Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ150 Review

4.5
September 5, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

109 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 Roy in Las Vegas

Erm ... I get that this is a UK or Commonwealth blog. (“Panasonic are” as opposed to the US “Panasonic is.” And of course “Favourite.”)

One item missing from your review is that this is not a Panasonic. It’s a “Leicasonic!”

Look it up.

The Leica V-LUX 3 is a Panasonic FZ-150 in Bavarian Lederhosen. Panasonic makes the camera, Leica sells it with a little red Leica button - and adds $450 to the bill. Yup, you read right: $950 for a Panasonic with a Leica trademark.

I just put in an order for one. My first serious digital. Am selling about 500-lbs of Pentax 6x7 bodies and lenses, and thinking of selling my Graphic View II 4x5s and lenses as well.

4:05 am - Tuesday, June 26, 2012

#102 Marco M.

Last week I finally bought the FZ150, I paid 349,-
euro’s for it, a fairly good price I think.
It has been said before in the comments but this camera is really all you need. It is easy to use for a beginner, the quality of the pics is great and filming in Full HD is stunning.Perfect camera for a reasonable price. Thanks again Mr. Johnboy and Mr. Wing Leung for your advice, I found a new hobby!

Marco M. from The Netherlands

10:06 pm - Friday, June 29, 2012

#103 Sia

Unfortunately I found your review about Panasonic Lumix FZ-150 little bit late, two days after purchasing it and I have this problem that you as only one have mentioned honestly in your review:
On the negative side, you’ll find that if you choose continuous auto-focus, areas of the video will be blurred before becoming sharp again as the camera tries to refocus.
Is there any other superzoom camera that does not have this problem?
Because maybe I can change this camera with another one.

5:22 pm - Sunday, July 1, 2012

#104 ronald.c.lee-harris

greetings…this would have to be the most talked about zoomie camera in existence.there is an army of oppinions out here in “best photo available please!“LAND.the fz 150 was an advancement over just about all of the ultra zoom’s and it shows in many places,the reviews in the main,give this instrument a good report.many good cameras have passed this user’s way,have pocketed the compacts into most places,lugged those specialised lenses into cars,planes,busses,over beaches…the dslr’s did an admirable job,we knew no better and then along came the zoom’s…what a blessing…being an AMATEUR has its upsides…not 100%perfect in picture but i will settle for 99.9…ah!perfect peace at last…regards…ronald.c.lee-harris.

3:58 am - Saturday, July 21, 2012

#105 Slabs

Some advice to you, Sia, re the video starting out of focus:
If you always leave the camera autofocus on the ‘Quick AF’ setting (an option in the main menu), it will automatically pre-focus where you’re pointing the camera & if you then press the video button to start recording video, it will start out with the correct focus.
Alternatively, press the shutter button halfway to pre-focus before you press the video button to start videoing.
Apart from that, it is actually quite quick & stable to adjust focus continuously as you move the camera from then on.
I hope this allows you to enjoy your camera to its full potential.
Great camera, I just love mine.
Regards,
Slabs
South Africa

5:03 pm - Tuesday, July 24, 2012

#106 SURAJIT

I want to buy a travel-zoom camera & shortlisted PANASONIC FZ150 and CANON SX40HS. My main look-out is for IQ, Macro & Low-light performance.
Please suggest, which one to buy.

7:10 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#107 zebarnabe

SURAJIT,
Travel-Zoom cameras are the Canon Powershot SX260 HS, Panasonic Lumix TZ30 (or ZS20 in some countries) or Sony HX30V among others. They are (usually) pocket-able.

Panasonic cameras usually perform better in video and focus speed (and overall operation speed). Canon sensor usually delivers better low light performance as Panasonic is plagued with intrusive yellow blotches on many cameras.

Panasonic FZ150 and Canon SX40HS are bridge cameras. These are DSLR miniatures, even though some Fujifilm top models and FZ200 are bigger than some smaller DSLRs.

The current models for both those 2 cameras are FZ200 and SX50 HS respectively, the lack of reviews and users makes it hard to say much about them, but FZ200 wins when comes to low light and zoomed in, the f/2.8 aperture is hard to beat (though it is quite pricy).

Due to the price/features difference Panasonic kept producing FZ150 along with FZ200. FZ150 is a really nice camera, packed with features.

If you really care about IQ, Macro and Low-light and don’t really need all the zoom, Panasonic Lumix LX7 is really, really nice, it belongs to the premium compacts/‘prosumer’ segment.

If you need a bit more zoom than the average compact, or a less expensive camera than a premium/bridge compact, Canon SX260 HS performs really well in low light (beating TZ30 and TZ25) and the 20x zoom is more than enough for most. If you don’t need the GPS on the SX260, SX240 is identical just missing the GPS. As a bonus it is far more pocket-able than a bridge. Minimum focus distance is 5cm on these 2, not excellent for macro on a compact, but not that bad. They are a bit more ‘slugish’ than the Panasonic models though.

As some side notes:
Lumix TZ25 performs better in low light than Lumix TZ30, though video is better in TZ30 along with other features.
Sony models usually behave well in low light, but over sharpen the images on most models.
You’ll need a tripod to take shots over 600mm equivalent if light is not that bright, doesn’t matter how steady your hands are or how good optical stabilization is, it gets worse if your subject is closer. That said, 300mm is prolly enough for most situations.

Hope it helps :]

8:36 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#108 Jerry

Having been using this camera for 9months including at then Olympics and poor lighting conditions i have nothing but praise for it performance.
On two successive occasions the images taken one of a sunset on Jubilee weekend one of at the Bournemouth Airshow have one praise and the top photos at a camera club.
It is worth bearing in mind that it is the photographer who is skilled in using the camera being used determines the quality of the image.
Until I bought my first Panasonic Bridge Camera many years ago I used Canons with heavy interchangable lenses I would NOT swap the FZ150 for a more expensive camera with interchangeable lenses, which I had to option of doing this year.

8:57 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#109 Nancy Seebert

Does anyone know of a way or product that can shade the lcd screen on sunny days for this camera panasonic fz150

8:51 pm - Thursday, April 25, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, 12 megapixel, video, movie, super-zoom, RAW, 1920x1080, super zoom, wideangle, ultra-zoom, mega-zoom, Panasonic, Lumix, 24x, 12fps, dmc fz150, fz150, DMC-FZ150

Tracker Pixel for Entry