Olympus M.ZUIKO Digital ED 75-300mm f/4.8-6.7 Review

4.0
February 22, 2011 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

12 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Luke

Nice lens, shame about the price!

2:02 pm - Tuesday, February 22, 2011

#2 Ronnie

You haven’t explained why you think there was decentering. From your comments and the test shots, it appears possible that the camera wasn’t parallel to the bookcase. The main clue is that the image improves dramatically on stopping down. Also, decentering would show up at all distances, particularly at the infinity setting. I’ve shot many a bookcase while testing lenses and, while it is a handy subject, I always bear in mind it’s not exactly scientific. More information would be welcome. Thanks for the review and best regards.

10:52 pm - Tuesday, February 22, 2011

#3 David

I have an Olympus PEN EPL1 and am thinking of going to African Safari.  Should I get the Olympus M. ED 75-300 mm or the Lumix Vario 100-300 mm?

6:09 pm - Sunday, March 27, 2011

#4 Bodin Jacques

Good for me but too expensive.

3:07 pm - Wednesday, April 6, 2011

#5 Warren Lyons

David, based on my own experience with my EPL-1 which I use with the 14-42 kit lens and an Olympus ED 40-150 4/3 zoom lens/adapter combo, I don’t think either of those lenses would be a great safari combo, due to both the lack of a viewfinder (problem in the glaring sun of an african Savannah), poor low light performance, and difficulty in balancing at full zoom without a tripod.  My suggestion is to use the EPl-1 with its kit lens and take along an extended zoom such as the canon sx30is.  You will spend less, never worry about dirty sensors when changing lenses, and have two cameras in case one breaks or gets stolen

5:20 pm - Friday, April 29, 2011

#6 David

Warren,
Thanks very much for your suggestion.  It makes a lot of sense to me to have an extra camera and minimize the need to change lenses in safari. I didn’t even know the point and shoot camera has such a powerful zoom. How is the built in stablization on the Canon SX30IS?
David

3:13 pm - Sunday, May 1, 2011

#7 Warren Lyons

Dave, glad you found my suggestion helpfull.  In fact, the image stabilization is the sx30’s strongest suit, though holding the camera steady at full zoom is a bit tricky, unless you are trained as an army sniper.  When I am taking pictures at full zoom of landscapes or other stationary objects and not using a tripod, I find the 2 second timer helpfull.  This prevents camera movement caused by pressing the shutter button.  If your budget was allowing you to consider that lens, I might also suggest leaving the EPL1 at home, and getting the SX30 is AND a premium compact with a viewfinder such as the Canon G12 or the Nikon P7000

4:21 pm - Monday, May 2, 2011

#8 Davie

Warren,
I never thought of the 2 second timer thing.  Very useful tip.  Thanks!
I have a Canon G9 and still use it on certain things.  I heard the G12 is much nicer, but it sounds like you are not a fan of the PEN EPL1?
Why do I want both a Canon SX30IS and a G12? (Other than having a redundant camera in case the other one breaks down or gets stolen, and that the G12 shoots RAW files)?

4:12 am - Tuesday, May 3, 2011

#9 Warren Lyons

Dave, its not that I don’t like the EPL-1.  It’s perfect for no fuss high quality snapshots using its kit lens and the auto or program settings or taking leisurely landscape shots with the kit lens or the 40-150mm zoom lens and a tripod.  My complaints are that its LCD is difficult to see in glaring sunlight, and that its low light performance, even with the kit lens, is mediocre at best.  The 40-150 zoom lens is all but useless in low light and full zoom and suffers from slow focusing at all focal lengths.  I have never gone on a safari and haven’t tried the lens in question, but Its performance in low light, full zoom has got to be worse, especially when hand held and struggling to see whats on the LCD screen.  A viewfinder is a must.  It allows you to brace the camera against the forehead and conserves battery life as well

7:03 pm - Tuesday, May 3, 2011

#10 Marty Varon

I’ve been on a few safari’s and have been pretty happy with a zoom that goes out to 300mm. I purchased the 14-150mm Oly and love it. That’s the equivalent to 28-300mm.

But here’s the biggest tip: Spring for eye-viewer. It’s a couple hundred dollars which really jacks up the price of the camera, but it’s an amazing viewer and makes the camera easy to use in any light situation.

One more suggestion. On most safari’s your shooting is done from the vehicle. The roof of the vehicle has been modified to lift up which allows the photographer to stand and rest the camera on the lip of the opening. But the lip is pretty thin. So bring along a cloth bag that you can fill with rice or barley or lentils, to make a beanbag to rest the camera on to give you stability. It makes a huge difference and makes shooting a pleasure.

Good luck. Have a great time. Please be respectful of the wildlife. It’s their home.

5:29 pm - Thursday, September 15, 2011

#11 Marty Varon

It’s me again. The review mentions that the lens doesn’t have IS and for a lens that long it should. If it’s attached to one of the Oly u4/3 cameras it doesn’t need IS in the lens because the IS is in the camera. I don’t think the Panasonic u4/3’s have IS in the camera, so I think I would go with the Panasonic 100-300 in that case.

8:50 pm - Friday, November 25, 2011

#12 Lee Rothman

I’ve had both and am glad I opted for the 75-300. Yes it is quite a bit more money, but if one is buying for the long term it makes some sense. It has a superior build with tighter tolerances and is much smoother in it’s zoom mechanism. On the copies I’ve owned thus far I feel at the full 300mm the Olympus is a sharper lens. Instant to focus and a great combination with the new OMD-E-M5 body. My experience between the OIS and IBIS was that the IBIS was superior as well on the OMD body.

12:58 am - Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Entry Tags

review, lens, compact system camera, superzoom, zuiko, Micro Four Thirds, MFT, olymous, Olympus M.ZUIKO Digital ED 75-300mm f4.8-6.7 Review, 75-300mm

Tracker Pixel for Entry