Olympus XZ-2 Review

4.5
November 1, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

34 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

I am surprised by IQ,great job!

4:49 pm - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#2 Sale

Great review - thanks!!!

9:15 pm - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#3 Kustom48

Excellent review, as usual !
Can’t wait to try one out for real, when a local retailer gets some in, soon ,hopefully.

10:40 pm - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#4 andy clad

Hi. I own a xz-1 and its really great. Maybe I’ve missed it but does this updated version still include the 3 stop ND filter? I cant see any mention in the text or the specs.
This is one of the best tools of the camera, especially using the lens wide open in sunlight.
Other than that it looks fab.

11:47 pm - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#5 Dan

Yes it has a ND filter 3 stop.

4:50 am - Friday, November 2, 2012

#6 fab

Are you saying in the review that you can’t use manual focus in video mode?

10:53 am - Friday, November 2, 2012

#7 dimitris

Are the wireless flash capapilities restrict to Fl-36R flash ? I thought FL 50R is supported too.

3:31 pm - Friday, November 2, 2012

#8 fab

nevermind, I got my answer from another: of course you can manual focus in video. Wasn’t really clear in your text.

4:54 pm - Friday, November 2, 2012

#9 Fabio

Well, XZ1 is US$269,00 now, is XZ2 too much different to cost 330,00 more ? The price is absurd if you compare with the previous model, we all know that the price will drop, that’s why very few people will spend all that money with so many choices in that price range, even those like me who wants this camera will wait or get the XZ1 .

9:27 pm - Saturday, November 3, 2012

#10 G.

=D
Must say I got a bit disappointed by Oly.
Bought the XZ-1 at full price & now it is
199- (!!)

The sensor bar has been raised as of late.

The XZ-2? Forget it. Get the discontinued XZ-1 at a discount! The XZ-2 will also be discounted,a year from now.


So what? CanĀ“t really see the “new” small sensor making any sense.

Oly has lost its edge on the XZ series.

12:59 am - Sunday, November 4, 2012

#11 Dawningofanewera

all brands build one camera with rear fixed screen.next model has tilt screen. next model has more 2mp…and price is absurd model after model after model!someday a new brand will smash the market making half or more obsolete!!!

10:52 am - Sunday, November 4, 2012

#12 Popovitch

Hello everyone,

i think most of you never tried the new XZ series baby out on street. Because then you will never tell such bullshit about “too pricey”. Its worth every penny. Of course price will drop in a while. And the image Quality for a compact is second to none. The manual access and changes, one can make while shooting, i could not find at any other Compact Camera. Only a X100 fuji or X2 Leica have those many options to choose directly. But from my point of view thats no longer Compact.

So please take my advice.
Buy one, try it out at least for one week and then post something here, that has some sence related to some experience with the camera.
If you dont like it, sell it as one week used camera for about 95% of New Price.

Testing it only at the store does not give you the feeling on how it blast on street. Its fenomenal and as you can see here:

http://robinwong.blogspot.de/2012/10/olympus-stylus-xz-2-review-street.html

in the hands of a trained Photo Professional its makeing beautiful Pictures. 

Enjoy taking Pictures and forget arguing about price policy.

Most important: Have a Camera of any kind with you the right moment!

10:38 am - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#13 Lars A.

Nice review, has helped me a lot to select the camera that I want!
but I’m still undecided between Olympus Xz-2 and Nikon P7700 !!!
I love taking pictures of insects and animals (macro) wich one do you recomend?

3:21 pm - Thursday, December 20, 2012

#14 Renee

What is better? Panasonic LX 7 or Olympus XZ 2?

8:47 pm - Friday, December 28, 2012

#15 Renee

What is better Panasonic LX 7 or Olympus XZ 2?

8:50 pm - Friday, December 28, 2012

#16 Fabio

LX7 is US$299,00 at B&H, XZ2 US$599,00, that offer ends today, I already ordered one, with that price difference there’s not much to think about.

9:56 pm - Friday, December 28, 2012

#17 andy clad

I’ve been using an xz-1 for over a year and have found it to be a fab camera.
Only probs have been rather a lot of noise in shadows at even base iso and the poor video. But thats a ccd sensor and avi video.
I’ve owned many top end compacts and have found the oly to be so good staright out of the camera, with reaaly minimal if any post production required..
Please read the review from Robin Wong from the link above in popoviche’s comment, he really gives it a go in the real world.
Looking at the xz-2. The iso noise at 800 is better than 200 from the xz-1. But with that lovely lens a cant really think why you would want to push the iso that far. I’ve never had to do that. Also the xz-1 can sync its flash all the way up to 1/2000 speed and this is great for high speed action pics. My K5 really stuggles in the flash department.
To sum up, I’m waiting to see if the new Fuji x20 is better than the xz-2. I ran a xz-1 and a x10 side by side for a month and the xz-1 won by a mile. hopefully the xz-2 will do the same. If you take a lot of video, then maybe look at an LX7. But if its pics with the odd video then Olympus are first class.

9:44 am - Sunday, January 20, 2013

#18 Fabio

I’m really impressed by Andy’s comment that the XZ-1 is so much better than the X10.
    As you can see in my comment above I’ve ordered a LX7 because of the special US$299,00 offer, I want to replace my X10 with something more pocketable, but after many side by side tests, the LX7 can’t even get close to the sharpness of the X10 lens and the quality of the X10 EXR sensor, it’s a good camera but not as good as I wanted.
    I also have a Panasonic G3 with 2 lenses, and even being a much larger micro 4/3 sensor camera, it can’t also match the quality of the X10,  that has simply an outstanding lens and an extraordinary flash, even the new Nikon D3200 with the kit lens can’t match the X10.
    I’ve never touched a Olympus XZ-1 or XZ-2 , but I will wait for a better price and give it a chance, in order to beat the X10 so easily it must be really great.

1:13 pm - Sunday, January 20, 2013

#19 andyclad

Fabio,

Have a look at this like for more xz-1 pics. Moose69 is my name on this forum, have a look at some of my pics on here.
I bought an x10 and a xz-1. The x10 is better built, but no where near as good optically.
I’m a Fuji fan though, and hope they’ve got it right with the up and coming x20.
If your a fan of Fuji, have a look at this web site. Really good.
http://www.stevehuffphoto.com

2:25 pm - Sunday, January 20, 2013

#20 andyclad

Sorry Fabio,

I think I forgot the link to the forum with the xz-1 pics.

http://forums.steves-digicams.com/olympus/190772-new-xz-1-user-2.html

2:27 pm - Sunday, January 20, 2013

#21 Fabio Ferricio

Something storage about the Backlight HDR pictures. Did they switch places? The XZ-2 is a great camera for what it is; a pocketable camera with a small sensor. If you’re looking for a more versatile albeit less pocketable camera, the E-PM2 is very interesting. You gain at leas two stops high ISO and the overall image quality is much better.

10:42 pm - Sunday, January 20, 2013

#22 Ralph Gonzalez

I just sold my XZ-1 ($215). I was disappointed in the IQ, mainly that image details get “smeared” due to the excessive noise reduction. Also the CCD sensor produced vertical lines in video when a bright light was in the frame.

Both of these issues are fixed by the XZ-2’s new CMOS sensor. I don’t know if that justifies the price difference, but I would definitely prefer the XZ-2.

But for my purposes, I’m saving up for the Sony RX100.

11:16 pm - Sunday, March 17, 2013

#23 Bruce Bodner

Dear Reviewer,
It appears that your thumbnails for the “Backlit HDR” scene down the alleyway have been reversed.

12:10 pm - Sunday, April 14, 2013

#24 philippe

Did you receive my previous comment?

2:34 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#25 philippe

Okay, apparently it didn’t. Anyway, I am thinking buying a XZ-2, SONY RX-100 or a FUJI X20. Which one is the best. IQ is important as well as video quality, handling and zoom options/quality. I will mainly take pics/vids of my family. Maybe you recommend some other camera or maybe I should wait for the RX-200?
Thanks for your advice!

2:39 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#26 philippe

Okay, apparently it didn’t. Anyway, I am thinking of buying the XZ-2, the Sony RX-100 or the FUJI X20. Which one is the best. IQ is important as well as video quality, handling and zoom options/quality. I will mainly take pics/vids of my family. Maybe you recommend some other camera or should I wait for the RX-200??
Thanks for your advice!

2:44 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#27 philippe

Hi,

I am thinking buying a fuji x20, olympus xz-2 or a sony rx100. Which one is the best. IQ is important as well as handling, video quality and zoom options/quality. I will mainly take pics/vids of my family. Maybe you recommend some other camera, or should I wait for the RX-200?
Thanks for your advice!

2:54 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#28 philippe

Really…Nobody??

11:20 am - Friday, May 24, 2013

#29 Fabio

    Hi Philippe

  You are not alone !
  I think that not many people had experience with all cameras you mentioned. I have a X10 and a friend of mine has a RX100, I can’t say anything about the XZ2, but I also had a LX7 wich is a direct rival.
    The X10 is wonderfull , but it’s big and movies are not the strong point of this camera, the same seems to aplies to the new X20.
    Sony is wonderfull for movies , has a much bigger sensor than the others, it’s much more portable , lens are not as bright as the others but the sensor makes up to a certain point
    If size is not a problem I strongly suggest a micro 4/3 , they are quite small, some models are very cheap and sensor is even bigger, quality is the same as an entry level DSLR and if you add a small and powerfull 45-200 you have a lot of zoom to work with, because it is really a 90-400 and my micro 4/3 has a teleconverter ( not digital zoom) that transforms it in a 800 mm with great quality, there’s also digital zoom available.
    Some models even have an EVF that’s big and high resolution, movies are great in micro 4/3 , the camera is fast ans ISO performance is very good and you can use any lens from any maker with the right adapter, I use CCTV lens that are very bright , 1.4 or 1.7 and cost about US$30,00.
    I haven’t used my X10 since I discovered the micro 4/3 system that I use it mostly for family photos and videos .
    Good luck !

1:22 pm - Friday, May 24, 2013

#30 Luca

many problems with focusing even with DAY LIGHT.

Other than that the camera performs better than a bloody DSRL D5100 with stock kit

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.524612824311696.1073741842.504436689662643&type=3

11:32 am - Thursday, June 12, 2014

#31 Bice Bolje

How ever bad I try I get a shaky video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lE8di639dWk

Anybody have similar issues?

12:26 pm - Friday, July 18, 2014

#32 janice

You say there are 3 panorama modes…auto, manual and PC?

I can’t find anything except a basic panorama mode, having to press the shutter button 3 times and stitch on a PC.

7:40 am - Monday, September 29, 2014

#33 Jim

Not enough protection designed for the touch screen. Good camera, but little thought given to real world use. Never lay camera on it’s back, or you will scratch screen. Never place camera in your pocket, or you will scratch screen and never wear camera around your neck or buttons will scratch screen, even plastic ones.

3:37 am - Thursday, October 2, 2014

#34 Janice

True, Jim.
I have hardly used the camera and there is a fairly deep scratch top right of screen. I cant begin to imagine how it got there but with your comment I can see they are fairly easy to come by.

6:30 am - Thursday, October 2, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, review, 1080p, 12 megapixel, hdmi, manual, RAW, touch-screen, olympus, touch screen, tilting, touch, 4x zoom, 3 inch, tilt, 4x, LCD, 4x lens, xz2, xz 2, Olympus XZ-2, xz-2, Olympus XZ-2 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry