Olympus E-PM2 Review

4.5
November 23, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

17 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Best Freeware

Lovely image quality but there are still some shots showing a double image blur at shutter speeds around 1/100 of a second, a problem I’ve observed on some PENs since the E-PL1.

8:48 pm - Friday, November 23, 2012

#2 Joli

I wonder if you could write a review without using either “Noise doesn’t rear its ugly head” or “Eye watering price”, or both?

11:13 pm - Friday, November 23, 2012

#3 Dan

Only recently got an E-P3 and although i lust after that new sensor, i don’t want to upgrade. I just can’t live without both pop up flash and viewfinder. I use both so often…..shame.

12:38 am - Saturday, November 24, 2012

#4 steve

The new range of PENs has come one step closer to pushing me into selling my dslr… but not yet. I’d like a faster start-up, automatic CA correction, and controllable HDR blending in-camera. Oh, and the Oly 12-60 f/2.8-4 in m43 mount.

2:25 am - Saturday, November 24, 2012

#5 Martin Cook

Just got this camera, combined with some old nikon glass. Given my limed capabilities it is an awesome beast in modest clothing. These are just from a few hours today

http://www.flickr.com/photos/martinjamescook/8212822740/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/martinjamescook/8212810566/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/martinjamescook/8211740747/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/martinjamescook/8212761886/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/martinjamescook/8211679343/

2:39 am - Saturday, November 24, 2012

#6 Martin Cook

Awesome camera. Got it paired with some old manual focus glass, so can alter the aperture without entering the menu set up. Here are some shots from today

http://www.flickr.com/photos/martinjamescook/8211679343/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/martinjamescook/8212761886/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/martinjamescook/8212810566/

2:42 am - Saturday, November 24, 2012

#7 Martin Cook

Here are some shots with taken this beast today

http://www.flickr.com/photos/martinjamescook/sets/72157632085653956/

3:01 am - Saturday, November 24, 2012

#8 kato

oh my i miss those olympus colors…

6:08 am - Saturday, November 24, 2012

#9 Martin Cook

oops, didn’t intend on posting three comments. Note to self….be more patient.

8:50 am - Saturday, November 24, 2012

#10 JS

Built in flash is very important to me so I don’t understand why Olympus is leaving it out…

3:02 pm - Saturday, November 24, 2012

#11 Ed

I have bought the camera a month ago, here are my pictures taken when I went to Queenstown, New Zealand.
I absolutely love this cameras colour and picture quality:

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/244097167/photos/2320853

10:59 pm - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#12 Ed

Here are my shots taken with PM2 recently:

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/244097167/photos/2320853

11:00 pm - Wednesday, November 28, 2012

#13 F Gigg

I can’t help but notice that many of the sample images you post in this an indeed other reviews are taken using pretty small apertures - often f11.  All of the lens testing sites will tell you that diffraction will have set in by that stage on these small consumer lenses, substantially reducing image quality.  They tend to do best at f5.6.  There’s really no need for such small apertures from a depth of field point of view with micro 4:3 or even APSc, and by using them you’re not really showing what the sensor is capable of.

10:50 am - Monday, January 14, 2013

#14 Ricky

The E-PM2 is capable of delivering the same excellent image quality as the much more expensive EM-5, but you have to work a little harder for it. There’s almost no grip, the camera is very light and small and the image stabilazation is not as good as the 5-axis stabilization Olympus put in the EM-5. The E-PM2 is much smaller and lighter though and with a small lens like the Panasonic 14mm or 20mm it’s reasonably pocketable too. So, you basically get the good stuff of the EM-5 in a smaller package! I like it!

10:53 am - Sunday, January 27, 2013

#15 Bob Solomon

Have 2 E-PM1 bodies and an E-PM2. Latter is infinitely superior—quick start, decent highlights (no blownout highs), and decent ev range. Too few dials but cost me half of the E-P5 and has 95% or more of the quality of pictures. LiveView might be good—never use it. FL-50 flash is a joy in large rooms, but tripoding feels flimsy. 4/3 Oly lenses work well: 35mm macro is my default. New grip pads are useless, and some cases won’t fit now, either. Who cares? Shoots so well! Oly’s best buy.

11:15 am - Wednesday, October 2, 2013

#16 indysteve

upgraded from a PM1 and the difference is appreciable. although the PM1 was no slouch. i’m not a technical person just a guy who enjoys taking great photos. i like great detail and a photo that looks like the subject of my photos, not oversaturated. shading should be correct and the image sharp. this camera more than fills the bill with minimum effort. shooting raw and using the olympus viewer 3 software is a breeze. jpegs are more than adequate though. i just LOVE this camera and would recommend it to anyone. at its’ price point the PM2 is unbeatable. is it the best IQ on the market ? no, but one doesn’t need a banknote to purchase this little gem.

11:14 am - Wednesday, April 23, 2014

#17 Wendy

I was given one of these lovely cameras as a gift, but find the manual not very helpful in helping me use it to it’s full potential. I would love to get off auto! Can anyone recommend a decent book to help me explore some of the features? Thanks!

11:42 am - Thursday, May 8, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, compact system camera, beginner, csc, touch-screen, RAW, olympus, DSLR, touch screen, micro four thirds, touch, compact system, PEN, mini, epm2, e-pm2, e pm2, Olympus E-PM2 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry