Olympus E-450 Review

4.0
May 27, 2009 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

62 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Ru_anderson

the nearest rival inhte artical lists the cannon eos 500?????!
its 800+ body only!
Are you saying the nearest match ids more than twice the price????

12:44 am - Saturday, June 6, 2009

#2 tam

I got the 500D kit for 560 uk pounds so its hardly twice the price.

8:16 pm - Sunday, June 7, 2009

#3 Sheldon Cwinn

I purchased the e420 camera and a Panasonic Lumix FZ28 bridge camera to see which one I would keep. You cannot beat the e420/450 as a stepping stone from a bridge camera. The results in terms of image sharpness, noise, and creative utility is simply not comparable.

BTW - you had an error in your review they both use the TruePic III processing engine.

I love your site.

8:45 pm - Thursday, July 9, 2009

#4 Eric Russell

I bought a E-410 (the 450s predecessor) in 2007 and have loved every minute. I had owned and still own several point-and-shoot cameras and this was my first DSLR. As a novice I am very happy with the purchase and the camera has taken lots of abuse without ever causing a lick of trouble. The larger screen on the 450 is a very nice touch!

1:21 pm - Thursday, September 3, 2009

#5 Don White

Being new to digital, I purchased a E-500 with 2 lenses. I have since purchased a E-450 for the second lens. I find the E-450 fairley simple to use and with features I do not have on the E-500. You can’t go wrong for the money, the quality is there ane I am very happy with it.

3:21 am - Saturday, September 19, 2009

#6 Lanny

ive been an olympus user for 35yrs, and none of them have ever broken. (Om1n Om2n Om4ti)

so 3yrs ago i bought an E500, 39 thousand shots later, and 14 thousand flashes, it still works pefectly..

and so last week i bought an E450. wow its tiny by comparison.

its a lot faster then the 500, and with a few extra bells and whistles, its a good camera, for a reasonable price. (£215, brand new, from an ebay shop)

my mates got a D80, its huge, clunky, and cost 3x more, and the camera isnt as good as the E450, proving that nikon owners have more money than sense..

3:26 am - Thursday, September 24, 2009

#7 james

Olympus cameras are always economical in price and of good quality. i have an Olympus camera for the last one year and it is working fine.

6:44 am - Wednesday, September 30, 2009

#8 D Harris

Fantastic camera…feels half the weight of my Nikon D80. Great to handle. I purchased this camera for £299..including lens…thats £174 cheaper than my local shop !!

6:09 pm - Tuesday, December 29, 2009

#9 Mike

One issue I have with the Olympus 450 is that it will refuse to take a shot at something at infinity.  I have tried numerous times to get it to take shots of birds on wing, and planes, all too often it will not take the shot in auto.  This was especially disconcerting while trying to photograph my grandson’s rocket launches at their apex points!

1:08 am - Monday, January 11, 2010

#10 D Harris

Hi Mike..
Just had a read on your focus problem. To be honest I have yet to try any fast ‘action shots’ with this camera. I don’t know if this is any help but at air shows etc I have always put my lens on infinity in manual focus.
  I also fly radio control planes with my son and photograph them…still focus at infinity and as higher f stop as possible.
  Good luck with the camera anyway.

2:10 pm - Monday, January 11, 2010

#11 dice

I’m planning to buy an Olympus Zuiko 70mm - 300mm f/4.0-5.6 E-ED Digital Zoom Lens for the E Digital SLR System… is it compatible with my E-450?

9:07 pm - Saturday, January 23, 2010

#12 sircosti

I got an e-450 in june; after one week I had it replaced because it was no longer responding; I would turn it on and many of the buttons would not respond; it still took pictures, but there was no access to the menu; seemed like the software went awry;

I got a similar problem last night with the replacement; I turn it on and the camera starts flashing without my pushing any button; I cannot use it anymore; have to take it to the service center.

Honestly, I am disappointed with this camera (the above-mentioned problems, as well as poor focusing in not-so-low light) and the Olympus computer software; the camera feels comfortable and is fairly compact for a DSLR.

1:27 pm - Sunday, January 31, 2010

#13 hp coupon codes

Olympus E-450 produced photos of very good quality. Colours were vibrant without being over-saturated even in Natural picture mode, and you can also choose Vivid if you want even more punch. The Shadow Adjustment Technology helps make the most out of the shadows in a high-contrast scene, so you can expose for the highlights.

11:01 am - Tuesday, February 9, 2010

#14 alok shrivastava

Hi

I am considering buying E 450 BUT WHATS HOLDING ME BACK IS LACK OF IMAGE STABILASATION IN THE BODY. I AM AN EXPERIENCED SLR USER BEEN TAKING PHOTOS USING TRADITIONAL MANUAL SLR CAMERAS FOR LSAT 15 YEARS. DO YOU THING IF LACK OF IMAGE STABILISATION IS A DRAWBACK. I THINK IT IS MORE FOR ENEXPERIENCED USERS. ALSO WHAT ARE THE OTHER COMPARABLE MODELS ( I EXCLUSIVELY USED NIKON MANUAL SLR BEFORE BUT MY FINED IS A BIG FAN OF OLYMPUS AND AT THIS PRICE I WOULD LIKE TO TRY E450)

3:43 am - Saturday, February 20, 2010

#15 rehan

well i just bought an e450 today after searching for asuitable camera for quite some time. for a novice like myself its not a bad choice at all. digital slr with live view and removable lense in a much cheaper price than canon and sony. image stabilisation however is missing.

9:38 pm - Saturday, February 20, 2010

#16 Linda

I got a E450 today and I hope that I have made a good choice as compared to Nikon D3000. I am a novice to DSLR camera, so I am hoping that with this camera, I can learn to take some nice photographs. Heard that the basic lenses should be up to 200mm but mine comes with one that is up to 150mm. Can someone enlighten on the differences / limitations?

7:37 pm - Saturday, March 13, 2010

#17 georgia

hi, new to slr and this site - bought the e-450 june 2009 and have not enjoyed this camera, it does now take picture - have had it at service center twice and just received it today and guess what, after being told camera is fine, it still does not take pictures - I spent $644.00 dollars for this camera w/2 lenses and have never been able to use it - wondering if anyone else with this problem? - I do not intend to send back to service center as will get same answer - will be filling w/bbb on this one - miserable slr e-450 novice - by the way, my brother is a 35 year user of slr and even he said something is wrong with the camera - thanks for any help

9:52 pm - Monday, August 16, 2010

#18 Mario

Hi Georgia, I’d read your experience with the E450, and I really can’t explain what is going wrong with your camera, maybe you need to configurate the menu better, I think you should try and try because it is a simple and enjoyable camera, so light and small you can carry it everywhere and pictures and colors are incredible beautiful, better than those of my heavy Nikon D90, wish you good luck and your E450 problems solved…

1:21 am - Wednesday, September 1, 2010

#19 georgia

thanks so much for your response mario - I sent it to olympus for repair for the 2nd time and it is still the same - I was hoping for better results - I have filed a complaint as I have gotten no use from theis camera - thanks for the wish -

1:32 am - Wednesday, September 1, 2010

#20 lanny

hi folks, i notice you seem to have issues with getting the camera to focus on infinity objects, such as the sky and clouds..

well, pretty much all digital cameras are blind esp at night, or when shooting in dark smoky places.

TRY THIS. look at the scene in levels.. ie that post, is level with my two subjects… focus on the post, and half press the shutter (watch the cursor go from red to green) and simply recompose the frame…

OR, you can set manual focus… which fires all the time, every time.

and Georgia, you complain bitterly… and dont actually say what the problem is… and im shocked that olympus didnt fix it… but, it happens, and if they havent fixed it, why dont you tell them…

i have used Olympus service centres in the past…but, im in England… so i cant comment on your experience… BUT< if your local dept is useless, then contact Olympus in Japan, and tell them…

1:48 pm - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#21 georgia

Hi Lanny, I am sorry, when you push the shutter button, the camera does not take pictures - I have not been able to use the camera since I got it which was june 2009 - I let it sit for a while then started to learn how to use it but notice when pushing shutter button, very few pictures took but button would go down - I sent it in feb 2010 and it came back the same - I tried to learn to use it more but since I used auto,it should not have been a problem - I did send it back in, they sent it back in the same condition so I made a complaint with BBB association, I was contacted by BBB who said olympus called and requested the lens as that seem to be the problem but they failed to tell me to send the lens so camera was sent back so I am in the process of working with BBB to get lens sent - thanks for the info, I would have never though to contact olympus in Japan and I was angry as I have had the camera for a year and have not been able to or enjoy it - thanks for your response -

5:06 pm - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#22 Lanny

Hi Georgia… ok, i understand a bit more… the camera wont fire unless its in focus… and, yes your lens may well be the problem… usually caused by dirty or corroded contacts around teh lens barrel…

to eliminate this just take your body to any camera shop and ask to try one of their lenses… if your camera works, theres the answer… if it doesnt, then send teh whole kit back to Olympus.

theyll know you havent used it as these cameras keep a record of shutter activations…

hope this helps.
Lanny

5:55 pm - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#23 georgia

Hi Lanny, thank you so much, you are informative - wow, that is interesting about the lens - just spoke with the c/o dept @bbb and they will respond to my c/o and let me know when to send it back - you must know alot about these things - wonder why olympus did not do that after my first c/o when they called to follow-up when I told them I had the same problem - they tell you to send only the body when you send it in so I would not have sent the 2 lenses but in this case, it would have made a big difference for me - I understand now as well—thank you, thank you, thank you—

6:46 pm - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#24 georgia

hey Lanny, I forgot to ask you how do you make a complaint to Japan just in case - I looked on line but the contact info suggest to contact headquarters in this country - thanks for any help

1:57 am - Friday, September 10, 2010

#25 dsam7

I recently purchased an E450. Super camera for the price. The body size and Olympus reputation was partly my motive for buying along with the primary fact that I can use my Leica R lenses with an adapter for 4/3. The image quality is stunning in this combo - beats Leica’s X1!

2:49 pm - Saturday, September 25, 2010

#26 kristi

so i’m totally new to slr, and just bought the e450 because it was the deal of the day at staples for $349… so far i love it!  (even though i have no clue how to set up the extra stuff…)  is there a good book or video that will show me all the info ?  (fyi i’m also a teacher/grad student/mom/wife/yearbook adviser/colorguard instructor/webmaster (for the school i work at) and editor of the school newsletter…. so i’m looking for the cliff notes as my time is limited till June)

11:02 pm - Saturday, October 9, 2010

#27 kieran

does the olympus e450 shoot in black and white

8:51 pm - Tuesday, October 19, 2010

#28 lanny.

Kieran, yes, it does shoot in B&W… on the menu screen highlight the colour settings,or the special effects menu…

and for all of you who want to learn a little…

goto piratebay and type photography into the search engine…

10:25 pm - Tuesday, October 19, 2010

#29 kristi

is there a way to turn it off from saving the orf files?

1:31 am - Thursday, October 21, 2010

#30 kieran

is the lens auto or manual

6:35 pm - Wednesday, November 3, 2010

#31 lanny

hi yes you can turn off saving orf files, just select JPEG on the filetype menu screen.

but realise that ORF is a RAW file.. the quality is far superior to jpegs.

and the lens is automatic.. until you press the manual focus option, in which case it becomes fully manual… which great when your in the dark.

7:40 pm - Wednesday, November 3, 2010

#32 reginald hurd

Sir
  I am having difficulty taking flash photos
  with my camera[E450]both built in flash & extra flash perhaps you could give me some guidence
                thankyou

2:24 pm - Thursday, November 4, 2010

#33 lanny

i need a bit more info…

email me, stuartlanigan@btinternet

2:37 pm - Thursday, November 4, 2010

#34 kieran o connor

is 10 mega pixel enough???

7:32 pm - Saturday, November 6, 2010

#35 kieran o connor

can both memory cards be installed at the same time

2:54 pm - Monday, November 8, 2010

#36 rehan

hi kieran, 10 mega pixel is more than enough. i know professional photographers who still shot in 4 mega pixel and are satisfied with the results they r getting. and yes u can install both memory cards at the same time. this camera is fun. it would have been great had olympus added image stabilisation feature as well.

5:23 pm - Sunday, November 21, 2010

#37 Lanny

hi, yes you can install both cards… although i dont use XD’s currently i use 16gb cards, 133x…

and folks, Image stabilisation isnt the be all, and end all, just stop the camera wobbling, that’ll do it..

and if you want to see what you can get out of your cameras, then go take a look at my facebook albums…

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2088605&id=1032997862&l=d1204a9dc6

4:49 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#38 Lj.

Hey, looks like Lanny knows alot about this camera. I’m just starting out and my grandparents bought me this as a surprise for xmas. So far I love it, had a bit of a play around with it, read the manual and all that. Sometimes when I want to take a picture, I press down the shutter, it focuses but doesn’t take the picture. Any idea with what the problem could be?

Any help would be greatfully appreciated.

10:27 pm - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#39 Gill

Hi, new to dslr cameras, just bought the olympus E-450 twin and a bit confused-is there a built in flash? ive been searching for flashes for it online and they are around £250! dont know if im keeping it yet and id value some advice please. Many Thanks, Gillian

8:28 pm - Tuesday, January 4, 2011

#40 stuart

erm, on the back of the camera is a button.. you press it to release the flash, which is built in…

or you goto main menu, and select auto popup. which to be honest is a pain… but, it works…

look for the lightning symbol and cycle thru the menu options.

AND LJ… the camera will only fire (on auto) if everything is correct… this includes flash options… if say, its too dark, and you havent got the flash open, it wont do a thing… until you override it on Aperture priority .. this is to reduce camera shake…

8:57 pm - Tuesday, January 4, 2011

#41 Lj.

Oh right I see, so How can I override it on the aperture priority? Really sorry about this, I just wanna take some decent pictures without worrying about wether or not it’s gunna take the damn picture haha:) x

9:16 pm - Tuesday, January 4, 2011

#42 Gill

Stuart-Many thanks, I feel a bit think now! Thanks for the advice!

8:54 pm - Wednesday, January 5, 2011

#43 bobby

I’ve had the e-450 for a few months and have tried taking high school football photos with no luck. Any suggestions?

2:43 am - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#44 Shana

Bobby,

I am wanting to purchase this camera for shooting football actions pictures too. I am curious what problem you are having. I just cannot seem to determine if this would be a good camera for sport action shots.

4:32 pm - Wednesday, February 16, 2011

#45 kristi

Where is the best place to buy accessories for this camera?  I’d like to add a better zoom and fish eye….but I don’t really want to pay more than I paid for the camera….

3:32 pm - Friday, February 18, 2011

#46 erlendandreas

Great rewiew. Sound like a great camera.!!!!!!!!!!

6:37 pm - Thursday, March 3, 2011

#47 georgia

HELP!
here I am again sending this camera back for the 3rd time - same thing, it will not take pictures - got it back the last time and was told the lens was not talking to the camera, guess what? it is still not talking - I have never had this camera out of the house as it will not take pictures with lens on (both lenses) but will click and count the pictures with the lens off (obviously it is blank but @ lease it counts like it is a picture - with lens on, does not count or take) I am fed up, lens or camera has to be defective - can anyone tell or give me the contact info for headquarters in Japan? I only have a 3 year warranty on this camera and it is counting down fast - I hate to think I have loss $650.00 to this - thanks for any help - I am desperate for resolution -

9:07 pm - Wednesday, August 31, 2011

#48 Bashir

Hi,
Wow! Argos have got the E450 on offer at £199 including Lens on Ebay. They are Brand NEW and include a 12 month Warranty and FREE Delivery, so grab yourself one before they run out. I have just purchased one and can’t wait to for it to turn up and have some fun using it.

10:37 am - Thursday, November 17, 2011

#49 Mark

Bashir. I noticed the very same thing yesterday, so I ordered one too. Just waiting for Yodel to deliver. Should be Monday I think. Already bought a Compact Flash card and reader on Ebay in readiness :) Pity it doesn’t use SD and there’s no IS, but I can live with that for the price.

12:38 am - Saturday, November 19, 2011

#50 andin

I don’t know how to make blur images with my olympus e 450 , please help me !

1:13 am - Monday, December 12, 2011

#51 fresh

georgia,

do the lenses try to focus (make noise, move, etc)?  the fact that you can take pictures without the lens on means the body is most likely working and is having some communication with the lens, as it can detect whether or not there is a four-thirds lens mounted or not.  i’d guess the lenses might be dead, but it’s very unlikely both your lenses are bad.  can you take a picture in manual focus (mf) mode?

11:08 am - Saturday, March 3, 2012

#52 georgia

thanks for responding fresh - I just got this camera back from olympus back in dec 2012 and decided enough is enough - I have never been able to use it and it has been back and forth to olympus for 2 1/2 years so guess what - I gave up and purchased just today a canon 18 mp t2i with the 2 lenses kit with bag - I feel like I lost $650.00 dollars and I just gave up and counted this as a lost - never will I buy anything olympus - I think it was defective and it was just a lost for me - thanks for your assistance but I will be very happen with my new canon -

3:47 am - Monday, March 5, 2012

#53 georgia

thanks for responding fresh - I gave up back in dec 2012 after getting it back from olympus after sending it back and forth for 2 1/2 years - I just purchased today a canon 18 mp t2i w/2 lens kit and am excited - never will I buy anything olympus - thanks again for your response

3:51 am - Monday, March 5, 2012

#54 mala

Hi, can someone please enlighten me on how to check if the e450 shoots in 8bit or 16 bit?  Many thanks

7:15 am - Tuesday, May 29, 2012

#55 mala

hi
how do I check if my Olympus e450 shoots in 8-bit or 16-bit? many thanks,

7:17 am - Tuesday, May 29, 2012

#56 fresh

mala,

as with all cameras, shooting in JPEG mode results in 8-bit images.  shooting in RAW with the e-450 produces 12-bit image files.

no dslr that i know of (barring medium format cameras) shoot in native 16-bit.

11:12 am - Tuesday, May 29, 2012

#57 Alexandra

I bought this camera in a kit, so it came with a 14-45mm lens. I’m looking to buy filters and the lens that attach to the main lens, but I’m not really understanding what to look for exactly. All of them I can find are 58mm, does that mean I could only attach them to a 58mm camera?

9:26 pm - Wednesday, July 3, 2013

#58 Mala

thanks all

I shot some really good pics with my Olympus e450 good camera to learn but since then have a sony a57. have some amazing shots to boast about. both cameras have their pros and cons. happy to be shooting :-)

9:34 pm - Wednesday, July 3, 2013

#59 lesley

I have a olympus e450, but recently when pressing shutter the pitcure has blue shadow/ highlight dont no how to get rid of it. can anyone help me.

3:37 pm - Tuesday, November 12, 2013

#60 Mike Healey

Hi all,
Can any one tell me if the lenses of my old 35 mil OM2 SLR film camera will work with the E-450 ?
Many thanks in anticipetion.

Mike.

8:06 am - Sunday, January 5, 2014

#61 Longchip

Hi Mike,
Just found your question. Yes you can use your old lenses. You will need an adapter MF-1 to fit your old lens to 4/3 camera. You will need to set the f stop on the lens and also manual focus. It will work in both manual or auto mode on the camera. In auto the camera will set shutter speed which will adjust for the f stop you set. I have used my old OM 85-250 + MF-1 + ec-14 lens. Makes a bit of a long lens but it works fine on the e410 or e30.

4:21 am - Wednesday, May 21, 2014

#62 Dennis

The E-450 is a fantastic camera. Got it used on eBay. If you can get one with a low image count (how many pix were taken since the camera left the factory) its a great deal. There is a special menu sequence that will show the image count. http://www.biofos.com/cornucop/hidden.html
I like to do portraits the most and already had some images made with this baby published in a book.
I also have the E-620 which is also fantastic but I actually use both cameras equally often.

10:56 am - Friday, June 13, 2014

Entry Tags

2.7 inch LCD, olympus, dslr, 10 megapixel, digital SLR, Four Thirds, art filters, e 450, e450, e-450