally unacceptable from any Nikon, not least a “high end” one like this.

12:54 pm - Saturday, April 23, 2011

#21 tim

This is a great camera which is small enough to carry in your pocket and still gives top class low light images and high speed focus and shooting nearing that of a DSLR. The sensor is quite good and in my opinion the fuji EXR’s are not as good or   better at all in any way.

For this money S9100 is the best till date. Its the type of camera which you would love to carry on a holiday with family and make great videos also with it too!

12:42 pm - Sunday, April 24, 2011

#22 Mark Sampson

bought this camera just a month ago, It worked for a week then the autofocus motor just kept buzzing and running non stop from the moment you turned it on, other that that the picture quality for a family pictures type camera were fantastic, crisp, sharp, excellent colour rendition and fast enough focus for shooting the kids, I just felt that in my hands the build quality was a bit iffy, I took it back with the fault and traded for a P300, and what an incredible little discovery that turned out to be.

11:01 pm - Saturday, April 30, 2011

#23 JOE bEAn

I really think the S9100 would be a great camera.  I wish it was a tad more thin, but the zoom range is awesome!  My other pic was teh Cannon S95 but that’s another 100 bucks and I don’t see myself spending all that time tweeking manual settings on such a tiny camera with a limited zoom.  Yep, it’s going to be the S9100.  My old Nikon L1 has been a great camera with excellent image quality, and still holding up well in spite it’s bulkiness and slow operation. .... so I’m pretty much sold on the Nikons!

1:36 am - Monday, May 2, 2011

#24 photo

Hello everyone.
Please advice, I want to buy a new digital camera.
Look at photo quality. Not features, not add-ons, stuff.
The technical quality of the pictures for me, counts only.
Sharpness, colors, white balance.
I like some model.
Nikon s9100 - beautiful, wearable.
Sony wx5-small and neat.
Canon sx is 220/230
Nikon P300
May they all be the same matrix cmos-bsi.
Please that someone wrote me an email, which of these cameras,
offers the best quality pictures.
Does nikon s9100 is successful? doing a good photograph?
Is the P300 a s9100 or wx 5 or canon sx220-will be the difference in image quality?
My mail fotoartysta-monkey-wp, pl
Thank you and best regards.

3:42 pm - Tuesday, May 3, 2011

#25 zebarnabe

#24 photo,

That is not an email…. at least one I can decipher…

I suggest you look at samples from several websites, learn what aperture, ISO and exposure time does to a photo (this is important to assert if the photos were well taken).

If you’re thinking in video, check video samples as well… avoid youtube as it compresses the videos quite a bit.

Then, from the ones that please you most, check the features, ISO, exposure and aperture, as well as stabilization effectiveness. Interface speed, focus speed and photo to photo time are also interesting points.

Check the gimmicks, some cameras have panorama stitchers built-in or high speed video, others may have RAW, multi-aspect ratio sensors or other advanced photography stuff.

If possible, check the ergonomics and keys layout… some cameras are just impossible to hold and use. I have big hands so this is often a problem that troubles me.

Last, but not the least, check if that camera gives problems, foruns are a good source of information, but be wise in the way you read that information.

Join everything together and assert what is the best for you… PhotographyBlog and other websites help one to know a camera better, but then cannot replace the experience of trying one.

If you want to check the features in a easy way, google for snapsort…

Good luck!

11:34 pm - Tuesday, May 3, 2011

#26 Michael J

Couldn’t take your review.
It reads like a company ad or tech run down.
Nothing personal nor honest reviews.
Skimmed over it all and that was a waste!
You have your fans and some of them gave better reviews!

11:44 pm - Saturday, May 7, 2011

#27 Ron

I can’t understand how this camera gets such a high overall rating at such a high price. Low on features, excessive smearing at ISO 400 and up, soft edges and bad focus at the long end. Somehow it gets an overall score equal to it’s highest catagory score, while other brands get an overall score equal to their lowest catagory score.

Review score - 2.5.
Nikon love score - 5.
Overall score - 5.

2:41 pm - Monday, May 9, 2011

#28 Simon

Ron #27

I have to agree. Four & a half stars?? I’m in the final stages of looooong shortlist research and I’m pretty sure i’ll be getting a Lumix TZ9, but this review caught my eye as so many have done before :-/ At first this camera looks promising, but 4 secs max exposure? For £250+? Ok, you could probably just about make do for night shots at higher ISO (which admittedly looks good to me, at least in the review shots) but why should we have to? Would it really have killed Nikon to be just a bit more generous? Even a measly 8 secs would be a big improvement, and many much cheaper cameras go higher than that. And no manual modes, not even humble A or S priority.. Sorry PB, but it’s reviews like this that made me gradually lose faith in review sites.

2:16 am - Tuesday, May 10, 2011

#29 Rajan Uppal

I have recently bought S9100 and I would like to say that I am absolutely not satisfied with the quality of the images it took. Always blur and not focused snaps are there. I took my s9100 to Nikon authorized service center but they are saying that this camera has no problem. Despite my all afforts I am not able to take crisp and clear images. When you crop the image to 100%, you will always fond some blur and snow over there.

1:25 pm - Friday, May 13, 2011

#30 H. Schmitz (NL)

Nikon 9100 is not so good.
Photo’s, taken in bright very sunny daylight, are great. Zooming to the (optical)max also still gives good photo’s.
Stabalizing at full zoom is super.
But .. when daylight is heavy clouded, quality drops significantly. Blur, not focussed, lots of noise.
Night pictures, or photo’s in a medium lit room pictures without flash are simply bad.

And then video .. How can it be that video is showing more than 0.5 sec. delay than the audio?
Also, why is the microphone on top? The video is at the front, so should be the mic’s. Now you hear more sounds from around than from what you’re filming. Too many photo’s and all video’s on Nikon 9100 are NO fun to watch.
For me the Nikon Coolpix 9100 failed.

8:49 am - Thursday, May 19, 2011

#31 stan

I bought the 9100 for $260 US.  Cheaper at Walmart

7:44 pm - Saturday, May 21, 2011

#32 Low Budget Dave

I think the high score was because the pictures look good.  There are plenty of cameras that have good specs, maybe better, where the pictures are disappointing.  Anything that includes the word “waterproof” or example.

If you like the “Nikon look”, then you will like this better than the Canon SX230.  If you don’t care for Nikon, then check out the Canon pictures and see if you prefer those.

3:17 am - Monday, May 30, 2011

#33 Rajan Uppal

I have Nikon coolpix s9100. Recently my employe purchased one 3mega pixel and 3 x zoom Samsung camera for just 60 dolar. I am surprised to see the amazing crisp and clear images taken by him with that samsung camera. Nikon make simply fool. By comparing result from both the camera i was feeling like cheated by nikon.
Hell with Nikon’s long experience, Nikon is much behind then there competeters.

5:40 am - Monday, May 30, 2011

#34 Jade V

Thank you for this wonderful site! It’s helped me to decide between the 3 cameras I was considering (Nikon’s L120, S9100, and P300). I decided on the S9100 :)

10:58 pm - Tuesday, May 31, 2011

#35 Fabio

I have been a very happy owner of a Nikon S8100 for the past 6 months and 3 days ago I received the new Nikon S9100. In some foruns I found negative comments from S8100 owners about the S9100, I’m sorry to say they were right. The S9100 is not bad at all, but the S8100 is one of those rare almost perfect cameras. The problems I found were focusing speed and precision and macro mode. The 18x lens don’t work as well as the previous 10x. I really would like to have the effects and the sweep panorama of the S9100, but they are not worth the shortcomings. I was anxious to update the S8100 and bought the Canon SX230 and now the S9100, but they are not match for the outstanding Nikon S8100.

6:45 am - Wednesday, June 8, 2011

#36 weeping angel1920

I love my s9100 with the 18 zoom and special effects but after 2 months it as broken,it switches on but does nothing and won’t turn off, I hope this can be fixed. The pictures are so clear and close ups are easier and brilliant

7:40 pm - Tuesday, June 14, 2011

#37 Rajan Uppal

God bless those who choose Nikon s9100. In night s9100 go blind and give full of snow images. In day light, like a drunk man it takes photo. where is focus point GOd knows.

11:16 am - Wednesday, June 15, 2011

#38 Pettersson

I love the camera. Image quality is good and the zoom works well once you get used to it. The problem is that after having the s9100 for a month it froze up. Over the next day all sorts of quirky problems developed: not turning on, not shutting off. the zoom extending all the way out without any prompting, erasing pictures, etc. I intend to bring it back and get another, hoping it is a firmware problem.

12:40 pm - Wednesday, June 15, 2011

#39 John

Good Job Kym Crowley!

Little do you know your Sony battery charges the same way LMAO!

3:24 am - Saturday, June 18, 2011

#40 Paul

have taken more than 2000 pictures and 30 min of HD video, no problems, wonderfull shots, l like most the Bright Black&White; setting.

I added 2 extra batteries and a low-priced off-line AC battery loader.

For travelling i got kensington K33403 (wall/car/air) AC supply with extra USB load, so i got 1 PS for notebook and extras (phone,camera etc)

10:14 am - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#41 csense

I was thinking of getting this cam cause of the zoom and HD video, but the night-shot where there is heavy grain and extreme amounts of smear(look at bricks and sky) convinced me not to.

My Samsung L210 gets better night shots than this..and it’s old and sales for $75, it has better stabilization too at even no zoom.

These samples and review convinced me to buy a Sony HX9V instead, they seem to be on top of the CMOS compact game, I just have to lose 2x zoom, but gain features and better quality. Kodak, Pentax, Canon, Olympus and others couldn’t match the features&quality; without a bulky body and sky-high price..

I also saved $80 while getting better quality in my choice..

This comment is for other readers..writers here get paid six figures whether they read this or not..and I’m not famous or rich.

Maybe write reviews that don’t look like the writer was scared to have an opinion also..this is a staggering-boring trend on review sites..Nikon won’t kill your family if you say they are selling low-ball designes high-ball..

10:01 pm - Tuesday, July 5, 2011

#42 Jeannine

I bought this camera in March 2011… and while it takes beautiful pic…NIKON has had my camera longer than I have!! My first one had to be repaired 2x due to freezing up…so NIKON sent me a brand new S 9100….which I have had for 1 week…and now this one doesn’t do a thing!! Camera totally freezes up…I can’t get a refund from the store…I am hoping NIKON refunds my money….I am truly disappointed because I love the pis I was able to take with this camera

3:57 am - Friday, July 8, 2011

#43 Debbie

Just had to return my Coolpix S9100 after only four days of use!  It froze up on me on the Fourth of July, totally ruined my vacation!  I had to keep popping the battery release to reset and take a picture…..one at a time.  I have been reading other reviews and see we have all had the same problem….MAJOR GLITCH!!  I’m now purchasing the Sony Cyber Shot DSC HX9V, comparable but, dependable!

3:56 am - Sunday, July 10, 2011

#44 Ken

Same problem here. Brand new S9100 completely freezes up occasionally(approx 1/50 shots) while adjusting zoom. Have to remove battery and re-insert to reset. Fortunately images have been retained so far, but quite annoying as I’m in Europe on vacation. Will return camera to dealer upon returning to the US. Except for the freeze-ups…very pleased with camera.

11:57 am - Wednesday, July 13, 2011

#45 Linda

Same problem here, and we’re on a 6-week vacation across the U.S.! It’s not ruining our vacation, but it’s terrible. We still have a few weeks to go and I have to wait until we return home before we can do anything about it!

4:21 pm - Thursday, July 21, 2011

#46 Miranda Glasbergen

I’m having the same problem with the camera freezing up occassionally when adjusting the zoom. It started on my first Nikon S9100 after a few weeks of use, and then quickly became so frequent as to make the camera unusable. The great store I got it from (Mike’s in Denver) immediately gave me a new one, which did OK for a few months of on/off use. Now today the SECOND camera started displaying the same problem.

4:46 am - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#47 Lisa C

I too am experiencing the same frustrating freezing issues with this new camera.  Ii bought this camera late May to take with us to Europe - within 2 weeks it was freezing up on us and wouldn’t take a photo nor turn off.  Crazy and totally unacceptable given the high end price tag on this camera.  What a disappointment. I need to contact Nikon to have something done.  It doesn’t sound like fixing the camera is a viable option.

5:07 am - Thursday, August 4, 2011

#48 Cindy N

Brand new S9100 completely froze up after 4 days of use while on vacation….I have to get back to the store and get it replaced…hoping for better luck.

3:51 pm - Monday, August 15, 2011

#49 Jeannine

FINALLY… after several months of problems with the Nikon S9100 freezing up and NIKON refurbishing it/returning it to me/giving me a new one… I finally received a FULL refund from Nikon for my purchase price. I am truly disappointed as when it worked the 9100 took beautiful photos and I loved the Zoom capabilities. I will be looking into a replacement now… any suggestions?

12:27 am - Tuesday, August 16, 2011

#50 Fabio

To Jeannine
I’m shocked by the many problems with Nikons, could it be post earthquake/Tsunami models ? Even though they are not assembled in Japan, I’m sure that many components are made there and Nikon plants were seriously affected. I had the S9100 to substitute the wonderfull S8100 and I had no problems with it in terms of malfunctioning but it’s much inferior to the S8100, so if you want to try it you will be very happy. I have also the new sony HX9, you can check the review here, it was rated as essencial (5 stars) and I agree.

4:10 am - Tuesday, August 16, 2011

#51 Idahospud88

Got this camera in May and just started getting the freeze issue.  I was on vacation when this started happening.  Looking at all the post above me I have concluded that you can’t take this camera on vacation with you.  It will freeze up.

Got it at Amazon and will now begin the return/refund process.  I bet Nikon will not fix this problem.  Great Camera when it does not freeze up.

6:58 am - Sunday, August 21, 2011

#52 SeltzerHP

It is sad that one can get hung up on the grammar and Gavin’s writing skills instead of paying attention to the valuable contents of this review of S9100. All his efforts are very much appreciated. I had a Panasonic Lumix TZ5 and needed to upgrade. After reading this review, I ordered S9100 and I love it. Remember it is a point and shoot camera, and not a DSLR. Perfect for what I want to do with it. For the price (Amazon US), this camera is worth it.

3:40 pm - Sunday, August 28, 2011

#53 gopal

The camera comes loaded with features with the 18x optical zoom being its USP but inexplicably it just freezes up without a reason.You could be taking a snap on the auto mode or the scene selector mode or the night mode or maybe operating the full HD video and bang in the middle of it,the camera is dead-something like a laptop or a computer hanging up in which the only solution is ctrl+alt+del…Regrettably nikon doesn’t has those buttons and believe it or not you have to take out the battery and reinsert it again for the camera to regain its consciousness..Its something like Tony Soprano passing out in “The Sopranos”:)

I bought this camera because my first digicam was a nikon which I bought in 2005 and still use without a problem..and I love the natural image quality of it..Alas the mighty have fallen and how!!!

I want a refund and not a replacement because after researching on the net I have found hundreds of similar cases whereby even replacements of the same model S9100 have been having the same problem.Nikon R U LISTENING!!!

8:21 am - Sunday, September 4, 2011

#54 george

Nikon S9100. My review…

For such a great money I spent for it (400EUR) it does not deserve any praise. The quality of the pictures is very poor. I tried to set the focus in different ways with no results and finally set it as default but the same poor quality in any situation.
I full sun daylight, the quality seems to be good, but in any other light lower intensities, the qulaity of the pictures is low (the focus is bad bad bad !!) and the image looks like blured.
Itried even with greatest resolution 4000x3000* .. not worked.

If you ask me ... buy other cameras for such a great amount of money.

9:45 pm - Sunday, September 11, 2011

#55 Bonn

For $270, this camera is a must have.

11:38 pm - Wednesday, September 14, 2011

#56 Sunny

I am highly confused between Sony CYBER SHOT DSC HX9V and Nikon S9100. Which one is better amoung these in terms of image quality, video quality, night shots and features?  I need the camera for some casual clicks and not photography stuff.

Plz Help

7:02 am - Saturday, September 17, 2011

#57 Fabio

To Sunny
There`s absolutely no doubt that the HX9 is much superior. The Nikon S9100 was a big disappointment , and my model did not have the many quality issues that people are complaining here and in other forums. Everything in the Sony model works perfectly, focus, low light, HDR and the movies are breathtaking even in low light. Just read the reviews and opinions about it, absolutely superb.

8:34 am - Saturday, September 17, 2011

#58 bill

Own one and I regretted it. After just 6 weeks the camera continually froze. Had to remove battery to re boot the camera to get it to work. Retail store does not want to know about the problem nor does Nikon Lidcombe Sydney. Clearly has a electrical problem.

12:23 pm - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#59 Bill

Bought one on the 11/4/2011, and it failed on the 6 weeks later. Camera Freezes up at different times, similar to a computer and requires to be rebooted similar. That is remove the battery and replace it than it operates o.k. for awhile and the same problem occurs again. The ratailer and Nikon don’t want to know about their responsibilites of warranty. I suggest go for another brand in this cameras specs.

12:31 pm - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#60 sunny

@Fabio:Thank you so mch.I am done with researching.Going with Sony DSC-HX9V.As i am not a professional so speed will nvr bother me in a camera.
Thank You

7:34 pm - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#61 george

Good decision Sunny ! Go for Sony :). Nikon 9100 is a real failure.

7:11 am - Wednesday, October 12, 2011

#62 Marilynn

I have owned my s9100 for about six months and absolutely love it.  I am not a professional photogragher and I still find the camera easy to use and I get GREAT pictures with it.  I feel most of those that don’t like it, have human error problems.  Am looking to buy my daughter-in-law one for Christmas as she likes it as much a I do.

8:59 pm - Sunday, November 27, 2011

#63 george

I think the better you can do is to give your camera to her as a gift. In this way, you can buy then a better camera :)

1:33 pm - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#64 Sheila

Thanks for the thorough review.  This is my favorite site for camera reviews.  Can I ask if the nikon1 is SO much better than this camera?  Price is not comparable. Thanks!

3:31 am - Wednesday, December 7, 2011

#65 Marilynn

Okay George what don’t you like about the Nikon
S9100?  What camera would you recommend?

9:33 pm - Wednesday, December 7, 2011

#66 george

Canon EOS 450 D for about same money (400 EUR).

Excellent picture versus Nikon S9100.

10:51 pm - Tuesday, December 20, 2011

#67 george

Marylin here are my con’ and pro’ oppinions about S9100:

Con’s:
- I don’t like Nikon S9100 because the pictures are not so clear in the middle zone. Even if I tried, I could not do anything from the camera settings. The focus is not in the center !
With the zoom, the pictures are ok, but without it .. they are blured.
- Pictures in low light are horible, even its specific Night function activated.
- The colours are not so natural

Pro’s:
- The HD movies are ok.
- It is very fast in taking shots (faster than any camera in its range.
- Easy to use

My oppinion .. buy a canon 450 D at least. You will be very happy indeed ! (Is bigger, better and more proffesional)

Merry Christmaaasss !

11:01 pm - Tuesday, December 20, 2011

#68 roza

Mine freezes up too.. And cant reboot even after reinserting the battery.. Lost the the warranty card.. Im screwed..

2:43 pm - Sunday, December 25, 2011

#69 Marilynn

I am really lucky that I got the only good Nikon
S9100 out there. I get clear pictures and great
Close ups. Enough said and I’m off the bandwagon. Still
Love mine.

3:12 am - Monday, December 26, 2011

#70 Suzanne

Great review, the camera arrived the day before Christmas and we excitedly started snapping.  Major problem with indoor shots; the flash washes out photos fairly often.  Horribly overexposed. I have never had this problem with a camera on Auto mode.  When we turned off the flash, some photos were OK, others were blurry due to insufficient light.  Are we doing something wrong?

2:23 am - Wednesday, December 28, 2011

#71 Jeff

Oh damn, I wish I read these comments first.

After days of reading reviews and looking at sample photos, particularly higher ISO quality, I ended up getting the S9100. With only a few test photos, at least image quality far out performs my previous TZ series cameras (sure they have features, but image quality is not 1 of them).

Anyway, was highly debating between the SX230, HX9V or S9100/S8200. Ended up with the S9100, but now wishing I got the HX9V instead as I don’t fancy it my camera freezing (the TZ ruining my holidays before). Must check to see if there’s any new firmware from Nikon.

I do own a DSLR, so this purchase was just to save lugging 3KG around all the time. Must admit been a Nikon man for many a years, and always been anti Sony, though next DSLR looks like it’ll be a Sony. I do a lot of low light action shots, and Sony seem to have their processor tweaked nicely for this.

3:05 pm - Monday, January 9, 2012

#72 Phil Z

Purchased 1/14/12 as a back up to my new PEN E-P3.  My wife wanted a “pocketable” camera for her casual use.  Great little unit—good image quality and clarity as long as you do not attempt handheld 18x zoom photos—naturally they will be blurred with such a lightweight camera and exaggerated focal length!  This model is probably being replaced soon since my favorite photo shop was selling the kit (camera, leather case & extended warranty) for $199—a savings of $180.  Great deal on a fine camera!

3:07 pm - Monday, January 16, 2012

#73 Ann Cameron

I was talked into buying the Nikon S9100 whilst in Hong Kong in early November, 2011 and I was pleased with the few travel photos I took before coming home. Since I have been home I have mainly been using the camera to take photos of the grandchildren and to say I am disappointed is an understatement. I am lucky if one photo out of 20 don’t turn out blurry. Am I doing something wrong or is it a fault with the camera. I have read that a lot of people have the same problem.

5:00 am - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#74 Kathy snider

Wish I had never puchased the 9100 . After 2 months of light usage, it started freezing up on me. Merchant won’t do anything, now to Nikon. I want a full refund - what a disaster. Picture were consistently blurry. I have been shooting for years. Total disappointment!

4:41 am - Tuesday, March 13, 2012

#75 Ann Cameron

Thanks for your reply Kathy. I have just come back from two weeks away and I took my DSLR as well as the Nikon S9100. I am quite pleased with the clarity and colour of some of the photos, but the blurring issue is still there with movement. If it was a camera that cost under $100 I would just think “fine”, but for the high price, I expect better. This is one photo that I took and you can see how vibrant the colour is, but nothing was moving at the time.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/83646071@N00/6793336666/in/photostream

6:01 am - Tuesday, March 13, 2012

#76 Elisa

Which one do you suggest me between:

Nikon Coolpix S9100 or Canon Powershot SX240 ?!??

Thank you!

1:28 pm - Saturday, March 17, 2012

#77 Kathy

I loved the Nikon S9100 when I first bought it, but about 6 months out, the auto focus went crazy, and I had times where I could not turn it on, and times when I could not turn it off, and times when the focus feature just didn’t work.  Costco (where I first bought the camera) helped me walk through “fixes” and put me in touch with Nikon where they had me do things to “fix” the camera, which I thought fixed the issue, but after another 6 weeks of experimenting with pictures, the auto-focus really went crazy again. I have to send it in to Nikon to get them to repair the camera. I hope they stand by their product and fix it for me.  BTW there is an external battery charger for those who think you have to charge the battery in the camera. Just have to do a little bit of searching on the internet to find it.

3:19 am - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#78 Kathy

RE: Kathy Snider’s post above. When I first bought my Nikon S9100 I was very pleased with how well it worked. About 6 months later though, the focus didn’t work right. I thought it was me, but after ruining 93% of my Christmas pictures and then having the camera really bomb out on me on a trip, I concluded it was the camera, not me. Even if something isn’t moving, I get blurry pictures, so I go back to using my cheaper Kodak V1073 Point and Shoot. Costco won’t take the camera back, though their concierge service did try to help, thinking it was operator error, I’m sure; was put in touch with Nikon on the same call, and am sending the camera back to them tomorrow to be “fixed”.  I am as equally disappointed now with the NIKON as I was excited when I first got it. But a $300+ camera should last a lot longer than 6 months; I still have an old Olympus digital camera that works, it’s just a little too heavy to take traveling and doesn’t have the zoom capacity the Nikon does (18X).  Let’s hope Nikon can fix the issue, and make me a satisfied customer.

3:29 am - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#79 Ann Cameron

Hi Kathy,

I bought mine in Singapore on the way home from a three month trip to Scandinavia and the UK, so I am not sure if the Nikon warranty would be honoured. It is the second time I have had issues with things bought overseas, so never again. You don’t save much by doing so I have found anyway. I think I will just have to put it down to experience and realise that no P&S camera will ever take photos as nice as a DSLR and take my DSLR everywhere. Make sure you let me know how you get on.

6:43 am - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#80 Jem

Nikon s9100 now freezes when I zoom…too many months to return.  Has anyone found a solution or has Nikon solved?

11:15 pm - Thursday, March 29, 2012

#81 jeannine

@ Jem…. I solved the problem by reporting the same issues with my camera to NIKON and not giving up… it was finally resolved when they refunded my pruchase price. I was so disappointed because when the 9100 worked , the pictures were wonderful….

1:16 pm - Saturday, March 31, 2012

#82 Kathy

To Ann C. Since Nikon is an international dealer, I think you should try contacting them to get them to fix your issues with freezing, etc. I had a one year warranty, still well within that time frame to have fixed, just remember the squeaky wheel gets the oil/attention.  When I called customer support Nikon sent me a note & a link for the U.S. users (they do have :
Thank you very much for contacting Nikon Technical Support.

For Nikon Service information, please see:

Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bin/nikonusa.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=336

There is no need to call in advance for any approval or authorization; simply send the product in for evaluation with no accessories, unless part of the issue, and a photocopy of the receipt. Once logged in, service will send you a confirmation.

Sorry for the problems you have had with your Nikon product; Nikon Service strives to evaluate and repair all items as quickly as possible.

Hope you find this information helpful.

I still think you need to contact them and let them know your issues with the camera. Go to this link to get the 800 number and notice about 1/2 way down the page the areas in the world you can reach using the 800 phone number listed: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/238 -  Good luck, and let us know how it all turns out. Kathy PS, Thanks Jeannine

3:21 am - Sunday, April 1, 2012

#83 Jared

Warning to all, we are having issues with the camera freezing.  I am searching for a solutions right now, but this shouldn’t happen with a camera that is 4 months old and hasn’t been dropped or anything.

2:48 am - Monday, April 16, 2012

#84 Jeff

The freeze has just happened to me too :( - battery removal was the only option.

and 4 months later as well. What does this firmware have auto inbuilt problem timelines or what. Where they meant to make it 4 years so you start looking for a new camera. Ok that’s conspiracy theory, but had to LOL (or was that cry) at the 4 month mark as well.

Well Nikon, I was just about to upgrade my D300 do a D800 or even D4. Seems I’ll be going Canon 5D MkIII now. Not happy.


Nikon fanboy (or was),
Jeff.

4:28 am - Monday, April 16, 2012

#85 roza

Mine freezes too. Read a comment in this site. Fiddle with the zoom rings.. Walla! It unfreezes. Hadnt happened since.

4:33 am - Monday, April 16, 2012

#86 Vasheem

can any body advice me the best camera in same price as nikon s9100.

5:53 pm - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#87 gary

why when I download the pictures many of them need to be rotated?

8:42 pm - Sunday, May 13, 2012

#88 Jaydubs

Robert (04/18/11)

If you’re going to critique others’ grammar and spelling, please spell summery (sic) correctly…

Happy days
Jaydubs

8:56 pm - Sunday, May 20, 2012

#89 John M

Does anyone know if this problem of freezing has been solved by nikon? since this problem has been reported since last year have they not found the problem and solved it for new released models? or am i just overly optimistic!

This looks like the ideal camera for my downgrade needs. I have tried and compared the pictures to the sony hx9 and tz20 in jessops and i prefer this for a few reasons mainly picture tone (sonys is flat) focus at zoom is better than tz20.      The freeze problem is putting me of though.

*rozas comment is interesting

any info advice?

9:40 pm - Sunday, May 20, 2012

#90 Kathy

Hi, John, Nikon has had my camera since April 6 and they are still waiting on major parts to fix it; they give themselves 45 days for repairs, which seems a little long to me. I loved the camera when it worked, but having to wait so long for repairs is a bit much.

1:37 am - Monday, May 21, 2012

#91 thomas

same here had mine about 6 months.. turns on, screen works but none of the buttons work!!
guess its time to send it back..
already bought a samsung 850 to replace it.

12:08 pm - Wednesday, May 23, 2012

#92 Krishnan

S9100 has been a total disaster for me. Sent twice for repair. The camera does not focus in close range. When using zoom in low light, the pictures are blurry. Normal pictures, taken at normal range is not cripsy enough. S8100 had better pictures. I strongly feel that Nikon should recall these cameras. The problem, I think, is the software used in auto focus mode.

3:09 pm - Friday, June 8, 2012

#93 Kathy

Hi,All - I don’t know what the problem was, but after keeping my S9100 for 7 weeks and parts being on hold that were needed to “Fix” the issue, I finally called the service center (2 days in a row) and insisted on speaking with a supervisor indicating my issue. The camera was not going to be available for my upcoming vacation and since part holds can last for literally months, I requested they resolve the problem that day.  The supervisor checked and got approval to send me a new camera - imagine my surprise when I opened the box and saw a brand new 2012 model of the S9300 (w/GPS). So you have to keep after them.  I just hope this new camera took care of all the issues Nikon was having with the S9100.  BTW, the S9300 seems to be working great (so far), have only had it 1 week, but am using the heck out of it. Be the squeaky wheel, insist Nikon replace your S9100 - obviously they knew there were issues and Yes, I agree, should recall the S9100 and replace all of them if they want to keep their good name.

5:53 pm - Sunday, June 10, 2012

#94 axer

which one is more worthy to buy, used nikon s9100 or used canon sx200is if both at the same price?..

6:33 pm - Thursday, June 14, 2012

#95 Kathy

Personally, with all the issues I had with the Nikon S9100 i.e., freezing up and fuzzy pictures, and after reading all the comments in this blog, I would NOT buy a used Nikson S9100, ever. JMHO.

3:41 am - Saturday, June 16, 2012

#96 Lori

I took some good pictures with it, but now it freezes up and is unusable. It’s about a year old and I’m told I have to send it in and pay for repair. Considering the original purchase price, I guess I will do that, but I am quite dissatisfied. My previous cameras (other brands) lasted 8-10 years without issue. This one has been well cared for and lightly used. I purchased it based upon a family member’s recommendation of the 8100 model - should have stuck with that one.

7:47 pm - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#97 THOMAS

IF YOU TURN THE RINGS ON THE LENS IT WILL WORK AGAIN… MINE HAS FROZE UP SEVERAL TIMES

8:07 pm - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#98 Ann Cameron

To Kathy - Kathy, I took your advice and emailed Nikon here in Australia. They were very helpful but I was told that the warranty was no good, so no luck there. I was asked to send some photos to them with exif details and they would check them out. The reply came back that there did seem to be focusing problems and that I could send the camera in for checking but there would be a charge for this. I have decided that as the camera was expensive to start with, I don’t really want to spend any more money on it. Canon or Panasonic for me in future -never waste my money on Nikon again.

1:33 am - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#99 Kathy

Hi, Ann,
I’m sorry contacting Nikon did not work for you. I understand your decision not to have the camera fixed. Was the camera out of warranty by the time you contacted them? I think my warranty was for a fully year here in the U.S. I guess I was lucky getting them to replace my camera with the 2012 9300 model since they had my 9100 for 7 weeks without any sign the part needed to fix it would come in before my vacation.  So far, so good with the 9300, though it is a little slower on the trigger when taking a picture, because it is taking time to focus the picture. (which is OK by me).  Like you, I would not buy a Nikon again. I have been very pleased with an older Olympus and a slightly older Kodak I still use, but I purchased the Nikon due to the 18X zoom factor, and have been pleased with the pictures I was able to get at Yosemite National Park.  That place is so big, it’s difficult to zoom in on the waterfalls, but the Nikon 9100 did it fine when it was Brand Spanking New.

8:08 pm - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#100 Ann Cameron

Hi Kathy,

Thank you for your reply. The camera was only around 4 months old, but I was told that because it was bought overseas, that the warranty could not be honoured here in Australia. To say that I am disappointed in the whole journey into Nikon is a complete understatement - never again

5:59 am - Friday, July 13, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, review, 1080p, wide-angle, 12 megapixel, hdmi, nikon, full hd, coolpix, 18x zoom, 25-450mm, s9100, Nikon Coolpix S9100 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry