Nikon D5000 Review

4.5
June 22, 2009 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

27 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 John Merslich

thanks for this in depth wrap of the new D5000. Do I save a few hundred and go with the D5000 or kick in the extra for the D90? This is the question-still unanswered but closer to a decision after this read.

12:35 am - Wednesday, June 24, 2009

#2 Gemma

Sounds great, I think I will be getting this looking for a small camera easy to take away on holidays… Already have D70 & D80

9:07 pm - Wednesday, July 8, 2009

#3 Rockyy

Hi…
this is great camera.
I have Canon SX110 9 megapixel and 10x zoom
this is great and lowest price camera…

249$

Its have super macro compatibility…
You can see some sample here…

http://www.flickr.com/photos/31972841@N06/

regards
Rocky
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

12:08 pm - Thursday, August 13, 2009

#4 Colin Angus

I had a client in my studio last night who had this camera, I would have liked to had a longer play but it’s a Nikon so we know the quality should be good.
Having said that I did find the lack of a wheel on the front a bit awkward and I also was not keen on the way the ISO menu was laid out. Why cant they just go strait to the ISO instead of messing about with different wordings and just say ISO100 etc instead of using words saying Low 1..
Can the rear screen be turned of I never had a chance to play properly and found it very distracting when trying to look through the viewfinder!!

9:34 am - Thursday, October 1, 2009

#5 paul

I purchased the d5000 when you use the camera for a week u get used to all the controls. Lightweight and fits perfectly in your hands.

8:00 pm - Monday, October 26, 2009

#6 Eskil

If you need a light-weight, relatively silent and elegant camera - get the D5000. If you do not care about noise (I find the D90 very noisy compared to the D5000) or weight - get the sturdy D90. The important hardware and software is more or less the same in both cameras, hence the IQ is the same, but the D90 has superior handling qualities thanks to the extra wheel and a couple of extra knobs. But you really have to put in some effort to learn and program the D90 to get return on the extra investment needed to buy the D90 instead of the D5000… My advice: If you are wondering whether you should buy the D5000 or the D90 - get the D5000. People that need the D90 know that they need it and why, people that wonder if they need it undoubtedly need the D5000.

11:41 am - Thursday, January 7, 2010

#7 rob

“People that need the D90 know that they need it and why, people that wonder if they need it undoubtedly need the D5000. “

Eskil, thats the best quote i read in comments ever. It`s just made my doubds dissapear, really.
Clever.
Thanks!

ps off to spend pennies for d5000 ;-)

9:51 pm - Tuesday, February 23, 2010

#8 Gary

I’m stuck !!!
I really like the D5000 but have had another one thrown into the mix.
The Cannon D450 ???

Which would you go for ?

I’m still leaning towards the D5000.

Thanks
gary

1:20 pm - Tuesday, March 23, 2010

#9 Dave St Cyr

John I was wondering the same as far as the D90, I went to several camera stores and talked to them, for me the D5000 fit my bill with most of the same goodies as the D90. I bought the D5000 with the 18-55 with the 70-300 for the price of the D90 with a 1 lends

4:21 am - Wednesday, March 24, 2010

#10 Dave St Cyr

Eskil no one could say it beter

4:26 am - Wednesday, March 24, 2010

#11 larry

Thank you for the review and especially for the sample images, as well as some of the EXIF data. Could you also indicate which lens was used with each image?

7:01 pm - Friday, April 9, 2010

#12 Bags

I’ll go for D5000. I dont care about its cons, for the pros of the D5000 according to several reviews I have read is enough to satisfy me to buy D5000 rather than the much expensive D90

1:41 pm - Saturday, June 12, 2010

#13 Ricardo

I bought the Nikon d5000 a couple of months agao but had to abandone it back to it box. although all the reviews say its a wonderful camera, all images it dooesn’t matter who stable you are when taking photos it will be blurred out, as if there was photoshop layer. False colors and once you give a little bit of zoom in the photos you can tell its all grainy. I dont like this camera. Its expensive and very good design, but it doesnt take sharp photos. In fact I use a Canon a470, from years ago, which costs around 80$ and the imgae quality is way bether than the nikon d5000. I am a good photographer and know the settings, so I can tell: this camera is no good.

3:07 am - Friday, November 5, 2010

#14 ISO-skeleton

Been using the D5000 for a year now. Any photographer will know well enough to deploy their tripod on stable flooring, level the tripod, set the right ISO, focal length, aperture, shutter speed, disable VR, and release via remote or cable for Tack sharp photos - Never had problems with grainy shots unless in ultra high ISO settings.

3:18 am - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#15 mike

I have been using the D5000 exclusively for about 18 months now. I give it a 4 out of 5. All the photos on my website were done with a D5000.

One Tip Set the Sharpening in camera, I would go 3 to 4, but play with it if you feel your shots are “soft”.
Would get a 5 of 5 if it had More Mega Pixels. say around 18-20. lol

6:51 am - Wednesday, December 22, 2010

#16 J_on_tour

I bought one recently and am having a problem formatting the card. I download images via the approved lead and it seems I need several SD cards for 1 day out in order as not to delete the images when asked to format it.(the leading chain camera shop where I bought it from… have been no help.) Disappointing, I wish I had bought something else instead and it’s only a month old.

8:26 pm - Monday, January 3, 2011

#17 mike

J_on_tour That doesn’t make sense. You should only have to “format” a card 1 time only. When you first get a card put it in the D5000 and format it, you should never have to do it again. I transfer my picts using a card reader and the tranfer function in the View NX software that came with the camera. Whether you use a reader or the cables the process is the same use the Software provided to transfer the images, you can set it to delete the images from the card after transfer if you like. I do.
Next item is storage on cards. How are you saving your pictures? Are you saving Jpegs and RAW? if so you are eating your card space. I shoot only RAW and convert the keepers using View NX to Jpeg or Tiff. Hope this helps.

4:04 am - Tuesday, January 4, 2011

#18 Colin

After every shoot I download all images via a card reader then I always format the card when it is put back into the camera.

7:49 am - Tuesday, January 4, 2011

#19 mike

Colin,
Thats no biggie but when you format the card you reset the photo numbering for that card. I have 8 different cards, all of them have been formatted only once, and each have a unique photo number from the other. So duplicate photo/file names.

2:37 pm - Tuesday, January 4, 2011

#20 Colin

Mike it’s not a problem if you make a new folder for each photo session.

2:50 pm - Tuesday, January 4, 2011

#21 Snapper

This camera now looks in many ways inferior to the new 3100 which as a beginners camera is not for me. The 7000 on the other hand is one heck of a jump up at £1,000 for the body. Nikon MUST release a 5100 or whatever they are going to call it soon to make a creditable bridge beween the 3100 and 7000. Anyone have any news when that might be?

10:04 pm - Tuesday, February 15, 2011

#22 Susan

I agree with #13 Ricardo.  I know what I’m doing and have been taking photographs for many years, almost all of them with one Nikon or another.  This one just does not meet the standard and is always soft or blurred, even in manual focus.  I even got my eyes checked to make sure it wasn’t me.  To say the least it’s disappointing because I was really looking forward to this being another great camera.

5:23 pm - Friday, May 6, 2011

#23 Colin

Yes I always make a new folder after every shoot that way I can find my clients images easier. But I do have the counter set to continuous. By the way I am using the Nikon D700 and Fuji S5pro. I have a Fuji S3pro up for sale if anyone is interested..

7:59 pm - Friday, May 6, 2011

#24 Steve

Having used it for a month, I can say that this is a great camera! Just as what many reviews you can find in the internet say, it produces an excellent image quality! I don’t know what happened with Ricardo and Susan, but I guess there’re always people like them in the world…:)

5:24 pm - Saturday, June 11, 2011

#25 Michaelee

One of the best cameras I have ever used. You must know your Settings accurately to get sharp beautiful photos !

3:56 am - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#26 jcy

Good camera.Just purchased a Nikon Speedlight Flash SB-400. What is the ideal setting of the D5000 when using this external flash.

6:05 pm - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#27 GEORGE

Have been using my D5000 for about a year and a half. This is a very good camera and that from a former 35mm buff. The pictures are so sharp you could cut yourself! Recently bought a 500mm sigma and the pictures are astounding. Like all camera people I am constantly looking to upgrade but this camera is making that very difficult. Probably not a good marketing move from Nikon /;-)

2:43 am - Friday, December 14, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 720p, 12 megapixel, video, 2.7 inch LCD, dslr, movies, digital slr, Nikon, d-5000, d5000

Tracker Pixel for Entry