Panasonic LEICA DG MACRO-ELMARIT 45mm F2.8 ASPH. MEGA O.I.S. Review

4.5
December 27, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

8 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Lester

Compared to the Panasonic 14-45, for example, for more general non-macro use, the PL 45 disappoints.  It has a softer centre wide open at f2.8 and, even when stopped down to f4 or f5.6 with centre sharpness equalling the 14-45, still gives softer edges.  There is no very good reason to consider this lens unless you want to take macro photography seriously, and at that point it is pretty much the only lens to consider on a Panasonic G series body.  Its rival is the 4/3rds Oly 50 macro, which is sharper, but the PL45 delivers fast autofocus and image stabilisation, deal makers for me.  Mounting the Oly Twin Flash is easy with a step-up ring, but mounting the Oly Ring Flash is a problem, you’ll need a screw-on flange ring.  (Heck, the Oly Ring Flash is a problem on the Oly 50 as well, you’ll need Oly’s special adapter at a stiff price…)

1:23 pm - Monday, December 27, 2010

#2 JohnF

“Zoom is internal”?

Do you mean “focus is internal” as this is a fixed-focal-length lens?

7:56 pm - Monday, December 27, 2010

#3 evan

Another in a series of too-manufacturer-friendly gear reviews.

12:39 pm - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#4 Bob Bowne

Well…I have to agree with the too-maufac-friendly comment above (can you say Kiss-A, LOL)...but I own the lens..and I have to say most of what is said in the review is spot on. Mark has done a good job and shown examples the back up his comments. And included outside other review websites conclusions as well.
I bought the lens as a portrait lens.  I believe it is the fastest, short tele in a portrait range with auto focus for M4/3 (I could be wrong)...but I find the results from this “LITTLE” setup on my GF1 simply stunning! Take a look here- http://www.dropmocks.com/mOLGA

Did the lens cost too much…yup.. but it is a hot setup for shooting heads. Unless I want to get out the Canon with the 85mm f/1.2 II… but I need a crane for that (it def. has it’s place tho) and it takes a LOT of the spontaneous fun away that this the M 4/3’s offers. Especially if I am just out with friends.

1:23 pm - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#5 Bob Bowne

Well…I have to agree with the too-maufac-friendly comment above (can you say Kiss-A, LOL)...but I own the lens..and I have to say most of what is said in the review is spot on. Mark has done a good job and shown examples the back up his comments. And included outside other review websites conclusions as well.
I bought the lens as a portrait lens.  I believe it is the fastest, short tele in a portrait range with auto focus for M4/3 (I could be wrong)...but I find the results from this “LITTLE” setup on my GF1 simply stunning! Take a look here- http://www.dropmocks.com/mOLGA

Did the lens cost too much…yup.. but it is a hot setup for shooting heads. Unless I want to get out the Canon with the 85mm f/1.2 II… but I need a crane for that (it def. has it’s place tho) and it takes a LOT of the spontaneous fun away that this the M 4/3’s offers. Especially if I am just out with friends.

1:27 pm - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#6 Martin

Part of the problem here is that the sample photos are jpegs out of the camera with default noise reduction - and are simple appalling as a result, smearing out what detail there is into horrible, ghosty mush.  As a result, it is difficult to see how the samples back up the conclusions.  Taken at face value, I can only conclude that as a macro lens it is barely adequate, but as a general purpose short tele, it is wholly inadequate and vastly overpriced to boot.

I have been teetering on the edge of giving it the benefit of the doubt, but I have yet to see any reviews or samples to persuade that I would not be much better off snagging a used Oly M.14-42mm, with its impressive close focussing ability, as a stop gap until Olympus release their own macro lens for micro four thirds.

Martin

5:36 pm - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#7 Wolf

My long-awaited panasonic mft macro lens has just arrived. Now I´ve a question: Is it normal that there is a kind of a loose “something” in the inner lens? Has that sth to do with the OIS? When I turn my camera on (with and without OIS), this shaking in the inner lens is gone. Sorry for this stupid question - but I´m concernd! pictures so far are excellent - from my pont of view.

2:48 pm - Wednesday, January 5, 2011

#8 Bob Bowne

Wolf…
Yes that is completely normal (if not a little disconcerting! LOL). All these macro lenses make that little knocking noise when you shake them.
Enjoy the lens….I think it is a marvel!!!!!

2:56 pm - Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Entry Tags

lens, compact system camera, lumix, micro four thirds, panasonic, macro, dmc-gh2, gh2, 45mm, close-up, close up, Panasonic LEICA DG MACRO-ELMARIT 45mm F2.8 ASPH. MEGA O.I.S., panasonic 45mm

Tracker Pixel for Entry