Nikon D7000 Review

4.5
November 15, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

84 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Lee

Got a D7K to replace my D200 its a great camera for the price got more bells and whistles than a Wurlitzer and they all work apart from the af in video which can hunt a bit but then on manual if you are not well practiced your focusing will hunt
Image quality is cracking and a 50% crop still leaves a sharp crisp picture.
i would say that this covers such a wide field of user abilities a novice DSLR user could buy this and go from auto snapper to exhibition photography without having to up grade kit once.

9:06 pm - Monday, November 15, 2010

#2 John Zhao

I’ve tested the Nikon D7000, when it comes to responsiveness it’s very slow compared to Canon EOS 60D

10:07 pm - Monday, November 15, 2010

#3 Macmaven

Very subjective to speak to responsiveness as it depends greatly on the skill of the photographer, subject matter, time of day/night, etc. However, the Canon 60D and other Canon products are quick, but they have far less keepers as the AF module is not as accurate as the Nikon family of DSLR’s.

11:37 pm - Monday, November 15, 2010

#4 Poli

I don’t understand why the DSLRs can’t autofocus properly taking video? My P7000 autofocuses with no problem when I’m taking video.  Can someone explain why the D7000 has trouble with this? Thx.

11:42 pm - Monday, November 15, 2010

#5 Matt

It sounds like a very good camera but pity about the lack of swivel screen. I’m more than happy with my D90. I’ll wait and see what replaces the D300 before I consider upgrading.

12:03 am - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#6 lee

Im am amazed how many cameras guys own or have comprehensive access to, or is it a quick shop prod and read the reviews? unless of course some are proffessional reviewers, I am sure the Canon is a great camera but I was not comparing them I mearly said what i thought of the kit I have. I have had my kit for a week and just starting to find out what works good or not so good.
I agree swivel is nice In my opinion however its a potential connection problem I have not seen any operating statistics but I would like to see the reliability after several thousand twists and flips before I totaly went for one, as for focusing The reason your P7000 focuses easily is its tiny short focus lens

5:55 am - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#7 Cuong

@John Zhao: What kind of responsiveness are you talking about? Comment like that just prove that you are just a Canon user who have no idea how to use a Nikon camera.

I think the AF during video is a nice feature to have, and Nikon has done their best to provide it. The problem with it hunting back and forth or the af noise being recorded is just an obvious expected fact, given that you are doing contrast based af and the quality of the lens being used. That problem will come with whatever camera brand if they employ the af for video (which no brand has done). The thing is you now have the “OPTION” to auto focus and keep the camera focus on things or faces during video, of course if they’re not moving too fast. Even a dedicated camcorder can’t keep focus if the subject is moving too fast, it can only focus faster because lens is built-in.

I’m just saying this because I’ve read comments of those who are acting like a child whining about the D7000 not doing what they’re expected.

11:21 am - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#8 Sydney Portrait

@Cuong, What I mean is that when compared to Canon 60D. Say for instance shooting continuous frames on the D7000 is slower than Canon 60D in performance and speed?

11:40 am - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#9 Sydney Portrait

Apart from the slow continuous shooting performance and speed, slow auto focus, everything else is good.

11:43 am - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#10 Sydney Portrait

Comparing cameras is just like comparing cars. If you want a larger screen go with Nikon, but if want performance go with Canon

11:46 am - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#11 Lianne Ashton

If you want the best you get a Nikon D3x, not a Canon camera. Canon has lovely printers tho’, but their cameras need improving big time!

12:23 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#12 Qz

Hot pixel issue of the D7000 delaying my purchase. still need a clear answer before i get it over the 7D. any comments over it?

2:15 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#13 Jo

Really te guys is evaluate better the 60D for the swivell screen ? Very accurate…

There is no Hot pixels, the ergonomic is far better than in Canon (I have had a 40D) and te focus speed is also far better. Sorry Canon, but this is my girl friend.

2:26 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#14 Josh

Sydney Portrait please stop spamming!

2:42 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#15 Pako

Agree with Qz. Hot pixels is a big problem of D7000. Many owners returns the cameras because the video is unusable with it. Capturing video is part of the fun I am looking forward with this camera, so must be perfect as well as for capturing pictures.

3:07 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#16 Brian

I noticed that on some of the test shoots that you did you were getting a blue sky at ISO 100. I’ve been trying to get this to work on my D7000 without much luck, so what the hell am I doing wrong?

3:13 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#17 Qz

how about hot pixels in photo? is it possible?
if it is. no point even considering D7000.

3:22 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#18 Brian

What the hell are “hot Pixels”?

3:30 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#19 Pako

Hot pixels are individual pixels which look much brighter than they should. They can be various colors and usually are noticable on higher ISOs. As I know, on D7000 only visible on video. Photo is OK. Just take a look in youtube for “d7000 hot pixels”. I found them also on videos not marked as “hot pixels”. You must be on HD or full HD mode to see it properly. Come on Nikon, bring us some solution, so we can buy this amazing camera!!!

5:02 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#20 Brian

Thanks for the info on hot pixels, I have’nt shot video yet with the D 7000.

5:14 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#21 mazen

i think that the sony SLT A55 is still the best value for money for amateurs
but this nikon is excellent

8:52 pm - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#22 Ryan Ward

I have a D7000 and I have no hot pixels. Video is best done in manual focus as the shallow depth of field in DX or FX sensors makes it hard to focus using contrast detection.

The dynamic range makes it fun to use and more keepers without blown highlights during the day!

2:50 am - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#23 Robert

On page 58 of the manual it says that:

“Maximum Length: Each movie file can be up to 4 GB in size and 20 minutes long;”

Not 2 GB as mentioned in the (otherwise fine) review :).

6:35 pm - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#24 Brian

I’m still trying to figure this “dynamic range” thing out.

6:41 pm - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#25 Emil

*** Acquiring a Nikon D7000 ***

Ladies and Gentlemen:

It looks like you all have this new camera, so I apologize for asking a rather mundane question, but would appreciate your help.

I am in the US on the East Coast, and wish to buy the new Nikon D7000 (body) + 2 DX lenses:
- Nikkor 35mm/f1.8;
- Nikkor 18-200mm/f3.5-5.6.

The lenses are available for purchase, but not the camera itself, since all major and well-known photo retailers, e.g. B&H, Ritz Camera, Adorama, TigerDirect, J&R indicate “Backordered”, “Unavailable yet”, etc.
BestBuy sells (shipping only, not immediate in-store pickup) the kit D7000 + 18-105mm, but not the body separately.

Please, if you know more, advise me what to do to buy what I have in mind ?

12:09 am - Thursday, November 18, 2010

#26 Carel

Maybe it’s just me, but that kit lens really doesn’t seem match the quality of the camera… Those images look downright horrible!

Unsharp even where it’s supposed to be in focus… Out of focus areas look pretty bad, too. Let’s hope this is just a bad copy… (Or just buy the glass the camera deserves)

11:13 am - Friday, November 19, 2010

#27 Debt Advice

Awesome Review I find the picture quality is very poor and the camera my D5000 came in the picture much better than this. Nikon does not need to have some quality in this like the idiots who thought more mega pixels is better than a breathtaking picture? The image quality was the only reason why I shot more than many or Nikon DSLR.

1:34 pm - Friday, November 19, 2010

#28 HappyDutch

I was a bit surprised about the quality of the images. I have a D70s and switched to RAW a few years ago because of imperfect metering and have more range of corrections using RAW. Looking at the images posted in this review the metering mistakes the D7000 makes seem very similar to the D70s images. I wanted to switch to the D7000 to reduce post processing work, but as it seems it will not make a hug difference.

Any comments from actual D7000 owners?

7:46 pm - Saturday, November 20, 2010

#29 JW

I, like Emil above, am wondering the same thing. Since the Nikon D7000—a camera I am anxiously awaiting to buy—is unavailable for purchase in the USA, how is that so many of you are in possession of a copy?

3:20 am - Sunday, November 21, 2010

#30 Brian

In the US, I bought mine in Canada.

3:32 am - Sunday, November 21, 2010

#31 Lee

Lianne Ashton: “If you want the best you get a Nikon D3x, not a Canon camera”.

If you want the best you dont muck around with small format cameras go medium like the Hasselblad ect or better still large like the Gandolfi ect which still only come as cut film but with a 10X8 negative surpasses any DLSR’s quality above 12 X 16 and gives poster size prints that you can cut your finger on with fantastic tonal range.
Its all about price against quality of image, against how deep your pockets are. A Blad will burn a hole in $30,000 a Gandolfi somewhat more being a tailor made hand built camera. Most DLSR cameras the Nikons, Canons, Pentax’s ect can produce excellent 12X16’s or good TV size images with ease, Exhibition work needs a bit more handling to get the 20X16 results expected by judges(I speak from experiance as I have been doing club & exhibition photography for nearly 40 years)
I agree the posted Images are not that hot exposure on some looks nearly a stop out unless its the transfer to the site that has upset the mix also some do seem off focus.
I cant say I have had either of these problems with my DK7
London on a dull day does make getting the best out of a camera tough thats why most manufactures post images taken on very bright sunlit days,  Nikons D7000 ad took the guy to a blinking desert to shoot you won’t get much more light on your CMOS than there.
I cant say I have had any clarity or exposure problems with my kit which normally has the 18-200 VR on the front.
I am not going to say that the D70 or D90, Canon 60D ect is better or worse as I have never used them and I only pass comment on camera operation with kit I have actually taken images on rather than quote from other sites making it out to be my personal experiance which does appear to be common practice. My old camera was a D200 was deffinately better built than the D7000 but the D7000 is far superior in metering, image quality and user frendlyness I had to work hard to get images that satified my personal quality standards with the D200 this new D7000 lets me concentrate much more of the subject rather than the technicalities.
Hot, frozen, pixels? not on my camera or any of my clubs 5 friends who own one so either we are all very lucky or there are far more claims than actual numbers of faulty units in circulation.
I am happy with my puchase, its your money so your choice as to what you buy, I can only pass my personal opinion which may not be yours such is the way of all kit buying.
For me its a great little camera, not perfect, no camera is but its only minor niggles like grip tab that comes open, or the battery cover being a bit flimsy that bug me a tad.

Happy shoot guys

10:49 am - Sunday, November 21, 2010

#32 Prosnapsalot

These responses are hard to read… It’s getting to be a Jerry Springer level “debate” over technology obviously none of you grasp.

To put it very plainly…
The D7000 is a very good camera, between the D90 and D300S. If you have the money buy a D300S as it offers greater AF, and control, and traditional pro-body build like the D200 some of us are used to. iIf these things don’t matter, and you do a lot of video and would enjoy the HQ vids get the D7000 and you will be very happy, as I said before it’s a great camera. To the owner of the D5000, I’m glad your proud of your gear the D5000 is a lot of fun (I have one) but the D7000 is a better camera, Fact.

If you love Canon, great go buy a canon, and leave us alone that whole debate is childish really, some like Nikon some Like canon, good for both of you… shut up.

Sometimes I wish responses on product reviews were limited to those with receipt codes from the camera that they purchased to block out all the muck I read on review columns when un-knowing kids, housewives who call them selves photogs, and know it all techno geeks that have a lot of money and buy nice rigs (all non photographers) start trying to debate what a good camera is. Buy camera, learn camera, then review it, otherwise shut up and read.

PS: Many a award winning photo has been taken on far less capable rigs than a D7000, until you are at that level with *at least* the D7000 don’t you think this is all for not anyway? Shut up, learn your gear. take good photos. Technology has way less to do with things than your eye and what’s between your ears + opportunity. food for though.

- Professional Photographer

6:03 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#33 Emil

I take it the Nikon D7000 will be available for purchase with American (and foreign) retailers as the Holiday Seasons starts, just after Thanksgiving.

7:11 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#34 Emil

... and the only reasonable follow-up question is:  How Did You (Specifically) Obtain This Camera ?

8:58 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#35 Antti

The main advantage of the Internet is, that reviews can be updated as new cameras are reviewed at the site. So please add comments of Pentax K5 compared to D7000 and 60D! In main Rivals you mention Pentax K7 but not K5!
So just a little update needed.

Thank you for excellent review!

11:34 am - Tuesday, November 23, 2010

#36 Marc Ouellette

I have owned a number of cameras in the past. I started out with a Canon, moved to a Fuji, then a Pentax before going to a later model Canon, then an HP and finally an Olympus Ultrazoom model.

I now own a Nikon D3000 and while I am completely sold on the ergonomics of the brand, I am looking for an upgrade. The D7000 looks and feels like a terrific camera, and I will consider this model based on your review.

5:18 pm - Tuesday, November 23, 2010

#37 Dave

I have had my D7000 for a couple weeks now. I pre-ordered. There is definitely a difference over my D90. The colors seem to be right on. I don’t use a kit lens which makes a big difference. I have also ordered an external mic because the internal one picks up the auto focus sound. Can’t find any hot pixels for you people trying to find them with the lense cap on.
If you’re looking to upgrade from a D3000 you won’t be disappointed. No regrets here, enjoying every minute of it.

2:11 am - Wednesday, November 24, 2010

#38 Marti

A review like this would be more useful if it included info on product reliability. Nikon products in the past several years have been shoddily machined and poorly tested at the factory. This counts, especially at the $1K+ price range.

1:08 am - Thursday, November 25, 2010

#39 python

I wonder if the difference in price of D7000 with D90 worth it. I like the video features, but D90 is quite powerful too. Maybe I need to wait for a while for D7000 to drop in price. Currently I have a D5000, http://dslrjourney.blogspot.com

5:37 pm - Thursday, November 25, 2010

#40 grinner

i have ha the d7000 for about three weeks now, upgraded from the d200, i shoot a lot of basketball, football, low light stuff. image quality at higher iso’s is the best i have ever seen, on a camera under 1500.00. i will keep my d200 but for low light there is no comparison. i shoot with a 24-70 2.8 nikon zoom and the 70-200 2.8vr. i have no complaints about this new camera

6:24 pm - Thursday, November 25, 2010

#41 john long

I am upgrading my d80 and want the fastest auto focusing ability of either the 300s or 7000 to go with my 80-400 nikon zoom for bird photography.the auto focus speed is my key aim to catch the birds in flight and at this time of the year when light levels are not their highest. how can I tell which one is quickest? anyone else has any expereice in such?
john

12:25 pm - Tuesday, November 30, 2010

#42 sebas

got already two D7000 bodys, both got hot pixel an backfocus problems.
die internet is full of posts where people have the same issues!

still waiting for newer models where the fix the problems!

about the hotpixel issue, there is hope http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17099
but backfocus, i dont know…

2:33 pm - Sunday, December 5, 2010

#43 Brent

The D800 (replacement for the D700) will be the camera to wait for.  I’ll keep my D90 until the D700 drops on Ebay or save up for a new D800.  Full frame is the way to go.

8:32 pm - Tuesday, December 7, 2010

#44 Frank Stanton

Happy Dutch - A number of other reviews on the net have indicated that the 18-105mm kit lens is not up to snuff with regards to image quality. In other words, Nikon packages this lens with the D7000 because of its range for video shooting. I think that using the more common 18-55mm kit lens (which has a good reputation despite being a kit lens)or stepping up to a 16-85mm lens (which I love and use on my D90)would make a world of difference in sharpness at least. Better yet, use Nikon’s pro lenses and you will get to and even exceed the D300’s picture quality. The sensor seems that good.

4:30 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#45 Emil

” ... A number of other reviews on the net have indicated that the 18-105mm kit lens is not up to snuff with regards to image quality ... “

I ordered the Nikon D7000 Body + Nikkor DX 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 (2nd gen) + Nikkor DX 35mm f/1.8 .

Based on several reviews I read I came to the conclusion that the 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6 is a good lens, but the 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 , though more expensive, is much better:  not just because of its greater reach, but mostly because of its better built (less plastic) and because it offers higher image quality.  When one buys a good camera, one also buys a good lens.

Being in the US I skipped Best-Buy (the only US seller of this camera at the moment), since it only sells the kit, and placed myself on a waiting list with another retailer which offers exactly what I want.

Now ... I am mostly focused on still photography, however, if video were my main interest, I would consider the new APS-C (DX) Sony A55, which uses a semi-transparent (“translucent”) mirror, thus allowing even faster focus while shooting video, and, perhaps (not sure), even while shooting stills in fast succesion (burst mode).

The only possible “negative” when using Sony cameras, seems be the fact Sony’s selection of lenses (even including the compatible Minolta Rokkor or the new Carl Zeiss with excellent optics) is less good that Nikon’s.  Nikkor lenses are just awesome !

6:16 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#46 Lord Beau

Why are your RAW files TIFF and not NEF? Thanks, anyway!

6:37 pm - Thursday, December 16, 2010

#47 A.Adams

The funny thing here is all of you sound like the people that argue Ford or Chevy?  I have been in 4 photography contest and won 2 of them, I took 2nd in the others using a kodak camera.Having all the best features or a $2000 camera will not make you an artist. To each is own.

8:10 pm - Friday, December 17, 2010

#48 ProAimD3X

Hey A Adams,
You got that right! My brother and brother in-law always argue about trucks, ford or chevy geeze give me a break!lol. I have nice equipment for my work,some of the best and it does help.In fact I would recommend it. But I agree you have to be able to work with what you got and an artist always makes it work.

8:36 pm - Friday, December 17, 2010

#49 Cal

Re product reliability: I just “upgraded” from a D90 to a D7000 and the popup flash on the D7000 doesn’t work. The flash pops up but doesn’t fire. I am not used to Nikon cameras in this price range behaving this way. Maybe a D700 would have been a better choice.

6:30 am - Thursday, December 23, 2010

#50 Marc Feldesman

I own a D7000 and a D700.  Sold my D300s to get the D7000.  Use nothing but pro lenses (24 f1.4, 50 f1.4, 85f1.4G, etc).  With high end lenses, the D7000 matches the quality of the D700 frame for frame.  Obviously the D700 covers more area and is a quicker camera.  But looking at 100% crops from both cameras, they are almost impossible to tell apart.  My camera didn’t have any hot pixels, but the firmware upgrade 1.0.1 is now out to resolve this for those who have them.  The kit lens 18-105 is, IMO, not really of the same caliber as the body.  I’d definitely look at the 18-200 or the new 28-300 as a walk-around lens.  Frankly, I use my 85mm f1.4G as my walk-around lens and carry two others with me.

The D7000 is a well-designed camera and is a very good replacement for the D3000, D5000, D90, and D300/D300s.

2:56 am - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#51 Solomonos

” The D7000 is a well-designed camera and is a very good replacement for the D3000, D5000, D90, and D300/D300s. “

Yes, that’s exactly the reason we want it, but ... in the USA it is still not available - body only + the lens of our choice.  Do we have to bribe someone ... Nikon, perhaps ? (smile !)

5:38 am - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#52 BIPLOB

I AM A PROUDE OWNWR OF NIKON D7000,ITS THE BEST CAMERA IN MARKET,SO IF U WANT A NEW SLR CAMERA..JUST GO AND GRAB NIKON D7000.YOU WILL BE HAPPY.

12:59 am - Friday, December 31, 2010

#53 Mad Monk

Some of the comments here demonstrate a total lack of awareness of photography at all. The exposures look out because the person taking the photographs didn’t know what on earth they were doing. I have a D7000 and the exposures are accurate 99% of the time. The 1% of the time they aren’t is because I’ve screwed up, not the camera. I make my living shooting everyday and I know I can depend on this camera.

The AF is fast AND accurate if you have the lens to back it up. The shoddy 18-105 kit lens does not do this camera justice (in fact it struggles to do any camera justice, just skip it).

I have no issues with stuck pixels whatsoever. So few samples of this camera have an issue with it yet it is the people who do that get all the attention.

The Custom settings on the mode dial are something I’ve been waiting for from Nikon for a long time and hopefully they will add this to their newer cameras.

Battery life is excellent. I can easily shoot all day with it and it still has plenty of juice left.

Don’t care for video.

The inclusion of SD card slots is a little disappointing but to be expected in this bracket. I use this when I only want to carry one fairly light body anyway so card (in)compatability isn’t too big of an issue.

Overall, a very good camera IF you know how to get the best from it. This is in my opinion the best DX camera on the market, easily beating the D300s in so many respects (but I didn’t tell the guy I sold my D300s to that, hehe). If you want a camera to do all the thinking for you, buy a little point and shoot. A DSLR won’t make you a better photographer, you’ll always be average at best. If however you want a sharp, fast and accurate DX camera then this is the best option available at the moment.

2:58 pm - Friday, December 31, 2010

#54 gary

I`ve had my D7000 since Nov. 5th and I totally agree with mad monk,this camera is a tool,and like most of the present nikon family it has a very good pedigree and you have to put some time in to get the best out of any top spec. camera.
  I have just shot a xmas wedding (Dec 30th) and we were blessed with heavy fog, shot with iso`s from 400 -6400 the D7000 never missed a beat in all departments(have not used video yet).I also think after 30 years in this hobby/trade I would like to think I could get great results with any of the latest dslr`s,so get off your computers and go shoot some stunning pic`s

5:30 pm - Wednesday, January 5, 2011

#55 No Pro

Just received the D7000 as an Xmas present feom hubby. Use the D50 now, and get incredible pictures.  I am not a professional, I am an amateur who has a decent eye. I am trying to improve my skills and wanted a stronger lens, but am wondering if I “need” the extra from this new camera. Could care less about video. The higher mega pixel is the big draw so I don’t lose quality and can enlarge photos. However, I do not compete at this time, and this is quite an investment. my D50 is sevral years old, but I certainly have had beautiful pictures. How much more will I get at this stage from this much camera? I can’t get good answers from the store…they obviously want me to buy it!

9:28 pm - Wednesday, January 5, 2011

#56 Gary H.

I have had a D7000 now for abouit 3 weeks.  I sold my D300 and a D70 to pay for it.  I am still keeping my D300’s until it’s replacement is released. This is my 5th Nikon DSLR and I have never had any build quality issues.  I have had issues that the camera didn’t do what I expected it to and later found my settings were incorrect. 
I am really impressed with the D7000so far.  I passed on the 18 - 105 lens which has to be one of the worst lenses Nikon has ever made.  I shoot a variety of lenes and I find the autofocus to be faster on this camera than any I have ever used other than full frame. It has better ISO handling than my D300’s and mcuh better than My D300 had. For No Pro, this camera will give you much greater range and freedom when taking pictures. If all you do would be daytime landscape a better piece of glass would give you better results, but this will give you much better low light performance and faster focus and greater picture control along with ease of use. One feature I really like in my D300s that this also has is the virtual horizon level. It is much easier to use than external levels and saves a huge amount for me in post processing.

12:30 am - Monday, January 10, 2011

#57 Katie

Can anyone tell me if you’re able to manually focus the Nikon D7000 in movie mode? And if it’s any good compared to the Canon 5D? I’ve seen a few sample videos from the D7000 and it seems to be hunting to focus quite a bit. Thanks

1:38 pm - Monday, January 10, 2011

#58 Jonathan

D7000 is brilliant, I’ve had mine a month (replaced teh 1st one due to hot pixels, unacceptable on a new premium priced cam), and replaced the kit lens (not impressed with it) with the 16 - 85mm VR ED Nikkor (brilliant lens). Photos are amazing, the best I’ve seen from a cropped sensor DSLR, I think the D7k is the best DX format cam Nikon have produced. and Katie, you can manually focus during movie mode but the canon have implemented the movie functionality a bit better, you get the same results just easier to get them (movie) with the canon.

1:24 pm - Thursday, January 13, 2011

#59 John

About 500 exposures through my D7000 at ISO 3200. 27 in. monitor on a full house Mac with CS5. All exposures were RAW. Not a hint of a hot pixel or noise of any kind.

1:24 am - Wednesday, January 19, 2011

#60 French wedding photographer

Thanks for the review and feedback.
It will probably complete my backpack as a second body.
I’ll wait to see what will be the futur D800, if I raise to fullframe, hoping it will be released soon.
Thanks for sharing,

Alexis Borel

1:05 pm - Tuesday, February 1, 2011

#61 nickb

Quick answer after one month of ownership?  If you can get a used D300 or D300s, I would not buy this first; image quality compared with with the D300 I own is no better despite the extra pixels, IMHO. Lack of a few other things makes the D7000 less good than I had hoped….ie not quite as good as the D300…?

8:12 pm - Monday, February 14, 2011

#62 kamar

http://kamarms.blogspot.com/search/label/(PHOTO FAVORITE SHOTS)

I still use DSC-HX1… In Malaysia, D7000 + lens are so expensive… (http://www.nikon.com.my)

Anyone knows whether D7000 has any built-in filters/touch up???

3:43 am - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#63 jon

Bot my D7000 in hong kong on jan 1. my first DSLR Camera/  Shortly it was released into the market.

i have really used my camera 2 or thrice shot over 1000 pictures in manual.

i had noticed that the auto focus was giving some trouble, recently i was playing around with it and realised that the picture quality was horrible and the autofocus was really screwed up.

i took it to the service centre for repair and the same was confirmed.

they tell me it will take them 2 weeks to repair.

This is really sad! The service time is really poor. Sony take 48 to 72 hrs to come back.

8:35 am - Monday, March 14, 2011

#64 mgs

If anyone is disappointed with the sample pics in the review with the crappy 18-105mm kit lens (As I was) take at look a Ken rockwells review of the D7000, there you will see how good this camera can be with the right lenses and someone who knows how to take a picture.

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d7000.htm

7:11 am - Wednesday, March 30, 2011

#65 John

I am delighted with the 18-105 lens. Is it the best lens I own or have ever owned?—not even close. Is it a good value for the money—absolutely. (See my cat and orchid pictures on this forum?—most shot with the 18-105). Technical reviews of the 18-105 place it in the middle of the pack for quality. However, when coupled with the D7000, it has produced results for me that are the equal of the best results I have achieved with my best lenses and my earlier cameras—far better than the best result I ever achieved with my D1 and my Nikkor 85 or 180—arguably two of the best lenses Nikon has produced. I think the 18-105, particularly at middle F stops is certainly a fine lens and a bargain at the price when paired with the D7000.

11:31 am - Wednesday, March 30, 2011

#66 Marrie Korpershoek

After weeks and weeks of comparing. Starting of in the compact section with the Canon S95 and the Nikon Coolpix P7000. Yesterday I finally ordered it, and today it arrived.. my very own D7000. Thank you Mark for the great reviews, the easy to compare sample images and comments.
And even though the lens I ordered with it isn’t the one I set out for (I rather would have had the 16-85mm but it wasn’t available at the price I set out for) I’m still very happy with it. You have to start somewhere. I think my next lenses will be the 50mm 1.4 and 70-300 VR. But for now I’m gonna enjoy myself with what I’ve got so far.
Best regards from Holland,
Marrie :-)

9:38 pm - Thursday, May 5, 2011

#67 Steve Weir

I’ve had the D7000 for about 3 weeks. It is very impressive.The D7000 is more than a match for the Canon 7D and considerably less expensive. I have the 18-105 and it performs quite well - see sample image taken with this lens here zoomed out to 105

http://www.flickr.com/photos/mahamantra1/5745818540/sizes/o/in/photostream/
Also have the 35mm F1.8
Some of us may not have a spare $5000 to buy top of the line lenses. My next will most likely be Tokina 11-16, which costs $800 in Australia.

The D7000 is a great camera. Fabulous IQ, relatively compact, logical controls, menus and ergonomics, and produces wonderful results. I highly recommend it

11:38 am - Friday, June 3, 2011

#68 Craig McLean

I find it funny that there are always people looking to bait others over their personal choice. Camera choice isn’t as bad as perhaps mobile phones (cell phones in USA) or maybe your choice of games consol, but the perhaps the (d)slr camera audience isn’t as young.

Whether you are buying Nikon or Canon I don’t think it makes a great deal of difference. Obviously you chose something that suits you and you feel comfortable with but other than that, with a few exceptions, cameras these days seem to be fairly close (read reviews though as there are some donkeys out there).

I personally have the D7000 and love it, but I do lust after my girlfriends 7D. And yet she thinks my D7000 is easier to use and takes better photos …. Grass is always greener on the other side….

My first DSLR was the first of the Samsung DSLR’s, it was all I could afford, and you know what it took good photos, even with the kit lenses. I then went to a D5000 and it took good photos to, especially when I upgraded the kit lens to a 18-200 VR2 (lovely bit of glass), even better when I got the DX 35mm F1.8 (good cheap lens).

I went with Nikon mainly because of the immense backwards compatibility of lenses, Canon may also have this range of backwards compatibility I’m just not as sure of it. There is some good cheap glass to be had, especially if you don’t mind manual.

I went up to the D7000 because I had (a) grown out of the D5000 (b)wanted to make more use of the older lenses (D5000 not having the internal focusing motor) (c) higher resolution (without sacrificing quality) (d) higher effective ISO usage. I’m glad I did but I still find myself coveting the girlfriends 7D, mainly because of the way that it feels in my hands (and the fact that she has a 100-400 4.5/5.6 EF lens to go with it, which is actually why she bought the 7D so that she could have a good enough camera to make the most of the lens (400d before that struggled)

Whilst I am not a great photographer and there will be people much better at it than me here if I was going to make some suggestions they would be as follows

1 - Buy the camera that best suits your needs. Don’t worry too much about going for the next model up cause if its Nikon or Canon it will still be good

2 - Save some money for good glass. The quality of the glass is in my opinion the most important part of the camera. Great camera with bad lens = bad photos. £400 saved on the camera is in most cases half way to some quality glass, in some cases its more than enough to buy a great lens (both canon and Nikon to 50mm f1.8s for around the £100 mark and they are both good lenses)

3 - If you want to take video, buy a video camera

Nikon? Canon? Doesn’t matter. Just get what suits your needs and enjoy taking photos! In saying that I am out this weekend hopefully with my 70’s Yashica Rangefinder …..

10:46 am - Tuesday, June 14, 2011

#69 ferry

the most important is “the man behind the camera, not the camera itself”

11:01 am - Thursday, June 30, 2011

#70 Craig McLean

or woman .....

11:26 am - Thursday, June 30, 2011

#71 SK

Having gone from a Nikon FM to a D7000, I have to say I love it. It feels great in my hands and all the major controls like ISO, shutter speed and aperture are readily accessible. Far too much emphasis is given to esoteric imponderables in DSLR reviews. To anyone who is sitting on the fence, I would say “just buy one”. It has the heaviness of a quality camera and once you familiarise yourself with it and read the manual (which you must do), it is a joy to use. The image quality is excellent. I have mine set to spot metering in manual mode and it works a treat. A bit of levels/curves adjustment in Photoshop, some Unsharp Mask and colour correction (which you need to do with any digital camera image) and you’ll have high quality images. The fact that all my old Nikon AI lenses just snap on is a huge plus for me. Buy it, use it, enjoy it.

3:23 pm - Sunday, July 17, 2011

#72 Paul Scott Thomas

Loved the nikon d90 and got some stunning pictures with it. changed from canon after not being as happy with the later canon models compared to their entry level cameras.

Great iso performance. Great performance especially with a non kit lens( please dont confuse the cameras performance with lens performance) and really fast interface and great ergonomics. generally the d7000 then, has improvements in all these areas so whats not to like.
The video won’t out perform camcorders and compacts for some time with SLRS due to sensor differences but again this is improved. Better access to functions, live view, new dials (always a bonus, and an extra stop of ISO performance is always good. But for £200 more than the D90 I would start with that body only, and a decent lens (the 50mm f1.8 is a must for £90

11:21 am - Wednesday, September 7, 2011

#73 Douglas

My D90 had 21,314 shutter snaps on it, when I had the shutter replaced, and sold it on e-bay for $550.00. 

The D7000 is a really good camera.  I gave up film two years ago where I shot a Nikon F3 and Fuji 50 or Kodachrome 25.  The D7000 approaches the color saturation of those films and camera.  It produces very good image quality.  I used it this summer in combination with a AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm 1/2.8 VR II for photo shoots in Glacier and Yellowstone National Parks.

11:53 pm - Friday, September 16, 2011

#74 Ralphster

I cannot understand the fuss people are making abou the VIDEO on the D7000! the camera is a superb stills camera if you want video,buy a video camera.I have D60,90,200,300 and the D7000 is superior to all of them and I NEVER use the video on any of them.

5:11 pm - Sunday, September 18, 2011

#75 Jason

The D7000 is a great camera until I found a serious fault.  Shooting with small apertures of f/11 to f/22 you will see oil spots in sensor that produces black spots in your images.  Looks like this is Nikon Model will be recalled soon.  Nikon (TA Macalister Nikon NZ)acknowledges this problem and hopefully tehy will rectify this.

8:04 pm - Tuesday, December 6, 2011

#76 fceltia

I have had the D7K for a few months and have enjoyed the camera a great deal. I can shoot all day on one charge on the battery. I use the Nikon 180mm 2.8, older nikon 24-120 3.5-5.6 D, Sigma 50mm 1.4.I don’t use video mode but if I needed videos I would buy a dedicated video camera not a DSLR. I have used a D90 and D300s, the D7K is exactly what Nikon designed it for. In between the two. Enjoy your life take more photos.:)

2:27 pm - Thursday, December 29, 2011

#77 Yucel

I love my D7000… what about the D800?  Seems like a full frame D7000… and, it seems to shoot slower in full res…???

10:33 pm - Tuesday, February 28, 2012

#78 Douglas

Yes, I have enjoyed my D7000.  I just sold it and DX lenses on e-bay.  I did keep the Nikkor 10-24mm to use on my D800e.  Now I have six weeks to wait.  I have been waiting for Nikon to update the D700 for three years.  I’ll finally be back to full frame 35mm photography.

4:02 am - Wednesday, February 29, 2012

#79 David Rivett

Have had my 7K just over a year and love it, it replaced a much loved D80. Great images until recently I too noticed those tiny translucent oil spots on the sensor (HDR work really highlights them). Camera currently with Nikon UK.Have asked for replacement mirror box as apparently this is the only long term fix. Will see how they handle this. A good test of Nikon after-sales!

9:00 am - Sunday, July 15, 2012

#80 Dave H

@David Rivett,

Just in case you see this page again David, did you have any success with Nikon and the oil spots issue?

I’m considering getting hold of a new D7000 and a couple of lenses soon and I’m wondering if Nikon have managed to solve this issue yet.

Thank you

7:52 pm - Monday, August 13, 2012

#81 David Rivett

Nikon quite good. Did Free sensor clean which has so far eliminated probs. Refused to do an automatic mirror box swap, not accepting that this was a problem- we’ll see. This is a truly
fantastic camera and I believe more recent models don’t suffer the problems of the early ones.

6:25 am - Tuesday, August 14, 2012

#82 Rainer

Some of the coments just make me laugh a little. people comparing trivial things from one Camera to another namely the D60. Most DSL Cameras have something to offer. Some more some less and often reflecting the price tag as well. If you want it ALL then be prepeared to spend Mega $$$. I own a D90. Taken over a thousand shots with it. A pretty good Camera and also used it for my Wedding Photography. To summarise it the D7000 is a very good Camera and meets All of my requirements. The only thing I have to get used to, is to put it on high active D lighting. The other settings leave some of my images a little bright (over exposed) and pale looking even when I have it on Auto D Active. The D90 performed better in that area of things. All and all I am impressed with this Camera.

5:09 am - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#83 Aperture

this camera is good when you want to level up in your photography :) Kaycee McNally

6:31 am - Friday, May 3, 2013

#84 Geo

I tried to download these images on my Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 tablet, but all I get is black images and the tab says ‘unable to load file’. Looks like they are too big for the tab to handle. Anyone know if there’s anything I am overlooking here?

6:35 pm - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, nikon, video, dslr, prosumer, movies, digital slr, 6fps, mid-range, Nikon, d7000, d-7000