Nokia Lumia 920 Review

4.0
May 21, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

21 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Andrew Lowery

This is a misquote of the press release: ‘uses “advanced floating lens technology” to take photos in five times more light than competing smartphones without using flash.’ and makes no sense.
Please change to: ...‘takes in five times more light than competing smartphones without using flash’

11:05 am - Tuesday, May 21, 2013

#2 steve

My 2 year old Nokia N8 takes better photos than this. Such a shame Nokia keep going backwards.

4:00 pm - Tuesday, May 21, 2013

#3 BlackBox

Nokia is still alive!? Now that’s a surprise. I don’t think I’ll exhagerate too much if I say that no company in the world has fallen so deep from so high. From the unquestionable world leader to a big pile of nothing with the worst client support ever, in just 5 years.

8:36 am - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#4 WinSux

Nokia keeps touting their camera but that alone will not get people to buy this phone. The camera is not something you use everyday and won’t justify the big monthly data plan. Windows Phone 8 has a longer learning curve especially with the hub navigation. I don’t understand why they use big font as buttons and the mono-color tiles are boring. App development is far behind Apple and Android. If Nokia want to get more sales, they needs to get people to convert from Apple or Android and the Windows OS will not cut it. Their customers are coming from Nokia loyalists or old Symbian users.

1:54 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#5 alasdair

Nice review! You should also review some of Nokia’s camera apps, or lenses.  Also, Nokia is updating the camera firmware for the 920/925/928 in an update called “Amber”, so please update this review when they do! I’m glad Nokia is focussed on photography, i cant wait for the next lumia with a 41mp sensor (yes this does actually have benefits)

3:42 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#6 OrionsLinedotCom

Impressive range of features for a smartphone. Excited to see what they bring in the future.

6:02 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#7 Frederick

A good review and I would like to see more reviews with the app features. I am a Lumia 920 user. It is not fair to say that it takes worse pictures than N8 which I used for many years. N8 takes descent photos but no comparison to 920 for night scene. 920 also takes excellent movie with the image stablizer. Windows phone 8 is not monotone tiles. I have many different tiles colors and style. Also, I can change theme color any time depends on the mood that day which is not possible for iPhone and Android. Apps is the weak point for WP8 but they are catching up very fast. I have no shortage off all the major apps. If you do not look back at Nokia history and take this as a new startup, indeed with the new OS, they did a very great job and Lumia is a strong series to compete with Aplple and Samsunf.

2:34 am - Sunday, May 26, 2013

#8 Vanessa

I recently got a 920, the images have been great so far even the low light ones, I’m really happy with it. A long while back I had an N8 but you can’t compare the two, N8 doesn’t have the image stabilisation for a start. Would like to see a review of the Windows Phone photography apps, any plans?

9:28 am - Monday, June 17, 2013

#9 Petri

This was a really good review in part of the camera aspect! As a 920 user I can just speak for myself when saying that the “minimalistic” UI really is something that I have wanted from my phone for a long time. The typical “this icon has 10 different colors and a shape what pictures what this program does” is in my mind too long lived. And they just look a bit ... old, 90’s. Everybody has been talking about the Apps (or lack of). But as with other phones, you do not need all the 1M fart apps nor do you need too much of the photography apps as Nokia has done a great job creating the camera “lenses” that do some quite nice magic all by themselves.

6:40 am - Tuesday, June 18, 2013

#10 Sergiu

I’ve got my yellow Lumia 920 for a month now along with a red fatboy pillow. That’s a killer combo.  Cinemagraph and smart shoot should have non been overlooked in this review as they are a great addition to camera functionality and things seem to get even better with next update.

9:14 pm - Tuesday, June 18, 2013

#11 0720

I have a nokia Lumia 920 and I recently switched from Galaxy note, Lumia 920 is quality while galaxy note is quantity and total crap compared to such well crafted lumia 920.

11:49 am - Friday, June 21, 2013

#12 Rasmus Nordstrom

I have been using Nokia Lumia 920 and i am enjoying using it. Its really comprises of good features. I am very fond of clicking pictures and its camera is too good , it gives very good output with high quality snapshots.

12:37 pm - Thursday, June 27, 2013

#13 Sethu

Am exited about this amazing phone, photography and navigation are extremly good. Here transit works very well even in chennai.

Low light photography, smart shoot are amazing
Cinematograph adds the fun element and a trigger to your innovation.
This has became the best companion for me, be it official, social or personal. there is every thing in it.

Just go for it.

7:16 am - Friday, June 28, 2013

#14 Luis Piña

I’ve been a Nokia Lumia 920 owner for 4 weeks now, it’s an amazing phone, very good apps for photography, it takes excellent photos and video, but I use it most for work, reading e-mails, open and edit office documents, SkyDrive app, keeping up to date in the social media and the best of it: all the here maps apps, find whatwever you need, wherever you are. Some cool stuff is that it has wireless charging capabilities and gorilla glass screen (accidentally I have droped it several times) I’m very happy with it so far.

12:23 am - Monday, July 15, 2013

#15 sandra nicasio

I have lumia 920 and I am very happy, it’s one of the best phones as it features Windows 8, it takes excellent pictures and videos and applications amazing in addition to having the best GPS mapping application and quality. also the design is very comfortable and I loved the colors, I love my Lumia 920

10:06 pm - Wednesday, July 31, 2013

#16 viraj

Hi…. I need to know that, some nokia dealers say do not buy this phone. Because there are some problems in battery & power.

Is it true guys who already have this…

Have a nice day…..

3:51 am - Friday, February 14, 2014

#17 Frederick

I have been using this phone for nine months. So far I didn’t have any battery and power problem. I have a few friends using this phone and none of them have any complaints. On the other hand, the battery life is quite good when compared to iPhones and Galaxy phone. I seldom use power bank unless I know I will heavy use the phone, like taking many photos or using GPS for a few hours. I see most people using iPhones or GS. They always need to carry external power bank for back up. Those phone just cannot last for half day. Why someone willing to pay high prices for a phone thin & light, but at the end need to buy a bulky power bank? Why phone maker cannot design phone that good and sufficient battery to last at least a normal day. Nokia make the right balance.

5:07 pm - Friday, February 14, 2014

#18 Frederick

In fact, I just brought Lumia 1020 for my wife as she was amazed by my phone. I also plan to upgrade to Lumia 1520.

5:10 pm - Friday, February 14, 2014

#19 Frederick

In fact, I just brought a Lumia 1020 for my wife. She was very impressed on my 920. I’m planning to upgrade to 1520 soon.

5:13 pm - Friday, February 14, 2014

#20 Brandon Moore

Brand new Nokia Lumia 1520 for $450usd with complete accessories as listed below:

Sales Package:
Nokia Lumia 1520,
Nokia AC-60 MicroUSB Charger,
Nokia Charging and Data Cable CA-190CD,
Nokia Headset WH-208,
Quick guide,
SIM Door Key

email us to obtain information about the latest products at a very competitive price.
EMAIL:  .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

8:46 am - Wednesday, July 16, 2014

#21 Frederick

Just brought my 1520 at WPC 2014.

10:43 am - Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Entry Tags

review, 1080p, test, video, movie, camera, smartphone, movies, 26mm, image stabilisation, JPEG, phone, videos, full HD, OIS, f2.0, Nokia, Nokia Lumia 920, 8.7 megapixel, Lumia 920

Tracker Pixel for Entry