Olympus E-P5 Review

5.0
July 8, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

18 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 QB

Unbelievable!!! You snub other cameras from getting a 5 star by giving them a 4 and a half stars based on price, yet this camera gets 5?

Wow… Biased?

3:55 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#2 Roy

Hope it handles better than my E-PL3, which was almost impossible to hold comfortably with even the standard zoom attached - it needed a viewfinder, but not at the cost of Olympus ones.  God knows what it was like with a telephoto!

4:26 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#3 Roy

Strange - one moment there is a comment, then it’s gone; don’t you like criticism?

4:28 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#4 mknosens

i dont c much “essential” material, specially at $999 for juz body.. :/

5:07 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#5 G Smith

A nice camera, but too expensive.
Your comparison with the G6 and GF6 is a strange one, as both are much cheaper. A better comparison would be the GH3, or probably the yet to be released GX7. I’d tale the OM-D E-M5 over this any day.

8:40 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#6 dan

Nice camera , but no way i am paying that much.
I foolishly paid a fortune for my EP-3 and so quickly the price drops. Once bitten twice shy.
Ill give it a year thanks.

10:04 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#7 ttan

Too expensive, like EP3 wait for 18 months or more the price will drop by 40% or more.
An example, EP3 cost about $999 with kit lens on release about 18mths ago, recently I bought one for $345 incl. kit lens.

12:07 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#8 Jim

I believe you have an error in this review. In the image quality section at the very top you are talking about the OMD EM5 and not the PEN EP5.

12:42 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#9 Michael

This is the perfect camera for me. My pictures pay for my cameras (I take photos for magazines) so price alone is not the most important consideration; the first thing I think about is, ‘will this work for my needs?’  I’ve been using the E-PL5 as a second camera to my D800 and while I love the picture quality and pocket-ability (when paired with the Lumix 20mm lens), I really missed two things:  quick access to manual controls offered by DSLRs, and an EVF for critical focusing and framing.  The EP-5 solves both, and remains, essentially, pocketable with a small prime.

2:04 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#10 guido

Have you really tested the e-p5? Image quality section is exactly the same as in the reviev of the omd and the e-pl5.

6:59 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#11 kita

OMG! What a resolution! Look at those bricks on the walls. Really, really nice!

9:23 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#12 David Barclay

So tempting…..it would work so well at a wedding!

9:51 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#13 Janie Barclay Photography

Yes agree, looks good to us!

9:53 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#14 DD

Looks suspiciously like the OM-D E-M5 review text with a different title. Cut & paste reviews? Apart
from the misrepresentation in the image section (“OM-D E-M5” instead if “E-P5”), this camera purports to be “our favourite compact system camera of 2012”. Er - it’s only just been released in June 1013!

11:55 am - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#15 red

why essential?....

just go http://robinwong.blogspot.com/2013/07/olympus-pen-e-p5-review-conclusions.html

(@_@)

10:53 pm - Tuesday, July 9, 2013

#16 jure

Why
don’t you publish prices also in €? It is funny that anybody from EU who read tests of yours, must look for prices elsewhere. Is it so difficult to get prices in € from http://www.ebay.de ?

9:31 am - Wednesday, July 17, 2013

#17 sigma82

@DD did u really read the conclusion or u just took a chance to whine? He said that they recommend the ep5 AS HIGHLY AS their favourite csc of 2012 which was the em5

10:30 am - Tuesday, July 30, 2013

#18 ralph

price has dropped to mid $400’s now in Aug 2014.

2:24 am - Sunday, August 24, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, compact system camera, wi-fi, wireless, csc, touch-screen, RAW, olympus, DSLR, wifi, touchscreen, touch screen, micro four thirds, tilting, touch, EVF, tilt, compact system, gps, tiltable, PEN, e-p5, ep5, e p5, VF-4, ep 5, VF4, Olympus E-P5 Review, 18000th

Tracker Pixel for Entry