Nikon D7100 Review

4.5
March 25, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

31 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 nick192

It’s okay. need more daylight photos. I dont c any improvements in picture quality. specs look good though..

7:40 pm - Monday, March 25, 2013

#2 vauve

I also think IQ is the same with D7000.

8:13 pm - Monday, March 25, 2013

#3 glass101

I see a lot of noise in your text pix from 400asa up, if not lower.  It’s pretty bad.  Compare the Canon 5d mark3 tests, if you want to see what noise-free looks like.  It’s irresponsible of you to promote this machine this way.

8:53 pm - Monday, March 25, 2013

#4 jra

Correction within your posting:

D7100 does not use the same MB D11 Battery grip as the D7000- as Nikon specifies the D7100 using the MB D15 Battery Grip (see link)

http://nikonrumors.com/2013/03/20/nikon-mb-d15-battery-grip-for-d7100-now-shipping-currently-in-stock.aspx/

9:47 pm - Monday, March 25, 2013

#5 Jim McDermott

You’re seriously suggesting that the Pentax K7 is the best that the company can put into the field against Nikon? the K5, K5II and K5IIS haven’t ceased to exist just because you don’t feel the need to review the non-majors.

5:32 am - Tuesday, March 26, 2013

#6 MJ

Just one thing, and for the record I am a D600 user. But as Jim McD said,,you are way off comparing the D7100 with the much much older K7 as a “rival”. Pentax’s K5IIs is by far one of the best APSC sensored cameras still around, a much better comparison and a lot less money too. Please compare apples with apples next time….

11:04 am - Tuesday, March 26, 2013

#7 N. Machiavelli

.
It looks like the Fujifilm X100S is much better at high ISO / low light. Of course, this camera can’t be compared to the Nikon 7100, but the sensors inside these cameras certainly can, and it seems that Nikon did not improve much upon the sensor found inside the D7000.
.
Moreover, comparing the D7100’s and D5200’s high ISO images posted in this site, I can’t see any substantial difference—maybe 1/2 stop in favor of the D7100, if at all).
.
But other than such issues, which are in part subjective, I love this site and much enjoy your fine reviews.

2:56 pm - Tuesday, March 26, 2013

#8 Simon Lambert

glass101 - I don’t know what your smoking but I don’t see the major difference you seem to see infact 5d RAW images look noisier and besides 5d mark 3 is FF and 3 times the price.

7:54 pm - Tuesday, March 26, 2013

#9 Ron

Sharp pictures but the colors are dead and non vibrant. big disapointment !

7:46 am - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#10 bj

Besides the image quality, AF speed, color accuracy, I LOVE the insecurity this camera is provoking.  It’s just funny reading the comments.

6:20 pm - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#11 Brian

I have been to look at the D7100 in the flesh today as I am thinking of upgrading from my D7000.
My first impression was that is was a cheaper looking and feeling camera, in fact I was quite disappointed with the build quality of the camera.
If this camera is the replacement for the D7000 and also the classic D300S, then it’s a huge letdown.

9:42 pm - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#12 Jake

So, another Nikon line-up and still no D300 successor. Well I’ve had enough. I’m selling up and moving to Canon.

8:40 pm - Thursday, March 28, 2013

#13 Kevin

Give the D7100 to three wellknown professional photographers and you will certainly see what this camera can do. This camera is a awesome package especially considering the price. Canon? Many recent models still use the same sensor.

1:25 pm - Saturday, March 30, 2013

#14 Pr

No built in wifi which is a shame, think i`ll wait a bit longer before I upgrade my D90.

6:31 pm - Monday, April 1, 2013

#15 Malcolm

Well done Nikon. From all the reviews I have watched and read this sure seems to be one amazing camera especially for the price.

8:22 pm - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

#16 Mark

Looks like a wonderful camera, I’ll wait for the usual drop in price around the Christmas season. :)

5:06 pm - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#17 Ken

I returned mine due to many oil spots all over the sensor after few hundreds shots.

12:43 pm - Tuesday, April 9, 2013

#18 Ron

Oil spots ?  not this nightmare again, you would think that Nikon learned something from the D7000 experience…

For this reason I always wait and never rush to buy a new model. Let other experiment with the initial defects.

8:32 pm - Tuesday, April 9, 2013

#19 Isoruku

did anyone else notice the usual Nikon red shift to orange in the “image quality” section?

9:35 pm - Wednesday, April 10, 2013

#20 aperture

is this really much better than d7000? my friend will buy next week,

2:16 am - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#21 tmcgo

This camera is absolutely fantastic. It is not a replacement of the d7000. The camera body is familiar to the D7000 for the most part, albeit with some improvements to the button layout and more of them. To me, it feels sturdier in the hand, more easy and comfortable to use and generally a nice refined improvement upon the D7000 design.

Have a look at My comparison, pros and cons of this camera at http://www.squidoo.com/nikon-d7100-dslr-camera-and-price

This camera is absolutely amazing!

11:38 pm - Wednesday, June 12, 2013

#22 Brandon

Love my new Nikon D7100.  I am not a professional photographer, but both my daughter and I love photography and it’s our father-daughter hobby.  The quality is amazing (my friend has D7000 and D7100 is definitely an upgrade considering the price difference is not very huge).  Here is the comparison chart I used when comparing different cameras before I purchased Nikon D7100.  I think it’s an amazing camera for the price.

http://www.squidoo.com/nikon-d7100-review-is-it-worth-the-money

4:39 am - Friday, June 14, 2013

#23 frank rijkers

Total Production of NIKKOR Lenses for Interchangeable Lens Cameras Reaches 80 Million in June 2013. I have 2 of them for my D7100
http://www.squidoo.com/d7100-nikon-camera-price-and-review-is-it-time-to-up-your-game
I’m getting old so it all gets a little technical for me but the bottom line is that this is a great camera .

2:37 am - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#24 wayne

Nikon D7100
yes every shot i have black blobs in shot over several lenses
very easy to see in sky shots

ive shot a large wedding and shoot most weekends
so its well over 500 shots

is there any camera that doesnt turn to crap after a few hundred shotus anymore

11:55 am - Saturday, July 6, 2013

#25 frank rijkers

Go to this site where your problem is discussed.
http://www.flickr.com/groups/nikond7100/discuss/72157633193858527/
This seems to be a very rare problem with some dslr cameras. I personally have not experienced it.

10:14 pm - Saturday, July 6, 2013

#26 akjad

It’s funny reading comments most by jpg computer pixel-lookers who never used the camera or seen a print !

12:21 pm - Friday, September 13, 2013

#27 Steve

For a rookie dslr owner, I’m impressed. I’ve had some unsharp focus issues (in outdoor excellent lighting) but I suspect the kit 18 - 105mm lens is to blame. It also hunts a LOT in low light but if/when it does lock on, the pics are really great. I’ve had the D7100 for over 6 months now and finally printed some photos from my son’s soccer games. Dang! They look great! Way better than on my monitor. With absolutely no retouch, the colours just pop. The focus locks in quickly allowing for action shots that actually turn out right.

I’ve looked at the D5200, the D5300, the 7000, and quite a few others (Canon etc)and I would still choose the D7100 over all of them.

My days of P&S are over. Well, almost. Still handy to have a little camera around.

10:06 am - Friday, November 8, 2013

#28 MK

Canon has been my camera of choice for over 25 years, not wanting to spend the $$$ to upgrade, I recently purchased the Nikon 7100. While I do find the camera has some exceptional advances, I am very disappointed with the view; photos appear to be crystal clear, yet when loaded in iPhoto, they are slightly distorted.  YES, I have checked all the settings, and YES I have focused the lens.  I am using a 18-200mm Nikon lens, taking several of the same shot, without changing any settings. One photo will appear clear, the next not. Would greatly appreciate any suggestions.

11:38 pm - Saturday, December 14, 2013

#29 Ala

From the site

http://www.flickr.com/groups/nikond7100/discuss/72157633193858527/

it seems that the oil-dust problems have not been fully resolved. Do you have more info or bad experience with the 7100?

second, what do you think of the kit lens 18-105mm? Thanx

9:10 pm - Sunday, January 19, 2014

#30 Paul

So I’ve just been reading this review. My D90 needs replacing and I’m torn between the D7100 and D610.
Your sample images are quite an eye opener, but not in a good way. I presume the birds were shot with the 70-200mm f2.8. Obviously the light was very poor, but the IQ is simply terrible for a body-lens combo costing over £2000. There is no detail being resolved and the images are very noisy for a ‘flagship’ camera. I get similar results with my D90 at 800 ISO, 1/500 at f5.6 on the Nikon 70-300mm VR in similar lighting (for about half the cost!).
Is the ‘pro’ 70-200mm really that soft at f2.8, or maybe a bit of AF fine tune is needed.
I wish you had some similar D610 sample images for comparison. That said, you D610 samples are of a much higher IQ even though shot in similar poor light.
Based on your reviews, I would be ordering the D610.

9:10 pm - Tuesday, June 24, 2014

#31 Nigel

Paul, stick with DX. If you go FX you will have to buy expensive telephoto lenses of 400mm or more. Can you afford that?
No need to go FX unless you shoot loads in low light.

5:08 pm - Thursday, September 25, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 1080p, nikon, video, dslr, prosumer, movies, digital slr, 24 megapixel, 7fps, 3.2 inch LCD, 6fps, mid-range, Nikon, d7100, d-7100, 1.3x

Tracker Pixel for Entry