Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ100 Review

4.5
August 12, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

189 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 chudm

@zebarnabe thx for your answer.. can you point me where to find it? Cause i really cant find it even at panasonic japan site!

I was reading the fz100 manual, and the ac power adapter should provide 8.4 v and 0.43a (even the 1.2a standard adapter works according to my father, who knows about this).. the problem its the plug.. i dont know if the DMW-AC7 AC7PP plug works for the fz100.. cause it uses dmw-ac8 ac8pp but cant find it anywhere! So i was wondering if anyone knows if its the same plug..

Btw i will need the dc coupler too? cause i thougt i only needed this: http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-DMW-AC7-Adapter-Digital-Cameras/dp/B000FTLMW6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1287445948&sr=8-1

Thx for the info!

1:27 am - Tuesday, October 19, 2010

#102 zebarnabe

I didn’t find DMW-AC8 selling info, just specs from what is written on it… ...i also checked the manuals and advanced manuals for both FZ35/38 and FZ100…

Yes you need the DC coupler, it is shapped as the camera battery… and that varies from camera to camera (specially from different times/generatios)... mine came with it… and like i said, it connects directly to the battery charger.

The AC Power adapter and the DC coupler are used to power the camera without the need for a battery (but you obviously need to plug the AC Adapter to the wall plug), allowing you to, for example, play a slideshow connected to a TV without draining the battery… ...I don’t know if this is what you want to do.

If you just want to charge the battery, check if the battery charger has a dual mode that accepts 110-240V 50-60Hz ... if so, for charging the battery you only need a plug adapter to get it to work…

Yes, the plug is very hard to compare, only someone with both adapters could help you… it connects to the DC coupler, so if you have the DC coupler and a spec equivalent AC Power Adapter with a compatible plug it should work… ...just remember that you can fry your camera if the thing is not equivalent…

Good luck ... it seems that you’ll need it :[

9:58 am - Tuesday, October 19, 2010

#103 chudm

@zebarnabe thx for the info man! i need more recording time.. maybe i should buy a new battery cause i can find that one

3:09 pm - Tuesday, October 19, 2010

#104 chudm

@zebarnabe i found this!

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Panasonic-Lumix-AC-adaptor-DMW-AC8-DMC-FZ100-/400156715338?pt=Digital_Camera_Accessories&hash=item5d2b32e94a

do i need anything else to power on the camera without battery?

3:11 pm - Tuesday, October 19, 2010

#105 zebarnabe

You need the DC coupler ... the AC adapter alone can’t connect to the camera…

Check the manual, it’s described there…

5:32 pm - Tuesday, October 19, 2010

#106 chudm

@zebarnabe yep ure right! hmm the ac adapter i dont know if the ac7 would work.. its a very difficult situation.. no battery no ac adapter

5:50 pm - Tuesday, October 19, 2010

#107 Gurtejbir Sandhu

Hi everyone I am interested in a good camera.I have shortlisted three cams: Fujifilm HS10,Nikon P100 and Panasonic FZ-38.I have read the user reviews and I am very confused.All I want is a good and user friendly one.I used a Nikon Coolpix S7 for 5years.I want to have a better experience in photography.Please recommend the better one.I am from India and the three ones have little price diffrerence.

9:19 am - Friday, October 22, 2010

#108 John 106

If you’ve looked at many pro reviews such as dpreview and still can’t make your mind up, presumably all three have the features which you want. If you haven’t already done so go into a shop and handle all three. One may stand out simply because it feels right.
My own inclination is towards the Panasonic, simply because I’ve had my FZ50 for 3 years now, and wouldn’t change it. I’m sure though which ever you choose, you’ll get good pictures.

1:22 pm - Friday, October 22, 2010

#109 Gurtejbir Sandhu

@ John 106
Thank you very much John for the advice.The only problem is I cannot see these models at the shop.Here in my city I can only see the camera that I purchased and get a feel.Any suggestions to whether which is the best one..?

1:41 pm - Friday, October 22, 2010

#110 Hans

@Gurtejbir
I am a Nikon fan, but for me three things are important and that is 1080HD video and a wide angle lens, because I do most of my recording indoor, and I wanted a socket for an extra microphone, videolamp or flash.
That made me choose the Panasonic.

I am using it now and I am satisfied about my choice.

2:05 pm - Friday, October 22, 2010

#111 Hans

@Gurtejbir
Oops, I forgot to tell you I am talking about the Panasonic DMC-FZ100.

Remenber that all these camera’s do not erform well in low light. If you want that, you need a high-end camera. A superzoom is allways a cheap compromise.

2:14 pm - Friday, October 22, 2010

#112 John 106

@Gurtejbir

This dpreview review compares a range of superzooms, incuding the 3 you’re interested in.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/q110superzoomgroup/

Hope it helps - if you haven’t seen it already!

4:48 pm - Friday, October 22, 2010

#113 chudm

firmware 1.1 seems to fix part of the noise issues! :) did anyone else try it?

11:19 pm - Friday, October 29, 2010

#114 PassionNature78

No improvement in the firmware 1.1 to fix problems Dive (IQ) and noise management to see my Test
=> http://previewofmyfz100.canalblog.com/archives/test_comparatif_en_le_firmware_1_0_et_le_firmware_1_1/index.html

4:48 am - Saturday, October 30, 2010

#115 Liuk

Hi PassionNature78,

I see some photos of your site (for example these:  http://previewofmyfz100.canalblog.com/archives/2010/10/19/19387645.html  )  but I think it will be more usefull if you use the full resolution of the FZ100. Cropping an image of 1600x1200 is not usefull. Can you remake photos at 14MP and cropping at 100% these image?

Thanks, Liuk

1:18 pm - Saturday, October 30, 2010

#116 zebarnabe

I think those 1600x1200 crops (1600x836 in reality) are from a 12MP image (or 14MP… it isn’t much different)... so they seem to be 100% crops but i could be wrong… :/

Some crops look ‘cooked’ with halos on the edges, but i guess that is to be expected ...

2:26 pm - Saturday, October 30, 2010

#117 Liuk

HI,

I think is not a 100% crop of a 12-14MP starting image, even if it goes well the image quality would be FANTASTIC. Unfortunately it is not for the FZ100.

See you, Liuk

5:37 pm - Saturday, October 30, 2010

#118 PassionNature78

the photos are 1600x836 100% crop of previous photo
Due to zebarnabe

6:29 pm - Saturday, October 30, 2010

#119 kBeck

Hi..

I’m back from Harpers Ferry for a couple days lots of Fall pictures. Do we still discuss about the FZ100 right?  The $500 +/-camera. If a camera works and matches your needs and if you feel right about it, that is good.

PassionNatures78
I’ll check it out your photos again—

1:33 am - Sunday, October 31, 2010

#120 John Zhao

Better off getting a Canon 550D DSLR, because the lens on the DMC-FZ100 doesn’t have the same amount light as an EF-S 18-55mm lens included with the Canon 550D. the same aperture f/3.5 on DMC-FZ100 would be darker compared to f/3.5 with an EF-S 18-55mm lens. The reason being is the SX30 lens is way smaller than a DSLR lens in general.

9:30 pm - Monday, November 15, 2010

#121 John Zhao

Better off getting a Canon 550D DSLR, because the lens on the DMC-FZ100 does do the same job as any DSLR cameras?

9:49 pm - Monday, November 15, 2010

#122 John Zhao

I’ve tested the DMC-FZ100, but the lens is not as sharp as the Canon 550D with EF-S 18-55mm lens

9:58 pm - Monday, November 15, 2010

#123 Pam

Being a senior person all I want to do is take a good image with the least amount of fuss.
This camera is ideal for that, it will probably stay on iA forever but that’s Ok by me, I will eave the technical stuff to anyone under 60.
Pity the software is rubbish though.

4:48 am - Tuesday, November 16, 2010

#124 Roger

I’ve tried to update the firmware from 1.0 to 1.1 but with no success.  ‘No valid picture to display’ is all I keep getting and , believe me, I’ve followed the instructions to the letter on this one such as fully charged battery, formatting, file extraction and even different SD cards just in case. 

Any pointers on this one will make an Englishman happy!!

12:14 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#125 PassionNature78

Hyperfocal and depth of field FZ100 FZ40 FZ45
http://previewofmyfz100.canalblog.com/archives/hyperfocale_et_profondeur_de_champ_du_fz100/index.html
My blog “Preview of my FZ100” http://previewofmyfz100.canalblog.com/

12:20 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#126 Sydney Portrait

Good camera for happy snaps, but not for professional use?

12:23 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#127 Sydney Portrait

This is a good happy snaps camera for anyone to take on holidays or just taking easy photos

12:26 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#128 Hans

I am owner of an FZ-100 and I bought it to have a HD video/ photo camera to document the development of my baby.
Aprofessional does not even come up with the idea of having such a camera for professional use.
@ John Zhao: how about HD Video?

12:28 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#129 Sydney Portrait

That’s not right, even the cheapest Canon 1000D have HD video recording features. So HD is nothing new these days.

12:32 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#130 Hans

@ Sydney: what is not right?

A canon 55D will make better pictures no doubt, but it is a much different concept. It is much more expensive, about 150%, less compact and with recording video it is difficult to zoom if the zoom is not motorized.
So you can not say it is a better alternative, because they are different products for different target groups.
I myself prefer the Nikon D7000 and I have bought the FZ-100 because I want to wait until the price of the Nikon will drop a little, but also because I do not want to use a bulky and expensive camera in some situations.

2:09 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#131 kBeck

Hi.. to all.. especially to PM, Sydney Portrait and Hans.. That is what it means to people who like travelling light. The FZ100 at compromised price is somewhere $500 or lower. It does a great job with lots of feather. What else we expect from this camera? It works as you want. It’s not a high end but it does great job as its size, quality and its technology. We own a couple cameras and decide to leave at home because of its weight. Of course, I am still looking for something new for my photography hobby with better quality if I really want to focus on what is better and best in the market.

As a senior, I enjoy the FZ100 and no more heavy and bulky camera in my backpack when trying to walk up to the mountains with no trails.

2:34 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#132 John 106

I know of a few people using an FZ50 for professional purposes. Shots taken in good light at ISO 100 will be high enough quality, as will similar shots be from similar super zooms. However, a low end DSLR will take similar high quality shots in poorer light and at higher ISOs. A full frame DSLR will be more versatile still. So for pro use any super zoom will be very limited.

Like kBeck says every camera is a compromise, between features, size, price, versatility, image quality and handling, and you have to decide where your compromises lie.
And until that 50mp, medium format, 24 - 2400mm zoom, pocket sized camera appears, weighing in at less than half a kilo and costing less than £350 appears, I’ll stick to my FZ50!

5:38 pm - Monday, November 22, 2010

#133 mwwan

How is FZ100 compare to GF2? I am looking for a camera that gives quality image & video & not too heavy for travel & family photos.

2:23 pm - Friday, November 26, 2010

#134 Gman

It looks like another firmware update is out (version 1.2).

This update fixes: [Image quality improvement of Motion Deblur in iA Mode and Performance improvement of autofocus in taking pictures while recording Motion Pictures.]

Can someone install this new update and report back on any image quality changes.  I really wanted to buy the FZ-100 but there are so many negative reviews about image quality on the net that I just seem to pull the trigger.  I really wish Panasonic would have left the sensor at 12 megapixels (or lower) on this camera.

6:07 pm - Thursday, December 2, 2010

#135 Eyal Gurevitch

Thanks for the great review!
We’ll have to wait until Canon come to their senses, and create a CMOS based SX40, with higher fps, RAW format and a decent 920k or at least 460k lcd screen. Then the everlasting FZ100 VS. SX30 battle might come to an end.
Of course, there’s no knowing what the FZ110 or FZ200 will draw from Panasonic’s sleeves.

11:20 pm - Tuesday, December 7, 2010

#136 Gman

Eyal,

What these guys really need to do to one of these cameras is bring down the megapixels (See Canon G12).  If the FZ100 was 10 megapixels it probably would have been the perfect (if there is such a thing) bridge camera.

5:53 pm - Wednesday, December 8, 2010

#137 zebarnabe

Gman,

You mean to make sensors with bigger photo sites, aside of 10MP vs 14MP, G12 has a bigger sensor, that alone gives almost 2 stops of extra light gathering per photo site, but that would only improve low light features…

I think a less greedy lens design would make quite a nice camera; something like 12.5x zoom 24-300mm with a nice start aperture (even a 10x 28-280mm would be enough for most needs)

The lens throw off the balance on image quality with the sensor when they go well over 15x zoom…

Marketing features has lot of power, if a new camera with 8MP 1/1.7” sensor, a ‘big’ 10-12x zoom with good aperture lens appeared, not over-zealous JPEG engine and RAW capabilities, it would be ignored by most… even if image quality was brutal… or maybe not ...

6:30 pm - Wednesday, December 8, 2010

#138 DSLR Reviews

I love the Lumix series cameras.
I still use a DMC FZ28.
The Leica lens is what makes it so great.
To be able to buy optics of that quality for such a low price is simply amazing.
You can’t go wrong with a Panasonic Lumix.
Thanks for the detailed review.

5:57 pm - Thursday, December 9, 2010

#139 SilverSurfer

I want a long zoom camera, know have poor(er) IQ, and real photographers would probably never use one. A DSLR equivalent would be quite costly, and I’m not ready to make that leap yet.

To match the need to the hardware (and cost), I just want something simple for the wife to use when I’m surfing and she’s taking pics and vids from the beach.

These are the choices I know of as of today:
Olympus SP-800 UZ
Con: No viewfinder, no sound when zoomed, slow auto-focus when shooting video

Nikon Coolpix P100
Con: Numerous complaints about freezing, build quality

Fujifilm FinePix HS10:
Con: Big, heavy, to the point of being a DSLR size,alkaline batteries, Manual focus, poor IQ, small EVF, slow

Lumix DMC-FZ100
Con: (the ones mentioned here)

Canon PowerShot SX30 IS
Con: Reportedly slow, expensive, poor picture quality

Lumix DMC-FZ40
Con: Not HD vid

I’ve gone back and forth on some of these a few times and need a fresh view.

(apologies upfront as I"ve poted something similar elsewhere, but this seems to the the best place to ask)

4:55 pm - Wednesday, December 15, 2010

#140 zebarnabe

SilverSurfer,

Do you really need all that zoom?

Well, you can scrap HS10, unless she is willing to spend some time learning how to, your wife will get into trouble to use it properly…

Olympus SP-800 UZ has some QA issues (same goes to HS10), some samples seem to be worse than others… I handled a very bad one, at full telephoto it was unable to focus past a certain distance, no matter what was done…

Lumix DMC-FZ100 and Lumix DMC-FZ40 are basically identical, minus the extra features… they are both easy to use.

The P100 is good in macro, but I don’t think you’ll be using it much…

Canon PowerShot SX30 IS is, in my opinion, the best balance, it is not the best camera - specially for the price - however it does the job.

If you don’t need all the zoom there are some travel super-zooms that perform better… Lumix TZ10 it’s a good example, 12x zoom lens with good wide angle, there are others like the Sony HX5V or the cheaper Lumix TZ8…

In the end check the samples, select the ones that pleases you… then check the feature set and price that suits you better… you’ll have to do compromises…

Good luck :]

PS: This is not my gallery, but you can see some SX30 IS real life samples here:
http://picasaweb.google.com/ankit0101/CanonPowershotSX30IS#

5:19 pm - Wednesday, December 15, 2010

#141 SilverSurfer

Thanks zebarnabe. I think I need as much zoom as I can get for waht I want to do with it, given the distance from beach (and not the waterline) to where I’ll be.

The idea of a superzoom, if I even have it right, is that you’re getting something that used to be available only to those with expensive cameras and lenses, much cheaper, albiet at the cost of some quality.

While I’m ok for some degree of lesser IQ, I’m not for buying something that doesn’t work well because it can’t focus that far zoomed out, or, something with quality issues, like the Nikons appear to have. If things like Amazon comments can be believed.

Before the list I posted, I was actually thinking of the Fuji 300EXR, Canon SZ20 IS, then later the Lumix TZ10, which every shop recommended over the latter two. Until I saw the zoom of the Olympus SP-800.

I have a feeling there is a new super zoom about to be released that will address the shortcomings of the ones that are now available, but then it’s the old waiting game.

I’m still playing that game for a decent mirroless, having given up on the Panny 4/3rds and the Olly offerings, which come close but miss the mark in one way or another.

This suzperzoom I (think I) want is a bridge until that magic camera comes out.

10:57 pm - Thursday, December 16, 2010

#142 zebarnabe

Well… i wonder when a S200EXR update will come from Fujifilm ... HS10 is not like the S lineup of fujifilm…

The 300 EXR sensor is .... well,to put it gently: sub-par ...

The perfect camera will never come out, but we can hope for better stuff to appear ...

I keep saying that a bridge with:
- a OIS 15x zoom starting at 24mm with f/2.8~5.6 (could be manual zoom or motorized)
- a 1/1.7” sensor with 8 to 12MP
- fast focus (well, not sluggish)
- RAW support
- PASM controls
- remote shutter control
- flash hot shoe
- tolerable drive modes (3fps at least)
- 720p/1080p video with stereo mic on a sensible place (and a mic input support)
- articulated screen (could be a touch screen, given the current trends)
- hi-res EVF
- well placed manual controls
- <400$ price tag

Would be much more desirable than many of the bridges with massive zoom and insane pixel counts… but with only 15x would be considered too big (when compared with a 30x zoom on a 1/2.33” sensor) ;]

We are free to dream aren’t we?

12:26 am - Friday, December 17, 2010

#143 SilverSurfer

It shouldn’t be just a dream - camera companies should visit sites like these with well-articulated suggestions like yours, to build something good to beat their competition to get one out first.

With the holidays nearly here, my trip about to start, and the time when I’ll be in the water only weeks away, I was only hoping to have a better feel for what to buy.

But I don’t which means I probably won’t buy anything, I can’t afford to spend good money on something that claims to be one thing but either never delivers, or, partially delivers but not meed my needs, or, delivers and breaks down shortly thereafter.

3:35 pm - Friday, December 17, 2010

#144 John 106

I often think the best time to get a new camera is about 2 or 3 weeks before you need it, say for a special holiday. You need the time to practice, and even if the price goes down, or a ‘better’ camera comes along, you’ll still have the photos from that holiday which you wouldn’t have had before.

4:30 pm - Friday, December 17, 2010

#145 Birdie

As a person who shoots small twitchy songbirds, this camera is a big improvement over the FZ35 because of the 24X optical zoom and because of the super fast speed.  Also, I seem to be addicted to the Dynamic camera setting.  I was annoyed over the “not enough extra battery” issue but I got over it once they became available.  The one thing I don’t like is the placement of the button to move from photo-taking to photo-review.  I keep accidently hitting it when I grip the camera.  Like all Panasonic ultra-zooms, they have no rivals when it comes to image stabilization.  I never use a tripod with them. If you have shaky hands or sway or are just not interested in lugging around a tripod, this is your ultra-zoom camera maker.

7:05 pm - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#146 j rose

i think imma buy this camera, among the choices i was thinking are the nikon P100 and canon SX30.i will get this one because of its longer battery life, MOS sensor, 11fps capability, soft pic mode, versatile lcd, 24x zoom, and i think it comes with a hood on its package.

10:11 am - Thursday, January 27, 2011

#147 SilverSurfer

I’ve come around to this being the Superzoom I will probably buy.

Except…the only drawback is it’s only 26x, when some other auperzooms are over 30x

Now Sony has just come out with a 30x, but there are no reviews yet.

I’m past the time that I need it immediately, so was thinking to wait for the reviews.

By then something else new will have come out…and the cycle repeats…

http://www.letsgodigital.org/en/28236/sony-cybershot-hx100v/

6:22 pm - Monday, January 31, 2011

#148 zebarnabe

@SilverSurver,

Zoom isn’t everything, 26x vs 30x is the multiplier of the focal length at it’s shortest

In modern days, and talking about equivalent focal length to 35mm cameras, 24mm it’s a nice wide angle, 28mm it’s acceptable start for a zoom lens, the difference it’s given by an 1.16 ratio, however the angle of view (the seen field will look considerably different).

600mm it’s already a lot of ‘zoom’ the difference from it and 800mm it’s not that big in what you’re looking at, in practice means that at 800mm things will appear 1.33 times bigger than 600mm.

So, don’t look just at zoom value… look at what you want to do or might do with the camera and how will it cope with it…

Look at sample images to see how they behave with low light/high ISO .... read reviews about how slot or fast the auto focus is, or the drive modes (continuous shooting)... does the camera allow flash guns? remote release? does an articulated screen help with composing the image? Is the screen/EVF definition good enough? etc…

There are lots of questions to be made when comes to choose the right camera .... sadly you have to search those answers for yourself :/

1:38 pm - Tuesday, February 1, 2011

#149 John 106

zebarnabe has summed it up very well. The problem seems to be that pixel count and zoom range are the features which sell cameras, and hence this is where the competition lies.
When I bought my FZ50 a few years ago I must admit I was swayed by its 10mp sensor and 12x zoom, the cutting edge at the time! Fortunately its many other, less well advertised, features have meant I know I still have an excellent camera. I’ve leant that pixel count would not be a priority in my choice of a new camera, and neither would zoom range. It would be nice if the wide end were wider than its 35mm equivalent, but the tele end of 420mm equivalent meets virtually all my needs. And don’t forget in order to achieve zoom ranges of 18x and up manufacturers have resorted to smaller sensors. This would appear to be a retrograde move, but sensor size isn’t a big selling point.

If the big zoom range is important to you, then check out cameras which have extended zoom (do Panasonic call it extra optical zoom now?) This works on my FZ50 by using a smaller area of the sensor to facilitate extended zoom. So switching to 8mp resolution (so using an area of the sensor perhaps similar to the sensor fitted to many superzooms these days) increases the zoom range to about 15x. Set at 3mp resolution, the range increases further to 24x. I know 3mp sounds pretty pathetic these days, but unless you want a very large print it’s perfectly acceptable.

2:45 pm - Tuesday, February 1, 2011

#150 kBeck

In fact, you got the answer about zoom—zoom either 26x or 30x. You may check Sony 30x zoom, it does not included 1080HD capacity but lower. Check it out yourself, this will help you to undestand more about a camera.

3:41 pm - Tuesday, February 1, 2011

#151 Geert

I have a Canon IXUS 75 and wanted to upgrade.

I take a lot of marco-shots at 5-10 cm, so DSLR is no option for me. I don’t want to spend more than 1000$.

I also wanted a better zoom.

So after informing myself on what’s new on the market I bought the FZ100 a week ago, BUT next weekend I’ll swap it for a Canon Powershot G12 !

It’s with pain in my heart that I have to say that most of the negative comments here are true!

My friend has a FZ38 and I loved her camera, but the FZ100 is a down-grade in IQ!!

The pictures taken at +400 iso are bad and at +800 iso useless.

There are indeed a lot of yellow stains!

Video is not that important for me, but I must warn potential buyers that the video (in all modes and on all screens, PC, HD-LCD and even connected to the camera, and even on the best SDHC cards) shows very disturbing stripes on the outlines when you move the camera while shooting and when the subjects that you’re filming are moving around.

There’s no use buying this camera for it’s Full HD function with all the other extra’s if the result is a video with very annoying stripes when you move the camera !! If I can’t move the camera when shooting, and the subjects that I
film can’t move around, what the use of making a movie (what’s in a name)?

The video also show the same yellow stains in lower light situations. In fact I prefer the VGA movies taken with my old Canon IXUS 75. It’s less disturbing to look at a good video with low resolution.

11:45 am - Thursday, February 3, 2011

#152 zebarnabe

Geert,

For less than 1000$ you can get a DSLR equipped for macro shooting ... not with macro lens though ...

If you’re wondering with what, there are lots of cameras like Canon 550D or Pentax K-x with dual kit lens (Nikon D3100 is a good one as well) ... Pentax it’s cheaper (700~800€ with 2 lens), and you get 300mm, slap an achromatic close-up filter (a Raynox DCR-250, it’s a good start) and you won’t be disappointed ... Canon, Nikon and some others might give you a less ‘crude’ and ‘raw’ camera, a more refined one in other wordsx, but it’s up to personal choice and lens offer (and price/features combination)...

About video, that issue is due do interlacing (I’m assuming you’re not referring to the ‘jello’ effect)... you need a good de-interlace filter to view the video without it - in the case of the FZ100 I’m not entirely sure what algorithm is the best to reduce that issue, the sample videos present an interlace method that looks unusual - the cost is the lost of some temporal resolution (meaning that a 30fps will become like 15fps, giving that jerky video playback)

Hope it helps :]

12:12 pm - Thursday, February 3, 2011

#153 Geert

@zebarnabe

As I wrote I take pictures from very small distance: 5cm-10cm. For this kind of pictures (with a DSLR) you need a special macro lens, and those are very expensive! Other macro lenses have minimum distances of +/- 35 cm.

In most cases I take the pictures at 400 ISO.

About the videoon the FZ100: there’s 2 problems: the interlacing and the ugly yellow stains you get in low light situations (same problem with the still pictures in low light).

Thanks for your tip about the interlacing, but why does Panasonic make advertising for Full-HD when you have to use a filter with loss of resolution? The FZ38 (HD) doesn’t have this problem and needs no filter.

All very disappointing. FZ100 should have been much better than the FZ38, and not worse and more expensive!

10:16 am - Friday, February 4, 2011

#154 zebarnabe

Geert,

I know a macro lens can be quite expensive, but unless you have limited space behind your subject, you can achieve bigger magnifications using telephoto focal lengths with an achromatic close-up filter on the front of the lens… won’t have the quality of a dedicated macro lens, but for 50€/$ it’s cheap and provides nice results…

With my 140mm lens and the filter, I focus on subjects at 10-15cm from the front of the lens…

Alternatively and usually even cheaper, is to use extension tubes, but those usually don’t provide electric contacts to the lens and the right length might be hard to come by…

Another trick is to use a small focal length (around 50mm) big aperture lens, reversed (filter thread with filter thread) in front on the attached lens, it will act as a close-up filter (50mm lens, not 35mm equivalent, equals 20 dioptres)

An extra advantage of a close-up filter (just make sure it has some achromatic correction) is to be usable in many cameras, as long as they have filter threads and enough focal length to prevent vignetting…

You can search on flickr for DCR 250 or DCR250 (feel free to search for other brands and models of filters) and see what kind of results can be achieved.

PS: On my comment link, I point to an 1:1 crop of a photo I took with 140mm lens… not a particularly detailed shot, but you can see the bee’s eye lens…

10:44 am - Friday, February 4, 2011

#155 marnix

I have the FZ100 and it is an great camera.
pixel pieping is nice but who gone print at 100% view.
I also have the FZ38/35 and the diference is day and nicht.
Furst of the FZ100 is alot faster,better viewfinder,better lcd.
and shoot faster then my D90 in continiu shooting.
D90 4FPs FZ100 11 FPS the video is super,and you can zoom,also there is an video setting on the barrel of the lens for video.

Comparing to the FZ35/38 the FZ100 is better,becouse you can Postproces the pictures easy,while the FZ35/38 files are alraidy overdone.
Granted thad 14 Mp do not mush good at all.
but if you downsample the pictures for the web.
you wil get exelent results.

10:13 am - Monday, February 21, 2011

#156 marnix

Here some examples.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/marnix_claus/sets/72157625908356655/

10:21 am - Monday, February 21, 2011

#157 eva

Feel stupid - purchased FZ100 - OK on stills, but in video mode, there comes this high pitch sound disturbance when using zoom. Is it usual????
And where is manual zoom ring???
I loved the manual zoom ring on FZ50, somehow I expected it on FZ100 too… - all that blurriness I am stuck with now…

5:09 pm - Tuesday, February 22, 2011

#158 John 106

I wonder why Panasonic remove the manual zoom and focus from the FZ series? Surely the motor driven zoom must cost more than manual. (I know the apparently manual focus mode is still in fact electronic.) Cynically perhaps I think it’s down to marketing. The FZ50 is perhaps as close as it gets to a camera handling like an SLR without actually being one, and hence was taking sales from the SLR market.
Manual zoom is far more useful than motor driven. I appreciate the value of the latter in reducing the bulk of a camera, but this is much less of an issue with superzooms, so I think manual zoom is a sad omission.

7:43 pm - Tuesday, February 22, 2011

#159 zebarnabe

John 106,

Can you imagine a S100 or S200EXR from Fujifilm, but with modern sensor/lens improvements (but with same sensor size) ?

Sadly, that generation of camera it’s only hinted by HS10 and the new HS20 (also from Fujifilm)...

On a side note, S100 was perhaps the most expensive bridge camera ever sold ...

Canon talked about an hybrid camera with bridge style that could take very high resolution video and stills, they showed a concept for the future of cameras, it had motorized zoom, but the suposed to be specs would be godlike… the problem is that it will take decades for industry and technology to evolve to the required level to make a real one…

Also, all camera makers are giving a tendency to make smaller and smaller sensors and more and more zoom, that can’t be good :/

12:26 am - Wednesday, February 23, 2011

#160 John 106

Hi Zebarnabe,
I’ve never tried the Fuji models you’ve mentioned, but I guess similar thinking would apply to my FZ50 - wouldn’t it be great with an improved, but same sized (or bigger!), sensor.
About a year ago I felt the need for a more portable pocket sized camera, and went for the Fuji f70EXR. With its 10x zoom and 27mm wide angle end it filled a gap left in the FZ50’s capabilities. Its 10mp sensor is plenty for my purposes, as I found with the FZ50, and its 1/2” sensor is only a tad smaller - and certainly bigger than the 1/2.3” sensors of most bridge cameras available today. It is less versatile overall than the FZ50, and the motorised zoom has reminded me what a drawback this can be.
Neither cameras of course can match the higher ISO capabilities of an SLR, and that’s the only area I feel their limitations - but not enough for me to go down the SLR route and its ensuing expense!

10:21 am - Wednesday, February 23, 2011

#161 marnix

zebarnabe.
Thad is the only way to get long zooms.
An big sensor mean an big camera.Lens.
you can,t have bouth meaby over 10 years.

En canon is plaged with CA all over the pictures.
Expecial in the corners,you spend more time removing Ca then you take pictures.
For an camerameker thad is so long on the marked,it is just frustrating canon do not solf this problem.

10:27 am - Wednesday, February 23, 2011

#162 zebarnabe

I was not referring to any current model in production when stated Canon ‘talk’ about a hybrid camera, I was referring to this:
http://www.letsgodigital.org/en/27448/slr-camera-concept/

(I didn’t find a post about it on PB or else I would link to it)

12:28 pm - Wednesday, February 23, 2011

#163 zebarnabe

I wasn’t referring to any production camera.

PB seems to be blocking post of links to other photography websites (I’m assuming to avoid viewers loss).

In Google Images, search for:
Canon Expo 2010 Wonder Camera

I was referring to that camera :]

For the tricks described by Canon be possible the camera must use some sort of plenoptic lens on the focus plane of the main lens, it would also mean a extraordinary pixel resolution of the sensor as well as solving the quality issues of having very small pixel pitch values and having a insanely fast processor to deal with all the megapixels of the sensor…

Well… by now we have to live with FZ100, P100, HS20, SX30, or something similar, if we want something compact but with lots of versatility…

If you don’t mind the price/weight you can always get an SLR and carry an extra 300mm lens (that in a 1,5x pentax crop is a 450mm) aside of the general purpose zoom.

You’ll have more quality and it’s not that big or heavy, but you could buy 2 or 3 bridges for the price of one of those bundles and, for most, bridges offer more than enough quality ...

But yes, bigger sensor = bigger lens, bigger lens = bigger price/weight/size

12:53 pm - Wednesday, February 23, 2011

#164 Mark Goldstein

zebarnabe, we limit the number of URLs in comments to help stop spammers, so try only including one URL.

12:59 pm - Wednesday, February 23, 2011

#165 Bill

I’ve been leisurely researching this camera for a month or so, and now finding it is on backorder or out of stock, including from Panasonic and Amazon.com.

Does this suggest Panasonic are about to release a new version of the camera?  Anyone heard that is pending?  Many thanks…

6:41 am - Sunday, February 27, 2011

#166 John 106

I did similar research in the months before I got my FZ50. In fact I was going for the FZ30, but took so long to make my mind up that the FZ50 appeared while I was still thinking. But I believe both were still available at the same time for quite a while. I got the impression then that Panasonic would introduce a new upgraded model every year or so. I also got the impression that the initial price was severely inflated for each new model, and then left to dealers to make prices more competitive. I’d never pre order or buy a new model immediately on release, but rather wait a couple of months to see what the price settled at.
Of course Panasonic proved me wrong to a certain extent by never releasing an FZ60, but instead have produced a whole host of cameras in the FZ series, all alternatives to the FZ50, but none that I’d regard as an upgrade. I think they missed a trick there, but then I’m not in the business of selling cameras.

So in answer to your question Bill, I’d say if the FZ100 has been around for a year or so now, then I’d almost certainly expect a new model soon. If it does and if it would meet your needs better than the FZ100 is a completely different question!

9:33 am - Sunday, February 27, 2011

#167 Bill

Thanks John, it’s interesting how they’ve handled the FZ series, not what I’d expect either.

I dug around a bit more on Panasonic’s site and find their press release announcing the FZ100 is dated July 21, 2010.  So I suspect it may be a few more months until an updated version is released.  But like you said, I’m not in the camera business either…

12:02 am - Monday, February 28, 2011

#168 Bill

I am doing a purchase decision between only the Panasonic FZ100 and the Canon SX30 for the purposes of travel photos (scenery, static buildings (both with people in them usually), wildlife both static & action and photos of my grandchildren (and other family situations). I have been using a small pocket-sized Canon A700 for years and am happy with the thousands of photos I have taken - it’s just not good enough or fast enough for a lot of the situations above but sure is adequate for putting my family and travel albums together). So, given that, please, without getting into comments and comparisons about high-end (almost professional level) usage, will some of you please tell me your thoughts on which one you would buy if you were me? [I am leaning towards the FZ100 at this moment] Thanks!

4:53 pm - Sunday, March 27, 2011

#169 Han Sam

Will FZ100 accept Memory Stick Pro Duo? I have an unused 8GB Memory Stick and not sure if the camera will accept that as storage. Sorry so new on this.

10:39 pm - Monday, April 4, 2011

#170 zebarnabe

Han Sam,
I don’t think so… SD and SDHC would be more likely ... ‘Only’ Sony uses Memory Stick cards, and even now the trend is to go with SD/SDHC/SDXC ...

1:14 am - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#171 Han Sam

@zebarnabe

Thanks! Will it be a risk testing it?

1:02 pm - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#172 John 106

Having a Panny FZ50 which takes SD cards, and a Sony camcorder which takes memory stick pro cards, I know there’s no way the FZ50 would take the Sony memory stick pro. I’d very much doubt Panasonic have introduced a memory stick pro socket.
But SD cards are hardly expensive now, so why worry if your Sony memory stick will fit it?

5:14 pm - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#173 zebarnabe

Han Sam,
It wouldn’t physically fit… I wouldn’t try it as it could be jammed in the slot…

As John 106 said, SD cards are quite cheap, grab a class 4 or 6, no need to spend in a class 10 (but you feel like you need the extra speed bump for other future camera, go ahead and buy it)

An Sandisk SDHC class 4 Ultra (up to 15MB/s) of 8Gb costs 25€ or less… I have the 16Gb version, works quite well when recording video at 1080p 36Mbps with my camera…

Obviously there are other brands, Transcend cards are regarded as having good value/performance/capacity, I like Kingston cards, but they are quite hard to find… beware of fakes, there are low grade cards with Sandisk, Kingston and Transcend labels!

8:23 pm - Tuesday, April 5, 2011

#174 Peter Codd

I am seriously thinking of buying a new Panasonic FZ100, but there seems to be some problem when trying to download Video footage onto a Laptop. I am an avid follower of TT Motorbike Racing and I usually take a good bit of VF and when I get home I download it to my Laptop and Archive it. No one seems to be able to put my mind at ease if this is a fault with this fine Camera. If it is I will have to decide on another Camera. Someone might be decent enough to maybe let me know. Thanks

12:43 am - Tuesday, April 26, 2011

#175 jpld

I was wondering if anyone could help me.  I am in the market of purchasing a camera with a 12-14 megapixel and at least a 30X zoom.  I have tried the Panasonic Lumix FZ-100.  I like it but I find the pictures quite soft.  I am also a person that likes to print her pictures and put them in albums.  Call me silly!!!!  Since I do this, I also like to print a date on my pictures.  The Panasonic Fz-100 does not do this very well.  It’s a big ordeal to stamp the picture and when you do finally, it reduces your 14 MB picture to a 3MB picture.  It also wastes space on your card by keeping both pictures.  I find this appalling.  Why spend all this money on a 14 MB camera when I get a 3MB result when I stamp the date.  That’s a lot of money for the results of a much cheaper camera.  I am wondering that if I go to Disneyworld and snap over 100 pictures that would quite the job to stamp each and every one also the pictures would no longer be 14MB but 3MB.

I also have tried the Canon SX30IS.  My friend and I purchased the same camera and experienced the same problem???!!! jaundiced people, yellow to orange looking rooms.  My cream tiles in my house became yellow-orange.  My white sutters became orange.  I tried the same shot with the Panasonic and it did not do this. 

I am quite confused!!!  Should I be looking at the Nikon Coolpix P500 instead????  I really don’t know anymore.  I would really appreciate an expert opinion from anyone!!!! A.S.A.P.  I must return the Panasonic by May 13th.  I would really appreciate some advice before this if at all possible.

Thanks everyone for your time and consideration and expertise!!!

jpld

5:37 am - Wednesday, May 4, 2011

#176 zebarnabe

jpld,

If you got soft pictures when printing in 4"x6” or 6"x8” formats, then I’m afraid there is no camera for you in bridge segment… that or buy a new printer.

Bridges are not the best stuff for image quality, they are the best in the versatility field, always ready for any situation, If you are shooting handheld at full Zoom, know that the best results, regarding sharpness, are achieved by using a tripod.

The only way for you to get 14MB file sizes would be to be shooting in RAW format. Obviously, when time stamp is applied the final image is recorded in JPEG. If you don’t know what this is, learn how to use the camera first.

If you wish to print with the time stamp from a RAW image, get some RAW processing tool, UFRAW is free (one of many) and save in TIFF or PNG format to lose the least amount of information, while turning it compatible with other imaging software.

Then use some imaging software, Paint.NET is free and simple, add the text for the time stamp… Replace the image layer with other image and keep saving on a different file (save as JPEG High Quality to spare you hardrive). You can pick the font type, add the location, etc.

Images have EXIF information on them so you shouldn’t have much trouble finding the exact time stamp you should apply. Again, if you don’t know what I’m talking about, google it and learn it.

If you want better image quality, there are other bridges, but they all fare in a similar way, some a little better some a little worse, don’t expect a miracle.

About the orange colored thing… Learn what White Balance is, it’s written in the camera manual.

To get some real different results you need to go either:

‘prosumer’ compact (keeping the size down), like Canons S95 and G12 or Panasonic LX5 (there are a few more, but those are regarded as the best), you will loose the extra zoom, but sometimes cropping would allow you to get some needed extra reach. G12 is the one with the biggest zoom (but the other 2 have brighter lens).

DSLR/Mirrorless interchangeable lens camera: The cheapest one with a dual kit lens and that delivers excellent results is the Pentax K-x (at least on my country), but cost twice the price of a FZ100 and ‘only’ reaches 450mm (with the 300mm), a good alternative is Canon 550D (or the 600D) that with the 600D now out, prices should get quite attractive… lens however are expensive (but if having a canon I recommend the 50mm f/1.8 lens ... costs 120$ - or less - and is excellent for that price, allowing you to shoot in really low light conditions)

Remember, there is no perfect camera.

Good luck!

2:51 pm - Wednesday, May 4, 2011

#177 jpld

Thanks Zebarnabe,

I’ll try my best!!!!

6:07 am - Thursday, May 5, 2011

#178 jpld

Thanks Zebarnabe,

I’ll try my best!!!

JPLD

6:12 am - Thursday, May 5, 2011

#179 Jerry

Fast forward to May 2011.  Its almost been a year since this camera was introduced.  After earlier reviews bashing this camera, the consumers that actually took the time to use this camera properly seems to have won. 

I recently purchased the FZ100 for work for $389. It was $379 on Amazon but it never got delivered.  We like it and found it to be easy for those who want just a Point and Shoot and even more feature-filled for those who want those special shots.  After reading Rolla in-depth and continuing review on the FZ100 on Amazon.com, I decided to buy one for myself but I couldn’t find one for under $400.  And most online store don’t have any in-stock.  So what is going on here?  Either Panasonic is limiting production of this camera or everyone is buying it up.  Look on ebay, the price for a used FZ100 has gone up dramatically.

As an old schooled Canon FTB photographer, I like to compose shots from time to time but I also like to just point and shoot too.  This camera gives me the best of both. 

I remember when we only used 100 and 200 asa film, 400 was always for low light situations, but that was always grainy.  So now we’re complaining about noisy pictures at 800, 1200, 1600?  Give me a break, isn’t all cameras at that high of an ISO noisy?  That’s why we have flash and tripod!  Guess what! This camera has a real hot shoe for Flash photography! There is also a cable shutter release available too.  Does that mean I can hold the shutter open for more than 2 seconds???.  Hmmm I wonder.

My old FTB with a autowinder was barely able to shoot 3 frames per second, now I can do 5 or 11 frames per second with the FZ100.  Let’s see if you can find a point and shoot that can do the same.  Now I can get those missed shots of my kids because now there is no significant lag time.  I really like the 5 frame/sec bursts to really catch everything.

Last year, I bought the Canon HD video camera, but found out that getting it from the camera to a DVD was so much work, now I rarely take it out. Besides, watch video gets boring and watching the camera movements gives me a headache.

FZ100 also has full HD video but I think I will use the camera much more than the video.  But it is nice to know that I can switch to video when I need it.  That’s one less equipment to take with me on vacation.

I have to agreed with some of actual users comments.  You really need to get familar with this camera and tweak the settings to get familar with the camera and get great shots.  I think there are three custom that allows you to program in the setting you want. 

Thanks to Rolla Gravett’s in-depth review and on-going comments on Amazon.com, its a winner.

7:59 pm - Tuesday, May 10, 2011

#180 TC

#174 Peter Codd  

I have just bought an FZ100 in advance of my trip to the IOM TT (seemed to be the best camera for my needs). I have had a good play around with it and have no problems downloading video footage to a laptop.

11:20 pm - Tuesday, May 10, 2011

#181 hondo2

I somehow thought that maybe with a Leica lens with aspherical and ED glass that a megazoom lens just might be decent. Should have known better. There are reasons that most interchangeable lens slr zooms don’t exceed 10:1 or even much less range. 
 
I have a fellow who indicated that he may be interested in trading me a nearly new FZ100 for my Olympus E-420 dslr. I was somewhat excited about this prospect until I read part of this thread and came to my senses.

The Oly is plenty nice but doesn’t help with my shakey old hands and doesn’t do video. Video isn’t a big deal as my Kodak Z1275 can do 30 sec at a time of 720p and that is good enough for drag racing and my limited ability to chase my grandkids.

And I’m betting the 5x Schneider on the Kodak is sharper than any megazoom. If I’m wrong please inform me about it. And my buddie’s Zeiss 6x on an ancient 4mp Sony is just incredible.

“More megapixels and a longer zoom lens just have to be better and worth more!” says the rube to his pals. Just as marketing research predicted.

Ah never mind. If you like and enjoy it….

11:46 pm - Saturday, June 25, 2011

#182 Doug Sinnott

I had the FZ45,as I thought the FZ100 was that bit too expensive.
However,after having sold the FZ45 and managed to get an FZ100 for not much more,it’s definitely worth the extra.
It’s got a fully flexible,bigger LCD,faster continuous shooting,more options,and comparing images side by side,and A4 prints,there’s very little difference,so the FZ100 is much the better camera.
As regards comparing the FZ50 with the latest Panasonics,there is no real comparison.The FZ50 was a good camera in its time,but the newer models have wider ranging ranging lenses,are quicker to use,there’s better Shake reduction,etc.etc.Plus of course,bigger and better reae LCDs,AND HD video recording!
And the image quality is as good as you’ll get,short of a DSLR.

6:37 pm - Tuesday, July 19, 2011

#183 gabi

Does this camera have the HDR effect and pinhole, grainy film or miniature effects?  I’m looking for a camera that does all that and more.  Any suggestions?

4:44 am - Tuesday, September 20, 2011

#184 zebarnabe

Gabi,
All cameras that allow for exposure control have HDR, you just need to stack the exposures.

Answering to your question,

In Film Mode (mimic 35mm film treatments) you can choose:
Standard / Dynamic / Nature / Smooth / Vibrant / Nostalgic / Standard B&W / Dynamic B&W / Smooth B&W / My Film 1, 2 / Multi Film

In My Color Mode:
Expressive /Retro / Pure / Elegant / Monochrome / High Dynamic / Dynamic Art / Dynamic B&W / Silhouette / Pinhole / Film Grain / Custom / Happy (only in iA mode)

Film Mode and My Color Mode are working for movie recording, also.

However you may want to look at FZ150 as it provides quite a bump in image quality (even though it has less resolution) and video as well.

Sony HX100V might be even a better deal given its current price.

If you want smaller/cheaper, you have Canon SX230 HS (or Sony HX9V, but Canon seems to be a bit better - check the reviews yourself) they don’t have 24x or 30x zoom lens, but 14x is already plenty (and you can actually fit the camera in a large pocket), BTW both of them outperform the bridges in image quality.

12:16 pm - Tuesday, September 20, 2011

#185 Gabi

@zebarnabe- I like the Panasonic FZ100, Fz150, and the FZ series.  BTW, thanks for the info, I’m guessing Dynamic B&W means HDR B&W?  Which one of the Panasonics have the miniature effect mode?
Thanks again.

2:48 pm - Friday, September 23, 2011

#186 zebarnabe

No, Dynamic B&W is just the use of ‘dynamic’ contrast in a similar way to what TVs and monitors do. B&W outputs black and white.

To achieve HDR you have to stack different exposures in PC, this gives you better control over the results. Some cameras have exposure bracketing that helps into doing it.

Check the camera specification, FZ150 seems to be the do-it-all of the moment, I don’t think it has HDR stack on camera (but I think it has exposure bracketing). I know you can apply some of the creative modes into video (miniature being one of them)

However, the Creative/Film/Color modes that most cameras have can be applied on a PC during post-processing, often without much trouble.

HDR, miniature and panorama features are usually the hardest to apply as you need certain tools that not all computer applications have. However, you do get more control over the result.

To know if a camera has a feature check on manufacturer website, if it’s not clear, consult the manual that is usually available online (you can get some other insights over the camera features with the manual as well)

Good luck ^__^

4:13 pm - Friday, September 23, 2011

#187 Don the old pro

After sifting through the many negative remarks I have come to the conclusion that many people complain just to be complaining. They would complain if they had silk underwear.

I have been in photography longer than most of you have been on this old earth, purchasing my first camera, a Voitlander, in 1950.  I recently bought a FZ100 for less than $400 and find it is a great little camera for the money. Cost/Benefit.

No it doesn’t begin to produce the quality of my 8 x 10 Linholf with it’s Schneider lens. Nor does it come up to par with my Hasselblads. But neither does it cost a fraction of what I have invested in them and their assorted lenses.

I bought the FZ100 for casual shooting and it performs superbly. Even a complete idiot could capture superb pictures with it.

5:50 pm - Friday, December 23, 2011

#188 Richard

I have clipped on to the lens barrel of my FZ-100
the tulip lens hood in reverse - i.e. the tulip
“leaves” facing the camera body.
I cannot take it off - it won’t budge.
Would anyone know how to remove it, how to take it off the camera body?
Many thanks,
Richard

12:57 pm - Tuesday, August 14, 2012

#189 kenny

looking at all these comments on the fz100 is very amusing . but my question is solely about the macro capability of this camera as this is what I am looking to do . get close up pin sharp pics of bugs and insects , or if anybody thinks the fz50 would be good for macro work aswel

12:11 am - Friday, July 25, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, review, movie, 14 megapixel, super-zoom, RAW, 1080i, tilting, super zoom, wideangle, ultra-zoom, mega-zoom, Panasonic, Lumix, 24x, 11fps, fz100, dmc fz100, DMC-FZ100

Tracker Pixel for Entry