Olympus E-600 Review

4.5
December 3, 2009 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

26 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 sportnahrung

I have read the article based on the E-600 review of Olympus.I like the specification and features of the mobile.I want to know more details regarding price tag of the given device.

4:42 am - Friday, December 4, 2009

#2 jeff

@ sportnahrung
it’s a dslr not a mobile and it’s £399 in the uk

10:08 pm - Friday, December 4, 2009

#3 marius

699 USD plus tax in usa,but comes with 2 lens,bag and 1gb memory card

6:32 am - Saturday, December 5, 2009

#4 Mark

So Olympus still use the proprietary (and slow as a snail) xD cards, or the stupidly expensive Compact Flash?
And people slam Sony for their tactics…

1:55 am - Tuesday, December 8, 2009

#5 Klaus Post

Why are there no RAW images to see?

1:51 pm - Saturday, December 12, 2009

#6 laura

I Just bought this camera and i love it, so many features and modes! cant stop playing with it. it cost me £449 because i got a deal which incl bag e.t.c but it is £399 in uk. Taking it to scotland for some snowy mountain shots

11:00 am - Monday, January 11, 2010

#7 Aprilouise Brown

Thank you so much for this review, thanks to this I decided to choose the E-600 over the Nikon D3000, and am so much happier than I would have been with the Nikon after finding out it has no live view. This camera is fantastic!

3:58 pm - Wednesday, January 20, 2010

#8 WETIMBO

Does any one know what the E-600 is like on moving sport shot

3:42 pm - Tuesday, February 2, 2010

#9 KevG

Just bought the E600 with 14-42 Kit lens. I paid
£329 from Currys. I think I got a bargain. I would agree that the optical viewfinder is a tad small, and a tad dim, but I’m comparing it with my OM-1/OM-2 35m cameras which were noted for their excellent large, clear viewfinders. I’ve yet to use the camera seriously, but first impressions are favourable.

8:47 am - Monday, March 1, 2010

#10 justin nash

i am stummped i dont know which one to get my options are the e600 or the fuji films200ex any and all opinons are needed thanks

9:27 pm - Wednesday, March 3, 2010

#11 Adam

Justin
It’s a no brainer the E600 is a completley different type of camera and, can produce far better quality shots.
Adam

7:40 am - Friday, March 19, 2010

#12 KevG

I’ve now had the camera for a month and my first impressions have now been confirmed.  Having taken some time to explore the camera and experiment with different settings, I’m now getting stunning results.  The E600 is a worthy successor to my much-loved OM-1/OM-2 cameras.

5:32 pm - Wednesday, March 31, 2010

#13 Will G

I bought an E=600 at the end of november last year to uipgrade from the Olympus E-410.
Image stabilisation is a big advancement, quality of images is excellent and less prone to burning out whites than the e_410.
One thing not mentioned in th ereview is that the E-600 will not operate with a wireless remote. Personally I don’t use one so it doesnt matter so much.  Likewise the photo art filters, I’d rather add enhasncements later in photoshop.  Excellent camera at an excellent price

6:07 pm - Friday, April 2, 2010

#14 OCAm

I’m stuck between buying a Sony A230 and the Olymous E600!! ne though on which would be better?

12:30 pm - Friday, April 9, 2010

#15 Kerry

Iam stuck on which camera is best, my brother has got the canon d500 although i’ve not had a proper go with it the images my brother takes are fantastic, but I’ve seen the Olympus e600 on offer and just wondered if this was as good as the d500?? I want it to take pics at the click of the button as apposed to waiting few secs like normal cameras, and to be able to alter the shutter speed in order to get diff effects etc such as smoke out of cooling towers to be blured n so on, any help would be apprechiated xx

11:11 pm - Thursday, April 15, 2010

#16 Paul T

Like one of the previous posters I bought the E600 as a replacement for my old well travelled and totally functional OM1. I really needed to get digital. I was a little disappointed that the adaptor ring for the OM1 lenses comes out at more than 150 quid, so some of my old lenses are not much use. Also, one of the main uses for the camera would be astronomy, and again the adaptor ring wont fit, ergo more expense.

I planned on buying a remote shutter release but if it wont work then its pointless.

This all sounds a little negative, but I’m quite delighted by what the camera can do. I tried some very basic photographs on some tarantulas in a local zoo and the results were good, and looked quite professional after editing them on the bundled software.

One of the attractions of the camera was the price. I’m not a photographer but an astronomer and I travel a fair bit and I would want a piece of kit which would take decent photos on my travels. Having telescopes means that I can get a bit picky when it comes to optics, so a DSLR it has to be. At 320 quid it was an opportunity not to be missed.

It will be interesting to see how it fares. My OM1 is 30 years old now so if I get 30 years out of the E600 I’ll be happy.

12:06 am - Sunday, April 18, 2010

#17 Jon

The Olympus adapter ring for the OM1 lenses is very expensive but there are lots of good adapter rings on ebay for much less.

5:20 am - Thursday, April 22, 2010

#18 Alex

I was thinking of either getting this e600 the canon 1000d or the nikon d3000, as a complete amateur who plans on using the camera for a long time, which one do you guys reckon is this best?

9:26 pm - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#19 Deb

Go and try them, its also a personal thing - how they feel in your hand etc, i found the e600 way better - have always been a nikon user - but am over the moon by the quality of the e600, sits really comfortable in your hands, i found the nikon sort of chunky :-)

9:09 am - Thursday, April 29, 2010

#20 chris

just picked up an e600 from pcworld for £199. FYI there’s very few now left and you’ll need to phone to get them to locate.

10:38 am - Saturday, May 8, 2010

#21 Paul T

For 199 quid its the best deal there is. If you can source one then go for it as you wont find a better camera for that price. I can understand why the camera is not popular. If you search for E600 lenses, accessories, you will get very few results. Essentially its a less sophisticated version of the E620, which is a very well respected peice of kit. The differences dont amount to a lot between the E600 and the E620. Anything which will fit the E620 will fit the E600.

I’ve worked with my E600 a little more and its quite impressive. I got an adaptor ring for the Meade ETX at just under 20 quid and the photos I took of the moon were the best Ive ever taken.

PC World were doing an 150mm lens for 75 quid and I snapped it up. I’m taking it for a shoot tomorrow but so far it looks pretty good. Also, E-system Olympus cases are on sale at Currys for less then 5 quid. I bought two and they are very good cases indeed.

For memory, Compact flash cards are easily availble for 20 quid or less for 4gb. I have three. CF is a little more durable than SD cards. Just ignore the XD slot.

Down side -  the Olympus Studio software is good but only on trial, and its expensive if you do pay for it.  Dont use it and use Photoshop instead. Its not a lot different in price but Photoshop is much better supported with books, magazines making reference to it.

As a camera its very good, its just that Canon and Nikon seem to have the upper hand with the variety and cost of lenses and accessories. Ive managed to source some bargains with Olympus stuff but its just harder to find.

6:36 pm - Saturday, May 8, 2010

#22 Mikheil Rokva

I own E-600 with 2 lens and it’s very satisfying. Handling is good, image quality is quite good as well, despite the small sensor it competes even with Nikon D5000 at ISO 100-200. But over ISO 400 noise is a serious issue.

Live view is very useful (but there’s no zooming option while viewing in live mode), swivel screen is convenient when shooting at difficult angles.

The menus are a bit complicated, but it’s not a problem after getting used to… I’d give E-600 5 points out of 5 at that price.

7:35 pm - Wednesday, November 17, 2010

#23 gloria spinks

Can a Vivitar -df283 flash be used with the E600

1:44 am - Wednesday, December 15, 2010

#24 Nicole Deane

I am buying a DSLR for Christmas and am wondering which camera would be better for a semi-beginner the E-620 or E-600. I have been working with an old Olympus 35-mm film camera and want a digital now.

5:27 am - Sunday, December 19, 2010

#25 Hayley

Hey, i bought this camera about a year ago… i had got it for my 17th birthday as im a photographer, 1 year on… great camera… except one fault… well.. ok 10 of them…. i have 10 dead pixels….I have no idea if ive got a dodgy model and they gave me a returned… or what.. but its so upsetting. i love this camera.. its still working perfectly except that. I’m writing to olympus too complain and ask if this is correct for a 1 year old camera of this quality. Anyone else with the same problems?

8:36 pm - Sunday, March 20, 2011

#26 Nicolas Isaksson

I’ve had this camera for almost 2 years now and I like it a lot. It takes great pictures straight of the camera, which is good as I am not particularly inclined to spending much time processing images afterwards. I sincerely believe that the jpeg engine on this camera is one of the best in the business. However, I have seen images taken with a Nikon 5100 in raw, and after some processing they seem to be a bit better…especially if you have a clear blue sky and dark green below…the Nikon seem to be able to discern better between heaven and earth. But the Nikon’s jpeg output is no match for that of the Oly. Now, I have not tried to edit raw files from my camera, maybe I would be able to have the same results; although I read in DpReview that the oly has very little headroom in raw and thus very little to be gained from shooting in raw.

Complaints: (i) very difficult to find gear for this camera, such a lenses, books, flashes and stuff; (ii) after ISO 640 it becomes noisy. Although if you turn down gradation (set it to normal) and the shadow compensation function you can get (almost) noise-free photos up to ISO 1250 but you loose the ability to retain detail in the shadow areas. A fun fact is that the camera is more noisy at ISO 400, 500 & 800 than at 640 & 1250. Also, at ISO 1250 it is cleaner that ISO 1000…weird but true in my experience…maybe I have a faulty product; and (iii)slow AF in dark-poor light areas. It situations as a dark club the camera’s AF is just lost and you have to use manual focus. Actually my gf’s pocket Canon (is230) takes better pictures in this type of situation.

Finally, on sunny days this camera works best using ISO 200 upwards…at ISO 100 you will have to choose between the sky or the object…dynamic range is much better at ISO 200.

6:06 pm - Monday, July 25, 2011

Entry Tags

review, 12 megapixel, 2.7 inch LCD, olympus, dslr, vari-angle, four thirds, e 600, e-600, e600, Olympus E-600 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry