Olympus Tough TG-1 Review

4.0
March 27, 2013 | Zoltan Arva-Toth |

Your Comments

6 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 gummyrabbit

Why review this now when the TG-2 is out?

8:16 pm - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#2 bjeast

I too would have liked to have seen a review of the TG-2. Granted it features the same specs as the TG-2, but there were some tweaks that it would have been to see reviewed. I suspect this review was started well before the TG-2 was available.

11:39 pm - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#3 Mad Hungarian

I would take that Kurtos Kalacs and swallow it at once.

3:05 am - Thursday, March 28, 2013

#4 Dave

I bought one of these when they were first out.  The AF was slightly faster and just as accurate as the pocket cameras at the time, and quite a bit better than a smartphone.

The only problem was that there was an odd buzzing noise that was added to every video I took.  I tried turning off the image stabilization, and of course the zoom, but the noise remained.

I eventually took it back to the store, and had them look at it.  Since it was the only one they had in stock, they couldn’t tell if it was just this camera or every one of them.  I never found out for sure, but would recommend that everyone shoot some video, and listen to the sound quality.

12:51 pm - Thursday, March 28, 2013

#5 Steady Eddie

Its a piece of crap! I bought it when it 1st came out back in summer 2012, got the housing, tele-lens, fish-eye lens etc…
I brought it with me to Bali for a vacation and the 1st time I went into the pool with it, water seeped through into the battery/SD card compartment. R u kidding me? Olympus fixed it but I never entered the pool with it again without the housing, which was really stupid.
A couple months later, the camera couldn’t be switch on! After I pressed the power button, it switches on but somehow fails to boot-up… it made a funny cranking sound and then drops dead. This happened every single time I pressed the On/Off button, even today.
Since my 1 year warranty has expired, I refuse to fork out more money to fix this piece of crap. I hope olympus reads this and that the TG-2 was launched to remedy all the problems of the TG-1.
I’m really disappointed with the TG-1 and I’ll prob go back to my with Canon D-10, which was problem free for 4 yrs before I made the worse decision in switching to the TG-1.

2:44 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#6 Lakbay Diva

hey dave, we have the same problem! i got my camera around june 2012, the time it hit the stores of new york. i did hear the buzzing sound and is pervasive in my videos. i thought it was only me. oh well, i bought the tg-2 as the tg-1 died on me. so far tg-2 has no problems.

11:28 am - Thursday, August 22, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 12 megapixel, olympus, 4x zoom, waterproof, dustproof, shockproof, freezeproof, f2, tough, 3 inch OLED, 1080, tg 1, tg1, tg-1, Olympus Tough TG-1 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry