Olympus Stylus 1 Review

4.5
November 29, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

18 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jakob

Thanks for the great review. That will make for a great travelcam for me. cheers

10:00 am - Saturday, November 30, 2013

#2 ian drury

A very useful review, the Stylus 1 could be my next ‘everyday’ camera as it has all the features and then some more !
One question though, is there any way to add on a filter system mount to the lens ?
Does it have an unscrew-able lens ring to allow the mounting of a suitable sized threaded filter mount ?
Or would it have to be added in an other way, via ‘magnetic’ / stick-on for example ?
Not a deal breaker for me but useful to know.

11:28 am - Saturday, November 30, 2013

#3 TK

Ian, the reason for being able to remove the lens cap is to be able to attach the CLA-13 lens/filter 55mm adapter :

http://www.getolympus.com/us/en/lens-adapter-tube-cla-13.html

Using the TCON-17 tele-converter this little camera will reach extra 300 to 500mm still at f2.8.

Sure, you can attach 55mm IR, ND, variable ND, CPol filters as well as several other lens-converters like the TCON.

I’m also interested in a camera like that and specially on attaching an ultra-wide/macro converter to it, since 28mm and 20cm focus macro
are not that good really.

9:17 pm - Saturday, November 30, 2013

#4 Ruud Klaver

I can’t wait to get my hands on this camera.
I’m impressed !!!

9:39 pm - Saturday, November 30, 2013

#5 TK

Found some interesting studio samples, basically they show (with no NR) that this camera gives the same image quality at ISO3200 that the Sony RX10 at ISO6400, regarding noise, mostly of the luminance type. Of course, the Sony has 20MP but is much larger and 2x more expensive.

Really impressive for a small sensor camera !!!

Stylus 1:
http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/olympus-stylus-1/olympus-stylus-1A7.HTM

RX10 :
http://www.imaging-resource.com/camera-reviews/sony/rx10/sony-rx10A7.HTM

More around on the enlarged high ISO images
at NR=0 to see what I mean. See bottle labels details and chart with scale and numbers.

10:40 pm - Saturday, November 30, 2013

#6 Ross

Review is good except for assumptions it is the same as the XZ-2. It doesn’t charge the battery in the camera as it is the BLS-5 battery (the same as the PENs) with its own charger BCS-5. Also it doesn’t stitch (3 frames) Panaramas in camera (unless the user manual isn’t telling us something) & it doesn’t have Hi Sequential shooting, just 7 fps. Also, just a little thing, I don’t believe it is an OLED screen, just LCD. If I have any of these details wrong then please correct me & enlighten me. Thanks for the whole review all the same.

12:10 pm - Sunday, December 1, 2013

#7 ian drury

Hi Ross,
Thanks for your input, more info is useful to help in making decisions.
Hopefully more websites & magazines will be testing out this camera soon as it does appear to be very good.

2:00 pm - Sunday, December 1, 2013

#8 MM

I am still stuck with my canon g7. Can not decide… Nikon P7800 did not convince me, canon g16 neither. This one looks right, nice zoom, too. The only question is, is there a underwater housing coming for stylus 1 ?
because that is why I need a replacement of my canon g7,need it for my free diving.

5:42 pm - Sunday, December 1, 2013

#9 Ross

Thanks Ian. I am getting one (hopefully by Christmas) to supplement my E-M5 kit when compact & light is more important than getting the highest detailed image (than carting a bag around with a few lenses that mightn’t be used anyhow). I have been impressed with images from the XZ-2 & this Stylus 1 (using the same sensor) & having the same EVF of the E-M5 as well as the f2.8 10.7 X zoom just makes this a nice versatile camera. The optical stabilisation for stills looks to be quite effective but the specs (in the User Manual) for IS during video seems like it might be just image shift (pixel shift), however your video sample looks fine & it will be OK for the odd bit of video capture that I would use it for anyhow.

9:51 pm - Sunday, December 1, 2013

#10 Mike Taylor

I’ve been waiting for a camera with this sort of spec for a long time, but this is not the one that ticks the right boxes. Judging from the sample images you have shown resolution is a problem - images are very soft. Compare the sharpness of the images from the Olympus with similar ones taken with the LUMIX LF1 and there is no contest - the LF1 wins hands down, and the quality of video is also superb. So it’s a toss up between the Lumix LF1 and the Sony RX10. However, I don’t fancy having to pay out a grand for the Sony when the admittedly slightly sharper images from that do not warrant the vast additional expense. I reckon I can live happily with the LF1.

1:43 pm - Wednesday, December 4, 2013

#11 Richard

Sort of disapppointed in this camera.  The Wi-Fi is for smartphone.  So those functions are no use on a home network.  Menus are a bit cluttered and not always clearly explained.  There should be a hardcopy book with the camera, not a 120 pg PDF.  Photo quality so far has been average at best ... no comparison to my Lumix.  So, a rather pricey camera even with its touch screen.

5:44 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#12 Ross

I’ve got mine now and am enjoying it. I’m pretty happy with it’s results.

12:28 pm - Friday, December 27, 2013

#13 Gary

Pretty certain the comment about being able to charge via USB is WRONG. The user manual for the Stylus 1 doesn’t mention it, and the battery voltage being over 7V makes it extremely difficult to charge from (5V) USB.
Please review and correct.

8:42 pm - Thursday, January 30, 2014

#14 Dougbm

Tested one in a shop using my SD card. The viewfinder is excellent and it felt good in the hand but using the chunky lens ring to change aperture and the tiddly shutter lever to zoom felt incongruous. It feels a bit like it is, a hybrid of a compact and a larger system camera. None of this was a deal breaker but the image quality was just not that great in any of the images once I got them home on my computer. Same for images I have seen on the net. If only this had a larger sensor maybe even just 2/3” but then the lens would be larger etc. Honestly I would rather keep my SX40 as it has a huge range and surprisingly good image quality. For comparison my usual compact is an X100 and I also have a 7D and 5D with a selection of quality lenses. I also had a XZ-1 and was also a bit underwhelmed by the image quality. My Canon G11 was better (except in low light where it struggles with it’s darker lens).

4:49 am - Saturday, February 8, 2014

#15 Carina

Hello

was wondering if anyone could help me regarding the stylus 1,
- is it possible to turn off the live view from the LCD screen and just use the EVF as a means to save battery life?
- I know the stylus 1 comes with its own retractable lens cap, but is there a lens protector that is suitable for the stylus 1 to prevent dust or whatever wants to fly into the lens?

Regards

11:50 am - Tuesday, February 11, 2014

#16 andy clad

If you what to see what this camera can really do, have a look at the Robin Wong review site.

4:49 am - Thursday, May 1, 2014

#17 len

...what Andy said.  I was going to make the same comment as Andy until I saw his post.  Robin’s work is excellent.

2:51 pm - Saturday, October 4, 2014

#18 TK

Andy is right, here it is what this little camera in the hands of a master can really do :

http://robinwong.blogspot.com.br/2014/01/olympus-stylus-1-review.html

Robin posted a teaser in January showing photos taken with the Stylus, the result was that the majority thought the camera was a M4/3 with a tele lens, some even thought of the 40-150mm 2.8 Pro.  I thought it was the new OM-D 10 at the time.

This proves image quality is highly relative. This camera has many possible settings and in the hands of someone that knows what it’s doing can do marvels.

1:56 pm - Monday, October 6, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, compact, review, 1080p, photos, samples, images, 720p, lens, 12 megapixel, test, compact system camera, preview, hdmi, jpeg, video, movie, camera, wireless, full hd, super-zoom, manual, photo, RAW, olympus, dslr, touchscreen, 1920x1080, cmos, tilting, super zoom, 28mm, superzoom, tiltable, stylus, stylus 1, olympus stylus 1

Tracker Pixel for Entry