Olympus OM-D E-M10 Review

5.0
March 27, 2014 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

13 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 dave rogers

“The biggest news, however, is the inclusion of 37 on-sensor phase-detection auto focus points, which enables better continuous AF performance – especially with low-contrast subjects in low-contrast light – as well as fast focusing with “regular” Four Thirds lenses, mounted via an adapter. “

Um, no.

E-M10 is contrast-detect only. Bad cut’n'paste from the E-M1 review?

1:49 pm - Thursday, March 27, 2014

#2 Johan

I don’t believe there are any on-sensor phase detectaion points… Watch out with the copy & paste guys.
“The biggest news, however, is the inclusion of 37 on-sensor phase-detection auto focus points, which enables better continuous AF performance – especially with low-contrast subjects in low-contrast light – as well as fast focusing with “regular” Four Thirds lenses, mounted via an adapter.”

1:51 pm - Thursday, March 27, 2014

#3 Mark Goldstein

We’ve corrected that error.

4:01 pm - Thursday, March 27, 2014

#4 dave rogers

Not in the first paragraph!

5:35 pm - Thursday, March 27, 2014

#5 Rob Jackson

But, thanks for the other 99.99999% of the extremely informative and helpful review!  Looks like a great cam for a backup system or even a small professional system!

6:32 pm - Thursday, March 27, 2014

#6 Steve

Does it auto-correct for CA ? And if so, with Oly and Pany glass or just Oly ?

1:49 am - Friday, March 28, 2014

#7 Sune

Note, that right now the E-M5 is only about about 10% more in shops where I live, though it sells with the larger kit lens, which might be a turn off. Of course the e-m10 will come down, once it’s been on the market for a bit too.

7:52 am - Friday, March 28, 2014

#8 Johan

@Rob Jackson: Well, the thing is that when someone copy paste something “wrongly” and touts it as “the biggest news” in something as important as a camera’s autofocus performance, it takes a huge bite of the value from the rest 99,999% of the text as well. What is exlusively written for the E-M10 and what is just old stuff from other reviews? Yes, the blog provides a service for us, but it is part of their job and we pay with our time and attention. With that said: We all make mistakes, and hopefully the writer is striving to improve and maybe even reduce the amount of “copy-pasting” from other reviews.

8:12 am - Friday, March 28, 2014

#9 Gordon Lewis

I used this camera with the 25mm f/1.8 m.Zuiko (both rented) during a recent week-long trip to New Orleans. Despite never having used it before and not having an owner’s manual at my disposal, I was able to configure it to my liking and get some great shots. Its performance was, for all practical purposes, flawless. I’d be hard-pressed to think of a better value at this price, especially in a small, lightweight, yet capable camera, which is why my Nikon V1 and Canon EOS 60D will soon be for sale.

2:34 pm - Friday, April 4, 2014

#10 Bever

Quick Erase button doesn’t work. Nothing happened when I pressed it. I don’t know if it is an error of the camera or I need to set at specific function.

2:59 pm - Thursday, April 10, 2014

#11 Herman

OMD EM10 is a great little camera!
One flaw(?) there is a constant zooming noise which grows in volume when I push the shutterbutton.
Is this normal ? If so. it is not mentionned anywhere.
HEW

7:06 pm - Tuesday, May 20, 2014

#12 Sune

Sensor stabelisation. You stop hearing it after a while.

7:29 am - Wednesday, May 21, 2014

#13 Frank Villafane

As a Nikon D600/D610 shooter, I’m very keen on image quality.  I decided to give the E-M10 a try based on reviews (including this one ;).  After shooting in Baltimore, New Brunswick and New York, I have to say that I am favorably impressed with the IQ.  I’ve only used the kit lens (14-42mm), so I’m REALLY looking forward to getting the better quality 12-40mm Pro lens.  Yes, weather sealing would’ve been nice, but for the money, this is a great buy.  I took a serious look at the Fujifilm X-T1 - which I WOULD HAVE bought if not for twice the cost.  ‘Nuff said…

Frank V.

8:39 pm - Monday, July 7, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, compact system camera, wi-fi, wireless, csc, RAW, touch-screen, olympus, DSLR, touch screen, touchscreen, micro four thirds, wifi, touch, EVF, compact system, 8fps, flash, PEN, OIS, e m10, em10, e-m10, popup, 3-axis, em 10, Olympus E-M10 Review, pop-up

Tracker Pixel for Entry