Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX700 Review

4.0
October 20, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

11 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 zebarnabe

I’ll just say this:
http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/panasonic_lumix_dmc_tz10_review/

340$ ... seriously? fair… maybe 200$ because of video features and IS .... but more than that it’s a steal ... specially with better and cheaper cameras ...

12:17 pm - Wednesday, October 20, 2010

#2 richardcosmo

Terrible image quality, picture looks like renaissance painting, what’s happened here, Panasonic?

2:00 pm - Wednesday, October 20, 2010

#3 Yianni

Terrible. This new MOS sensor from Panasonic is pathetic when it comes to pixel quality.

Images are mushy and full of noise reduction.

3:40 pm - Wednesday, October 20, 2010

#4 C.Y.Leow

I am disappointed that Panasonic who produce great P&S like the LX5 gave us crap like this! It also gave “Leica lens” a bad name too!

7:48 pm - Wednesday, October 20, 2010

#5 mazen

i have a canon SD 900ti  
it is still a lot better than any pocket camera i see today

8:17 pm - Wednesday, October 20, 2010

#6 C.Y.Leow

Hello Panasonic, may be you should NOT call your low quality P&S LUMIX?

8:32 pm - Wednesday, October 20, 2010

#7 Sceptical

Panasonic’s JPEG processing has always been poor - even shooting at base ISO in daylight, images look bubbly and blotchy with obvious chroma noise. Shooting raw and developing the shots on the computer gives massively better results, so it’s a pity that Panasonic didn’t include raw support in the FX700. On the plus side, the FX700 uses a CCD sensor so you’ll never have to worry about banding :)

10:58 pm - Thursday, October 21, 2010

#8 Sceptical

Sorry, I was wrong, it *is* using the LiveMOS sensor - no wonder the shots are so mushy :/

11:04 pm - Thursday, October 21, 2010

#9 Ansel

This camera is rated by most respected reviewes as having excellent performance.  Higher ISOs become noisy as in all P&S cameras.  The fast lens allows faster ISO settings with this camera which is an advantage.  The universal compaint is that the retail price on this camera is at least $50 too high not its IQ.

11:04 pm - Thursday, October 21, 2010

#10 Sceptical

True, noise grows worse as ISO sensitivity rises but when even base ISO looks dreadful, you could go with a f/1.4 lens and it wouldn’t help a bit :(

12:10 am - Friday, October 22, 2010

#11 Tony

@Ansel, links please. I for one have not seen the word excellent used in conjunction with this camera on any reviews I’ve read esp in the area of pic quality and that’s all that matters to me. there is much better value to be had for £350 imo.

7:25 pm - Saturday, October 30, 2010

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, hdmi, beginner, 14 megapixel, 5x zoom, touch-screen, lumix, touch screen, touchscreen, 1080i, panasonic, AVCHD, dmc fx700, dmc-fx700, fx700, Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX700 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry