Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH2 Review

5.0
December 13, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

52 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Mark Goldstein

Note: Our Sample Images have been inadvertently shot using the 16:9 ratio. We’ll update the review with some 4:3 images asap…

11:24 am - Monday, December 13, 2010

#2 Sjaak

Geweld bedankt voor jullie snelle Review.

Ik zat hier al weken op te wachten en nu weet ik het zeker dat ik hem ga kopen.

Sjaak

12:20 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#3 Arthur

Do you buy it with the 14-140 lens, Sjaak?
If so, would you mind telling me what you paid in Euro’s?
Thanks

3:21 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#4 zinanga

Hy Arthur:

I paid mine 1249€ (tax included)with the 14-140mm in a place called fotoboom.com in spain. I retired the camera from the store las saturday. They told me they had around 25 pieces in stock

3:36 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#5 Frank Stanton

It is interesting how using Red Eye Reduction improved the skin tone on the subject.

4:07 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#6 Greg

I don’t get it. What do you mean by “extremely well built” and “metal chassis” ? All the reviews so far have been pointing at the plastic built as a weak point and product specifications on dpreview mention “body material: plastic” ?

How do you explain the discrepancy?

4:09 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#7 Lester

Body-only is officially available in the UK.  Mathers (http://www.mathersoflancashire.co.uk/html/gh-2.html) offer this at £689 currently.

4:16 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#8 Mark Goldstein

Greg, the GH2 has a metal alloy frame/chassis that’s coated in plastic. Build quality is nevertheless very good and on a par with comparable cameras like the Canon 60D.

5:09 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#9 William Cook

Hmmm ... your review lost all credibility before I finished the first paragraph ... what camera were you testing that had optical image stabilization built in? Certainly not the GH2.

5:27 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#10 Mark Goldstein

William, I’ve corrected that error in the first paragraph. It is of course supplied via the lens.

5:35 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#11 Marc

Movie AF tracking has been deleted in 1.0 firmware.

http://www.43rumors.com/oh-no-gh2-movie-follow-focus-disabled-in-firmware-1-0-and-philip-bloom-begs-panasonic-to-add-25p/

The lack of 25p is also an issue for many.

7:18 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#12 Thor

You mention that the gh2 can shoot 14mp stills while recording video.  Can the camera shoot more than one still per video?  If so, how much down time is there between shots?

7:23 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#13 zebarnabe

zinang,

I paid that for my GH1 + 14-140mm a few months ago >_<’’ That price it’s indeed quite good… and funny enough they have it with the 14-42mm kit at 850€ ... making the lens cost 50€ ... Panasonic has an huge margin of profit…

Well ... I’m not unhappy with my GH1 and won’t buy a GH2, ever… if my GH1 body dies i would simply grab the cheapest micro four thirds body i could find (800€ for a body that costs 400€ to make is just a bad joke) :/

That said, GH2 is quite packed in features.

Can it shot stills while recording video? Nice ... I didn’t know that, GH1 sure can’t ...

8:33 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#14 Coffee

A couple of days ago I came across a very interesting article regarding the GH2’s “Extra-Tele Video Mode” ...

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/cameras/panasonic_gh2_11_mode_revealed.shtml

... which doesn’t seem to be properly documented in the manual and is buried deep in the camera’s menu. Apparently the “Extra-Tele Video Mode” is a very useful feature that hardly anyone knows about. I don’t have a GH2 myself but maybe one of the people above want to check it out?

9:25 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#15 kal

You’ve mentioned that the extra tele of a factor of 2.6 is also available for photos. I doubt this.  Can you confirm and if so what is the resolution.

9:38 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#16 Micheal

Shoot video over ISO800 and see if GH2 is really better than Canon 60D. As far as still IQ is concerned, I don’t see if GH2 is better than my Olympus EPL-1, which is half the price of GH2.

10:33 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#17 zebarnabe

Extra tele for photos is basically digital zoom :/

Extra tele factor for video, crops the sensor readout ensuring the same resolution and extra reach, it has been tested and reviewed on other websites for several times… to resume it: It ‘kinda’ works :]

GH2 ‘magic’ image quality is done, not by the sensor, but by the processing of what comes from the sensor, JPEG noise reduction and sharpening behaves really well, AVCHD does a good job compressing… but if you look at RAW images it is not that good when compared with other micro four thirds cameras… it’s around the GH1 level

One thing to note… Canon 550D, 7D and 60D share a similar quality in image and video (i’m not entirely sure on 60D video), Panasonic GH1 is a bit better in video, but a bit weaker on image, GH2 got better on video, but extra resolution aside, DR, noise and color accuracy are pretty much the same…

When talking about noise, let me put it this way:
GH1 ISO 800 = 1126 real ISO
GH2 ISO 800 = 817 real ISO
60D ISO 800 = 632 real ISO

Panasonic cameras need less ISO to shot with the same light level, or on other way, they will overexpose with the same settings that a Canon has for a given scene.

Also they don’t skip lines as Canon cameras do on video mode, preventing aliasing issues, however, in stills, Canons win in DR, noise and color accuracy through all the ISO range… :]

So ... it’s a matter of choice, in my case I found 550D a bit big and clumsy, so i went to GH1 as I liked the balance between video and image quality, also the 14-140mm provide an excelent range with good sharpness (the only downside is the f/4.0-5.8 aperture - that was compensated by the 20mm f/1.7 i brought later).

GH2 is better than E-PL1 ... mainly because ISO on E-PL1 is very ‘optimistic’, ISO 800 is 470 and 1600 is more like 960 in reality, that isn’t told here in PB, also dynamic range is a bit awful, however in size/price/features is quite a nice camera :]

Hope it helps ^_____^

1:21 am - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#18 James Benet

Great Review,

After comparing the GH2 vs the 7D in my own tests the video was far better on the GH2 in quality, focusing speed, no color moire and easily twice the detail in some scenes.

However in Still Image Quality the camera suffers from heavy chroma noise even at low ISOs in the shadows which is also apparent on video if you see the shadow or lower exposure areas. The only way the still images can be properly cleaned is to process the raw files at the cost of detail, the camera has good image quality but hardly a 5/5 compared to lets say a 7D. I could not be comfortable shooting a stills only job on the GH2 due to the low quality details on the images.

However if a video shoot arose I could see the GH2 take front and center to the 7D as the best horse in the DSLR video race so far, no contest. 

P.S. Own a 7D and had a GH2 for a few testing days and will get a GH2 as soon as they come to the US!

2:15 am - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#19 kelsci

I am not impressed with this camera and I generally like Panasonic products since I own quite a few.  I did not care for the quality of the sample photos.  I looked at some videos on youtube and did not find them that impressive either.  Many who post videos dub a musical track onto their submissions which I do not care for.  I want to hear how the stereo recording sound quality is.

4:31 am - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#20 zebarnabe

kelsci,

First, youtube is not the best place to check for quality videos.

Second, i have one video from GH1 you may want you watch, GH2 has better sound handling (Auto Gain is controllable), the only alteration to the original was the 1080p to 720p resize and recompression, because my internet connection is everything but fast… (those 2m25s took about 1 hour to upload) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URxo60j1dS0

The recording was made at 280mm (140mm) equivalent on 14-140mm lens, the only sound columns were the ones on stage, that should give you an idea of how far I was from the stage and how well/bad the sound is recorded :]

11:14 am - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#21 kelsci

Hi Zbarnabe; I did not like the photo quality shown on this report. I also looked at videos of the gh2 as well on youtube.  I only have a kds 15 inch monitor with built in small speakers. However they can give me an idea of the stereo imaging since they are good for that.  I have not been impressed with really any camera listed with stereo recording capabilies as far as stereo imaging goes of videos that I have watched on youtube. Although I have not downloaded anything on youtube I understand it can dowload stereo sound and in fact that sounded fine when people dubbed a music track on there tests.

Between 1985 and 1992 I die a lot of videophotography with linear stereo/vhs hi-fi portables with two video cameras that I equipped with a certain mic from Radio Shack that did an awsome job since they reproduced music very well as against some of the mics that came with the cameras whether mono or stereo.

I went on the net to examine some reports and specs of the GH1 that you own so I could see its video and audio recording capabilities but I could not find any photos though I would have to do a better search for that(sometimes flickr has this kind of thingy).

I did watch the video you made with the lens at 140mm on youtube. As far as video goes, you did a great job and that video showed the capability of your gh1. I think you did as best of job as could be from that distance for the audio.  Judging from what I saw, I would not trade in a GH1 for a GH2.  I also like the fact it has a mic input. Wether this would work with my RS stereo mic is something I do not know.  The reason is that I think the cameras jack powers the mic too. My RS microphone runs on 1 AA battery and thus there possibly could be an electrical conflict. That RS mic would be the one I would use on any camera that had a mic input over generally what is built into the camera if I could. 

I do not know whether you used the built in mic or and external mic on your video.

11:51 am - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#22 kelsci

Barnabe; I meant to add that the TZ5, given an essentials rating on this blog is owned by my brother. It takes wonderful pics.  My brother cannot take videos because his hands are too shaky(could be parkinsons). He has taken one or two shaky videos but regardless of that the camera takes a 720P video that is nothing short of stunning.

12:01 pm - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#23 zebarnabe

Kelsci,

It was with the build-in micro, with some cheap headphones stereo effect is easily noticeable, being possible to distinguish a person passing by from one side to another while talking… the stereo microphone on GH2 is located on the same place, so filters and controls aside it should pick up similar stuff.

Flickr (i added my photostream to user link) has lots of samples, and the advanced search allows you to search for photos of a given camera (i’m not sure GH2 is on their database already)

Lumix TZ5 ... gawd, looks like it was yesterday when it came out… with 1280x720@30fps the only problem was that .MOV format… that would eat a 4Gb memory card in 10mins ... and the sound, wind or zoom motor, was recorded fairly easy…

4:22 pm - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#24 kelsci

Hi Zebarnabe; Thanks for you input on the stereo imaging of the GH1.  Yes I noticed that the GH2 had a similar stereo mic setup. Some microphones act differently than others. Some will record straight stereo from the left to the right in a very non-omnidirectional mode.  Others will record some off the side and rear information. The RS mike that I had did the latter and I could hear sounds in a 270 degree arc reproduced on a matrix surround or virtual surround mode on 5 speaker system.

Since I have never handled the TZ5,I never saw how much file video space it eats in the MOV format. I dumbed down the file he took on DVD FLICK so it can play on a dvd-r home player. The video looked sensational even at 848X480.  I have three panasonic units of lesser quantity(ls80-ls85 and the lz7. These units also shoot in MOV. A 2GB card will give about 19 minutes of video in widescreen mode. DVD FLICK converts that codec well into a mpg codec that plays on a home dvd player with nice quality 64kbs mono sound.

The one thing I do not like with the TZ5 is not the camera so much as Panasonic putting some kind of code that will cause the camera to reject generic batteries.  The one good thing with his camera is that he bought it long before Panasonic started this extortion policy so his camera should take generics.

On one or two of the tv cameras that I used in the past, I had autofocusing and zoom noise. That is why when the RCA CKC 020(a Hitachi unit) came out I primarily used that because it had manual focusing and manual zoom but was only 35 lux. The next years model had a stereo input jack on the camera and 10 lux and superior overall to the 020.
On my 020 and the small JVC tube camera, I broke a yard stick to use as a mic boom and used a folded air conditioner filter to reduce wind noise.

4:47 pm - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#25 zebarnabe

My GH1 is hacked, so I can use generic batteries, however (also video bit rate is set at 32Mbps), since the battery gives me around 1200 photos or 2h of video recording, I didn’t buy an extra battery…

“I broke a yard stick to use as a
mic boom and used a folded air conditioner filter to reduce wind noise.” - don’t take me wrong, but i found that hilarious… Macguyvering the problems :]

5:13 pm - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#26 kelsci

Hi Zebarnabe; That hilarious Macguyvering worked quite well.  I noticed that microphones are covered with some kind of plush material when used to make movies.

The link to a part of my blog below describes the mic I wrote about.


http://kelsci3.blogspot.com/2010/07/radio-shack-stereo-microphone.html

8:19 pm - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#27 driftwoodtv

Follow Focus/Auo Focus in Video Mode doesnt work on the GH2 as advertised.

4:53 am - Wednesday, December 15, 2010

#28 zebarnabe

driftwoodtv,

Auto Tracking Focus in video was present in pre-production unit and for some unknown reason was taken out…

Continuous Focus, Auto Focus and Manual Focus still work in video like in GH1 (but you have the touch screen to autofocus in certain areas you want, like the G2 does)

10:34 am - Wednesday, December 15, 2010

#29 zebarnabe

Oh… it seems that they taken out auto focus with touch screen on video as well… hmmm… so basically in video focus options are identical to GH1 ...

10:46 am - Wednesday, December 15, 2010

#30 Dana

When Photographyblog issues an ‘Essential’ rating, I pay attention. But the price of the GH2 with the 14-140 at Amazon is $1800. The available options at half that price kill my desire for a GH2.

3:11 pm - Wednesday, December 15, 2010

#31 Ron I

I love love LOVE my GF1 and am very excited to get hold of the GH2. I just got my Nikon D7000 and am thinking of selling all my Nikon stuff now. I find the lumix cameras so much fun to shoot on. If I get a GH2, I can’t see me grabbing the Nikon anymore.

Thanks for the great review.

9:52 pm - Wednesday, December 15, 2010

#32 Brad Bunnin

Now what I’m about to say is purely personal: no controlled tests, etc. I needed a second camera to take to East Africa next year. My G1 is, I think, not appropriate for wildlife photography. And I wanted some video capability. The Nikon D7000 was very appealing, and I bought one locally. I found the ergonomics not a good match, including the way my hands fell on the body and the placement of controls. I then found and bought a GH2. Yes, it’s easier for me to navigate because of my prior use of the G1, and that familiarity has an impact. But even the potentially superior still image quality of the Nikon didn’t lead me to keep it. I prefer the GH2.

12:02 am - Thursday, December 16, 2010

#33 Lynx

Did anyone take a look at the Lumix DMC G10??
Its basicly the same camera body, it has a less megapixel micro4/3 sensor, but its image quality is excellent. It doesn`t have a flipout touch screen, just a high res 3"inch one, and its evf isn`t as good as the gh2’s.It has 720p video instead of 1080p.

On the other hand, you can buy this camera(the G10) for 350-400€ with the 14-42 lens. Instead of paying more than 800€ for the gh2 with that same lens. The 14-140 lens is quite expensive, I haven’t found it for less than 650€ wothout the camera. The cheapest gh2 that I have found with the 14-140 lens was around 1250€.

It`s a pitty there is no Micro 4/3 lenses from Tamron or Sigma. Things would be a lot more interesting for these cameras.

I`ve found the G10+ 14-42 lens+ carying bag+ 8gbsdhc card for 399€. It`s a bit more interesting than most of the entry level DSLR`s, but I wouldnt want to pay 600-700€ for a 14-140 lens.

11:08 am - Thursday, December 16, 2010

#34 ian drury

Can you buy a GH2 body from any other retailer in the Uk apart from Mathers ?

What about a GH2 and a 20mm lens deal ?

Lastly is the GH2 worth the extra over the G2 ?

I’m interested as I’m looking to add another micro4/3rds camera to my EPl-1 twin lens kit as I like the compactness of this system and have two lenses already, hence asking about the 20mm lens deal.

1:10 pm - Wednesday, December 29, 2010

#35 Anatoly

My opinion is that GH2 is good for video, but is not good for photos…

5:14 pm - Sunday, January 9, 2011

#36 Brad Bunnin

I’ve compared stills from the GH2 with those from a Nikon D7000 I tried, and I must say that the two cameras, in real-world use, in various lighting conditions, produced comparable quality stills. I didn’t perform a formal comparison test, but the results of casual but thoughtful shooting led to fine photos from both. I prefer the GH2 for its size, weight, and ergonomics, while conceding that the D7000 is a fine camera. And there’s no question about the superiority of the GH2’s video capabilities and ease of use.

6:19 pm - Sunday, January 9, 2011

#37 Ron I

@ Anatoly
“My opinion is that GH2 is good for video, but is not good for photos…”

Uh…what?!? First of all, what do you base your opinion on? Second, I don’t believe what you say for a second. My GF1 makes stunning photos and I’m guessing the GH2 will only make stunning photos easier.

I guess it depends on who’s taking the pictures, maybe.

8:51 pm - Sunday, January 9, 2011

#38 john m flores

Another thorough and insightful review. It was upgrade time for me and I was debating between the Pentax K-5 (I currently shoot a K20d) or the Panasonic GH2. The dynamic range and ISO capabilities of the K-5 were very tempting, as were the video capabilities of the GH2. I ended up going with the GH2 because I needed improved video more than I needed improved stills.

And while I bought the GH2 for its video, I’ve been getting the hang of it taking stills. I’ve been pretty impressed. Can it replace my K20d as my go to camera? A definite maybe. Check out my thoughts and photos on my blog as I continue to play with the new toy.

http://whatblogisthis.blogspot.com/search/label/GH2

Thanks again for running a good site!

7:07 am - Wednesday, January 12, 2011

#39 Zoltan

Hi Zinanga,
You mentioned earlier that you bought the camera via Fotoboom. Did it come with a Panasonic international warranty? Their price is quite tempting but I’m only in Spain for a couple of days, otherwise based in Hungary so it is a bit of an issue. If you have ordered stuff from Fotoboom earlier did you find them reliable? Hope you don’t mind me asking.

11:38 pm - Sunday, January 23, 2011

#40 "Bogie"

Post 28 Wrote: “Oh… it seems that they taken out auto focus with touch screen on video as well… hmmm… so basically in video focus options are identical to GH1 ... “

Can anyone confirm this? Everything I’ve read/watched previously pointed to this feature being one of the cornerstones of what makes this camera improved over the GH1. If they’re taking out touch focus for video, I’m wondering if the GH1 wouldn’t be a more economic camera—I don’t mind spending the $1500 for the GH2 w/ 14-140 lens, but it’s got to be an investment [looking for it to last at least 5 years with HD video standards]. I’ve got the money saved up but I can’t seem to find a breathe of information in regards to when it’ll be made officially available in the US. Everything I found just said “December”... December 2010 or December 2011? Seems like it’s getting out there slowly in the UK; does anyone have any ideas about when it’ll hit reliable American retailers like B&H?

9:40 am - Wednesday, January 26, 2011

#41 "Bogie"

Also, a question or two about shutter speeds… I’ve got a real love for time lapse, but only when the shutter speed can be drop VERY low (1/4, 1/8) as I feel like just speeding up the footage looks like a lame video effect. How low will I be able to push the shutter [regularly and w/ 300% speed]?

Most Importantly:
Will I be able to emulate “filmic” motion.. the 24fps is taken care of nicely but what about the approximate 1/60th shutter speed? All the test footage I’ve seen looks like 1/100th and abouve which is swell for fight scenes but I feel would make a dialog scene feel *too* crisp.

Also (although it’s probably too early for good speculation), what do you think the chances are of “hacking” the firmware of the GH2? Seemed like that produced some good results with the GH1. Working predominantly as an editor, the *feel* of the motion is incredibly important to me… not just the *look* of the image (if that distinction makes sense).
—-
Sorry for the loads of questions. I’m heading off to film school next year and would like a personal alternative to the DVX’s (love the camera… just not the DV bit) that the first and second year students use. Also it’d be dandy for free lance.

9:51 am - Wednesday, January 26, 2011

#42 zebarnabe

“Bogie”,

Auto focus with touch screen on video was taken on production models, in pre-production models it was present, some reviewer stated that it should be ‘enabled’ later via firmware, this disabled function was supposed to be due to bugs on firmware implementation…

Vitaliy Kiselev is the author of GH13 hack (that works quite well for GF1 and GH1), I believe he managed to get his hands on GH2 firmware and found out that it was encrypted ... so, it will take a while to break the protected code…

Lots of people discuss GH2 vs GH1, IMHO GH2 sensor isn’t much better than GH1 one (except in resolution)... however its brains are, allowing it to achieve a much cleaner video footage ... in photos GH2 is slightly worse in RAW .... but JPEG processor sure does it’s magic :]

Just for the matters I own a GH1 (hacked one)

4:34 pm - Wednesday, January 26, 2011

#43 Ron I

@ zebarnabe

What exactly do you mean by “in photos GH2 is slightly worse in RAW” ??

How do you come to this conclusion? Can you point me to some samples and/or explain what exactly is “worse?”

4:49 pm - Wednesday, January 26, 2011

#44 "Bogie"

Good to know about the autofocusing/firmware issue.

I don’t know a terrible amount about photography (although I’m looking to get into it a bit more with this camera) so I’m not really worried about still images… I’m sure it’ll suit my needs in that department. Like Ron said though, can you post an example?

7:17 pm - Wednesday, January 26, 2011

#45 zebarnabe

GH2 has less banding at high ISO (but also note that ISO 800 in GH1 it’s ISO 1250 in GH2) and higher resolution… however at pixel level, and even in a normalized comparison (overall image, ex: print of the same size), GH1 has:
- Better noise levels (but banding at and above ISO 1600 is quite troublesome in GH1)
- Dynamic Range (from how much/little light can detail be be grasped)
- Tonal range (colors represented) ...

HOWEVER (and before you guys start shooting me) since the difference is quite small (at normalized level) and image processor (noise reduction, demosaicing and sharpning algorithms) on GH2 works quite well, most people will be better of with GH2 ... specially since video is a lot better given the lack of banding issues ... not to mention the extra/better features (speed, touchscreen, etc)

Oh ... And before someone asks…. no, an hacked GH1 isn’t better than a GH2 in video, also, if one is thinking in buying an GH1, thinking in hacking it, because it’s (a lot) cheaper, remember that if it comes with the latest firmware (that is not available online - 1.4 - I think) you won’t be able to hack it!  (not to mention warranty issues ....)

A little search and DXOMark Labs show what I mean (even though I would say the difference it’s not that high as DXOMark seems to show - look at the graphics they are clearer)

8:14 pm - Wednesday, January 26, 2011

#46 David Bellwood

For comparison and perhaps better sample photos (taken in better weather, maybe)you might like to check out dpreview’s analysis.

10:08 am - Wednesday, August 24, 2011

#47 Kbeck

Just bought GH2 a week ago, I’m still reading the manual. Before getting start, I want to read more comment from you all—Pro and Con. Let help me to get start with this new device. I got the panasonic Lumix FZ100 two years ago and I still like it. The closed-up is also great.

Tell me more about panasonic pancake lens—if I want one—is that worth to spend money on that.

12:24 am - Monday, February 13, 2012

#48 Kbeck

Just got GH2 a week ago—tell me more about it.

12:25 am - Monday, February 13, 2012

#49 Brad Bunnin

Here’s a very good source of information about the GH2, a camera far too capable and comprehensive for brief comments here to cover! The Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH2: The Unofficial Quintessential Guide.

3:09 am - Monday, February 13, 2012

#50 zebarnabe

Kbeck, It all depends of what you want to do with the camera, I have a GH1 with the 14-140mm and the 20mm pancake lens, for close-ups/macro I use the DCR-250 from Raynox on the 14-140mm lens.

From my experience I can tell you that the 14-140mm is quite versatile, but not as sharp as it could be, specially if you want long that extra ‘reach’.

For telephoto:
The 100-300mm is a really nice lens beating the older 25-200mm fair easily.

For wide-angle, the pancake 14mm might please you (it also has a nice aperture), the 20mm is not wide angle and focus slowly.
You also have Samyang 7.5mm fisheye for some more creative uses (you can de-fish the image at the cost of corner sharpness)

For low light, something like the 20mm pancake might suffice, but you could look into the 25mm f/1.4 for something a bit brighter and faster focus (albeit losing the small size perk). For hours of fun, the exclusive Voigtlaender 25mm f/0.95 might please you. (there are rumors of a new 17.5mm f/0.95 from voigtlaender)

For macro, you can use a close-up filter, get one achromatic to avoid too much trouble with image defects, compatibility with the lens might be tricky. The alternative are some very expensive lens.

Added to all that you might find some old manual lens from Canon and an adapter in several online auction websites… but is always a risk you take.

Have fun :3

11:21 am - Monday, February 13, 2012

#51 Joe

I wish you’d learn to review a product.  100% crops are for idiots.  200, 400, 800, 1600 ISO etc. is stupid for a camera that has a native ISO of 160.  You should have shown 160, 320, 640, 1280, etc.  And again, drop the 100% crops.  100% crops are irrelevant.

7:40 pm - Saturday, March 17, 2012

#52 Thomas watson

Hi friends this is Thomas Watson and i want to share my feeling.
I have study a couple of the blogposts on your website now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I tag it to my favorites site list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my web site also and let me know your opinion.

6:28 am - Monday, April 2, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, compact system camera, hdmi, touch-screen, lumix, touch screen, touchscreen, micro four thirds, panasonic, compact system, gh2, dmc-gh2, Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH2 Review, dmc gh2, Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH2

Tracker Pixel for Entry