Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ150 Review

4.5
September 5, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

109 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jim

What a shame it does not have GPS.

I do wish these cameras that looked like SLRs had a manual option for the zoom lens.  It would mean all the concerns about slowness, and noise getting into the movies, would be removed.

201k pixels for the EVF seems a bit miserly.  I think that is what my old Rollei had 6 years ago.  It just does not give the detail that I’d like.

7:38 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

#2 danaceb

Why would anyone pay $300+ for this muddy image turd? Panasonic really needs to get its act together, their overpriced, vastly vastly vastly overrated TZ line and then this pile of junk.

10:28 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

#3 cynic

@danaceb
What an insightful,interesting and profound statement.

You are making objective statements (“muddy image turd”) for a subjective subject. The market consists of people who want an all in one camera who don’t need to enlarge their photo past monitor size. You are suggesting that everyone who takes photos shares your view of what a photo needs to look like “quality wise”.

“vastly vastly vastly overrated TZ”? Over rated by who? How did the TZ line get this rating? One group of people say the TZ line is good/great then another group denounce the 1st group’s rating. Once again, you are implying an objective criticism for a subjective matter.

5:06 am - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#4 coastcontact

Since this camera is not yet available to the public the evaluation was obviously made on a camera submitted by Panasonic.  This could be a tweaked model made for reviews.  Looking at a photo displayed on a conventional computer monitor really doesn’t provide actual IQ.  I am happy that the camera received a glowing recommendation.  I currently own an FZ28.  For still photography is the upgrade worthwhile?

6:11 am - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#5 Jim McDermott

Cynic, I hardly think that “muddy image turd’ is an objective statement! That said, I think I agree with where danaceb’s coming from, if not his/her idiosyncratic method of expressing it. What the world really, really doesn’t need is yet another fingernail-sized sensor strapped to a mega-zoom that exhibits at most the tiniest incremental improvement over last month’s model. I really wonder why Photoblog bothers to review these clones (unless they just dust off the old review and change the title, which of course would make it entirely relevant to the new iteration).

9:25 am - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#6 ian

I am grateful for this review.  This type of camera fits my needs and this looks like a good improvement on the FZ100.

What’s amazing is that people like Jim McDermott post comments on it.  He says he has no interest in it, yet reads the review to make his negative ill-informed comments whilst pretending to speak for everybody.  Get a life Jim - if this type of camera is not for you, don’t read about it - go find something useful to do!

10:08 am - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#7 travis

Let’s not forget about the AMAZING OIS found in the predecessors (and presumably in this one).  I work in a camera store and was testing the abilities of the new Sony HX100 vs the old FZ100 and as great as the sony performed the FZ100 still out performed just that extra little bit.

10:39 am - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#8 cynic

@Jim McDermott
“What the world really, really doesn’t need” <—the world doesn’t need a lot of things but given that we live in a market driven economy manufacturers are required to churn out things we are told we need/want. I agree that this is a just a market refresh but that is the way the market works. Some car manufacturers are a great example of releasing slightly upgraded models each year because that is what their market demands.I mean how can you sell a new car if it isn’t “better” than last year’s model. Ditto for camera manufacturers. Having said all that there exists a market for this kind of camera. See ian above.

1:44 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#9 gaggs

As an amatuer I want to know if I should buy this camera. I don’t want an SLR , but would like good quality pictures and a zoom. My previous Kodak cx7430 gave beautiful color in most conditions

2:13 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#10 Mario

Some of you negative nancies really need to get a grip.
Have a look at the photo of the couple (woman on the left with the brown bag and man on right).  Even at 24x zoom the quality is superb - even at 100%.
The video sample is not 1080p, but demonstrates that it is very good.

gaggs, I seriously doubt you would go wrong with this camera.

3:17 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#11 Glendra

Hi, I’ve waited for this review. I’m not a photographer, but I will learn to be better in this art. What do you think is better choice for me: I should buy this camera or another, for example (I like more) the nikon d3100 (or the d5100..but is most expensive for me!)? I shall use the camera to play video, night shots and macro. I like the zoom, but I wouldn’t spend many money for lens..or a camera! Doesn’t cost much this camera for a bridge?I want a camera full effects too…I love these!

5:25 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#12 cynic

@gaggs
define “good quality”.

5:49 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#13 zebarnabe

Well… It’s better than the last iterations ... that’s for sure… FZ100 at ISO 800 was like FZ150 ISO 3200 ...

But looks too expensive when compared to HX100V… however the wider angle lens, high speed video, RAW, etc. might give an edge on paper.

Also, HX100V was released with the same price tag. So eventually price will come down.

About the TZ series ‘overrated’ complain ... I guess it’s because of TZ10 being one of the best super zooms of its time, 2 generations later that’s not the case, and Canon SX220/230 HS or Sony HX7V win over the competition making TZ20 look bad.

6:23 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#14 Bruce

To Photographyblog: If you are just going to dust off an old review and add in new specs, please take the time to replace references to the older models [DMC-FX28 and DMC-FZ48] with the proper DMC-FZ150 reference.

To those that hate these small sensor cameras:  Although it would be nice to have a single camera that can deliver both awesome zoom range *and* excellent image quality, today you need an expensive interchangable lens system to get it. The price, size, and versatility of any such camera would only let you down in other ways. Don’t waste your time here deriding what others may find an excellent camera - and spend it looking at the M4/3, NEX, and dSLR systems.

6:51 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#15 Jim McDermott

Ian, thanks for that, but I really think I can have an opinion and a life too, and I, rather than you, will decide whether or not I choose to have one and/or the other. I still think that this camera is not news, and I believe that my opinion is as valid as yours. Now, get some adulthood, won’t you?

6:56 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#16 Bruce

@jim [from post #1]: 

Check out the Sony DSC-HX100V.  It has both GPS and manual zoom, plus greater zoom range for less money.  Unfortunately, it sports the same 201K EVF and lacks RAW support and remote triggering - otherwise I’d own one already!

8:36 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#17 andy clad

So the Panasonic debate roles on. Ive commented on here before about the FZ45. I owned an FZ18, it gave many years service and is still going strong via my brother who loves it.
Yes noise is a problem. But you really have to think about what do you want a camera for. A “bridge” camera is really trying to be a jack of all trades. If its low light, fast moving photography, then maybe not. But if its night photography on a tripod, and general day to day pics then pannys are great. The lenses are really good and the metering and pics using flash are outstanding. Also dont forget the video quality and battery life. But, a travel compact is much more user friendly (size wise) on that special day out. I have a canon sx220hs. Its good, in low light than previous panasonics, but the metering is always overblown and the flash reproduction is poor. But its something I can put with so it fits in the pocket. My Pentax DSLR does not. Do you really need a super long lens. The novelty soon goes. Put together a short list of your fav cameras and then go and audition ALL of them. That’s really the only way. Then find a better deal on the net and enjoy your new camera. Research is everything.

8:58 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#18 san1s

“What the world really, really doesn’t need”

No, it’s what YOU don’t need.

Seriously, do any of you people actually take photographs? Do you just talk about equipment all day, and brag about how noiseless your “pictures” of your resolution charts are? Don’t miss the forest for a huge blow up of a distant tree in the horizon.

10:32 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#19 Ian

Many thanks Jim.  The point is that there are people (like me) for whom the FZ150 review is news as we are interested in this type of camera.  Therefore the Photography Blog review is valuable to us, and I am thankful for it.  You have the view that it is ‘not news’ which by any definition is ridiculous, but more importantly you wish that it was not reported as it interrupts your busy schedule of reading about the type of cameras that you hate.  It must be hard for you to appreciate that other people might value the things that you do not, but hey it took a long time for people to realise the sun didn’t go round the Earth too.

10:43 pm - Tuesday, September 6, 2011

#20 Jim McDermott

Ian,

First my opinion was ‘amazing’, and now it’s ‘by any definition ridiculous’ (and I also appear to inhabit a primitive, pre-galilean world). Well you certainly beat me for the wild, sweeping statement. I don’t see how any applies to a very straightforward opinion - that the market is leading us by the nose at the moment. We get twice- or thrice-yearly refreshes of models (particularly in the so-called ‘superzoom category) that do little if anything better than their predecessors, and each is heralded as a big deal. I suppose it keeps gear-heads and fanboys happy, but to those of us who enjoy taking photographs more than owning (albeit very briefly) the latest thing, it can be a little depressing

Now go on, throw some more infantile hyperbole at me for disagreeing with you.

4:41 am - Wednesday, September 7, 2011

#21 Ian

Hello Jim.  I am more interested in using the camera too.  It’s more than 3 years since I bought a camera and I’m looking to upgrade as I now shoot quite a bit of video too.  That’s why the FZ150 review is valuable to people like me, and as a product it looks to have very worthwhile improvements over the FZ100.  Many thanks again to Photography Blog for this review and the help it gives to people with a genuine interest.

I understand your problem Jim and I sympathise.  Having made your opening statements it will be hard for you to accept that there are people with a genuine interest in this product and the work that Photography Blog has done on it.

If I haven’t bought a camera by then I look forward to the another amusing instalment of ‘World of McDermott’ in the next Bridge camera review.

8:29 am - Wednesday, September 7, 2011

#22 gaggs

@cynic. Quality to me may be a lot different than to you. As an ammateur I don’t know how to knit pick a foto. Good colors, clear details under varying light conditions are important to me. My CX7430 has served me well without knowing a lot about photography, but its getting tired. Had a FZ18, loved the zoom etc, but the fotos were not as good. Got an Olympus VR-310 to take up North but was disapointed with the pictures. Read the book Digital photog for Dummies, well I must be the DUMMY. However by reading these sites I’m learning.(and I’ll read my book again!)
  “Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder”
Not everybody looks at a piece of art and likes it

8:32 am - Wednesday, September 7, 2011

#23 Zoki

Camera is super packup.
Picture did not on level quality camera.

8:47 am - Wednesday, September 7, 2011

#24 MikeH

OK, its time I upgraded from a small pocket size compact. (I still love the design of my 40 year old Pentax ME). I also want a viewfinder, tilting screen, wide angle (25mm-27mm) lens plus long zoom 600mm+. I’ve ruled out DSLR mainly on grounds of weight & size to achieve this.

Micro 4/3 looks ideal but have you seen the price of lenses! Crazy - perhaps lack of competition is the reason.

So, I now realise the only way I can get what I want at reasonable price in a single package which I’ll actually take around with me is what they call a “Bridge” camera. I know the image quality is not as good as the other options but now that I’ve come to terms with calling it a “Compromise” camera, I’m rather looking forward to its arrival!

10:44 am - Wednesday, September 7, 2011

#25 Paul Beane

I own an FZ-18 and have been awaiting the improvements this cam seems to have before upgrading. I used the comparometer on DPReview to look at the Sony cam and did not like what I saw for IQ on the Sony. If the price can stumble a bit this might just be the one. Love the articulated screen.

Thanks for the thorough review.

11:45 am - Wednesday, September 7, 2011

#26 Lossio

Sorry but HQ doesn’t look stable to me. On the same settings some pix r OK some not. And with the price diff of $100 Sony looks better.

12:39 pm - Wednesday, September 7, 2011

#27 Jim McDermott

Ian,

Thank you - witty, and polite. Good luck with your camera purchase - hope it ticks the boxes for you.

1:48 pm - Wednesday, September 7, 2011

#28 Warren Lyons

Although this website is about reviewing examples of 21st century technology, it takes me back in time nearly 50 years.  I have never come across so many insults since I was on my elementary school playground.  For whatever its worth, it is better to insult someone for his photographic preference than for his race, religion, national origin, or sexual preference.  As for calling this Pany FZ150 an “image turd”, if you are comparing it to an upper end DSLR or Leica rangefinder, it probably is.  Then again, everything is relative.  My son wants to trade in his Hyundai Santa fe for an SS Camaro with 425 HP.  It will feel like a rocket next to that Hyundai.  On the other hand, trade down from a Ferrari Enzo, it will feel like a slug.  As for the Pany Z150, in my humble opinion, its images seem a bit better than any current bridge camera on the market.  I don’t, however feel that the difference over the latest Sony is worth the extra price or the loss of some 200 extra mm of focal length.  If the other PB readers want to heap praises or profanity on me, it doesn’t change the fact that I have to work, pay taxes, and watch my cholesterol

4:14 pm - Thursday, September 8, 2011

#29 tony

What I would like to know, is what is the closest distance it will focus at full zoom.

8:28 pm - Thursday, September 8, 2011

#30 Paul Beane

Hey Warren, you make a good point. I may have overlooked some features of the Sony (like the price difference) and I wish you happy shooting.

There are so many choices! Some folks seem to own every version of a product line. Besides having deep pockets I wonder how they find time to use them all and what was so disappointing about the last one they bought.

I watch my cholesterol too.

10:01 pm - Thursday, September 8, 2011

#31 Ashley

Could someone please help me!
I’m not a photographer, but someone who takes “pictures” as opposed to “photographs”. Having said that though, I want nice clear, sharp pictures without distortion. I also want to shoot video to the best possible definition I can buy.
I like to take all type of photos ranging from family to landscapes to quick, one-off shots of places.  99.9% of the time I would use AI Mode with the occasional use of another creative mode, but never manual.
My question is, will the FZ150 completely satisfy my needs and improve the photos I currently get on a Panasonic TZ15/5 or should I go the extra mile (and spend twice as much) on a GH2 with the 14-140 lens. Will the photos (pictures) be twice as good?
They say a fool and his money are easily parted (not that I have lots of money) but should I spend the extra and get the better quality lens for my needs?
I know this is very general but I would really appreciate your feedback, thanks!

2:19 am - Friday, September 9, 2011

#32 Hugh

Putting all the childish mudslinging to one side

What would you go for,  the sony HX100V or this one?

I’m leaning towards this one as the image quality seems a bit better (particularly at low light), the wider lens is appealing and i don’t belive i need to go to 800mm zoom. 

any thoughts?

6:08 am - Friday, September 9, 2011

#33 Paul Beane

Ashley,

Many enthusiasts pose the question about how the camera output will be viewed: prints or on a screen. Prints may demand more resolution at larger sizes, which would be an advantage for the GH2. If you make large prints and have deep pockets getting the FH2 and 2 or 3 lenses would produce outstanding results.

In this review digital microscopy comparisons of 100% crops do reveal IQ differences. At normal viewing sizes and distances many of these differences are not perceptible. The FZ 150 is a solution for those who need 2 or 3 lens capability in 1 package and it appears the IQ is satisfactory for normal images.

11:53 am - Friday, September 9, 2011

#34 Oldsnapper

Forget the childish and churlish “petty point scoring” comments. Panasonic are tops in electronics. Leica are damned good lenses; these made under license.
Having been a photographer, of varying degrees from amateur to professional (“paid”)most of my life (40 odd years) I have used all sorts. I’m very careful about what i buy and buy to suit, whether it’s dearer or not; price is not the issue but what you get for your money is; e.g. can it do what you want?
Recently I bought two Canon EOS bodies and some lenses; not all Canon! I have owned Nikon D series and the 1st FZ, the FZ10 and my eldest now uses that quite happily, even though it’s a “mere” 4 Mega-pixels.
I bought a FZ-35, which I still am happy with ans the image quality is stunning; a photographic friend thought I’d taken the images with a Canon or Nikon. The FZ-100 “sample pictures” were, quite obviously, below par.
If you want a lighter camera, with HD Video, and do not want to spend over £500 then go for the FZ-150, it’s a gem. The quality will not disappoint you, or your friends.
Finally, compare images from it’s “Rivals” in the other reviews, you will see that many others are of less quality image-wise, even the Leica; note the “fuzz” it puts around the edge of things. The FZ’s very slight powdery softness can be overcome quite easily in Photoshop Elements 9 and images can be printed as large as A3 quite easily.
My only other advice would be wait a couple of months for the price to drop ;-) August is here and unless you like autumnal scenes, wait and be rewarded; it’s already dropped to £369! Bargain.

1:34 pm - Friday, September 9, 2011

#35 Ashley

Thanks Paul and Oldsnapper, your comments have been very helpful. Very rarely would I ever print something as large as A3 or even A4 and predominantly would be on screen or burn to a disc to view on a TV, so I guess the resolution will be fine for me. Again thanks for your feedback. Cheers, Ashley

12:44 am - Saturday, September 10, 2011

#36 Theimer

Welcome back, Panasonic. It’s been a while, since the FZ (and TZ) follow-ups got better - IQ-wise, judged by sample images made available by different test sites. This series of imrovement stopped with the FZ28 - IQ dropped slightly on the FZ35 and went downhill on the FZ45 and FZ100. Now the improvement is back again - and it clearly tops the interim winner, the Sony HX100V. If you compare the sample images of the HX100V and the FZ150 side by side, you don’t need an explanation of the word “over-processed”.
Must have… the money, then the FZ150.

12:02 pm - Sunday, September 11, 2011

#37 T.J. Crowder

Two places in the review (one on “Ease of Use” and one on “Image Quality”), you say FZ48 where you clearly mean FZ150. Also, it’s odd in the “Main Rivals” section that you list the FZ45 rather than the FZ48. Not meaning to be difficult at all, but can we trust the remainder of the review? In general your reviews seem great, and I have no problem with the same wording being reused (in fact, I find it kind of helpful) as long as the content is correct.

Separately: Do you (or anyone else) know of a Linux-compatible software package that understands these Panasonic rw2 files? So far I’ve tried F-Spot, GIMP, UFRaw, and RawStudio, all without success.

1:11 pm - Monday, September 12, 2011

#38 zebarnabe

T.J. Crowder,

DCRaw decodes LX3 .RW2 files, it may not decode FZ150 files correctly, either because .RW2 in it has a different structure or it doesn’t have a color profile (in this case colors would look weird).

UFRaw, RawTerapee, etc, all use DCRaw code to decode the raw files, if that’s the case they might be using an old version of it and not supporting the new files by now.

Some of those might support .RW2 if you rename them to .RAW, the GUI might just filters the extensions.

Good luck!

2:13 pm - Monday, September 12, 2011

#39 T.J. Crowder

@zebarnabe: Thanks, you were right. dcraw 8.86 (the latest in the Ubuntu repo) fails with “unexpected end of file” but if you grab the latest (currently 9.10) from http://www.cybercom.net/~dcoffin/dcraw and compile it, it works. But the colors are awful. As the FZ150 is not on the list of supported cameras, I expect the color problem is because Coffin needs someone to send him a proper picture of a calibration card (http://www.cybercom.net/~dcoffin/dcraw/#card). As I have neither the card nor the camera, I can’t do that, but hopefully someone will.

@photographyblog: You guys know a lot about photography and get lots of cameras passing through, maybe you could make a picture of one of the standard cards part of your testing procedure to help Coffin out?

—T.J. :-)

9:16 am - Tuesday, September 13, 2011

#40 azgacat

Having expected from canon such a camera better than sx30is, panasonic released this camera having good build quality, fast cmos sensor as well as enhanced features compared to its predecessors. unlike other super zooms, lens hood is standart in the package of contents so thanks to panasonic. Hope nikon and canon wakes up and better see their competitors are working hard on digital photography.

For those looking for advice to have a camera having wide angle, good macro and telephoto as well and do not want to spend money on DSLR+lenses this camera is really satisfying one when we take what it can do even it as a little high price for a non-dslr camera.

Greetings from Istanbul!
Selam

1:16 am - Thursday, September 15, 2011

#41 daniel

So, ignoring the squabbling that no one cares about, I’ve got a couple questions:

I currently own (and love) an FZ28, but want to upgrade for better video and low light performance.  I’m not a professional (have no need for RAW) and just want to take great photos and editable video.  I am choosing between this camera, the Sony HX100V and Sony HX9V.

-As to video:  Is editing on a Mac (iMovie) possible without additional software?  If not, are software upgrades expected?

-As to photo:  I like the sweep panorama function of the Sony cameras.  Is that not a feature of the Pana?  (would be a shame if not)

-As to size:  Is the HX9V a lesser camera in terms of image quality?  It has a long enough zoom for me, but will I lose quality for the sake of convenience (and no, I’m not interested in a bag full of lenses for a DSLR or micro 4/3)?

-As to updates:  I know this is a new camera, but the Sony cameras have been out a bit now.  Are they expected to be replaced/upgraded prior to the holidays?

I’d greatly appreciate any info folks might have.

Thanks,
Daniel

9:50 pm - Thursday, September 15, 2011

#42 Mike

Trying decide between this camera and the Fugi HS20. Does this camera take filters? I know the the Fugi does.

4:57 pm - Monday, September 19, 2011

#43 CANagy

Would it be possible to post a side-by-side comparison review of the Panasonic FZ150 camera and the Nikon P7100 camera?  In theory, they are designed for somewhat different users, but I think they are direct competitors.  I am considering getting one of them and would like to read a head-to-head comparison.

1:37 am - Saturday, September 24, 2011

#44 coastcontact

daniel

I was the number 4 entry in this commentary.  You may want to read it.  I too have an FZ28.  I thought it might be nice to upgrade but no one as responded to my observations.  I purchased the camera at Costco.  They have not carried later versions of this model.  I am troubled by Panasonic’s lack of distribution.  Most stores in Los Angeles specialize in Canon and Nikon.  I would like your thoughts on reasons to upgrade.  Contact me direct at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) for further discussion.  The bickering here is foolish.

4:06 am - Saturday, September 24, 2011

#45 Glen

Could well be the perfect camera for me and Oldsnapper’s comments were also useful.
I don’t have the budget to lash out on serious kit and neither do I want to carry a bag full of lenses around with me, so this camera fulfills all my requirements.
Was waiting to see how the new Canon PowerShot SX40 stacked up against the Lumix Fz150 but still think the Lumix shades it (the longer lens of the Canon is not really a USP for me and it’s even more expensive!).

9:25 am - Sunday, September 25, 2011

#46 daniel

Lack of distribution doesn’t bother me because I usually buy on-line anyway, but I do actually have a nice camera store in my neighborhood (which, unfortunately, doesn’t stock the Sony’s I’d like to examine).  If you just want to update your FZ28, I’d go for it without doubt.  Still images will be better (or, at worst, the same…which is pretty damn good).  The big plus would be the HD video.  For me, and probably no one else, the lack of Sony’s panaroma function is a huge minus.  That tech was available when the FZ28 came out and two+ years later, Pana still hasn’t gotten that in the box.

3:12 pm - Sunday, September 25, 2011

#47 JOE PRETE

It’s too bad that with all the know how of the group that you guys were so busy bickering back and forth, that you missed the people who wrote in asking for some advise! I have no doubt that you have all pointed out important differences, and any one of you could have provided an adequate answer to these beginners who seem lost. The worst thing is, now we don’t know how to reach them to enlighten them and they will wind up in a camera shop that’s just going to dump some old stock on them, and by the time they realize it they’ll see the 20% restocking fee. That’s not what photography is about. it’s a great hobby, an interest to many and an income to the lucky few that make it their profession. People helped you guys, I’m sure. Why not PAY IT FORWARD! That’s what I do…Photojoe55

9:19 pm - Sunday, September 25, 2011

#48 Ed Grant

Another happy owner of the FZ28 here; had it since Oct of 2008 and use it mainly for outdoor and “family” photography in Western Canada (read: “mountains and sometimes lots of telephoto”).  Love the 18X and, although I don’t use RAW, I probably should learn it since I do notice the colour “adjustments” of the on-board programming.

Right now we’re planning a trip to Africa where I anticipate a lot of long-distance shooting in light varying from early dawn to late dusk with the African sun in between (hooray for Panasonic’s image stabilization).  I’m in the process of deciding whether to get an LT55 or Raynox 2025 tele converter to see if that will satisfy me but…the faster speed and quicker processing time of the new 150 intrigue me.  We’ll be on several very small aircraft so size, weight, and (of course), cost are strong issues in that order. (My shoulder still aches with the memory of carting an SLR with a couple of lenses and a tripod around Europe many years ago!)

As others have commented, I am NOT professional and do NOT anticipate printing anything larger than maybe one of those calendars that use your own photos.

The trip is for 2013 so I’ve got some time to see how the tele works on the FZ28 and if I DO upgrade the camera I know that all I need do is buy a different adaptor.

So…the question is: For those who can provide positive guidance, would the cost of the 150 (now that Panasonic in Canada have their prices listed) be warranted over the FZ28 or should I save that money for buying souvenirs?

3:35 am - Friday, September 30, 2011

#49 Robert Wilson

A nitpick but, this website presently lists the lowest available price at $427.99.  Clicking on the link gives a list of vendors, the lowest of which is Amazon which quotes $436.  Clicking on the Amazon link takes you to the Amazon site which quotes a price of $443.

With tactics like this, why bother posting a low price on this site - it really means nothing.

3:20 pm - Wednesday, October 5, 2011

#50 David Doak

Jim - I too had your idea that twist-zoom on a bridge camera would be good for video…

I bought a Fuji HS10 which does exactly that…

Sad to say, while the twist-zoom is superb for stills - for video, it’s woeful…!

At first I thought the action was jerky because it was new on a very solidly-built camera, and would free-smooth-up. Sadly, no, it hasn’t after a year.

The problem is that the “gearing” of the twist action is too high to start-stop a zoom smoothly. So it’s rather “jerk-o-matic”. Also - the noise of the AF re-focusing is quite audible in the (otherwise good) audio.

So, no - the cameras with 2-speed power zoom, using the slow-zoom (like my Canon SX10, as my direct comparison) - are far better…

The FZ150 should be very good for zoom-in-video.

Regards, Dave.

4:33 am - Sunday, October 9, 2011

#51 Mike

I have owned 3 of Panasonic’s superzooms and am very interested in the FZ150 but not sure of:
1.Can it shoot burst in RAW?
2.Can it auto bracket +- 2EV for HDR ?
3.Is the manual focus as effective as that on the FZ28?

2:25 am - Monday, October 10, 2011

#52 Lee

@Mike (#42)-  I don’t recall seeing a reply about filters.  My research shows that the FZ150 takes 52mm filters (UV/CPL etc) but they don’t recommend piggy-backing as the barrel/motor may not be strong enough to carry the weight over a period of time.  Panasonic makes an adapter for their telephoto add-on.  I haven’t received my 150 yet but am eager to see how it’ll work with my Cokin system.
btw- this will pretty much replace a semi-busted Mikon D80 and is more in my current budget even given the limitations.  We’ll see…

1:13 pm - Monday, October 10, 2011

#53 Gomez

@Lee and @Mike—
Goto Pannies website FZ150 and “accessories” and
you’ll see 52mm filters like the FZ35—
thinking its the same adapter. 

and one of the manuals is here:
http://service.us.panasonic.com/OPERMANPDF/DMCFZ150_ADV.PDF

auto bracket says +-3

(have a FZ35, just interested…
really like NEX but since I have a bunch of accessories which may fit this one, I have second thoughts)

1:19 am - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#54 Gomez

@Mike
1 yes- page 78 of manual—if QUALITY is set to RAW (3 types) the maximum recordable pictures is 11

2 suto bracket - +-3 EV according to the picture in page 77 of manual

3 Have a FZ35—hate the joystick on that one, the slider on the side of the barrel seems better positioned.

Get the manual by replacing the last letters of the manuals available with this one at Panasonic’s website and viola it appears…. both of them.

Waiting for a price reduction.

5:39 pm - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#55 Mr J

This looks like a solid replacement for my trusty FZ50, which was an ergonomic delight with an excellent lens.

The 5FZ0 delivered ‘000s of images and paid for itself many times over, until I dropped it in the sea a couple of weeks ago (sob).

Point for me with a bridge camera is the stills-video-zoom combo, translating to less weight and clutter when I’m on the road.

The ultimate image quality doesn’t match a top DSLR, but it’s more than enough for the web, book, and print work that I need it for.

12:58 pm - Wednesday, October 12, 2011

#56 Simon

Whilst I try not to be too critical of “testers”- I don’t think the individual concerned got anywhere near to producing the image quality that this camera is capable of. I suspect that in a number of cases,the test images were shot in auto or program- in which case,you just get the shot,so to speak.
Get to know this camera well,use the appropriate setting/mode for the conditions/subject and it’s a very capable performer- and capable of surpassing the image quality shown here…!

4:09 pm - Friday, October 21, 2011

#57 Bahlit

I would like to know the difference in the zoom capability of 35X from that of 24X. Is it significant enough to consider buying Canon’s SX40 HS better zoom instead of a faster Panasonic’s FZ-150. It would be great if you can post sample images from both the cameras taken at full extended zoom.

10:37 pm - Friday, October 21, 2011

#58 zebarnabe

Bahlit, regarding zoom capability diferences, there are several things to consider.

When comes to composition, I’ve arranged a few shots in thumbnails just to give a rough idea, please note that the photos are from the same camera, only cropped and re-sized, and don’t show the real sharpness:
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-PEcsOK664JY/TqLbgn2_u_I/AAAAAAAACSs/HofUjUNAAC0/s800/zoom.jpg

Other things to have in regard are sharpness, contrast, optical aberrations, etc. The more zoom you have the less quality you usually get.

IMHO, 24x is more than enough (you should look at 25-600mm and not 24x alone… wide angle is just as important), and given the other set of features, RAW recording, manual control over movie exposures, and again the microphone input which doubles-up as a remote control / intervalometer socket and bigger, more detailed screen, FZ150 wins my appraise…

Even though I prefer FZ150, I would check Sony HX100V if I was you.

4:10 pm - Saturday, October 22, 2011

#59 Bahlit

Dear Zebarnabe,

Thank you very much for your reply and i am more than satisfied with your valuable input. Thank you for the jpeg file this is exactly what i need and you have provided me with additional information too, this is really helping me on how to choose a digital camera. I will certainly check out on sony hx100v.

Best regards,
Bahlit

6:08 pm - Saturday, October 22, 2011

#60 Bahlit

Dear Zebarnabe,

Thank you very much for your reply and i am more that satisfied with your valuable input. Thank you for the jpeg file this is what i wanted and you have provided me with additional information too, this is really helping me to choose a digital camera. I will certainly check out on sony hx100v.

Best regards,
Bahlit

6:38 pm - Saturday, October 22, 2011

#61 lichens

Thanks for all the interesting commentary.  I’ve only owned a digital waterproof point & shoot since my Olympus OM-1, all manual, w/Tamron 35-70 zoom macro.  Loved it.  The FZ150 appears to have great macro capabilities, tilting LCD AND 100% viewfinder, manual options, good megapixels, relatively light, outrageous telephoto.  As an entry into the prosumer digital camera world, sounds like the FZ150 has much in common w/my old camera and will be a good/fun investment.  Thoughts?  Want a camera before holiday in 3 weeks…Thanks!

6:33 am - Monday, October 31, 2011

#62 Eigenmeat

You guys need to STOP shooting small sensor camera at F5.6 and above. Diffraction is softening image for small sensor camera from F4 on(maybe earlier). Even wide open at 2.8 will provide more than enough DOF for your landscape samples.

3:16 am - Tuesday, November 1, 2011

#63 Mike

@Lee

Thanks for your reply regarding the use of filters for this camera. I now own the FZ 150 and see that it is threaded for filters. I’m using Promaster UV and polarizing filters.

Puzzling that this feature isn’t touted for this bridge camera.

I’m impressed with FZ 150’s macro and zoom quality.

12:06 pm - Tuesday, November 1, 2011

#64 PeterWeb

zebarnabe:

Thanks for the handy wide/zoom example. Ahhh, Queenstown, can’t be beat.

I own an Olympus SP550 (28-504 equiv) which has served well for four years and it’s good to see what I might be missing if I settle for the Pana over the Sony when stepping up. With respect to that kind of comparison, a 27mm equiv shot might be a useful addition to your JPG.

Not decided yet, but I think the Pana will win for me - Sony’s local support record is awful.

1:58 am - Saturday, November 5, 2011

#65 zebarnabe

That Queenstown photo is very popular, it is also used by some photo review websites as it provide similar shooting conditions and framing for comparison, I should add in all fairness that I did not shot the original photo.

I don’t like promoting other websites, but check camera labs SX40 HS review for a comparison between 24-27-600-840mm framing from the same location.

11:32 am - Saturday, November 5, 2011

#66 Ian 2

If it feels right buy it

1:20 am - Friday, November 11, 2011

#67 Marcos

This review is really usefull to me, with a great level of details but, I would like to known if this FZ 150 model has the capability of using filters ( UV, polarization ) directly to the lens or an adapter will be necessary like others superzoom models like Sony HX100v or Canon SX40 HS?

12:13 am - Sunday, November 20, 2011

#68 Lee

@Marcos

Mark (#63) mentioned that it is threaded for filters.  Now that I actually have the camera I can safely say that it takes 52mm filters.  I have a UV that serves as a lens protector.  I would be careful about overloading the barrel, I don’t know how much weight it can withstand.  Of course this is in regards to extras, like the Cokin system, or the tele/wide angle accessories available from Panasonic and others (ex $50 Vivitar setup off Amazon) where weight is truly an issue especially when barrel is fully extended and over long periods of time.  Note: Panasonic claims that an adapter is necessary for their wide angle/tele units however the Vivitar system screws directly in.  I’m not going to comment on the need, performance or image quality results on this, only mentioning in regards to the 150’s versatility with the threaded lens barrel.  Good luck in whichever direction you decide.

8:11 am - Sunday, November 20, 2011

#69 gabi

Does any one know if this camera has a lens thread?  Cause I want to be able to use my 49mm filter lenses from my old 35mm camera.
Thank you.

3:06 am - Saturday, November 26, 2011

#70 David

I was reasonably happy with my FZ-40 (until it was stolen a few weeks ago), and very happy I didn’t buy the FZ-100 for image quality reasons that have been well-publicized. That being said, I would have bought up had the reviews of the FZ-100 been more positive. So in replacing the FZ-40, I have been open minded about the FZ-150. Reviews to data have been overwhelmingly positive, at least to the extent of establishing that this is the camera the FZ-100 should have been.

As a result of finding the FZ-150 on sale for about $100 less than the list price, I have taken the plunge. I have a familiarity with this family of cameras, a spare (compatible) battery and battery charger from the FZ-40, and I like the added functionality of the FZ-150 including the enhanced burst mode and jack for attachable or remote accessories.

I’m looking forward to many years of good shooting, and appreciate this review.

5:02 pm - Saturday, November 26, 2011

#71 Mark

Great write-up and detailed review, thank you! Also, I appreciate all the sample images.  I’m really impressed with the noise reduction on the OOC JPG images.  I am waiting on this camera to arrive in the mail, to supplement my Canon 7D with L lenses and battery grip.  I want something that’s a little easier to travel with, but will still take good photos.  I was torn between this one and the Canon G12.. the G12 is a bit more easily-pocketed, but only goes to 140mm equivalent on the zoom… so the 600mm zoom of the FZ150 was a big selling point for me.  It will still be tiny compared to what I’m used to using.  I will be using my wireless flash trigger with this camera with off-camera speed lights ... so we’ll see how it does for me! Thanks again for a great review.

6:03 pm - Saturday, November 26, 2011

#72 Marcos

@Lee

Thanks , I Known now that my decision to evaluate this camera will be a great decision. And with this doubt solved now I am happy with my choice.

10:13 pm - Saturday, November 26, 2011

#73 Bill

Just come back from a safari and holiday South Africa. I bought an FZ150 just before I went and took over 900 photos, many on safari. I am no expert but this camera was very simple to use and took some great photos. The 24/32 x zoom was superb, perfect for the safari and even using the maximum 127x zoom was great for quite clearly identifying animals a long way off. The movie mode is also excellent and very smooth. I still have a lot to learn with the camera but, from my initial experience I can certainly recommend this camera.

10:18 pm - Sunday, November 27, 2011

#74 elaine

I read all geat things aout the FZ150 and am thinking of buying one but have heard you have to convert the Raw files to DNG if you want to use Photoshop, does the FZ150 come with its own raw software?

8:08 pm - Monday, November 28, 2011

#75 Paul Melkus

I’v had this camera now for a little over a month and I’m very happy with it. Easy to use and understand. Both photos and videos look great. If there any con to it for me it would be that the tripod socket is too close to battery door and it tends to blow out highlights some which can be corrected with the EV control so that’s not a big deal. One other thing to think about is that the price is close to that of a entry level dslr camera. Over all a great point and shoot camera.

2:19 am - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#76 Wing Leung

I just got back from Ghana, Africa with my FZ150 and 10 x 16 Gb memory of SDHC footage. I have edited one 10 minutes video already.
The camera is superb. It is not only a descendent from long-zoom tribe, but also from the GHx series and Gx series technology. The autofocus is quick, manual focus can manipulate shutter below 30fps, intelligent AI is handy for quick docu situations, the creative movie mode is the bread and butter of my primary use. The images are sharp and editable. I only use 1080i as my final cut pro version does not find the 1080p friendly. The color of white balance are good. Eventhough I have GH1 and GH2, I still find this FZ150 very handy and good for documentary situations. It’s flip LCD is handy, and the resolution need to be improved. The snap shot of stills during video taping is handy, hope the resolution can expand from 400 mb. All and all, a great pleasure and workable camera. It also fits well in with my shot-gun add-on microphone. The built-in mic is easily disturbed by wind noise. 25mm at 2.8 is very good for low light interviews, though need to use higher ISO. I seldom use ISO higher than 800. The 600mm can improve if the lens is wider. I still miss my FZ10 of 420mm 2.8 lens.

2:52 am - Monday, December 5, 2011

#77 Albastru22

I am a bit dissapointed with the quality of today cameras, seems the manufacturesrs are hung on the megapixel war. Do you know if the noise problem gets better if shooting at lower resolutions? Cause I can live with that… I would like no more than 8 mb but IQ to be better.

3:08 pm - Wednesday, December 14, 2011

#78 Ricky

@gabi

Yes, this has a lens thread.  It fits 52mm filters though, not 49mm.

I just bought this camera a few days ago based on the many good reviews I’ve read on it.  I used to be an FZ35 when I upgraded to a GH2.  I had the GH2 for about a year but being mainly a point-and-shoot guy, the GH2 was just too much camera for me.  And, I actually missed the long range that a superzoom like the FZ35 had.

So, I ended up giving up my GH2 and got the FZ150.  I haven’t had a chance to really use it, the Christmas holidays being as busy as it is… but I’ll try to give my two cents once I’ve stretched out my FZ150’s legs.

2:22 am - Tuesday, December 20, 2011

#79 Ricky

I forgot to ask:  with the FZ150, can you take still pictures while recording video?  If yes, does it have to be in any particular mode or can I do it even in iA mode?  I browsed through the manual but couldn’t find any reference to this but I seem to remember some people saying that this could be done.

4:59 am - Tuesday, December 20, 2011

#80 JERRY DRAPER

After only using the camera since 29 December 2011 it suffered a major failure of the displayed information and settings not being able to be adjusted and changing screen information without any changes being made. It seems to like the landscape setting for some reason. This was witnessed and tried by my camera supplier and my local Panasonic shop.
This is very disappointing as my FZ1 and FZ18 cameras were fault free and still being used.
My supplier has agreed to replace the camera as it is within 1 month of purchase and I will have to await approx 28days for a replacement camera.
I am pleased with the images including those of the moon taken with a Raynox 2020PRO lens.
I tried the Panasonic LW55 converter with the intention of buying it but it does not appear to work as a wide angle converter even with the use of the adapter on the FZ150, I am awaiting Panasonic’s response.

9:51 pm - Monday, January 16, 2012

#81 Mr J

Dropped my much-loved FZ50 in the sea, so reckoned this would be a logical replacement. Reviews and great spec meant I went ahead.

After trialling it with some serious shooting, the FZ150 has produced some good results, but in-the-field ergonomics are not a patch on the FZ50.

For starters, there’s the electronic zoom. OK perhaps for video shots, but next to useless as a quick and precise framing device for stills work.

I could nitpick, but but the summation is that it’s lost the FZ50’s ‘working tool’ quality.

Video results are good though, so I’ll keep it on a tripod for studio work - it’ll be fine for that.

But for a workhorse stills-shooter, I’ll likely return to Nikon…

7:22 pm - Sunday, February 12, 2012

#82 João

I have a 2nd hand FZ38 that I bought more than a year ago and I’m glad I did, it still is a good camera compared to some new super-zooms being released, decent IQ and video mode. This FZ150 wow, If I had the money I’d buy it. Sincerely I’d never buy a dslr unless for professional intents or if money wasn’t a problem ;P maybe a mirror-less 4/3, but those are also expensive and have expensive lenses. For the casual amateur photo/videographer, FZ150 all the way, I say!

8:44 pm - Tuesday, February 14, 2012

#83 Alf Smith

I’m very impressed with this amazing camera: Little CMOS is not bad at all (almost as good the CCD G12’s sensor or LX3’s) and the camara can shoot VERY fast (12 fps!), wich allows some interesting tricks (night handheld shoot feature is amazing mixing directly from camara several shots and giving you only one and quite good pic!).
IA tends to overexpose, (bad for newbies), as other modes do (beware of that), so you will need to know at least where the exposure correction button is (EASY) but it’s a very capable camera if you know something about manual modes. 
RAW is not so interesting as you can expect, seems touched yet by software, and there’s little room to do something interesting. More room on the shadows. Higlight clipping can be a problem much worse.
The zoom is good and the EZ modes (losing Mpxs)can help to get an extra-closer shot if needed.
Colors are quite good and you can setup easily the camera to get your kind of picture. Some yellowish stains in low light (Panasonic trademark)
8-10 Mpx would be even better for this camera, but it’s very fun to use.

P.S: If you know something about HDR, the camera easily allows you to shot 3 times handheld bracketed and they are usable (if your program has some alignement feature, of course) !!!! I tried it with low light inside home and worked perfect.

7:58 am - Saturday, February 18, 2012

#84 S Hamilton

I have tried just about every possible combination of settings with my Panasonic FZ150, the DMW-LA5 adapter and a Digital Optics 2.2x telephoto adaptor lens on a tripod.

My results do not change. This telephoto adaptor lens always gives me pictures which are slightly out of focus and not nearly as clear as equivalent pictures taken using the camera’s digital zoom without the lens.
 
I don’t think there is anything wrong with the lens itself. I can hold it up to my eye and use it like a monocular. I can see everything very clearly with the 2.2x magnification it provides.

I have become convinced the problem is that the DMW-LA5 “tube” adapter is not compatible with this non-Panasonic 2.2x lens. It must not be holding the lens the correct distance from the camera lens. I think this is causing every picture I take to be slightly out of focus.  (The camera is set for telephoto lens and zoomed out to maximum 24x optical for my tests with the 2.2x lens.)

Has anyone else had similar experiences or experience with the Panasonic DMW-LT55 telephoto adapter lens?  Thanks.

PS:  By the way I think the FZ150 is a GREAT camera, period.

7:06 pm - Monday, March 12, 2012

#85 zebarnabe

S. Hamilton,

If you have tried focusing at several distances (from closest possible to far away) and the images don’t show themselves as sharp (by sharp I mean the amount of details, not the sharpness visual appearance) as when using the digital zoom without the lens filter, it simply means that the filter is degrading the resolve power of the lens, this happens, for example, with polarizing filters when used with long telephoto lens. The same thing might happen when trying a close up filter, the detail resolved might not be as good.

I’m afraid that there is nothing you can do, most filters start degrading the image when you reach FOVs of 200mm equivalent, but in all fairness, when comes to telephoto, 600mm equivalent is already more than most people need - I have 280mm in my camera with my longest telephoto lens, my cheap protection filter degrades the image beyond use when I go past 100mm equivalent.

10:05 pm - Monday, March 12, 2012

#86 Marco M.

Could the FZ 150 be the best allround camera for photographers like me who are just starting a hobby and mainly take pics when on holiday or family occasions and outdoor sport events? Should i go for the Panasonic or look for something completely different? Thanks in advance for your advice!

Marco M. from The Netherlands

11:26 pm - Wednesday, March 21, 2012

#87 Johnboy

I have owned the FX150 for about 4 months.
I mainly use it for bird photography and nature.
Have now retired,but have been involved in photography for about 50 years using most formats.
I can honestly say that this camera has all the attributes that I need for top quality shots-and I am really fussy, regarding the quality. I can produce a superb A4 at least, with a little care A3 no prob, that would satisfy most DSLR users.
Convertor lenses in the past have had a bad name, rightly so for poor quality, but I have a LT-55,for this Panny and I find it superb—without loss of aperture , I find myself shooting at 1000mm plus,@ F5.6—sometimes hand held! I’ve, just sold my 500 mm F4 and Cam—good riddance to back-ache, and humping it around all over the shop!
If only the manual focus had a focusing ring—ala Fujifilm, instead of a little button jobby, I reckon it would be almost perfect. Oh, also it doesn’t, make a cup of tea!

5:49 pm - Sunday, March 25, 2012

#88 Wing Leung

Fz150 is a very good all rounded camera, for both still and video. You can also grow with the camera as it can use manual control for exposure and raw format. However, if you are primarily using it for still pictures, there are cheaper versions around.

7:46 am - Monday, March 26, 2012

#89 Marco M.

Thank you very much Mr. Johnboy and Mr. Wing Leung for your advice and interest in my questions! Today after work i went to the shop and tested the FZ 150, took a few pics and filmed a little and i must say it is great! I think this is the camera i am going to buy.
Thanks again and i will keep you posted!

Marco M. from The Netherlands

10:31 pm - Wednesday, March 28, 2012

#90 ollie

Got the FZ-150 last week to replace the Fujifilm S4000. With the price drop of about $70 it is somewhat less pricey. Having film SLRs since the 70s, the FZ-150 does everything I would ever need. Noticed that it is made in Japan instead of China, not that I have anything against any country that makes a product, it seems Japanese made products seem to be more reliable. The dial on top right of the LCD felt stiff such that when trying to turn you may accidentally push it to activate a setting which is not intended until you are done turning it. Everything else is great.

11:59 pm - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#91 Slabs

Does anyone know the difference between the DMW-BMB9E & DMW-BMB9PP battery for the FZ150?
I’m looking to get a spare & my camera came with the 9E, but the 9PP is available at a reasonable price (the OE battery is ridiculously expensive here in South Africa).
Any help or advice would be highly appreciated.
Thanks.

9:48 am - Sunday, April 8, 2012

#92 Eon

Hi

I have the panasonic FZ35 and am thinking of getting the FZ150. are you happy with the change.

5:17 pm - Sunday, April 8, 2012

#93 Mike

what would you guys prefer having? Canon SX40 or FZ150?
I’m relatively new to photography and is into buying FZ150 over the SX40. Of course, setting aside the price and i won’t buy entry level DSLR and lens (i can’t afford buying better lens to compensate my want for better zoom)

My Reasons(based on online reviews read):
FZ150 has more Manual shooting controls; LCD monitor doesn’t turn off when shooting burst

Reasons still having second thoughts:
SX40 has better zoom;

I just don’t know about image quality, i can’t find reviews showing good comparisons. Hope you could guys could share based on your experiences with the cameras. Especially in low light conditions. Thank you very much.

4:41 am - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#94 Slabs

Hi Mike
Check image quality report by ‘DP Review’ at http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/panasonicdmcfz150/4
The FZ150 scores very impressively.
It even outperforms some of the entry-level DSLR’s, check for yourself by comparing with various cameras in the drop-down lists provided.
‘What Digital Camera’(magazine & their website) also gives the FZ150 an equally high rating.
I’m totally happy with mine.

4:46 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#95 Mark

I bought the FZ150 back in November, and got rid of it by the end of December.  I was very disappointed with the image quality (both RAW and JPG), and the huge zoom is pretty much a waste, because (even when using a tripod) the images are not very sharp.  I got rid of the camera and bought the new Canon G1X a month ago… image quality is FAR superior, even though it doesn’t have a huge zoom.  Also, the G1X is substantially smaller than the FZ150 (which felt like a toy camera).  The G1X creates image quality that is nearly on par with that of my Canon 7D.

4:52 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#96 Slabs

Get real Mark, you’re not only comparing a bridge compact with a camera with a sensor almost the size of the APS-C DSLR’s (roughly 9 times the size of the FZ150’s sensor, in terms of area!), it also has a zoom range of only 4X, compared to the FZ150’s 24X. Yes, zoom isn’t everything, but it’s widely accepted that it becomes progressively easier to attain IQ as the zoom range diminishes.
And to top it off, it costs about 50% more than the FZ150.
You’re comparing apples with watermelons.

8:14 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#97 Jan van Gorselen

I bought this FZ150 one month ago and I am very happy with it… before that I owned A FZ20 and a FZ50, both for four years. Airport Schiphol in Amsterdam bought 10 immages from me to expose on big walls on the airport… so what do I need more…

5:05 pm - Sunday, April 22, 2012

#98 Riki

Okay guys let’s all try to “focus” on the topic at hand rather than “zoom” to judgment on the priorities of others when it comes to equipment requirements. Perhaps we can narrow the “apertures” of our bile outlets so as to decrease the “exposure” of others to our “negatives” and while we’re at it maybe we can all lower our offense ISO levels to a sensitivity of say 50? Now I went to the store today to buy the FZ150, but ended up almost committing to the Fuji coolpix HS30EXR..fate intervened and for some reason I was refused the credit card issue by the company (Japanese finance companies are very tight fisted these days)..I’m pretty impulsive at the best of times, but even this surprised me…now I’m wondering if indeed the gods of digital photography extended to me another chance to reconsider and go back to the FZ150. I abruptly changed to the HS30EXR because it has a manually focused zoom which I prefer, plus 30x zoom and I was told a better sensor. Any thoughts?

12:34 pm - Friday, May 4, 2012

#99 zebarnabe

Riki,
FZ150 has one of the best sensors in the bridge segment. HS30 EXR while good on dynamic range department, lacks in noise levels, speed is also not a strong point with this one. Sony’s bridges have also good sensors, though, I really prefer FZ150 overall snappiness and features.

Just look at the samples, HS30EXR ones are rich in color and dynamic range, specially if you use the EXR modes and it has lots of manual controls that might please the one that is learning.

FZ150 is like a mini micro 43 G series camera, both in performance (though high-speed videos are a bit exclusive to the bridge) and looks. One can see a very nice review at cameralabs.com/reviews/Panasonic_Lumix_DMC_FZ150/

If you don’t need the 24x zoom, there are better/cheaper cameras to choose from. Check travel zoom cameras and start with Canon Powershot SX220 or SX230 as a comparison point.

Good luck :]

2:26 pm - Friday, May 4, 2012

#100 Andrea Monti

Got the camera last Friday, to be sent back to Amazon first thing this Monday. The quality of RAW (the only reason why I’ve chosen this camera) is absolutely disappointing, while Jpeg is far more better.
It seems that the RAW feature is just a buzz, because this is just a (fairly good, admittedly) jpeg camera.
I wonder whether it is me who has been given a defective exemplar, or the reviewers who missed this point.
Anyway, samples are available on demand.

7:35 pm - Saturday, May 26, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, 12 megapixel, video, movie, super-zoom, RAW, 1920x1080, super zoom, wideangle, ultra-zoom, Panasonic, mega-zoom, 24x, Lumix, 12fps, fz150, DMC-FZ150, dmc fz150

Tracker Pixel for Entry