Olympus SP-720UZ Review

December 6, 2012 | Matt Grayson | |

Your Comments

20 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 svillav

I can’t understand how can Olympus have such a good jpg engine, as used in all its 4/3 cameras and such an awful one for its compact cameras. This super zoom with the correct image processing will be a hit. As it goes is a so so camera with disappointing image quality.

11:09 pm - Sunday, December 9, 2012

#2 merry

Only had the camera for 1 month and I have all these diagonal lines on my LCD screen that won’t go away.  can’t get any help on the problem.  Can hardly view the photos that I have taken.

11:38 pm - Tuesday, February 12, 2013

#3 Brian

Love the camera.  I got it for $99.00 after a 50.00 rebate and it is sharp with nice colors.  Auto focus is slow at the long end but that is to be expected in a super zoom.  I think this review nails the pros and cons perfectly.  I love this as a back up camera.

2:04 am - Tuesday, August 27, 2013

#4 Peter

I have the camera a year.  The thing died after six months and had to be returned to Olympus.  I paid good money for this camera and its overall performance is poor.  Should have listened to people and paid a bit more and gone Canon.  Probably destined for ebay.  Image quality indoors in awful, outdoors it performs fine.

8:26 am - Monday, September 2, 2013

#5 Sheba

I am unable to take clear photos without zooming. For instance,I cannot to get snaps of people standing just a few feet away from me/ or my immediate surroundings unless I go way back and zoom in on them. Can anyone give me advice please, as this camera seems to work well only with the zoom.

3:19 pm - Friday, September 6, 2013

#6 W

Not pleased at all.  Replacing a 12 mp Pentax and I really made a mistake.  The Olympus offers poor quality over or under saturated pictures slow focus and video playback is terrible.
With the Pentax all is GREAT and only replacing it because I have had it for a number of years. When a camera costs a couple hundred bucks a little quality would be nice

5:34 am - Monday, October 7, 2013

#7 Blazeaglory

Camera is great for the price. This known as a “travel” camera and was designed for traveling and outside shots. That is not to say it cant be used for portraits and indoors, it just seems that this camera performs better outdoors. I cant understand why people are complaining about photo quality on a $150 camera…lol This camera goes above and beyond the $150 range for what it offers. I have not had any problems with this camera other than lines on the LCD screen, which I sent to Olympus and they fixed for free and returned very quickly. This camera takes very good quality pics from 100- 400 ISO and awesome macro pics. Like I said before, whoever is complaining about the awesome quality of this $150 camera, must just love to complain because I have no complaints about quality and features for the price I paid. 5 out of 5 stars

5:55 am - Saturday, November 9, 2013

#8 W

I need to retract my previous statement.
Olympus took care of my camera problems and returned the camera in very fast time.
Now the photos are clear and precise.
The zoom is extraordinary as well as the macro and I paid more than 150 bucks for it but for the Olympus back up ... it is well worth the money.
I can only assume I had some sort of glitch originally.  My wife has a pricier Olympus and it is has been superb from day one.
So Good Going Olympus…You have a loyal Customer that is spreading the word

6:27 am - Saturday, November 9, 2013

#9 Bencze Levente

My camera won’t shoot more than 6 (six) pictures in any of the continuous shoot modes - the limit isn’t affected by the picture size. I use a Class 10 SDHC card, (tested with a wide variety of SD cards) so i believe the write speed isn’t the issue.
Anybody else with this problem?

11:13 am - Friday, January 17, 2014

#10 DUNCAN FIFE

CAMERA LANGUAGE HAS SWITCHED TO CHINESE/JAPANESE AND I CAN NOT GET IT TO GO BACK TO ENGLISH,
CAN YOU HELP ME ?

2:37 am - Monday, April 28, 2014

#11 judy

duncan..i had same problem…this helps
http://www.justanswer.com/video-camera-repair/7q5gw-olympus-digital-camera-model-sp-720uz-how-change.html

7:56 pm - Monday, May 5, 2014

#12 CJHadley

yep
I bought this camera a year ago Dec used it for a trip and then not again till this dec where it died about 3 days into the trip
really disappointed
I had an OM10 for over 20 years and not an issue
so much for brand loyalty
this sucks

2:33 am - Friday, January 23, 2015

#13 A Feher

I had a problem exactly as the post above. I bought the camera brand new Dec. 2013 during a trip. Used it a few times and put it away until another trip in January 2015 in Africa. The camera was working well but by the end of the trip it started to lock and not respond, so that I had to remove/reinsert the battery to get the camera working again. Finally, it stopped working and the screen would give the message “memory card not in place”. I tried to reinsert and replace memory card without success. Took the camera to an authorized Olympus service dealer in Brazil and I was informed that the card slot was fine but I would need to change main internal electronic circuit at a cost of USD 150 with service guarantee for 3 months. I argued that the 1 year service has just expired 3 months before. They directed me to contact Olympus Co Customer Service in Brazil. I did so and got the reply that Olympus warranty was just for one year.
My conclusion is that Olympus does not really care for its customers and will switch back to Nikon which is just fine and never gave me any problem in the last 20 years I used it (even in occasional rough conditions).

12:17 am - Saturday, December 26, 2015

#14 Cjhadley

Olympus will never sell me another camera or hear a good word from my mouth. Poor customer service. Explains why they disappeared for years

1:37 am - Saturday, December 26, 2015

#15 Mike Trevallion

Suddenly and without messing around with the camera, the English language has disappeared and I can’t re programme to English. This is not available on the screen.
Any ideas?

2:35 pm - Sunday, February 21, 2016

#16 W

I hate to say this (potential bad luck and all), but I have now had this camera for 2 1/2 years and frankly it works like a charm.
I have taken fire works, Caribbean cruises, Vegas, driving holiday to Mount Rushmore, 110 deg F heat and tropical humidity and the results have been very good.
Perhaps I lucked out without a lemon.  But regardless both my wife and I have Olympus cameras and we (at present) have nothing but good to say about them and their product

8:46 pm - Sunday, February 21, 2016

#17 W

Mike Trevallion
click menu
then scroll down to the second wrench on the left
enter
then scroll down to the face with the baloon
click on it
and you should change language

9:07 pm - Sunday, February 21, 2016

#18 LAURIE MARTUS

How do I get my camera to spring back to life? Cannot get the camera to turn off and cannot access any functions. I am totally miffed. Yes, I removed the battery and sim card and reinstalled with no change.

2:34 pm - Tuesday, May 10, 2016

#19 LAURIE MARTUS

Camera is one month old. Was working properly until it was turned on and a screen of colored lines appeared. (Mentioned in a previous comment from another camera owner) Cannot get camera to turn off. Removed Battery and SIM Card and reinstalled with no change. Will not take photos or videos. Any suggestions?

4:01 pm - Tuesday, May 10, 2016

#20 A Feher

Suggest you find a dealer and send back with warranty.

8:27 pm - Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, 1080p, wide-angle, olympus, super-zoom, 14 megapixel, super zoom, superzoom, 26mm, 26x zoom, sp-720uz, Olympus SP-720UZ Review, sp 720 uz, sp 720uz, sp720uz, sp-720 uz

Tracker Pixel for Entry