Olympus M.ZUIKO Digital 17mm f/1.8 Review

July 24, 2013 | Zoltan Arva-Toth | |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Still Life Photography

By reading the review of this Olympus M. Zuiko Digital 7mm f/1.8 makes me think of replacing my old digital lens. I wonder what the cost of this one in the market is.

3:29 pm - Wednesday, July 24, 2013

#2 Newzild

You mention several times that the snap-focus mechanism is great for zone-focusing.

Did you actually try to do this?

The aperture markings on the barrel are much too close to each other to make zone-focusing practical.

Setting the hyperfocal distance is somewhat easier, but only if you chose f6.3, as this corresponds with 3 metres, which is marked on the barrel.

12:20 am - Thursday, July 25, 2013

#3 Still Life Photography

I replaced my lens with this Olympus M. Zuiko Digital 7mm f/1.8 and believe me Newzild that it really works best for me. Try it!

12:27 pm - Saturday, August 24, 2013

#4 Rick

The Panasonic 20mm f/1.7 slaughters this

10:03 am - Friday, October 11, 2013

#5 ElNick

Olimpus 17mm f/1.8 definitely wins Panasonic 20mm f/1.7 in conjunction with the E-M5

7:01 pm - Monday, November 4, 2013

#6 Markus

Now that I have my own copy of this lens, I am in agreement with the idea sometimes heard that, while not “flat,” this lens should actually belong to the pancake group. I love the 25mm and I worried I might could do just as well at 17mm with the f2.8, but I will tell you, I am about to squeal with glee. This lens is great fun!

1:58 am - Friday, February 20, 2015

#7 Markus

Somebody else says the 20mm Panasonic “slaughters” this one, pure hyperbole. The 20mm is a very good lens, no doubt, but it is also a slow poke in the autofocus department, the price for the slight increase in sharpness and the harder bokeh. There are trade-offs, always. I ran into a guy out shooting with the 20mm, and he said he would NOT buy the 20mm again, even though he loves the sharpness and angle of view.

2:07 am - Friday, February 20, 2015

Entry Tags

review, test, lens, wide-angle, compact system camera, olympus, micro four thirds, f1.8, 17mm, 34mm, Olympus M.ZUIKO Digital 17mm f1.8 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry