Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 Review

July 3, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

51 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jay

Why no higher ISO raw samples for download?

4:24 pm - Thursday, July 3, 2014

#2 James

The most natural competitor to this camera is the Sony RX10, despite the shorter zoom range. However, they are the only “compact” zooms that share the same sensor size.

5:49 pm - Thursday, July 3, 2014

#3 ben

I absolutely promise this is the last time I bitch about it, and I am posting it here as the the competition is too far down the list, but can PB please tell us if they will continue using the current competition style?

It’s your site and you can do what the hell you like, but can you give us a yes or no, as I am not alone in not trusting/liking it.

Honestly this the last time I will ever say anything about it….

From a long time fan of the site.

6:56 pm - Thursday, July 3, 2014

#4 indysteve

a rating of only 4.0 for image quality? don’t understand that

7:32 pm - Thursday, July 3, 2014

#5 Joe Prete

Like James said a few lines above, the only real “Main Rival” to this camera, it is the $999.95 SONY DSC-RX10
… JP

1:07 am - Friday, July 4, 2014

#6 kurt

I was really looking forward to this review.

Unfortunately there seem to be more a joke than a test.

The motives for the images with the ISO series are completely pointless.

The picture quality is much better than at the FZ200 or FZ150 and yet there are only four points.

Why this camera is compared with a travel zoom camera? Who wants to buy a small compact camera that is not interested in a bridge camera and the reverse is the same.

We are sorry but this test has been done by someone who obviously has no idea.
Unfortunately, the quality of PB has become much worse lately.

7:36 am - Friday, July 4, 2014

#7 ralf

Sorry to say, but this is the fastest, but worst review-site. Full of mistakes and weird conclusions.

12:32 pm - Saturday, July 5, 2014

#8 ralf

why do you delete critical comments?

1:03 pm - Saturday, July 5, 2014

#9 zebarnabe

Sony RX10 is the main and only direct rival.

Comparable cameras to consider are perhaps Olympus Stylus 1, Casio EX-100 (not to be confused with similar named models), Panasonic FZ200, Sony RX100 III, etc.

Also, one could consider Micro Four Thirds cameras or Nikon 1 series, although they belong to a different segment.

7:47 pm - Monday, July 7, 2014

#10 StartedWithABrownie127

I came to this review because your email said super zoom compact. This is a bridge camera, decidedly not a compact. You repeat the error in the review. Some of the main rivals are |referred to as compact. For goodness sake is not difficult.

11:11 am - Wednesday, July 9, 2014

#11 Mokipoki

I have the Panasonic DMC-FZ70 (superzooms to 60x) and am grateful I have it for birding and other wildlife shots. The price went down from around 400 to an on-sale price of 300 at one point, at Target. I know this Lumix got very mixed reviews, but I like it a lot and can’t afford the pricier zooms. The price on this new Lumix will probably go down after a while, like most cameras do?

9:07 pm - Sunday, July 13, 2014

#12 Johan Slabbert

A couple of years ago I suggested (even begged & prayed)that one of the manufacturers would break ranks & produce a bridge camera exactly to the specs of the FZ1000. I’m delighted that it has happened & looking forward to getting one soon to replace my FZ150 which is getting a bit long in the tooth (over the 168000 shots). Meantime, I’m eagerly awaiting the 1st comments of early users based on practical everyday use. Can anyone tell me whether it also has the iZoom function of the FZ150 & 200?

10:17 pm - Sunday, July 13, 2014

#13 edwardns

It’s now called Extended Zoom at 32X

6:58 pm - Sunday, July 20, 2014

#14 Johan Slabbert

That could make a considerable difference. Even though we know its just a resizing (upsizing) of an electronic crop, I’ve found it to be very usable & practical on my FZ150. With the 20Mp of the FZ1000 it should be even better. Thanks edwardsns.
Johan

8:25 pm - Sunday, July 20, 2014

#15 Joe Prete

Johan,
If you’ve shot 168,000 images with an FZ150, I think you really do deserve the new FZ1000. Even if 1/4 of those images were good enough to keep. You really should tell Panasonic about this. I am sure that you must have some amazing images to show. Not that an FZ150 isn’t capable, I’m sure it is, but it is very rare to hear about it It sounds like something they would use in a commercial. As for the FZ1000, I hope you realize that the F2.8 Aperture quickly narrows to F4 as you start to zoom. I tell people to just consider it to be an F4 Aperture camera. Not that it’s bad, but in Full Frame cameras we pay huge amounts of money to retain that F2.8 aperture. Case in point, the Nikon FX 14-24mm, 24-70mm and 70-200mm all F2.8 that’s easily $7000.00 on just 3 zoom lenses. When you consider the Prime lenses you can triple that amount. The FZ1000 and the RX10 with the same 1 inch sensor have broken new ground, and either camera could easily cover 90% of one’s subjects. If you’ve been using the variable aperture FZ150 this should open up a whole new world of opportunities for you. I remember posts about the wish to have a camera with these specs, but technology (read-Sony) just wasn’t up to it yet.  I think this camera will satisfy you for the next several years. You can leave a link to your images if you like, I will see that it gets through, posted here.  Happy Shooting! … JP

12:21 am - Monday, July 21, 2014

#16 jeff

Is the FZ 1000 compatible with my Mac, version 10.8?

2:39 am - Monday, July 21, 2014

#17 Joe Prete

Jeff,
I think what you meant to ask was, is, the software compatible with OSX ? Well, I haven’t had an incompatibility issue since OS 9, but there has never been compatibility issues with OSX Macs that couldn’t be overcome. Since the Intel Macs I don’t know of many incompatibilities. Anyhow, many Photographers use Macs, and they’d have a real problem on their hands if they left out such a large group. Are you using iPhoto, or Aperture? They supply PHOTOfunSTUDIO for PC, but that is for kids, and is NOT Mac compatible. (there are similar programs, if that’s what you want)
The SILKYPIX Developer Studio will work with OSX, 10.4 and up. That should go all the way to OSX Maverick. The next release of OSX will be Yosemite, and that is several months away. I am sure there will be an easy fix, if a problem does arise. Btw, SILKYPIX is software to edit RAW format images. I doubt there will be any problem, but there is an address that you can write to, to find out-
http://www.isl.co.jp/SILKYPIXenglish/p/support/  if you have any issues, and the Tech support can’t help you, either ask here, or at http://www.dpreview.com and you will find help. I’m thinking that you are just being cautious, but you can call Panasonic before you buy too!
Most incompatibility issues are with older versions, but products are built to have forward compatibility. Sometimes Firmware updates are needed, but they are not hard to do anymore. It’s a Fine camera. Good Luck. … JP

5:54 am - Monday, July 21, 2014

#18 Joe Prete

Jeff,
Just reading a newsletter, I see the newest Adobe release does include RAW converters for several cameras, the FZ1000 is included. See, you’re good to go!
… Jp

6:54 am - Monday, July 21, 2014

#19 Johan Slabbert

Hi JP
Yes it’s a lot of shots, especially considering that a good few of them were video clips. However to put it in perspective I’m primarily a bird, nature & family photographer & many of them were shot in burst mode at 5.5 fps & occasionally, at 12 fps. I’m happy to say in all modesty that I & my fellow bird photographers in our bird club in Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa think a fair % of my shots are of better than average quality. Especially considering I am using a bridge camera with a tiny sensor (the rest of the guys all use DSLR’s of APS-C format & some even full frame), the chaps regularly express amazement at the quality of shots the FZ150 is able to produce. You can judge for yourself by checking some of my bird shots from our recent trip to the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park (northern Cape, South Africa) at https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kbq2xdej1wdalrb/AADi2wNWe89UakWSrmqa4jraa
Not all of them are exemplary, some of them are just the best I could get for the record.
If you really think Panasonic would be interested, could you perhaps help me with an email address or website link for them?
And yes, I’m aware of the fact that the FZ1000’s lens is f/4 most of the way, but as you say, that’s still pretty good at the max tele end of 400mm (35mm equiv). And I’ll probably extend the zoom digitally by means of the iZoom function (Extended Zoom, as edwardsns has kindly pointed out above), as I regularly do with my FZ150, despite its limitations (the 20MP resolution lending itself to cropping, will help here, I’m sure).
I’m a firm fan of Panasonic, it’s just a great pity they don’t have an agent in South Africa.
Cheers.
Johan

10:55 am - Monday, July 21, 2014

#20 dalibor marijanović

Manuals released today on Panasonic webpage:
http://shop.panasonic.com/shop/model/DMC-FZ1000

11:55 am - Saturday, July 26, 2014

#21 tom

this really seems a great camera, shame really that aperture cant go below 8 (!).

i mean considering the cost and that you can’t change the lens i think this is very poor performance

6:25 pm - Saturday, July 26, 2014

#22 Nissim ben Avraham

Can we add any filters to this camera? Maybe ND, CPL, FLD, close up and macro filters for this “DSLR kit replacement” (as said by Panasonic) camera. I watch a review on YouTube that said Panasonic FZ1000 will not handy filters, am I wrong?

8:48 pm - Tuesday, July 29, 2014

#23 Johan Slabbert

Yes the ND would compensate in some respects for the limited f-stop of f/8.
A teleconverter, too, could be very useful.
Cheers,
Johan.

6:40 am - Wednesday, July 30, 2014

#24 Blind Photographer

Joe Prete do you have a contact email?

M

6:36 pm - Thursday, July 31, 2014

#25 andres

anyone can say if it can capture photo on non 4k videos, 4k videos at now its big size and i want to capture photos on 1080p and wich quality.
if for compare with the olympus om-d10 or 5.
thanks for all

6:25 pm - Monday, August 11, 2014

#26 charles

This camera does not use the excellent stabilization system when recording 4K video!!Any ideas as to why this is?It is available for stills and 1080p video only

9:02 pm - Wednesday, August 13, 2014

#27 Göran Stråhle

Very nice and impressive birdphotos, thank´s a lot to Johan Slabbert:)

Göran

7:55 pm - Sunday, September 21, 2014

#28 dcisive

I’ve owned too many semi and pro DSLR’s over the last 15 years to count along with mostly pro level lenses. After 2 shoulder surgeries I decided it was time to downsize. I had the top Olympus Mft cameras and lenses for a couple of years but decided to give the FZ1000 a try just to see what it was capable of. I ended up also trying a Sony A77MkII, Canon 70D and Sony A7 along side it during a few months time just to see what the differences were. My discoveries weren’t what DSLR owners want to hear, and I’m sure they would love to dispute them as well. The ISO performance up to ISO1600 was surprisingly similar. Detail retention on the FZ1000 was right up there as was color rendition. The built in Leica lens on the FZ1000 actually out resolved all but the 70-300G Sony lens on the A77MkII. Contrast remained high although I might give a tiny edge to the A7. In the end if one is looking to print no larger than say a 13x19 and you don’t need to view a file larger than 67% on a calibrated screen the differences are nearly invisible. I continue to look for a camera and lens under $3000 that blows the FZ1000 out of the water with these parameters i mind. So far….none have done it. That’s my experience comparing all of the following cameras.

5:02 am - Sunday, October 12, 2014

#29 Jane

I found your opinions pretty helpful when I was considering upgrading my point and shoot so I went and got one of these cameras to try.
I don’t know anything about photography. I’ve read about 1/8 of the manual, but spent the day from sunrise to sunset shooting with it. Have no idea what Im doing as I’m sure you can probably tell, but thought I’d share the results.
Will say one thing for sure, it has a good stabilizer, because the little icon flashed for almost every shot I took.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/21ohp8y0rxkuawc/AADeSIOaNzoDl3EWUUbQHID3a?dl=0

6:42 am - Monday, November 17, 2014

#30 Johan Slabbert

Thanks, I’m glad you liked some of my shots Göran.
Cheers from sunny Cape Town, South Africa,
Johan

2:38 pm - Monday, November 17, 2014

#31 Johan Slabbert

Excellent shots Jane, especially from someone who admits to knowing “nothing about photography”!
And you’re certainly right about the image stabilisation, looking at P1000340 for example (the mushroom): At only 1/20 sec shutter speed, a focal length of E300mm & an ISO of 1600, the quality is remarkable. So, naturally it’s not pin-sharp, but it’s quite stunning in the conditions.
By the way, someone wrote somewhere that the max f-stop quickly drops from F/4 to F/5.6 when you start to zoom out, but this shot at E300mm (fairly close to the E400mm max end of the zoom range) was taken at an F4.
That’s pretty good in my book.
Thanks for sharing Jane & keep up the good work.
Cheers,
Johan

3:03 pm - Monday, November 17, 2014

#32 Phil S - NZ

Bought this camera two weeks ago based on your and other reviews. Mainly used a Fuji XS-1 for the last two years and been very happy with that apart from its focusing speed. The FZ1000 is a definitive big step up in all respects. Its all round responsiveness in every day .. and night .. situations is superb and its extended feature set, 4K, self timer, multi shot, etc are icing on the cake of a camera that consistently shoots highly detailed and accurate shots.

3:41 am - Wednesday, November 19, 2014

#33 Gerard

Hi, does anyone else get a mechanical sound/noise from the FZ-1000 camera ?. Not a loud noise just like cogs going around.

3:11 pm - Thursday, November 20, 2014

#34 Jane

Gerard,
I think the camera is noisy compared to others especially when the zoom is out, a humming sound.  I also noticed if you shift your hand from holding it from the top to holding it underneath in one smooth motion it makes a clunking sound like there is something loose inside of it. I pointed it out to my son and neither of us could figure it out.
Jane

2:38 am - Friday, November 21, 2014

#35 steve willoughby

saw no 400mm shots i thought were all that impressive

9:08 pm - Sunday, January 11, 2015

#36 IanB

I have the wonderful Lumix LZ200 [although seriously ill at the doctors atm] and was excited when the LZ1000 was announced; however it is now off the wish list as I would really like more than F4 to F8 on such a camera. Pity they couldn’t get the aperture down to F11 or F16 but I guess there’s always going to be restrictions with such cameras. A built in ND filter would have made a some difference to me.
IMO it could have been a good replacement for the canon 5d11. The Pana G6 looks the one atm. Two things I look for these days are a viewfinder and a fully swivel screen and the LZ100o have both but :(

Thanks for a great review/s; really appreciate your time you have put into it.
cheers

7:03 am - Monday, January 19, 2015

#37 Joe Prete

IanB,
That was one of the tradeoffs for the the longer focal length, the Fast lens, and a great OIS. I assume that the minimum apertures they used in their testing were adequate, because I haven’t heard many complaints, just observations. This is a Very Fine Camera!

Why can’t you use a 62mm Graduated Neutral Density Filter? There is another option for you, but with it, (the Sony DSC-RX10), you will have a shorter focal length. We have never had such a vast selection of Premium Compact Zoom cameras, as we have now. Why don’t you rent one, with the Filter, and see how it works for you? I think you’ll find that it really is quite a camera! If you are searching for a camera that lacks certain features, you will always find at least one in every bracket. It costs $53.00 + $13.00 for the filter, for 5 days from http://www.lensrentals.com  I’m not sure about them, but there is a “Buy it Now” feature at many of the rental shops.
… Joe Prete

8:59 am - Monday, January 19, 2015

#38 IanB

Cheers Joe:
I guess have managed with the limit of F8 on the lz200 down here in a bright and sunny part of australia. I have a nd built in the g12 and only wish others would follow that lead.

I need to wait for lz200 repair costs… if fixable….. before deciding what to get or do. The 5D11 is also being serviced/repaired ($$$$$$$ :( lol).
#1 is to repair the lz200 or get another; I just love that little camera.

OK the lz1000 is back on the list for now

I appreciate your suggestion Joe

Cheers

10:48 am - Monday, January 19, 2015

#39 Kat

In reply to Tom about aperture value - according to the manual it goes down to 2.8, so a bit puzzled about that.

I own the Lumix FZ485 and have taken plenty of imagery with that before I moved onto Canon EOS60D.
I’m on the eve of upgrading, but I really don’t want to spend out on more lenses if I jump to the 5D MkIII, so I will hire them when the job requires.

I was at The Societies 2015 Convention on Saturday and met the helpful Panasonic reps there. I was blown away by the quality of the FZ1000 and I’d be happy to have that as my everyday walkabout camera than lug my EOS round with all the accessories.

11:59 am - Monday, January 19, 2015

#40 Kat

Whoops the ‘FZ38’ not 485 which I think is a battery!

12:02 pm - Monday, January 19, 2015

#41 Göran

Very nice camera!
Does anyone know what program to use for rawfiles? Raw 8.6rc

1:07 pm - Wednesday, January 21, 2015

#42 FZ1000 user

Hello to everyone :) Based on the reviews from this site I decided to buy myself the Panasonic FZ-1000 Camera. Firstly, may I say thank you for the quality information, sample images, ratings and conclusions which in my opinion, were second to none. I since have found the FZ-1000 to be a truly remarkable camera for crisp clean colourful images as well as spectacular 4K video to feed my hungry 4K TV.
To get the images even better I have decided to buy an external flash and don’t want to pay half an arm as the Panasonic prices seem to be a bit high. Comparing flash units on the market I have found the YONGNUO YN560-III, Wireless Trigger & Speedlite Flash unit and wondering if this will work properly with the FZ-1000.
You can understand I don’t wish to damage the camera or the flash unit and knowing my luck, as soon as I connect the two, there could be a rather large mushroom cloud visible from half way around the world.
Once again, many thanks and keep up the GREAT WORK. Your helping a lot of people out here….

2:22 am - Monday, January 26, 2015

#43 FZ1000 user

To Jane and Gerard…
I have taken over 4000 pic’s with the FZ-1000 and while I don’t hear a humming noise, the camera was a little noisy at first. After taking about 2000 pictures, this gear or winding noise (when using the zoom or when turning the camera off), has nearly gone. Its very quiet now. Such a great camera and I am so happy with it.

2:45 am - Monday, January 26, 2015

#44 Jerry Schneir

After 4 months of Heavy use, the smile on my face tells it all. As an instructor in digital photography (Emeritus College, Santa Monica, Ca) I have to be very careful whenever I discus various cameras less I accidentally talk a novice into buying this bad boy. My image quality is very comparable to the dSLR cameras many of my students use as well as my older Nikon D90. I can also increase my zoom range to 25-565mm by simply reducing the resolution to a very acceptable 10MP. I find the EVF to be as good and often better than that of many of the DSLR cameras I handle.
Focussing speed is extremely fast as is start up speed. The FZ1000 is one hell of a camera, well worth the money especially when you think of what a mid level dSLR with an equivalent lens would cost

8:03 pm - Friday, April 3, 2015

#45 Ian Browne

Still thinking about the FZ1000. The sick FZ200 could not be repaired :( so I bought another. The 5D11/24-105 cost AU$550 to service :eek: so another new camera is a little way off. Amazing how good FZ200 stitched files are in Microsoft Ice.

Really appreciate this thread and the positive comments

9:16 am - Saturday, April 4, 2015

#46 syt

bought a japanese model of FZ1000 anyway to change to american model with english version? and how to do it?

4:32 am - Tuesday, April 21, 2015

#47 perry

Why is there so much difference in the rating compared to the leica copy?

8:29 pm - Monday, June 8, 2015

#48 Daniel

So at what point in the zoom range does the maximum aperture drop from f2.8 to f4? My hunch is that it’s way too early.

If I compare this to my Olympus Pen E-PL5, would it be accurate to say I would lose one stop of light in terms of acceptable noise levels at high ISO settings?

If Panasonic really wants to make this camera shine, I’d ask that they make the f2.8 last longer in the zoom range…at least to a 90mm equivalent for portraiture.

9:57 pm - Monday, July 27, 2015

#49 Lee Rothman

Indeed the f2.8 is mainly for the 25-30mm range. I don’t find it a big deal most of the time as I simply adjust the subject distance for maximum “Bokeh” or background blur also desirable for portraits. Not an issue blurring out a background in a portrait. just back up more and zoom out more, works like a charm with this camera in that regard. It’s positively yummy on macro’s with flowers and smaller subjects especially. They have specially designed this lens to excel at blurring out backgrounds without the “onion” effect so common in many lenses when shooting blurred backgrounds. You’d have to work with this camera for a bit to truly appreciate what it’s capable of. I’m getting 400mm eq. shots that are sharper than a couple of top DSLR lens combo’s I had previously. Quite impressive indeed. The color rendition is excellent as well. The image stabilizer in thing is remarkable as well in particular for still shots. As is it’s ability to track fast moving subjects. Autofocus is just dead on 100% of the time with their focus technology.

6:13 pm - Tuesday, July 28, 2015

#50 andy

your review of the Lux camera which you say is the same camera but with the Lieca name and you gave that camera 5 for image quality but only 4 for this one.unbeleivable :)

5:29 pm - Saturday, October 17, 2015

#51 Andrew P

I love this camera. Very light to carry, tremendous flexibility, it has supplanted my Leica M240 as my ‘carry around’ camera! The pictures are sharp, autofocus excellent, and with a little sharpening in Photoshop (rather than in the camera) the results are excellent. My ONLY criticism is that it is too easy to accidentally turn off the image stabilisation switch on the lens - I did a sequence of bird shots at 400mm before I realised. Actually despite that they were fairly sharp due to the light weight and balance of the camera. I’ve solved the problem now with a small piece of sellotape! Not tried the video yet, but i don’t expect to be disappointed when I do!

8:52 am - Monday, February 22, 2016

Entry Tags

hd video, review, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, movie, wi-fi, video, wireless, wifi, RAW, super-zoom, tilting, 1920x1080, 20 megapixel, nfc, super zoom, f2.8, 4k, wideangle, evf, ultra-zoom, f4, 4k video, mega-zoom, 12fps, Panasonic, Lumix, tilting lcd, uhd, fz1000, 16x, dmc fz1000, DMC-FZ1000

Tracker Pixel for Entry