Olympus SP-820UZ Review

4.5
January 28, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

11 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jose kerginaldo de paula

Olympus SP-820UZ is undoubtedly a great camera for a fair price. Olympus has outdone himself more and more, and along with Panasonic, Canon, Nikon and Sony (could include Samsung) are among the trusted companies to buy a photographic device.

12:04 am - Tuesday, February 5, 2013

#2 Roy

Shame that Olympus have gone to AA-sized batteries for this camera, when all previous 800-series cameras ran on Lithium Ion batteries.  A backward step, I feel.

8:36 pm - Thursday, March 14, 2013

#3 Roy

Shame Olympus have gone to AA-sized batteries on this camera, when previous 800-series models have used Lithium-Ion batteries.  A backward step, I feel.

8:38 pm - Thursday, March 14, 2013

#4 Igor Antolovi?

AA bateries are not backward step for everyone because you can easly change with other charged. It is chiper are more durable option then changing Lithium Ion batteries.

7:54 am - Sunday, March 17, 2013

#5 Henk

AA Batteries are a step forward. When on holiday and forgetting to load your Lithium you have a problem. AA’s you can buy almost everywhere to continue making your pics.

11:57 am - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#6 Bernard North

am thinking of buying this camera due to good reviews
I have a question please - the spec is good (I’m no expert) but is Olympus good for product reliability and customer service ie do their cameras often arrive faulty or stop working without good reason and if they do how easy to get them fixed ?

many thanks in advance

10:24 am - Tuesday, May 28, 2013

#7 adrian

I’m looking for a potential replacement to my very old but fantastic 765UZ so i see things that i appreciate and some that i don’t. I do not see the need of ISO6400 but i believe ISO 64 was more useful and it’s a shame they droped it. When i used 10 optical zoom with the small and light 765UZ i needed most of the time (i also prefer to use) the viewfinder as focus is difficult at this point. With a 40 optical zoom and no viewfinder !?? AA batteries are great since you can change them any time wherever you are. They also make the camera heavier that might give a better grip feeling.
Is there anybody that can say if the size of the pictures is reasonable? I noticed that with settings of SHQ and 2048 size, pictures i got with 765UZ are not only sharper and true color but also much smaller than others taken with same settings with other cameras (Nikon to be more precise).

11:07 am - Monday, June 10, 2013

#8 Jim Britt

AA batteries are the ONLY way to go!

I use 2 sets of aA rechargeable with a 15 min charger and NEVER run out of power~

1:10 am - Saturday, June 22, 2013

#9 Mike

I also agree that AA batteries are a step forward. I use a set of Eneloop and they last me a lot.

10:03 am - Sunday, December 8, 2013

#10 ERSILIO CAPARCO

It is a nice all round cam-The only criticism I have is using the macro mode -more specifically the SUPERMACRO-mode-Although locking the lens to function like a fixed macro, I find that this feature -makes no difference at all.It does not   matter how close you physically move the cam to within the said focusing distance i.e 1cm-I does not focus.Ths is typical of cheap high res cameras whose glassware is typically ‘Bland’-with no focusing available.

4:30 pm - Monday, May 12, 2014

#11 VM

I LOVE this camera, but (and I’m sure it’s user error)I can’t figure out how to turn off or change the “automatic shut off” feature.  While I appreciate saving battery power, I have missed a number of good shots, because the camera shuts itself off after just 10 seconds without taking a shot.

2:20 am - Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, wide-angle, 14 megapixel, super-zoom, olympus, super zoom, ultra-zoom, 40x zoom, sp-820uz, sp820uz, sp-820 uz, sp 820uz, sp 820 uz, 22.4mm, Olympus SP-820UZ Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry