Olympus Tough TG-2 Review

4.0
April 5, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

16 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JohnC

Images look soft, and as usual with most compacts these days (apart from Canon) there is excessive noise reduction at all iso’s. If it had raw mode all this could be forgiven.

4:58 pm - Friday, April 5, 2013

#2 montypython51

Great little camera. Does what it was designed to do. Get frustrated by people who expect it to do what a DSLR can do.

6:13 am - Saturday, April 6, 2013

#3 Tina Edwards

Thanks for the review. Considering this is a compact camera the macro modes sound great.

9:46 am - Saturday, April 6, 2013

#4 Marco

Hmm pretty good diving an object….Nemo would be quite satisfied

7:30 am - Wednesday, April 17, 2013

#5 Aperture

im satisfied with this camera. i love it very much - Kaycee McNally

6:27 am - Friday, May 3, 2013

#6 Lakbay Diva

gawd i’ve had the TG-1 and i’m so satisfied being a free-diver and adventure junkie. my TG-1 got broken and i want a TG-2.

by the way, i can’t view the sample images, it says URL can’t be found.

3:01 am - Sunday, May 5, 2013

#7 edward castro

Great camera prime factor is the aperture 2.0

4:36 pm - Saturday, June 1, 2013

#8 patrick

Superb. Looking at it you wouldn’t credit it with such capacity!!!
Supermacro!!! LED supportive lighting.

8:06 pm - Sunday, June 16, 2013

#9 Kawika

This camera has almost everything except good image quality.  No, I’m not comparing it to a DSLR.  I’m comparing it to an FZ150, which has the same size sensor and which generated clear images with no detectable noise at low ISO and no over-sharpening.  (Also allows RAW.)  Another example is the Panasonic ZS15: nice, clear, sharp images.  Sadly, the TG2 (like the TG1) totally fails in this respect.  There’s no reason that a decent sensor and decent electronics can’t be incorporated into this type of camera. Charge a bit more and deliver a truly satisfactory product.

7:35 pm - Sunday, June 23, 2013

#10 Steady Eddie

Before you consider buying the TG-2, read this review about its predecessor TG-1. May be I had a bad experience or bad luck but its still relevant if you wanna switch.

The TG-1 was a piece of crap! I bought it when it 1st came out back in summer 2012, got the housing, tele-lens, fish-eye lens etc…
I brought it with me to Bali for a vacation and the 1st time I went into the pool with it, water seeped through into the battery/SD card compartment. R u kidding me? Olympus fixed it but I never entered the pool with it again without the housing, which was really stupid.
A couple months later, the camera couldn’t be switch on! After I pressed the power button, it switches on but somehow fails to boot-up… it made a funny cranking sound and then drops dead. This happened every single time I pressed the On/Off button, even today.
Since my 1 year warranty has expired, I refuse to fork out more money to fix this piece of crap. I hope olympus reads this and that the TG-2 was launched to remedy all the problems of the TG-1.
I’m really disappointed with the TG-1 and I’ll prob go back to my with Canon D-10, which was problem free for 4 yrs before I made the worse decision in switching to the TG-1.

2:54 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#11 Ming

Hey Mark,

Can you please post sample phtos of TG-2’s effectiveness of Image stabilization as you did for most of other brand of Waterproof cameres?

Thanks,

10:08 am - Saturday, August 17, 2013

#12 indysteve

images are wonderful for this class of camera. probably the class leader. why all the high ISO pics from a camera you know isn’t very capable of those settings, although it does better than i thought

10:32 am - Saturday, September 14, 2013

#13 Emmanuel Tuts-Schiemsky

love this camera/not pro/but a lot of fun/not for pixel peepers/use external fish eye and macro lenses/look at this’http://www.flickr.com/photos/emmanueltutsschiemsky/.
all crap:)

12:15 pm - Saturday, September 14, 2013

#14 Fil

Sadly, none of the amphibious camera manufacturers seems willing to apply the proper o-ring seals to their products. This would render the cameras watertight regardless of immersion / pressure time, and I believe make them able to reach somewhat greater depths than rated. These flimsy apron whachamacall’em look like purposefully designed weak spots, more so when one considers that water ingress will void the Warranty, unless one can prove it was a manufacturer’s and not user’s fault! And this would be nigh impossible.
Also, this trend of undefined “pocketability”... It creates a lot of flat surfaces on the camera and they will bend under pressure! Instead, the cameras meant to be exposed to water pressure should be shaped a bit convex, and some strategically placed ribs would make them a loot sturdier. Combined with o-ring sealing principle, such cameras could finally be useful to divers, since pressure limitation of 10, 15 or even 30 meters water depths are just frustrating, not to mention the time limit! O-ring seals know no time limit, they sealing abilities grow with the depth pressure!
Replacing push-pin commands with reed switches and outside magnets would remove another number of water ingress risks. By implementing those simple changes, there would finally be a camera capable enough to replace legendary Nikonos, something that the diving community has been missing since the beginning of digital photography.

5:02 pm - Sunday, February 2, 2014

#15 Tony R

Isn’t the whole point of reviewing an underwater camera to show how it performs underwater?
All of the image examples are above water. What was the point.
I want to see how an underwater camera performs in the environment it was designed for.

7:38 pm - Friday, February 7, 2014

#16 Alun James

I like this camera. I like it a lot. The images are superb and the drama setting makes for some stunning cloud shots. The HD video is great and I have some very nice footage of my kids now also. BUT ... there is always a but ... despite being fastidious about moisture ingress I have encountered internal steaming of the lens partic when going from a hot environment to cold and [advice needed here] I have now lost both gimmicky front bayonet inserts. One is somewhere on Mount Taranaki (the red one) and the other is somewhere in a local lake (the black one). It appears that they happily rotate out of their own accord and then vanish as soon as your back is turned. I want a replacement and ideally I want advice on how to stop the damn things coming out so readily. If I wasnt concerned about dust dirt etc filling the bayonet groove I would just forget about them.

2:21 am - Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 12 megapixel, olympus, 4x zoom, GPS, waterproof, dustproof, shockproof, freezeproof, f2, OLED, tough, 3 inch OLED, 1080, flashair, eye-fi, Olympus Tough TG-2 Review, tg 2, tg-2, iHS, tg2

Tracker Pixel for Entry