Olympus mju Tough 8000 Review

4.0
April 20, 2009 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

49 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Thierry

The main thing about the Olympus mju 8000 is that it’s Tough, so I’d expect any rivals to be at least weatherproof… the Canon PowerShot A1100 & A2100 IS are not, so I don’t quite get why they’re mentioned as alternatives? How about the Canon PowerShot D10 though, that one’s water-, freeze-, dust- & shockproof!

5:28 pm - Monday, April 20, 2009

#2 Derrick Story

Great camera, but you have the wrong photo illustrating it. The real Tough 8000 looks even better!

9:48 pm - Monday, April 20, 2009

#3 Yngvar Sørensen

I recently bought this camera and am quite happy with it. My decision was based on the idea that no compact could ever deliver the quality I want so I might as well buy one that I can use everywhere. So now I carry mine all the time and can really recommend it to DSLR users that agree with my ‘philosophy’.

And don’t forget the new opportunities you get from the waterproofness!

10:01 am - Tuesday, April 21, 2009

#4 enjoygame

air jordan shoes

Air jordan

4:29 am - Wednesday, April 22, 2009

#5 Magic_Bryan

I’ve got an 1030SW which has worked fine underwater, in caverns, rainstorms, had the odd drop and battering, beer spills, you name it, it’s still going. Although you can get better cameras for the money in terms of picture quality and control, can you take them on the beach or out in torrential rain, let alone go snorkeling without an enclosure. I’d love a weather sealed DSLR, but my SW lets me take acceptable snaps pretty much anywhere without spending £1500 on a body alone.

This model seems to be a further improvement with no compromise in terms of ruggedness.

2:01 pm - Wednesday, April 22, 2009

#6 Gregg

Might want to consider the Canon Powershot D10 as a main competitor. Priced about the same and it’s also waterproof/shockproof.

12:56 am - Friday, May 8, 2009

#7 Erick

I would like to point out the review, which is just outstanding. Thank you very much. However, I was missing one important notice or information : battery ! Not even the type or the charge cycle was mentioned in this review. I think it is quiet important information. :-) I just bought this camera today btw. Excited…woohooo :)

3:27 pm - Monday, August 10, 2009

#8 dilsiri welikala

busted nearly $400 on the cam and in two weeks i m getting error messages saying my battery compartment is open. i have to now send it to hong kong for repairs. ultra dissapointed - i live in sri lanka. the picture quality is poor as well. i dont think its stands by its name, its not tough, its a pussy. ultra dissapointed.

10:23 am - Tuesday, August 11, 2009

#9 Dilsiri

DO NOT BUY IT. ITS THE WORST EVER. GO FOR THE SONY!

12:00 pm - Monday, August 17, 2009

#10 Max Surguy

Bought this camera for Hawaii vacation and mainly to capture underwater memories, camera has been working great for 5 months already, you just have to take proper care of it, clean it from hair and dust often, check the seals, etc. Underwater videos are a great amount of fun. See album taken excusively by Though-8000 http://picasaweb.google.com/msurguy/Kauai#

9:21 pm - Monday, September 21, 2009

#11 John

I would not recommend this camera to anyone. Water got in on the second use (in pool) and was replaced by Olympus. Water got in on the second use (again in pool) of the replacement and Olympus refused to replace. I will be seeking refund with help of Fair Trading. Didn’t even get a chance to download photos!

10:44 am - Wednesday, November 4, 2009

#12 Dilsiri

Hi John,
I am not alone then. I KNOW this camera has some serious faults with it and when I requested a refund they said it was not possible. I have the correspondents. I think you should seek to send your application to the fair trading. I want to do it too. Perhaps two of us applying together would add more weight. At least for you you have a outlet in your home country. I had to ship the camera to and from Hong Kong which cost me 1/5th of the price of the camera. My e mail is on http://www.kitesurfsrilanka.blogspot.com

11:14 am - Wednesday, November 4, 2009

#13 Eleanor Maw

Great tough little camera, even does great panoramic shots, I have used the camera in very bad weather when I would not dire use a normal camera and it’s still working great, I never use the Camera at more than 200 ISO as things get grainy and that is probably the only bad point about the camera, I don’t know how it performs 10 meters underwater as I am not a deep sea diver but I did test it in the bath for a laugh, interesting photos to which I won’t be posting here. I love the tap mode for changing the flash & macro and the camera is very beautiful - like me.

10:33 am - Wednesday, November 18, 2009

#14 Melissa

This camera is badly faulty!  I recently brought the 10MP version on vacation and it broke within 15 minutes under water.  (I’ve had an older version of this camera that lasted through several vacations so Im quite familiar of the care required with waterproof cameras). I bought a new 12 MP verson of the camera to get me through the rest of the vacation and this one also broke under water nearly immediately. The seals for the battery compartment appear to be faulty.  Error messages saying it’s open when it is not and then camera stops working completely due to a leak (with the door closed and apparently sealed). Im very dissapointed with this camera!  For the money they cost….they shoudl NOT stop working in the first 15 minutes under water. I will be making a complaint to Olympus.  I’ve already returned the 12 MP and they gave me a replacement but this replacement only turns on about half the time and it’s not even been under water yet!  Clearly the newer models are a mess!  Don’t waste your money!!!!!

1:22 am - Monday, November 23, 2009

#15 Dilsiri Welikala

Hi Melissa,
So I am not the only one who experienced it. Olympus did not accept my camera - they didnt accept that it was faulty. Now its going wonky again (after a repair).

I really dont know. What do you intend to do. Please keep me informed as I am really dissapointed with this very faulty camera.

Dilsiri
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

7:12 am - Monday, November 23, 2009

#16 Eleanor Maw

Sorry to hear a lot of you have had problems with your 8000s, so far touch wood I have had no problems with mine and I am pleased with mine as long as I don’t set the ISO above 200.

11:39 pm - Thursday, December 3, 2009

#17 DONNIE

THIS Olympus tough 8000 IS A PIECE OF SH*T
ITHE FIRST TIME OUT…THE SEALS LET WATER IN…...IT WAS BOT DESIGN WELL AT ALL..ESPECIALLY IF EVERYONE HAS THE SAME PTOBLEMS….THE OLD WATCHES HAD THE SAME PROBLE…IT WAS CALLLED WATER RESISTANT….NOT WATER PROOF…..WELLL COST Olympus YOU SUCK…..BIG TIME…ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU KNOW WE WOULD NEVER BE COMPLAINING IF WATER DID NOT GET INTO OUR CAMERAS BECAUSE OF YOUR FAULTY DESIGN…....!!!!

9:00 am - Tuesday, December 15, 2009

#18 dilsiri welikala

i agree with you donnie. i want to return it as after repairs its faulty again. i want to complain to the fair trade agency if they dont refund my money.

9:03 am - Tuesday, December 15, 2009

#19 Olympus stylus tough 8000 review

Olympus Stylus Tough 8000 is a decent looking camera and has very good features. It is a 12 mp camera and is water and shockproof. The camera is available in black blue and silver colors. It is very easy to use and very comfortable for shooting. The photo quality is average, nothing great. Performance wise, its a bit slow but if durability matters to you, then this is the best option. For more details refer http://www.digitaldesires.net/olympus-stylus-tough-8000-waterproof-shockproof-camera.html

7:09 am - Monday, February 1, 2010

#20 cheap r4

To be honest, I am still finding out exactly what this camera can do, but so far it has performed exactly as I would expect. The panorama function is great fun to watch and generates excellent landscape pictures. I have not dropped it yet, nor submerged it in water to fully test its robustness, but it seems well screwed together.

9:49 am - Tuesday, February 2, 2010

#21 Job

Hi, i used the 1030SW happily for about 2 years, twice under water, the third time it leaked, and the camera, bought on internet from China with no garantee is a write off. I’m going to open it myself, I was thinking of the byuing the Tough 8000, the next generation. Olympus told me that a locally bought camera could have its seals replaced free,before the garantee runs out. I realized later that all rubbers will dry out after 1 or 2 years.

7:34 pm - Wednesday, March 31, 2010

#22 DONNIE AGAIN ****~~~~

OK, OLYMPUS FIXED/REPARED MY BRAND NEW CAMERA….

SO,NOW I KNOW THE “Olympus Stylus Tough 8000”
IS A REAL PIECE OF SH*T…..!!

THIS CAMERA IS NOT WATER PROOF AT ALL !!
REPEAT…Olympus Stylus Tough 8000..THIS CAMERA IS NOT WATER PROOF AT ALL !!

I ONLY WENT IN THE OCEAN SO MY FEET WOULD STILL ON THE GROUND/SAND…

I DID NOT GO TOO DEEP….JUST TO SEE IF IT WILL WORK IN SHALLOW WATER…..

I AM 6’1 AND SWAM AROUND THE SHORE HERE ON MAUI….I TOOK SOME VIDEO…CAME HOME TO VIEW VIDEO…

AND COULD NOT BELIEVE THAT THIS FN OLYMPUS UNDERWATER CAMERA WOULD NOW HAVE “WATER INSIDE AGAIN”....EVEN THOUGH I JUST HAD THIS NEW CAMERA REPARED/FIXED BY THE OLYMPUS…

BUYER OF OLYMPUS STYLUS TOUGH 8000 BUYER BEWARE
THIS CAMERA IS DEFINTLY NOT WATER PROOF
AND YOU ALL WILL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM GOING INTO THE WATER WITH THIS PIECE OF SH*T.!!!

SORRY FOR MY ATTITUDE….BUT THE TRUTH NEEDS TO BE TOLD !!!!

11:01 pm - Wednesday, March 31, 2010

#23 Mike

I bought my wife the 8000 for a trip to Maui- first time we had it in the water snorkeling it stopped working after 5 minutes. So here we were in Maui no camera- water got in the battery compartment I sent it in to Olympus Canada for repair. If I would have read this before I bought I would nit have purchased an Olympus. I’m afraid I cant recommend this camera at this time.

3:21 am - Tuesday, April 6, 2010

#24 Jim

Not waterproof at all.  Scandalous that they get away with saying so.

Ours lasted 15 shots in a pool I can stand up in.

We have never seen the shots we took.

Avoid these cameras, they are not worth much money, and they are not waterproof.

7:16 am - Saturday, April 10, 2010

#25 Toms

Don’t buy these cameras.  We are now on our third camera.  1st one stopped working after a few months, seals broken, water inside the camera, managed to save some photos.  Camera was fixed only to break again the first time in the water, seals.  Replaced with a Tough 8000, took it on holiday, put it in the water and error codes stated that the seals were open (they were not) we hadn’t even managed to take a photo yet.  Took it back to where we purchased, they sent it back to Olympus, new replacement.  We are now exchanging this replacement tough 8000 for a credit note towards a different make of camera.  I would not recommend this camera to anyone, we have been on 3 water based holidays and have no underwater photos, ruined and deeply disappointed.

1:54 pm - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#26 A Williams

This is most defiantly a case of Chinese quality some are OK and some are not .. The problem is until it gets wet there is no way a buyer can tell.. Once again Chinese are masters of making stuff look right but cutting corners ..The motto stop buying chinese S**T its not the brande that counts its to thw quailty Olympus dont own a factory in China and this product is made “for them ” by an OEM maker to their design .. Would you trust the Chinese to make a Boing aircraft ? and nor should you

8:30 pm - Monday, May 10, 2010

#27 Eugene

Got this camera for 3 months and have been taking good care if it. Recently had a slight knock on it and its dead. The very slight knock gave a ridiculous crack on the LCD.

3:26 am - Tuesday, May 18, 2010

#28 marek

do not buy this camera, which I did 3 weeks ago.
have just played with the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FT2,
which is a lot faster and so much better to use.
the front of the w8000 is also super shiny so it reflects light onto the subject when shooting close. this is the worst point and shoot underwater camera I have ever uses, sure is touch, but I do need more.

2:21 pm - Friday, May 28, 2010

#29 Ian

I bought an Olympus Tough 3000 a few months ago and it seemed ok.  However, yesterday I plugged it in to the computer and it caught fire.  Has anybody else experienced this?  I am now in the process of sending it back to Olympus.

5:08 am - Sunday, July 11, 2010

#30 HUSHY

I had an older model that worked great.  Decided to upgrade to the newer model.  Caught a huge redfish last night and went to take a picture only to see that the battery cover was apparently open…but it was not.  If you look at it, the cover is spring loaded to make it easy to see if it is open or closed.  I am frustrated to see that a lot of people are having this problem and Olympus is doing nothing about it…any advice from anyone or did Olypus do anything to help anyone out?  Does anyone have a differnt make and model of a waterproof camera?

3:19 pm - Tuesday, August 3, 2010

#31 Rebecca

Have been considering this camera quite seriously until I read this blog!  Definately dont want to purchase one now but would be the better alternative?  The Canon powershot D10?  or the Sony Cybershot tx5?  Does anyone have experience with either of these?  Any other candidates?

4:34 am - Wednesday, September 8, 2010

#32 D Mullin

I bought the Olympus Tough Mju 8000 before going on a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Colombia for the same reason as most, I hoped it would be reliable and durable. It turned out to be nothing but problems from day one.

Problems with camera:
After following all the instructions for charging it prior to first use, I only managed a dozen or so photos before it died. I decided to be patient and thought that I was rewarded when it worked much better after the next charge. I should say here that I was very happy with the quality of the photos and the easy user interface. It is also a beautiful camera to look at. Unfortunately, It starting dying after fewer and fewer photos once I arrived in Colombia and eventually I could only get 2 or 3 snaps per charge. I have never dropped or bumped it and it’s never been out in the rain, never mind under water. I had the camera approx 1 month before it became unusable.

Problems with customer care:
I thought that it may be a battery issue and I was willing to show the camera and Olympus the benefit of the doubt. However, the customer care has been terrible. I was not offered any recompense for P&P to return it to them and they have had it over a month without any notification of when it will be returned repaired.

I recommend you do not buy this camera as it has proven time and time again (read other reviews) unreliable and Olympus’ customer care is appalling.

1:24 am - Monday, September 27, 2010

#33 Jared

I’ve had this camera since February.  I seem to be luckier than some of the people who have previously posted.  As far as the seals go, mine have survived numerous snorkeling dives.  Photos are ok underwater, just don’t leave it in iAuto, or even the scenic mode.  I’ve found that the best one is leaving it in camera mode, with flash off and all other settings at auto.  I’ve taken it down to 6 metres on numerous occasions briefly, and didn’t kill it.  With the flash on, it gets a lot of reflection from the water which kills the picture. 

Out of the water, outdoors and with decent light, the photos are pretty good, in my opinion.  In dim lighting, it’s very blurry and fuzzy if you leave the flash off, but turn the flash on and things start getting too white - and people complain about the flash being too bright.

Right now, it is in for warranty repairs.  I was cracking the poops with it, since the dial would be in play back mode, but it would jump into shoot mode, then back into playback mode, but at the very top, meaning I would have to scroll back.  I also found a bit of water on the battery and memory card.  I don’t know if it was condensation that was meant to be there, or if a very tiny amount of water was getting in, but I thought I would be safe and take it in.  My friend has one, and hasn’t had a problem with it.  It has not been in the water as much as mine though.

In short, I would recommend this camera to friends, although I feel bad for all the above horror stories.  I guess you need to buy it from a larger camera store who are willing to stand behind it, provided you haven’t done anything stupid to it.  I should also point out that this camera sinks in water.  Hold on tight if you can’t reach the bottom!

4:58 pm - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#34 Keelz

Wish i had never changed to olympus from canon, absoulute waste of money!!! The photos come out all grey they have no colour it makes everyones faces extreemly white, very disappointing.

I recently tested this camera after reading a comment from another user about it being “waterproof”, I tested it with water in the bathroom sink left it there for a few minutes came back checked to see if the inside of the camera was wet and low and behold it had droplets of water in the sd card compartment! I will never buy an olympus camera again.

9:03 pm - Sunday, November 28, 2010

#35 Dilsiri Welikala

I will never trust the Olympus Brand again. Very dissapointed with this camera.

5:11 am - Monday, November 29, 2010

#36 casey

sux :( mine started leaking to, not happy, and i checked seals before snoorkling :(

11:01 am - Monday, December 13, 2010

#37 Alex

Mine leaked on the 3rd day of a 5 day Club Med vacation ... really upset.

5:35 pm - Friday, December 17, 2010

#38 zaharim

I bought mju 6010 model 5 mths ago and it seems that the waterproof problems exist in all models. Water leaks and there’s mist in the lens and display. I took it to local olympus service center and was told that the warranty does not cover any purchases from other region (i bought it in another country).  Not only the camera sucks, the service is equally disappointing too. I plan to sell it cheap on ebay (as spare parts), took huge loses and delete anything about olympus from my PC.

4:13 am - Thursday, January 20, 2011

#39 Ron Christoffel

Brought two 8010s with us to Hawaii—one a year old, one new. Old one had perfect seals—and fried from saltwater the first snorkeling day.  New one decided it didn’t like its own battery contacts and completely failed.  Olympus support attitude is “Who told you you could bring it underwater?”  Do not buy.

8:35 pm - Saturday, March 5, 2011

#40 michelle

Mine is exactly the same..  NOT WATERPROOF!

I have only used it underwater about 10 times and the last time it kept flashing “battery compartment open”  but it definitely was not.  Took it home and opened it and there were little water droplets inside. i let it air dry and it then worked the next day. I used it one more time underwater and now it is completely dead.

I have had this camera for about 2 years and 3 months, so out of warranty, but i am going to try and get my money back as obviously Olympus having been selling a faulty product from the very beginning. I have done research online and i have found over a hundred people with the same water leakage problem.

DO NOT BUY THIS OLYMPUS SO CALLED WATERPROOF CAMERA!

1:49 pm - Tuesday, May 24, 2011

#41 alex geraghty

i’ve never been a fan of Olympus cameras ... for me the picture quality just isn;t good enough and they always seem to have too many picture options, beach, snow, inside, outside, inside with lights, inlside with lights on, inside wityh lights off ... ok I’m being perdantic, but you may be with me if you’ve used one. 

my biggest gripe is just the image quality though and this camera doesn;t alter that point of view.  it just didn;t cut the mustard.  looks the business, feels the business, but photos ... no tahnks. and this all after forst haing the cheaper model - 3000.  this i think has design issues as the compartment area isn;t robust enough.  my first time of using found this out.  i jumped off the boat and found the battery compartment flapping in the air so to speak.  somehow it opened and my thinking is that this has happened before as Olympus with out question replaced it ... this was when I upgraded.

anyway ironically fate has smiled on me as the camera was stolen, with the insurtance covered I’m now going to buy the Canon Powershot D10.  always loved canon simple and standard set up - a bit like Nokia phones - use,love em and think this will do me nicely :)

2:56 am - Monday, June 20, 2011

#42 Yan

I agree, dont waste your money on Tough…its not as Tough as claimed. You may as well save the budget you have for a better camera. The picture quality for this range is quite crappy.

8:15 am - Wednesday, June 22, 2011

#43 Palagama

Don’t Buy this , This one sucks . Better go for a SONY .

4:55 am - Wednesday, August 31, 2011

#44 Angry Dagger

Had this model for two years after an earlier model that leaked at just 3ft underwater.

Its been ok for all this time (crap picture quality but it has done its job whilst out kayaking etc) - until now.

It will not open its lense & just beeps and shuts off. This is after a full charge.

The cameras are sadly just full of problems it seems & no one seems able to make one you can rely on properly. sad but true…..

9:30 pm - Friday, November 18, 2011

#45 Mike Burdis

Bought my Olympus Tough 4 years ago after my daughter dropped my last compact.  I must have got the good one of the batch.  Mine really does appear indestructible.  I have used it in water parks, on the slides, obviously underwater, have “thrown"it to friends to use and they have not always caught it :-).  I purchased 2 spare batteries and might actually get to use them someday when the original finally gives up.  I have been very satisfied with the camera, but in case you all think I am a Olympus fanboy, I have just purchased a pair of Pentax Optio WG-1 cameras for my daughter and in-laws.  This is mainly because of the GPS addition, and they are much lighter.  I buy the tough cameras because I am not super serious about the composition, I just want a camera I can use anywhere with no fuss.

1:24 am - Saturday, November 26, 2011

#46 kate

Help! STUPID CAMERA! 3000 olympus tough. WORST DECISION EVER to take it snorkling only to open it up to water in it.

I can’t get the pics off my sd card now. Keeps saying it needs to be formatted. UGH! I could cry.  Does Anyone have any suggestions????? I keep trying recovery software and not having luck. once in a lifetime trip on this card.

Totally kicking myself for taking the risk…

10:31 pm - Wednesday, December 28, 2011

#47 Tat Chatterjee

I have this camera for 3 years, was working all right in the water and on the mountains, but recently water has been leaking. Olympus blames it on lack of maintenance of the rubber, which apparently got hardened. Anyway, now they are asking $250 to repair it. Probably not worth it, might as well buy a new one.

My 2 cents- reasonable product (if you are lucky), but short life and poor customer service/support from Olympus. The company needs to improve its attitude.

6:19 am - Tuesday, September 11, 2012

#48 jason pearce

I bought the itough 8000 and couldnt belive when i got it home it said made in china. i knew then it was going to be shit. And sure enough it is a £450 disposable camera. third time under water and that was it BROKE!!!!!!

If you buy a camera make sure its made somewhere properly like japan or germany. dont buy olympusssy

6:44 am - Wednesday, October 10, 2012

#49 Gerry Marshall

I have owned this camera for 3 years now, I have travelled the world with it and have been in some dark wet places, the camera always performs perfectly, the pictures are superb.
The camera has had lots of underwater shots taken with it, all of them are vivid and clear, the sports mode also takes exceptional pictures, capturing birds even in flight.
A good all round camera which also looks good to the eye, I have the blue one which is just stunning.

7:35 pm - Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Entry Tags

compact, 12 megapixel, beginner, 2.7 inch LCD, waterproof, shockproof, freezeproof, 3.6x zoom

Tracker Pixel for Entry