Panasonic Lumix DMC-FP3 Review

4.0
March 16, 2010 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

10 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 carte iedge

Thanks for providing the review. It seems to be pretty much impressive especially the colours variants of the camera…I would definitely buy one for myself…

7:45 am - Wednesday, March 17, 2010

#2 hakukoneoptimointi

I´ve been thinking of buying a small Canon for the short trips but I really have to try this one before making my desicion.

11:59 am - Wednesday, March 17, 2010

#3 Tom

The Panasonic web site mentions there can be lens motor noise when recording video. Did you notice any?

Also, can zoom be used while recording video?

12:54 am - Friday, March 19, 2010

#4 Josh

Also would like to know if the zoom can be used, and if yes, is there a loud noise?

6:29 am - Monday, March 29, 2010

#5 Tom

I got one and tried it: it won’t zoom while recording video. Sent it back.

Amazingly, the Casio EX-V8 I bought in 2008 did 7x zoom while recording, and today there’s nothing I can find that will match it!

6:56 am - Monday, March 29, 2010

#6 Tiggybear

Fantastic review and it led me to buy one. Am very pleased with it so far but I cannot find any way in the settings to adjust picture sharpness as you did. Not too big a point as thankfully the pics are quite sharp with a good lens but am I missing how to get into this ‘sharpness’ setting?

7:03 am - Wednesday, April 21, 2010

#7 Gorpalm

Got it’s younger sibling the FP1 (can’t deal with touchscreens) - was on special offer on Amazon at the time for only £93 delivered.  At THAT price it’s an unbeatable combination of:

1) Panasonic build quality in a metal body
2) Nice looking
3) 4x optical zoom (non-protruding)
4) HD video
5) Optical image stabilisation
6) Tiny (fits into my blackberry bold case)
7) And it produces decent p&s pictures!

If it was in the c£110-£140 range I’d look for a wide-angle too, but again at the price I got it, it’s really an unbeatable package.

10:29 pm - Tuesday, July 13, 2010

#8 Mian Alentajan

I bought my Panasonic Lumix DMC-FP3 last June 2010. I have had 2 Sony cybershots in the past, though pictures were nice and sharp, the lifespan of these previous cameras were only 2 years max. For the Lumix, my photos are not very sharp—a bit hazy—despite cleaning the lens, and putting it in Vivid mode. Pls help… I know Panasonic Lumix has a good reputation as a good camera, but I’m not seeing this in my Lumix now…. pls help.

7:16 am - Monday, January 3, 2011

#9 Byron Bartley

Thanks for the indepth review. Just a small query though. I bought a samsung camera (can’t recall the model) a while back and it had a feature to charge the battery via the usb cable. Actually, the usb cable had a removable adapter to plug directly into wall socket or when removed could be used to plug directly into usb port.
Can this model charge the battery when plugged via usb port to my computer or laptop.

10:32 pm - Wednesday, March 9, 2011

#10 Rod

will not play movies on my Panasonic 32G10B tv using sd card input on tv.wrong format i think…you would hope that Panasonic camera would be compatible with Panasonic tv!!!!!!!

12:29 pm - Saturday, April 9, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 14 megapixel, touch-screen, lumix, touch screen, panasonic, 4x zoom, dmc-fp3, fp3, Panasonic Lumix DMC-FP3 Review, dmc fp3

Tracker Pixel for Entry