Olympus VR-320 Review

3.0
October 24, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

15 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Neil

It sounds like you get what you pay for, all these point & shoot cameras sound great 24-300mm lens fantastic but in reality they are not that great! give me a good digital SLR any time for quality.

10:49 am - Monday, October 24, 2011

#2 dj

Excellent review. The camera scored average=which it should. Its the perfect camera for the average someone who travels and is not a photographer.

6:28 pm - Monday, October 24, 2011

#3 DrBob

Interesting review but the image gallery suffers again from a serious omission common to all of your recent reviews —the lack of images at higher than base iso levels.  How can the cameras be judged for us (beginners and amateurs though we may be)when all of the images are between 80 and 160, save one, and of course the studio iso test images.  The real world is not filled with dolls and tripods.  Let us see what the P&S cameras can do for average users under less controlled operating conditions in their typical environment.

4:40 am - Wednesday, October 26, 2011

#4 Seb

Why do You even bother with a review of something like that ?

10:00 am - Wednesday, October 26, 2011

#5 Emden

This is definitely an average camera. Would suggest paying a little more for something much better.

10:27 pm - Friday, October 28, 2011

#6 ness

The biggest problem is connected to short battery life. Taking approx. 300 photos a day (mostly without the flash) and using a lot of focus I had to carry a replacement battery with me.
When battery charge is weak an error occurs in SDHC cards (in my case 32gb) and since then all the photos are unreadable. I’ve twice lost aprox. 200 photos and I had to return to the same place for 3 times(!). And once an error turns up - you have to change the card, as the new battery won’t solve the problem and new photos are still unreadable.
Wisely, I took an old sd card as a replacement - it works well even on a weak battery.

The other problem is with focusing - you’d need a tripod to get a sharp picture on a cloudy Autumn/Winter day in Scandinavia or Russia. I bought this camera to make photos of architectural details (tiles, mosaics etc.) but most of them are blurred :( (of course I experimented with different settings, and using the flash made the details look darker than in reality and high iso partly solved the problem).
When the weather is sunny - photos are quite good - you can see details of mosaics placed few meters above you. And I like the design.
Overall, I’m disappointed, because I can have photos of similar quality with my 6-year old 8mpx Samsung (except for the zoom, but who needs a zoom when details are blurred?)

3:17 am - Thursday, December 29, 2011

#7 Pete

I bought this camera as a quick fix for a broken 5Dii. It is actually capable of taking good photos if left in the iAuto mode AND the available light is good. At 50% the images are OK, any larger and they just enlarge the pixels, in other words, it could do it’s job with about 8 megapixels.

10:49 am - Friday, February 24, 2012

#8 Carl

This little camera is very fast to operate and has an excellent battery saving circuit which leaves the camera always ready to shoot.  Super logistics.  Photo quality and video quality are decent.  Zoom range is excellent, best at this price range.  Love the widest setting. Construction is all metal.  Very well worth the price I paid.  Easy to charge with port on the bottom.

10:12 pm - Monday, July 23, 2012

#9 Wayne

Sure any serious photographer would rather use a good SLR but that’s not what this review is about. Why read the review about a point and shoot if you really aren’t considering buying one? I have SLR cameras and have been a photographer for about 40 years in various capacities. I also have point and shoot cameras which I carry on canoes, zip lining, beaches, rivers and lakes. There are times that the SLR cameras just are not practical but I can still record memories.

10:31 am - Tuesday, October 30, 2012

#10 Mudessar Javed

I want to buy Vr320 , Anyone want to sale Plz Contact me at 03336842199.
I M Using vr310 at the moment, if anyone want to replace his vr320 with my vr310 he is more then welcome, my camera is Absolutely scratch less. In Warrenty Vary rarely Used.

11:01 am - Saturday, November 10, 2012

#11 r glenn

no comment in your evaluation re battery life, cost of replacement btty, avg. # of shots per btty, etc.
any info available ?

5:15 pm - Friday, November 16, 2012

#12 suresh kumar.gajula

worth buy at this price range ( $ 100 )

5:23 am - Thursday, December 20, 2012

#13 andrea

HI, i have this camera and it’s wonderful . I really took some nice pics with this camera. i just want to ask how you switch to telephoto not wide angled! If you are going to buy a camera i really suggest it

7:04 pm - Tuesday, January 29, 2013

#14 Durnford Dart

I can’t get the camera to fire up, changed batteries & card. When swithched on the date screen comes up for a few seconds then the screen goes blank. The orange battery light keeps flashing. When attached to computer the images can be accessed & displayed. The camera is around 12 mths old and a handy little unit for occasional use. Any advice before I throw it away??  Thanks Durn

5:41 am - Thursday, June 27, 2013

#15 farooq akhtar

please any one tell me that is this camera support 32GB memory card or not.

1:49 pm - Tuesday, July 16, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, review, 720p, 14 megapixel, olympus, travel-zoom, travel, 24mm, movies, 3 inch, 12.5x, 12.5x lens, vr-320, Olympus VR-320 Review, olympus vr-320

Tracker Pixel for Entry