Olympus OM-D E-M5 Review

5.0
May 14, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

53 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

I AM SURE THIS IS A FINE CAMERA. HOWEVER THE PRICE IS RIDICULOUS, YOU CAN HAVE GX 1 WITH NORMAL ZOOM PLUS EVF AND GO ON HOLIDAY WITH MONEY YOU SAVED. NO BUILT IN FLASH? IT HAS A HUMP BIGGER THAN CAMEL SO WHY NOT USE IT? AND THE LENS IS SLOW, SO SLOW. I KNOW, IF YOU WANT TO BE COOL AND IN, IT’S A MUST BUY….

1:16 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#2 Alex Foong

Great camera for travel and I have owned the OM-D E-M5 for already 3 weeks. I love the retro stye of it as it remind me of the OM4 which I still own.

Do note that the Lumix 20mm f:1.7 lens is not 100% comparable with the OM-D E-M5 when you leave the switch ON and the camera goes into sleep mode. It hang, Sometime It cannot wake up when you press the shutter button, you need to reset the camera by removing the battery for it to reset. Even when you OFF and ON back the switch is of no good.

Olympus has comfirmed this non compablility of the Lumix 20mm f:1.7 lens when they tested it when I sent it in for confirmation.

It’s a great camera for travel and the focusing is fast (static subject) but it has problem locking onto models on runway (C-AF-Tracking), the focusing though lock on to the model face but it can loose focus lock on when panning. It also can loose focus on moving subject.

Expensive is a relative question, it is very well built and weather resistance. It is a very good back-up camera to have.

2:46 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#3 ed g.

Erratum: $1099 US price is with the (not weather-sealed) 14-42mm.  The kit with the (weather sealed) 12-50mm lens is $1299.

3:13 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#4 Alex Foong

I own this camera for about 3 weeks now and I can say it is a great travel camera to have.

It has a non compablility issue with the Lumix 20mm f:1.7 lens on the OM-D E-M5, the OM-D E-M5 hang with you leave it On and the camera goes into sleep mode. To overcome the hanging problem I need to reset the camera by taking out the battery. Even OFF and ON the switch cannot reset the camera.

The camera focusing is fast (on static subject) but it can’t track focus on models on the runway (C-AF- Tracking). The focus sometime cannot focus lock on the moving model face when panning the camera. It can drop out and focus on the background while using the Olympus 45mm f:1.8 lens.

Whether it is expensive or otherwise, it is relative as the camera is well built and weather resistance.

3:14 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#5 ed g.

@Alex Foong - that sleep-mode problem has been reported on other lenses, including Olympus lenses.  Clearly needs to be addressed in a firmware update.

@JS - Stop shouting.  Also, putting a pop-up flash in a weather-sealed camera is not really on, so if you need a built-in flash, you need a different kind of camera.

I didn’t realize until reading this review that the EM5 doesn’t have custom user modes—certainly not on the mode dial and seemingly not at all.  That’s a shocking omission on a camera of this level.

3:32 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#6 JS

What is your problem? I can criticize whatever I want. I think a camera for 1300$ should be much better…you go and buy it, I’ll pass, OK? These guys get lots of money for designing them, they should put more effort in it, that’s all. It’s called a democracy, are you a commie or WHAT?

5:00 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#7 Ken B

I have an EM5 and it is just fine for me, it works great and I am cool.

A flash is supplied and it is weather sealed as well and the hump is your EVF, which works really well.

Just buy the body if you dont want the lens or with a 14-42mm, choices , choices.

A fair price considering the competition, if you can afford then get one you wont be dissapointed otherwise get pany camera, but keep it away from the water, oops it is not weather sealed.

I you want an EM5 buy it, I certainly recomend it.

5:35 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#8 FrankyB

This is an excellent and helpful review. Thanks. I have had the M5 for about a week and it is a fantastic camera. It has so many great features and handles so well. The image quality is superb.  When wearing my shorts I carry the M5, Oly 9-8mm, Oly 40-150mm and either the Pany 20mm or Pany Leica 45mm Macro in three pockets.

I note that the Oly site says “SHUTTER DURABILITY
Durable shutter mechanism tested to 100,000 cycles.”.  You may want to add that to the specs.  Here is the link.

http://www.olympusamerica.com/cpg_section/product.asp?product=1583&page=features

Thanks again for a fine review.

5:44 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#9 ed g.

@js:  Glad to see you’ve figured out how to turn caps lock off. 

Good luck finding a weather-sealed camera with a pop-up flash;  of course if you don’t need the weather-sealing, you already have a number of decent (and lower-cost) options, no?  Personally, I’m waiting for something like an XPro-1 in m4/3 mount.

It’s not a democracy, it’s a marketplace;  and you are a silly little fellow.

6:32 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#10 Jason

The review mentions a PC sync socket for studio flash. I hope I just missed it, but I think it does not in fact have one. Sure wish it did for a camera of this price.

@ed g. - there are “Myset” modes, but I think it was quite an omission that they aren’t on the mode dial. I think you can assign a button to jump to one.

I own the E-M5 and love it. The price is pretty high compared to the GX1 and G3. I didn’t buy it because it compared favorably per dollar to those cameras. I decided that I wanted the weather-sealed body, controls (more buttons than Panasonic, and Oly provides a level of customization I haven’t ever seen before), and in body IS enough to go for the E-M5. It also has a slightly better high-ISO output, and has a battery grip available.

I like prime lenses, including adapted, so even though when I bought this I owned both Panasonic’s 14-42 OIS and 45-200 OIS, I much prefer in-body IS.

7:24 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#11 tuxedo

I didn’t see in main rivals the Panasonic GH-2 !
I saw other from Panasonic with less features.
Is it because the GH-2 cost less, has more features,
and has a display that can be tilted and turned in any way you want ?
Let me also notice that the GH-2 has improved since his introduction due to a big firmware upgrade in his body and his lenses ?
I have a GH-2 and this review didn’t change my opinion that the Olympus OM-D is a better choice.
I only found the bulb preview nice, but when I take long pictures with the GH-2 they are always beautifull… Wheathersealed body: I use a plastic bag, it has never let me down and cost a fraction of weather sealed cameras/lenses that are only sealed when they are new…
It’s a nice camera but I prefer the design of the GH-2 who is compatible.

8:38 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#12 POE

AND GH-2 from PANASONIC with increased features after firmware upgrade ?
- 5 pictures/sec in full resolution
- full HD movie
- swivel display in all directions
- less in price
- quality better ?

8:46 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#13 Joe Gunawan | fotosiamo

I have the GH-2 and use it for fashion and commercial work (http://www.fotosiamo.com)

A friend of mine does have the OM-D and I do think that image quality, it’s a bit better than the GH-2 on lower ISO and way better in ISO3200 and up. Doing some event photography yesterday, I wish I have that extra high ISO to use.

Also, the portrait battery grip is a dream. So jealous of it! My workhorse zoom is the 4/3 Olympus Zuiko 14-54mm f2.8-3.5 mkII lens and having a portrait grip on top of the IQ and also the 5-axis stability definitely makes this a better camera than the GH2. Oh, and of course, the weathersealed, tougher body helps too.

The swivel screen of the GH2 is great for flexibility, but the IQ on the screen is just ok at 460k. If I want to do some critical checking for more accurate rendition of shadow areas, I use the viewfinder, which shows the photo better.

That said, I love all the direct access controls/slider switches on the GH2. Plus, the buttons are spaced better than on the OM-D.

So will I buy the OM-D? If the GH3 is not scheduled to be announced in a couple of months, then it would be a quick yes. But since it is, I want to see what the GH3 has to offer before switching over to the OM-D.

Cheers!

Joe Gunawan | fotosiamo.com
wwww.fotosiamo.com

9:13 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#14 ray

Just like to point out Pentax have been doing weather sealed cameras with pop up flashes for years. Not having one does put me off the camera a little bit, but ill still buy one :)

9:42 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#15 Jason

@tuxedo and POE

The GH2 isn’t really a whole lot less expensive, around $250 less now, and when I ordered the E-M5 it was still selling for a little more. It still doesn’t have weather sealing, in body image stabilization, and I’m not really a big video person.

I think it really has a lot to do with a person wanting the OM-D to have IS for primes and legacy lenses, versus considerably better movie capability and the fully articulating screen.

It kinda seems like this review and the comments hit you guys/gals as a personal offense. I can assure you that I don’t judge someone as less of a person for owning a GH-2, or any other m43 cameras. The images a person takes (and lenses) matter much more.

9:44 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#16 ed g.

@ray:  son of a gun, you’re right!  I didn’t know the K5 had a flash.  I wonder how they managed that?  Last thing I’d want to try to weather seal. 

It’s about the same price as an EM5, maybe it would be a good choice for JS.

I don’t use built-in flashes myself.

10:25 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#17 SSKR

The Olympus E-3 and E-5 have always been weathersealed with popup flashes for many many years. The Olympus HG and SHG lenses have always been weathersealed as well. The world has not recognized this feature as an advantage because Canikon have not yet introduced them (please hold, both body and lens). Thanks to the plastic bags over white barrel lenses; that is considered what the pro does.

10:34 pm - Monday, May 14, 2012

#18 Graeme Taylor

I like it, the retro feel is awesome, the price however is less then awesome. I think 499 would be a more realistic price point for a camera like this one.

12:30 am - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#19 Low Budget Dave

This is actually a good combination of features for me.  As far as I can tell, you can’t really go wrong with any of the new mft cameras. 

Read the reviews, though: If what you really wanted was a dog, don’t buy a cat.

2:02 am - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#20 Justin

This is an awesome camera. Whack a Samyang 8mm lens on it and bang, use the artistic dramatic tone filter.

Or perhaps you could get something like this:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/justin_the_engimatic/7001825016/

4:53 am - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#21 Jevfp

@js
I purchased GX1 for 700$ body only & 249$ =950$ >< E-M5 999$ body only,. plus weather sealed , IBIS, also tilt screen,. You should known this fact,.but the Image quality is worth more than 1200$,.DR, High ISO ,detail , WB, Color,,...This is the. Best m4/3 camera so far,.

If you complain about the hump on E-M5 you should ,compare first side by side before you comment ,.coz it actually GX1 +EVF2 is taller than E-M5,.. Obviously you don’t have one of them, or even GX1

and I just sold my GXI ,.

5:44 am - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#22 zebarnabe

Good camera… but not for my pocket, I think it is a bit overpriced even if it has a few extra features that make it unique.

6:12 am - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#23 ronnbot

Nice review of a good camera. Yes, $999 for a camera body isn’t cheap but it’s reasonable especially when you compare it to similarly advanced cameras, mirrorless or DSLR. If you’re not willing to spend that much, you can wait a few months or a year for the price to decrease, or just look at cheaper alternatives, like the Panasonic G3. That said, I’d get get an E-M5 when they’re in stock locally.

@JS: GX1 w/ EVF is not that much cheaper and you’re not getting a tilting OLED screen, IBIS, and so on. Also, the kit with 14-42mm is only $1099. Personally, I’d get the E-M5 body only and use it w/ my existing m4/3 lenses (20/1.7, 45/1.8, 9-18mm, and 14-150mm).

@Graeme Taylor: How is $499 a more realistic price point for a camera like this? In the “main rivals” section, you’ll see other advanced mirrorless cameras costing more, such as the NEX-7 ($1199) and X-Pro 1 ($1699). Weather sealed DSRLs like the D7000 and 7D are also more expensive at list prices of $1199 and $1699 for the bodies. Not in the list but the only weather sealed DSLR with IBIS, the Pentax K-5, had a list price of $1599 for the body - $600 more than the E-M5 body ($999). For $499, you have options like GF3, E-PM1 and T3, but you will get poorer IQ, less MP, less physical controls, no IBIS, no weather sealing, plastic body (not magnesium), dim/small OVF or no EVF, low-res LCD (not high-res OLED), no touch screen, no wireless flash, etc. Basically, it won’t be a similar camera; not even close.

8:30 am - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#24 tuxedo

@Joe Gunawan
did you do the bodyfirmware 1.02 upgrade already ?

@JS
the reason for reaction was the not mentioning of the camera in the ‘MAIN RIVALS’ in the article/review you mention Nikon camera’s and others which in my opinion aren’t rival due to their body mass and volume.
Someone who owns a OM 3/4 or a GH-2 looks for a small camera with decent lenses who are full configurable or automatic and easy transportable.
I don’t need kilo’s lenses in a big bag and a breathroaster before my nose when I am taking a picture on my voyages.
When I work in a studio I wouldn’t care about the size.

1:41 pm - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#25 POE

@tuxedo nice said.
@Jason Maybe you have to wait @ GH-3 but the GH-2 was already there before the OM-D. A newer camera is sometimes in some detail better than and old one but not always. A viewfinder is of course better to study the details instead of a big screen in bright sunlight, but that I use when I need to be on a distance of the camera and I don’t have a computer or tv on hand, or I need to see if the subject is just framed. NOT for looking details!
On viewfinderless camera the resolution is important because YOU DON’T HAVE A VIEWFINDER!
On camera’s WITH viewfinder it is less important.
In this view the limited movablility of the display on the OM-D is a NEGATIVE POINT even when it has a nice OLED screen. Maybe the viewfinder to compensate the viewfinder?
All the artistic modes I do not care about. It is on the computer you apply it not on the camera.
@Joe Gunawan I saw your site and it are nice photographs.

At the end camera’s are a tool and it are the photographs that matter and the way how you can make them Jason. And I prefer a easy configurable camera like the GH-2 and perhaps the GH-3 instead of the Olympus series or the big format camera’s like Nikon.

2:05 pm - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#26 Aschi Widmer

I am so amazed about this camera. And it focuses verry fast, if the autofocus is switched on in burst mode. Out of the box it is not!!!!!! Some realy practical people posted this on dpreview. Try and be happy!

http://www.dpreview.com/articles/9115179666/user-guide-getting-the-most-out-of-the-olympus-e-m5

7:27 pm - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#27 Joe Gunawan | fotosiamo

@tuxedo Yup! I did the upgrade and also did the hack on it.

@Poe Thank you!

@Graeme Taylor Seriously, $499? What in the world are you basing this on? Feature-per-feature, it definitely competes in the $1000-$1500 range. It’s almost a steal at $999 for body-only.

- Joe Gunawan | fotosiamo.com

8:05 pm - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#28 Michael Farmer

I had this camera on a pre-order for a few weeks, when it came it failed to work.

It refused to focus, either in auto or manual. I found a slight turn on the lens allowed the picture to appear, but when the pressure was released the picture disappeared.

At no time would the focus work. Another problem found today is the images I captured on the memory card could not be read by Photoshop with the latest software update or by Olympus Master.

Since this is a new camera with the latest factory set-up my I lost faith in the camera.

Mine would not be the only one with a fault, should a replacement work I wonder for how long. I expected something that would work; that it did not is inexcusable.

I should add I have and use two Olympus camera’s that are fault free.

4:55 pm - Thursday, May 17, 2012

#29 Warren Lyons

While image quality is subjective to a degree, IMHO, the images posted in this review are outstanding, and give the Pro Nikon a real run for the money.  Yes this camera has its limits.  I would not use it for sports or action shots of wildlife, but for someone who already has a micro 4/3 system and is primarily interested in flowers, landscapes, or high quality family portraits, this is a logical upgrade.  What I don’t understand is the need of some PB readers to insult each other because their tastes and/or opinions differ. PS; anyone who disagrees with me is a Doodieball and their mother wears army boots

5:32 pm - Friday, May 18, 2012

#30 Kustom48

Hi all,
I’d love to try out the Oly, but I can’t find anyone willing to lend me one for a week…......or so !
As for cost, it’s above my pocket limit, but seems about right compared to a Sony NEX or a Leica !

I did manage to get a GX1 body at a bargain basement cost as it was returned to the retailer by the buyer who did’nt like it, never even bothered to register it ,so I’m the proud new user !
I have a G3 and love it, hope to see the rumoured GH3 sometime soon.

2:12 pm - Sunday, May 20, 2012

#31 Markus Arike

The OM-D is a well designed camera which having shot nearly all m43s bodies is one of the better choices on the market.  Also as a D7000 and D800 owner, as well as a happy GH2 user, I strongly disagree that you’d need to go to Full-Frame to get better IQ than the OM-D.  A D7000, K-5 or K-01 has significantly better IQ and DR than an OM-D not to mention high ISO abilities and DOF control.  You don’t need to look any farther than the K-01 and OM-D samples right here on Photography Blog to superior IQ from the APS-C camera. 

Also looking forward to the GH3 which will continue Panasonic’s dominance in the video realm.  Enjoy the website.

5:29 am - Thursday, May 31, 2012

#32 GerryD

A question really. Of those of you who have bought the Olympus M5, which lens set would they recommend ?
I shoot mainly street, landscapes and some portrait/ indoor work. I also have a Canon 5d mark ll but am contemplating the M5 as a secondary and less bulky unit to lug around on a projected extensive trip overseas.

3:06 am - Friday, June 1, 2012

#33 schiwidmer

Hello GerryD

I am using 2 7D and lots of Canon-lenses for my work. In my opinion the OM D have surpassed this cameras in image qality, especial in lowlight.

The kit-lens 12-50 comes verry handy, especial for videos it is superb. Allso the makro-function is beautifull.

For travelling I bouht myself a 12/2.0 Olympus, a 75-300 Olympus, a 20/1.7 pancake Panasonic. Together with te 12-50 kit-lens I will be able to handle lots of ppotographic situations.

Wat I am still short of is a wider widangle….I am not using it to often and hope something handy turns up.

6:44 am - Friday, June 1, 2012

#34 Shane

What can I say, the images produced by this camera are the BEST I’ve seen from any compact or DSLR camera, barring the resolution size. Sharper than anything I’ve seen with the exception of a few like the Pentax 645D.

However, a camera with a bigger sensor can (logically) get such a sharp picture too if the image is cropped down to the same size, I believe.

That said, pound for pound, this is the BEST CSC I have seen. But I would not buy it for 2 glaring reasons: 1) Very high price 2) Relatively small sensor (in 2 years sensors will be commonly 30 MP above).

5:18 am - Monday, June 4, 2012

#35 Shawn

the whole point of mirrorless and m43s is to make the camera’s smaller and lighter. so why make the body bigger!? a huge camel hump and big ass lenses. it’s not even pocketable. you might as well buy a proper camera for that money!!

3:37 pm - Tuesday, July 17, 2012

#36 zebarnabe

This camera is smaller than it looks, however the ‘hump’ might make it hard to fit on smaller camera bags.

They need to make cheaper bodies with the same/equivalent sensor. Something like removing the whole weather sealing, for example, would cut price considerably.

4:01 pm - Tuesday, July 17, 2012

#37 Daniel

Best camera ive owned. Image quality is outstanding and awsome user interface. My only complaint is the sensitivity of the digital viewfinder. When using the touch screen your finger passing in front of the viewfinder can deactivate the liveview prematurely…this can be a bit anoying…this is a firmware issue and not a major one.

11:04 pm - Thursday, August 16, 2012

#38 Comaro

The only thing stopping me buying OM-D E-M5 is my experience of owning the Olympus E-510 where the image quality is completely outclassed by my Canon G11. Also I have the impression the image quality on the E-510 has deteriorated over time(5 years)although the Olympus Service people can find nothing technically wrong with it. The comparison with the G11 is so stark that I’m thinking of opting for the Canon EOS 650D instead. I am not a camera buff so any comments (even blunt ones!)would be welcome

2:13 am - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#39 zebarnabe

E-M5 outclasses E-510 in all fronts (or any other four thirds sensor camera in image quality), however it can be considered expensive if you don’t really care about camera size and weather proofing. There are cheaper cameras with better image quality.

8:31 am - Thursday, October 25, 2012

#40 RJM

The camera can be bought for £805 with 12-50 lens from Panamoz. A flash is included in the kit. There isn’t one built in because the camera is superb in very low light - even hand held.

The image stabilisation system is probably the best out there. Amazing.

I have had the camera about 6 weeks and taken about a 1000 photos. The focus is sharp and extremely fast.

Superb image quality and I can see why it’s well thought of. I would be confident to say that those who knock it haven’t used it.

I love it. The optional hand/battery holder is worth adding.

9:45 pm - Friday, November 9, 2012

#41 dj

Awesome camera!!—i bought one two weeks ago and so far its fabulous. -i almost bought a Nikon D7000 and im so glad i bought the EM5 instead!

5:38 am - Monday, December 10, 2012

#42 Jay Ouellet

I have been lugging my pro Canon gear with me for years…and my body can’t take it anymore. Yep, I’ve been using the OM-5 myself now for 8 months and totally love it. I’m selling off most of my Canon gear…and still keeping my heavy Canon 200 f:1.8 (and 135 f2 for now) for when I shoot rock concerts and nighttime sport events…I will sell this too if or when Olympus comes out with a M43 150 f2.
BTW: I’ve been a pro photographer for many years with images in Nat Geo, NASA, CNN, Smithsonian Museum,, etc.
I’m also a practicing Chiropractor for 31 years. I treat most the pro-photographers here in Quebec City. Here is what I see: severe degenerative joint arthritis and disc herniation in the cervical and upper thoracic areas…from years of caring heavy camera equipment.
A word to the wise…
As some of you may well shoot high-speed sports or need top-end high ISO camera bodies, keep your present gear…nothing beats it…but get yourself a lightweight, high-quality combo to complement your heavy gear for the easier stuff. When you are 50, you’ll be happy you did.

10:09 pm - Saturday, January 5, 2013

#43 RJM

Jay, you said…....

“and still keeping my heavy Canon 200 f:1.8 (and 135 f2 for now) for when I shoot rock concerts and nighttime sport events.”

Olympus do the amazing 75mm F1.8 lens which is equivalent to 150mm on a full frame system that you would use on your Canon.

Isn’t there an adapter you can get to use your canon lens on Olympus OM-D E-M5?

6:08 pm - Sunday, January 6, 2013

#44 Jay Ouellet

RJM

Yes, the 75 is next on my list.
Yes, there is such an adaptor…but I’d lose autofocus. When these guys are jumping all around, I need that autofocus. Here are a few shots taken this summer with my 200 f1.8 and my old 50D APS-c sensor::
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151897505710483.872241.829080482&type=3

9:54 pm - Sunday, January 6, 2013

#45 RJM

Hi Jay

They are lovely photo’s! I like to shoot my local football team

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151216253268608.473615.674748607&type=3

and they move even faster, so I know what you mean!

I’ve used a few of my lenses and the Olympus 45mm F1.8 is it’s bright and sharp but I use the digital teleconverter a lot. The 75mm would be ideal but it’s pricy so it’s next on my list.

I have the Panasonic 45-175 ‘x’ lens which is okay but the auto focus isn’t as fast as the primes for fast moving sports.

Anyway, I’m loving the OMD and have no regrets as it goes most places with me.

10:56 pm - Sunday, January 6, 2013

#46 Jay Ouellet

Back here in Canada, we call that soccer. Our football game is different. I need lotsa reach…so I use my 400 & 200. When OLY comes out with these, I’ll forego my Canon stuff. Here’s a shot taken this fall of the Canadian University football champ team with the 400 + 1.6 APS-c sensor:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10152274255715483&set=a.10152271392455483.929967.829080482&type=3&theater;

4:06 am - Monday, January 7, 2013

#47 Hans Benndorf

The E-M5 to me is an ergonomic disaster zone. You have to buy the additional grip for $300 just to get a reasonable handle on this thing, those strap lugs were digging into my fingers and the buttons are too small and mushy. The menu system is a dogs breakfast and if You are not an Olympus user You are in for a hell of a time to make sense of their ‘logic’. The performance of the camera is apparently quite good all round, but for me it’s a fail because I don’t want to carry and shoot a bent Game Boy all day.
I decided on a compact Pentax K5IIs with those exquisite ‘limited’ primes. A much better camera for similar money.

12:01 am - Thursday, January 17, 2013

#48 Jay

The raw images would have been much more representative of the camera’s potential if the reviewer had used a good prime rather than the quite mediocre kit lens.

8:14 pm - Friday, February 22, 2013

#49 ian

@Hans Benndorf i have to disagree with you, the olympus OMD is probably my favorite camera to date, the performance is amazing and i could carry it around all day long as it isn’t that heavy.

I do find the buttons are a little on the small side but this don’t effect the performance of the camera.

Take a look my article a wrote at http://www.squidoo.com/olympus-omd-em5-camera-review and let me know what you think about the olympus OMD

Thanks

7:05 pm - Sunday, July 21, 2013

#50 Cedric

E-M5 is an expensive camera that is very fragile, where small parts are not in the right place. It will break just by using it normally (camera strap around the neck). EVF in particular.
Please see the link below to find out how cheaply this camera is built :
http://www.olympusomdem5-isatoy.co.nr/

7:44 am - Tuesday, May 6, 2014

#51 Jay Ouellet

Addendum to my previous posts.
One reviewer claims the EM-5 is ‘fragile’. Here’s a true story. August, 2013:
I was on assignment in Banff, Alberta, and dropped my EM-5 almost 15 feet off a cliff.I broke a few plastic parts off the viewfinder. Amazingly, I picked up the camera and it, as well as the cheapo 12-50 kit lens worked perfectly. About 10 years back, my Canon 10D fell only four feet and died a sudden, permanent death.

I have since added the EM-1. And the 75 F1.8, 12-40 F2.8, 50-200 F2.8-3.5.
The EM-1 files are marginally but noticeably sharper,cleaner than with the EM-5…and it handles much quicker in all aspects. The OLY 75 is sharper than my Canon 135 F:2 L. This is the only lens I ever owned that equals my Canon 200 F1.8L. Yes, it is this good. Better than my OLY 40 F1.8.
The 12-40 F2.8 blows my Canon 17-40 F4L out of the water. The micro-sharpness is incredible wide-open.
The 50-200 F2.8-3.5 is as sharp wide open as my Canon 400 F:5.6L, but both have equally slow AF. One thing you will notice with the EM-1 plus the OLY primes…is that you do not need to add any post-processing sharpness. All my Canon files needed tweeking. Hey…I’ve been a Canon shooter for nearly 45 years. If you can get the EM-1, go for it. And get the 12-40 and 75. You’ll never look back…unless you are a no-noise fanatic or need higher resolution files for humongous prints.

I did a live UFC event in April. I was cage-side, shooting thru the wired Octagon fence, 4 feet in front of me. Quite the experience. Extremely fatiguing and with eye-strain after 4 hours of shooting. Camera settings were 800 ISO and Single AF. I used S-AF with manual override(AF occasionally locked on to the fence). Only 2-shots,Hi-speed bursts at a time(otherwise the 64G card would be filled before the end of the first fight). After 10 fights, I had only taken 350 pics with the 75 and 425 with the 12-40. Thank God the OLY stuff weighs so little. My pro-buddies shooting with their Canon 1DX and 70-200 F2.8II all had shoulder & neck pain. I brought my EM-1 with the 75 & 12-40(on my EM-5). The 75 was used at F2 and 1/3200 sec. The 12-40 always at 2.8. Here’s a sampler of how well the OLY stuff performs:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10154036123740483&set=a.10154036120675483.1073741840.829080482&type=1&theater;

2:29 pm - Tuesday, May 6, 2014

#52 Robert Morgans

This is in reply to the person knocking the camera as not being robust:

As far as I’m concerned, he is talking utter rubbish!

The first day I got the camera, I rushed to put the neck strap on and didn’t do it properly. I put the camera on the back seat on my car. On arriving at my shoot, I grabbed the strap and slung the camera over my shoulder (literally!) in my rush. The camera flew off the strap, went up in the air and landed on the tarmac. Fearing the worse I picked it up. There was a slight dent on the corner of the metal body where it hit the floor. I turned it on and, wow, it worked - no problems!!! 

I had the camera about a year and fired off several thousand images. Not a single problem except losing the rubber eye cup when I pulled it out of my coat pocket.

So impressed, that I sold the camera and bought the Oly EM1 which I still have. Again, this seems well built - but I haven’t dropped this and I now have straps custom made!

Brill machine….certainly VERY robust. I suspect this may be an employee of another manufacturer dishing rubbish.

4:09 pm - Tuesday, May 6, 2014

#53 Cedric

I am not an employee of any camera company, just a regular user who has purchased a camera. I have used robust 24x36 Canon and a Minolta for 15 years and the olympus body can be compared. I am talking of the small parts like the EVF rubber (comes off all the time), and the EVF plastic (that is such a thin piece for a part that is obviously rubbing the photographers body and clothes all the time when carrying the camera with the strap), as well as the button caps (that makes also the camera spashproof). I have never ever seen theses parts break or come off so easily on older 24x 36 mm.
I like the camera’s overall features but this is definately a weakness to this model. I used 24 x 36 camera bodies for tens of years in so many different situations that I expect to be able to do the same on a camera that is pretending to be the modern equivalent.
All world travellers beware.

2:32 am - Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 1080p, 16 megapixel, compact system camera, csc, RAW, touch-screen, olympus, DSLR, touch screen, touchscreen, micro four thirds, touch, EVF, compact system, PEN, 3 inch OLED, em5, e-m5, e m5, Olympus E-M5 Review, em 5

Tracker Pixel for Entry