Nikon D3300 Review

February 5, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

15 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 wmu

It is unbelievable but the video is recorded completely blurred. I think the focus is 20cm. Are you blind? Or do you want to test the reader? It’s hard to believe that the rest of the reviews are correct, and made ​​with knowledge. I’m sorry, but that is far from professional.

6:23 pm - Wednesday, February 5, 2014

#2 Andrew

wmu give us the link to your review. you clearly are professional. I’d love to see your review.

8:51 pm - Wednesday, February 5, 2014

#3 ps

@Andrew wmu only mentioned the bad focus on the movie and made no mention that he is a better reviewer. Without doubt the focus on the video is very poor!!!!

4:45 am - Thursday, February 6, 2014

#4 Jean

Agreed. There is no way the video is indicative of the capabilities of this camera. Other than that, seems like a good, thorough review.

11:13 pm - Thursday, February 6, 2014

#5 sp4rk

I’m most interested in the video capabilities of this camera. This site provided the first downloadable raw sample i have seen so far.
I see no bad focus on the video, at 100% zoom (cars passing in london, passing under a bridge).
The quality of the video is also fine, given it’s 50p.
I would rather see a 24fps sample, since it would have much less compression, and that’s what 90% of the people use 90% of the time. 50p is just a low quality feature in case slow-motion is needed.

12:26 pm - Saturday, February 8, 2014

#6 MarioV

The video has been changed since the original unfocused one.

2:48 am - Sunday, February 9, 2014

#7 OU812

Seems like a very nice upgrade in the Nikon system. I would love to see a few more pics with different lenses since the kit lens is an unknown.

11:04 pm - Tuesday, February 11, 2014

#8 Frank Stanton

Thanks for the review. It’s nice to see that Nikon still places a lot of emphasis on the quality of its stills (sorry videophiles); glad the low-pass filter is gone on this model, too.

6:35 pm - Monday, March 10, 2014

#9 Garmin Vivofit

wonder I have this camera too

7:01 pm - Saturday, April 5, 2014

#10 Magic Bullet Dessert Bullet

Cool Camera , love Nikon

7:02 pm - Saturday, April 5, 2014

#11 Eiki

Is this better than Canon 1200D or 700D ?

3:59 am - Tuesday, May 20, 2014

#12 Jim Thomas

I haven’t owned an SLR in 7 years and am considering buying one again. But the image samples have me concerned about the D3300. Take a look at the ‘CS3 Photoshop cookbook’ in the bookshelf images. It is bowed terribly in the middle. Same with the head shot of a guy in front of concrete blocks. The grout lines bow up and down. I can’t imagine this is normal - is there some simple explanation? I do not see this effect in the compact camera images, e.g. SX700.

5:27 pm - Thursday, September 4, 2014

#13 SteveH

I have to admit that shooting videos is way down on my list when looking at a DSLR. Call me old fashioned but an SLR camera’s primary function should always be still photography.

I just replaced my 7 year old D40X which had no video function at all and frankly it was never missed simply because the camera was purchased for its purpose of being a still camera rather than a video camera.

I always fear that when manufacturers start turning out multi functional devices then something must give in the quality somewhere, if in the case of the D3300 it is video then so be i. The quality of the stills taken in the two or three hours playing around with it so far are superlative. I have also run a couple of videos and frankly see no problem with the quality particularly as I consider it as something of an add on.

I think this camera will surpass all my expectations if the first few hours are anything to go by. If you want high end video, then go buy a high end video camera, simple.

1:25 pm - Saturday, February 14, 2015

#14 Nissim ben Avraham

If you want DSLR camera with real capability to handling video, there’s Canon (the perfect one), Sony (should be excellent). Nikon looks not realy intended to pleasing video-enthusiast, even Nikon’s premium DSLRs are not so far doing this video issue. This is not a shame, as we buy DSLR camera for still photography. But when it comes to digital imaging industries, video recording commonly added, but not all manufacturers are ready. All I know is Nikon DSLRs are best for still photography, as we heard before ... pure photography.

7:53 pm - Sunday, February 15, 2015

#15 Phil W

@Jim Thomas - Am considering a purchase and you had me worried until I noted that the photos you’ve specified are all shot with a 27mm lens. That effect is a product of all wide angle lenses. If you move the focal length to between 45-55 it will seem more naturally proportioned.

3:49 pm - Friday, February 27, 2015

Entry Tags

review, 1080p, test, preview, sample images, nikon, video, beginner, jpegs, jpg, dslr, 1920x1080, jpgs, digital slr, APS-C, 24 megapixel, JPEG, slr, nikon d3300, d3300

Tracker Pixel for Entry