Nikon D5200 Review

4.5
January 14, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

43 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 ben

Nice to know I am not the only one fed up with nikons strange idea of never giving easy access to the ISO.

4:13 pm - Monday, January 14, 2013

#2 ebuy

hey this one is great, nice job nikon company this would be a great start in this year, i hope you could release a cheap and quality camera :) thanks in advance

8:39 am - Tuesday, January 15, 2013

#3 F.J.Stols

Since when it isn’t possible anymore to download a picture and have a look at the exif-data? The only thing i can see is a black screen, about 50 kb!

12:47 pm - Tuesday, January 15, 2013

#4 aries

Is the Wu-1a wireless adapter is working on this slr??

6:20 pm - Tuesday, January 15, 2013

#5 Viknesh

this is the perfect entry level camera and too happy to own it… i have uploaded sme photos taken with d5200.. take a look at it http://www.flickr.com/viknesh-vijayakumar

7:24 am - Wednesday, January 16, 2013

#6 Max

Just downloaded and printed one of the pictures without adjustment. I own a D5000 which I think is great. Think Nikon need to do some work on jpeg sharpness, this could be a very disappointing Camera
for a new to Photography purchaser without the knowledge to sharpen etc. Don’t think I would upgrade at the moment, see what other mags say when tested, may be this is poor example of the Camera.

3:44 pm - Saturday, January 19, 2013

#7 N. Machiavelli

Max: this might be of interest to you:

http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/49243/nikon-d5200-sharpness-issues-mirror-slap-autofocus-system-d7000-error

6:50 pm - Saturday, January 19, 2013

#8 wasim

here is my pic .
http://www.flickr.com/photos/92443340@N08/8395146145/
i so love this camera. video and photo is awesome

9:04 pm - Saturday, January 19, 2013

#9 Max

Thanks for the comments, looks like this test camera had a problem as well. I have spoken to people who bought the D5000 like mine and took them back with similar issues. Sounds like a firmware update will not cure this problem.

6:35 pm - Sunday, January 20, 2013

#10 dutyfreecentral

what’s the difference with nikon d5100?

10:00 am - Tuesday, January 29, 2013

#11 Max

The D 5000 has a 12 mega pixel Sensor,
The D5100 16 mega pixels, & of course the D5200
24 mega pixels, so they are all different sensors
but if this is Mirror bounce as suggested the basic design is the same I suppose.
Would be interesting for another sample to be tested and see if it is the same.
I love my D5000 and have never yet had any issue’s.
I have noticed that the mirror is noisier than when it was new.
Waiting to see another test to see what it is like then.
The only two things I would like is a way of locking the focus in the central position & depth of field preview.

5:09 pm - Tuesday, January 29, 2013

#12 Zap

It’s a D5100 warmed over with a 24mp sensor, 39 point AF, and stereo mic. It’s still cut down in many areas in the same way the D5100 was.

No HSS/Auto FP, no wireless flash via onboard, tiny viewfinder, no DOF preview, no hard dedicated buttons for ISO and WB. Rather lame update if you ask me.

Features 4.5 ROFLMAO, yeah right
PB need to toughen up a bit with their scores and start to slap down stuff like this.

12:15 pm - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#13 Fred Jones

Excellent review…..just ordered one :)

10:41 pm - Monday, February 18, 2013

#14 Kelly Hardy

This is a great review. I have written my own review of the Nikon D5200 based on feedback from actual owners of this DSLR. Check it out at http://www.squidoo.com/D5200-nikon-dslr-price-and-review to make an informed decision about buying this product.

12:54 pm - Friday, March 1, 2013

#15 Roshan

I would really like to buy this camera but the only thing worrying me is this sharpness issue that people have been reporting. I’m new to dslr world can u please advice me ? Is this just minor issue or will it affect the image quality significantly? or should I go for Canon 600D.

3:12 pm - Saturday, March 2, 2013

#16 BlackBox

Why nobody is noticing how BEAUTIFUL the latest generation of Nikons looks! I absolutely adore the design. Whoever did this, was a real genius and industrial design guru. VERY few (if any) DSLR cameras look nice but Nikon managed to make them ALL look attractive. Even the usually monstrous full-frames.

1:54 pm - Thursday, March 14, 2013

#17 BlackBox

Oh, and Roshan, since you’re new to the DSLR world, I suggest you go for Hasselblad H4D-60. It’s slightly more expensive than a Boeing 747, but I promise it’ll resolve your concerns about sharpness.

1:56 pm - Thursday, March 14, 2013

#18 Max

Why not look at the new D7100 if you have issues with the D5200. I have since read other tests of the D5200 and the comment was made that its sharpness was good and did not show the fault on this test example. So may be its an early production fault that will be cured we hope.

5:34 pm - Thursday, March 14, 2013

#19 Gavin

Hi I’m looking to but a new camera as my canon 400d has gave up on me. Would it be a good idea to by the nikon or should i purchase the canon 650d.

Thanks

8:59 am - Thursday, April 4, 2013

#20 Max

Hi Gavin, I think its personal choice, if you are happy with Canon and you have Lenses stick with Canon, There’s an interesting Comparison test in Digital photo Magazine just out.
The Nikon got a Gold award and the Canon Silver.

10:19 am - Thursday, April 4, 2013

#21 JuliusC79

Hi everyone, I just picked up this camera from Costco on Tuesday.  They had it in a bundle for $1050.00 until April 27th.  It included the body(obviously),  both 18-55 and 55-300mm lens, the wifi adapter, Nikon bag, and 16 mg memory card.  This is our first DSLR and everyone we talk to tells us how great of a deal it is so we just wanted to share it with everyone.

5:12 pm - Thursday, April 18, 2013

#22 Photography

good camera. it has 24mega pixel which is good :)

6:21 am - Friday, May 3, 2013

#23 Steve Solomon

Greetigns!
As a D5200 user, I can state the following:
Max, for ISO access, you can either assign the Fn (Function) button to it, for 1-click access, or press “i” twice, for 2-click access. I don’t consider this an issue. Mirror Bounce is not an issue IF you: Use Live View (which lifts the mirror prior to exposure), or simply use an appropriately fast shutter speed for your lens.
Roshan, as for sharpness, if you use a better lens than the kit 18-105, and have good technique (low ISO, fast shutter speeds unless on a tripod, good exposure (keep to mid-range apertures such as f/5.6 - f/8), you should get great sharpness. (I’ve read several test reviews that compare the D5200 sensor sharpness as similar to that of the much more advanced D7100 (at low ISO). Please see my website for sample images (the Aruba images were taken with the D5200 and 16-85 and 35mm Nikkors). Thank you and good luck!

4:43 am - Tuesday, May 14, 2013

#24 Nancy

Hi,
I am looking for some advice please.
I would like to buy a Nikon D5200 to upgrade from my very old D50. I am not sure if it is best to upgrade just the body and keep my 18-55 and 70-300 lenses that I already have. Or is it best to upgrade the whole lot? What has changed in the lenses or is it just the cameras that get better. I am a little concerned about the DX format which I am sure was not around when I bought my D50. :)

Thanks for any help.

2:09 pm - Tuesday, June 4, 2013

#25 Geo

I tried to download these images on my Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 tablet, but all I get is black images and the tab says ‘unable to load file’. Looks like they are too big for the tab to handle. Anyone know if there’s anything I am overlooking here?

6:23 pm - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#26 lu

hey, i am thinking of buying the nikon D5200 as my first DSLR, so i wanted to ask can i download the images to the iphone 4s and does the camera contain manual focas?

11:09 pm - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#27 Don

Does the camera turn itself off after an interval to save the battery?

3:06 pm - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#28 SK Ho

How is Cannon 600D compared wiht Nikon 5200? Which one is better?

8:30 am - Monday, August 12, 2013

#29 James

Had this camera for about a month now, and I am very pleased with it. The level of detail is amazing, especially when shot in raw, though I found that noise was appearing at ISO 640 for JPEGs and ISO 400 for raw files, but this varies between colours, and is only a very fine grain up until ISO 3200, where patches of colour noise start to creep in. I found the sharpness problem to be the lens, not the camera, so I purchased some better glass and since then sharpness has not been an issue. I haven’t really used the effects mode on the dial, but the D-Lighting and HDR functions have been a pleasure to use, mostly on landscapes. The menus are easy to navigate through via the buttons and control pad, however I sometimes had to press a button twice to select an option. Overall, I think that the camera is an absolute joy to work with, and the image quality is brilliant for such a high pixel density. Can’t wait to see what lies ahead in Nikon’s line-up, hopefully the rumored D7200 will join the market and set the benchmark for APS-C/DX format cameras. :)

9:41 pm - Sunday, August 18, 2013

#30 Andrew

@Nancy, i upgraded from D60 and it is just awesome. you will never regret it. get it with a kit lens if you don’t have other lens. and give away your d50 + 18-55 to someone who will treasure it. btw your d50 is dx format.

2:48 pm - Sunday, September 1, 2013

#31 TonyCarpenter

I’m keenly waiting to get a Nikon D5200 but would really like some views on the sharpness issues brought up earlier in year in case it is an issue bc naturally I like SHARP images. Some comments queried mirror shock or vibration, or when using viewfinder.. I’d just like some official info on this please. Also, any idea if I can use my old Konica Hexanon 85mm 1.8(worlds sharpest portrait lens Leitz formula)& others on a DSLR. Or Minolta AF Std 1.7?
Grateful thanks for any info that might help.

1:11 am - Wednesday, September 4, 2013

#32 Gloria

First time .....is the Nikon 5200 the way to go for a newbie?

6:57 pm - Monday, November 18, 2013

#33 Roberto

The info about the movie format is not accurate: record on mov format with h264 codec, a very, very good implementation of it

5:20 pm - Thursday, December 5, 2013

#34 Ray

Does anyone have a solution to fix jpeg photos taken with the D5200 so that they will display on a Samsung TV?  Do the camera settings need to be changed? All photos are viewed perfectly on computers.

4:47 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#35 Ron

I just bought a 2nd hand Nikon D5200. It is stuck in MF ( manuel Focus )
Is there a setting that I am missing? I am using Tamron AF lens.

4:50 pm - Thursday, January 30, 2014

#36 Andrew

Ron, check the lens if it is on Manual focus, look for a switch

11:57 pm - Thursday, January 30, 2014

#37 Ron

Apparently you can only use AF-s lenses with this camera

5:12 am - Friday, January 31, 2014

#38 Jennifer

What is the best external flash for inside pictures for the D5200?  Thanks in advance!

5:49 pm - Saturday, February 15, 2014

#39 Ron

Holy cow, but this camera takes awful pictures. Spend your money on a D3300 no matter what model order they are supposed to be in.

11:52 am - Thursday, February 27, 2014

#40 Jade

Hi .. wondering if anyone can help me. I was playing around with the scene mode and now it only reads “S” in the top left hand corner. Im not sure how I converted it to S mode and now cannot shoot in any of the automatic scene modes! Any suggestions how to switch back? Thanks so much!!

4:47 am - Tuesday, April 29, 2014

#41 moeskoetie

picture 18 and 19 are horreble.
how is this possible?

4:54 pm - Thursday, May 1, 2014

#42 moeskoetie

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/reviewsamples/photos/2558221/24dsc_0196?inalbum=nikon-d5200-review-samples

the picture’s there are a lot better than the picture’s here…..

5:00 pm - Thursday, May 1, 2014

#43 School Marm

Schools does not have an apostrophe in it.

2:05 pm - Sunday, July 6, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, beginner, video, dslr, tilting, prosumer, movies, digital slr, tilt, 24 megapixel, 5fps, vari-angle, Nikon, lcd, screen, 39-point AF, free angle, folding, articulated, d5200, fold, d-5200

Tracker Pixel for Entry