Nikon D810 Review

July 23, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

24 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jay

If Photographyblog is going to mention the A7R here, then the detractions of the A7R deserve note: Lack of native lenses, and it is incredibly audible when shooting. Also the Sony uses a slower autofocus system than this Nikon D810.

The A7R is a good first 36MP FF mirrorless body from Sony, but it is far less developed than this Nikon.

4:45 pm - Wednesday, July 23, 2014

#2 Johan Slabbert

Isn’t it remarkable how many years it took the manufacturers to figure out that you could actually produce a better camera without the optical low pass/anti-aliasing filter? One can’t help thinking that all these years no-one could actually bring themselves to think ‘out the box’ & just kept following the mainstream (baaaa, baaa, baaa!):-)
Johan

5:25 pm - Wednesday, July 23, 2014

#3 mahler76

How come that in the image quality section the RAW files are much noisier than the jpeg ones when it comes to high ISO?

7:37 pm - Wednesday, July 23, 2014

#4 Jay

@Johan:

The pixel count kind of had to get above 8 million, or some such number.

There’s always the Leica M8 to remind you of problems with being the first to try something new.

8:02 pm - Wednesday, July 23, 2014

#5 Taranis

As I see the camera makes H264 8 bit 4:2:0 35Mbps video at 60 FPS. It would be nice to see a sample at 24/25 FPS to know if there is an improvement over the D800 which recorded at only 24Mbps.

1:32 pm - Thursday, July 24, 2014

#6 Michael George Crow

The raw files look noisier because they have had no processing done, the camera automatically sharpens and does noise reduction in jpegs

5:33 pm - Thursday, July 24, 2014

#7 mahler76

@Michael George Crow
so if I want clear pics I should make them jpegs or I can sharpen the raws in photoshop? I am sorry if I sound ignorant but raw files are one of the reasons I wanted to buy a dslr because of the better quality of images and from the samples I see that the jpegs look better.

5:56 pm - Thursday, July 24, 2014

#8 Michael George Crow

A jpeg is just the cameras interpretation of what it should look like, but it’s software doesn’t know if your taking a portrait or shooting a landscape so just uses some mathematical equation to sharpen and reduce noise, plus it throws away most of the information. I always shoot in raw you get all the sensor information and have more control over editing it, and I sharpen and do my own noise reduction so the finished photo is to my own taste

7:35 pm - Thursday, July 24, 2014

#9 Rodrian Roadeye

There is a vibration problem that is inherent with that many Megapixels and evident when the shutter was pressed in the Nikon 800, though using a tri-pod and remote eliminates it. Some say that the Sony A7R has it too because of the sensor, though I don’t know about the new Nikon 810.

1:36 am - Saturday, July 26, 2014

#10 jake

I owned the D810 for 5 days and I found that it has longexposure white noise issue. I am returning it.  I should have kept my D800E.  Anyway, if any of you considering trading your D800E for this D810 thing wait a month or so to see if Nikon fix the very annoying white noise issue.

6:56 pm - Sunday, July 27, 2014

#11 David Apeji

I wish the media would stop referring to the Canon 5DMk3 as a competitor for the Nikon D810/D800. It is not nor has it ever been. They are different cameras and there is currently no camera in the DSLR space that competes with it -fact.

7:39 pm - Monday, July 28, 2014

#12 John

I was very interested in the lowest price shown of £1995. There is nowhere I can find that price and I wondered if it is a mistake.
Good review, thanks: should I or should I not “upgrade” my D800E?? and will there be a D900 coming out in the foreseeable future?

9:19 am - Wednesday, July 30, 2014

#13 Augusto

Thanks Jake,
            for sure is better to wait, many issues are coming from NIKON models and customers policy, for sure they are going to release the D810"S”, or the revolutionary D820 or D900 soon!!! They follow this crazy world new markets rule to capture markets like Nokia, Apple, Samsung etc. releasing new products every week, month or year to keep the fouls unhappy and let the less income guys to have access the products second hand, never imagine years before.
Unfortunately some of the Japanese has abandon their pride and reliability and follow the new rule. EXCEPT many authentic Japanese spirit factories like SIGMA and CANON and some others whose are
more conservative and understand the customers of high price products in order to keep them loyal and happy with the brand.
I think Nikon is going to loose market in the professional gamma, they’ve being playing too much with us.
I will switch back to CANON, bye bye NIKON.
(Unhappy of been switched to Nikon in Feb 2014 for the “superb” D800E)
Be careful John.

11:55 am - Sunday, August 3, 2014

#14 Augusto again

Now we shall be wait for the new D8?? with “Vari-angle LCD monitor “plus “4K video” and “Wi-Fi” at special lower price, Made in Congo,
GREAT NIKON!

12:10 pm - Sunday, August 3, 2014

#15 Augusto

New model D8?? with vari-angle monitor, 4k video, Wi Fi, at less price, Made in ???
GREAT NIKON!

12:15 pm - Sunday, August 3, 2014

#16 John

Thanks for helpful comments; could the 810 not be in fact, the 800S by any other name and the next model be, say the D900? But who knows…
It does seem from the D600 precedent that the “10” versions correct a mistake with the original. In the D800 case, this would be a rationalisation of having two versions of the same camera.
I agree that an articulated screen would be very useful for macro work and low level to save crawling on the ground and to help ageing knees! Perhaps there is a problem making it waterproof but they seem to have managed that with the popup flash.
I think that Photokina may bring out a replacement for the D300S which is well over due in modern terms. Although I did wonder if Nikon might forsake the APS-C market now that “full frame” seems to be more accessible in price and size of camera.
It would upset many existing owners but Nikon could count on them getting over it in the same way as manufacturers do when they change a lens mount.

2:36 pm - Sunday, August 3, 2014

#17 John

I also like the images that Sigma cameras with their Foveon sensor produce. It is just that the cameras themselves are very pedestrian in use compared to modern alternatives. Also the software which you have to use to process the RAW pictures is pretty awful.I tend to convert to TIFF’s in PhotoPro and process in Photoshop.
I also like very much the look of the new FujiFilm X-T1 but the benefit of having 36MP to crop at and the chance to use the 15MP crop setting with the 800 series mean a lot to me.

2:42 pm - Sunday, August 3, 2014

#18 llocq

Nice review but you have to learn to take pictures…....1/80th or 1/60th handheld is not acceptable….especially with a camera that captures 36MP

7:40 pm - Sunday, September 7, 2014

#19 Robert Knapp Portland Wedding Photographer

I use the D810 at my studio. The secrets to unlocking the potential of this camera are seemingly without limit.  The quality of photograph this DSLR can create has me almost as happy as my earliest memories in Photography I.  As good as this camera is in comparison to its predecessors; I find it difficult to remain patient while Nikon develops the next model with higher resolution and a better algorithm to handle ISO value.

2:51 pm - Friday, December 26, 2014

#20 Piero Cruciatti Fotografo a Milano

@mahler76
What editing software are you using?
Adobe Lightroom apparently still performs poorly when converting RAWs compared to Capture NX-D. Recovering highlights and shadows from RAWs looks also worse in LR compared to Capture.

5:19 pm - Sunday, February 8, 2015

#21 Rodrian Roadeye

You can all try DXO Optics Pro 10 for a free trial on your raw files that need to be rescued from highlights and shadows. I seem to have better luck in it’s manual portion.

6:46 pm - Sunday, February 8, 2015

#22 Piero Cruciatti Fotografo a Milano

Thanks for the advice Rodrian, I’ll give it a try with the free trial.

2:48 pm - Friday, March 6, 2015

#23 Malou

A nice replacement for my D800. D800 is a great camera but the size of the images is a lot. You need a powerful computer to manage all the files. As wedding photographer you might consider this

6:28 pm - Friday, March 6, 2015

#24 Michael Scott

I’ve used the D800 for years and love it! I thought about upgrading to the D810 but why change a good thing! I upload images to fineartamerica.com. Feel free to check out my images at http://10-michael-scott.pixels.com. Most were shot with the 24-70 2.8.

1:15 am - Thursday, February 4, 2016

Entry Tags

hd, review, nikon, video, full hd, DSLR, full-frame, full frame, digital SLR, professional, pro, 3.2 inch LCD, 60p, SLR, moire, 36 megapixel, weather, weather-proof, FX, 50p, anti-alias, nikon d810, d810, Nikon D810 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry