Nikon D3200 Review

4.5
June 6, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

69 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jimmy

Great power comes with great responsibility. High quality sensor is a bonus but at this resolution, you need better lenses to make the most of it. Entry level people may not even want to spend that much for any lenses… by the time they are happy with their skill and ready for investment in better lenses… they may also want a better body… so, yes, again for those who can afford it rather than really drawing people in to their DSLR range. For many beginner, I think price is one of the main issues.

11:42 am - Thursday, June 7, 2012

#2 Benz

D5100 is now available for the same price

2:49 pm - Thursday, June 7, 2012

#3 Frank Stanton

#1 Jimmy: On the other hand, pairing the body with a the cheap but fantastic 35mm f1.8G lens will make this a fantastic street shooting camera even for pros. Try lugging a D7000 or D300S around for 8 hours in a city. The sensor is a huge plus for croppers, too.

3:00 pm - Thursday, June 7, 2012

#4 Fred

> Frank Stanton

For street shooting with a compact DSLR I’d far rather have a Pentax and a pocket full of pancakes.

24MP is a nice headline figure for the uninitiated, but for them file sizes may prove to be a burden.

Canon have just hotted things up with the T4i/D650. I know that’s more D5100 territory, but a pentaprism is a very welcome feature. Pentax have one in their upcoming K-30 also.

Everything I’ve read elsewhere is that the D3200 has a great many “average” pixels. Users might be better served with slightly less, but “excellent” pixels.

However “Nikon” + “24MP!” + “500 quid” are definitely going to be a draw for many.

4:32 am - Friday, June 8, 2012

#5 coastcontact

It may be a new model with a few new bells and whistles but I see that the IQ is still rated at 4.5.  To me that means that adding 10 megapixels is just a sales gimmick.  The extra megapixels seems to be the Nikon choice of improvements to induce hobbyists to upgrade.  Do they think we are such fools?

6:58 am - Friday, June 8, 2012

#6 Rahul

Is D3200 a better option over D5100 if you are comparing just the image quality ??

I dont really need video quality or fancy wifi features. I just want to pick a better image shooter of the two.

7:37 am - Friday, June 8, 2012

#7 Haitch

I spent a while today looking at the D3200, with a helpful shop assistant and plenty of time to take some sample shots. I found noise to be appalling even at modest ISO. The images would have been completely unusable, and thankfully the sales assistant did seem genuinely appalled. Having looked at your sample images, I’m really struggling to believe we’ve used the same model of camera. And I can’t really see noise being a quality control / batch issue. I had been more or less persuaded to buy one. Now I feel like I dodged a bullet. Have you any take on variability in noise comparing different examples of the same model?

6:27 pm - Saturday, June 9, 2012

#8 Ace

This is a brilliant Camera! Just bought on in the UK and found it at a good price on Amazon

http://amzn.to/LCIXwu

Happy times with this! Also check out the clarity of the screen…it is amazong!

1:40 pm - Wednesday, June 13, 2012

#9 me

people may say higher mp is useless, but I don’t want to make such hasty conclusions. Most review sites give this camera a positive rating

1:04 pm - Friday, June 15, 2012

#10 Larry

Two comments - First, I don’t know what camera the above commenter was testing that found “noise to be appalling even at modest ISO”, but I now have a D3200 and the noise is VERY clean for 24 mp on a cropped sensor. The noise is better than the D3100 which is only 14mp and definitely better than the Sony A65/A77, more costly 24 mp sensors. Image quality is great and tack sharp with a good lense. Having 24 mp offers lots of cropping options as well.

Second - This review stated that max frame rate at Full HD (1920x1280) is only 24p - that is Not Correct. Full HD 1920x1280 records at 30p. And also records at a 24mps data rate. Video quality is Excellent - Sharp, complex detail retained, great color and dynamic range. Far superior to the D3100.

People can fret and flame all they want, but I am extremely impressed with this camera’s performance and in my opinion it can’t be touched for the price right now. I couldn’t be happier with it.

11:09 pm - Monday, June 18, 2012

#11 Turin Talion

Much sting that matrix has put(deliver)ed from Sony. She in general nor on that not capable.

4:11 am - Wednesday, June 20, 2012

#12 drewster

#7 Haitch
What were the camera settings (exposure, ISO, etc) and conditions?  “Apalling” (?) noise, compared to what other cameras under the same conditions with comparable settings? 
Your observations seem to be inconsistent with other reviews and online image comparisons - not that you didn’t see what you have reported, just that your observations are not typical. 
If anything, D3200 JPEGs are reported to be slightly on the soft side.

8:11 pm - Thursday, June 21, 2012

#13 Nikon D3200

Visit http://nikon3200.com/ to get best price for Nikon D3200

6:24 pm - Saturday, June 23, 2012

#14 Jan

This review is not comprehensive in my view. The D3200 has a new generation sensor which - due to its higher resolution - is capable of capturing more detail and hence sharper images. However, the kitlens is still last-gen and is incapable of resolving 24mp. Further, the downside of the new sensor is slightly higher noise, or grain if you will, which is countered using agressive noise reduction. Therefore, if you shoot JPEG and use a kitlens, you might as well buy a d5100 and you’ll see similar results. The d3200, will reward with IQ that is in a different league when you place better glass in front of its sensor and shoot in raw. The 24mp is not a marketing gimmick. This is major progress. The soon to be announced replacement of the d7000 will likely include a better kitlens - otherwise sensor evolution is pointless. Forget the d5100, impressive as it is in its own right, it is last gen.

10:54 pm - Sunday, June 24, 2012

#15 Huri

I’m thinking to buy this camera but i couldn’t find how long does it take it to autofocus?

8:23 pm - Monday, June 25, 2012

#16 Nikon D3200

@ huri, u can see at http://samsunggalaxysiiicellphone.com/

1:08 pm - Tuesday, June 26, 2012

#17 Martin Branson

I’d rather have this camera than the Olympus E-M5, as it’s half the price, and IQ looks much better, not as noisy, with better DR.  And you’ll have a huge choice in Nikkor and third party lenses meaning with an upgrade down the road you’ll be all set.  28 1.8G, 35 1.8 DX, and 50 1.8G give you an awesome small, lightweight kit that can cover tons of events.  OK review, it’s a pity it was cloudy the day PB shot the samples.  Cheers.

12:23 am - Saturday, July 7, 2012

#18 Tony T

Almost every camera gets 4/5 stars on this site. Can someone take the gloves off once in a while?

9:25 pm - Wednesday, August 8, 2012

#19 coastcontact

Tony T is correct. When most cameras receive almost the same rating you suspect it’s either the advertisers get what they want or the reviewer really has not adequately tested the cameras.

12:27 am - Thursday, August 9, 2012

#20 HT

Great entry-level DSLR !!
But where’s the plan for D5100 & D7000 ??
It’s pretty awkward to start 24MB from the entry model, rather than starting it from the upper models - with the D3200, Nikon is destroying its market price for D5100.
And with all these improvements to their sensor, Nikon should have a better assortment of lens to make the sensor work - a 80-200mm zoom with a wider aperature should be a higher priority than launching a 28-300mm travel zoom !!

4:44 pm - Sunday, August 26, 2012

#21 Johnh2007

Hi. Bought the d3200 to replace my d40x. It is far superior in every respect. Resolution is superb. Colour balance is astonishingly good. Video is excellent. I print at 5 x 7, and A4, and the results are terrific. I shoot with an 18-105 and the shots are really really sharp, but I avoid 18mm wide open, as the edges are too soft. But stop down to f8 and the sharpness is then outstanding. I love this camera! And I doubt that I will change it for some years.

8:35 am - Thursday, August 30, 2012

#22 Nikon D3200

Please visit http://www.electronicsshopstores.com/ to get best price and deals for Camera & photo.

2:54 pm - Thursday, August 30, 2012

#23 Misha

Oh God! im really confused weather which dslr camera should i go for..nikon d3200 or canon 550d?

12:34 pm - Saturday, September 8, 2012

#24 vinay

Hi i am new to slr can show one pls tell me how to record video in nikon d3200 pls it will be very helpfull to me thank

8:01 pm - Friday, September 14, 2012

#25 joeyds

Whats is the improvement apart of megapixel on d3100¿?

9:21 am - Sunday, September 16, 2012

#26 Larryfl

Compared to the D3100 the D3200, in addition to 24mp, the D3200 has better video - 30 fps instead of just 24 fps at 1080p, plus an external mike jack. It has better dynamic range, lower noise and broader color registration.  Also has a faster processor and a few added menu features previously available only on the D5100 and higher models.

7:57 pm - Sunday, September 16, 2012

#27 teod

Very happy with it… on to the third month…

4:44 pm - Sunday, September 23, 2012

#28 asura

vinay : switch to live view first then press record button.
Me too. very happy with it. use it with 40mm f2.8 as walk-around n all-round lens. superb n excellent images.

12:14 pm - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#29 ovi

some samples with d3200 http://nikond3200photos.blogspot.ro/

9:02 am - Monday, October 29, 2012

#30 Finn Ritz

I replaced my D3100 with the D3200. Noise on the D3200 at 800 ISO app. equals noise at 1600 ISO with the D3100. I shoot jpg only. Images out of the box needs a little after sharpening. Exellent image quality. I only use the Nikkor 18-105, Great lens indeed. Value for money is top.

12:17 pm - Saturday, December 22, 2012

#31 Matthew Tien

the d3200 is really good entry level dlr camera, like canon 650d.

9:11 am - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

#32 Laura M

I am looking for a camera which is really good for night photography.  Has anybody tried shooting the night skies with this camera?

9:54 pm - Tuesday, March 19, 2013

#33 Finn Ritz

To Matthew#31: NO! Canon D650 is a much better camera.
To Laura: I teach photogtaphy and see hundreds of student photos taken with everything from pocket cameras to high end DSLR. Image resulotion of the D3200 is amazing with a high quality lens. But the niose level is very high. Nikon D5100, D7000 and Pentax K5II share the same sensor and processor. I would at any time swap my D3200 with one of them if I had the offer. I have seen many incredible low noise 1600 ISO night shots taken with them. Dynamic range and IQ is exellent. The advantage of higher amount of pixels in the D3200 is lost in the need of post image noise reduction. Noiseware Community is very good. Nikon’s built in NR is insufficient. Keep the D3200 below 400 ISO and it works! My advice: Go for the D5100. Same price.

10:37 am - Wednesday, March 20, 2013

#34 marnix

I have the camera few mounds now.
the review is great,and I always check A new camera here on this website.
The camera is great,exposure is super,image quality could not be better.
Even I have the D90 ,D3200 is even good.
The missing buttons do not bother me.
you can set A few to the custom buttons.
See here examples from the D3200
http://www.flickr.com/photos/marnix_claus/sets/72157633245061546/detail/

Again A great review.

7:14 am - Saturday, April 20, 2013

#35 Ken

I own a Nikon D3100 and have looked into the Nikon D3200.  The D3200 has more pixels, but they are half the size, and most users say the Nikon D3100 has better overall picture quality.  Read more here:http://www.squidoo.com/is-the-nikon-d3100-dslr-camera-still-worth-a-look

12:00 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#36 Finn Ritz

Since January I have taken hundreds of RAW/jpg pictures with the D3200 with Nikkor 18-105mm lens. All of them processed in Elements 11. The RAW files produce marvellous results and Elements includes variable noise reduction. It works!! Incredible high IQ at low ISO. In RAW/jpg shooting mode remember - each “shot” is 35MB on the memory card!

7:07 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#37 Nikon D3200 Camera

I opted for the Nikon D3200 because of all the positive user reviews I read. I’m very pleased with my purchase.

10:29 am - Wednesday, July 10, 2013

#38 lovelyevi

I bought Nikon D3200 a few months ago due to good reviews on Amazon, it’s a really good digital SLR for beginners. If you want to know more about it please read my review at Squidoo—http://www.squidoo.com/the-amazing-nikon-d3200-dslr-camera

4:06 pm - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#39 lovelyevi

I bought Nikon D3200 a few months ago due to many good reviews on Amazon and I really love this camera, the fact that it’s really good for beginners to DSLR makes it easy for me to learn how to use it. Read my review at Squidoo if you like at http://www.squidoo.com/the-amazing-nikon-d3200-dslr-camera

4:23 pm - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#40 sanzied

grate entry level camera.but not with the kitlens .use 35mm 1.8G lens for fantastical result.

4:32 pm - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#41 Finn Ritz

The 35mm 1.8 lens is good, but the Nikon 18-105 zoom is incredible sharp and the zoom makes it much more versatile. A real bargain. See: http://www.lenstip.com/index.html?test=obiektywu&test_ob=182. The resolution chart speaks for itself! Compare it to the famous 85mm 1.4 on the same site. The difference at f8 is marginal. I can mail some RAW pictures processed in Elements11 on request. .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

6:11 am - Wednesday, July 24, 2013

#42 Asif

I am confused between Nikon D3200 vs D5100.
Kindly help me out.
I am just a beginer.
Thanks
Asif

4:36 pm - Tuesday, August 13, 2013

#43 Finn Ritz

The D3200 is a new 24 Mpixel camera. Same sensor is present in the D5200 and D7100. The D5100 is the old 14 Mpixel model with the same sensor as D3100, D7000 and Pentax K5. The D5100 is pure bargain to day and a very good camera. Exellent IQ and very low noise. I had it befor the D3200. Whatever you do purchase the body with the Nikkor 18-105mm lens!
Little more money well spent.

7:38 am - Wednesday, August 14, 2013

#44 Larry M

Actually the D3200 does not have the same sensor as the D7100. Same MP Count, but the D7100 sensor is slightly larger, has no AA filter, better Dynamic Range and Lower Noise.  Also, D5100 has a 16 Mpixel Sensor, not the 14 Mpixel sensor of the D3100. The D5100 is still a great camera for the current price and a major improvement over the D3100.

2:57 pm - Wednesday, August 14, 2013

#45 Finn Ritz

Sorry! Larry is perfectly right. The missing AA filter in the D7100 makes a difference. The D5100 has 14 bit converter and 2 M pixel more, the D3100 12 bit A/D converter. I’ll be more careful in the future. The D5100/18-105mm cost app. € 100 more than the D3200/18-105mm which I have. The sharpest photos i have ever taken.

6:47 pm - Wednesday, August 14, 2013

#46 Tony Z

I bought the Nikon D3200 last month and I am very happy with it.  Noise does not exhibit drastically until ISO 1200 and even then, it is very usable until ISO 6400.  The 24 Mp may not be utilized to its fullest if it is not paired with a prime lens but I cannot see the point why some would not want the higher pixel count.  Does it not give you the flexibility for future glass upgrade without changing the body for better pics?

1:54 pm - Saturday, September 7, 2013

#47 Finn Ritz

Sorry to get my e-mail wrong in comment #41.
It’s: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
I compared pictures taken with D3100, D5100 and D3200. No doubt that the D3200 24 Mpixel shots have more details. It’s not for fun studio cameras like Phase One go up to 80 Mpixel. I’m looking forward to see reviews on the coming D400 with Nikkor 18-140mm. Will the economic 18-105 be discontinued?

7:03 pm - Saturday, September 7, 2013

#48 tjd

would like somebody’s opinion on which camera to get out of the following:

sony a37
d3200
d3100
d5100

i take alot of wildlife and cattle photography.

4:02 am - Friday, September 27, 2013

#49 Finn Ritz

tjd

no doubt the D3200 gives more picture detail. For cattle the 18-105mm should do. Wildlife? Can a tele bee too long? I have no experience in wildlife photography.

12:16 pm - Friday, September 27, 2013

#50 tjd

thanks for getting back to me.

and it will mainly be used for cattle photography.

and you say no doubt go with the d3200?
and how is that 18-55 mm lens you get with it?

1:26 am - Saturday, September 28, 2013

#51 Finn Ritz

tjd

DO NOT buy the D3200 with the 18-55mm kit lens. I had it. The amazing 18-105mm cost a little more and is incredible sharp and has that longer zoom range so it makes sense as a universal walk around lens. Nothing on the market to day at app. € 500 can match the D3200/18-105mm.
I can send sample photos. Write me:
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

7:25 am - Saturday, September 28, 2013

#52 Mario Ríos Jordán

Acabo de comprar una Cámara Nikon D3200 y me parece fabulosa, lo que les pido es como puedo   que debo hacer para sacar fotos con mis lentes antiguos de mi Nikon F3 (analógica), mis lentes son muy buenos y tambien son Nikon.
Probé en la D3200 y sólo me deja sacar fotos en modo Manual, pero no me muestra nada en la pantalla, cuando bajo al ordenador la foto quena negra totalmente.
Será que algo debo modificar en el menú o que otra cosa debo hacer.
Mil gracias anticipadamente…  Mario Ríos

6:12 pm - Saturday, October 5, 2013

#53 Ina

I bought this camera in March of 2013 and loved it until August of 2013, all of a sudden it will not take flash pictures in any mode! 
Does anyone have any idea of what to do?

2:41 pm - Monday, October 21, 2013

#54 Tony Z

Hi Ina,

Try resetting the camera.

7:41 am - Wednesday, October 23, 2013

#55 Lori Andrews

I want a camera that will take good action shots of my boys playing soccer. Do you recommend the D3200?

4:43 pm - Thursday, November 14, 2013

#56 Ron

What kind of batteries does the d3200 use? I don’t want a camera with fancy kinds of batteries or rechargable batteries, which usually fail quickly. Double A’s would be great. Thanks….....

2:25 am - Sunday, December 1, 2013

#57 Finn Ritz

A camera with AA batteries? Forget it. They are history. The EL14 battery, compact and powerful, in the D3100, D3200, D5200, D5300 gives easily 500+ shots per charge and is far better than AA’s. A spare can be purchased for app. $30. It will last for years, when it will be time to buy a new camera any way.

12:24 pm - Sunday, December 1, 2013

#58 tablo

i want to buy a camera and i’m confused between canon and nikon cameras, can anyone tell me which one is better? i really like nikon d3200 but i don’t know any thing about it

5:37 pm - Tuesday, December 10, 2013

#59 Finn Ritz

The D3200 has dropped in price again and to me now looks as pure bargain.
Read the comments above. Also trustedreviews.con, dpreview.com and the review on this site will provide you wit all you need to know.
AA filter or no AA filter??? See:
http://www.martin-doppelbauer.de/foto/tippstricks/aliasfilter/index.html
With AA filter please!

8:00 am - Wednesday, December 11, 2013

#60 Arjun

I don’t agree with the statement that the photos are a little lacklustre. I am a freelance photographer and I have never exerienced such problems. The pics have always come out vibrant and life like. Don’t believe me? See the exclusive photos I have taken with Nikon D3200- http://www.piczeni.com

5:47 pm - Saturday, December 14, 2013

#61 Quynn Sainte-Peters

  Overall I am very satisfied with this camera. I finally made the jump from film/wet chemistry [Nikon 8000s] to Nikon d3200, with a stopover with a Koday EZ share camera. I paid a pretty good price: $599, which include camera body, 18-55, 55 - 200 lens, camera case, 16 smart card, DVD instructions. 
  It takes marvelous photos & when printed holds up very well. My ONLY disappointment, it cannot take multiple exposures. Not a deal breaker, but i wish it had that capability.  But overall i am happy

11:24 pm - Monday, December 16, 2013

#62 Mr.B

@Finn Ritz- The Nikon d3200 is arguably better than the Canon 650D. Take a look at this comparison.
http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-EOS-650D-vs-Nikon-D3200

8:07 am - Saturday, December 28, 2013

#63 Paul

You can buy this camera as a kit in Currys (UK) with cashback with the 18-55mm and 50-200mm lens for about £449 Maybe cheaper on ebay.

Great vaule for the money I think.

3:34 pm - Wednesday, January 15, 2014

#64 Paul

I recommend that if you are having any issues with this camera you get intouch with NIKON in your area and have it properly calibrated - can make a huge diffenence and they do a good job give it latest firmware update.

The one in the UK is in Kingston.Nr London.

3:41 pm - Wednesday, January 15, 2014

#65 Ashok

Which camera is better in Nikon D3200 are D5200,i have a lot of confusions please

10:37 am - Monday, January 27, 2014

#66 charlotte

Looking to buy this camera,
Can someone tell me if its a good camera to snap
people (to create a portfolio for fashion)

Thanks!

11:23 am - Wednesday, March 19, 2014

#67 Lee

We bought a Nikon D3200 today in Canada, with the 18-55 lens included, and were surprised to see the included lens is the new collapsible one from the D3300. Says:

Nikon DX VR
AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II

I’m not sure if Nikon just started putting these in instead of the original one, or if we just got lucky, but it is nice for storage.

12:57 am - Thursday, April 3, 2014

#68 Lee

Looks like Nikon is now putting the new lens in with D3200’s. I looked at the box and it shows it with the II lens, and you can see it on Nikons website. Nice bonus!

12:04 am - Friday, April 4, 2014

#69 Finn Ritz

Here in DK the D3200 body cost only £296. I have the Sigma 18-250 mm Macro which has dropped to £298. With minor limitations a marvelous combination for macro, portrait, travel and whatever. RAW files produce incredible sharp images. The picture quality/money ratio is very good. I had some 18-55mm kit lenses because they were included. Gave them away. Not bird - not fish as we say. But!! I’m very excited about future reviews of the new Tamron 16-300 mm. Should be available next months. The spec sheet is amazing.

8:27 am - Friday, April 4, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, nikon, beginner, movie, full hd, DSLR, digital SLR, 24 megapixel, 4fps, Nikon D3200, Nikon D3200 Review, 4 fps, d3200

Tracker Pixel for Entry